Grip of Fear

Submit Steven Kaszab

Fear has been the one pivotal element within all our histories, both personal and nationally speaking. It is something that excites, invites, repeals and manipulates us all. An emotion, a states of mind, something demonic or perhaps divine. At the moment of your birth to the end of your days, this thing called fear can wrestle your life away.

We live in a world shaped by fear. Our personal response to this fear shaped ourselves, families and nations too. Fear of loose, not being good enough, not achieving the expectations of others, not being good looking enough. How do I look, does this make me look fat? Apply some of these questions to yourself. Why am I a doctor and not an artist or perhaps why did I call an election when there was no need? Why did I invade Panama, Afghanistan or Vietnam? Why do nations jail their citizens? Fear of loosing perceived control, attack, terrorism, criminality. Why did I have an abortion, what  did I fear? Perhaps I would loose my freedom, may not be able to raise the child as I should? There’s a pandemic fire upon us, and I fear loosing future votes, so my action’s are reflected in that fear.

Why do I hate or love others? Did I do these things because I was raised to do so? Were my parents and neighbour’s such an influence upon me that I became this, whether good or bad, a person trying to live a life of meaning. Do I fear the unknown, uncommon, unique among us? I knew a person who hated over weight individuals. A gut wrenching hate of someone he did not even know. He grew up over weight, and through sheer perseverance and self struggle became a fine specimen of a man. The fear to become what he once was, or perhaps the distaste of people he thinks are not struggling enough themselves. Did they make the effort? I must love an Asian person, so that my family will accept my future spouse. Racial, Cultural, Social, economic and political fears shape us daily. “We have been police officers since time began”, and its expected of me to be one. Bring home a date who is not of your religious or racial heritage. 

Fear can be spontaneous and infectious. Archie Bunker sits with his neighbour who is a black man. What are they talking about? The Puerto Ricans who moved into their neighbourhood recently and how they feared these new arrivals. Two rivals become one united against the other. Inequality in this world is the result of fear. A while back a man had his castle, and brought home the bacon each week. A king of his domain with all the trapping of lovingly wife and family. This is not the case in our contemporary society, and these men find themselves without an anchor, fearful of what they have lost, and what is coming tomorrow. Suddenly some men and women become open to fearful suggestions, conspiracies and ideologies. That is why the Nazi, Communist or any other Racist Tyranny can offer these lost fearful people an anchor, a way to find commonality of purpose. Fear often creates monsters, those who find expression of their personal fears through struggle and possible violence. The fear of loosing what you have whether property, status or money pushes down upon equalities upward progression. Can equality become something other then a word?

Fear creates saints also. Religious People are possibly the most fearful of our neighbour’s. Why so? Fear of failure through sins before their maker. To them there is hell and heaven, and clear rules telling them how to proceed through life. These rules are controlling or freeing depending on how one looks at them, but the end result of going to heaven to be with God is dependent upon Fear. Fear of loosing ones soul and life in the afterlife. Self control, while being fearful of much the world has to offer, until they can achieve their salvation. Or the other route offering, that through Jesus all we have to do is honestly ask for forgiveness and all will be well. Wow, opposites that result in the same thing, defeating fear by being fearful.

The greatest gift you can give another is to espouse this thought. Be free of  fear’s tentacles , through wisdom and common sense. Think before you act and understand why how, why and when you act. Surely the wise person can choose what benefits themselves and their neighbour too.

59 thoughts on “Grip of Fear

1. David
    Unlike the last offering by this “author”this piece is quite artistic, in dealing with fear centrally, but also encompassing, less so, the range of emotions.

However, are not sure that of those range of emotions that fear is primary. Maybe it is because we’ve presumed that actions should be taken inspite of percievef fear alone.

2. David
    Maybe. That is one aspects we assume. But emotions are often mixed, it seems. Fear is not necessarily always so dominant, it seems.

3. 25 Bible Verses About Fear (KJV)

This is a hand-curated and ranked list of the most relevant Bible verses about Fear (KJV). Verses are ranked by number of votes.
    \Isaiah 41:10
    10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.
    Bible Gateway

2 Timothy 1:7
    7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

1 John 4:18
    18 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.

Psalm 34:4
    4 I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.
    Bible Gateway

Proverbs 29:25
    25 The fear of man bringeth a snare: but whoso putteth his trust in the LORD shall be safe.

Joshua 1:9
    9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.
    Bible Gateway

Psalm 23
    1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.
    Bible Gateway

Psalm 56:3-4
    3 What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. 4 In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

Philippians 4:6
    6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.
    Bible Gateway

Deuteronomy 31:6
    6 Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

Psalm 27:1
    1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Romans 8:15
    15 For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.

John 14:27
    27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Psalm 23:4
    4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Romans 8:38-39
    38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, 39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

1 Peter 5:6-7
    6 Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: 7 Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

Philippians 4:6-7
    6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Psalm 111:10
    10 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endureth for ever.

Psalm 118:6
    6 The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

Matthew 10:28
    28 And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

Proverbs 19:23
    23 The fear of the LORD tendeth to life: and he that hath it shall abide satisfied; he shall not be visited with evil.
    Bible Gateway

Isaiah 41:13
    13 For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.

Isaiah 43:1-3
    1 But now thus saith the LORD that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine. 2 When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee. 3 For I am the LORD thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.
    Bible Gateway

Matthew 6:34
    34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Isaiah 35:4
    4 Say to them that are of a fearful heart, Be strong, fear not: behold, your God will come with vengeance, even God with a recompence; he will come and save you.

4. Google..
    Bible..
    Cut…
    Paste..

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Don’t watch that..
    watch this..

Karma..
    Bliss..
    Mediation..
    Tips..

5. @ GP at 11:46 AM

Thank you very much for the antidote to this anxiety raising post. I would have thought that we have enough to deal with on our plates.

• @Vincent

If ‘fear’ is not one of the emotions normal people feel how can they effectively deliver?

6. It frighten you? Cuhdeah!

Nothing was raised here that I did not already know.

This is life! You put fear away and live it!

Or not.

7. Are you saying that you have to fear to deliver?
    Are you saying that fear is necessary? Is it food or water?
    That is not sound physiology psychology or psychiatry

8. Vincent
    Philippians 4:6-7 alone is enough. This is more than enough for the treatment of anxiety/depression
    6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

PROCEEDURE
    1- Be careful for nothing; i.e worry about nothing
    2 pray about everything
    3 make your supplications with thanksgiving
    4 make your requests to God…not to men

RESULTS
    OBTAINING the peace of God, which passeth all understanding
    CESSATION OF CARDIO/REPIRATORY GASTRIC AND NEUROLOGICAL ISSUES WHICH ARE MEDIATED BY THE VAGUS THE TENTH CRANIAL NERVE

THIS IS SOUND PHYSIOLOGY THAT WORKS WHEN EMPLOYED CONSISTENTLY

9. @Blogmaster… “If ‘fear’ is not one of the emotions normal people feel how can they effectively deliver?”

You are suggesting that we live in the basic sphere of ‘fear of failure to drive our actions and I imagine that’s basically true for many.

The other basic alternative is a peace of mind which drives our actions based on our confidence of success…. an arrogance, if you will.

In either instance we can be devastated by failure of course but the experts would opine that experiening the failure based on the preceding fear could be more damaging to the psyche….. ifff there is no peaceful comfort to sooth that grave failure.

So we know well that fear is surely a motivator but absolutely it’s not always the ideal one.

• The blogmaster desist from discussing such abstract matters with some who lack the emotional sensitivity/intelligence to be so kind. A simple example as you know is the fear of failing to competently deliver a speech from the lectern before a large audience, the fear of failing an important exam etc. two simple examples.

10. RE de pedantic DribblerOctober 4, 2021 2:58 PM
    BALLAAM’S ASS LIKE THE MONKEY TRYING TO HANDLE MUSKET WAFLING IN AN AREA WHERE HE KNOWS NAUGHT ONCE MORE ….HILARIOUS VERY HILARIOUS

11. Anybody who can presume that a book of fiction, the bible, could have any relevance at all to all issues under the Sun, including but not limited to issues of industrial psychology amongst many other areas, must be a quintessential asshoooole.

Seems that the bible-reading “idiot” here should, when it comes to psychology, first explain why a decadant belief system entirely based on eponymous characters could so constitute and dominate their range of emotions.

Until this fundamental question is answered measures should be taken to prevent the expansion of things which are incredible. And incredible just means not credible. For the bible has long been considered an incredible book precisely concocted to mislead.

12. RE A simple example as you know is the fear of failing to competently deliver a speech from the lectern before a large audience, the fear of failing an important exam etc. two simple examples.
    I dont know about that OK?
    NEVER FEARED FAILED EXAMS FOR WHICH I PREPARED OK?
    NEVER FEARED DELIVERING ANY SPEACH ANYWHERE AT ANY TIME……..CAUSE WHEN I GO TO SPEAK I KNOW WUH I TALKING BOUT OK?
    what emotional sensitivity/intelligence to be so kind. you talking bout suh?
    if a man out of he league he out of he league
    is your statement not unkind also?
    ARE YOU KIND WHEN YOU DELETE MY POST AND LET THE CLIQUE POST SCAHING COMMENTS BOUT ME?
    is it not true that folk are to be challenged on BU?
    YOU MEAN TO SEH CHALLENGING DONE, OR WAS CHALLENGING ONLY FOR SOME FOLK
    you are getting expert opinion here and i have not yet gone up stairs to look at 4 pieces of info from my database for possible presentation on anxiety depression IN ANOTHER FORUM
    and what is abstract here
    is physiolological issues abstract? if so how so? why so?
    why do i have to be kind to any body
    PEOPLE ARE PURPOSEFULLY AND perpetually unkind and rude to me HERE ON BU FOR YEARS

13. RE Seems that the bible-reading “idiot” here should, when it comes to psychology, first explain why a decadant belief system entirely based on eponymous characters could so constitute and dominate their range of emotions.

YOU NOW COME SUH?
    SEE HOW EASY IT IS TO DRAW YOU FROM YOUR LAIR. WITH THE SAME LYRICS AND MUSIC?
    I WAS TOP OF THE CLASS IN PSYCHOLOGY AT MEDICAL SCHOOL
    AND HAVE BEEN KNOWN TO EXCEL IN HISTORY TALKING IN PSYCHIATRY UH LIE

Philippians 4:6-7 alone is enough. This is more than enough for the treatment of anxiety/depression

THIS PASSAGE HAS BEEN A GRET HELP TO MANY HUMANS

14. Our gardener was top of his class in brain surgery tooo. So he too is, like you, therefore qualified to remove the part of your brain space lacking intelligence, maybe all.

But you would better serve the blog by telling us all where are the independent types of evidence proving even one thing, anything, about the bible – a book of lies which only the brainless could be convinced has anything to do with what is real, far less the range of human emotions.

15. I always tell people who want me to believe in god and invite me to church, to show me one thing this god has done for black people. I am still waiting.

16. “Philippians 4:6-7 alone is enough. This is more than enough for the treatment of anxiety/depression
    6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Nonsense.

17. I AM HEY LAFFIING
    JUST HAD TO QUOTE A FEW SCRIPTURES TO BRING THE SATANIC HORDE OUT FROM THEIR LAIRS——BUT NO ONE CAN TOUCH THE TOPIC ANXIETY/DEPRESSION. THIS IS THE HUMOUR OF THE BU RUM SHOP

18. Having suffered from both due to an extremely tumultuous relationship with a perfectionist of a mother, after being ripped from the English family I considered my own, I could more than touch the subject.

I could even tell you how I was “cured” sans medication or counselling.

But I won’t.

It will only result in rocking and mocking from the last doctor on earth.

19. THIS BLOG WAS GOING NO WHERE I OPENED IT UP WITH A FEW STATEMENTS ABOUT THE BIBLE AND AL WUNNUH COME OUT DE GRASS. SPEWING BOVINE EXCREMENT BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP….AND I AM BEING VERY KIND HERE ….VERY KIND

20. RE Having suffered from both due to an extremely tumultuous relationship with a perfectionist of a mother, after being ripped from the English family I considered my own, I could more than touch the subject.
    YA SEE? YA SEE NOW?
    ALWAYS KNEW YOU WERE MAD AS HELL MAD AS A HATTER AND YA DIDNT HAVE ANXIETY /DEPRESSION AT ALL
    AND YA STILL NOT CURED

WHAT YOU REALLY NEED IS A TOTAL DOSE INFUSION LOL LOL LOL LOL MURDAH
    THE RUM SHOP TOO SWEET DOH ESPECIALLY WHEN YA BORED

I NOT THE the last doctor on earth. I GAVE DAT UP A WHILE NOW BUT THE MEMORY STILL SHARP LOL LOL

21. DonnaOctober 4, 2021 1:33 PM

It frighten you? Cuhdeah!

Nothing was raised here that I did not already know.

This is life! You put fear away and live it!

Or not.
    Xxxxc
    Donna please explain how a person staring down the nozzle of a double barrel gun put fear away

22. RE Our gardener was top of his class in brain surgery tooo. So he too is, like you, therefore qualified to remove the part of your brain space lacking intelligence,
    SEEMS THAT AS ONE WOULD THINK THAT YOU ARE JUST LIKE YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL DID NOT JESUS SAY IN JOHN 8:44 THAT HE WAS A LIAR AND MURDERER FROM THE BEGINNING THE FRUIT NEVER FALLS VERY FAR FROM THE TREE. UH LIE?

23. There so many levels or different
    dimension that makes up or contribute to fear that it is very hard to explain or define fear as a one dimensional state of the mind
    Night mare can trigger fear
    How does an individual who goes to bed knowing that during the night rest a mental state caused by fear might interrupt the night rest causing panic and self doubt not have a sense of fear
    Fear is a very hard ” emotion” to erase from the mind
    Fear with all its negative connotations has a rightful place in our lives and can work as an inhibitor against those people who might do us wrong

24. Fear kept the negroes as subservient slaves to their white masters

ACT 7:6 And God spake on this wise, That his seed should sojourn in a strange land; and that they should bring them into bondage, and entreat them evil four hundred years.

ACT 7:7 And the nation to whom they shall be in bondage will I judge,

some bible idiots are still slaves to them

25. SO WHAT EFFECT DID FEAR HAVE ON NON NEGROES?
    DID NON NEGROES HAVE WHITE MASTERS AS SLAVES TOO?
    WERE /ARE ONLY “”BIBLE IDIOTS”” SLAVES TO WHITE MASTERS ?
    ARE YOU NOT EXPRESSING YOUR SERVITUDE TO YOUR MASTER AND DADDY THE DEVIL NOW?
    WHAT IS DE COLOUR OF THIS SLAVE MASTER SUH?

26. In Afrikan philosophy a God cannot create anything else but a God.

You are the one who argues about your White man’s nonexistent god. That he created Satan. Not us.

Maybe only a Satan could, by your logic, create another Satan. Therefore your god is the same as Satan.

In Afrikan philosophy, there is no Satan. The Afrikans didnt even believe any of this, the way misguided christians do. Theirs was merely to try to make sense of the universe.

27. BALONEY
    THERE IS MORE SERIOUS CHRISTIANITY ALL OBER AFRICA THAN IN THE ISLANDS
    AND IT IS INDEED TRUR THAT THE FOOL HAS SAID IN HIS GEART THERE IS NO GOD
    WHO CARES ABOUT Afrikan philosophy
    YOU ALWAYS ENGAGE IN CIRCULAR ARGUMENTS STARTING WITH UNINTELLIGIBLE AND UNINTELLIGENT FALSE HOODS
    WHY DONT YOU GO BACK TO AFFRICA
    THIS IS A SPARSITY OF JACKASSES THERE I HEAR

28. @David, in this modern space of life one must also accept that there is a crushing fear of truth!

One would surmise that this could create a state of delusion leading to outsized conspiracy theories, xenophobic impulses, extremist excesses and too autocratic trouble makers … all leading to fractures in society!

Which it has, of course.

So if we fear the truth … do we simply embrace fiction over fact?

But when fabrications become the fabric that binds our reality then we genuinely develop doubts about that reality … as the contours of truths and lies are too blurred to be properly discerned: thus that fear of truth is validated … as all seems to be ‘say-whatever-sways-your-supporters/social group/nation’.

We are truly in a fearful place!

29. All the Greeks and Romans learnt everything they knew from going to school in ancient Afrika.

Afrika gave everything foundational, including a God consciousness, to the world.

And they did it tens of thousands of years before your cave-dwelling albino imposters arrived on Earth.

The lying idiot is the one who knowing nothing about self accepts the lies of the White criminals fictionalized book.

A book which attempts to write a people without a history into existence.

30. RE We are truly in a fearful place! THAT IS THE LOT WHO LIVE IN THE CONTEMPORARY CHAOS THAT THOSE WHO LIVE IN THE USA MUST NOW ENDURE
    AND THEE WILL BE NO PEACE FOR MANY UNTIL THE ORINCE OF PEACE APPEARS

RE But when fabrications become the fabric that binds our reality then we genuinely develop doubts about that reality …THOSE WHO ARE NOT BETZPAENIC HAVE EASILY BEN ABLE TO UNRAVEL ALL THE fabrications THAT ARE PART OF THE The fabric that SEEKS TO bind our reality

RE as the contours of truths and lies are too blurred to be properly discerned: thus that fear of truth is validated … as all seems to be ‘say-whatever-sways-your-supporters/social group/nation’.INDEED THIS IS WHAT THE DEMONCRATS IN THE USA AND THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA IS DOING IN THE USA THEY SAY THAT THEY ARE LEFT I.E THEY ARE SINISTER

RE one must also accept that there is a crushing fear of truth! THERE IS ONLY FEAR OF TRUTH BY THOSE WHO HAVE THIER EVIL DEEDS TO HIDE. THOSE WHO ARE ABIDING IN THE TRUTH AND FOLLOWING THE TRUTH HAVE NO FEAR

So if we fear the truth … do we simply embrace fiction over fact? THOSE WHO ARE ABIDING IN THE TRUTH AND FOLLOWING THE TRUTH NEVER HAVE TO DO THAT THEY FERVENTLY EMBRACE THE TRUTH…..BECAUSE THE TRUTH IS DESIGNED TO SET THOSE WHO BELIEVEE AND EMBRACE THE TRUTH FREE. THE CONVERSE IS ALSO TRUE

31. Instead of being short, I should have stayed that mental problems require more than prayers and Bible verses. Depression is just one of the many mental illnesses.

Psychiatrists and psychologists are a part of the solution.

32. Mark Zuckerberg Loses BILLIONS As Facebook Sees Worst Shutdown In Over A Decade
    https://www.blabber.buzz/blab/pop/1030920-mark-zuckerberg-loses-billions-as-facebook-sees-worst-shutdown-in-over-a-decade?utm_source=c-alrt&utm_medium=c-alrt-email&utm_term=c-alrt-Microsoft&utm_content=3CQdSxOTSLUQW517MCS8iTU9RyCYn&lctg=2268fc4abba99d18629aee70751a8db0
    DO YOU THINK THAT HE IS EXPERIENCING FEAR ? OR ANXIETY OR DEPRESSION? DO YOU THINK THAT JE NEEDS PRAYER? OR THE COMFORT OF THE MATCHLESS COMFORT OF PHILLIPIANS 4:6-7

33. REInstead of being short, I should have stayed that mental problems require more than prayers and Bible verses. Depression is just one of the many mental illnesses.
    Psychiatrists and psychologists are a part of the solution.

BEING AN EXPERT, PERHAPS YOU CAN TELL US HOW THEY WORK I AM ALL EARS SUH

34. Does one has to be an expert to have an opinion?

And if one is not an expert does that make the opinion wrong?

Are you an expert on mental health?

How do you explain the role of psychiatrist and psychologists?

35. RE Are you an expert on mental health? AS YOU KNOW THAT TO THE BU CROWD I KNOW NUTTIN LOL
    RE How do you explain the role of psychiatrist and psychologists? START BY TAKING A VERY GOOD HISTORY
    IF DONE WELL YOU SHOULD ASCERTAIN THE AETIOLOGY.
    AFTER DAT ALL SHOULD BE EASY
    IN YOUR CASE I WOULD ADVOCATE THROWING YOU OVER THE SWING BRIDGE OR SENTENCING YOU TO SPEND A NIGHT WID MIA OR AC OR ONE OF THE OTHER MAD WOMEN WHO COME ON BU
    DOES THAT HELP
    THE OTHER TWO QUESTIONS ARE BIDEN-ESQUE

36. Throw a sprat and you catch a very bad doctor!

Now…. supposing I was mad would that be a way for a doctor to behave? And a Christian doctor at that.

Tut tut!

That is why people do not seek help for such!

But…. as a very young woman at UWI, I found myself unable to focus on anything with figures in it. Words were a breeze. I did not need to focus. I took myself to Dr. George Mahy and he diagnosed me with depression. “That’s all it is,” he said. I knew it stemmed from my home life. I had just moved out after a horrible falling out with my mother.

Another doctor who did not know what he was doing, according to GP the Great.

I covered for many years. Only two close friends knew how I was feeling. I was strong enough to fight through and function reasonably well.

And here I am. Have never felt more than a little blue for many, many years.

And guess what helped! The same passage that GP posted. I had a tape of the King’s College Choir that I used to start my day with. I listened to the Bible being read on Faith F.M. I immersed myself in the Church.

And from Creflo Dollar of all people on TBN, I learnt, “You can’t stop a bird from flying over your head but you can stop it from making a nest on it.”

Since then I set a limit on how long something will be allowed to bother me. Twenty-four hours. I do not dwell on a problem. I do all I can and I let it go.

Why worry about something you cannot change?

So… even if God doesn’t exist, He was a great placebo. Or opium.

Whatever! It worked.

37. So, TheO, the mad woman actually agrees with the Mighty GP on this one.

SOME can be cured by Bible verses and prayer.

BUT I too love to throw sprats and catch doctors. He had no idea I was going to agree with him.

Murdaaaaaaah!

Now he got to mek fun uh heself and he own cure!

38. AC,

I have never stared down the barrel of a gun but I was attacked by a would be rapist on a deserted Enterprise Rd one night. Don’t know how I did it but I did keep my head and manage to get away. I walked and he ran. He was more scared than I was.

39. RE King’s College Choir AND PHILLIPPIANS 4: 6-7…YA CANT GET MUCH BETTER THAN DAT

RE Now he got to mek fun uh heself and he own cure!
    WHY WOULD I DO THAT? I AM CONFIDENT ABOUT WHAT I SAID ABOUT THE SCRIPTURES —VERY CONFIDENT WHETHER YOU LYING OR NOT

RE He had no idea I was going to agree with him. I DONT CARE IF YOU AGREE WID ME OR NOT. YOU DONT COUNT AS A PEERIN TIS MATTER SO YOU CAN GREE OR DONT GREE

RE I took myself to Dr. George Mahy and he diagnosed me with depression. “That’s all it is,” he said. I knew it stemmed from my home life. I had just moved out after a horrible falling out with my mother.

MAHY WAS RIGHT ANXIETY/DEPRESSION … GOOD MAN GOOD TEACHER

RE the mad woman actually agrees with the Mighty GP on this one. THERE IS HOPE FOR YOU AFTER ALL ,,,,,,,,,BUT YOU STILL MAD
    MADNESS IN THOSE OF YOUR ILK ONLY COMES OUT BY MUCH PRAYER AND FASTING —-AND PROBABABLY AN EXORCIST ——-THAT IS ABOVE BY PAY GRADE I DONT GO THERE BOSIE

RE I walked and he ran. He was more scared than I was. I CAN JUST IMAGINE HOW HE FELT THAT HE WAS STALKING A MAD WOMAN …HE PROBABLY STILL RUNNING ALL LIKE NOW

40. Imagine, a twenty year old girl taking herself to a psychiatrist’s office in busy Belleville in Broad daylight more than thirty years ago.

In a society known for making fun at people for any hint of a mental difficulty.

I thought nothing of it. The reason I covered for years was because I did not wish to burden too many of my friends, not because I was ashamed.

I just wanted to be sure my blanking out was not something other than depression and anxiety.

PS. Whether I am lying or not?

I have said here on BU on many occasions that Christianity did much for me. Miller was always on at me about it.

Now you know what it did for me.

And yup! The rapist run from the mad woman! I was too cool for his ass. Sensed somebody behind me. Turned around and saw him. Realised he had to have been hiding behind a tree. Assessed my surroundings and thought he had to be an asshole to try that there. Turned back around as though I suspected nothing. Watched the fool from the corner of my eye.
    Offset the numbskull with a piercing scream as he lounged and before he could cover my mouth. Tripped the brute with my shopping bags. Landed on top of him. Jumped up while his ass was still on the ground.

Never dropped my shopping bags!

Taunted the poor fool as he ran like hell!

Idiot ran up in the gap where big dogs and security systems were plentiful. Ran back out, passed me heading fuh Oistins.

I always had this thing about running away. I never could run even from my mother. Stood and looked her in the eye and took my licks unless she was using something inappropriate like electric wire, which she did once. Then I grabbed it and frustrated the hell out of her until my father came and pulled her away.

Never ran. Never cried.

So my depression was not caused by any imbalance in the brain. It was caused by circumstances.

And I did a whole lotta good stuff in the midst of it.

Made me a very good listener to people with problems.

41. DonnaOctober 4, 2021 10:31 PM

AC,

I have never stared down the barrel of a gun but I was attacked by a would be rapist on a deserted Enterprise Rd one night. Don’t know how I did it but I did keep my head and manage to get away. I walked and he ran. He was more scared than I was
    Xxxx.
    I read your story with much interest after which I came to the conclusion
    That was your shadow

Leave a comment, join the discussion.