The COVID 19 virus is wrecking havoc on the Barbados landscape based on the number of infections experienced in recent days. Our worse fears are being realised with 92 reported infections listed in the recent dashboard. During a press conference yesterday authorities advised current trajectory if left unchecked could see 500 cases of Covid 19 infections daily starting as early from next week.

Another interesting revelation from the authorities is that unvaccinated persons AND children are showing high on the infected trendline.

Source: Barbados Government Covid 19 Unit

Here is a simple bit of advice to Barbadians, unvaccinated AND vaccinated people – follow the rh Covid 19 protocols – wear your mask properly (not under your neck or with nose exposed), practice good hygiene by washing your hands and avoid rubbing eyes and nose, and keep your distance (in other words, assume the person standing next to you has the virus, especially if they do not belong to your household bubble).

A look at the Covid 19 charts compiled by BU resource Lyall Small and updated to BU Sidebar to the right of the BU Homepage – the data paints the worrying trend. Unlike all the many armchair experts the BU blogmaster cannot offer definitive advice EXCEPT to follow the guidance of the medical fraternity.

The blogmaster will resist being prolix because of all the writing posted about COVID 19. In summary, our rate of COVID 19 infections is spiking, we need to arrest it because our fragile economy does not have the capacity to withstand the sustain shock given the demands on it. Kudos to the government for building capacity in the healthcare system to manage a large numbers of Covid 19 infected people. We have the Cuban and Ghanaian nurses who will have the opportunity to earn pay.

The fear of the blogmaster is with a general election approaching political rhetoric from all sides will not help to guide the thoughts of a local population caused by COVID 19 and flailing economic fatigue.

Relevant Link: Government Information Service

366 responses to “Covid 19 and Economy Fatigue ‘Virus’ Spike”

1. Sent to the blog by Tee White:

I think it would be useful to share this on the blog. I am also very interested to find out:

1. Has an agreement been signed between, Pfizer, the US government and CARICOM under which the 5.5 million doses of Pfizer vaccines have been delivered to CARICOM countries?

2. If so, that this agreement be published in full so that the people of the region can see what has been agreed on their behalf

https://citizengo.org/en-us/204164-covid-19-vaccines-do-not-coerce-parents-vaccinating-their-children

2. If a virus has a high possibilty rate of mutating the possibilty of a high rate of transmission is possible
    Also among those who are vaccinated
    Reason being that the virus spread through transmission
    Hence getting the a mutating virus under control is all but impossible until there is a cure
    Small island govts leadership stubbornness is mostly accountable for how the virus became embedded in their country

3. The issue here is not just about slowing transmission. It is about protecting people from severe illness and death. Do you understand?

4. DavidAugust 29, 2021 6:28 AM

The issue here is not just about slowing transmission. It is about protecting people from severe illness and death. Do you understand

Xxxxxxxxxx

No I do not understand neither does the scientist
    Hence the virus continues to mutate
    Maybe u King David know better
    My comment is not intended to have answers but is borne on months of observation which shows how small island govts took big risks in opening their borders when the virus was wrecking havoc in international countries
    Now the results are evident
    Don’t blame me I have a Stan pipe mentality

5. The Blogmaster stated “We have the Cuban and Ghanaian nurses who will have the opportunity to earn pay.”
    I believe our Ghanaian visitors were seconded for a two year period. I believe that period has expired. What is their current status? I have not heard any news from the BGI which is strange when you consider how obsessed this government is with PR.

https://3news.com/95-ghanaian-nurses-arrive-in-barbados/

6. Jamaica’s tourist sector has been dealt a major blow with the United Kingdom restricting all non-essential travel to the island based on the COVID risks.

The decision comes as a shock to industry stakeholders, who were relieved on Friday when Jamaica was spared from being added to the dreaded travel ‘red list’.

The UK has introduced a ‘traffic light’ and travel certification system, which sees travellers categorised in green, amber or red, depending on the level of risk in the destinations from which they are travelling.

Travellers arriving from red-list countries are placed under greater restrictions, including a 10-day quarantine and £2000 hotel stay on their arrival in the UK.

The latest development has seen TUI, one of UK’s largest tour operators cancelling all flights to Jamaica until September 11.

7. @ David,
    I retract my last comment. It appears I have completely mixed up my dates. Very sloppy on my part.

8. Remember Bostic saying that govt will wrestle this “thing” to the ground boastful and lofty words and a virus having govt and scientist scratching their heads looking for answers

9. So funny that people are refusing to understand that this is a new virus and NOBODY has all the answers. Does that mean we must not try?

And which army commander on his way to war, gives anything other than a morale boosting pep talk?

So what did you expect Bostic to say?

And how much better would our response have been if he had said, “Eat drink and be merry, for tomorrow we die!”

🙄

10. You may have the last word because your head is like moon rock. Have a look at the numbers above. The battle is being waged on different fronts, rate of infections, preventing deaths and serious illness etc. According to you we should throw our hands in the air and wait for a cure. This is not surprising given where you live and the madness that prevails over there.

11. DavidAugust 29, 2021 6:28 AM

The issue here is not just about slowing transmission. It is about protecting people from severe illness and death. Do you understand?

There should be one and only one issue.

Eradicate the virus.

The result will be transmission will be stopped.

12. “Moo rock” lol The rock that the cow brought back from the moon, perhaps?

I thought she had only jumped over!

13. @John

Please take you bs elsewhere. The ultimate objective it to prevent the virus but at this time the science is challenged to do so, until it is realized what should we do? Read your unproven unscientific water theories?

#steupse

14. @John

This is the last time, take your BS to the other blog.

15. COVID CONCERNS

Bajans urged to keep guard up as virus cases spike
    By Antoinette Connell
    antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com
    The Blackman and Gollop Primary School went into use yesterday as COVID-19 patients started to overflow because of the rapidly spreading Delta variant attacking Barbados.
    The news grew grimmer as Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George confirmed the death of a 58-year-old woman at the Harrison Point isolation facility in St Lucy during the wee hours of yesterday and Senior Medical Officer Dr Ingrid Cumberbatch revealed the projection of 500 cases a day into next week based on a University of the West Indies (UWI) project.
    In the midst of it all, health officials beseeched all to get vaccinated, wear their masks properly, sanitise, avoid large gatherings and to follow the protocols.
    The latest victim of COVID-19 was unvaccinated and had no comorbidities.
    During a press conference yesterday, in responding to a question on what Barbadians could expect with the number of positive cases increasing daily, Cumberbatch said a collaborative effort with UWI painted a picture of 500 a day maximum cases centred on the Alpha and Delta variants.
    “We haven’t seen that yet but we know that is a possibility. Looking at other jurisdictions we know that that is not even the worst case because that is a picture that was painted with Alpha and Delta in Barbados. So right now given the projection from our UWI colleagues I can say we
    are looking about 500 cases a day right now into next week,” she stated.
    Infectious Delta
    George, who spoke to the Sunday Sun prior to the press conference, said with the extremely infectious Delta, all the country’s indices, including the positivity rate and the case per 100 000, were trending upward. Once again a church was at the centre of the outbreak with 30 members of a faith-based organisation being positive.
    Last night, the COVID Monitoring Unit dispatched a team to Sheraton Centre in Christ Church where there were complaints of crowds of young people at the mall.
    “I would like to tell individuals who are unvaccinated they remain a particular risk. Although COVID-19 can be transmitted to the vaccinated person you are less likely to have a serious outcome. If you look at our figures coming out of Harrison Point we have told the public that 80 to 85 per cent of persons within that institution who are very ill . . . are unvaccinated and they are definitely occupying intensive care,” he said.
    He conceded that “we’re not in a good place” and the quarantine stock of rooms were being prepared with Blackman and Gollop already taking in the not so ill COVID-19 patients. There is a contingency plan for other schools to become quarantine facilities.
    “What we don’t seem to be getting across is that COVID-19 could be deadly and could have very poor outcomes, particularly with the Delta variant. When you congregate in large numbers and close to each Government is to meet with faith-based organisations over COVID-19 arrangements following another cluster at a church.
    Attorney General Dale Marshall in a press statement explained some of the new changes announced by Prime Minister Mia Mottley on Friday, particularly those affecting churches.
    The changes take effect from today.
    “ . . . Churches are limited to 25 persons but we are well aware that there [are] many very small church buildings in Barbados. We therefore want to make it clear that in no circumstance can more than 25 per cent of the floor space be occupied for the service,” Marshall said.
    The clarifications, he said, was coming after the Prime Minister chaired a meeting of the Cabinet COVID Subcommittee yesterday and “certain of the matters were reviewed and refined”.
    “I can say that the Prime Minister will meet with the faith-based organisations so that we can have in-depth discussions to see how we can better establish arrangements that are specific to each assembly. We understand the difficulties of adopting a one size fits all approach and we want to open those discussions with the religious sector,” he said.
    Poor ventilation
    On Friday Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic said that 13 of the 48 new cases announced that day were from a church and expressed concern about poorly ventilated structures used for religious services that could be contributing to the further transmission of the virus.
    “Since we started the shutdown process we’ve had conversations with various congregations . . . one of the things that is fairly clear to us is that we run the risk of not achieving what we want to achieve
    when we adopt a one size fits all approach. At this point in time – but I suspect this is the last time we will do it – we have decided to limit all churches to 25 attendees,” Marshall later said during a press conference.
    He pointed out that regardless of the ceiling of 25 people it still must be six feet apart.
    Along with restricting the numbers for the churches, aerobic or dance exercise classes must be conducted outdoors.
    The gyms, dance and exercise studios will continue operations but subject to specific protocols issued by the Covid Monitoring Unit. (PR/AC)

16. AG: Some not taking directives seriously
    Barbadians must do a better job of self-regulating adherence to the COVID-19 protocols if the country is to make it through the latest surge of COVID-19, which includes the more virulent Delta variant strain.
    So says Attorney General Dale Marshall, who pointed out that Government was simply not in a position to police all areas to ensure that Barbadians are compliant.
    During a virtual COVID-19 update yesterday, Marshall who was responding to a question on the adequacy of the COVID-19 Monitoring Unit’s manpower, given the faster rate of spread of the Delta variant, said that based on the reports he continues to receive some Barbadians were not taking the directives seriously.
    He argued that no amount of monitoring manpower was going to be able to safeguard the population, rather it would require all persons to take the measures seriously.
    Problem with policing
    “These reports demonstrate that Barbadians are not taking the directives and the protocols seriously. In those circumstances if we had ten COVID-19 Monitoring Units, we would still have a problem with policing. The monitoring unit is simply doing the best that it can and in some cases they depend on the police for backup because they don’t have the power of arrest. Barbadians are continuing to ignore the directives and in that sense we will never be in a position to police. Secondly, irresponsible behaviour puts a greater strain on our national resources because the police then have to stop doing what they are doing to deal with these situations,” said Marshall.
    The AG said he saw no need for stiffer penalties for breach of the COVID-19 protocols, noting that the maximum penalty for breach of the directives is $50 000 or one year in prison. Making it clear that he had no intention of trespassing on the domain of the law courts as it related to their application of penalties, Marshall noted that in some cases the courts have handed down some hefty fines.
    “I don’t think that the penalties require any changing . . . the penalty is already fairly stiff,
    our court has not taken anyone to the full extent of that penalty, but we have had some fairly stiff penalties imposed in the past. Some fines have gone as high as $10 000, but when a matter goes before the court, the penalty is determined by the judge or the magistrate on that occasion based on the severity of the offence and any mitigating factors. So I am not in a position to say anything negative about the penalties that have been imposed but I can say that the maximum penalty of $50 000 is certainly significant,” he said.
    Must safeguard selves
    Also weighing in on the issue was head of the COVID-19 Monitoring Unit, Ronald Chapman, who made it clear the unit was adequately staffed, but stressed Barbadians needed to take measures to also safeguard themselves.
    “In a role such as ours you can never have enough and the reason I say that is because the Royal Barbados Police Force has over 1 400 officers and they are still crying out. I say that because Barbadians need to take responsibility for themselves. The COVID-19 Monitoring Unit is well staffed and is well able to address the issues that we are confronting, but we can’t be everywhere at once and we as a country need to realise that this is not only an individual effort but a family effort,” he stressed.
    Chapman said the Monitoring Unit continued to respond to instances when notified. (CLM)

17. Delta variant ‘biggest threat’ to economy
    By Colville Mounsey
    colvillemounsey
    @nationnews.com
    Just when Barbados seemed poised to begin the economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic, the threat of the Delta variant could dash those hopes.
    This is the prognosis of senior economic advisor to the Mia Amor Mottley administration, Dr Kevin Greenidge, who said Barbados has already suffered a series of disasters which have set the Barbadian economy back by almost two decades.
    “We are expected to grow in the second half of this year if and only if we get our COVID-19 situation under control, and therefore if we continue to get major outbreaks, especially if the Delta variant takes hold, we can see it costing us seriously economically. If we don’t get it under control it is going to postpone our recovery and there is no high science about it,” Greenidge said.
    He explained that the fundamentals of the Barbados economy are still strong, especially in relation to the country’s fiscal position. However, he acknowledged that those structures had taken a pounding and, given the uncertainty of the situation, it was a question of how much more they could bear.
    “In 2020 we lost about $2 billion in economic activity, putting us back to the same economic level that we were at in 1996. So we have been set back by a number of years . . . COVID put us back to the start line of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation [BERT] programme.
    “Luckily, the work on the fiscal was complete and we have been in a strong fiscal position to provide the necessary social and economic support during the COVID times, and that is why we were able to sustain two lockdowns. We have managed to save for a rainy day, but the situation is that rain keeps falling,” he lamented.
    According to the latest assessment of the Barbados economy by the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the economy remained severely depressed by the ongoing global coronavirus pandemic.
    “Tourism activity has picked up in recent months but remains at a fraction of normal levels. The economy is estimated to have grown five and half per cent in the second quarter of 2021 (relative to the second quarter of 2020). A category 1 hurricane ( Elsa) struck Barbados in July and caused significant damage to the island’s housing. Economic growth
    for the second half of 2021 and the first half of 2022 is premised on a gradual recovery of tourism,” the report from the IMF team led by Bert van Selm stated.
    The report added that despite this very challenging environment, Barbados continues to make good progress in implementing its ambitious and comprehensive economic reform programme, while expanding critical investments in social protection.
    However, Greenidge told the Sunday Sun this projection, which is predicated on the rebounding of tourism, would only be possible if Barbadians could avoid more stringent mitigation measures and, most importantly, the worst-case scenario of another shutdown.
    “COVID has really decimated the economy, declining by almost 20 per cent in 2020 and we were down by nine per cent in the first half of the year, even though the second quarter showed some improvement. We had shutdowns, we had Hurricane Elsa, ash fall, we had a lot of hits. The prognosis is for a small recovery in the last half of the year and into next year, but it is all predicated on us being able to get COVID-19 under control and, by extension, create the way for tourism. The bigger planes are coming back more frequently and persons have started to travel again, so it is really up to us to get our act together. If we go into another shutdown, any growth projection will be pushed back well into next year,” he said.

18. Yes to vaccine
    By Tony Best
    If Bajans want strong scientific evidence about the ability of vaccines to ward off severe illness and even death caused by the coronavirus, they can find it in last week’s action in the United States of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
    That’s how a key Bajan scientist Dr Wayne Greaves, who is involved in pharmaceutical research in the US, has responded to the FDA’s decision to place its stamp of approval on the widespread use of the Pfizer vaccine, a move made last week to help control the spread of the highly infectious and deadly coronavirus. COVID-19 has already killed about four million people in almost every corner of the globe, including almost 700 000 people in the US and less than 50 in Barbados.
    Greaves told the Sunday Sun there was an extensive accumulation of strong scientific data that backed up the efficacy of the vaccines and among that body of proof was the FDA’s decision to approve the Pfizer vaccines for national and global use in order to protect people against the ravages of the disease.
    Not only did the Bajan welcome the FDA’s move, saying it didn’t surprise him or anyone else in the scientific community, he used the data and the action of the governmental medical watchdog to urge anti-vaxxers in and out of Barbados and the US to shed their opposition to vaccination by rolling up their sleeves and taking the jab against the virus.
    “It would protect them and save lives,” he said.
    “I expect that the Moderna and J& J vaccines will also be approved,” Greaves added. “Indeed, no one in the scientific community was caught by surprise by the FDA’s recent approval of the Pfizer vaccine. It was just a question of time as the FDA was waiting for more efficacy and safety data,” from the manufacturer after more extensive trials.
    The Barbadian readily acknowledged that the Pfizer vaccine, a gift from the US and which was now being used in Barbados was not as effective when it came to grappling with the Delta variant as compared with the efficacy against the original virus. But he was quick to explain that the vaccine was still shielding people from serious illness, hospitalisation and death.
    “Yes, the efficacy of the vaccine against the Delta variant has declined and it is clearly not as good as was anticipated by the scientists,” he said.
    Not as good
    “The reality shows that the efficacy against the Delta variant was clearly not as good as [it was] against the previous variant. That is undisputable now. To be transparent, the data also showed that it would take different approaches to control the pandemic. But the vaccine is clearly the most important [way] to achieve that goal. It is not only approach we need to take. People must consider continuing the wearing of masks and engaging in social distancing.
    “The good thing about the drop off in efficacy which we have seen against the Delta variant is that the vaccine is still giving (considerable) protection,” insisted Greaves. “That was the (crucial) message which we in Barbados and elsewhere must observe and which shouldn’t be lost on us. Clearly, the vaccine remains important”.
    He, therefore, urged Barbadians to become vaccinated.
    “The protection the vaccine provides is still very high,” he added. “It is not 100 per cent but it is still very high.”
    When it came to the vaccination of children, he was careful to point out that scientific evidence had shown that vaccination might have triggered a health complication in a handful of young children, mainly in boys, who came down with inflammation of the heart muscle. He said it was a successfully treatable problem.
    Not enough data
    “In children the vaccines seem to be working but I feel we may not have had enough data, sufficient numbers compared with adults,” he said.
    “The concern which has so far emerged with the vaccine at least in boys is the risk of a small number of boys developing inflammation of the heart muscle, called myocarditis in a very, very small number of them. But the vaccine appears to work just as well for kids, 12 years and up as it has in adults. They usually recover, but it is still a nuisance. It was an unexpected development. It is a relatively rare but unexpected side-effect.”
    Greaves praised Barbados for its overall success in managing the disease which he said had been handled effectively.
    “The proof of that can be seen in the fact that the health care system wasn’t overburdened with cases,” he said.

Source Nation

19. Covid-19 a long-haul fight
    If we didn’t understand it before, we should understand it now. This COVID situation will be a long haul. We are not going back to normal any time soon. The people and Government of Barbados have done relatively well up until this point with a situation we cannot control.
    The character of Barbadians may have something to do with it. You will often hear Bajans complain about indiscipline in Barbados. But I feel that Barbadians are among the most compliant people in the Western Hemisphere. We might be surprised how high the level of protocol compliance among Barbadians is when compared with other places.
    We are going to have to resurrect and draw on that spirit of discipline, cooperation, order and respect which we once prided ourselves on. This time, though, it cannot be a discipline and order imposed by a big stick, intimidation and plantation culture.
    It must be a discipline and order bred from a common identity, common national goals and a new social culture. In other words, “Doan push we around. Lewwe reason and work dis ting out together.” This is our most important layer of protection.
    This is important because you will also hear people say that Bajans are docile. But I feel that this is a misunderstanding of the understated and subtle kinds of resistance Barbadians practise. While Bajans are very compliant, you can only push them so far before you hit a wall.
    The authorities are feeling that wall with significant levels of jab hesitancy. While they are urging people to take the jab, they have understood that the resentment and resistance that forceful and coercive measures would stir up will be more detrimental to the society than the virus itself. This decision to not force or coerce jabs also appears to line up with and follow the latest science.
    Sciencemag.com reports that “The natural immune protection that develops after a SARS-CoV-2 infection offers considerably more of a shield against the Delta variant of the pandemic coronavirus than two doses of the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine, according to a large Israeli study . . . people who once had a SARSCoV- 2 infection were much less likely than vaccinated people to get Delta, develop symptoms from it, or become hospitalised with serious COVID-19.”
    However, the study also suggests that people who get infected and also take the jab are more protected than persons who only took the jab or who only got infected.
    Aljazeera.com reports that, “In their latest COVID-19 update, Public Health England experts also warned there were early signs that people who have been inoculated may be able to transmit the Delta strain as easily as those who have not received any jabs.”
    The Aljazeera article also says that just under half of the persons hospitalised in the UK have had at least one jab and over 30 per cent have had two jabs.
    In an article on the USA Today website from August 24, it is revealed that, “A study released Tuesday showed vaccine effectiveness
    decreased among health care workers who were fully vaccinated since the time the Delta variant became widespread, which could be due to the waning effectiveness of the vaccine over time, the higher transmissibility of the Delta variant, or other factors.”
    Does all of this mean you shouldn’t take the jab? Not necessarily. Studies also suggest that the jab does reduce the chances of severe illness, if you happen to be one of those who are vulnerable and fall ill. Taking the jab is a personal decision that one must make. You weigh the risks and the benefits and you decide if it is what you think you should do to protect you. Even if Barbados had enough doses for everyone, being jabbed does not mean that you are completely safe, nor does it mean that you should let your guard down and take risks which you otherwise wouldn’t take. It is not a longhaul solution. It is just one layer of protection.
    There is another layer of protection which we need to start discussing. While some have tried to frame this as a pandemic of the unvaccinated, it is still first and foremost a crisis of the most vulnerable, those with co-morbidities and underlying conditions, even when vaccinated. In the same way that Government won’t force you to take the jab but will try to persuade you, it won’t force you to adopt a healthier lifestyle either. But, understanding that this is for the long haul, it may be a good time to rethink our approach to health in this country.
    Too many of us fall into that “vulnerable with underlying conditions category”.
    Sometimes we don’t even know.
    Adrian Green is a communications specialist.

20. Limitation on employer duties under the SHAW Act
    It was announced last week that Cabinet will not impose a national mandate regarding the taking of the COVID-19 vaccines.
    In the absence of a national mandate, employers who insist on vaccination as a condition of continued employment may face legal liability for any employee who is terminated or constructively dismissed for not taking the vaccine.
    In most cases, an employer who dismisses an employee solely because he is unvaccinated will not meet the requirements of fairness set out in Section 29 of the Employment Rights Act (ERA) necessary to make the dismissal fair. Employers may also be legally and financially liable for any adverse effects experienced by that employee from the vaccine.
    Some employers have expressed concern that without a sufficient number of vaccinated staff they will be unable to fulfil their duty to provide a safe place of work as required by section 6 (5) of the Safety And Health At Work Act (SHAW Act).
    However, I do not believe this duty extends to protecting employees from contracting or transmitting viral illnesses that exist within the general population. We have never considered an employer responsible for protecting employees from contracting other viral illnesses such as gastroenteritis or the flu which are prevalent in workplaces at certain times of the year.
    This is because these viruses are outside the employer’s control and don’t originate within the workplace.
    COVID-19 is no different.
    An examination of section 6(6) of the act shows that the employer’s duty is expressed as mainly applying to ensuring the safety of the plant, machinery and premises of the workplace.
    The provisions within the act which require an employer to protect the health of employees all reference matters that relate to the workplace or arise from workplace processes. Nor have I found any case where an employer was held liable for the illness of an employee that did not result from the plant, equipment or processes within the workplace. Although a number of local businesses have experienced outbreaks of the virus among staff, I am unaware of any action taken against these employers by the Chief Labour Officer, who is charged with enforcing the provisions of the SHAW Act. Could it be that it’s unreasonable to expect an employer to be solely responsible for preventing COVID-19 in the workplace when he requires the consistent cooperation of his employees to do so, and (1) an employee has the legal right to refuse vaccination and (2) both vaccinated and
    unvaccinated employees can catch and transmit the Delta variant, which is now present in Barbados?
    According to section 6(5) of the SHAW Act, an occupier (employer) only has a duty to ensure the health, safety and welfare at work of all his employees, so far as is reasonably practicable. Therefore, an employer need only take steps as are reasonable in the circumstances to reduce the incidence of infection or transmission of the virus within the workplace. This is limited to implementing systems that ensure consistent adherence to the safety protocols, including allowing remote work and reduced numbers in office where possible, together with imposing consequences when employees fail to comply.
    Employers should also advise employees that vaccination provides an extra layer of protection from the virus and encourage them to be vaccinated. However, it is not reasonably practical for an employer to take measures, such as threatening termination in the absence of vaccination, when that may expose the employer to legal and financial liability.
    Section 109 (3) of the SHAW Act very clearly states that “no offence is committed by the occupier by reason only of the contravention of the provision imposing the duty unless it is proved that he failed to take all reasonable steps to prevent the contravention”. Once it is shown that the employer took reasonable steps to fulfil his duty, then the employer is not liable.
    Michelle M. Russell is an attorney with a passion for employment law and labour matters and a budding social activist.

21. UWI Mona’s jab regulation
    KINGSTON – The Mona campus of the University of the West Indies (UWI) has informed students residing in the halls of residence that they will be required to be fully vaccinated against the coronavirus (COVID-19) by September 3.
    In a statement, the university said that the requirement is to “ensure a safe living environment for its staff and students.
    “Evidence of vaccination with any of the approved vaccines must be provided to the relevant student services and development manager in order to secure accommodation in the halls of residence,” the statement said.
    It said that students and other persons currently residing in halls who have not received, at a minimum, their first vaccination shot, where applicable, are required to do so by next Friday, September 3, in order to remain in the facility.
    The move by the Mona campus follows a similar position adopted by the Trinidad-based St Augustine campus that earlier this month informed staff and students that while it has, for now, taken a decision that it will not mandate them to be vaccinated, the position may change based on if the matter is legislated or pronounced upon by the courts.
    “However, it is to be noted that non-national students and staff must demonstrate to immigration officials that they are fully vaccinated with a World Health Organisation (WHO)-approved vaccine in order to enter the country,” pro-vice-chancellor and campus principal Professor Brian Copeland said in an email to the staff
    and students.
    “We encourage all staff and students to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19. The data clearly shows that the non-vaccinated remain most vulnerable,” Copeland said.
    “WHO-approved vaccines are now widely available throughout the country and have been shown to provide an excellent defence against the COVID-19 virus. The more members of our community who are vaccinated, the greater chance we have of suppressing the COVID-19 virus and the production of mutations. This is also the swiftest path to a full return to campus,” he said, adding that one exception is the case of the Halls of Residence, where “only fully vaccinated students, whether nationals or non-nationals, will be allowed to stay”.
    “In any event, nonnational students would have to be fully vaccinated with a WHO-approved vaccine in order to enter the country to take up study,” he said, adding that only two halls of residence will be open for the arrival of residents from August 29. (CMC)

22. 2024 RECOVERY
    Govt report: Continuing economic challenges due to pandemic
    By Shawn Cumberbatch
    shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com
    Barbadians should brace themselves for another three years of uncertainty, with Government not expecting the economy to fully recover from the COVID-19 pandemic until the end of 2024.
    That is what the Mia Mottley administration has forecast in its Barbados Fiscal Framework 2022/2023 to 2024/2025, which warned that “the prolonged global coronavirus pandemic poses a major challenge to the economy”.
    The framework was recently approved by Cabinet and tabled in Parliament ahead of an August 15 deadline mandated by the Public Finance Management Act.
    Cautioning that the pandemic continues to have profound global effects even though the outlook for growth was gradually improving, Government believes the economy “will make a modest recovery in 2021 and grow an estimated 3.3 per cent and average 4.9 per cent between 2022 and 2024”.
    “This forecast for weaker growth than originally estimated for 2021 takes into consideration the impact of renewed travel restrictions in key source markets and COVID-19 containment measures in February that lowered economic activity more than expected during the first quarter of the year,” said the 35-page report prepared by the Ministry of Finance.
    “Economic activity beyond 2021 is hinged on the country’s ability to contain the domestic spread of COVID-19, as well as the resumption of tourism activity, particularly as the main source markets are expected to rebound.”
    The authorities stressed that continued success with COVID-19 vaccination efforts locally and internationally “remains central to the path of recovery and taking this into consideration 2021 tourist arrivals are expected to be 33 per cent of 2019 arrival levels, increasing to 70 per cent in 2022 and returning to full levels by 2024”.
    Their outlook was for the anticipated rise in tourism activity to “have a positive effect on all ancillary sectors, driving real GDP activity to pre-COVID-19 levels by end of 2024”.
    However, Government said “there are some downside risks to the forecasts as uncertainty surrounding the proliferation of new potentially vaccine-resistant strains and outbreaks in heavily populated segments of the world could jeopardise the demand for global travel”.
    Downturn
    The continued economic downturn is also likely to have consequences for Government’s finances between now and the end of the current financial
    year on March 31, the Fiscal Framework said.
    Government is projecting that its non-tax revenues will increase by $32.1 million, moving from $158.9 million to $191.7 million in that time “primarily to take account of expected increases in the foreign exchange fee”.
    This, however, would be negated by increased spending of $75.3 million because of the $22.1 million allocated for the ash fall clean-up, $17 million to fund the Barbados Tourism Marketing Incorporated’s operations, and $40 million to the Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation programme to secure tourism sector employment.
    Government also made it clear that its forecast was not without risks.
    “Despite expectations of a modest recovery, risks to the economic recovery agenda of Barbados remain elevated as a result of the prolonged impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and the recent volcanic ash fall event,” it said.
    “While Government’s job retention and job support schemes have further delayed the labour market impact, demand and income generation prospects are still evolving and are uncertain.
    “The eventual fiscal outturn for financial year 2021/2022 will be contingent on containing the spread of the coronavirus and leveraging the vaccination programme, thereby making it safe to continue business as usual,” the report stated.
    Of particular concern was the reality that “lower than projected tourist arrivals from Barbados’ key tourism markets appear imminent with the tightening of COVID-19 restrictions in those countries, which will restrict travel to Barbados.”
    “The heavy dependence on tourist travel to boost the resumption of ancillary services in the short term promotes the likelihood of further downside risks to the performance of the fiscal accounts,” Government said.
    “The potential lower economic activity might further impact value added tax receives and excise taxes negatively, and any deviation from expected employment levels would result in a decrease in personal income tax revenue.”

23. Singapore vaccinates 80 percent of population against COVID-19

https://aje.io/beuwyj

24. In September-October we were at nearly zero local cases. The GoB gambled with tourism and opening borders rather than remaining closed. The Alpha variant gave us a New Year’s gift.

This year we again got to zero cases. They gambled again and it was known from June 19 that the Delta variant was in Barbados. The hope was that vaccines could be rolled out quick enough or they could control it at the air and sea port. Delta clearly had other plans.

The Government knows it needs “targeted” mandatory testing and vaccinations but the negative political implications are too great for a group eager to retain 29 seats.

Speeches, conferences, hope and posturing on either side of the debate won’t help at all. Barbados’ vaccination rate is simply too low, the population is too dense, and the stubbornness, ignorance or Covid-19 fatigue of most is too high.

The economy can’t be closed again, but, we have to accept this will be a long hard road ahead.

Leadership at all levels of society is required to nudge people to do the right thing. In a small open economy, this should now be the absolute priority for everyone.

Just observing

25. @Observing

Will the real leaders please stand up!

Here is the other talking point we are not discussing in Barbados. Financial liability by employers, why people like Ed Clarke have been pushing mandatory vaccines because of the high claims the insurance sector has been incurring and will continue to do unless…

Will the real leaders please stand up!

26. Ed Clarke knows that they do not want to incur the costs of letting people “stay home” or to pay for their regular testing.

The Unions (whatever we have left of them) know that if on our current track with nothing done, the bottom of the bucket will start to drop out

Dale and Coln know that some workplaces are at REGULAR risk because of how they are structured or the nature/proximity of the work and workforce.

The GoB knows it does not have the financial space to cushion workers who might better serve the country by NOT going to work to avoid spread.. Plus, being in IMF etc. agreements at this stage removes alot of independence.

All the economic ministers, ministers of state, consultants and advisers know that the sputtering of the economy and negative macro AND micro effects continue to increase out of sight. Why bring a budget that has to be scrutinised by international lenders???

You are correct, the leaders are not standing up. A united public health fight WITHOUT a political, private or labour agenda is needed. Common sense decisions have to be made.

I suspect the nurse that was honest enough to tell us 500 cases a day is possible got a tongue lashing from the politicians after last night. But, that’s the type of wake up call we need.

Just observing

27. @Observing

Spot on, again.

If ever there was an even that should serve to rally sensible people it is Covid 19. Instead what do we have?

#realleadersstandup!

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

Re 7.49 article.
    No mention about T&A in the Fiscal framework? Thought that was the IMFs major point? Or did they do that to suggest what was needed?

29. @Observing,
    Very good.

I take exception to the word gambled. I saw it as a compulsory move. Regardless of the benefit/risk calculations, remaining open was only move available.

“The Government knows it needs “targeted” mandatory testing and vaccinations but the negative political implications are too great for a group eager to retain 29 seats.”

High-handed and unexplained policies are undertaken at some cost. There is no free lunch. Could I be so bold as to argue that retaining 29 seats is next to impossible. Efforts may be geared towards minimizing the number of seats that they lose.

30. @Tee De Witt

The US Government donates 5.5 Million Pfizer Vaccines to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)
    Format
    News and Press Release
    Source
    CARICOM
    Posted
    13 Aug 2021
    Originally published
    11 Aug 2021
    Origin
    View original
    The US Government has generously gifted the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) with 5.5 million doses of Pfizer vaccines. This is the culmination of efforts initiated by the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Dr the Honourable Keith Rowley, who as Chair of CARICOM, wrote to President Joseph Biden of the United States earlier this year requesting a supply of vaccines for the Community.

President Biden subsequently announced that the US was donating a supply of vaccines to the Region as part of its world-wide distribution of 80 million doses. US Vice President Kamala Harris also spoke with Prime Minister Rowley in June confirming the allocation to CARICOM.

15 CARICOM Member States will receive the much-anticipated Pfizer vaccines, with 1.5 million doses being allocated to Haiti and the other 4 million doses for distribution among 14 CARICOM countries. The donation from the White House also includes 3 million ancillary kits containing needles, syringes, diluent and other supplies which have already been received.

This donation follows months of discussions between the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Pfizer, the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) and the CARICOM Secretariat. At the beginning of those discussions, the total number of persons vaccinated in CARICOM countries stood at a meagre 515,000, which emphasizes the importance of the donation by the US Government.

CARICOM Secretary General, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque expressed his appreciation to President Biden for his generosity and to his team at the White House for their commitment to delivering the vaccines. “This end result is due to the hard work put in by the White House staff, the staff of CARPHA , the staff of the Secretariat and the team at Pfizer,” the Secretary-General said. “These vaccines would contribute significantly to the Region’s ability to control this pandemic and place the Caribbean on a path to economic recovery. Importantly it would also allow for schools to be re-opened given that the Pfizer vaccine has been approved for emergency use for children 12 years and over,” Ambassador LaRocque added.

CARPHA Executive Director, Dr. Joy St. John gave the assurance, “As the public health agency leading the regional COVID-19 response, we have worked with Member States to ensure that they are ready to accept the vaccines, especially as it relates to regulatory approval, coordination, planning and delivery, logistics, shipment receipt and procedures”. Dr. St. John added, “CARPHA was pleased to collaborate with the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), as they facilitated specialized training on vaccine systems, while we facilitated the special ultra-cold chain training, which Pfizer delivered to the countries receiving the vaccine donation”.

Dr. St. John confirmed that 3 million ancillary kits have already been delivered, with the support of Caribbean Airlines and the CARICOM Regional Security System (RSS). Another tranche of 1 million ancillary kits will be delivered directly by Pfizer along with vaccine shipments.
    Primary country
    Haiti
    Other countries
    Antigua and Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Grenada Guyana Jamaica Montserrat Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Suriname Trinidad and Tobago United States of America
    Source
    Caribbean Community Secretariat
    Format
    News and Press Release
    Themes
    Contributions Health
    Disaster type
    Epidemic

31. I knew it was not going to last. The eager anticipation of Michele Russell column has dissipated. Let me focus on a paragraph to show you why this is so. The numbers in square brackets “[ ]” are inserted by me.

“According to section 6(5) of the SHAW Act, an occupier (employer) only has a duty to ensure the health, safety and welfare at work of all his employees, so far as is reasonably practicable. Therefore, an employer need only take steps as are reasonable in the circumstances to reduce the incidence of infection or transmission of the virus within the workplace. This is limited to [1] implementing systems that ensure consistent adherence to the safety protocols, [2] including allowing remote work and reduced numbers in office where possible, [3] together with imposing consequences when employees fail to comply.”

Let me add that I am not a lawyer, but I am ready to provide legal advice for a few.

[1] We are aware of the Covid protocols. I am wondering if an argument can be made that vaccinations are now a part of that protocol.
    [2] Let’s face it. The jobs we are talking of requires going into the ‘office’. For some positions, remote working and reduced numbers in the office may be difficult to accomplish.
    [3]after a long post about the impotence of the employers she talks of imposing consequences.

My summary: Michelle kept this topic at arm’s length; contented to highlight parts of a law that may not have considered pandemics. Her interpretation of some terms (e.g. reasonably practicable) may be too limited and appears to be out of sync with what is actually happening.

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Good uploads.
    Is there any correlation between the opening up of the country and the prevalence of the new Delta strain ?
    I notice that despite the 80 % full vaccination rate of Singapore Its recent daily contagion rate is higher than Barbados at 110+ and so is its death rate at 55.
    What is more important saving Barbadians’ exposure to new strains of the virus or the vain attempt to reboot an economy where all the levers are not within our control?

33. Spike!!

Those no-vaccine demonstrators are responsible for the current spike.

Take an in-depth look around you.
    You’re protecting no one. What about your families, friends or associates?
    Que Dios se apiade de sus almas.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    I am happy to welcome you to the fold of recognizing that we are a very disciplined people who are quiet but not foolish.As the late great Horatio Cooke was wont to say: ” Poor, Peaceful and Polite”.

35. @Vincent

What is important is protecting Barbadians from serious illness and death as well as protecting the health care system from crashing. The virus is not going anywhere soon.

36. @Vincent

You should welcome the author of the article.

37. @8:00 a.m.
    I have often wondered if it was the failure of our leaders or our people that is the root cause for us lagging behind Singapore. Until now, I have never considered that it may be both.

@🐇.
    I doubt it is the water

38. Look I tired hearing politicians and others making foolish statements about how WE EXPECT A RETURN TO A STRONG ECONOMY BY 2024 OR 2023 BLA BLA BLA.

I going beg wunna shut wunna mout, cause all of that grand talk is dependant on one thing and that is Covid 19! We must do more to enforce the protocols its that simple. . I saw over the Kadooment weekend hundreds if not thousands of people all around the place with no masks on. I drove down bay street and the opening there opposite government head quarters was ram off with people and the car park and beach. So wait what wunna expected?

Now our concern is will we get moved backed to Amber as a result of our spike? I pray not as this economy can not handle such a blow. Truth is though, we have ourselves to blame. I also find the authorities seem afraid to handle these churches in a more aggressive manner. Talking bout how the pastor must have a crowd to deliver a message. What sort of foolishness is that? Wunna never here bout televangelist yet? Hold the service online or buy time on CBC. Churches have proven to be major offenders deal with them the same way wunna would if dem was bars. You can not cherry pick who wunna going clamp down on and who wunna won’t. I tired of this foolishness now. Our economy is in a dire position now and an amber listing will destroy what little is left of the tourist industry. Stop worrying bout being politicians and be leaders. Clamp down on the churches and increase the fines for those that do not wear masks or wear them under dem chin. We must do what ever it takes to bring this under control and protect our people and their livelihood.

Good I had my say and done talk!

39. ?
    “What is more important saving Barbadians’ exposure to new strains of the virus or the vain attempt to reboot an economy where all the levers are not within our control?”
    We await de Task master’s responses.

40. @John A

We have an important event scheduled in 2023. This is the most important thing influencing decisions by local politicians and leaders.

41. Wait I left out something and as I going ruffle nuff of wunna this morning let me add this final comment.

LOCKDOWNS AND CURFEWS COME AS A RESULT OF POORLY ENFORCED PROTOCALS AND PROCEDURES.

Right I now dun!

42. @ David

And that is exactly our problem. The only event we need to focus on now is getting and keeping this virus in check. What ever decisions be they pleasant or unpleasant, that must be made to protect our people and their livelihood must be our first consideration. The church issue is a blatant example of what happens when you come across as afraid to touch an offending sector.

I say again left out the politics and do wunna job! If you haven’t noticed I am really annoyed at where we are today.

Let me also say there is another variant out there now being watched that seems to be as contagious as Delta and a bit more vaccine resistant so we better get our act together quickly.

43. @John A
    Modifying slightly

Some “LOCKDOWNS AND CURFEWS COME AS A RESULT OF POORLY ENFORCED PROTOCOLS AND PROCEDURES.”

44. @David re. 2023

Therein lies the rub!!

Just observing

45. The anti-vaccination protest a few weeks ago was definitely a superspreader event. The Mulsim Brotherhood, Rastafarians and other radical minorities are to blame. So are the fanatical Christians who have spread the virus while singing in church in recent months.

It was TRON who first picked up on these crimes on BU.

Our government must now finally take the gloves off and take action against these radical enemies of the people (public anti-vaccinationists like the ISO Taliban, Rastafarians, Muslim Brotherhood and churchgoers). There must be no more false considerations now.

We therefore need decisive action and that is:

First, the revocation of driving licences and passports for the above groups.

Secondly, electronic shackles for these groups.

Thirdly, internment of these groups in special medical camps if they refuse to be vaccinated.

If we continue to close our eyes to reality, the next tourist season will be cancelled and unemployment will rise to 50-60 per cent. I am sure our beloved government knows what to do.

Our sleepy DPP must also finally act now and lock up the leaders of the anti-vaccination protest as well as those who were not wearing masks. If it turns out to be true that people had to die as a result of this demonstration, a charge of murder with all its consequences is obvious.

46. Have a great day Barbados.
    I am in full agreement with John.
    Have a great day 🐰

47. Sorry John I posted the last comment as you and not JOHN A. My apologies for the 10.06 mistake.

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 9:48 AM and 9 :48 AM

Thanks for emphasizing those two apparently overlooked points to my attention and other commenters.
    Stress on the Health System, the recovery rate of the vaccinated.and the strengths of our people.

49. @ David

Sorry the 10.06 comment was from me and not John. My apologies to both of you.

50. @ Theo

Sorry can’t agree with you, I maintain All lockdowns and this is why I say that.

If government is responsible for managing a situation then their mandate is to introduce and enforce all measures that prevent an escalation of the threat you agree?

So let’s say instead of covid it was speeding on our highways. It would be the authorities job to implement and enforce measures to deal with ALL offenders equally. What we are doing is cherry picking our approach and then posting ambulances on the highways to deal with the crashes that occur from those speeding.