Our coming transition to republican status is a proud moment for our country. As has been acknowledged before, it is not a slight to Her Majesty, Her Family or the UK, for which we have tremendous respect, but rather represents the ultimate statement of confidence in ourselves and our boundless capacity. Our commemoration of this moment comes at a particularly challenging time for our nation and world, and is thus a much needed, refreshing respite from our collective adversity.

What does not inspire pride however are the attempts by some to sow confusion by exploiting information deficits. Much of the conversation which has ensued has underpinned the need for the reintroduction of the teaching of civics in our schools, not only to foster a greater sense of pride in nationhood but to furnish our citizens with the content necessary to interpret the structures of our great democracy. 

It was made quite clear by the Government for some time that the form of Republic which we would adopt would be that proposed by the Forde Commission, which is itself similar to the model used in Trinidad and Dominica, two countries which have not been negatively impacted by their decades under a republican form of government. Barbados will thus have a Parliamentary Republic, with executive power remaining unchanged in the hands of the Cabinet, and with a President, performing a similar role to that of our Governor General, in terms of being the symbolic embodiment of the State and an impartial constitutional figure above the fray of partisan politics. 

It was also equally clear that the proposed President would be appointed by an Electoral College, comprising the two Houses of Parliament, similar to the Trinidad model. While some may query why this person will not be directly elected by the populace, it would be ultimately undesirable for occupants of this high constitutional office, intended to be untainted by partisan politics, to have to jockey for popular support in a small society in which such contests would no doubt be mired by partisanship, thus diminishing the impartial stature of the office.

Some wonder too why the election of our Head of State will be left to Parliament. In the first instance, the proposed Electoral College is undoubtedly more democratic than the present, somewhat opaque system where the Governor-General is appointed by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. In the second instance, we live in a representative democracy, in which political power is devolved by the people to Parliament at intervals, and so we must allow our government to govern and our legislature to legislate, jobs which we empower them to do. 

In respect of the Electoral College, it is regrettable that the leader of a political party would conflate our proposed system with the US Electoral College. Clearly, an electoral college comprising Members of Parliament and Senators, a system which has been highly successful in various countries, is not at all comparable to the ‘winner-take-all’ popular vote-motivated state delegations which comprise the US Electoral College and which has led to anomalies over the years. Those who aspire to high office ought not to exploit information deficits to divide, but rather contribute to efforts to unify our country.

Much has been made of the level of consultation on this proposed move. None can deny that the issue of becoming a republic has been one of the most talked about in our nation over the years. The matter has been investigated by two Commissions, with the Forde Commission comprehensively outlining how we might take this step, and a proposed Constitution was drafted, after extensive and exhaustive consultation by that Commission which spanned town hall meetings, written submissions, private audiences with civil society actors and even visits to the diaspora abroad. There could not be a more comprehensive conception of consultation. 

Clearly though, there will need to be some minor modifications which will no doubt be the subject of consultations over the next few months and beyond. The fact remains that all civil society actors support this move, as well as the overwhelming majority of the populace. To hold a referendum, which has a cost attached, in the midst of this consensus would be an inefficient use of resources at a time when government has more urgent calls on the public purse. 

Finally, combining Independence Day and Republic Day is wise, to avoid the productivity losses caused by a proliferation of bank holidays. Equally, to promote the inclusive celebration of all steps on our journey of nationhood, It may be wise to rename November 30, the Day of Nationhood or Barbados Day.

In sum, the time has long past for continued gymnastics over the decision to become a Republic. Clearly, the time has come, in large measure the overarching institutional frameworks are there ready to be operationalised, and so what remains is our collective conscious determination to grasp with both hands the command of our own destiny, as we seek to continually strengthen our democracy, of which the Republic is but one step. 

131 responses to “An Idea Whose Time Has Come”

1. If is obvious from the quality of public commentary there is a high level of ignorance about what a republic will mean for Barbados. The government must rollout an effective communications campaign to blow away the fog. The sooner the better.

2. Very few would opposed to Barbados becoming a Republic
    However govt has created the hue and cries being heard because of their heavy-handed idea of ramming the process down people’s throat without a majority voice of We the People
    Govt has found a way of being insensitive to the emotions of the people and seems not to care also
    Also along that line Mia declaring that Nov. 30th a day revered and cemented in the minds of Barbados as a day upon which Barbados received Independence now being the day Barbados becomes a Republic and which in the minds of many a fine tuning and a one upmanship ploy of erasing the significance of the very important Role the Right Honourable Errol Barrow had in removing Barbados as beggar on Colonial steps
    For many The Day of Independence is a day solely committed to the Honour of Errol Barrow importance to an Independent Barbados and that Day should remain free of an hostile or hostage attempts to suttle change by this present Blp govt

3. Whatever the government does you lot will be on the opposite side becait is politically expedient. This is what our adversarial system of politics gives us.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

It is obvious the author has no idea what the term ‘partisan’ means.

5. I fear for you people. This government has sent out a boy to do their propaganda work for them. For those who believe in a true democracy this is becoming VERY SCAREY. This is how a dictatorship is formed and it has been brewing for sometime.
    How many more young puppies have been trained to take on a more sinister role once we become a republic?
    And yes, Owen Arthur’s words are proving to be prophetic. Barbados is entering another dark period in her history.

6. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Was there a referendum when Barbados became independent? That was a more fundamental change to the political status of Barbados that changing from a constitutional monarchy to a republic with a ceremonial head. If there was a referendum why would people say no? Barbadian like to make “issues” out of non issues. Some people also want to politicize the issue when for many years regardless of the party in power, the opinion was that Barbados would eventually become a republic. WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR????. for another hundred years to pass for this to be a (non) issue again to be kicked down the proverbial road?
    To put this to a referendum is just as MINDNUMBINGLY NONSENSICAL as having a referendum to move Nelson statute. The present govt is seeking to “get things done”. I don’t care which party is in power GET IT DONE!!!!!. Mia GET IT DONE!!!!!!

7. The problem is that majority of people have no problem not searing allegiance to the queen and her heirs, the issue is that the government must effectively explain what it means to be masters/craftsmen of our fate.

8. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

angela cox July 30, 2021 5:54 AM
    “However govt has created the hue and cries being heard because of their heavy-handed idea of ramming the process down people’s throat without a majority voice ”

CRAP!!!! which is the norm for you Angela Cocks!!!!!!!

TLSNJuly 30, 2021 7:01 AM
    I fear for you people. This government has sent out a boy to do their propaganda work for them. For those who believe in a true democracy this is becoming VERY SCAREY. This is how a dictatorship is formed and it has been brewing for sometime.

CRAP by the third power!!!!!!!. So there is no place for the Young Socialists and the Yong Democrats in political dialog in this country?

9. “WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR????. for another hundred years to pass for this to be a (non) issue again to be kicked down the proverbial road?”

if overthinking is a bajan trait, I will attempt channel my perceived inner bajan state of mind to explain

Historically Barbados is / was a slave society where the rebel souls and soul rebels were shipped off to plantations in Jamaica and America to make the rebel music that the world loves.

People are representations of their mothers and fathers DNA and therefore will also be representations of their parents parents etc so the rebel countries become republic long before ones held under manners like Barbados.

Rebel children protest against legacies of abusive power structures and also tend to leave the family home first.

Barbados State of Mind Vs New York State of Mind

10. Apparently he did not learn anything from that CXC lawsuit. He is yet young.

11. @Hearher

That is a low blow. The law suit is undergoing appeal?

All citizens of Barbados have the inalienable right to share an opinion within the boundary of the law.

12. @Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV,
    I fear for this young prodigy. He is being manipulated.
    Imagine if the Prime Minister of the UK were to wake up one morning and make the announcement that the UK was going to acquire republican status within a three month timescale and that there would be no national debate, nor a referendum.

Anyway who claims that this is a non-issue, is is not a true democrat. The vast majority of Barbadians would vote to become a republic.

The rule of law and the future of having an involved and a well informed citizenship hangs in the balance. It is imperative that the debate for republicanism is discussed in all our parishes and not in a few well-heeled Barbados addressees.

13. When we had the Forde Commission many years ago there was little interest shown in the matter by rank and file. Barbados is a reactive society.

14. Thought it a good idea to post Ronnie’s perspective here before the usual suspects lead the discussion down a rabbit hole by focussing on the fluff.

Dr. Ronnie Yearwood: Points to Ponder on Going Republic

Posted on by David131 comments

Let us consider that the Government will continue with its intended plan, it appears of swapping one ceremonial head for another, the Governor General for a President. Then I think that any new President of a Republic, ceremonial or executive should be directly elected and all Barbadians afforded the opportunity to run for and vote for this office. The Prime

Read more

15. It beggars belief that a so-called near 100% literate and educated people cannot understand where all of this is heading.

If they, the government, pulls of this heist they will have free will to return the masses back to the plantation.

People, wake up and live your life.

16. The following link is to the section on the Government Information Service website dealing with issues about the Republic.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/republic/

17. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVJuly 30, 2021 7:44 AM

Was there a referendum when Barbados became independent?
    Xxxxxxx
    There was parliamentary debate on the subject
    A debate that gave voiced to those not in favour as well as those in favour
    What all see now is a govt of continuing unilateral rule since May 2018
    Almost blinded and tone deaf to the sight and sounds of barbadians
    A govt believing that a 30 -0 mandate gives them a right to do as they dam pleases
    Any one who have read the history of Barbados becoming Independent can read well into what was done and said between govt and the then opposition
    Barbados now having absent of a strong opposition to challenge govt on important issues leaves a gap wide open for govt expectations for the people to bow and obey what govt thinks is best and proper for the country

18. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

TLSNJuly 30, 2021 8:22 AM

I fear for this young prodigy. He is being manipulated.
    Imagine if the Prime Minister of the UK were to wake up one morning and make the announcement that the UK was going to acquire republican status within a three month timescale and that there would be no national debate, nor a referendum.

And you are comparing apples to oranges….The British Monarchy is a quintessentially British institution, essentially defines the the UNITED KINGDOM and has been in place for many centuries!!!!!! That doesn’t mean that Britons would not eventually like to see the back of the institution…they basically tolerate it for the time being. Bajans, 55 years after independence cannot identify it self to the
    “foreign” institution called the British monarchy, and have “long talked” about going to a republic several times before. SO you prefer a 10 year timeline to go to a republic? to just to change the head of state from a Governor General to a ceremonial President!!!! RIDICULOUS!!!!!. And then people, for nonsensical political gain would want to associate such an action as a govt displaying dictatorial tendencies? So the govt is a dictatorship because it removed Nelson Statue from a so-called Heroes Square without “public consent” via a referendum? When a govt is elected we give them consent to make certain decisions on the people’s behalf. This decision is one of them!!!!!!

“The vast majority of Barbadians would vote to become a republic.”

Then why waste resources to put it to a referendum if you are so sure this would be the outcome

19. Negative spin tends to be more prevalent than positive spin on internet which is a tool for venting the frustration stored inside people causing dysfunctional sicknesses

Maybe some reverse logic is the way to go
    such as :

Barbados does not deserve to be an independent nation and should remain subordinated to their masters without making any changes

20. “The problem is that majority of people have no problem not swearing allegiance to the queen and her heirs, the issue is that the government must effectively explain what it means to be masters/craftsmen of our fate.”

The first half of your statement may be incorrect. I believe people go about their business without thinking of allegiance to the queen. They just don’t care one way or the other.

The second half may be correct. But becoming a republic has been explained as not swearing allegiance to the queen. Some of us saw this as an opportunity to do something more than just having a ceremony.

___x—
    The idea that the appointment of a President not tainted by politics – naive

“Is not at all comparable to the ‘winner-take-all’ popular vote-motivated state delegations which comprise the US Electoral College and which has led to anomalies over the years” – again naive. In this “winner take all system”, I doubt if any of the subordinate processes can depart from this model.

“, private audiences with civil society actors and even visits to the diaspora abroad. There could not be a more comprehensive conception of consultation.” – more nonsense. If society was static then I would agree, but surely citizens of today need to have their voice heard.

“Clearly, the time has come, in large measure the overarching institutional frameworks are there ready to be operationalised, and so what remains is our collective conscious determination to grasp with both hands the command of our own destiny, as we seek to continually strengthen our democracy, of which the Republic is but one step. ” – I need help wid day one.

21. David
    Please tell the unvarnished truth about this.

A dearth of public information does not exist and if it did the public should not be blamed for this their perceived ignorance.

The truth is that this republicanism project is merely constructed to deify Mugabe as the best thing since Barrow.

It’s sad that in the worst of times when people are dying from Covid and being further impoverished stinking politicians and their sycophantic puerile agents can do no more than be loyal servants to the “King” of the misleadership political class.

You owe us the truth. Not party political bullshite.

22. @Pacha

Agree, let the debate begin. We need to sever ties to the head of England. We need to communicate with Bajans what we want it to mean. The time has come to stop loitering on the steps at Westminster.

23. Game Set and Match.

“The vast majority of Barbadians would vote to become a republic.”

Then why waste resources to put it to a referendum if you are so sure this would be the outcome

24. (Quote):
    Finally, combining Independence Day and Republic Day is wise, to avoid the productivity losses caused by a proliferation of bank holidays. Equally, to promote the inclusive celebration of all steps on our journey of nationhood, It may be wise to rename November 30, the Day of Nationhood or Barbados Day.
    (Unquote).

Since Barbados is using the Trinidad & Tobago model for its proposed republic status, how come we are not also adopting its decision to have two separate dates for their own recognition of both Independence and subsequent change over to republic status?

Instead of trying to dumb down the importance and relevance of Independence why not drop one of those culturally meaningless bank holidays like Whit Monday to make up for the recognition of Barbados’s modern sensitivities and growing political maturity?

When is the republic of Trinidad & Tobago, the ‘physical home’ of the CCJ, going to follow the lead of the more ‘politically advanced’ Barbados and cut all it judicial ties with the British monarchy by adopting the same CCJ as its final court of appeal before the end of the year instead of holding on to the apron strings of the same UK Privy Council which is the Chief Advisor to the same Queen about to be ditched by Barbados?

What’s stopping T&T (and Jamaica) from ditching the Judicial Committee of the UK Privy Council adopting the CCJ as its final court of appeal?

A perceived costly referendum?

Hope you can understand that- under the coming Bajan republic- the title of “Queen’s Counsel (QC) would clearly become redundant and its usage assigned to the stage of pantomime of monkeys parading in the costumes of knights and dames.

Just remember that under a president you just cannot continue to hunt with the hounds dressed in ceremonial Royal garbs while running with the republican hares all dressed up in RED.

25. @ David July 30, 2021 9:29 AM

Can that same argument apply to the decriminalization of marijuana; a matter which applies only to the minority of the Bajan population?

26. Our young liberal activist is on the right track, but he fails to recognise the position of the new presidency. We need a presidential democracy based on the American, Russian or Chinese model, not a weak head of state who only signs off on the documents of others.

Therefore, the new president should be elected directly by the people for life. In return, the president should have the power to appoint and dismiss ministers, dissolve parliament and call elections, submit laws to parliament, etc., etc. Of course, our president must also be able to appoint all civil servants and judges without the involvement of third parties, be the commander of our armed forces, armed police units and militias of state and party and be the head of our ruling party.

We will then no longer need a prime minister.

27. Strange but I see it more as riding the wave of consciousness that enveloped the globe in the wake of George Floyd’s murder.

If not now, when?

I do not know why we are even discussing such irrelevance as a legacy.

Wuh legacy wuh? This is a 2×3 island, of little significance to the world.

28. @ Tron July 30, 2021 10:07 AM

LOL!!

Tron, the maverick of political pantomime, are you saying that the proposed president is nothing more that an exchange of an old-fashioned ventriloquist dummy for a PR savvy prime minister’s robot programmed to suit the artificial intelligence times of political propaganda and partisan spin?

29. @ Miller July 30, 2021 10:22 AM

The transformation to a republic only makes sense if we transform the entire state system into a presidential republic. A president as a mere notary for the prime minister is as pointless as taking rum out of Barbadians’ mouths.

In other words, the criticism of the republic is completely unjustified if the new president were to become only a notary as in many continental European countries. After all, everything remains the same. We would then need a smooth-talker without any instinct for power for this office. Preferably a man/woman of letters or another artist.

In contrast, things will change a lot if we should move towards South America, the USA or Russia. Then our Supreme Leader would have to ascend to the head of state herself. Conversely, we would need a dummy ventriloquist for the office of “First Minister”. For example, the current Governor General could fill this gap.

30. Wunnuh is a confuse set uh people. I have not met any Bajans besides the usual few loud mouths who are concerned about our becoming a republic.

Not an issue.

31. Sir David
    Republicanism does not necessary mean the end of Westminster, knighthoods, dominant british cultural norms in Barbados, the proclivities of Bajans for a perceived Englishness, a transformation of the culture historical misunderstandings, misdirection etc.

Certainly no uncompromising Afrocentric paradigm can be expected. After 55 years of a titular independence we can’t even deconstruct the slavish school system and its anti-developmental moorings. Certainly, republicanism was, for this, unnecessary.

This misguided political project was and is merely in the service of lionizing Mia Mugabe Mottley. And as such continuing membership of the British Commonwealth is a prerequisite.

David you are being wholly disingenuous. Barbados has no antecedents suggesting that it will depart an iota from the model the scores of former British colonies which have erected such artificialities.. And this is the naked political calculation. Barrow was the fictitious Father of an Independent Barbados. Now Mottley is destined to be the “Father” of the Republic. This shiiite is all the rassoul Bajans good fuh. Nuff form no substance.

32. There are at least four different groups
    Yes
    No
    Referendum
    Yes, but it must be more than a name change. We have some real issues that we can address.

I Am in the last category.

33. @Pacha

The long journey starts with the first step.

34. David
    The problem with your first steps and long journeys is that soon this Mugabe regime will be history and another long journey with more first steps will commence by a not dissimilar but new one.

David, show some courage. Stop playing political games.

35. Show courage by doing what Pacha, a clarion call for the guillotine?

36. By telling the truth. Now that may require the instrument of which you speak or the whacker

37. Why not simply go through the current Constitution and cross-out every mention of “Governor General/Queen” and replace it with “President”?? Would save a helluva of a lot of money!!! Lol.

38. @ David,
    Do not allow this young kid and his backers to ride on the coat tails of BU. You are devaluing your brand.

39. “@ David,
    Do not allow this young kid and his backers to ride on the coat tails of BU. You are devaluing your brand.”

@David,

Do not allow the nasty niggy haters start up their insidious paki bashing as it ruins your brand rep and will put you on a black black list

ugly black big rubber lips nasty ass TLSN is a prime instigator shit stirrer with a wicked heart who is such a bitch he must be a faggot and it is always the same old story

your brand is valued at at least a couple of bob

40. Millie BOY

“ Hope you can understand that- under the coming Bajan republic- the title of “Queen’s Counsel (QC) would clearly become redundant and its usage assigned to the stage of pantomime of monkeys parading in the costumes of knights and dames.”
    You have an opaque sense of humor and it ain’t hot sauce…

41. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

TLSNJuly 30, 2021 6:16 PM

@ David,
    Do not allow this young kid and his backers to ride on the coat tails of BU. You are devaluing your brand.

HILARIOUS!!!!!! LOL…..States that someone else is devaluing a brand but thus far makes comments that does exactly that!!!!! BU attracting the jesters and other comic relief!!!!!!!!!

42. Tsln you fo the same everydsy with your negativity on this blog.If i had to choose between the two of you in terms of contributions guest who i will choose.You add nothing of vslue to this blog.

43. TLSNJuly 30, 2021 8:31 AM

It beggars belief that a so-called near 100% literate and educated people cannot understand where all of this is heading.

If they, the government, pulls of this heist they will have free will to return the masses back to the plantation.

People, wake up and live your life.

You are a jackass.

44. My prediction until November 30
    The (MDFs) Mugabe Defense Force and Mia Defense Force will be fully deployed.

Expect unwarranted attacks from tag teams, name calling, intimidation and your love of country to be questioned.

Under this vicious onslaught, you will be expected to crumble and run.

Don’t. Remain positive and posting.

Post only the truth. It is difficult to be fully supportive when the truth and misstatements are often mixed.

45. The kennel doors have been slung open for the lap dogs to exercise and urinate over BU territory. They will return to their kennels in good time once they have exhausted their little legs. All of this to defend a mutt and a commander-in-chief who appears to have gone rogue.

46. Here comes the blog comedian.I guess it is okay for TLSN to atyack the young man but for her to be attacked means the supporters of this government is a mugabbe defence force.Well with thst logic come to the top of the class.You just showed up your ignorance once again.As for telling lies your sidekick AC is the biggest culprit on here so i guesd you are refering to her..Khaleel keep on making your contributions as you are do entitled as i know it will annoy those with their anti Mottley agenda.

47. @Misnamed
    I have banished certain phrases from my vocabulary, even though they fit you to a T. I will postpone inventing new ones but the word “Lorenzo” does not adequately describe you.

48. Gazzerts i have an idea why don, t you bannish yourself from BU you serve no useful purpose just jumping on people ,s bandwagon.You are neither comedian or poet neither fish nor fowl.As a matter of fact you are the blog nuisance.As i stated before keep on posting Khaleel as you have the right to.Annoy the hell out of the dems on this blog.

49. @Lorenzo
    I will engage with certain folks. My dear friend, you are one of those folks.

“You are neither comedian or poet neither fish nor fowl.”

Thanks. Since you said it, I can do the same. Your credentials as a fowl are well established.

Will engage fowls…