The fight against COVID 19 by countries across the globe is real. Barbados given its heavy dependence on tourism (services) is exposed more than some other countries. We are here now and we have to do all that we can to survive. The blogmaster predicted months ago the conversations will shift to finding ways to enforce mandatory vaccinations. It is a conversation currently taking place across the globe, including Barbados.

This week’s charts suggest that we might be at the start of a new wave that could last for months as was the case of the earlier 2021 waves in Jamaica, Guyana, T&T and St Lucia and with the added complication of the presence of the very virulent delta variant in the region. The signs that suggest otherwise are that the daily positivity charts are all at less than 5% over the past 3 weeks and that the Covid-19 teams are continuing their good work and that, despite the very high odds against, the aggressive work by the Authorities have so far resulted in fairly significant levels of vaccination take up. The ride will still be a rough one but everyone needs to do their part to conquer this insidious foe

Source: Lyall Small

530 responses to “COVID 19: NO Retreat, No Surrender”

1. DavidJuly 25, 2021 11:14 AM

Your statement is incorrect.
    Xxxxxxx
    What about my comment is incorrect

Why are the scientific community thinking of another booster shot if initial shots were enough to fight the virus

2. The vaccine was designed to reduce serious illness.

3. Rate This
    DavidJuly 25, 2021 11:27 AM

The vaccine was designed to reduce serious illness
    Xxxxxx
    Although that is a truth it also begs the question for how long does the vaccine effect last

4. DavidJuly 25, 2021 11:27 AM

The vaccine was designed to reduce serious illness

Xxxxcx
    Although that is true it still begs the question how long does the vaccine protects individuals from the severity of the virus

5. It is a novel virus with unknowns that through monitoring by the scientists will become known with time.

6. DavidJuly 25, 2021 11:35 AM

It is a novel virus with unknowns that through monitoring by the scientists will become known
    Xxxx
    So why subject people to the vaccine if all research is not completed
    Yes the vaccine is only a protection against the virus
    However transmission is still possible

7. The virus was Spread all over the world by tourist or people returning from an infected country. It did not only happen to Barbados But every country except china where it orginated

8. Again this is an inaccurate assertion- all drugs attract post evaluation to measure success against the purpose the drug was designed.

9. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

In the US, the CDC had relaxed the guidelines whereby IF YOU WERE FULLY VACCINATED you didn’t NEED to wear a mask in MOST situations. Conversely it means that if you were not fully vaccinated you SHOULD wear a mask. Most people are translating it in their minds as masks are no longer necessary. The CDC has deliberately worded it that way to provide an incentive to become vaccinated and improve the dropping vaccination rate. It was also done to remove the “politicizing” of mask wearing in the US. Vaccines are seen as a PRIMARY measure to prevent virus spread while masks are considered a SECONDARY measure.

Vaccines, in general do not prevent infection. They greatly reduce their debilitating effect and how contagious people are. If the specific virus does not mutate rapidly, mankind can basically seek to have virus eradicated. These respiratory viruses constantly mutate. Textbook herd immunity to them becomes fluid. The aim is to greatly reduce the rate of spread which reduces the rate of mutation and enhance the survivability of a population.

Let us face reality. Due to the nature of Sars-COV2, it is easier to accept the fact that along with the cold and the flu you will eventually catch it in the future. It is a fools errand to think that you will not catch it. Masks can also prevent the spread the common cold and flu but we were not wearing them. We just did what was necessary to prevent catching these viruses and if we did, when got over- the- counter medication to fight off the symptoms AND/OR sought to get sick leave from the doctor to stay away from school or work while the body fights off the virus.

@ Angela Cox 6 months the the usual rate at which we catch the cold ( twice a year on average) i.e. that is more than desirable if immunity last for 6 months whether via vaccine or via previous infection. As far as I know, in most situations people do not take yearly flu shot boosters. In specific situations i.e. in the military, medical field it is not strictly mandatory but it is preferable.

10. DavidJuly 25, 2021 12:11 PM

Again this is an inaccurate assertion- all drugs attract post evaluation to measure success against the purpose the drug was designed
    Xxxxxxxxx
    But why does the requirement to mandate mask if the drug gives a 90 percent shield from the virus as a scientific evaluation

11. @ Angela Cox 6 months the the usual rate at which we catch the cold ( twice a year on average) i.e. that is more than desirable if immunity last for 6 months whether via vaccine or via previous infection. As far as I know, in most situations people do not take yearly flu shot boosters. In specific situations i.e. in the military, medical field it is not strictly mandatory but it is preferable.

Xxxxxx
    This virus carries multiple strains unlike the flu
    Taking that into consideration the likely hood for boosters would occur until a vaccine can be found to control the various strains

12. “We endure what we have to survive and protect our family.”

if that answer is to what i posted, are you really protecting your family or are just as guilty for trapping them in each REVISED version of generational slavery and ably assisted by your parliament frauds.

13. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Xxxxxx
    This virus carries multiple strains unlike the flu
    Taking that into consideration the likely hood for boosters would occur until a vaccine can be found to control the various strains

Again you demonstrate that you are the comic relief for the blog. The whole point of BOOSTER SHOTS is to provide immunization for flu mutations i.e. FLU VARIANTS. The fact that MULTIPLE VACCINES have be created using VARYING methods to help the immune system identify the virus indicates that creating boosters will not be too difficult.

14. Fauci says health officials considering mask guidance revision for vaccinated

https://www.yahoo.com/news/fauci-says-health-officials-considering-144220429.html

15. The scientists confirm that a fully vaccinated person improves the chance of becoming very sick and reduce the possibility of spread and congestion within our healthcare facilities.

16. At a White House on Thursday the surgeon general, Vivek Murthy, said 97% of hospital admissions and 99.5% of Covid deaths were occurring among unvaccinated people.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Isnt that enuff Price that the vaccines are Working?

17. @John2

Try to do an introduction and don’t just post a link. Many do not click links without being encouraged.

18. The blogmaster remains disappointed in CMO George inability to supply data around the methodology for sampling for variants in Barbados. Especially given the virulent Delta now rampant in key tourism source markets. In fact when challenged by a member of the panel who advised he had brokered an agreement with a Canadian facility out of Canada to provide the service, he was unable to sensibly respond.

The other issue of concern in lack of post treatment data of covid victims to determine the quality of life after being infected.

19. The following was posted to retired trade unionist Facebook page by lawyer Tricia Watson:

Robert Morris I might be telling you things that you already know, and your FB friends might or might not.

The ILO (April 2021) says “If a decision on mandatory vaccination is made by an employer, it should be implemented in a non-discriminatory manner, in line with the requirements of Convention No. 111 [Discrimination (Employment and Occupation) Convention (ratified; law enacted)], and with due regard for specific circumstances that may require exemptions and accommodations. Finally, any required OSH measures shall not involve any expenditure for the workers, as required by Convention No. 155 [Occupational Safety and Health Convention (not ratified; law enacted)].

ILO also states that testing in respect of biomedical hazards in the workplace should be genuinely voluntary and free of any coercion. Our SHAW Act has nothing to say about biomedical hazards.

As for the writing being on the wall, employers in Barbados, including the government, should be careful what they wish for, and hope that employees don’t press for enforcement of all of the provisions in the SHAW Act. Their arguments about their SHAW duties are a double edged sword.

Let’s see what the workers’ representatives (Aka unions) and the voters’ representatives (aka parliamentarians) have to say about all of this.

20. Many Americans were looking forward to a carefree summer. But Covid measures are creeping back into our reality

https://www.cnn.com/2021/07/25/us/covid-restrictions-back-summer-surge/index.html

21. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

TLSN…this will interest you.

https://youtu.be/26vg8hY5bXE

22. US provides a sleep of statistics. Perhaps we could see similar for Barbados

1 shot.    fully vaccinated

All ages* 56.5% 48.9%
    12 and up 66.1% 57.2%
    18 and up 68.7% 59.8%
    *Includes those not yet eligible for the vaccine.

23. Statistics are for a single shot and fully vaccinated.

24. Previous talk of herd immunity was wishful thinking on the part of some.
    Check numbers in Europe
    https://www.euronews.com/2021/07/12/covid-19-vaccinations-in-europe-which-countries-are-leading-the-way

25. Great article.. looks as if I am way behind… Talk of herd immunity is on the decline. A good graph as well
    https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00728-2

26. Companies in the US are requiring their workers to return to the office. At first, it was felt that the return would be for the vaccinated only, but companies are requiring all workers to return. Of course some protocols will be in place.

I see the islands are already entering a discussion of if vaccinations should be mandatory. We are not this far advanced in the discussion, but I have a feeling that great pressure will be brought to bear on unvaccinated workers.

Instead of this discussion companies will be “talking quietly, but welding big sticks”.

27. 10:35 a.m. is an elegant summary of why this situation is so exasperating.

It has become a mixture of science, politics, religion, bible prophecy, Google, keyboard warriors and conspiracy theories. Joe Average is being bombarded with conflicting information.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now you know WHY the criminals in Barbados tief all your land and estates…..your enemies are in the parliament…..but they will NOT CARRY THEIR EVIL SHIT TO THE CONTINENT without consequences, ya can take it to Morocco and the other slave countries though, would be happy to see them separate ya evil, tiefing heads from ya useless bodies…

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So why does it take a UK journalist to point out what we have told the parliament GOATS for years and years…..since the 1980s tourists have asked the people how the hell they could afford to eat….that is decades ago and the question is still asked..

“Badawi, a first-time visitor to the island, said her role will be just to be a mediator between the people of Barbados and the Prime Minister. However, she indicated that she is keen to question Mottley about the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on Barbados.

“We know that [COVID-19] decimated the tourism industry and that it’s fallen down by about 90 per cent, and for a country that relies 40 per cent of its GDP and 40 per cent of its jobs on the travel and tourism sector, that’s a heavy blow. And so I’d like to know what kind of recovery plan she has in place. I’d also want to know about if there’s a way to diversify the economy away from tourists, and this is something that’s been discussed not only in Barbados but right across the Caribbean, because so many countries here depend on tourism.”

Also high on Badawi’s list of questions for PM Mottley is the high cost of living in the country.

“ I’ve also been very interested by the fact that, you know, when I go to a supermarket here. Food prices are really high. I’m thinking goodness. How can people afford to buy food here? And of course, you do have a very high food import bill in Barbados, so I would want to ask the Prime Minister why not grow more, produce more of what you consume.”

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The last question is easy, they DON’T want the people to own any land or have anything to pass on to successive Black generations to create wealth, they want to keep them TRAPPED IN GENERATIONAL POVERTY….and sell everything to crooks and thieves..

31. Any uh wunna find it offensive for a British journalist to be talking fuh wunna

Badawi, a first-time visitor to the island, said her role will be just to be a mediator between the people of Barbados and the Prime Minister.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/25/bbc-anchor-looks-forward-to-sit-down-with-pm-mottley/

32. Well, well, well,
    The Queen of the UK media, the trailblazer, Zeinab Badawi, the ex-Channel Four News Broadcaster, has come to grace Barbados with her presence. In her younger day’s she was an utter beauty, still not bad today. This lady is the ultimate professional and is highly respected in the UK. We should be honoured to have this Sudanese empress amongst us.

I am puzzled as to why she has come to Barbados as a mediator! This woman is as sharp as a button. She would have done all her homework prior to coming to Barbados. Why has the interrogator morphed into a mediator?

I hope she has not come to Barbados to play soft ball with Mia. After all, her fame precedes her; she is widely know internationally. Why would she compromise her reputation to accommodate Mia.

Something smells bad. I hope this is not a case of a sister helping out a sister in need. Zeina is better than this.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Whatever the intent, neither of them can change REALITY on the ground…they ain’t got that kinda power..

34. Zeina was once given a brief by the BBC to traverse Africa to explore its rich past. She explored a diverse range of countries and their respective neighbourhoods. She may be from a well-to-do back ground, like Mia, however she is a genuine explorer and cares little for so-called well-heeled locations such as St. James. I hope that someone will take her to locations which do not come under the category referred to as Brand Barbados. I would like her to get a real flavour of the country.

I also hope that our dumb tourist board and our tourist tycoons opened their ears when Zeina stated that she loved the locals and their friendly disposition. I also hope that she does not encounter the problem that Tinah Tempah experienced when he was accosted by some gorillas employed by Sandy Lane.

35. @Hants

We do not need to nitpick about everything. The woman is a reporter of international repute.

36. @ David,

I will desist from such nitpicking on BU.

37. “Whatever the intent, neither of them can change REALITY on the ground…they ain’t got that kinda power..”

Mia’s all PR female crew and her female Minister of Tourism cannot change the REALITY on the ground. The patient is bedridden and everyone can see that.

It looks like Zeina has left her whacker at home in the UK.

38. Some clown said I presented comic relief
    Let me hear what the clown has to say about this reality

Xxxxxxx

A twin crisis – economic and public health

Barbados, like much of the rest of the world, is in the midst of two crises, with no easy way out. There is the serious public health challenge posed by the Covid-19 virus, as well as the economic wilderness in which we now wander.

Most countries that now face a situation which is similar to ours, have been plunged into economic trouble because of the slow down brought on by the lack of activity enforced by public health safety measures. Our Government makes the same claim, but truth be told, long before the advent of the virus, we had begun to dig our economic hole.

Before Covid we decided not to pay our debts; dishonour bond investments; cut thousands of jobs from the public service without providing the environment for the private sector to take up that slack, thus dampening economic activity; and we have embarked on a dizzying borrowing spell without any reasonable or articulated means of repayment. Covid offered an excuse for more borrowing and makes our economic challenge more difficult, but it did not put us here.

Those who control the world are busy looking after their economies and, as usual, expecting the rest of the world to follow where they lead or dictate. Little islands like Barbados are only as important as their willingness to obey. So when the financial institutions which are approved by them say that we are doing well, it only means that we are doing what they want us to do.

With respect to Covid-19, the Barbados Government has saved itself much headache by simply following what is done in first world countries or is advised by the World Health Organisation. Not having to develop original programmes has made life easy. Not being able to solve anything is not so bad after all since no one else has found a solution, but we take credit for any little ease.

Covid-19 has been a mystery and a revelation all at once. Not least among the mystery is the manner in which countries have approached handling it. Almost before anyone knew what this virus was, there was a vaccine on the horizon. And then there were four.
    Lock downs were necessary and mandatory. Businesses were closed, travelling was prohibited, sporting events were cancelled and all events that attracted crowds disappeared. The term social distancing became central to our lexicon and it seemed logical so we either approved or tolerated the restrictions.

Now there is another wave but the approach is different. Formula 1 racing in the UK had a packed stadium. Euro football finals had a packed stadium. International cricket in England had packed stadia and even domestic cricket there has crowds. And all of this in the midst of rising infections there. Is this a tale of two cities or two tales of one city? Do they know something that we don’t? And then those unmasked thousands will fly around the world to enjoy vacations. If this virus is the threat that we have been told it is, more trouble for Barbados.

Covid-19 has always been an import for us and with more freedom to fly we can expect another severe rise in cases. Our situation has not been worse, not because of anything we have done, for we have been most irresponsible in not closing our borders when we should have, but the decision by others not to come to us has been our saviour – thus far. That safety check seems to have been removed. Of course, when our cases flare again we will find some local person or event to blame, but I think Barbadians know better. If we had not imported the virus it would not have been on a bus crawl or in a supermarket or a church.

Our lives were never sufficiently important to require our Government to close our borders to protect us, so border controls will not be an option when tourists are willing to come. And can we withstand a longer economic drought? With more travel the outcome for us is inevitable. This places a burden of personal responsibility on each of us.

Barbados will become a playground for others while we are locked up, but safety must be our priority. The fact that a number of us have received a vaccine should not encourage anyone to let their guard down. The vaccine does not prevent one from contracting or spreading the virus so all of the best safety precautions should be followed. Fully vaccinated persons are dying from the virus so caution is important.

The Covid-19 virus is going nowhere anytime soon so we have to find ways to survive with it in our midst. The vast majority of persons will contract the virus and may not even know or will recover without too much of an issue so panic is not necessary. But caution is.

Economic hardship will not make life any easier. Some businesses took the opportunity to “juck out” our eyes with their prices and made great profits, but several smaller ones have been forced to close their doors or are barely struggling. The gap between the two Barbadoses is widening and there seems to be no way back. Given the amount of money that we have been borrowing, we are living on borrowed time. The bottom may soon drop out of the bucket. In our personal lives, we must be safe and financially prudent.

39. @AC
    Fairly good but a few paragraphs were very difficult to swallow. He/she is like a person describing an accident but adding details that he did not observe

1) Almost before anyone knew what this virus was, there was a vaccine on the horizon. And then there were four.

2) Our situation has not been worse, not because of anything we have done, for we have been most irresponsible in not closing our borders when we should have, but the decision by others not to come to us has been our saviour – thus far. That safety check seems to have been removed. Of course, when our cases flare again we will find some local person or event to blame, but I think Barbadians know better. If we had not imported the virus it would not have been on a bus crawl or in a supermarket or a church.

3) Our lives were never sufficiently important to require our Government to close our borders to protect us, so border controls will not be an option when tourists are willing to come.

40. I agree with Theo operation warp speed was a big plus thanks Donald,

41. I believe the comments are defined to focus on the realities of the impact from Covid and govt handling which in some cases pointed blame on the people instead of placing blame on how the virus came to the island

42. Oh btw what is the purpose for the Interview and why would an outside journalist not living on the island be asked or be used as a mediator between govt and people

43. Lawson and a hooker went into a bar
    Hooker: I didn’t make a dime
    Lawson: I made a killing
    Hooker: next time I am picking the gay bar that we are working in.

44. Lawson is a big boy and can take care of himself.

45. Doesn’t Mia realize that the people are sick and tired of Govt PR gymnastics
    Now what in heaven does another PR gimmick does to help Barbados out of the health crisis and economic doldrums ?
    Why not a press conference held by govt to tell the people what plans or policies govt have to repay the ballooning debt and pay the long outstanding severance pay for workers who have been unemployed for more on hand
    Also why has govt been lienient with business not paying debt owed to govt
    There are hard pressing issues this govt needs to give an accountability
    But No govt sends signals by way of oversees journalist to have an interview

46. Trump was not vaccinated, caught, COVID and wound up in the hospital for a day or two.

He is well advanced in years but his age did not seem to be a big deal.

People will catch COVID whether or not they have received the Jab.

Here’s what happened to a group of fully vaccinated Democrats who fled Texas to obstruct a house vote there.

Six of them caught COVID.

Like Trump, they seem to have been asymptomatic.

I haven’t seen any reports of any of them being hospitalised but if someone were to point out to me that Trump was not vaccinated and wound up in Hospital whereas these 6 did not I would not attach any significance to it.

I would reach the obvious conclusion.

The so called vaccine is not working.

https://www.kxan.com/news/texas/6th-fully-vaccinated-texas-democrat-lawmaker-tests-positive-for-covid-19/

47. Steuspe

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They can deflect and distract with vaccine as much as they want…but THE MAJORITY RULES….and ya see the crimes they have committed against the people and 2 generations of their offspring and shoving a bunch of racist minorities to the front to tief and keep the majority in poverty and bondage….THAT GOTTA END…

MAJORITY RULES…