Submitted Observing

Things are so out of whack recently that I think we have gone haywire. Let me just toss a few random disjointed thoughts out there to get a real real feel for where we are right now.

1. Persons on bail for vicious murders…BUT…end up committing others after
  2. Local parties and fetes are restricted…BUT…visitors can plan 2 months ahead of time and party soon with wild abandon
  3. Large outcry over the Trojan Riddim…BUT…and even larger outcry over the outcry over the Trojan Riddim
  4. MAM says take down the Riddim AND apologise…BUT…so far 166 thousand views, 3000 likes and Sunday School still wukking
  5. NUPW elected to represent workers…BUT….NUPW has to call in the police to save itself
  6. Minister boasts that cruise ships coming…BUT…positive cases still showing up on liners abroad
  7. We say the children under severe pressure…BUT…we force the same children to do Common Entrance
  8. Auditor General report speaks of problems…BUT…not a peep or pang from the GoB or BLP about it
  9. Cruise ships mashup Carlisle Bay coral…BUT…Minister says no problem he will plant it back
  10. Road tax removed to supposedly ease consumers….BUT……gas prices (and said tax) increasing every single month
  11. Hotel workers cannot be forced to take the vaccine…BUT…guests can demand that they do
  12. There is no price gouging they say…BUT…ask any supermarket buyer and you’ll hear different
  13. Four Seasons money written off by government…BUT…the main lawyer and main adviser running the same government coffers currently
  14. Verla’s ready to lead the DLP to next year’s election…BUT…she has to beat a certain Guy first.

See what I tell ya. We Gone Haywire.

759 responses to “GONE HAYWIRE”

1. The minister stated the exact dates the persons travelled to the island and the dates samples were sent to CARPHA as part of routine testing.

2. DavidJune 20, 2021 8:26 AM

The minister stated the exact dates the persons travelled to the island and the dates samples were sent to CARPHA as part of routine testing

Xxcccccccc

June 19th he gives details after he knew and had the facts on hand of time periods long before knowing the results
    These PR conference are directed to a slow thinking audience who only sees and hear what govt want them to see and hear
    The minister steps out with talking points to address a serious issue knowing that there is no willingness of media to ask questions and a public that can be easily dumbed down
    A great question was one asked of uSA senator
    What did the president know and when did he know it
    A good guide to ethical journalism

3. He had the facts on hans Long before knowibg the resultat ?

4. Are tiu callung Bajan slow thinking people?

5. @John 2

Time to move on from this matter. There is no issue here.

6. DavidJune 20, 2021 8:56 AM

@John 2

Time to move on from this matter. There is no issue here.
    Xxxxxxx
    U have been stumped
    Now u want to move on
    Carry on smartly keep drinking the kool-aid

7. Just came across this comment filled with great questions and well aced observations
    Read and digest not all bajans are asleep

Something is wrong here. Couple days ago the covid dashboard had 0/0 as in no new reported cases no one in isolation. We now see 1/0 as in 1 new reported case. Now exactly when was this delta variant on the island, how many ppl had it, and how did it get into the island. I see wunna saying the person/s have now been released from isolation but saw nothing, as to when it was discovered.
    I also want to know is this a result of the cruise ship and the ppl who was found with the virus on the ship?
    Government needs to be more transparent and give information as it comes in and not after the fact. Wunna wait till the ppl leave to announce it, yet said nothing before?
    Wunna know covid is not over, wunna getting ready to open up fete, tourist looking for summer vacation and wunna not being open with the public.

8. Wanted to post this on the covid page, but links are not working.

Greater freedom
    https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/no-curfew-june-30th

9. And then most get mad at CDC for placing Barbados at a level red
    Barbados govt cannot fool all the people
    The eyes of the world are watching
    Get real

10. John 2
    Ok parrot
    I guess you missed the forest because of staring at the trees

11. Travel Weekly
    CARIBBEAN
    The CDC lowered its travel advisories for several Caribbean countries
    By Gay Nagle Myers |Jun 19, 2021
    T0628ANTIGUA_C_HR [Credit: Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority]
    Antigua is classified as a Level 1 destination by the CDC, which is advising on Covid risk for travelers. Photo Credit: Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority
    The CDC has moved several Caribbean countries’ Covid travel advisories to Level 1 classification, which signifies the lowest risk level for Covid.

Level 1 countries include those like Australia and New Zealand, both having reported fewer than 50 Covid-19 cases in the 28 days ending June 14. The CDC had earlier this month removed several countries from its highest risk rating.

Level 1 countries carry a recommendation from the CDC to “make sure you are fully vaccinated.”

Newest Level 1, lowest-risk Caribbean destinations include Saba and the British Virgin Islands as of June 14; Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, St. Barts and the Turks and Caicos as of June 7; St. Eustatius, Grenada and St. Kitts and Nevis as of last month. Montserrat and the Cayman Islands are also at Level 1, although their borders are not yet open.

The majority of the remaining Caribbean countries are classified as Level 2, moderate risk, and Level 3, high risk.

In fact, unvaccinated travelers will not be allowed to enter Anguilla after July 1.

The Anguilla Tourist Board has launched its official reopening campaign under the theme “Lose the Crowd, Find Yourself.”

A tourism delegation led by Stacey Liburd, director of tourism, is visiting U.S. travel partners in key markets in the South, the Northeast and the West Coast over the next month.

Antigua and Barbuda’s entry protocols still include proof of a negative PCR test done seven days prior to travel. Visitors who complete a successful screening by health officials do not have to quarantine when booked at more than 160 certified villas and hotels.

Related: Our guide to entry requirements throughout the Caribbean
    “We are delighted that Americans can have confidence in traveling to our shores,” said Charles Fernandez, minister of tourism & investment. “We have worked hard to ensure the safety of our people and our visitors and this has paid off in lower numbers of Covid infections and reduced impact on our economy.”

More than 65% of the population of Turks and Caicos has received at least one dose of the Pfizer vaccine and 55% of the adult population is fully vaccinated.

The destination received the Safe Travels Stamp from the World Travel & Tourism Council, which denotes that the country’s existing health and safety protocols align with the organization’s standards.

“We are grateful to our valued tourism industry partners for supporting our efforts by initiating property-specific campaigns and adhering to protocols,” said Josephine Connolly, the Turks and Caicos’ minister of tourism

12. Too bad that you can neither see the forest or the trees because of your blinkers

WHO GET ANGRY about CDC ratings? It is the Barbados protocols that are keeping MORE people back from traveling there. CDC rating does not prevent anyone from travelling to or from Barbados.
    Only you care about that and we all know why

13. William Skinner Avatar

ST JOHN’S – Antigua and Barbuda will enter into a project with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Development (DFATD) under the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) project to improve street vending operations.

The project is a key recommendation made by the Subcommittee for job creation and economic diversification. It includes creating new enterprises, new markets, and accelerating e-commerce to enhance street vending operations and increase innovative productization.

The Government of Antigua and Barbuda observed that since COVID-19 there has been a proliferation of street vending with many persons selling fruits and vegetables, and other commodities.

The practice has become a double edge sword, on one hand, the increase in vendors contributes to food security by ensuring adequate provision of fresh produce with high nutritional value, on the other hand, the method of a tray in the hot sun open to the elements leads to several issues including overcrowded streets of vendors, traffic congestion with patrons, phytosanitary concerns and expose venders to harmful health concerns.

As a result, the Government sought the assistance of the international community and has secured a quarter-million-dollar project to begin addressing this situation. Using a phased approach, the initiative will take place in the following phases: Phase 1 will see a number of activities aimed at assessing the street vending operations in and around the city area of St. John’s, to determine the number of vendors plying their trade, the type of products being sold, the main areas utilized for vending activities, etc.

Phase 2 will see 25 vendors identified for participation in an investment forum and exhibition.

The vendors will get an opportunity to not only showcase their products but will also get exposure and opportunities for investment.

Phase 3 will see the commencement of several capacity building and development sessions, starting with a two-day workshop for at least 25 vendors that will take the form of a soft introductory session, introducing key areas such as health and safety, costing and pricing, and customer service.

Following the workshop, there will be at least three training sessions held on different topics to include packaging, presentation, and export.

It is envisaged that at least 100 vendors will be fully trained on operational efficiency by the end of the project.

(Antigua News Room)
    This was how Antigua approached the problem.

14. Travel Weekly
    CARIBBEAN
    The CDC lowered its travel advisories for several Caribbean countries
    By Gay Nagle Myers |Jun 19, 2021

15. Not here in Barbados govt commandeer some big belly contractors to build 2×4 stalls
    Tell the vendors to stay outdoors while fending off the natural elements like rain and mosquitoes
    Then few months later given them no other choice but to move onto an area where the stench of foul toxins fills the air

16. wHICH GOVERNMENT tell the vendors to stay outdoors in the elements and mosquito ???

Since june 2012!!

https://www.nationnews.com/2012/06/24/fairchild-market-finally-closed/

17. @ William Skinner June 20, 2021 11:32 AM

There was an article in the Tuesday, May 9, 1950 Advocate entitled, ‘Hawkers Take Over Bus Stand,’ in which it was reported that the number of vendors in the Probyn Street ‘bus stand’ was increasing daily……… “and a few bread vendors have now thought it wise to park their carts in front of the stand.”

“The bus stand is gradually becoming a small wayside market and discarded coconut shells, paper and skins added to its untidiness.”

I also read an article on page 5 of the Sunday, June 30, 1951 edition of the Barbados Advocate, in which some fruit vendors in Bridgetown were asking the government of the day to build a market for their selling comfort, while others feared congestion and competition.

There was a situation ‘back then’ where vendors were plying their trade all over Bridgetown…… from Dromedary Lane to Lakes Alley………… and wanted a comfortable location to ply their trade.

Nicey Forde, who was a vendor since 1917, said she would welcome a market, as long as ‘government’ did not charge them a fee for selling there.

So, I’m sure you’ve realised there hasn’t been any significant changes in the circumstances of vendors between 1950 and 2021.

The reason why I presented excerpts from those articles was to indicate that it seems as though governments of the pre independence era, as well as successive BLP and DLP administrations’ only solution to vending was either remodeling old markets or building new ones.

I’ve not seen such well thought out, progressive policy initiatives for vendors, as those outlined by the Government of Antigua and Barbuda………. ever proposed in Barbados.

18. @ john@ June 20, 2021 1:11 PM

Why continue engaging angela cox in a discussion about the market facilities, especially when the ‘political fodder’ she has been presenting on the issue as FACTS, have been RESOUNDINGLY REFUTED.

And, she has NEVER VISITED the site to witness the project’s progress or see the actual sizes of the stalls.

However, when she thought BARVEN was a man…….. that was the end of it for me.

19. As long as the finger is pointed in the right direction that is all that matters
    angela coxJune 20, 2021 1:48 PM

Some people got to move on because any criticism level at govt there intent is to shoot the messenger and disregard the message
    Well done govt of Antigua

20. Another HAYWIRE story

Welcome stamped visitor feels unwelcomed after mugged by an unknown assailant

21. Disregard simply means ‘TO IGNORE.’

One would have to FOCUS primarily on the “message,” so as to compile the relevant information that would either substantiate or refute it.

In this instance, we’ve presented the necessary evidence to RESOUNDINGLY REFUTE the it……an objective that COULDN’T have been ACHIEVED if we had IGNORED it.

So, we’ve essentially ‘SHOT the message,’ while ‘disregarding the messenger.’

22. “Another HAYWIRE story”……………. from a different perspective.

Sunday Sun, June 20, 2021…..Page 13A:

“US family gives Barbados stamp of approval……… So happy to be here.”

“Becky Ballard has a coveted stamp in her passport – a “Welcome Stamp” – and she cannot stop singing the praises of Barbados’ programme, which offers visitors the opportunity to work here remotely on a long stay basis.”

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    I agree with your position on this ending issue.
    However on a related matter, I vividly recall when Vic Johnson (BLP) was
    Minister of Transport and works , a wonderful remodeling of the Fairchild Street market was done.
    Man, we the people , destroyed it in less than five years! In many instances , and we have to be fair, even when successive gives attempted or carried out improvements, we have often engaged in acts of vandalism.
    It is nonsense to blame the government for not completing the market renovations when we were grappling with COVID.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William….NATURAL AFRCAN CREATIVITY has been SUPPRESSED for so many decades in Barbados and the Caribbean….Barbados being among the worst culprits to push back and marginalize creatives…is it any wonder that they are still struglling with vendors and dependency tourism…because NOTHING ELSE natural WAS allowed to be INTRODUCED…without government trying to TIEF IT and disenfranchise the creators/inventors…now the best they can do is revive the poliical football that has always been vending…and still dependent on prostitution tourism…

jokers…so many Black Caribbean people have MOVED ABOVE AND BEYOND ALL OF THAT even before Covid and particularly SINCE…..thankfully not all are slave minded and knew to keep far away from these pretend elites and their fellow thieves who continue to act as though Black people are CAPTIVES and only exist for them and the parasitic minorities to live off………nasty bunch..

They are intellectually barren and if not for PTL…would be in even deeper shit…..FRAUDS…

every dirty dog has their day, corrupt governments and thieving minorities WILL GET 2…

25. Firstly my bone of contention lies with a 2 million dollar spend on 2×4 stalls
    Yes Covid could have halted the movement of the project
    However looking at the project incomplete and 2 millions spent
    The question should be asked how was that much spent and not one stall complete
    Yuh know not all bajans are foolish
    2 millions already spent and not one stall completed begs to ask questions and get some answers

26. You believe that that are constructing one stall at a time ?

27. John2June 20, 2021 3:24 PM

You believe that that are constructing one stall at a time?
    Xxxxxxxx
    Trying to distract my attention from a 2million dollar spent on a project without showing a 2million dollar worth result of a completed stall
    Not going to work
    After all the stalls not a size of a one bedroom home but big enough to show a level of 2million dollar progress

28. It’s true “not ALL Bajans are foolish,”…… you’re among those who are. Because, other than from the dude with the mobile phone camera, where was it reported “$2M was spent on the project and not on stall completed?”

Present the information to BU…… and not your usual generalized, metaphoric statements.

And, remember, your arguments are based on ‘hear say’ comments from a dude whose credibility has proven to be questionable.

At the beginning of his video he said, “Yeah, gentlemen. How long dis project hay did gine on fuh? More than a year? ‘Bout two years? The Auditor General say he wan know wuh gine on….. such and such amount uh money………. uh big lotta money gone in a project……….”

You came to BU with the ‘Auditor General’ folly, when the AudG’s recent report was for the financial year ended March 31, 2020 and the market project began in September 2020.

It’s also INDICATIVE of the FACT that neither you nor him ACTUALLY READ the AudG’s report.

What about you endorsing the comments about the project has been going on for 2 or 3 years, when at today’s date, the project been actually going for NINE MONTHS, since it began in September 2020?

He also said, “Dis is tax payers’ money and de gov’munt billing pig pens fuh people to sell outuh. Look at dese hay, look…. and cahn get dum finish. Look at de size uh dese tings hey, peoples and gov’munt cahn get dum finish……… and already up in the hundreds of millions uh-ready……… up in de millions yuh.”

That was proven to be another misrepresentation of the truth. He also mentioned in the video about taking photos of the ‘2×4 stalls,’ which he NEVER DISPLAYED to the public.

More to come.

29. I am afraid she Think they are building one stall at a time

She wont admit it

Another 401k / barven moment

30. I would not be distracted
    This is what the Rupert Spencer said last year Sept 2020
    Even though I understand the COvid issues involved what i would not accept is this throw away hand attitude who thinks that this govt have a right to be right

Rupert soencer

Despite numerous setbacks caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, phase one of the $3.8 million project that will include the construction of 44 food and beverage stalls, will be completed in October while the remaining portions will be ready a month later.

Xxxxxxxxxx

Yet after a 2 million dollar spend more excuses are coming from the mouths of blp operatives who have a hatred towards any one who speaks on issues relating to govt policies

31. John2June 20, 2021 4:00 PM

I am afraid she Think they are building one stall at a time

She wont admit it

Another 401k / barven moment

Xxxxxxx
    Lol
    Good try would not be distracted

32. I’ll remind you of your comments about the AudG:

(1): “Take note the actual or near timing of the video coincides with the Auditor general report. Hence the video was of recent.”

(2): “The citizen reporter repeatedly says that his questions stem from what was written in the Auditor general report about the project.”

‘Up till now’ you have been UNABLE to explain to BU, how the Auditor General could mention anything in his report about a project that BEGAN in September 2020…….. SIX (6) MONTHS AFTER the END of the financial year for which the report covered?

(3): “One cannot look at those 2×4 stalls and give them a passing grade when the design depicted by govt video shows stalls that are in total contrast to those which were video by a citizen reporter.”

GIS produced a short documentary of the project, with officials from the Market, UDC and the construction team being interviewed. Some of the completed stalls were also shown in the video.
    What you have essentially suggested to BU is that GIS video taped the stalls in its video at a DIFFERENT location and falsely portrayed them to the public as the NEW Fairchild Street market stalls.

The guy also said the AudG told him to “guh up dey and find out wuh gine on because duh cahning way my money.”

Another blatant untruth. The Auditor General cannot advise an unauthorised individual to conduct an investigation into a government project. What would he be investigating or what would be the scope of his investigation?

Yuh see, UNSUBSTANTIATED comments DO NOT automatically become FACTS, simply because you’re PERSISTENT in REPEATING THEM.

33. This is how ac tries to stay relevant on the blog. A pity some of you do not see it.

34. MARI

my comment was about you but not directed at you. We all on here know who is doing the distractions

2M from a 3.8M project would tell me it just passed the half way mark.. If it near completion then i would think it coming in below budget

35. angela cox June 20, 2021 4:02 PM #: ”

This is what the Rupert Spencer said last year Sept 2020:

Despite numerous setbacks caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, phase one of the $3.8 million project that will include the construction of 44 food and beverage stalls, will be completed in October while the remaining portions will be ready a month later.

You could talk about “excuses are coming from the mouths of blp operatives who have a hatred towards any one who speaks on issues relating to govt policies” until the ‘cows come home,’………. I will LIKEWISE NOT BE DISTRACTED.

What Rupert Spencer said is a KNOWN FACT…… that the project was estimated to cost $3.8M……. and Phase 1 is expected to be completed in OCTOBER 2021. The project is supposed to be completed in THREE (3) PHASES.
    You have FAILED to INDICATE to BU, WHERE in Mr. Spencer’s comments he MENTIONED ANYTHING that ‘REMOTELY SUGGESTED’ $2M was spent on the project.

Let’s assume $2M was spent on the project to date……. your comments would ONLY be VALID if, come October 2021, Phase 1 was NOT completed and the food & beverage vendors UNABLE to OCCUPY them.

We’re now in the MIDDLE of June, and October is approximately FOUR (4) MONTHS away.

UNSUBSTANTIATED comments DO NOT automatically become FACTS, simply because you’re PERSISTENT in REPEATING THEM.

36. DavidJune 20, 2021 4:19 PM

This is how ac tries to stay relevant on the blog. A pity some of you do not see i
    Xxxxx
    No No
    The operatives can help but respond that is there problem not mine

37. @ David

Yes, we are AWARE, “This is how ac tries to stay relevant on the blog.”

Actually, it’s the ONLY WAY she KNOWS HOW to stay relevant to BU.

But, despite the ‘damage control’ and cheering from her fans on the sidelines, there are times when it good to highlight how her ‘ignorance knoweth no boundaries.’

38. The blp.operatives pounding the sidewalk with both fists
    Kick and screaming co.ing after me to tell me I am wrong
    I am not having what they say as truth
    So this is where the issue stands
    2X 4 unfinished stalls about 44 to be completed 2million dollars spent and not one finished

39. according to info that you provided, everything should have been completed 6/7 months ago. As of to day, with the money spent (according to you ) its under / would be a saving of about $1.8M,

2M = to remove the old building and build foundation in that low water table area would be my estimation.
    to expect 1/44 stall to be completed in one month …………

40. Enjoyed myself today.

Sometimes people go but they leave a little of themselves behind. Hal used to accuse me of sniping from the sidelines, of being passive aggressive and called me Mr Williams.

I did not know who Mr Williams was, but I took it as some kind of British insult.

I see, Hall is gone, but he is not forgotten.

41. I think those two guys are into details. If you are inaccurate, they will chew you to death.

You need to check some details before posting, as incorrect details will destroy your credibility and improve theirs.

Still here.Got your back.

42. Another 4months forcompletion
    Ok wait and see
    Hope wunna right

43. 4 months for the completion of phase 1……another month for the rest (from info you provided)

44. Have any of you ever designed or built anything ?

45. I will say this that in two years ( not in Barbados) I have seen a multi million dollar project consisting of grocery stores gas station other dept stores and other offices finished and completed up and running ( Covid including lockdowns
    But this is Barbados where excuses got at a rate of a dime a dozen
    Hence my observation and concerns as to why a small project containing about 100 2×4 stalls with a four month break and a project starting in 2019 cannot produce one completed stall
    Now told that if the stalls not finished in 4mths that questions asked would be relevant
    Well I look at it this way if one couldn’t be completed in two years can’t see how 100 can be completed in four months

Anyhow the above link exposes the nonsense which ministers feed to the public in the name of common sense

46. Chupesssssss

He need to read and understand

He must be ur twin brother

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    As @Artax has said the Duopoly has never given vendors a real break. Historically from the ending of slavery and up to the early seventies, vending was a very serious economic activity. Even in the Fairchild Street market vendors both inside and outside made a decent living. There were also some very successful butchers.
    I have argued the country has been going downhill since the mid seventies. All we have had since then is pure nonsense. Failure in all the vital areas: Agriculture, manufacturing, fishing. all have fallen by the wayside or gobbled up by a few players.
    The one foot economy has been knocked down by COVID and all of our hopes are now in iron birds and floating hotels..
    As you gave often stated billions have passed through the economy since the mid-seventies but successive governments have not used the money wisely. Politricks , corruption and skullduggery have been the culprits. There are thousands of poor black youth with ideas but there is no easy access to funds. In short I have seen no indication that the post COVID era will be any great departure from the pre COVID era.
    To put it bluntly , the poor black people will continue to suck salt unless we create a new economic order. Neither the Barbados Labour Party nor the Democratic Labour seems to have a clue. All they do is blame each other while the country deteriorates.

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply