Submitted Observing

Things are so out of whack recently that I think we have gone haywire. Let me just toss a few random disjointed thoughts out there to get a real real feel for where we are right now.

1. Persons on bail for vicious murders…BUT…end up committing others after
  2. Local parties and fetes are restricted…BUT…visitors can plan 2 months ahead of time and party soon with wild abandon
  3. Large outcry over the Trojan Riddim…BUT…and even larger outcry over the outcry over the Trojan Riddim
  4. MAM says take down the Riddim AND apologise…BUT…so far 166 thousand views, 3000 likes and Sunday School still wukking
  5. NUPW elected to represent workers…BUT….NUPW has to call in the police to save itself
  6. Minister boasts that cruise ships coming…BUT…positive cases still showing up on liners abroad
  7. We say the children under severe pressure…BUT…we force the same children to do Common Entrance
  8. Auditor General report speaks of problems…BUT…not a peep or pang from the GoB or BLP about it
  9. Cruise ships mashup Carlisle Bay coral…BUT…Minister says no problem he will plant it back
  10. Road tax removed to supposedly ease consumers….BUT……gas prices (and said tax) increasing every single month
  11. Hotel workers cannot be forced to take the vaccine…BUT…guests can demand that they do
  12. There is no price gouging they say…BUT…ask any supermarket buyer and you’ll hear different
  13. Four Seasons money written off by government…BUT…the main lawyer and main adviser running the same government coffers currently
  14. Verla’s ready to lead the DLP to next year’s election…BUT…she has to beat a certain Guy first.

See what I tell ya. We Gone Haywire.

759 responses to “GONE HAYWIRE”

1. MARI

You do not build a house one room at a time. All the plumbing and electrical wires have to be put in place and are usually connected. After that, then you will put up the walls and finally the fittings. In a construction like the market even if you have one stall that is completed it will not make sense putting a vendor in it when construction of the other stall are still on going and no customers are allowed in the building. Stop harping on the one stall not being finished – one stall is no help to anyone if they still cannot use it.

2. Oh what a tangled web of confusion
    One story with more legs than a centipede
    Nation news June 20

‘Worried’ vendors
    The vendors along this stretch have to clear their operating area by the end of the month. (Picture by Shanice King)
    Social Share
    Although some vendors who ply their trade at the old Fairchild Street Public Market are excited about Government’s plan to transform the space into a new state-of-the-art facility, they are concerned that the delayed ongoing work will affect their business.

Last Sunday in a meeting between the vendors and those in charge of the construction, the vendors were instructed to start preparing to leave their workspaces as they have until month-end to clear their work stations.

However, they are being assured by the management team that they will be kept abreast of developments and not disadvantaged in any way.

Victor Symmonds, who has been vending in The City area since 1977, said they were awaiting word on the new space to which they will be relocated.

“We were told the relocation would be at Independence Square, Marhill Street Market or the pasture in front Rediffusion [ Starcom Network] on River Road), but those places are not suitable for us at this time as there are no facilities for us to store our produce and stuff. So that will put us at a disadvantage.

3. @ John2

Let’s join the ‘investigative journalist’ in politicizing the issue.

‘Up until NOW’ she CANNOT PROVIDE the forum with the necessary EVIDENCE that the project began in 2019, perhaps hoping by persistently repeating a LIE, it automatically becomes truth.

The old Fairchild Street market fell into a state of disrepair and, in 2007, a decision was made to close it, relocate the vendors and redevelop the area.

Remember, the former administration came to office on January 15, 2008.

In 2012, then Health Minister Donville Inniss toured Fairchild Street and acknowledged the fact that the vendors plying their trade on the market’s compound and around the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal, were operating in unsanitary, rodent infested conditions, without bathroom facilities and water.

Land was rented from the Bay Street Methodist Church upon which stalls were partially built in 2012 to accommodate those vendors that were not relocated to Golden Square Temporary Market. The stalls remained partially built for FOUR (4) YEARS………from 2012 until 2016, when people from the surrounding communities began to dismantle them and stole the building materials.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/golden_square4.jpg?w=860

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/golden_square3.jpg?w=614

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/golden_square1.jpg?w=614

This was the ‘journalist’s’ response:

ac January 11, 2016 1:43 PM #: “Really don,t know why the blp foot soldiers try so hard to demonise present govt.”

So, in 2016, highlighting the treatment of vendors, similar to WHAT she is CURRENTLY DOING, meant ‘demonising the then government?’

It’s clear at that time, she PURPOSELY IGNORED the plight of the vendors and how ‘taxpayers’ money’ was being spent, in PREFERENCE of protecting the image of the DLP.

The former DLP administration ABANDONED the vendors for NINE (9) YEARS……. and the ‘operative’ has NOW become concerned about stall sizes……. and spreading UNTRUTHS.

4. @ David

Your assistance with a contribution is required. Thanks.

5. Artax,

Keep posting the facts! She can keep on posting the crap.

She is not fooling anyone who is not a fool.

6. Keep looking back
    The present govt promised better
    That too is a fact
    Deal with it
    All the long talk about what happened during 2016 to 2018 not going to overshadow govt incompetence of promises made and yet to deliver
    Bringing old paper to underscore that this govt has to be given a pass not going to wash
    The reality is of now
    That which took place before relevance to what is taking place now bodes to ask
    Why change govt if country has to endure more or worst of the same
    I still not fully satisfied that 2×4 stalls should take such a long time period to finish at a cool price of 2million dollars spent

7. Will wait and see

https://youtu.be/VDv6S4cMbYs

8. “To put it bluntly , the poor black people will continue to suck salt unless we create a new economic order.”

the Black/African population need to start LOOKING BEYOND…Slave society Barbados…. and the black face TRAITORS in the parliament…they will continue to GO NOWHERE for another 54 YEARS if they don’t…it’s already started.

9. angela cox June 21, 2021 8:32 AM #: “Keep looking back. The present govt promised better. That too is a fact. Deal with it.”

You people are easily set up. You would’ve noticed I did not post your contribution in its entirety because I correctly anticipated your response.

Prior to the 2008 general elections Thompson et al PROMISED BETTER as well……. I’m sure you remember legislating ITAL within 100 days of being elected to office.

“That too, my friend, is a FACT. Deal with it.” And, here we are 2021, THIRTEEN (13) YEARS after, still discussing issues successive BLP and DLP administrations PROMISED eons ago to RESOLVE…… and FAILED to do so.

For YOU, the rules of engagement CONVENIENTLY CHANGE according to which political party ‘is in power.’ During your administration’s tenure, “LOOKING BACK” was JUSTIFIED……… it was the strategy YOU used to criticize the BLP’s previous 14 year tenure.

When I highlighted the issue about the partially constructed stalls and their subsequent theft, this is what YOU ‘had to say:’

ac January 11, 2016 1:43 PM #: “Really don,t know why the blp foot soldiers try so hard to demonise present govt. Afterall the skeletons of overruns and mismanagement left behind by the fourteen year blp govt is enough to make a grown man cry much of what has been passed on to present govt and taxpayers.”

I’ll invite the forum to OBSERVE how you’ve ‘LOOKED BACK. And, by your comments, it is reasonable to assume since the former BLP administration was accused of engaging in “cost over-runs,” it gives the DLP the right to waste taxes as well.

In other words, ‘so wuh? You talking ’bout we, wuh the BEES do it too.’

10. “I still not fully satisfied that 2×4 stalls should take such a long time period to finish at a cool price of 2million dollars spent.”

YOU COULD remain UNSATISFIED for as long as you want to.

The FACT remains, you have been challenged to BRING the EVIDENCE to substantiate your claims that the market project was going on for 2 or 3 years………”$2M have been spent and not one stall completed,”…………

………… and you have FAILED to do so.

Instead, you continue to post IRRELEVANT crap.

11. I have a right to post my concerns
    If u have a problem don’t read them
    I do not have to prove any thing to u
    Just scroll by
    U can have the last word

12. You’re NOT proving anything to me, but to the Barbados Underground forum.

Instead, you prefer to ‘water down’ the blog with your dishonest, political crap.

13. A video of the uncompleted stalls was recently posted as of last week and yuh talking crap about showing u proof
    The proof is not for me to show but for govt to show that the stalls have been completed in a timely period
    After all 2 million dollars don’t grow on trees or drop out the sky
    Man just admit that govt drop the ball and leave well alone
    I already stated that I will wait four more months for one stall to be completed
    Stupse

14. There was a thriller down by the River
    Hewitt vs Ellis
    And the winner is
    I.ll leave that one alone

15. Dlp – put the vendors In the ekemebts and mosquitoes for 6 years

In 3.5 yrs MIA CARES Will put them In stat of art 2x 4’s with better bathroom facilities

Isnt that better ?

16. Elements

17. I thought you ‘said’ I should “have the last word?” I did, yet you responded.

However, at the end of the same video you posted to BU, showed a section of stalls that are painted and fitted with windows and doors.
    Additionally, I posted a GIS documentary on the new market to BU, in which painted stalls, fitted with windows and doors were also displayed.

But remember, ‘you said,’ “One cannot look at those 2×4 stalls and give them a passing grade when the design depicted by govt video shows stalls that are in total contrast to those which were video by a citizen reporter.”

In other words, you’re essentially suggesting ‘government’ video taped stalls at another location and falsely presented to the public as the stalls in the new market.

The thing is, YOU ARE the PERSON who came to BU with your unsubstantiated accusations and when asked for proof, you’re now saying, it “is not for you to show.”

Surely, that is a ‘cop out.’ Because knowing you, if you ACTUALLY had information to substantiate your claims, you WOULD NOT have HESITATED to share it with the forum, especially if such information is unfavourable to the current administration.

As I mentioned previously, even if we assume “$2M was spent and not one stall completed,” Phase 1 of the project is scheduled to be completed by October 2021. Your accusations would only become valid if come November 1, 2021, “not one stall has been completed.”

Everything you have posted to BU about the new market…….. from ‘saying’ the Auditor General queried it in his recent report, that construction of the project began in 2019…….. to $2M was spent…………..

…………. have ALL been RESOUNDINGLY and SUCCESSFULLY REFUTED.

As such, it is YOU who should “just admit that (YOU) dropped the ball and leave well alone.”

Keep pelting woman, eventually yuh might hit somet’ing.’

18. Already hit enough to have some pelt back
    Waiting to see them pailngs removed that hide the project from the glaring eyes of the public
    2 million dollars gone and nothing to show
    Hopefully yes hopefully when the final 1.. 8 million left to finished the project there will something to see of worthwhile
    But now looking at how 2 million was spent one wonders how much can the remaining balance do

19. The busstand and the markets should have been In the opposition lications

20. “Waiting to see them pailngs removed that hide the project from the glaring eyes of the public.”

ANOTHER LIE.

A wire fence surrounds the perimeter of the construction site.

But, even if yuh waiting tuh see them pailings removed, uh know fuh sure yuh ain’t gine see this:

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/golden_square4.jpg?w=860

What a ting.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    What’s happening at that corner in the mid-bottom of that photo? The front RH corner looking at it face on.

22. @ NorthernObserver

I don’t understand what you mean.

23. AC i feel sorry for you.Artax and John 2 got you on the ropes ready to knock you out.Where is your comedian sidekick to help you.Wait i forgot he warned you those two guys into details and IF YOU ARE INACCURATE THEY WILL CHEW YOU UP.YOU SHOULD CHECK YOUR FACTS BEFORE POSTING.Well well here the joker conceding that you appear not to check your facts before posting. and that your credibility will go down.What a thing.What credibility does AC have on BU jackass?I guess her investigative skills aren, t that funny now..You should do her a favour as a wannabe Austin and suggest she take a break.

24. Lorenzo
    Check your facts have u found out who exposed your friend Lisa Marshall business on BU
    Go check your credibility instead of investigating others
    Speaking of ropes the rope of 2million spent on 2×4 stalls not finished is the rope I have used to keep u and other blp operatives frustrated
    Check the link I posted above tell if 2million worth of value is seen in them stalls
    Guh long doo

25. Waiting to hear Wickhams response toGuy Hewitt interview on brasstaks

26. I waiting to hear from the night watchman, the rev or the chihuahua to put up any period of the lost decade to mack those three years.

Also waiting to hear about the redevelopment of the party and the naming of the 30 candidates . 3 years and DEM can not name a slate and some crying over a two years building of the markets that government cant control the pace of work plus the covid close down.

Some people would do better to get their stall together before they seek to critisize other people’s 2x4s

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax it “looks” as though the wall missed the foundation blocks?

28. 1/1
    @Lorenzo
    Gone are the good old days when we would ignore each other.

I did not realize you were missing my comments. AC is doing a good job all by herself, but if she says something that catches my attention, I promise you that I will comment.

Have a great night.

29. The above video shows the contempt and assault lashed upon one of Nature’s natural wonders
    The story is so sad it cries for heads to roll and where a need for commonsense was tossed out to sea
    What leaders

30. Theo don’t pay Lorenzo no mind the thought of me calling out her beloved govt on money spent but no deliverables of value worth 2 million dollars has sent Lorenzo and other operatives into a tail spin
    Nevertheless with all the might and power thrown in my direction I am still standing and frustrating the living daylights out of them
    2 million dollars over two years to build 44 2×4 stalls that when the project is completed will cost govt 3.8 or more million dollars
    Can’t wait to hear the financial cost of the project but knowing how govt hids detail might be better off to looking to find a needle in a haystack

31. Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has identified adequate fiscal space to plan for development; a meaningful overhaul of the international financial architecture to create that space, and concessional financing for middle and upper middle-income countries, as some of the measures needed for these unusual times.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/21/adequate-fiscal-space-needed-to-plan-for-development/

32. Mari

You posted the video
    Thats the best thing tou did.

Now dont muck it up with ur political crap
    Cause the DEMs hands aint clean and there is info from the same video that Will tell You how many years DEM did pumping into the swamp

33. @ NorthernObserver

That may have been as a result of people forcibly removing the boards, thereby pushing the structure off its foundation blocks.

Those stalls were left uncompleted and abandoned by the wall behind the Bay Street Methodist Church in 2012, by the previous DLP administration. Vagrants began to occupy them. During December 2015 and into 2016, people from the Jordan’s Lane, Nelson Street and the surrounding communities began to dismantle them, stealing galvanised sheets, lumber and fittings.

Personnel from the Ministry of Agriculture moved with haste to remove remnants of the stalls after the issue was highlighted on BU.

34. @ John2

As I ‘said’ in previous contributions, angela cox REPEATING “2 million dollars over two years to build 44 2×4 stalls” similarly to a ‘stuck record,’ ‘until the cows come home,’ DOES NOT MAKE her accusations TRUE.

It is an undisputed fact that I’ve been “doing an EXCEPTIONAL job all by myself” to “frustrate the living daylights out of the operative,” by PROVIDING the necessary INFORMATION to SUCCESSFULLY REFUTE EVERY MISREPRESENTATION OF THE TRUTH she has so far posted to BU about the project.

She even ‘said’ I “may have the last word”……. and I did……. yet, she CONTINUES to RESPOND. What more evidence of a ‘frustrated woman’ do you need?

The BU household should then ask, if what she is INSISTING in her comments is ‘the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth,’ WHY has continuous DEMANDS for her to provide the forum with proof to substantiate her claims, have REMAINED UNANSWERED?

Additionally, how does she know there were “no deliverables of value worth 2 million dollars?” Is she associated with the project as a quantity surveyor and calculated the $2M construction costs? Has she actually visited the site?

We all know the answer is ‘NO,’ because ‘saying’ “pailing” surrounds the site, when it does not, is a CLEAR INDICATION she hasn’t been ANYWHERE NEAR the area.

35. Another broken promise
    Mottley promised to fix it the shit still goes into the swamp
    Lies lies and another bold faced lie heard on u tube
    This time the whole world gets to see how one of the worlds. Natural wonders in being treated by barbados govt

36. Truth, lies… what does it matter!

You go, girl!

This is how you run people ragged. And this, of course, is the objective!

When you are finished, Barbados and Barbadians will be much better off. We ALL know that telling a thousand bold-faced lies a month and running people ragged like Donald Trump will Make Barbados Great Again.

It’s all about “owning the libs” or in this case, Bees”!

You go, girl!

37. Let me repeat this for the slow – there is plenty to criticise using the TRUTH. TRUTH is a far more lethal weapon than lies.

It may seem to the simple of mind that incessant lies spewed with a “poetic” (lol) twist wins the day. Some of such simple mind might SIMPLY be enjoying the riposte. But some of us SIMPLY wish to change the way the average Bajan sees politics. We know that the only way off the not so merry-go-round is to hit politicians between the eyes with THE UNVARNISHED AND UNEMBELLISHED TRUTH!

THAT would be something that they are not used to handling! They would be caught off guard.

Political games played within regular rules and DISorder do not trigger the change we CLAIM to want.

What it gets us is another turn on the not so merry-go-round.

But…. you go, girl!

38. I shed tears for the swamp many many times speaking truth to the causes of its impending demise and the mistreatment and causes
    Now the video does the job of speaking a truth one which barbadians might not of known
    A truth which for years was missing amongst govt policies in a haste to make a wrong right but has ended up wrong
    Yes I will continue going till wrongs are right
    Taxpayers see their worth and value in govt spend

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Got it.

40. @ angela cox June 21, 2021 8:59 PM

Good piece of ‘eco-friendly’ work there ,ac!

The management of the Graeme Hall Swamp (GHS) and its eco-sanctuary reflects badly on the country especially in light of all the big commitments made on the international ‘SIDS’ stage to protect the natural environment.

Barbados cannot boast about being any eco-tourism location when such stark environmental evil is committed against the land and sea with the disposal of its human and chemical waste and the wilful destruction of the coral reefs which are the ‘bedrock’ of sandy beaches and the tourism industry of Barbados.

How can the country feel comfortable having such a big DUMP right in the middle of the tiny island overlooking its bread and butter tourism belt on the West Coast and posing a major threat to its vulnerable underground water sources and the coral reefs dying offshore?

Bajans will soon pay a heavy price as Mother Nature seeks to repair the damage done.

41. Thank u Miller
    A sobering and sad reflection on govts and continuing with present govt who in an interview condemned and made a promise to make a wrong right
    Far from correction the filth from the plant is still being emptied into a swamp
    A national disgrace and one that reeks of incompetence and disregard for nature

42. Mari

Where is ur evidence that sewage is still being pumped into the swamp?

Even In the recommendations to give gov the present did ask government to stop dumping In the swamp.
    THiis would / should have been the #1 concern if it was so

You need ti stop with ur lies

43. John2
    What u ought to do is stop making excuses for a wrong and insist govt make a right
    Go back an take a listen to the video as of three years later nothing was mention that the ongoing sewage onslaught on the swamp has been corrected

44. You go, girl!

GOVERNMENTS PAST AND PRESENT HAILING FROM BOTH PARTIES INCLUDING THE LAST DLP ADMINISTRATION UNDER WHOM IT
    BECAME A NATIONAL DISGRACE.

You go, girl! Get the swamp treated with the respect it deserves.

Spot on!

45. All u guys asking for evidence should pursue that path by asking govt for up to date analysis of the condition of the swamp and its natural habitat
    Calling me a liar is an easy way to keep the problems from being looked into
    I was called a liar when I openly spoke to the negative concerns which the sick cruise liners impact would have on the environment a liar and a shade crew
    Anyhow slowly the truth is being exposed first the reefs now via tube the condition of the swamp from effluent dumped into the swamp
    Less u forget previous damage to the swamp cause by the sewage plant has not been a concern of govt for correction as Mottley stated in the video

46. we all know that sewage was DUMPED into the swamp

Why would there be dumping into the swamp at this time when the plant is back to working normally?

As for you cruse ship
    You were talking about the waste from the ships damaging the reefs. NEVER ONCE did you mention anything about anchors. As it turned out there is damage to the reefs that is attributed to the anchors but not than is linked to the waste from the ships. but keep taking you bow.

47. Seems like the 2007/8 Allowence is back.🤣🤣🤣

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1HLbj4wwGA&w=560&h=315%5D