Barbados Underground posted a view on May 22 in the blog Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP. On June 2 the goodly Reverend Guy Hewitt in a turnabout from a couple weeks earlier declared his interest to challenge Verla De Peiza for the presidency of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

This is an interesting development for many reasons. At the top of the list – two years from a constitutionally due general election the DLP should have its slate of candidates available to the public to take advantage of the little time available to sell an alternative message. Ardent political supporters will vote for the colours. What about members of the electorate who want to be given the opportunity to process what the DLP candidates have to offer? We have allowed our political parties to take the vote from citizens for granted.

We will not agree on every issue. But let us respect those differences and respect one another. Let us recognize that we do not serve an ideology or a political party; we serve the people.

John Lynch

The DLP is led by Verla De Peiza, a lawyer who has managed to retain the leadership of the DLP for 3 years at a difficult time. According to political talking heads Peter Wickham and George Belle, Hewitt does not have a ghost of a chance of winning and by presenting himself at this eleventh hour, he is essentially making himself a nuisance to the process at a time the party should be advancing its preparation for the 2023 general election. That said, the process to elect the president of the DLP is democratic and unless the Reverend withdraws before the vote, it presents another interesting development on the political landscape of Barbados.

The blogmaster has followed Guy Hewitt’s journey from the early 2000s when he was a junior priest at Christ Church Anglican Church- never one to mince words he has always articulated his messages with panache and of late his social and political missives have infused the political mill with fodder worthy of commentary. 

The Reverend throwing his hat in the ring raises a couple of imponderables. Will the DLP apparatus seriously elect a political neophyte to lead the party at this juncture of its resurrection post 2018? How would electing a priest as President of the party be perceived by the electorate? There is the perception ‘politics’ is a blood sport. Reverend Guy Hewitt is a man whose primary role as a priest some will argue diametrically conflicts with that of a politician. 

The local landscape is crying out for a new kind of politics. Political apathy in the general population continues to rise especially in the youth segment. The upside for the DLP is that challenger Reverend Hewitt brings an effusive personality to the political equation in stark contrast to the incumbent. Is it the difference maker that will get him elected? At the bare minimum it may be infectious.

116 responses to “Is Guy the Guy?”

1. History of BLP failing children
    Former United States Vice-President Hubert Humphrey spoke about the treatment of the weakest members of society as a reflection of a government.
    “The moral test of government”, he asserted, “is how that government treats those who are in the dawn of life, the children; those who are in the twilight of life, the elderly; those who are in the shadows of life, the sick, the needy and the handicapped.”
    If I apply his standard, I have to give the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) a failing grade on education. Any possible bias on my part is informed by the fact that in Barbados, education remains the key to opening the door of opportunity; and much of what we enjoy – free secondary education, the Barbados Community College (BCC) and UWI Cave Hill Campus – is attributed to the vision of Errol Walton Barrow and the policies of the Democratic Labour Party.
    What students and their parents are being put through by the Ministry of Education during COVID-19 is cruel and unusual punishment. While Cambridge International Education examinations, which my daughter sat, and other major international examinations such as the International Baccalaureate were suspended due to the disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Ministry of Education, aided and abetted by the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC), rushed in where angels fear to tread.
    Across the globe, examinations were suspended as a result of major school closures which made it difficult for students to properly prepare for exams. But not in Barbados. However, there is a history in the BLP of a lack of a coherent education policy framework to inform decision-making.
    We recall the decision to make the majority of secondary schools co-ed. While life is co-ed and so it seems to make sense for students to spend their formative years in a coeducational learning environment, one also must appreciate that females mature differently from males, which locally is complicated further by the absence of male role models.
    It would have been and remains useful to see if there is a benefit of having single-sex classes in co-ed secondary schools, especially for 11 to 15-year-olds. While we applaud the fact that females are accessing tertiary education locally at a much higher rate, there can be severe social consequences of high male student attrition. Empiricism should inform policy, not wishful thinking.
    Then there was EduTech 2000, described as “a bold initiative by the Government of Barbados to place technology in the hands of the stakeholders in education”. In the 1995 White Paper, EduTech 2000 was to focus on enhanced teaching and learning through redesign of the Barbadian curriculum at all primary and secondary levels. The use of ICT was to support teaching and learning activities in relation to new curricula. Over US$200 million was spent but the benefit remains elusive.
    Among the many failings of EduTech is that it presumed sovereignty over its education system when, in fact, much of it is determined regionally through the CXC. As a strong supporter of CARICOM, this is not problematic but the implications are considerable.
    Governments are no longer able to decide their domestic policies due to the impact of regional commitments and bureaucracy. If education is going to remain the primary means for social transformation, the Ministry of Education needs to provide effective leadership. Right now CXC seems to be calling all the shots; the tail is wagging the dog.
    Therefore, while examination bodies around the world, including Cambridge, cancelled their examinations due to the abnormal learning conditions, CXC – despite the mayhem of 2020 – has demanded that students undertake assessments in the traditional way. Furthermore, parents and students were forced to frantically wait for a date for the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination (BSSEE) – the 11-Plus examination. Whatever happened to Santia Bradshaw’s portent of the end of the BSSEE?
    The Minister of Education seems to have little awareness of the stress on parents and the mental health issues for these children. The continuous comment by the ministry of it not making a difference whether a child graduates at 17, 18, or 19 shows a complete and utter disconnect from the psyche or fragility of adolescents.
    The failing of our Minister of Education and her regional counterparts is such that UNICEF, the world’s watchdog over the rights of children, had to call on CXC and ministers of education to adjust examinations to avoid disadvantaging students.
    UNICEF noted that “no change has been made on the multiple-choice paper, which will still cover the entire syllabus, and no clear structure was shared as to how those students who meet deferral requirements and choose to defer will be supported to sit the exams at a later date in 2022”. This is a serious indictment.
    The UN agency further said it was aware the COVID-19 pandemic had further exacerbated the gaps in preparedness among the most disadvantaged students, and that this year there was a higher risk of those students in vulnerable conditions never taking the exams. Heaven help these children and their parents. May the Lord continue to be the people’s guide.
    Guy Hewitt, a former director at CXC, recently announced his candidature for the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party. He currently lives and works between Barbados and Florida. Email guyhewitt@gmail.com.

2. Wait David you seem to be rather fixated with Hewitt
    He hasn’t done or said nothing that is relevant to the betterment of the country and people
    Yet more articles in less than a week about Guy than have been uploaded on BU about this incompetent govt
    But let me say this at the rate barbadians are suffering under this govt with high taxation
    It won’t take much to beat this govt

Xxxxx
    Did u read the recent embarrassing story one which places a govt who ushers hot and sweaty policies and garners no results
    I am speaking about Harrison Cave new management Chukka who made all these glorious promises after govt handed them the cave on a golden platter and has delivered nothing by way of investment progress
    And you up in here talking about Guy Hewitt

3. Guy spins a wondrous tale, but our issues with education did not begin in 2018. If Edutech was around year 2000, then the intervening years should have moved us towards a remedy. Add Covid-19 to the mix and you see that education can be buffeted by winds that are outside of our control.

His article should be fairly titled “History of BDLP failing children”. His tale of woe is incomplete.

4. So, all Guy has to brag about is the usual political talking points of “free secondary education, the Barbados Community College (BCC) and UWI Cave Hill Campus.”

He has essentially admitted the Democratic Labour Party HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING for education since the 1960s.

And, he has also implied Ronald Jones was an abysmal failure as Minister of Education.

These guy(s) are always referring to Barrow and his ‘vision,’ which clearly indicates they do have a vision of their own. I won’t be surprised they don’t mention something about independence, NIS and NHC.

It also demonstrates they believe this tired, over used strategy from the 1970s will win them the elections.

5. @Artax

One has to imagine his first Herculean task is to replace Verla which means his messaging has to be two fold, to feed his national brand but more important is the internal party message; to the people he wants to vote him president. Most of them will argue the DLP is the party of Errol Barrow. It is no different to what politicians generally do at election time, promise x but have to deliver Y because of an obligation to those in the shadow they have to serve because of campaign financing ties.

6. The DLP, the party of overflowing sewers, rotten sewage treatment plants, corruption, money laundering, the party that confirms all the racist prejudices of the North, is dead. Mr Hewitt, a typical DLP grandee, won´t save this syndicate.

Time for our Most Honourable Prime Minister to prepare mass dismissals for all civil servants with DLP party papers on suspicion of treason! It is time to dismantle all monuments in honour of the megalomaniac Barrow. True anti-racists know full well that it was not only Nelson who was a promoter of slavery. They also know that Barrow drove many black families to economic ruin through his overhasty and economically totally nonsensical declaration of independence. Only the exalted caste of DLP bureaucrats benefited from independence because from then on they could plunder the black masses without control from London.

7. Beware of head fakes

Political Ground games In play

8. David

As usual you’ve made a number of good points.

Still too heavily tinged however with a duopolistic unreality presented as unavoidable.

This thing about an “effusive personality” is presented as the most important characteristic of the misleadership class. Not that Verla has given a modicum of assurance that she has the makings of which an effective politician is made, by no means.

To set up a construct where politics and religion are poles apart is unrepresentative of the longer history of these bedfellows. Maybe you will be able to cite evidence of a socalled man of the cloth already being an principal actor at the centre of the duopoly.

Too also is the reliance on Belle and Wickham. For surely, these could not be considered as independent arbiters of social phenomena given their recent past, especially relating to their anti-DLP stances, or more appropriately, decidedly pro-BLP leanings.

Notwithstanding, we well recall how you were pilloried by some when last you brought this preacher of falsehoods to this Rubicon.

9. @Pacha

The duopoly is all we got for the immediate future. Mention of effusive personality is important for a leader to win hearts and minds at a time apathy is thick. It is always good to open the mind that anything is possible read a man of the cloth serving society in a political capacity.

Commenters may pillory all they want, the blogmaster sets his own agenda and will always call it as he sees it.

10. Guy could be the guy…but…

Just observing

11. David I am watching u
    Houston there is a Guy Hewitt agenda
    Pull up pull up

12. @ David

My problem with Guy is, he isn’t ‘bringing anything NEW to the table.’ All he has been doing is feeding the electorate with the same ‘warmed over soup’ that all potential DLP presidential and political candidates repeat when internal and general elections are imminent.

Verla has been engaging in a similar activity as well.

How does Guy Hewitt expect rationally thinking individuals to take him seriously, when in his articles he always seek to make irrational comparisons of the DLP’s tenure between 1966 – 1976, with the 1994 – 2008 tenure of the Owen Arthur and the current Mia Mottley BLP administrations respectively……….

……………… without including or referencing any significant achievements of the Barrow/Sandiford 1986 – 1994 and Thompson/Stuart 2008 – 2018 administrations in his analysis?

Writing political newspaper articles criticizing the current administration or even rushing to give the Court a laudatory speech of ‘epideictic rhetoric’ on Donville’s behalf, thereby displaying loyalty to his friend, unlike other members of the DEMS who preferred to remain in the ‘background’ and say Donville’s circumstances were unfortunate……. is one thing.

But, what is his vision for Barbados?

13. @Artax

A reasonable critique but does he have time to articulate a plan? It seems up to now like you stated his strategy is to make ‘noise’ to force himself into the national political conversation.

14. But why is the blp making so much noise about Guy throwing his hat in the ring
    Under a democratic process he is free to do so
    If he has a desire to pursue such a path that is his right
    To be honest i belive the blp sees him as a force to be reckoned with because of his influence in the Windrush Matter
    A story that made world Headlines giving him plenty exposure in the international world of politics
    My question to the blp.protestors
    What are they afraid of ?

15. It is a political development that political pundits will see reason to comment. It has nothing to do with those commenting being BLP. Of course the BLP will try to take advantage, it is an adversarial system. If George Payne or another was challenging Mia Mottley you would be all over the blog. When George Pilgrim challenged there was comment as well. There is a reasonable perspective that only two years from an election a political party should have determined it’s leadership to focus on performing to its best. This is unnecessary activity the DLP would have preferred not to deal at this time.

16. David ,(quote)

.This is unnecessary activity the DLP would have preferred not to deal at this time.
    Xxxxxxxxxx
    Why is it unnecessary and who are u to determine what is necessary or unnecessary for Hewitt or what the party can handle
    The Democratic process does not limits a person potential or desire to be robust and persistent in their goals towards a political life
    With all certainty Guy making his political ambition known has rubbed against the political core of those nestled within the underground belly of the blp party causing them much discomfort and pain having them send out there henchmen like Wickham and Belle to stand guard
    What a thing doah
    Stay tuned

17. You are a real yardfowl if you do not appreciate that a challenge for political leadership in any of the two main parties should not be of interest to Barbadians. It is the the government in waiting and a main part of the system of government and adversarial politics practiced in Barbados. You may have the last word.

18. DavidJune 5, 2021 6:05 AM

You are a real yardfowl if you do not appreciate that a challenge for political leadership in any of the two main parties should not be of interest to Barbadians. It is the the government in waiting and a main part of the system of government and adversarial politics practiced in Barbados. You may have the last word

Xxxxxxc
    Steupse speckled fowl

19. The belly laugh in this issue is how early Hewitt has mashed corns and ruffled feathers in the blp.propganda machine
    Questions of the asking
    Well What has he done
    The Editorials mean nuttin
    All kinds of rubbish commentary coming from the blp mechanics armed with screwdrivers and wrenches to put a full stop on Hewitts image
    Mia in the past days image has been beaten to a pulp
    Therfore it should only make sense for the blp propaganda machinery to block any positive image that Guy might have projected ( earlier sooner than later) an image which can cloud …block or overshadow Mia image an image that have been planted in the minds of being a caring person
    Right now Guy image seems relevant and cannot be easily disputed as being a caring person
    History has that on record
    A problem and an issue which the blp might have to deal with and one which the blp machinery has set out to stop dead in its track making sure Hewitt power play of being a caring person is dissmised and disregarded early by the people
    Yes image is a strategy well used by political strategist
    Wickham and Belle sees Hewitt image as being problematic and the earlier the take down the better
    As of now the blp strategist real concern is Hewitt ability to connect with people
    Guy politics on issues going forward is one that they would have to wait and see

20. TO REVEREND GUY HEWITT:
    Now that you have announced plans to run for the presidency of the Democratic Labour Party, will this mean you will be focusing less on the priesthood and more on politics? Similar to when you took up the post of High Commissioner to London, will the priesthood take a back seat again? Or will you be able to move between church and chapel smoothly?
    – PARISHIONER

Source: Nation (Eff I Wz: Question time…question time)…

21. Lawd have mercy
    The above comment / question by the Parishioner makes for a good belly laugh followed by a rum and coke
    The blp termites just would not quit
    Guy got them on the move
    Lol. Long and hard

22. Practice Interplay between Movement and Stillness

Guy says AC/Hal is doing a disservice to the DLP Party and should STFU shut the fork up

the power of simplicity is the opposite of trying too hard

23. @ David June 4, 2021 4:56 PM

Right Wing / White Propaganda is insidious

with a bit of luck Benjamin Netanyahu will fuck off

fingers crossed touch wood

24. Mari

Guy got to take down Verla first before he can even think about Mia. Seem like you already jump from Verla’s ship like the other bump You know who on election night.

25. Yes image is a strategy well used by political strategist
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxxxxx

Million dollar question is whose image is the DLP strategists trying to pump up? Is it really the guy or is it the lady?

26. John 2 AC nervous now as it looks lile Rev Hewitt will take out the political nightwatchman before the next elections.This is not surprising given her record and lack of inspired leadership.Almost everyone except AC knew Ms Depeiza wad just a syop gap leader until the real one step forward.In my view whether Ms Depeiza , Rev Hewitt or vhoever it will make no difference they will still lose the next election as bajans have not forgotten their incompetence generally for ten years except for Mr Sealy and Mr M Lashley.I gone.

27. Guy Hewitt is a man of action. You can be the greatest public speaker in the world. You may have the capacity to speak without notes or you may not require the assistance of a teleprompter. However, in my book, actions speak louder than words.

The link below, clearly, highlights that Mr Hewitt has the capacity to think outside the box; and is a man who is not deferential to the crown or bowing down to our old colonial masters. In short, he appears to be his own man and has a proven track record. He is the antithesis of Mia.

When Mia came to the UK several years ago she refused to highlight the Windrush scandal. That speaks volumes.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/aug/15/guy-hewitt-how-i-forced-uk-government-act-windrush-scandal

28. @TLSN

Peter Wickham one of our trusted talking heads stated last week Hewitt’s role in Windrush is overrated.

29. Tsln states Rev Hewitt is a man of action.Please point the blog to this action you speak of.I do not recall any thing of signifcance he has done.I recall hiim as chaorman of the QEH hiringDr James and apparently extending his contract shortly before the elections although his previous contract had not expired This is what you call thinking outside the box? TSLN we are not talking about running to be bishop of Barbados but to be the PM of the country.Rev Hewitt is a political flyweight compared to Ms Mottley a virtual no contest from the start in my view once the econo.y rebounds from covid 19.I gone.

30. @ David

I would be surprised if the BLP “sees Guy Hewitt as a force to be reckoned with,” or be concerned or intimidated by his intensions of challenging Verla DePeiza for presidency of the DLP.

After three (3) years in the wilderness and without any official presence in Parliament, (other than the Independent Senators), the DLP seems to be still in shock since their 30-0 defeat at the 2018 polls.

Here we have Mottley who has been involved in politics from a young age; was in Parliament since 1991 when she was a Opposition Senator; elected to the House in 1994 and held portfolios such as Minister of Education, Minister of Economic Affairs and Development and Attorney General; was appointed Deputy Prime Minister; and soon after the BLP’s defeat on January 15, 2008, she became Opposition Leader.

With such a sterling record (on paper), who would’ve believed since becoming Prime Minister after winning all 30 seats in the 2018 general elections, with the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados, (justification for which we were told ‘many hands make light work),’ as well as several consultants and committees……..

…………. she and her Ministers have been consistently making ‘blunder after blunder’ on simple issues.

Rather than capitalizing on these ‘advantages’ Mottley has gifted to them on a platter, by offering alternative policy proposals, (for example, solicit assistance from economists and social workers to formulate economic and social policies), the DLP is steadfastly approaching a fourth year in a state of confusion, without naming candidates or outlining their socio-economic policies for the future development of Barbados……. and preferring instead to talk about Edutech and Crab Hill Police Station. The same issues they focused on during the 2018 election campaign, but the people voted resoundingly for change.

To present that ‘warmed over soup’ to the electorate in 2021 and going forward is, according to Freundel Stuart, “a monstrous perversion of common sense.”

31. “When Mia came to the UK several years ago she refused to highlight the Windrush scandal. That speaks volumes.”

“The problem first came to light in April 2018 at a meeting at the Jamaican High Commission in London that saw politicians, diplomats and campaigners demand that ministers provide an immediate remedy for a “developing situation” in which, due to changes in the immigration system, Caribbean immigrants were being deemed “illegal immigrants”.”

“This meant that elderly Caribbean immigrants were being denied access to NHS healthcare, losing their jobs and even being threatened with deportation.”

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/windrush-generation-scandal-sitting-in-limbo-anthony-bryan-documentary-a9552281.html

At the risk of being called ‘an apologist’ by Mr. Skinner, I’ll ask the following question.

If the ‘Windrush Scandal’ first came to light in 2018, then please explain how could Mottlery have highlighted it when she visited the UK “SEVERAL years ago?”

32. DavidJune 5, 2021 9:12 AM

@TLSN

Peter Wickham one of our trusted talking heads stated last week Hewitt’s role in Windrush is overrated

Xxxxxxx
    Bulls eye

As I previously stated Wickham and Belle would have a serious problem with Hewitt image
    Not surprising that their first open attack is to try to destroy Hewitts image on Windrush
    What Belle and Wickham needs to be paying close attention is the Mia image which has resulted in a heavy dose of severe backlash in the entertainment industry
    A group which backed her financially and politically in the last election now spouting mouthings to threaten their livelihoods
    Mouthings which might have been costly to her financial campaigning backing in the next election
    Yes Hewitt image would be of main concern
    Now it will be all about image

33. ohn2June 5, 2021 8:06 AM

Mari

Guy got to take down Verla first before he can even think about Mia. Seem like you already jump from Verla’s ship like the other bump You know who on election night.

Xxxx
    The subject Matter is about Guy

34. Mariposa.. the (alleged) woman with too much testosterone like a youth man and uglier than a Hal reporter is now riding on the whole entertainment industry is against the PM bandwagon with her next propaganda bile. Youths have their own mind and hate all politics.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nuDOC1jCrw

35. Mari 19 07 am

The topic is about Hewitt

36. Barbados first female Prime Minister

Barbados first Anglican priest Prime Minister

37. The Windrush Scandal did not come to light in 2018. This problem existed sine the early seventies. Our respective leaders would have always been cognisant of this fact.

The year 2018 only represents the period when a brilliant young white female British journalist published the results of a long investigation.

38. David

You will always be looked at with disdain when as a Bajan you dare to anticipate future events.

In the Bajan mentality that is the exclusive province of White people, people from over and away.

One of your most fervent commentators even argued that nobody saw Covid coming, as s way to avoid economic blame being given to the regime. And more!

39. @ David,
    Peter Wickham is operating out of a limited fish bowl where journalists are severely censored.

The Guardian is a credible newspaper source that requires its journalists to carry out rigorous research.

If I had to chose between the credibility of a Guardian journalist or a domestic based Barbados journalist I would always opt for the Guardian journalist

I would ask Wickham, the self acclaimed Political Scientist, to carry out proper research rather then shoot from the hips.

40. Okay, you’re disputing the newspaper’s report. ‘Fair enough.’

If “the problem existed since the early 1970s,” then, by your own admission Barrow, Adams, St. John, Sandiford, Arthur, Thompson, Stuart did not highlight the issue as well. So, why single out Mottley?

Also, if “Our respective leaders would have always been cognisant of this fact,” then, it is reasonable to assume Hewitt would have been AWARE of it as well.

So, we have a situation where BOTH Hewitt and Mottley “refused to highlight the ‘Windrush Scandal’ several years ago,” with Hewitt choosing to speak about it AFTER the “brilliant young white female British journalist published the results of a long investigation.”

How does this make him “a man of action and someone who thinks outside the box?”

I would’ve agreed with that assessment if he had addressed the issue BEFORE ‘the results of the long investigation were published.”

41. @ David

I never knew Peter Wickham is a journalists.

42. Peter Wickham one of our trusted talking heads stated last week Hewitt’s role in Windrush is overrated.
    ########

This must be irony.
    Why don’t you let Google be your friend?

43. @Artax

He is even better some may add, he is a political scientist and analyst.

44. Human beings are generally weak-minded. All of us are taught by our parents not to place our heads above the parapet.

Some of us come to the battle – belatedly. I cannot comment if Hewitt came to the battle late. What I do know is that he ended up the trenches.

I also understand that the Windrush problem was a slow evolving car crash. What cannot be refuted irrespective of one’s political bias is the non-intervention of our Caricom leaders to the blatant discrimination faced by their citizens in “mother” England since the arrival of the first boat from Jamaica called the Windrush.

Our Caricom leaders remained mute. The heavy load was placed on their citizens to fight and defend their space. Mia Mottley would have attended the London School of Economics sometime in the late eighties during the Thatcher era which was a traumatic period in British history. So she would have had first hand experience of the UK environment.

Would it have been possible for this daughter of an Attorney General to have lived through this period in a London (a city with the highest numbers of Caribbean citizens) for her not to be cognisant of the severe problems that this group faced.

I cannot recall Mia ever passing comment on the plight of the UK Caribbean diaspora.

I am certain that all of our leaders during the sixties would have been cognisant of this land mark story dating back to the early sixties.

https://www.blackhistorymonth.org.uk/article/section/bhm-heroes/the-bristol-bus-boycott-of-1963/#comments

45. Here is today’s Nation editorial.

Leadership bid could bring trauma to DLP
    The current state of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is a matter of growing concern. Since the resounding 30-0 defeat at the hands of the Mia Amor Mottley-led Barbados Labour Party (BLP), there has been the expectation that the party would put its house in order.
    As we are not privy to the internal workings and mechanism of any of our political parties, our observations have to be made from information in the public arena and from our reading between the lines of actions and movements of the principal officers and friends of the party.
    The recent emergence of the Rev. Guy Hewitt, who has declared himself a contender for the presidency of the DLP is a signal that two years away from what will be an important election, the party’s members will be putting themselves through the uncomfortable trauma of a leadership contest.
    Whatever the result, it will harden attitudes at a moment when party unity needs to be at its highest and when the full focus of the party’s ammunition should be directed at the policies and the practices of the ruling Government.
    Encouraged
    Clearly, some sections of the party are not happy with Verla De Peiza’s leadership, if we are to accept that Hewitt has been encouraged by some members to throw his hat in the ring so soon as they heard he was back on the island.
    As members of the Fourth Estate, it is our duty to hold feet to fire and to represent the public interest. The DLP has a mass-based structure and, once it becomes fully operational again, should have the capacity to carve out policies which might be acceptable to a future Barbadian electorate. At least that is what its track record suggests.
    But it also has a record of late of not letting “peace reign” within the party when it changes leadership. Ms De Peiza needs time to settle, and she had begun to show signs of coming to grips with the heavy burden which leadership of any political party imposes on those at the top.
    This may not be the best moment to even think of a change in leadership in midstream and the party will need to know what it is that Hewitt will bring to the table and whether it is sufficient to merit the upheaval and acrimony which may flow from what has been described elsewhere in the media as bloodletting.
    Untapped potential
    Hewitt can boast of stellar leadership of the Caribbean response to the Windrush repatriation policies of the British Government, but he is not able to show any ministerial experience or leadership in the front rank of local politics over and above that of De Peiza, whose stint in the Senate clearly suggested that there was some untapped potential.
    The DLP missed the chance then to expose her to possible future leadership roles and she is now carrying the burden of captaincy without even a settled batting line-up.
    Hewitt and his supporters may mean well, but in making clear that a new hat is in the leadership ring, they may have forgotten Dr Richie Haynes’ farsighted observation that in politics impressions matter.
    A leadership challenge at this stage gives the distinct impression that the DLP is still unsettled and not yet united behind a single leader. Such a situation cannot bode well for the DLP’s immediate election chances. Impressions create political realities.
    The DLP has a public duty to get its house settled and in order.

46. IMPRESSIONS IMPRESSIONS

What can the IMPRESSION of the night watchman outlasting Two strong batsMEN do for her status?

47. I’m having a problem with the reasoning or method of logic used to advance the discussion and make these assessments.

I noticed a strategy (I won’t ‘say’ a ‘trick)’ used by some people, especially those in the UK, where they would begin a discussion on one topic, but when ‘placed on the back foot,’ they would automatically switch the discussion to another topic, while using the same arguments from the original discussion.

In this situation, the ‘discussion’ seems to have shifted from ‘immigration discrimination’ of the ‘Windrush Scandal’ to that of ‘racial discrimination.’

This takes me back to the original comment, which more or less began the original discussion, “When Mia came to the UK several years ago she refused to highlight the Windrush scandal. That speaks volumes.”

Based on the evidence, my point is and remains, the’ Windrush Scandal’ began to surfaced in 2017 and broke in April 2018, after it was discovered that hundreds of Commonwealth citizens, many of whom were from the ‘Windrush’ generation, had been wrongly detained, deported and denied legal rights, as a result of a new immigration law announced in 2012 by then Home Secretary, Theresa May.

Guy Hewiit, who coincidentally was born in the UK, was Barbados’ High Commissioner to the UK at the time the scandal broke.

To ‘say’ Mottley “refused to highlight the Windrush scandal” when she visited “the UK several years ago,” especially when it was NOT AN ISSUE at that time…………. is being disingenuous.

48. Seems it is hard for some to give Credit to Hewitt on the Windrush Matter
    The long and short being that his name would be mentioned in history for whatever part he played in Windrush
    Those who have problems with that truth only sees truth from the lense of politics and needs to take a bush bathe

49. Let us detach the year or the perceived year of the Windrush scandal from when it first became public knowledge to make it clearer for all of you who reside in Barbados.

The Windrush scandal dates back from the mid- seventies. For example, members of the diaspora, particularly Jamaicans, would return to their country for a vacation and would never be seen again. After a couple of years it was common knowledge amongst citizens from the Caribbean diaspora that they risked been exiled from the UK should they visit their country of birth.

Caricom governments would have been aware of this problem from way, way, back. I am not certain when Mia last visited the UK to address members of the diaspora; whether it was pre or post the last general election. Either way she was a politician and would not have needed a British journalist to instruct her as to when the Windrush scandal commenced.

Mia, is no dummy, and would have been fully aware of this scandal before it was accorded a name.

And yes, we can conflate the Windrush scandal with all the racist shenanigans that were around during that period and now. Without the input of UK racism we would not have had this Windrush scandal.

So yes, both parties failed to take a stand to protect their UK based diaspora. In the same manner that they have consistently failed to protect the majority population that exists on the island.

The bottom line is clear. Hewitt made a stand; unlike the rest of our politicians who remained mute.