Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams

It was embarrassing to hear about a fire tender that was burnt to a cinder after answering a call to control a wild fire at Canefield, Locust Hall, St George. There should be a sense of confidence that the Barbados Fire Service always demonstrate the required competence in the service of “providing effective and efficient fire prevention, fire suppression, disaster management, emergency medical care and other essential services to save lives and protect “.

On cue, Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams advised yesterday he had requested a report on the unusual occurrence. By the way, the official explanation from BFS Henderson Patrick was, “in an attempt to bring the fire under control, met the conditions where the wind would have taken a lot of the trash and blew it in the direction of the fire truck which would have resulted in the situation that we have right now.”

A 1.5 million dollar fire tender gone up in smoke!

The unfortunate accident alarming though it was piqued the interest of the blogmaster when coupled with another tragic event that occurred at Wellington Street, Bridgetown on the 5 May 2024. Nearly 50 individuals were displaced because six houses were razed and others significantly damaged. Notwithstanding denials from BFS officials, eyewitness reports from onlookers ‘claim’ fire tenders arrived on the scene without an adequate supply of water. Compromising the response of the BFS the public was told of difficulty accessing fire hydrants by fire service personnel because the road was newly paved.

There is a lot to unpack, so much to speculate about, enough for Minister Abrahams to have commissioned a Wellington Report?

It is important to shore up public trust in essential agencies like the fire, police if serious accusations are levelled by members of the public. The government must promptly and thoroughly respond to citizen concerns. If trust in public institutions and agencies continue to slide chaos and conspiratorial notions will take root, they have already started.

Why would ordinary citizens narrate blatant untruths about fire tenders on the scene at Wellington Street not having water? Why would trained fire officials park a 1.5 million dollar fire appliance in a grass piece unaware of the potential hazard posed by change of wind direction?

The blogmaster will not elaborate on the other allegation making the rounds as it relates to the name of owner of the land where many of the houses destroyed are located and the connection.

164 responses to “Under fire!”

1. @John A

These judges probably get tax concessions as part of their package. The government has to find ways to compete with private sector.

2. Well all i can say is the Bajan tax payer that driving their old 12 year old car and living paycheck to paycheck must really just love seeing them pass by on the road.

3. On this here Nakba Day Palestinians are ‘under fire’.

Whether within their 1948 territories, the so-called Zionist state

Or the rest of historic Palestine.

Within refugee camps in Lebanon, Jordan and Syria the dispossession of 1948, and those following in 1967 and 1973, have left them vulnerable to the full range of militating social, political, military and economic forces.

In the West Bank and within the Zionist regime, the Nakba has never stopped.

But this year, this Nakba Day, comes as a wide range of resistance forces from Yemen to Lebanon, to Iraq, to Syria, have conjoined to effectively bring these biblical, American, British and Zionist genocidal crimes to front of mind of Western publics.

As a result the colonial powers, who themselves never liked these Kazars or Jews to the extent where they were serially subjected to pogroms, for hundreds of years, all over Europe, then centered to the wickedness of the Germans, have been laid bare by their own young people.

Certainly, this sacred blood of up to 40,000 Palestinians, ‘under fire’, must be a necessary and sufficient condition for the drowning of the Western sources of all wickedness in our world.

4. Yolande Grant Avatar

Don’t believe what happened to the fire truck was avoidable the crosswinds were violent on Monday, if it can make a plane built for just that pyrpose dance in the air….

No investigation needed just check the weather for that day, the pilots told us about it before take off…

5. Devil Is At Large, (Tempo Explosion) Avatar
    Devil Is At Large, (Tempo Explosion)

Peace in the Middle East

Yes indeed Mr. Pacha Mama I do concur

Lets have a moment of silence for all Palestinian Civillians killed in violence
    and all the departed Souls slayed living on the front line of European Colonial Expansion throughout last 400+ years.
    Pagans love Human Sacrifice to appease the Devils greedy piggy appetite.

UK and US pretended they were going to stop selling booms to Israel to commit mass genocide (red line) ..

.. but there is no imaginary red line and it is just bollocks talking shop making billions selling weapons of mass destruction.

The Devils call themselves Christians and Jews and fight continuous wars in 21st Century ..

Every war results from the struggle for markets and spheres of influence, and every war is sold to the public by professional liars and totally sincere religious maniacs, as a Holy Crusade to save God and Goodness from Satan and Evil.

Robert Anton Wilson

Their killings will never cease
    Babylon does not want peace
    Babylon wants war
    That’s why there is War Inna Babylon
    It sipple out deh

6. This fire truck issue has driven me to madness and into the land of conspiracy theory.

If the rot is across all systems, then our leaders may fear that the BDF is nothing more than a paper tiger. How do we give this tiger teeth and claws? Simple! Deploy it to an area of conflict where it becomes more alert and battle tested and hardened.

I am still oppose to sending Bajan soldiers to Haiti and I am still of the opinion that none will be sent, but I am fearful that hardening of our soldiers may trump all concerns about the safety of our soldiers.

I am not a believer and am not given to pray, but I am beginning to believe that more than well wishes are needed. Keep our boys in your prayers.

Keep your eyes and ears open.

7. Talking about “under fire”.

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/2024/05/11/cxc-denies-leaked-examination-paper-20240511-0804-320525/

It is great to see this denial but questions must be asked. My concern is not for CXC but it is for you.
    Q:
    Since the ‘leak’ did not garner one comment:
    Have all of you given up?
    Have you reached the stage where your comfort level allows you to remain quiet?
    Do you now take it for granted that something will go wrong?
    Don’t you think that at some stage we should get it right?

Don’t tell me that you waited for the story to mature or for errors to be corrected, I am telling you that your response time is too slow.

Go CXC

8. There has been no breaking news about cons or scams. It appears that when faced with legislative debacles, the many hands are employed to help correct the mistakes.

As it appear that the “cybercrime’ fiasco will soon be out of the news, I am now on alert
    scam/con/flimflam/3-card-monte play or the next boondoggle for a project.

Of course, I will share anything that appears on my radar. Please do the same.

9. I wish you well in all of your endeavors.
    Have a great day

10. If they were swifts instead of bmws we would be hearing= the gov got so much borrowed money and so cheap they cannot even provide vehicle for the ‘government’ workers like the government in some of the other islands Etc
    Just can’t please some

11. The burning of the firetruck is a one off incident – a perfect storm . Fire truck responding to cane/bush fires in bim was happening from the time Adam was a lad.
    IMO. The 20yrs old truck probably had an accelerant leak

12. It doesn’t matter what you opine, the public is correct to be concerned that it occurred and press for an investigation to accurately determine the reason. Once the reason is known learnings can be used to prevent recurrence. This is how you efficiently manage. It is like the PM’s press secretary calling the talk show a few weeks ago to blame public service workers for not having the right attitude to deliver the best service. The other part he forgot to include is that it is incumbent on the government and any employer to have a performance based system to continuously monitor, improve and discipline employees.

13. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

#UnderFire???

WHO’S NEXT???

14. Yolande Grant Avatar

Everything is heating up. Fowls etc love to pimp behind politicians so much, pretend they are such political experts, yet politicians tell them NOTHING, and give them NO WARNINGS although they know what’s coming…

Am happy to finally rack back and become a spectator.

15. @John 2
    The burning of the firetruck is a one off incident – a perfect storm
    ++++++++
    That “perfect storm” reference got me thinking, could you tell me the convergence of events that made it possible for a firetruck to be destroyed while attending a brush fire?

16. Yolande Grant Avatar

Well your ferry service, boats owned by UAE, the upside, am sure they will be serviced regularly and properly maintained….

Did they forget to mention that…cuddear..

The downside…dah iz fuh wunna to figga out..

17. The 20yrs old truck probably had an accelerant leak
    In which case it is arson? Unlikely given the pristine fire hall floors not to know of a leak.

18. I read it was one of the newer trucks so doubt it could be 20 years old. If so the others must be antiques. Anyhow I shall await the inquiry before forming an opinion.

19. ‘Political points’
    ‘Old truck’
    ‘Perfect storm’
    When will they stop?
    Can’t they just say ‘this is a mistake that should not have happened’?
    Must they defend everything?
    Must everything be broken down into B vs D?

I get nothing from the Bs or Ds.

20. For those waiting for an inquiry/report
    +++++++
    By the way, the official explanation from BFS Henderson Patrick was, “in an attempt to bring the fire under control, met the conditions where the wind would have taken a lot of the trash and blew it in the direction of the fire truck which would have resulted in the situation that we have right now.”

See above……
    Case closed!

21. @ Theo

By now you should know the fowls only see blue and red and some here only red or dark red. Lol

I already said next elections i going to the beach!

22. Yolande Grant Avatar

I take it no one noticed when the truck caught afire to turn the hose on it. What i have as photo from above…the smoke and fire covered a wide area.

Lots of smoke, visibility bad..

23. @david

“The blogmaster invites you to join the discussion.”

Where did I indicate that the public was wrong about voicing their concerns etc?
    Why are u so touchy? And I will bet that 95% of Bajan are not as concerned about the once in a lifetime incident as you are
    And from the comments after mine it seems like u are again incorrect

@sargeant. I forgot to put ‘case closed’ after my comment. But u have ur answer already

@george. Most leaks are started when the engine is running/ hot it may not have been leaking at the station but developed the leak on the way to the fire. Note this is just MY opinion which I formed from how fast the fire seem to spread on the truck.
    The opinion the the firemen did not see the fire by the truck for a long period can also hold water

@ all other
    Who exactly is bringing politics / breaking down things to b or d ?
    I to get nothing from either b or d
    Take the plank out of ur eye ………

24. Dial it down a few notches
    People should turn down the temperature
    an inquiry should reveal facts not conjecture

Re: Opposition to the Opposition
    you may have noticed that the bitterest people on the Bu wear DLP or Opposition hats

There is never any love joy peace and harmony in their hearts

it makes perfect sense that the opposition to the opposition comes from within the opposition dlp party

they do not know how to be happy and will drag down everyone around them

these type of people should be ignored

25. Yolande Grant Avatar

Look, visibility was very bad, smoke and fire covered a wide area., as shown from ABOVE, i have the photo, and the cross winds were violent enough to shake the plane…goddamn case closed……

….wuh investigation what, to give them more opportunities to RoB the goddamn treasury…steupps….the firemen were RIGHT THERE and could have lost their lives if things had really gotten out of control.

How many fires have the naysayers battled…not a one..

26. @John2

You need to reread your comment that it is a one off incident. Do you understand that it does not matter if it is a one off which is speculative anyway, SOP demands there is an official report to close the matter? For the record a report has been commissioned and we await its official findings. Some are making political hay from the matter but there is a correct way to do this especially when it involves tax dollars.

27. Yolande Grant Avatar

Wuh it’s a good thing I was passing above at the time or they would probably try to railroad the fire fighters into charges…

I report is a must prepared by the command on the ground at the time…i will publish the photo in my next issue of Kush Quarterly..

28. Yolande Grant Avatar

That’s how firefighters lose their lives in the real world….brush fires tend to encircle and suffocate them..

The other islands must be very careful too, they have SEVERE drought, and brown everywhere so now they are all a brush fire hazard…just like Barbados.

29. Yolande Grant Avatar

Am still curious to know why some are nowhere near that concerned when billions are missing from the treasury, vat and pension fund PAUPERIZING the people and island…..and accusations are leveled at politicians…..as the culprits..

wuh um iz taxpayers money too. .

..i would bet my last dollar the fire trucks are DONATED like evating else on the island..

..wuh dem int begging China to donate electric buses too?…i saw an article bout dah recently to that effect….and a grant to build a new stadium while dey at it…..no wonder the people are being displaced.

Chinese are not renters they roll in to own…just like the Arabs.

30. @david

Please direct me to where I can find info on where a firetruck got burned while putting out a fire in Barbados and I will withdraw my “once in a lifetime “ comment. Failure to do so I will stand by my comment

I don’t know why you keep pushing this thing about a report at me. Have is said anything that is bringing to the conclusion that I am against or don’t understand such?

I watched the video and what I heard the minister say Isthat he will not comment t on the incident until he get the report (SOP for the minister in a situation like this)
    All wisemen already know what will be in the in the report.

Are you still awaiting the gun through airport report?

31. Why would trained fire officials park a 1.5 million dollar fire appliance in a grass piece unaware of the potential hazard posed by change of wind direction?

This Saturday gone I went on a walk about in the once verdant cane fields around where I lived from boyhood.

They have mostly become grass, cowitch and miamosi and they were burning. Noone cares about them except for the holding companies which treat them as a land bank waiting for TCP permissions to convert them into housing …… and of course GOB functionaries waiting to collect the accompanying bribe.

Imagine my surprise when I found a fire truck parked in what once used to be a canefield above the houses that have sprung up in the area. The fire had burnt right down to the fire break the residents maintain and while they were probably only have been smoked out, the efforts of the fire truck had saved their asses!!

Unfortunately, the fire truck had a flat and was waiting for maintenance to come and fix it.

I came upon it after the fight was over.

I was amazed to think these personnel had placed themselves and their equipment at such risk as they had to drive down a foot path which was all that was left of the cartroad along which vehicles, tracked and wheeled routinely drove and which in the 17th century was a main road.

The area is a dumping ground, so it was possible they just picked up a piece of metal which had pierced the tyre.

So, what is the difference between the 60’s to the 90’s when I fought cane fires routinely?

Back then, there would have been no need for a fire tender to go into that location to prevent loss to houseowners., there would have been few if any houses, particularly in the 60’s.

But, in my period fighting fires on a fire cart, there would have been an assortment of fire carts from neighbouring plantations which arrived and instinctively fought the fire whether it was in the thick of a canefield trying to cut off its spread or in the trash and grassed areas.

I cast my mind back and reckoned up to 10 fire carts that would probably have been on the scene back then from the neighbouring plantations.

It was serious and dangerous work, but also great fun.

I remember single plantation managers driving their tractors and operating a hose while driving.

The role of the Fire Service was a much diminished one back then but today, the personnel have to put themselves and their equipment at risk.

There is no choice, depending on the area.

In the background of the video you can see a tractor drawing a fire cart probably manned by a single operator.

The only reason that was there was because there were neighbouring plantations still in cane and with equipment.

In most cases these days, the Fire Service is forced to operate on its own.

Unfortunately, the luck did not go with the Fire Service.

32. John Knox
    It is interesting to read something on this blog that is informative and actually makes sense.
    Thanks

33. Thanks GP.

The obvious solution is to control burn the areas known to be problematical as the dry season starts.

…. obviously, not the cane fields in production.

A planned program allows the Fire Service to allocate its resources in a planned fashion.

Inform households in the area when control burning will take place so that asthma sufferers can clear out.

There were a couple of years in the early 1970’s when the sugar industry did control burn because Bajans found it too hard to cut green canes.

Sunday nights and Wednesday nights enough was burnt for the following two days cutting. You never seen a student race to complete homework so he could get on the fire cart in the yard for the night’s burning as I did.

However, it was stopped because yields fell, and more willing and able labour was imported from St. Vincent to cut the canes.

A green cane incentive was introduced to incentivise the cutting of green cane.

I suspect it still exists.

It really is that simple.

34. Yolande Grant Avatar

The drought caused such dryness, a fuel for fires, in other islands also, i warned them about brush fire, only to see one in full progress on the return flight…..

…the odds were definitely AGAINST those firefighters as seen from above .

35. In the 1970’s, the plantation manager informed the Fire Servis of where he was burning and then went ahead starting at 6:00pm. A Fire Officer would visit to see if assistance was required and by 8:00pm it was all over.

I can recall no occasion where the fire escaped from the intended area.

Today a control burn probably requires Cabinet approval.

36. @John
    Accidents happen and firemen put themselves on the line and their lives in danger. On that we can all agree.

But even in your piece, there is statement about the fire engine having a flat tire. This is what is of concern to some of us. Must every fire fighting even be marred by an accident/mistake of some sort?

We shouldn’t make excuses until someone dies. Then we will have one group saying “better training could have prevented this” and the next group saying that fire fighting is a dangerous job and we should all grieve with the firemen family

I prefer to be on the side that calls for better training, monitoring of equipment and leadership as this is more likely to save a life. Just stating it is a dangerous job is not the solution; thisis a fact that is not in dispute.

We strive for prevention, which may be part of a cure. Word by themselves are not enough.

37. Backward ever, forward never.

An island full of dry bush and grass interpersed with houses. Wooden houses on the city’s outskirts sitting almost on top of each other are recipe for disaster.

John is usually useful on these topics.

I am not one to point fingers at our firemen without evidence. And I find it hard to believe that they turned up to a fire without water. I have been the victim of some of these deliberately set grass fires. Used to be that some person would light the piece of pasture still remaining across the road in front of my house As small as that area now is, the firemen always arrived in time to prevent any damage. These days, the fool has taken to lighting the area behind my house. Up to last year, the firemen had to walk across my land with the hose to reach the fire. Usually, they control the burn until the grass and bush is all gone. I was hoping they wouldn’t have had to drive across my garden, and they didn’t. Last year, my mangoes got singed. This year, I cleared a tract of my cousin’s land over whose property the branches hang. But I just realised that if the wind changed and blew strangely I would still be in trouble. There is always a hose attached to the pipe in my backyard though. A couple of years ago, my neighbours used it to put out the fire until the firemen arrived.

I thank our hardworking firemen who up until this point, have never let me down.

38. Suddenly, we must battle fire to have an opinion on fire fighting. Do we have to be accident investigators to comment on an accident? Must we be fools to comment on folly?

Whilst hands-on experience would be helpful, we need not constrain our comment to things that we have experience on.

39. Yolande Grant Avatar

More training is always good, minimizes errors etc, could never hurt to be on top of safety procedures..

….but has the government ever thought of preventative measures when they KNOW the areas are bone dry in certain seasons and ready to ignite by themselves or have some pyromaniac fool set it….there is dry season EVERY YEAR…

40. Yolande Grant Avatar

Theo…we must NEVER act as though DONATED fire trucks are more important than firefighters lives and what they have to go through when confronted by the dangers we ourselves never face.

41. My problem is not with people voicing concerns or asking questions. My problem is with people jumping to conclusions without evidence, to the point where they are quick to assume that a fire truck turned up to a fire without water, then running the rumour as though they have the proof.

My emotional woman’s brain 😊 requires more than some unknown person’s word on these matters, And the fact that eleven houses were damaged, not even destroyed, is not evidence enough to convict. What were the circumstances? I do not yet know.

I am of the opinion that crying wolf at the top of one’s voice when there is no wolf tends to BACKFIRE when the wolf actually appears. I prefer to watch and wait for the wolf.

Spreading misinformation, telling lies, use of hyperbole, jumping to conclusions without evidence, none of these things are helpful when one’s desire is to help. In fact, the moral of story of the boy who cried wolf is that it is counterproductive.

But doan min’ me! I am an emotional woman, limited by hormones. Perhaps I should get married again and submit to the superior manly wisdom that comes with two balls and a shaft!

I pity the fool!

42. In the case of the flat tyre, I would never have considered taking the vehicle where it ended up, not in a million years unless the situation called for that rash of a decision and people were in danger.

BTW, in 1975, my uncle’s house burnt flat. Cane fire which spread to the grass on the hill where the house was located.

I was present and am a witness.

My uncle came in the yard on the fire cart to protect the house but the fire engine was there. The firemen told him “we got this” so he went back out to save the cane.

I was there and watched the firemen deploy the hose to the shingle roof. When water was called for none came because the tank was empty.

My cousin went with them to the end of the gap where everyone knew was a hydrant but by the time they returned it was too late.

Firemen make mistakes too.

It was on the front page of the Nation!!

43. Bridgetown has routinely suffered fire and sometimes most of it has burnt flat.

The old fire station opposite the main guard was put there to protect the city.

Sometime later, it was moved to the building opposite the Empire.

Then the powers that be decided to move it out of town completely.

There are hydrants all over Bridgetown which you see, or used to see, being used to wash down the streets.

Just behind the Fairchild Street Market is a source of water close to Nelson Street.

The fault lies with the decision to move the station out of town for God only knows what reason.

Imagine if there was traffic!!

44. Yolande Grant Avatar

Re the Wellington Street fire, think that’s the name I heard, all am hearing is the road was recently paved over covering the hydrant itself and making it difficult to access the water..that’s what people in the area said…..that’s all I can go by…

45. “Contemporary fire engines carry their own water, a pump to move the water, and hose. Water tank sizes can range from 500 – 1,500 gallons. Pump capacity is measured in gallons per minute (gpm) and most pump capacities are between 1,000 gpm – 2,000 gpm.”

Q. How long do you think 1,500 gallons will last if it is pumped at 2000 gallons per minute?

A. If you were able to calculate less than a minute then go to the head of the class.

A fire truck must have access to a hydrant if it is going to fight fire for any prolonged time.

Watch this video again and you will see the hydrants in use.

A fire truck is a glorified water pump on wheels.

BTW, 1 cubic metre of water (~265 gallons) weighs one metric tonne.

1500 gallons of water weighs ….. you do the math!!

That’s why fire trucks carry the smallest possible volume of water to a fire. Without a hydrant, a pond or the sea they are useless.

Help them Grasshopper!!

46. Some people say that many women do not have a brain for math.

I’ve lived long enough to know this can be true in some instances but generally speaking it is not.

The only thing that generally speaking can be generally speaking said to be generally speaking true is that women are generally speaking.

47. The fire appliance is reported to have had capacity of 600 gallons. One suspects not having quick access to the hydrant because of recent paving was the problem.

48. Yolande Grant Avatar

That’s what we heard…the pavers screwed up when they covered the hydrant.

John…they could NEVER had made it into space without the mathematics in the Black woman’s head.

49. Yolande Grant Avatar

John…Pythagoras copied from Kush and Kemet and still….WE ROCK..

https://www.unilad.com/news/us-news/school-girls-solve-2000-math-puzzle-397178-20240508

50. How does one pave over a hydrant?