For months I have contemplated but resisted writing about the rule of law, or lack thereof, in Barbados under two consecutive states of emergency. All that changed after I read a WhatsApp message sent to me from an unknown person. It simply said:

โ€œIf you allow the government to break the law in an emergency, they will create emergencies to break the law.โ€

In order to deal with the Covid-19 pandemic, the Government of Barbados decided that it would institute a state of emergency. Rather than use the existing provisions, Government sidestepped the Constitution and the 1939 Emergency Powers Act and amended the Emergency Management Act to provide for a public health emergency. They claimed that the existing Laws of Barbados did not provide for such. Notwithstanding Governmentโ€™s claim, I contend that there are ample laws to institute any such emergency.

Section 25.(1) of the Constitution permits the Governor-General to declare that a state of emergency exists. Section 25.(2) goes on to state, in part:

A proclamation made by the Governor-General shall not be effective for the purposes of subsection (1) unless it is declared therein that the Governor-General is satisfied-

(a) that a public emergency has arisen as a result of the imminence of a state of war between Barbados and another State or as a result of the occurrence of any earthquake, hurricane, flood, fire, outbreak of pestilence, outbreak of infectious disease or other calamity, whether similar to the foregoing or not…

The power in the Constitution to declare a state of emergency as a result of the โ€œoutbreak of infectious diseaseโ€ immediately gives the lie to Governmentโ€™s claim that there were no provisions to cater to a public health emergency.

Under a state of public emergency government can, and in this case, restrict citizens from enjoying their constitutional right. The mechanism for doing so in the current emergency is a series of directives issued by the Prime Minister. I make bold to say that the Prime Minister cannot use this mechanism to curtail constitutional rights and freedoms since the enabling legislation did not amend or alter the Constitution of Barbados in anyway. To my mind, since the Emergency Management (Amendment) Act, 2020 did not amend or alter the Constitution; any directives issued by the Prime Minister that curtailed our constitutional rights would be illegal and of no effect.

The obvious question would therefore be: How can government declare a state of emergency to protect the country from the ravages of this Corvid-19 pandemic? The simple answer would be that government should have invoked the provisions of the Emergency Powers Act, 1939-3. I readily admit that many of the provisions of the Emergency Powers Act would offend the Constitution, if they were passed today. Be that as it may, the Constitution itself at section 26 saved laws that would be unconstitutional if there were passed prior to November 30, 1966.

Section 26 of the Constitution also allows the government to re-enact an existing law without alteration or if altered those alterations would not render the law inconsistent with the human rights provisions of the Constitution, that is sections 12 to 23. The amendments made to the Emergency Management Act in 2020 have not faithfully re-enacted the relevant provisions of the Emergency Powers Act. For example, all those orders/directives made under the Emergency Powers Act must, in accordance with section 3.(4) shall be laid before Parliament. It states:

Any orders so made shall be laid before Parliament as soon as may be after they are made and shall not continue in force after the expiration of 7 days from the time when there are so laid unless a resolution is passed by both Houses providing for the continuation.

Section 33.(5) of the Emergency Management Act, which required the Government to lay emergency orders before Parliament, was repealed by the 2020 amendments. It is therefore obvious to me that this Government wanted no oversight when it implemented the public health emergency.

Section 48.(1) of the Constitution provides that Parliament may make laws for the peace, order and good government of Barbados. It is therefore my view that even if enabling legislation allows the Prime Minister or anyone else to make rules, they must be approved by Parliament. In this present state of emergency the Prime Minister is making laws for the peace, order and good government of Barbados without any reference to Parliament.

I am now wondering if persons, who were penalised by the courts for infringing these directives, have any remedy against the state. It would appear that our Prime Minister has now become the absolute dictator of Barbados, which is not too far removed from being a despot. Could the late Prime Minister Arthur have been predicting the future? Just wondering!

260 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Hail Caesar Mia Mottley, Dictator of Barbados”

1. Caswell

Where were you when we were arguing for decades that Barbados was an elected dictatorship?

Any appeal to Owen Arthur, his memory, is therefore akin to complaining to the Devil about the wickedness of Satan we are afraid.

Notwithstanding, we credit you for finally reaching an unavoidable truism about our existence. That took courage. Courage, has always been a scarce commodity in these here islands.

2. Now the Trump-effect has mainstreamed fascism in our world.

It was always only a matter of time and opportunity before nascent fascists promoted themselves from being elected-dictators to outright proto-fascists.

The classical definition of fascism is the consolidation of both political and economic power by elite forces. These two requirements have been long met in the case of Barbados.

3. Owen Arthur’s friends called him Tacitus but others referred to him more correctly as Napoleon.

A man imbued with the same short-man’s disease of his political forebear.

Of course, Mia Mugabe Mottley is the rightful inheritor of the creation of her political forefathers.

4. Mia Mottley for first President of the new Federation of Caribbean and South American States.

5. Life’s a Bitch.
    I didn’t find the Game.
    The Game found me.
    Who needs Courts of Laws and due process in these times,
    when you have Social Media and the Court of Public Opinion.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LIKwIYEYs

6. Doing things by the book is for suckers
    nobody even reads books today

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gq77BGE3UoY

7. For a man who is not a lawyer the Senator does a good job of keeping the formally trained on their toes. Looking forward to the Attorney Generals rebuttal. Hopefully traditional media will take the opportunity to clarify for the public.

8. David

Dream on!

Even if Martians had landed and imposed such there would be the normal muted response.

Is Mugabe capable of such wrongdoing in the eyes of BLPites, no!

9. @ Caswell
    Thank you Comrade. Since the Public Order Act of 1974, we have been slipping into a dictatorship. I was amazed that legal luminaries who frequented BU tried to defend this monstrosity.
    I am further amazed that ostriches have not replaced the often berated yardfowl as the most popular bird in Bim.
    Continue your excellent work of exposing these opportunists , whom we have educated. COVID has exposed their shallowness and all they have left is deception and sophistry.

10. How come we dont have the White business people marching up and down like de old duke of york hollering fuh blue murder.

11. @Pacha

We have others in civil society who should be adding a voice to this kind of debate. What about academia on the Hill?

What about PhD candidates etc.

12. There is a reason we label ourselves an educated people, why we allocate significant sums to education in the national budget. The people we have invested in represent a return on the investment through their ability to prosecute these kinds of issues on behalf of the tax paying Barbadians.

13. Caswell may soon feel the need to come home to another truism, that lawfare is an enabler of fascism in Barbados not its corrective.

That corrective is solely located within a certain antiquarian device. A device rising in popularity more and more these days.

14. David

Ask William Skinner

History has taught us that socalled academicians have no real commitment to such gross violations by the powerful.

In fact, they are vastly more likely to pretend coming out in the public’s interest only to sell us out at an opportune moment. This is the DNA of the people we have so miseducated.

15. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Cswell’s assertion is a moot point as long as the government has a two thirds majority, they can do anything they want.

If they investigate and realize they made a mistake and Caswell was right, they will simply rush and pass a constitutional amendment.

16. David

Not being a lawyer is of benefit. We remember well how certain former radical lawyers were treated in Barbados by the court.

One judge pretended not to be able to see a defence attorney because he wore a shirtjack instead of a suit.

Not being an officer of the courts he would be able to not conform to the ways of that Lodge.

17. @CA

Please revisit your comment. Having a two thirds majority does not mean a lack of respect for process especially if we live in a so-called democracy.

18. Hail Caswell Franklyn, King of Bush Lawyers

19. Skinner
    BTW
    Barbados was passing laws 100 years ago to make it illegal for hawkers to sell on Roebuck Street.

Barrow’s Public Order Act was just a continuation of this much longer march towards dictatorship and fascism..

Some may even see an arc stretching back to the entry of the albinos..

We are well aware of your interest in this matter. The POA might have been a watershed but not a genesis.

20. “One judge pretended not to be able to see a defence attorney because he wore a shirtjack instead of a suit.”

wonder if the colonial slaves understand yet just how stupid they look and always have been.

colonial slaves are so beneath me.

21. @Silversleeves

Are you in a position to factually refute the position forwarded by the Senator?

22. MIA MUGABE’S BIDENESQUE BEHAVIOUR is all essentially part of the march to the IMMINENT rise of the one world government of antichrist.

23. @ Pacha
    Your historical trace cannot be questioned .. I fully concur, Comrade.

24. @ Silversleeves February 19, 2021 8:29 AM
    โ€œHail Caswell Franklyn, King of Bush Lawyers..โ€

Caswell’s track record does not lie in the โ€œBushโ€ but in the halls of Truth and Justice as seen through the eyes of the public and jury.

We certainly know of a few โ€œBUSH lawyersโ€ highly qualified and holding their LECs but who cannot even hold a candle to the โ€˜lawyeringโ€™ face of Caswell.

If Caswell is a mere king among the BUSH lawyers why did the present AG, the Prince of Lawyers, concede defeat as a result of his โ€˜legalโ€™ oversight which was pointed out by Caswell in the two DCOP affair?

Now who turned out to be the quack in the bush and who the โ€˜winningโ€™ lawyer as judged in Parliament?

Doesnโ€™t the outcome of that Lawyering duel remind you of the (King) David and the giant Goliath now relegated to the BUSH after being knocked off his pedestal by a pebble of intelligence stored in the law book of Commonsense ?

25. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David February 19, 2021 8:17 AM

Respect sounds all nice and fancy but the endpoint is the same. Advocate instead of a change to the constitution to prevent if from happening in the first place is of more use.

Whether it takes them one or two steps they will get the same conclusion with their two thirds majority. Otherwise a better idea would be to advocate for a unanimous decision for those types of impactful decisions.

26. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/19/from-pause-to-stop-as-lockdown-deepens/

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/19/police-take-hardline-stance-on-protocol-breaches/

Tourists came and did as they liked now the Black Bajan Brass Bowls are arbitrarily locking up one another for fun.

Besides the USA I’ve not seen a so called democracy which takes such pleasure in locking up its citizens. The US is riddled with anti-Black racism, what is Barbados’ excuse?

27. @CA

Have you forgotten the Upper House pushed back on some bad legislation during this term? Have you also forgotten the chicanery that occurred around the integrity bill before parliament prorogued?

28. @Dullard

What do you propose, allow black bajans to continue to do as they like?

29. For a number of years @ Caswell has shown an understanding of legal theory far greater than many of those with a right to appear at the bar.
    In fact, so much so, that I have called on numerous occasions for the UWI to offer him an honorary LLM or D.Law. He more than deserves it.
    It is also my impression that the attorney general, the government’s chief legal officer, is either not familiar with, or not interested in legal theory.
    Two press briefing appearances ago he was asked by someone if one was under a family court order of visitation rights ad were ordered to lockdown under the CoVid emergency legislation, which order was superior. He avoided the question.
    In the latest appearance he announced that there were 23000 employees at the QEH, who were all frontline workers and so allowed to roam under the weekend lockdown by using their workplace IDs.
    He was asked if a QEH employee, a nurse for example, had to get to work, and the only mean of transport was by his/her partner giving them a lift, would the driver be breaking the curfew legislation.
    Once again Marshall found himself waffling and humming without giving a clear answer. The Emergency legislation is as clear as muck.
    What is true, as @Caswell has articulated, is that this government is using the emergency of the pandemic to give itself undemocratic powers.
    It is bypassing parliament, the institution with power over us, to formally give it to a Cabinet sub-committee, which is terms of policy is a single person’s dominating views.
    When I say our prime minister has used her 30/0 (29/1) majority to turn her office in to a de facto presidency, I am attacked. But that is putting it politely.
    I am glad to see others are coming round to the undemocratic nature of Barbadian society.

30. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

Articles written in the abstract can tend to lead to wild inferences. Clarity in the present matter is best.

What constitutional rights are being unlawfully infringed?

How can it be said that 2020 amendments to the EMA seek to alter or amend the question?

What is the relevance of s.22 of the Constitution, specifically subsection 3, which speaks to the limitations placed on the freedom of movement (the most obvious right being curtailed) not being inconsistent with that section, where the law in question is in the interest of โ€œdefence, public safety, public order, public morality or public healthโ€, and that the directives are issued under such a law?

I do not rebut the Senatorโ€™s premise, for once. I simply require clarification. The answer forms a useful addition to the jurisprudential base, and therefore clarity, not abstraction, is useful. Because the points being made may be useful, it is regrettable that they are mired in partisan diatribe, as that contained in the last paragraph.

31. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

@Khaleel Kothdiwala. February 19, 2021 10:16AM
    โ€œHow can it be said that 2020 amendments to the EMA seek to alter or amend the question?โ€
    Should read โ€œHow can it be said that 2020 amendments to the EMA seek to alter or amend the Constitution?โ€

32. I hope @Caswell is not going to reply to this arrogant, jumped up school boy who has no understanding of what he is talking about.
    To reply is to give it legitimacy.

33. The fact is that tourism and the Welcome Stamp Program collapsed because of the COVID19 outbreak. We are facing a 50 percent unemployment rate, just like last summer. Meanwhile, the government has to feed the lazy civil servants in the home office with full salary, which ruins the state finances.

Our government is trying its best in this crisis: accelerated vaccinations, strictest lockdown, etc. pp. And what is the opposition doing? Instead of supporting the government, opposition members make up conspiracy theories about the vaccine or get upset about the smallest legal details – like the outspoken senator. I remind everyone that the outspoken Senator sabotaged the new anti-corruption law and likewise tried to badmouth the Welcome Stamp Program.

It is time for the government to put the opposition in protective custody for an indefinite period of time to protect them from the people’ anger.

34. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala February 19, 2021 10:16 AM

KK,

It is somehow likely that the outspoken senator is receiving help from DLP sympathisers in the judiciary or from the Attorney General’s office. On his own, a legal layman is not capable of such legal trickery.

I could even imagine that former bloggers on BU are behind this. Time to tap the phones and bring the culprit to justice!

35. @Hal Austin 10:21 Is this dismissal similar to that of those in the temple when Jesus was twelve years old and challenged the teachers and elders of the church? What a way to encourage youth debate.

36. @ Fearful

It may surprise you, but I was once a teenager too. I am keen on people learning, but you have chosen the example of Jesus in the Temple. I will refer to Aristotle as seen through the words of Plato. Not the same, but from before the birth of Christ.
    It appears as if clever young men questioned their seniors. We need more of that. It is called learning.

37. Kothdiwala has inserted himself into the upper level of politics in Barbados and should be treated as an adult.

38. Actually it is your comment that is arrogant.

39. You might be interested in what a former Co Host on the Rush Limbaugh Show has to say about the legitimate role of Government in a Free Society.

Principles apply here as well as the US even though there are different constitutions.

40. re Is this dismissal similar to that of those in the temple when Jesus was twelve years old and challenged the teachers and elders of the church? What a way to encourage youth debate.

THE BIBLE NO WHERE ASSERTS THAT JESUS challenged the teachers and elders of the church AT AGE 12

YOU ARE WRONGLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH
    THE CHURCH WAS NOT FOUNDED UNTIL PENTECOST, AT WHICH TIME JESUS HAD ALREADY RETURNED TO HEAVEN TO BE SEATED AT GOD’S RIGHT HAND —-SEE DANIEL 7:14 INTER ALIA

ALSO JESUS’ QUESTIONS WERE NOT DISMISSED BY ” those in the temple when Jesus was twelve years old.”
    READ THE ACCOUNT IN LUKE 2:46-47 PROPERLY

And it came to pass, that after three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the doctors, both hearing them, and asking them questions.47 And all that heard him were astonished at his understanding and answers.

41. @John
    You might be interested in what a former Co Host on the Rush Limbaugh Show has to say about the legitimate role of Government in a Free Society
    ++++++++
    Speak for yourself I don’t want to hear what anyone associated with Rush Limbaugh says

42. @GP

Thanks for your greater Biblical knowledge.

43. HAL
    BU BARKERS BRAYERS AND BRIMBLERS CAN LEARN A LOT FROM THE 12 YEAR OLD JESUS
    NOTE THAT
    I– HE LISTENED TO THE TEACHERS OF THE TORAH
    2 – HE ASKED THEM QUESTIONS
    THAT IS HOW YOU LEARN
    YOU LISTEN AND YOU ASK QUESTIONS ABOUT WHAT YOU DO NOT KNOW

OR YOU ASK QUESTIONS, AS I OFTEN DO TO SET UP MOCKERS AND SCOFFERS FOR THEIR SLAUGTER
    SOME FOLK YOU JUST IGNORE

IT HAS CORECTLY BEEN SAID THAT Controversy has kept alive a certain quantity of bitterness, and that, I suspect, is all that it would accomplish if it continued till the day of judgment.

Controversy equalises fools and wise men in the same way–andย the fools know it. THAT IS WHY FOOLS ENGAGE IN CONTROVERSY ABOUT THINGS OF WHICH THEY KNOW NAUGHT– A FREUENT PAST TIME ON BU. AND THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

ON BU OVER THE YEARS It has been a favourite device to endeavour to provoke a discussion on points about which they hope to place an opponent in a difficulty.
    Their object is not to settle, but to unsettle; not to clear up doubts, but to create them; To dispute is to place truth at an unnecessary disadvantage

44. @ Hal
    Marshall is being kept to balance Payne . He and Payne were the chief henchmen in replacing Mia with Owen. A marriage of convenience. Marshall is by far the poorest constituency representative in Parliament. I have personally been involved in at least two campaigns up there including the last one, where I worked for the independent candidate Rouse. I ran Rouse campaign for the NDP in โ€˜94. Rouse got 700 votes in the last election and beat the DLP candidate. It was the first time since the late 60s or early 70s that an independent candidate amassed that amount of votes. They have kept it a well known secret , because as well as the BLP did , Marshallโ€™s performance was no where near the others. Payne has saved Marshallโ€™s skin over and over. I shall return to this topic in the fullness of time.
    Marshall is the poorest AG since independence.

45. Even before COVID Mia was stomping all over the Constitution and when mention was made of her disregard and lawless attitude those comments were met with fiery outburst by Blp yardfowls David&Company
    Now displays his hypocrisy in his agreement with Caswell

46. @GP

I think you have been reading my mind. I was about to pen that the process of learning has not changed in 2500 years. The older generation teaches the younger generation; that is how the orthodoxy is passed on.
    Then that generation begins to questions some of the received wisdoms; then they go on to promote their new ideas.
    In our culture the teaching is done up to a first degree; then the student goes on to do research and set the new mark. On BU they set their own rules.
    It is nice to see and assist young people as they grow and learn. One of my great satisfactions is watching a near-three yr old as she grows and develops her own personality.
    She is now in the process of learning to associate words with events, objects and behaviours, which makes us all smile.
    It is perverse to encourage a teenager now battling over his CXCs to think he is an expert on legal theory. That is irresponsible, but not surprising on BU.
    He may grow up to be a great jurist, but he is not there yet.

47. @ William

I remember St Joseph as the home of Grantley Adams. When Adams went to the Federation they held on to it. Has the seat ever been won by the DLP? I read a report sometime ago that Payne had given an interview in which he attacked the president.
    I have not read it in any of the newspapers or on BU. But, in terms of conventional journalism, why has Payne not been interviewed by the press?

48. @Dullard
    The US is riddled with anti-Black racism, what is Barbadosโ€™ excuse?
    ###################################
    Barbados too.

49. I am glad to see others are coming round to the undemocratic nature of Barbadian society.
    ############################
    Barbados has been undemocratic since 1627.

50. @Tee White

All democracies are controlled by the elites- those with the economic power. We get tied up with labels.