The following report extracted from the Irish publication The PHOENIXDavid, Blogmaster

McManus Arriving at Inquest

THE DEATH on December 30 of 40 year old Emma McManus, daughter-in-law of zillionaire JP McManus, in the exclusive Caribbean Sandy Lane resort, reverberated around the super rich circles in Barbados as well as back home in Ireland.

Confusion was the order of the day and the memorial service initially planned take place at the start of January was deferred until the following week. Now the inquest is putting the tragedy back under the spotlight, featuring disputed references to alleged cocaine use.

Emma was married John Paul McManus, son of the Geneva based tax exile JP, who found himself giving evidence at inquest in Barbados yesterday – an experience that proved predictably intrusive. As reported in the local Daily Nation newspaper, John McManus had to deny that he told the office of coroner Graveney Bannister in a telephone call, allegedly made shortly after the death of Emma, that they had been doing “a little cocaine”.

Emma McManus

McManus confirmed there had been a party at their Sandy Lane property but denied he had told the official at the coroner’s office that any cocaine had been taken, also rebutting a claim that he had a convenient memory. When asked if he was claiming that Bannister was “making it all up”, McManus suggested the coroner had misheard him and also said he “would happily take a test for it”.

The inquest also heard that there was a dispute about calls allegedly made asking how quickly Emma McManus’s body could be released for burial, with John McManus denying he had repeatedly telephoned the coroner: “We were in a state of grieving and people were eager for answers, so it wasn’t me that did anything”.

His statement to the police, which was read into evidence by Sergeant Robert Jones, said the Emma McManus had left Sandy Lane’s Monkey Bar around 11.30pm on December 29 to return to the house, while her husband was taken home around 4am and put on the couch to sleep.

In the morning, he found his wife dead in the bed and she was rushed to Sandy Crest hospital. McManus’s statement concluded, “She was not smoking anything and I don’t know if she was taking any narcotics.”

The inquest has been adjourned until next month, when the toxicology report is to be read to the court.

119 responses to “MCMANUS DEATH PROBED IN BARBADOS”

1. Maybe he was talking about Coca cola. The choice of the rich and famous.

2. So many questions.

ONE: How much is a little cocaine?

3. I am surprised that The Phoenix wrote “an experience that proved predictably intrusive.”

After all an inquest IS SUPPOSED TO BE INTRUSIVE innit?

It is supposed to enquire/inquire not so?

Is it not an investigation?

An inquisition

A probe

Aren’t all of those things naturally and deliberately and legally intrusive?

I mean we can’t have young people dying and handing over their dead bodies to their families jest so can we?

4. Also in today’s news
    https://www.nationalcrimeagency.gov.uk/news/4-2-tonnes-of-europe-bound-cocaine-seized-in-joint-operation-involving-the-nca
    4.2 tonnes of Europe-bound cocaine seized in joint operation involving the NCA

A major operation involving the National Crime Agency has the resulted in the seizure of 4.2 tonnes of cocaine that was destined for Europe.
    Working with European partners as part of an investigation started last year, the NCA developed intelligence leading to the identification of a fishing vessel that was carrying the drugs.
    On Sunday 17 January a French naval vessel operating out of Martinique intercepted and boarded the boat in international waters east of BARBADOS.
    The high-purity drugs found on board would likely have had a street value of several hundred million pounds to criminal networks in Europe.
    The boat and her eight crew were apprehended and handed over to administrative and judicial authorities.
    Officers from the NCA’s international network shared intelligence and coordinated the deployment of law enforcement and military assets, working closely with international partners through the Maritime Analysis and Operations Centre (MAOC-N) in Lisbon.
    Deputy Director Tom Dowdall, head of NCA International, said:
    “The role played by the NCA in identifying and locating the vessel was critical to the success of the operation.
    “Through MAOC-N we were then able to ensure that the boat was intercepted by our partners, in this case the French Navy.
    “Working with our European partners we have stopped a huge haul of drugs from making it onto the European market, and I’ve no doubt some of that would have ended up in the UK in the hands of criminal gangs also engaged in violence and exploitation.
    “A seizure of this size will have a dramatic impact on the organised crime groups involved, and deprive them of huge profits.”

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Geneva based tax exile JP”
    I gather Barbados does not have an extradition treaty with Ireland?

6. What is important, but will predictably be ignored in Barbados, was the report carried in the Irish Times that the death of Ms McManus was not out of the ordinary.
    Who was the officer who gave that interview? Who authorised it? Why was it authorised? I also know it is a lot to expect of local journalists, but it may be worthwhile reading the transcript of the court case involving Mc Manus and Alex Ferguson, the former Manchester United manager.
    Another example of the amateurish of our officials is the disputing of the content of a telephone conversation between the widower of the dead woman and a coroner’s official.
    Don’t people in Barbados tape telephone conversations. That is something even trainee journalists do as routine.

7. All you have is a newspaper report, one taken from local media. How do you know that it is factual?

8. All you have is a newspaper report, one taken from local media. How do you know that it is factual?….(Quote)

You have a never-ending problem with understanding basic English. Plse re-read what I said. The Irish Times quoted a local police officer.

9. Boris Johnson uses Times News to leak news about how much he is in Command overruling his cabinet. At this point people realise Times News is crap, it’s like Children realising the Beano is a scam to steal their pocket money.

10. I too wondered why the call was not recorded. That is what struck me.

The officer had no right to speak to the newspaper but I do not doubt the truth of the statement.

Filthy rich people use more drugs than poor people.

My theory is that they have no other way of getting excited after having the world at their fingertips.

Been everywhere. Done everything. Got everything. Nothing new to look forward to.

It is not called filthy rich for nothing. Filthy rich is bad. Dirt poor is bad.

The middle is the best place to be – enough to stave off despair and not too much to make hope redundant.

11. This appears to be an “unnatural death “. Did the police do a preliminary investigation just in case it was . Okay I watch too much FBI and Law and order.

12. “When asked if he was claiming that Bannister was “making it all up”, McManus suggested the coroner had misheard him and also said he “would happily take a test for it”.”

he knows that the party was in Dec…this is January, the end of, all traces of narcotics are long gone, but can still be detected in the cadaver.are gone.

that’s what happens when you allow a bunch of frauds to have free rein on the island..

allowed to import whatever they want, that has been seen escorted by taxpayer paid police outriders.

they too love their syndicates, hope they also ove the embarrassment.

is it true that the cooks were sequestered and staff sent home without testing or followup, although there were complaints of a Covid cluster after the party….so which is worse, Cocaine or Covid.

13. The Irish moved in to Barbados in a big way at the turn of the century. Using loans from the Anglo Irish Bank, they bought a lot of property in Barbados.
    I remember warning locals about this rush of Irishmen, but as usual, I was ignored. The trio of Desmond, Magnier and McManus was different. They had financial clout.
    The Irish are nice people, but a country that is looking for an easy way to punch above its weight and be world class runs the risk of being ripped off by any unscrupulous group of people.
    Some day Barbadians are going to wake up to the reality there is no free lunch in this world

14. @et al
    Is it that easy for a citizen to have a conversation with the coroner ? I always thought that the coroner will execute his/her duties and his report then goes to the CID and on to the DPP. How on earth did these people get to talk to the coroner?

15. @ William Skinner,

Some people in Barbados have real power and privilege.

16. @ Hants
    I hope our country is not becoming a banana republic. I hope legal luminaries will eduacte us on this matter. I hope that I am wrong. Imagine some rich settler calling up a coroner and then challenging him to some test. I have never heard such an exchange in our law courts.

17. McManus, Smith and the lot of them have controlled significant influence over the years. Do not forget Sandy Lane told the BWU to take a hike and the matter dies a natural death.

18. There is a lot of life insurance money hanging on the coroner’s decision.

19. A 40 year old woman is ALLEGEDLY found dead in bed.

As soon as the Police were informed they should treated it as a possible crime.

Buh doan mine me. I does watch tummuch tv.

20. @ Hants

Allegedly??????? Was she dead? Or, did she die elsewhere and put in bed? Or, is she still alive?

21. William Skinner January 29, 2021 10:50 AM #: “Is it that easy for a citizen to have a conversation with the coroner?”

@ Mr. Skinner

In MY opinion, the appropriate question to ask would be if it was ethical for Coroner, Magistrate Bannister, to entertain a call from the husband of a victim, the circumstances surrounding whose death was subject to an inquiry.

To make matters worse, the husband subsequently denied making certain comments when, during the coroner’s inquest into the death of the victim, Bannister asked him questions relating to the telephone conversation.

22. #funnybusiness

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    You are absolutely correct. The belief that there are two Barbadoes keeps gaining validity. We have Barbadians with missing citizens and people shot /murdered and their relatives cannot get a word out of law enforcemnet but here we have rich expatriates, calling coroners and getting responses. This in itself should be a major investigation. I bet you if this was an “ordinary” Bajan all hell will brek loose and we’ll be calling fuh fire to bun dem.

24. Hants January 29, 2021 11:42 AM #: “A 40 year old woman is ALLEGEDLY found dead in bed. As soon as the Police were informed they should treated it as a possible crime.”

@ Hants

The Irish Times report of January 1, 2021 stated, “Informed sources said Ms McManus, originally from Blackrock, Co Dublin, awoke in her room in the early hours of Wednesday and complained of “feeling unwell.” Sources said Ms McManus was brought to a local medical centre where she was pronounced dead a short time later.”

On the other hand, according to Mr. McManus’ statement to the police, when he saw his wife sitting up in bed, she appeared not to have any life in her face, but her hands were still warm at the time. They took her to Sandy Crest, where she was pronounced dead.

Apparently, since the lady wasn’t “allegedly found dead in bed,” the question is, when was RBPF informed? Was it before or after the relatives took her to Sandy Crest? Under the circumstances, Sandy Crest had a duty to report the death to the police.

Obviously, the police would issue a statement to the media, in which details relative to the results of their preliminary investigations, based on information received or gathered at the time, would be outlined. So, there isn’t anything unusual in police saying whether or not a death is being treated as unnatural and a post mortem would be conducted to determine the actual cause of death.

Could it be a situation where the Irish Times used comments from that statement for its news report? If so, then, would it be a bit presumptuous to assume an “officer gave an interview,” when doing so goes against police protocols?

25. David
    We should expect in good old Bajan style this matter to be kicked into the tall grass.

Maybe it is because of a failure by high priced lawyers to make the right moves. A failure of PR management. That this is a public matter.

We should be grateful that we even know of it.

Too many people, the government, the feckless systems will be exposed for any meaning to become of this. And the population has no real problem wid dat.

Maybe the failure of a proper chain of evidence will achieve the predetermined outcome. Misadventure, or some shiite so.

Barbados has never possessed any determination to lock up Whites with or without means far less the very wealthy. Standard police practice is to treat any husband as a suspect when a wife dies in such circumstances.

Those who are surprised that Mcmanus spoke to Bannister are not being real. Ordinary people in Barbados could have all kinds of favours done by the higher ups based on school ties, for instance, far less a White whale.

Any new Sandy Lane manager summons all senior civil servants, including the GoCB, to let them know that he is de one handing out the usual largesse.

Beyond the temporary bit of international embarrassment there will remain a willingness for moneyed White foreigners to get away with murder, anything to keep foreign reserves in the CB. Now that is the archetypal rentier society.

26. “We should be grateful that we even know of it.”

UK media had the info the day after it happened, the story was all over FB and Europe…it’s the clowns in Barbados who defer to these frauds tried to keep it quiet, but the matter was not a secret. and since the dude Magnus is trying to tell a magistrate that he didn’t hear right, questioning his hearing if not his sanity….that’s the only reason that others are finding out.

27. “Any new Sandy Lane manager summons all senior civil servants, including the GoCB, to let them know that he is de one handing out the usual largesse.”

totally expected from hand-to-mouth, corrupt shitehounds.

28. @ Mr. Skinner

I agree an investigation should be launched into that matter.

However, to be fair, we only know of this situation because Bannister was ‘more or less’ forced to publicly reveal during the inquest, the details of the telephone conversation him and McManus.

How do we know if “ordinary Bajans” similarly called the Coroner for information and received a response, when such occurrences have not been revealed in the public domain?

29. A Royal Barbados Police spokesman said they had ruled out foul play and were treating it as a sudden death.
    A post mortem is to be carried out on Ms McManus’s body to help find a cause of death, which will ultimately determine the police investigation.
    A police spokesman said that it was expected that “after the post mortem the investigation will be finished”.
    He explained that local autopsies can take “up to a week”, however this would be “up to the pathologist and the coroner”…..(Quote)

30. @Artax

It is a challenge to believe a police spokesman would give the statement as reported as it relates to the 40 year old deceased woman.

31. @Pacha

What is the story? McManus has a questionable history but …

32. David
    Wuh become of Caswell. He dead! Either politically or physically.

33. @PAcha

The Senator is busy being the only opposing voice in a democracy as we know it. No doubt the membership of Unity Workers Union continues to benefit from his growing brand.

34. @Donna January 29, 2021 8:05 AM “Filthy rich people use more drugs than poor people.”

Oh boy!!!

Allegations of drugs, drugs, drugs.

I’ve lived in Barbados for nearly 60 years and yet if I felt like buying a spliff or even a hit of cocaine I don’t know where to turn.

Can any of the BU regulars put me in touch with the local drug dealers?

I home and I bored, and I have $3.45 left in my bank account and I itching to spend it.

35. @Hal Austin January 29, 2021 5:39 AM “Don’t people in Barbados tape telephone conversations. That is something even trainee journalists do as routine.”

A legal official is not a journalist.

If Barbados government officials were routinely taping conversations we would hear talk about failed state, and the president, and Mugabe, and dictatorship.

36. Many of these hotels have employees on staff who facilitate high price whores and delivery of drugs to guests. This is not unknown.

37. @Donna January 29, 2021 8:05 AM. “Been everywhere. Done everything. Got everything. Nothing new to look forward to.”

The dead woman had 3 li’l children, all under the age of 10. I would have thought, having mothered multiple children myself, that 3 li’l pickney would be enough to keep any good mother real real busy.

I remember the times when I had to lock the bathroom door in order to pee in peace.

But what do I know seeing as how I am only a silly woman, according to the British expert on all things Bajan.

38. @Hal Austin January 29, 2021 9:55 AM “Some day Barbadians are going to wake up to the reality there is no free lunch in this world.”

We know Hal. We know. Had afternoon tea at Sandy Lane once, just once and far from being free it was as expensive as sh!te.

We all know that there is no free lunch.

The last time wunna British people offered us a free TransAtlantic cruise we found ourselves in bondage for 211 years, so as my old people would say I don’t trust wunna no farther that I can pelt a big rock.

Some Bajans may trust the British.

Some Bajans even keep one or two in their bed.

Not me.

39. @ David BU January 29, 2021 3:41 PM

I agree.

The Irish Times report is vague and open to interpretation that (a) they interviewed a police officer. Where did they interview him/her, at Sandy Lane, Sandy Crest or via telephone? (b) they took excerpts from the police statement as a basis to report the incident.

Read it for yourself.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/jp-mcmanus-s-daughter-in-law-dies-suddenly-aged-40-1.4448053

People often interpret issues to suit their particular agenda. One individual who is hell bent on proving incompetence or some untoward motive, would choose to interpret the Irish Times’ report as a police officer ‘giving an interview,’ while another rational thinking individual may look at alternative views.

I prefer to remain objective and examine all sides before rushing to form any conclusions.

40. @Hants January 29, 2021 8:23 AM “This appears to be an “unnatural death“.

Unnatural wha!?

Healthy 40 year old women, with no pre-existing conditions go in their beds at night all all the time, and wake up dead, dead, dead as door nails.

Perfectly natural.

41. Failed state.

42. Cuhdear I think she meant …use better drugs than poor people, So when have most of you ever cared if a white person died, have faith in your cops , I have been to many deaths both natural and unnatural and the one thing for sure people react to death in many different ways , I have seen people laugh cry, a lot…scream,…some praying trying to get a straight answer can be hard . the things going through someone’s head like I better phone the kids or tell the parents, etc. has them all over the place totally distracted., once I had a guy run into the living room and start walking in circles mumbling, which was really bad since he worked with me and was supposed to be helping do CPR. All that to say when someone you love dies expectantly don’t expect anyone to be coherent,

43. Heard Princess Kate or whatever her name is making a bigable song and dance about having to be her children’s hairdresser.

All I could do is stupseee at my presumptive queen.

I wondering what she would do if like my mother she had 7 black daughters and not a one went to a hairdresser until about age 13 and all were always, always neatly groomed. Hair combed, greased and plaited every blessed morning. And “no” I have NEVER seen a head louse or any other kind of lice.

Answer a question for me.

Do rich women work as hard as poor women?

44. @Hal Austin January 29, 2021 12:20 PM “@ Hants. Allegedly??????? Was she dead? Or, did she die elsewhere and put in bed? Or, is she still alive?”

I’ve seen one of those “interim certificates of death” that the British issue.

Interim doesn’t mean that the person named on the certificate is not dead, dead, dead.

It simply means that the coroner, magistrate or whoever has not completed the enquiry into the manner and cause of death.

But the named person is still dead.

45. @WURA-War-on-U January 29, 2021 9:31 AM “Cocaine or Covid.”

Devil or deep blue sea.

46. @Artax January 29, 2021 1:07 PM “…a call from the husband of a victim.”

We don’t know that she is a victim. We won’t know until the outcome of the coroner’s enquiry. I think you should have said the deceased, a neutral word. Writing victim makes it sound as though somebody do she something.

What if nobody troubled she?

And the man named in the court exchange with the coroner/magistrate whatever is not a husband.

Once ya wife dead ya are no longer a husband.

Or once she divorces ya, ya int no husband either.

47. @Artax January 29, 2021 3:10 PM “Apparently, since the lady…”

How do you know that she was a lady?

As far as I know the term for adult human females is WOMAN.

I hope that you are not one of those fellas who talk about black women and white ladies?

Although of course I an not a lady, being only a silly woman.

48. @Hal Austin January 29, 2021 11:29 AM “There is a lot of life insurance money hanging on the coroner’s decision.”

In which case I trust that the insurance companies are exercising due diligence.

49. @Pachamama January 29, 2021 3:13 PM “Maybe it is because of a failure by high priced lawyers to make the right moves. A failure of PR management. That this is a public matter.”

But it was NEVER a private matter, becausin’ somebody who lives in the great white north called me on New Years Day and asked me if I hear that McManus daughter in law dead.

So the matter was in the public domain in Barbados and abroad from New Year’s Day as I was probably one of the last to hear.