A few words to express concern about worrying instances of vegilante behaviour in our society. A few weeks ago 43 year old Peter Caddle was beaten to death in Jackson, St. Michael by boys from the area. He reportedly had injured an elderly woman with his car.

Last week street dweller Albert John was declared dead from natural causes although he reported to the QUEEN ELIZABETH HOSPITAL (QEH) with multiple injuries about his body. Members of the public have raised alarm that the result of a post mortem appears to ignore the fact John was badly beaten.

Emma McManus (l) Pedro Caddle (c) Albert John (r)

To whom much is given much is expected. The Barbados Police Service (BFS) and government pathologist have a responsibility to fairly discharge assigned duties. As soon as the public starts to question the integrity of public actors, houston, we have a problem.

Almost 100 days have elapsed since Commissioner Boyce promised to investigate a slapping incident on Kadooment Day 2024 by one of his officers. It has been four years since the death of Emma McManus in Barbados from an aledged cocaine incident. The billionaire McManus family and part owner of Sandy Lane hotel have contested Coroner Graveney Bannister’s inquest findings and the matter continues to languish in our moribund court system.

Barbados cannot advance as a small proud island state if we are unable to uphold law and order as well as deliver justice. What is justice?

… it refers to the principle of moral rightness based on ethics, rationality, law, fairness, and equity. Justice involves ensuring that individuals receive what they are due, whether in terms of rights, obligations, or punishment – Source: Internet

As a caring society we have to agitate against injustice at every turn. Many Barbadians have disassociated themselves from the adage each of us have to be our brother’s keeper. We are happy to allow selfish thought and positions to guide our behaviour. The late great Martin Luther King reminded the world, “injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.”

For many Barbadians, a street dweller beaten by misdirected youth or a bad boy murdered who is well known to the Barbados courts may not raise a concern of consequence. However, ignoring injustice anywhere comes with many downsides. If we aspire to creating an equitable, just, and sustainable society, where all individuals can thrive and contribute positively, we have to prioritise a fit for purpose action plan like yesterday.

Do we have confidence in our government and relevant non government organisations to engage in required reform and capacity building initiatives to advance our small society? We have allowed the Zr culture to compromise mainstream society for over 40 years. We are unable to fix potholes on Broad Street and St. Lawrence. We are unable to maintain the school plant to ensure our children access the right to the best education. Do you know we have a non brand name school where the children are currently destine to complete a whole term of online tuition? From all reports teachers have not been as passionate to deliver the best learning via online. Who will suffer because of it? Our next generation of deviant youth. We create the problem and then blame the youts.

We are responsible for the outcomes of our actions. If we create a problem, we must also bear the consequences that come from it.

Piss in the blogmaster’s pocket do!

91 responses to “Warning signs!”

1. @Simple Simon

Must you interpret everything is such literal and simplistic terms? When/if the government strengthens agencies like PAREDOS for example is that helping? If the government strengthens guidance counselors and other social services available in schools is that not helping?

2. What about helping with robust support for Scouts, Cadets and other Clubs in the school to give the children good options.

3. The government can do many things to help with parental delinquency because many parents are overwhelmed and need help, it isn’t always about money.

4. David
    November 18, 2024 at 9:14 am

What about helping with robust support for Scouts, Cadets and other Clubs in the school to give the children good options.

To get that to happen you need dedicated people who are independent of the grind of life to lead such organisations.

Not many these days!!

Besides, past scandals in these organisations have rendered their scope and influence limited at best, non existent at worst.

How many scouts do you know today, or cadets?

5. There is more than one reason for crime. We can address all of them.

But one thing cannot be disregarded – several studies have shown that children raised in a stable home are more likely to succeed in life, regardless of other circumstances.

Inequality and poverty do play a big part, but I can guarantee you that there are many jobs out there that need to be done, and many people who would rather rob and sell drugs than do them.

It has a lot to do with attitude. I do believe that we should, as a nation, do much better for the youngsters, not just for them but for our own comfort, however…. I also think that we should teach our youngsters to do better for themselves.

What kind of life is it for them when they get involved in crime, after all?

6. David,

Did you see the article in which police expressed concern about increasing disrespect for police? Numerous instances and reasons cited. The top brass looked everywhere but inward.

Of course. This is why nothing ever gets solved or even improved. There are always issues within as well as “without”.

But seldom do we acknowledge those within.

From childhood, I could never bring myself to respect anyone who did not deserve it. Perhaps others are the same.

Just a couple of weeks ago I felt duty bound to respond to bad behaviour by a schoolboy on his way home with a group. A disagreement broke out and this youngster told another boy to “suck his mother’s ….” I couldn’t let that pass and so I spoke to him about it. Another man then backed me up and then the other boys chimed in.

I hear all the time that people can’t speak to these children or “dem does cuss yuh stink”.

After many such interventions, I am awaiting my first cussing. It’s all in the approach.

7. @Donna

Yes.

A majority of the BFS hierarchy is old school and believe they are entitled to be respected by the public.

8. Donna
    November 18, 2024 at 6:18 am

And regardless of the idiotic comments from John Knox, an unmarried woman cannot just show up by herself and have a man’s name recorded on a birth certificate as father.

Perhaps a genius like yourself could tell us how an unmarried woman can drag a man into court and claim child support without proof of paternity!!

There is DNA but an unmarried woman can’t force an individual male to take the test. A court order would be required.

Besides, it probably won’t be cheap for the woman unless the court is paying.

Proof positive is the father’s name on the birth certificate which most women will ensure is happens in these days.

As Muhdear Bajan pointed out on November 14, 2024 at 11:05 pm

@Grenville “The women of today appear unwilling to keep such secrets.”

And why should they?

Indeed, why should they.

9. It is simple, at the time of registering many births the relationship in many cases between man and woman maybe cordial. This is a rabbit hole discussion for godsakes.

10. So why would women in the past be willing to keep secrets and not now?

I’ve been through so many birth and baptismal certificates in my time to realise it was quite normal for a father’s name not to appear on certificates.

In fact, I was handed a genealogical puzzle to solve recently dating back over multiple generations to the 1860’s where a client wanted to trace current relatives

A woman married a 48 year old man when she was 21 just before the turn of the century, as in 20th century.

By then she had 4 children who were baptised with her surname, no father’s name.

The couple then produced 6 children all of whom had their father’s surname.

She was bearing children from the time she was 15, not uncommon in those days.

The couple settled and descendants from that union still occupy the same area as did their fore parents and are prominent members of the nearby church.

Read the various obituaries and look for the list of families who are related to the deceased and you will realis how common the practice was.

Today however, must have money to survive and it is dog eat dog.

The types of niceties that covered over human frailties and yet left them exposed to all who knew and respected earlier generations are gone.

11. @ David
    We think that when we look at the the number of women and men in the society that may be a contributing factor with the lack of male teachers. However We don’t think that more male teachers will solve anything. Furthermore, with different trends in determining gender, there is no compelling evidence to suggest that female teachers are harming boys and so on. But the belief that more male teachers will mentor boys better or make them” better” men is nebulous.
    We shouldn’t try to determine influence in the classroom by gender. There is an old saying that : teachers are born not made.
    Quite frankly we consider this male and female teachers thing a red herring.

12. There you go Hants.

Today, an unmarried woman is not going to let off the father from taking responsibility and the noise she will make in getting the father to have his name registered would wake the dead.

Plus, she has the whip hand.

She has the innocent little child which automatically will support her claims.

People will know who the father is and be willing to tear a strip of him if he defaults.

Later, they may prefer to mind their own business.

In the past, an unmarried woman did not have to worry about the father providing for the child. He would have lost face in the community if he did not.

Plus, peeps were more human then.

13. @William

Your view is respected but the blogmaster disagrees. Boys are more likely to be understood by male actors more than women. There is a body scholarly work to support.

14. There you go! Not a genius, but “common sense beat learning”. Didn’t even have to look that up, Mr. Barbados Scholar!

Bajans, in a recent survey, listed the police service as the most corrupt body, in their eyes, beating out even the politicians.

If there is bad behaviour or breaches of rights such as that which you keep highlighting, and there is no accountability, today’s people will have no respect.

Nobody expects a perfect police service. We expect that they don’t always investigate themselves and find no wrongdoing, that’s all. We expect respect for our rights and we expect accountability.

This is different from the old days, when people were taught to respect a title or a position or so-called authority.

The police better ditch that “old school” mentality and set about being respectful and earning respect.

15. Nothing to add Donna.

16. STATUS-OF-CHILDREN-REFORM-ACT.aspx
    January 1, 1980 (SI 185/1979)

17. There is no leadership without accountability; merely people with titles.
    Which sector it began in, does not matter, it has spread like a plague.
    If those supposed to be leaders are not accountable, how can we expect those they manage, to be accountable?

It is a dangerous period.

18. “It is a dangerous period”.
    Indeed it is! @NO

And the perceptive among us should, by now, have recognized the GLOBAL nature of the brassbowlery, and (like all bushmen) appreciate the COMMOM denominator.
    SATAN.

When docile, conservative, black, brass bowl Bajans can come to exemplify such uncharacteristic behaviors, then one SHUDDERS to think of what is the case in other jurisdictions, who cannot claim that GOD is a citizen.

Make that “WAS a citizen”…
    As Bushie tried to explain some time ago, “wunna shudda NEVER let Froon plant dat altar to Satan” pon the Garrison….
    And it SHOULD have been DUG UP and dumped into the sea – upon the first 30-0.

Just check the national (and Global) trajectory after that master COUP by the Evil one…

The ONLY bigger symbolic gesture now, of WHO is in control, will be the destruction of the Holy Temple in Jerusalem….
    tick, tick, tick….

When the bright bloggers like Pacha and NO begin to mimic Bushie and the Bible…
    Look out !!!!

What a time in history….

19. A human rights Czar is coming!

20. You want to control people? Tell them a messiah will come, They’ll wait for centuries.”

This means when you elevate someone to a position in which God did not and create false prophecies and fit them into it, they will fail.

Caution against abusing faith and fanaticism essentially corruptions of the Abrahamic religions, namely Judaism, Christianity and Islam, ancient mythology, and other religions.

21. Lol. Bright bloggers mimicking! Lol.

Everyone can perceive that the world is in a dangerous period. The difference is in what many, including the “bright bloggers” believe will be the outcome.

I see no mimicry here!

On the first day of the new year I will be back again,

With a glass full of bubbly champagne!

Lol

22. Lol. John Knox, after a post from Hants totally proving John Knox to be the idiot,

“There you go, Hants!”

And continues on as though he has been proven right!

Amazing how he does that. Who does he think he’s fooling?

Lol.

23. Dub,

Yup! They will do nothing but look up in the sky waiting for “lo, he comes in clouds descending”.

Meanwhile, everything gets progressively worse.

24. Read the link Hants provided.

The father does not have to be on the certificate.

But you would know that when you went, presumably with him, to register your child and you could have related your experience.

Registration of Births and deaths came into law in 1890. Before then, there were only baptismal certificates and many examples of the absence of the father’s name.

Here is a clip of what happens when the father is fool enough to decline or as in this instance, casts an eye elsewhere!!!

It just isn’t worth it!!

“Hice lo que pude” – I did what I could on my own!!

https://imgur.com/a/B20dfb7

25. Now Muhdear appreciates that as no doubt she and the husband registered their children together.

26. Both my grandfather’s parents were born out of wedlock in the 1850’s and took their mothers’ surnames, Roberts and Cuffley on their baptismal certificates!!

Sometime afterwards, they took what can only be presumed to have been their father’s surnames, Deane and Evelyn when they appeared on their Marriage certificate 20 or so years later with their ages listed.

Strictly speaking there was never any Deane family associated with the ownership of Kingsland, it was the Roberts family!!

The only way you can track the two of them down today on familysearch.org is by their Christian names and their ages.

They are sufficiently unique to render only one possible result for each!!

Took me years of research before familysearch.org became available but by then, I was given the research of Joy Hunt who also was an Evelyn who always addressed my mother as “cousin” whenever we went to get our inoculations at Dr. Manning where she worked.

My Grandmother’s Ashby family is really easy to trace back to the 1670’s and Quaker days through its male line.

However, her great grandmother was a slave, no records exist as her family was not a member of the Church of England and she was never baptized into the Church.

27. The issue in question was whether or not an unmarried woman could just turn up alone and place a man’s name on a birth certificate. Hant’s post proved that she CANNOT. The man has to be present to give his consent.

Obviously! Because to do otherwise would cause mayhem!

But….. carry on down the rabbit hole alone, until David gets fed up, which he is well on his way to doing!

28. The issue was whether the man had a choice which he always had from days of yore or whether in these days the woman could use coercive force to get him to sign on, law or no law!!

No one doubts the man has a choice my position was simple, some women these days remove that choice!!

How else are they going to get de chile money.

29. I know a doctor who delivered twins in the US.

As the mother of the husband saw them she called the doctor one side and asked for a paternity test.

She did not believe her son was the father and decided to protect his rights.

Mothers do that, better than wives!!

The doctor told the mother it was expensive to which the mother replied the child support for 18 years would be far more costly.

The mother was a woman so she understood well enough the games women play and so moved to protect her son.

30. Sepsis is usually a death sentence.

31. Push for school’s reopening

CHAIRMAN OF THE board of management of Grantley Adams Memorial School George Griffith is hoping that students will be able to return to the St Joseph institution by next week.

The school has been closed since the second week of the new school year in September because of environmental reasons. Griffith had previously said a chemical scent was being investigated, as the school had been painted just before the new term.

Yesterday, two parents called in to Voice of Barbados’

radio talk show Down To Brass Tacks

lamenting that the school had been closed for too long and that children were having problems logging into online classes and accessing tablets.

Griffith called in to say the problems with online were being tackled and that the air quality study at the school had been undertaken.

“We’ve had a meeting with the teaching staff and the professionals who conducted the study, along with officials of the ministry, and questions were asked and answers given. Subsequent to that, we’ve had meetings with the board of management, the ministry and the professionals and so on.

“Only last week, we had a meeting with the PTA (Parent-Teacher Association) to update them and to hear their questions. I thought that was a very fruitful meeting.

“But I’m happy to say that the person who is supervising the remediation work has given me the assurance in some air quality tests. Hopefully, next week, we should see the children back in the school once it is to the satisfaction of the professionals who have done the study and who are to give us that all clear.”

In relation to online classes, the chairman admitted there were some problems.

“I’m aware that at the beginning of the online school, there were a number of students who did not have the available technology. They didn’t have the tablets and so on, and the school sourced additional tablets and distributed them to the students who needed them. But I must tell you, the uptake was pretty slow with respect to that technology. But I know that the acting principal has been pushing and he has met with the parents online, outlining how the online school was going and he updated them on where we were,” he said.

Griffith added that “going forward, we have to find more effective ways and means of ensuring that the online school is measuring up to the expectations of the public”, as he admitted that some homes did not have Internet facility.

He said the school had also established closer links with parents through the PTA. (MB)

32. Bullshit!

33. What I have seen in the records in the 17th and 18th centuries are some examples which suggest how the baptism of children born out of wedlock was recorded in the parochial registers in this early period.

Sometimes, if an unmarried woman baptised a child without the father being present, the child was described as a bastard.

Other times, if the father was present, the child was described as illegitimate.

In the 19th century and once slavery was abolished this custom seems to have disappeared.

34. Two police officers in JA charged for shooting deaths of two persons on November 10th remanded to prison.
    https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20241119/cops-charged-murder-over-windward-road-triple-shooting-remanded

35. FROST, John, planter
    St James Parish, 28 June 1677, RB6/13, p. 424

Whereas my wf Eliz: Frost hath run or absented herself from me about 1 year last past, since which I am informed she had a bastard ch, for which reason I declare she shall have nothing;

other will dated 28 Aug 1674;

wf’s bastard ch – 1 shilling;

negro woman Mary – 1 acre bounding Robt: Fitts & John Honsell;

God ch Tomasin Corley; God ch Thomas Harris – land bounding Edward Dawson; God ch Eliz: Reeves – 1 and bounding Humphry Nicholas & now leased to John Reynolds & Alice Reynolds* his wf, James Gardiner & Honor Gardiner* his wf, & John Honnsel 1;
    friends William Corley, Imanuell Gilham, & Thomas Reeves – Xtrs.

signed John (x) Frost
    Wit: Humphry Nicholls, Charles Scamter
    Proved 14 Sep 1677

Here’s how child support in 17th century Barbados worked in this example where the wife left the husband, John Frost and ran off having a BASTARD child.

Wife got nothing from the will but child got a shilling.

John Frost left 1 acre of land to a negro woman called Mary. She was clearly a Free Negro (FN).

She got more than the wife and the bastard child.

36. Even in Quaker times in Barbados, brawling women existed as shown in this will.

JENNINGS, John Gent.
    St Philips Parish, 11 July 1670, RB6/8, p. 401

Wf Millisaint Jennings, a most unfortunate match, a more cruel, masculine, treacherous wf none can know save God alone;

friend Henry Walrond Jr Esq & Deborah Walrond his wf; Henry Walrond –

Overseer; friends Margaret Ashley now living on the Hannitage & Sarah Lovell my God dau;

wf – Xtrx. signed John Jennings

Wit: John Paige Esq, Roger Lovell, Mary Paige

Proved 11 June 1672

This guy was smart.

He had no children named in his will and was a merchant given the names of his friends so his wealth was tied up in business which he distributed probably before his death.

The wife got something but probably nothing like what she would have got if she were not a brawling woman.

37. World Bank approves $108 million loan

THE WORLD BANK has approved a US$54 million (BDS$108 million) loan for Barbados, which Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said will not only help the country bounce back from Hurricane Beryl but “stand stronger in the face of the next one”.

On Thursday the international financial institution’s board of executive directors approved the Beryl Emergency Response and Recovery Project to support Barbados’ recovery from the impacts of Hurricane Beryl.

Officials said the project, which is expected to benefit approximately 24 640 people, includes innovative World Bank mechanisms which will help Barbados and other vulnerable countries better respond to disasters.

The US$54 million initiative will focus on rebuilding critical infrastructure, protecting vulnerable communities, ensuring the sustainable recovery of the fishing industry, and enhancing the country’s disaster preparedness capacity, paving the way for a more resilient Barbados in the face of future climate risks, the World Bank said.

Commenting on the loan approval, the Prime Minister said: “In the face of adversity, we must not only rebuild but rebuild with resilience. The challenges brought by Hurricane Beryl once again remind us that climate change is not a future concern – it is here, and it is affecting our communities, our people, and our livelihoods.”

“This project is a testament to our commitment to protecting the most vulnerable among us, empowering our people, and safeguarding the future of Barbados. We don’t want just to respond to the disaster – we want to ensure that we stand stronger in the face of the next one,” she added.

World Bank Director for the Caribbean Lilia Burunciuc said: “Barbados has been hit by approximately 30 climatic events in the last 30 years. The annual average loss on account of hurricanes alone is estimated at US$48 million, which is equivalent to nearly one per cent of Barbados’ GDP.”

Pressing issues

“In these challenging times, urgent support is crucial. The World Bank is committed to partnering with Barbados to tackle these pressing issues and ensure the resilience of its most vulnerable communities.”

In its announcement of the loan approval, the World Bank said the project “will provide critical support to the fisheries sector, including the repair and replacement of fishing vessels and equipment, and the rehabilitation of the Barbados Fisheries Marina and coastal protection infrastructure, incorporating climate-smart technology to enhance resilience and promote environmental sustainability”.

It added that “efforts will also focus on strengthening Barbados’ preparedness and response capacity, with improvements to the national emergency management system, the development of a management information system, and the creation of inclusive emergency shelter strategies”.

“The project includes innovations to help the country better respond to disasters. The Climate Resilient Debt Clause gives the country the option of prioritising disaster recovery instead of debt repayment for up to two years, while the Rapid Response Option permits channelling unused financing from other projects to address emergency needs when a crisis occurs,” it stated.

“The project is the first in Latin America and the Caribbean to be approved with a Rapid Response Option.”

The Beryl Emergency Response and Recovery Project is the first operation to be approved following Barbados’ re-engagement with the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) as a borrowing member.

Barbados graduated from IBRD in 1994 but continued receiving World Bank support on an ad hoc and exceptional basis.

This project marks the beginning of a new chapter in the partnership between Barbados and the World Bank, focused on strengthening resilience and ensuring long-term sustainable development, the World Bank said. (SC/PR)

38. New criteria about our per capita?

ONE TIME WE TRIED to borrow money from the World Bank. We were told that our country does not qualify, as our “per capita” is too high; that we were a rich country.

Per capita is the average earning capacity of an individual in a country and shows the ability to survive. Our per capita did not reflect the inability of the poor among us. All of a sudden we have become a good candidate to be considered as a borrower. Why?

It would seem that the criteria have changed according to where profitable business can be garnered. Barbados has been a big borrower on the world stage. Does this not make us question those who set the rules and a new approach?

Per capita and arbitrary judgement no longer seem to be the excuse for helping small countries that show thrift and hard work. Now the rules change according to who can pay. A new set of people seem to be in charge of aid donors and world banks designed to help poor countries, and their motivation may be driven more by wherever profit can be made.

Maybe lenders are no longer looking for borrowers in distress but those who have shown a track record of payment. The motivation for lending now may be a competitive push for profitability and competition rather than the noble motive of alleviating poverty. This new qualification of course may be regarded as helpful to Barbados but we question now if the motivation is right. This column has for long been questioning the propensity to borrow our way out of a bad situation while increasing the difficulties that future citizens will have to face.

Now while “per capita” income takes into consideration the spending power of the average individual, it does not deal with the expenditure to survive. For example, if the country has a high import bill where the cost of food, fuel or medicine is high and wages have to compete with imports, it needs to consider the survival assets or lack of these that may be the case in the country. This is the case of Barbados.

Is it telling us that the lending institutions may be losing their perspective and behaving more like commercial lending institutions? This is why I question the influence small countries have over issues occurring in the world where at one stroke of the pen some countries can outvote the wish of all other nations combined.

But there is an aspect of the country that is also very interesting. We have billions of dollars (Barbadian dollars) saved up in the country. You would have thought that a country that prides itself on being intelligent would find the most efficacious way of utilising these savings. No. We put the savings into commercial banks that reward us with “next kin to nothing”, that then export handsome profits. Just maybe these Barbadian dollars do nothing to bolster their worth as we still have to borrow heavily in order to protect them. With our own commercial bank, we would be able to compete with the foreign commercial banks in the area of savings. (Something that the credit unions cannot do). Perhaps this would prompt foreign banks to increase their savings interest rate in order to protect their lending although it may decrease their profit.

I am assuming that there would be no political interference from Government in running a local bank or that an intelligent board of directors is selected. We would have been open to advice since we are supposed to be intelligent.

There is another aspect to the apparent present satisfaction of commercial banks with the status quo that may have to do with the upcoming issue of whether or not the banks should accept deposits from merchant, if they get the go-ahead to deal in ganja products. How will the law in the United States and Canada affect their commercial banks that lay down rules as to the behaviour of their correspondent banks in Barbados?

The issues raised above all have to do with the present level of struggle with which present Barbadians are faced. What is sad is that opposition political voices may be sadly absent while we struggle with whether or not there is freedom of speech and possible penalties.

We may be going around in circles now that we are borrowing Barbadian dollars to reduce our debt commitment and going nowhere in the process. Are we borrowing from Peter to pay Paul?

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

39. Was Harry not a heavy roller at the BNB? Where where these thoughts back then…?
    Steupsss
    We have been borrowing from Peter to pay Paul now, since Owen’s days.

Increasingly, we are borrowing from Mary to now pay back Peter AND Paul,
    -in addition to funding massive forex profits for Massy, Emera, Lime, Sagicor, Parkland, every damn hotel on island… for the development of THEIR home countries.
    – while giving handouts to fishermen who refuse to pay insurance,
    – to home owners who refuse to insure their houses
    – or even to build them to resist a little storm,
    – and to fellows on to block, to play football instead of playing ‘cowboy and Indians’.

With such a financial plan, there can only be one destination…

World Bank approves $108M…
    The ULTIMATE form of abject slavery and subjugation is for a people, WITH BILLIONS IN SAVINGS BEING HELD @ ZERO % interest, BY FOREIGN BANKERS, to be bragging about borrowing money from the VERY demons, who have for centuries been seeking to destroy our donkeys – out of pure hatred and jealousy….

This kind of thinking requires more than blindness….