Although not out of the woods Barbadians were told based on the week over week numbers “we are in a better place”, however, we need to keep our guard up. We can do this people!

Briefing by Prime Minister Mottley and Team

428 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley and Team Have Covid 19 Conversation with Barbadians”

1. The same ones that want the borders closed are the same ones that cry out loudest the the suffering of the poor people is what driving up the violent crimes

2. One has to pity the entire Caribbean region. There was a period when we in the Caribbean had little to fear from Covid-19. We witnessed from afar its destructive capacity and praised the Lord that the region had dodged a bullet.

Just for once the region was ahead of the pack. Life was too sweet. Life was so sweet that we in Barbados believed that our negative Covid-19 status made our island an attractive outlet for those citizens of the world who were desperate to flee from their contagious countries. The country was been promoted as an oasis of peace.

We reopened the door to tourists in the knowledge that there was no available vaccine at the time. Fortunatly, several vaccines have now been found. Most of these tourists currently embedded in Barbados hail from countries that now have sufficient quantities of vaccine to treat their population several times over. Whilst Mia stated that Barbados may at some point have enough vaccine to cater for 20% of her population. As for the remaining 80% of the population?

It would appear that the lure of earning foreign exchange is more important than save guarding the welfare of Barbados majority population.

3. How many vocal and how many visitors?

4. Our priority for vaccination should be measured by social relevance:

diplomats and expats
    local ministers
    local entrepreneurs
    the rest of the population

In the meantime, our government should have the Korean or Chinese Corona app translated and installed on all local cell phones.

5. We’re positive

6. The same ones that want the borders closed are the same ones that cry out loudest the the suffering of the poor people is what driving up the violent crimes

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SPILLING YOUR USUAL SEWAGE.

HERE IS THE FACT BELOW FOR YOU THAT WITH YOUR STUPIDITY AND BLP LOVING SELF YOU WILL STILL DENY.

IN 2019 WITH NO CORONA VIRUS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WAS THE MOST MURDEROUS IN ITS HISTORY WITH I BELIEVE TO BE ABOUT 49 MURDERS THAT YEAR STILL A RECORD.

AS USUAL YOU CAN CONTINUE TO SPIN AND TALK SHITE TO DEFEND MIA AND HER WHITE SHADOWS.

STEUPSE

7. So Barbados is now scrambling to find covid-19 professionals to come to our assistance as our health professionals lack experience. Some may have noticed that we have a surplus of long talkers such as Lizzie who can talk the talk and feed the population that the government is on top of this crisis. We IN REAL TROUBLE.

8. Read in Nation online that pharmacies overloaded with folks hoping to boost their immune system……. some exercise is the answer, not pills!!!

So, Mia, please “NO LOCKDOWN” … or alphabet ….. just creates more long lines & congestion!

Continue contact tracing, identify the carriers, and isolate them…. keep sanitising, etc…. and we will get over this spike!

9. @ David
    @ John 2

Gents sorry for the delay in getting back to you but was out doing a few things. So I have 2 comments on issues you raised.

Firstly the PM should not of publically stated on TV that ” in my view the ABC thing should be reimplenented” when you are supposed to be calling a meeting with the parties to discuss it. You should of held your opinion until such time as the meeting was held. One does not pre-empt a discussion by publically saying you intend to push for it on public Tv.

Now David you have asked the true relevant question on whether I feel we should close our borders and this is my view. No we should not close the borders so i agree with the PM there. HOWEVER I feel the following changes to the quarantine protocols should occur immediately.

Those going into quarantine at hotels must be transported by designated vehicles only. Once the visitor is cleared he can then use private transport or rent a hired car. No hired car should be rented to a visitor unless they can present to the car rental business a copy of their release. The car rental company must then be mandated to copy this release and attach it to the rental agreement in his files.

The responsibility to enforce quarantine must be removed from the hotel and given to joint task forces made up by police and defence force officers. So if Tom Jones say is in quarantine at hotel A, he answers to the joint task force officers there and NOT hotel workers. If the task force checks 3 times a day on him while enforcing the quarantine and he is not there on any occasion, then an arrest warrant is issued immediately by the police for the offender.

No hotel catering to quarantined clients will be allowed to ALSO offer accommodation to the public, be they visitors or locals.

I feel our protocols in these areas are weak and if you reflect on my suggestions you will see they will address all of the breaches we had.

10. John 2 do not mind the 3 degree fraud Baje.He has been challenged to state the country / state he resides in and up to now he cannot name it.Where is this place without closing of borders yet no covid persons.Is he in heaven or timbuctoo.My view he is a damn liar.He seems obssessed with Ms Mottley .I wonder why? He only appeared here post May 2018 like a T Inniss ranting and raving.He probably angry at Ms Mottley dumping their inco.petent asses out of parliament poor fella.Stay angry the longer your stay putside parliament.In the meantime all right thinking bajans behind Ms Mottley and her team and especially the hardworking frontline workers.As for Gazzerts i agree with your last comments 100% .This is a time for all hands on deck not nitpicking as most of us live here and wants the best for the country.The gloomers mostly overseas can take a hike.

11. hose going into quarantine at hotels must be transported by designated vehicles only. Once the visitor is cleared he can then use private transport or rent a hired car. No hired car should be rented to a visitor unless they can present to the car rental business a copy of their release. The car rental company must then be mandated to copy this release and attach it to the rental agreement in his files.

The responsibility to enforce quarantine must be removed from the hotel and given to joint task forces made up by police and defence force officers. So if Tom Jones say is in quarantine at hotel A, he answers to the joint task force officers there and NOT hotel workers. If the task force checks 3 times a day on him while enforcing the quarantine and he is not there on any occasion, then an arrest warrant is issued immediately by the police for the offender.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ARE PEOPLE SO STUPID THAT THEY WOULD PAY $THOUSANDS FOR AIRLINE TICKETS, HOTEL ACCOMMODATION AND PERHAPS RENT A CAR TO BE IMPRISONED (MANDATORY QUARANTINE WITHOUT LEAVING A HOTEL ROOM) FOR ANY LENGTH OF TIME AND LOSE THEIR FREEDOMS DURING THE PROCESS.

THEN THEY DESERVE ALL THE TREATMENT THEY RECEIVE ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND WHEN THEY EASILY CAN GO TO MEXICO OR OTHER PLACES WHERE SUCH DRACONIAN MEASURES DOES NOT EXIST WITHOUT FINES OR THREAT OF PRISON AND HAVING THEIR FREEDOM 24HRS A DAY IN MUCH CHEAPER DESTINATIONS.

12. @ David
    @john 2

Shute I lef out a law.

No hotel will be permitted to admit a visitor unless they are shown the release from quarantine. A copy of that release is then to be kept on the hotels guest files. That way the task force offices can visit the none quarantine participating hotels and ask to see their guest records. Any offending hotel will receive a $20000 fine. I going be kind and only charge the car rentals $19500 though! Lol

13. “Just stay in your safe location and gloat.”

told yall already, that’s more yardfowls philosophy, gloating at the downfall of others or just gloating stupidly at the most petty things, i don’t indulge in being smallminded…..this is not a time to gloat ok……

so which do you prefer…more infections AND DEATHS….with the repulsive racist, dependency tourism and the moneyed ones only on the island looking for sex from black people, which will cause MORE INFECTIONS Vs shutting down the country from UK for a while until Mia gets things under better control again.

how bout Mia releasing the marijuana to the BLACK POPULATION as many have been telling her for over 2 years instead of holding on to it for the HER-berts and Big Mikes, Canadians, did they say Austrailians and every minority trash she is breaking her neck trying to enrich through the marijuana at the expense of the Black majority….how bout that, there are people willing to help but not as long as Mia continues to enable greedy ass minorities whose dirty conniving mouths should never be in Black people’s business ever again…….and insulting our ancestors by leaving the Black population to struggle and suffer during a plague while having to live under these tiefing, racist parasites…as if they haven’t sufficiently stuggled and suffered in the last 60 years..

her choice, it’s all at her, we will now see what she’s made of…soon come.

14. @ Baje

It appears not only will they risk it but the HAVE done it and had to face our courts.

My point is that if you don’t have the police/ defence force handling the protocols for movement then what happens? The security has to report it to the hotel manager who then has to contact the police. When the power of arrest on site time can be save and exposure limited.

I mean let’s be honest where you think the greatest risks lies here, with the English visitor or old granny Jones going massy with her masks on getting she hands spray ? I can tell you the young English crowd were the ones packing the bars in the UK not the bajans that live there.

15. John 2 do not mind the 3 degree fraud Baje.He has been challenged to state the country / state he resides in and up to now he cannot name it.Where is this place without closing of borders yet no covid persons

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ANOTHER BLP LYING YARDFOWL.

I HAVE NEVER MENTIONED THE CITY I LIVE IN HAS NO COVID CASES WHICH IS SAME THROUGHOUT THE WORLD.

LET ME REPEAT FOR YOU LOCAL LYING IDIOT WHAT I SAID.

THE CITY I LIVE IN HAS SEVERAL MILLION RESIDENTS.

THERE ARE NO LOCKDOWNS OR CURFEWS AND PEOPLE ARE FREE TO COME AND GO 24HRS.

THERE HAS NEVER BEEN NO SHUTDOWN OF PHARMACIES OR SUPERMARKETS AND DEFINITELY NO ABC QUEUING FOR ANYONE AT ANY TIME DURING THE PANDEMIC.

I ALSO WENT ON TO SAY THAT THE PEOPLE I KNOW NONE HAS BEEN IMPACTED NEGATIVELY HEALTH WISE BY THE COVID VIRUS AND ALL ARE ALIVE.

NOW YOU CAN TRY TO TWIST AS IT IS WHAT YOU BLP SUPPORTERS DO SAME AS TRUMP BLIND MICE THAT YOU RAIL AGAINST IN THE US.

STEUPSE

16. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U January 9, 2021 4:25 PM
    Did you give them the injections to know what was in the vial?

17. Both the Queen and the Duke are in their nineties and qualified. No special treatment. Ask Mia about that. Charles is in group (level) four.

18. “Did you give them the injections to know what was in the vial?”

that’s why i want the ones in the parliament to take theirs…then we’ll know who is taking what.

19. In the meantime, a little information never hurt anyone.

https://ourafrica101.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/top-1024×704.png

20. @ Hal

I going call trump he had covid and get better in 3 hours lol

21. Lol ha ha lorenzo
    Yuh funny as sh.ite
    Remember when the overseas ” doom gloomers” wher calling for Stuart head when the shit was flowing on the streets of the South Coast .
    Remember how u cheered them on
    Well back then u were in doom and gloom heaven
    But look now yuh cant stand them overseas gloomers because they not singing from your hymn book
    Only this time Mottley is responsible for all this sh.ite and she cant blame Stuart either
    Whaxpalax

22. No abc nonesence hallelujah!

23. There is no community spread. Believe in our finest government. Only some small clusters.

However, the question still remains as to how the disease could spread so quickly. Did the mischievous opposition have a hand in it?

24. Baje

Only a real jackass would link what I said to the number of COVID cases

Here are the facts jackass
    Economically 2019 was a bad year for most Bajan. So too was 2018 2017…… and u can go all the way back

When did violent crimes started increasing?

2019 is probably a decade of decay for the Barbados economy

With the introduction of Covid the economy so far drop about 15% with the borders closed (or was it 17?)

With the island opened there is a little up tick in economic activity

The taxi man still can make a dollar
    The beach chair vendor can still make a dollar. How much were there making with the island shut down ?

Even the whore can make an extra dollar or two

U r so f ing foolish and have an air head
    Read what I say and understand before you bray

25. Applaud Lisa for coming forward and taking some of the heat off visitors who spent hundreds of dollars arrives in barbados and then must pay hundreds of dollars in hotel fees while awaiting over due test results
    All along i have been forceful in blaming govt for putting these visitors in uncomfortable positions wherby some were forced to break quarantine
    While govt sat back and said nothing on what was causing the issue of a quarantine problem in hotels to over heat between guest and management
    I have also attempted to indicate that at the bottom of the failed quarantines were peoples emotions which triggered high frustration levels
    Today in the press conference Lisa dealt with that matter with all honesty and in the most humane manner
    I truly applaud her honesty at a level where barbadians can see both sides of the issue and not be quick to side with govt on political levels while forgetting that the visitors are humans who have every right to be treated with respect and dignified manner
    Having said all of the above Mia stubbornness is all part and major cause of this debacle

26. Having said all of the above in my applause to Lisa
    I am also tempted to asked what did bring Lisa to a point of apology
    An apology which makes for wonder if govt got a letter from an overseas lawyer seeking compensation from govt on behalf of a visitor who felt unfair and mistreated after not receiving test results in a reasonable time
    Seems like more in the mortar than the pestal with this sudden apology and giveaways

27. People on social media are asking why is govt always quick to hand over the treasury to big business and outside consultants and now to visitors
    Meanwhile locals are fighting tooth and nail to get their tax refunds and NiS money

28. People on social media are asking why is govt always quick to hand over the treasury to big business and outside consultants and now to visitors
    Meanwhile locals are fighting tooth and nail to get their tax refunds and NiS money

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHITE SHADOWS.

THE BLACK LOCAL MASSES ARE MERELY PAWNS EVERY 5 YEARS ONLY FOR VOTES AND PAYING TAXES

29. Critical Analyzer Avatar

They have to run and apologize fast because that is where the money to run the economy and pay themselves is coming from and those visitors know how to use social media properly.

I have not seen the instagram page but I sure that scare them into damage control mode fast after they realized that legal scare tactic they put out about it being illegal to post pictures of inside the facility that works against bajans ain’t working against tourist.

30. A

Did I not tell you that you need to relax?

Again
    U can’t please everybody

If she don’t say then she need to come clean and level with the public

When you get advance notice – no she should wait

Can never please we bajan

You need to listen carefully to what she said about the abc

31. Hope all eyes were opened today as govt official told incidents related to the fight against Covid 19
    Incidents brought about because of govt failure to listen to people who asked for closure of the borders from hot spots
    Now locals are having to make sacrifice in helping govt to correct a grave error

32. @ John 2

My point and I maintain it is that the PM. Should not have said anything about the ABC last night. All it did was cause confusion today as the lady from the ministry of tourism admitted. On top of that if you are going into a meeting today to discuss an issue you don’t pre-empt the meeting by saying I want the ABC to return prior to the meeting on local TV. If you are going to do that why bother to hold the meeting at all? You don’t draw a conclusion and state an opinion BEFORE the facts are discussed and shared by the players in an industry. Hopefully this will be a mistake not repeated.

Deal with where the problem lies and that is with the port of entries and the enforcement of the dam protocols. That is what got us in this mess to begin with.

33. John A is a reasonable man.

To me,it appears that his final stance is based on examining an issue closely.

One can approximately equal his answers through reasoning. You may or may not land on the same final square but always within the same ballpark.

——
    As I was writing reasonable man, the phrase ‘treasonable man’ came to mind. Scanning the room for a candidate.
    Hmmm…. treasonable woman????

34. Meanwhile this is a govt that was adamant in their condemnation of past govt giveaways/ concessions to Sandals while giving no thought or concern to what sandals had offered by way of employment
    However govt now drawn into a crisis and thinking about damage control steps out high and mighty once again and open up the treasury to visitors in form of compensation

35. john A

you are free to you opinion

however with i retain mine also
    1. with the multiple number of call for the goverment / mia to be transparent.
    Then when she try to be open you have to find something to complain about.
    she just cant please every on.

i again refer to the video. listen carefully. pay attention

From around the 23:30 mark

i dont know how you arrived at the conclusion about pre-empting a meeting by stating you want ABC

To me she stated that they will be having a meeting and the return of ABC will be the topic for discussion.

if you listen carefully you should also realize that she is already in discussion with the private sector.

Again you just cant please everyone – especially we bajans.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/08/watch-live-covid-19-update-press-conference/

36. if she did have the meeting without telling the pub;ic and then come back and implement the ” ABC foolishness”, you or someone else or another group would come out and accuse her of making decision with the private (white) private sector to further enrich them and suffer the poor black people.

You know it , i know it and all BU know it .

just cant please everyone

37. So is this true, is the treasury being robbed again. Are the greedy once again disenfranchising the Black population to pad their offshore bank accounts. If true these savages will never change and should GO TO PRISON.

“Grenville Phillips.

I am trying to understand the maths.

At today’s press conference, the PM noted that we are spending BD$5M to purchase COVID vaccines for 20% of Barbados’ population.

Barbados’ population is 287,010
    20% of 287,010 = 57,402 people
    $5M/57,402 people = BD$87.10 per vaccine.

The cost of each mRNA Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine is BD$40.70
    The cost of each mRNA Moderna vaccine is BD$67.83
    The cost of each non-mRNA Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine is BD$8.14.

If we are paying for the less risky non-mRNA vaccine, the BD$5M can pay for vaccines for over 600,000 persons. That would include the cumulative entire populations of: Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts and Nevis, and Dominica.

So, why are we paying so much?

It seems that someone made a mistake in the calculation. If the actual amount we were spending was BD$500,000, then the cost of each vaccine would be a reasonable BD$8.71.

If we are indeed spending BD$5M, then it seems that the middle-man is making a profit of BD$4.5M. I hope that the necessary correction will be issued.”

38. When are they going to do the simple math and realize it’s not worth it particularly during a 2nd wave. If you make 50 dollars off each tourist and have to spend $$$$150 to keep them in quarantine, why are you allowing them in, to waste taxpayer’s money, right….steupppss…so who is really benefiting when taxpayer’s money is paying hoteliers.

told yall all those decades of paying billions of tax dollars to educate fools with pedigree was wasted.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/01/10/government-footing-hotel-costs-people-awaiting-covid-tests/

39. We know yardfowls are mathematically deficient, simple math eludes them so they need not hurt their heads calculating and waste time arguing.

40. Who gives govt the bold authority to make statements of using tge treasury to refund visitors
    Doesn’t these policies have to be laid out in parliament
    Are barbadians going to allow govt to use COVID as a measuring stick wherby which govt can undermine the laws and regulations which are directives passed for full transparency
    Lisa made a bold move to apologize to the visitors as well as that it might be
    Govt cannot go ahead and by pass laws guidelines and regulations to appease a few

41. So in essence if that what Mia is doing, skimming from the top is more important than vaccinating the entire population, robbing the people is more important….if this is true and again, that has always been the MO of the health ministry, when any needed medicines, medical equipment etc is ordered these THIEVES always tack on multimillions to rob the treasury to big up themselves and buy fancy cars and build mansions on land they STOLE from elderly people and their beneficiaries.

(NB: am against vaccinations that have not gone through trials of at least 2 years and are being trialed on the public)

42. You have missed the point Waru. The minister clearly states that it is all about balance. She cannot state how much public money is being received by our hotelier friends. However in her words it is a form of investment. Treat the tourists well and they will return.

The fact that the nation is broke and that we are unable to provide basic public services to so many of our citizens appears not to be of concern to this government. It is for Bajans to work it out for themselves. Perhaps one day they will see that the tourism industry is slowly killing them.

43. I have been saying that frustration was a major problem when confronting the virus
    Meanwhile govt was turning a blind eye to visitors concerns while riding the political horse called manipulation

Nation news

Some hotel guests are being quarantined longer than expected and are finding it difficult to meet their expenses as a result.

Guests staying at more than one Government-authorised quarantine hotel told the Sunday Sun that they were on the brink of exhausting their budgets because of living expenses.

They said the time it took to get COVID-19 test results was at the root of the problem and hotel management should be more understanding and accommodating.

Andrea Carpenter, a registered nurse visiting from the United Kingdom, is quarantining at the All Seasons Resort in St James. She said she was so upset that she would not return to the island. (SB)

44. And this is why i dont fancy vaccines without proper trials….and even then there are risks especially when FDA do their recalls after tens of thousands or millions have been injured or die.

‘A ‘healthy’ doctor died two weeks after getting a COVID-19 vaccine; CDC is investigating why.”

45. Here comes the #throwashadecrew all residing in covid infested countries.

46. Missing are all the blp.apologist and yardies
    Those who have been patting govt on the back and cussing the tourist
    Lisa opened mouth and the truth came out
    A truth that placed govt on the upper tier of incompetence
    All along govt knew what problems they had encountered due to testing and giving fast results but said nothing to the public
    The public however was led down the make believe garden path that all was well and govt was doing a great job
    What a dam shame

47. Don’t forget lying Teet’s Port Scammers, were supposed to cost 40,000 dollars each and when we did a search they only cost US8,000 or less. each…THIEVES

48. David waiting for u to step up to the plate and defend govt actions
    Actions that had public cussing tourist

49. Precious Lord. Hear my prayers. Will thou protect the lives of my fellow black Barbadians and release them from the shackles of this pernicious government.