Submitted by Kammie Holder

The attached photos were are all taken from the Nation newspaper online.

Perhaps, this may be a rare case of inferiority complex raising its head if the relaxed attitude towards the accused shown last week is used as a yardstick to juxtapose the one of Leroy Parris. Neither am I of the opinion this was a deliberate case of self hate but more of a desire to be nice to accused.

However, the question begs are double standards at play, according to position, wealth, race, or public outcry?

What message is been sent to society and international partners when accused black boys are treated with tight handcuffs and some elite are allowed to take picnic strolls?

This is something the local Black Lives Matter agitators should be keeping noise about for this smacks of inequality and institutional self hate. Did the country not see Leroy Parris a man with significant assets in handcuffs and ever so often little black boys charged with a spliff?

This is a sad day in the history of the Royal Barbados Police Force and must not only be publicly condemned but investigated. I will not hold my breath in a society that leaves everything to their god. But what do we expect from an establishment formed as a force in 1835 and still not a service in 2020. If ever we wanted evidence that our society is divided how we treat each other, we need not look any further. Such happenings undermine the good name of the Royal Barbados Police Force and can create distrust among the masses. The silence of those who champion social justice is disturbingly silent, no wonder many see the local black life movement as a farce.

We can continue to selfishly ignore and dismiss wrongs until it hit homes. Each one of us must be craftsmen of our fate and strict guardians of our heritage. Stop taking your freedoms for granted and never accept silence in the presence of inequality as an option. Perception can overwhelm facts and turn truth on its head.

106 responses to “Arresting Double Standards”

1. So….he is vile now, is he?

But looka muh crosses!

The king has proclaimed what the peasant girl was berated for saying!

2. Wura,

These people don’t understand that LeBron can do more than dribble.

They ain’t seen nothin’ yet!

3. Give them a moment to get it..

4. Incident — Sgt 1045 Niles reported that as a result of a report made to the Oistins Police Station Sgt Niles and Con 800 Chandler, who were on mobile patrol, responded to the Popular Discount Supermarket, Kendal Hill, Christ Church upon arrival they saw a lady who was quickly identified as Con 1432 Tisha Walton, a member of S.C.A.T. and who was off duty dressed in plain clothes holding a man who was identified as Olfric Roy Gooding 62yrs of Sealy Hall #1, St John against a fence to the perimeter of the supermarket. A the time Pc Walton was behaving in a loud and cantankerous manner, in full view of a number of civilians who had gathered. Investigations thus far have revealed that Mr Gooding drove a green Hyundai Accent motor car registration J-4599 to the same supermarket, arriving there about 18.00hrs. Having dropped off his two female passengers, he chose to park to the northern side, almost opposite the closest drive way in front of the supermarket, on the road way leading towards the exit. Whilst waiting, he decided to sit on the trunk of his car.
    Meanwhile, PC Walton drove her motor car, a silver Suzuki SX4 Sedan, registration XA-5441, onto the compound. In trying to find a parking space, she saw one to the far northern end of the front car parking area, close to the supermarket. As this space was at the end, she exited the driveway and turned left in order to reverse but, in her words the positioning of Mr Gooding’s car, she was unable to make the parking manoeuvrer. After attempts, she became annoyed. As she placed the blame on the car which had parked on the opposite side. She then shouted at Mr Gooding to move the car, which he seemed either to have heard or just ignored. After repeating herself, she got out of her car and went over to him. She demanded quite aggressively for him to move the car. He informed her that he was waiting for someone in the supermarket and that the positioning of the car in no way impeded her from parking. Pc Walton became angrier looked into the car to see if the keys were inside and he asked her why she did that. She responded that she wanted the car move and to move it. Mr Gooding then informed her that the driver was inside the supermarket. Pc Walton then demanded that he go into the supermarket and fetched the driver. He responded that he was and he suggested that she should go herself and find the driver. Becoming even more infuriated and by this time a female security officer from the supermarket had arrived. Pc Walton then grabbed Mr Gooding by his chest and pulled him off the car and demanded that he accompany her and the security officer into the supermarket, in order to find the driver. Having being pulled down off the car, he resisted by standing firm. Pc Walton realising that the man was standing his ground, tugged a little harder, which caused his shirt to rip and she lost her grip and stumbled with explicit words being used. She then told Mr Gooding that he has to go with her to find the driver. He once again refused and she told him that she was arresting him for parking within ten meters of a corner and that he obstructed her by not going for the driver. She then pushed him back against he fence and continued her triad. In the meantime several persons stopped and were witnessing what was happening including two unknown females who were looking over the fence from the gas station, Shakayla Goodridge 22yrs of # 66 Hillside Road, Gall Hill, St John and an attorney Jamille Lorde 30yrs of Heddings New Road, St Philip who was with her boyfriend Jabarrie Prescod of Fairfield Road, Black Rock, St Michael. Shakayla, along with others, voiced their opposition against the way Pc Walton was behaving.
    In the meantime, Sgt 1045 Niles and Pc Chandler arrived about 19.45hrs and saw Pc Walton still holding Mr Gooding against the fence. It took then a period of time to get Pc Walton to released him as she remained vocal and adamant that she had arrested him. When they physically managed to get the man away Pc Walton turned her hostility towards Pc Chandler insisting that she should hold onto the man. When Pc Chandler was trying to calm her down Pc Walton cursed her and told her that she was just a constable and could not tell her (Walton) what to do. Sgt Niles explained that he was going to allow the man to move his car and park it properly and then take him to the station. This pleased her and after the man had moved his car Pc Walton got into hers and turned around and drove straight to where Shakayla was standing, stopped , got out of her car and rushed straight to her, held her by the neck and began choking her.
    Pc Walton then pulled her hair and told her that she was arresting her for obstruction. As soon as her hair got pulled, Shakayla retaliated and a scuffle ensued. Within moments canine personnel Pc 2024 Burton and another, along with Pc 2212 Williams and Pc 2248 Waldron from Traffic arrived and assisted by separating the two. The attorney Miss Lorde witnessed the entire incident as it unfolded.
    Having brought Shakayla to the station, the Traffic Officers invited her sit in the front foyer of the station. Sometime after Pc Walton arrived and having entered the station office and saw Shakayla, in an aggressive manner, demanded to know why she was there sitting and not within the station office. She became belligerent in the full view of Pc 2022 Knight, Pc 2202 Maynard and Pc 800 Chandler which prompted both female officers to step between the two, in order to avoid a physical confrontation. Shakayla was invited within the station office, while Pc Walton remained in the foyer, having a heated exchanged of words with Pc 800 Chandler. Sgt 1688 Best and Pc 2092 Springer of S.C.A.T.S arrived at the station eventually followed by Insp Cadogan. Insp Watson and S/Supt Rowe were contacted and appraised. Insp Watson eventually arrived. Statements were recorded from Mr. Gooding, Miss Goodridge, Sgt Nile and Pc 800 Chandler.
    Mr. Gooding made no complaints of pain, while Miss Goodridge complained of pains to her chest and neck. A Medical Report Form was issued. Meanwhile the P.M.O Dr Ross Herbert was contacted and Pc Walton was taken to the QEH where she was examined for pains to her right hand and feet. She also had an x-ray on her right hand and everything was okay. Further arrangements were made for her to be returned on the 2020-09-15 at 16.00hrs for further evaluation.

5. What a rabid beast.

6. Let’s see if they fire that thing before she kills someone.

7. Rah RahSeptember 15, 2020 2:37 PM

So what’s your point?

8. Some women are very aggressive.

9. neglect of duty by the police. Pc Walton should have been arrested for assaulting Shakayla

10. Is this officer going to be suspended?

11. Handcuffing or not should not be discretionary.

That said perhaps only those charged with violent, gun or serious drug offenses should be handcuffed. No need to handcuff the people charged with stealing a package of salt bread or a jar of hair grease.

The old big guts fella Nadur likely can’t run 100 meters. A strong young fella, black or white, but in a majority black country likely black can like Winstorn Hall run for years.

12. @Hal Austin September 15, 2020 8:02 AM “This is proof that there is no really serious gang crime in Barbados. ”

True.

In spite of being a “failed state” most of us a still good church going men and women.

13. @John September 15, 2020 9:08 AM “What you may actually be watching is a man is considered innocent until proven guilty.”

So the “bad boys on the block” are not also to be considered innocent until proven guilty?

If you doubt me, ask their mothers. All of them are good boys who would do anything for anybody.

14. @John September 15, 2020 9:16 AM “It is rather irresponsible to to fan the flames of hatred.”

What flames of hatred?

You are on here morning, noon and night with your white supremacist views, and yet none of us black Bajans have ever touched a hair on your head. I’ve heard that the only violence even done to you was done by your own white kinsmen.

Hatred what.

BLACK LIVES DO MATTER.

15. @Dullard September 15, 2020 10:25 AM “The goodly gentleman.”

I have my doubts about whether he is goodly or a gentleman, but maybe I am just a bad minded, lower class, elderly black woman.

16. @Tron September 15, 2020 10:54 AM “Yes, we have double standards in Barbados. The naive masses pay no land tax and lime around in the civil service or at the expense of NIS, whereas the top-performers of society (businessmen, expats and others) pay 10 – 30K per year for land tax alone per year. That sound like apartheid at the expense of the latter group to me! ”

i just sent my land tax bills by post office express to Tron, since i am one of the “naive masses [who] pay no land tax” and never had a job in the civil service, even though I applied to join the service 49 years ago.

The land tax bill is for $2,028

The income tax bill when last I was in paid work was $22, 487.

The truth is that poor people pay a greater percentage of their income in taxes than do rich people. Only liars like Trron will try to deny this. When I buy a roll of toilet paper or a bar of soap I pay the same 17.50% of VAT on it as does billionaires like Tron. And that 17.50% is a much greater portion of my income than it is of the billionaire’s income.

And poor people have zero access to fancy accountants and lawyers to help them avoid punitive taxes.

This ZR catching, bad minded, silly, old, lower class, rural woman is sick and tired of dishonest people like Tron.

17. ‘So the “bad boys on the block” are not also to be considered innocent until proven guilty?’

I am always amused at how cuhdear shreds some posts.

18. Whatever Tisha was smoking i want summa dat, seems to me it would make a great pick me up.

lolll!!!

19. I once interviewed a woman called Walton, a right igrunt ‘itch.

No. She did not get what she was interviewing for.

Lolll!!!

20. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 15, 2020 3:05 PM

@John September 15, 2020 9:08 AM “What you may actually be watching is a man is considered innocent until proven guilty.”

So the “bad boys on the block” are not also to be considered innocent until proven guilty?

If you doubt me, ask their mothers. All of them are good boys who would do anything for anybody.

The bad boys on the block which we see cuffed in the papers and whose Moms swear they are innocent, are on remand coming to court courtesy of the prison shuttle to ask for bail.

Their liberty has been taken already by the court.

They are bound to appear in handcuffs.

This is not rocket science.

21. She isn’t just aggressive. She is a bloody lunatic!

22. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 15, 2020 2:58 PM

Handcuffing or not should not be discretionary.

What do you think the police would do if they had to apprehend this lady and deliver her to court?

23. @Quaker John

that is pure bollocks. persons in police custody whether at arrest or attending court can be handcuffed and this has nothing to do with guilt or innocence. it is a matter of whether the police has a policy to handcuff everyone or it is discretionary. it appears that it is discretionary in Bim

24. Ask her nicely to voluntarily come to court.

25. @Donna September 15, 2020 4:47 PM “She isn’t just aggressive. She is a bloody lunatic!”

Thank God that neither you nor I are in an [un]civil union wit her.

26. Cuhdear already catspraddled/ castrated him. Saw his weak recovery attempt.

27. Cuhdear Bajan,

Never! Too old for that kinda crap!

28. Punctuation is a thing
    Never too old for that kind of crap.

29. I’ve been through the “black boys”, 9 or 10 of them, the Magistrate’s court and the high court.

I am speaking from experience and enjoying the nonsensical theories advanced here!!

Most on here have only seen a picture in the paper.

30. [Update: 4 pm, September 8, 2020]

Zack Robert Nadur, a businessman of South Ridge Christ Church, was remanded to HMP Dodds until October 6, after appearing before Magistrate Douglas Fredrick in the District B Magistrates Court this morning.

Nadur was charged with the unlawful possession of 50 rounds of .32 ammunition at his residence without having a licence.

If on October 6 Zack Nadur, having been remanded to Dodds on 8th September does not appear in handcuffs like all the “black boys” who are on remand then Kammie might have a story.

I think he has jumped the gun!!

31. @John I bet he will as they will have seen the public outcry. Here in London its not discretionary. Wunna blokes are crazy and prone to corruption and favoritism.

Tisha the police lady needs to be suspended without pay. Went to secondary school with the Commish and he is a straight guy and I do not think he will let Tisha off the hook.

32. UKD

What stage of the process are you talking about?

33. @TheoGazerts September 15, 2020 5:08 PM “Cuhdear already…castrated him.

Take not that I do not wish to deprive John of his testicles, just of his deceit

34. Donna…i keep asking John if he had to give up his share of the shipment, whether cocaine or guns and ammunition, to pay off someone to have memory loss…either way it appears that Black John is closely aligned with the Syrian cartel, even if only as a water carrier.

35. neglect of duty by the police. Pc Walton should have been arrested for assaulting Shakayla

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU IDIOT ALWAYS DEFENDING BAJAN DISHONEST POLICE AND NOW WAKING UP TO REALITY.

THIS IS TYPICAL BEHAVIOR AMONG MANY DIRTY POLICE IN BIM

36. The fact a case was dismissed because an officer failed to show must be a disciplanry matter unless he presented a sick certificate?

Commish, over to you.

Lawman fails to show so charges dismissed

THEY ATTENDED court yesterday without the attention that surrounded their first appearance two years ago.
    However, when public service vehicle employees Travis Tremaine Brathwaite and James Anthony Andrews left the District “A” Traffic Court, they did so without charges stemming from a video hanging over their heads.
    It was because the lawman who was at the centre of the video did not turn up.
    Brathwaite, 30, of Sealy Hall, St Philip, had been charged with and had denied assaulting, obstructing and resisting Constable 2077 Dennis Murray and damaging Murray’s shirt belonging to the Crown on May 3, 2018.
    Andrews, 34, of Apple Hall Terrace, St Philip, had pleaded not guilty to failing to wear proper attire, loitering in the area of the Nursery Drive Terminal with intent to solicit passengers, assaulting Constable 2214 Donnette Cadogan and using the threatening words: “If I can’t work in the stand, I will wait until you get pay and rob you and kill you,” to Cadogan, also May 3, 2018.
    The charges were brought in the wake of a video, filmed in the River Terminal, showing Constable Murray kicking and punching a man in the stomach before he was eventually pulled away by fellow policemen and others.
    Yesterday, when Brathwaite reappeared, prosecutor Sergeant Edwin Pinder revealed that Constable Murray had been told about the trial. He said the lawman was on duty Monday night and when he finished work, he had an “opportunity to see the instructions”.
    “But he isn’t at court this morning,” the prosecutor said.
    Call to dismiss
    Queen’s Counsel Michael Lashley, who represented the PSV worker, argued that the matter should be dismissed for lack of prosecution.
    “This was placed all over social media and he got remanded when he first appeared,” Lashley told the court, adding Brathwaite had sacrificed many days of work to attend court.
    “This is wrong that police officers are the virtual complainants and they are not turning up for court,” the senior attorney said.
    “Has the witness ever come?” Magistrate Alison Burke asked prosecutor Pinder.
    “No, ma’am,” the prosecutor replied.
    “Was he warned?” she asked.
    “Yes, ma’am,” said Pinder.
    “The matter is dismissed for want of prosecution,” the magistrate said.
    The court was earlier informed that Constable Cadogan, the main witness in Andrews’ matters, had
    since died.
    As a result, Magistrate Burke dismissed the matters, and both PSV operators were told they were free to go.
    Back in 2018, the video created a stir with then Traffic Magistrate Graveney Bannister saying members of the public who videotaped the police should be charged.
    But defence attorney Mohia Ma’at and Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim rebutted that suggestion, with Pilgrim saying any attempt to muzzle the public and prevent them from exercising their right to videotape activity should be frowned upon.
    Ma’at encouraged the public to highlight any instances of police brutality and added that should any person be charged as a result of videotaping police brutality, he would represent that person free of charge.

37. Ah wonder that the police force will do when they eventually no longer have a Crown to claim property ownership of them and the clothes they wear….now that will more than likely end up being pure entertainment.

38. You all got it yet?

You live in a democracy.

Because you don’t understand what that means doesn’t mean those who do and are trained in how it works will not do their jobs.

Wait till next month as the process of depriving a citizen of his liberty unfolds and then make your conclusions.

39. Recommended reading before you all make bigger fools of yourselves!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Habeas_corpus

40. Remember the guy who spent 10 years on remand!!

41. NOBODY could make a bigger fool of himself than you do every day.

It is so bad I wonder if you suffered brain damage during the beating.

42. Wuh looka muh crosses! Under what law could Graveney think somebody could be prosecuted for recording what a public officer does in public????

So if it was a media camera person would he say the same thing???

WTH??????

43. DonnaSeptember 16, 2020 9:36 AM

NOBODY could make a bigger fool of himself than you do every day.

It is so bad I wonder if you suffered brain damage during the beating.

How many times have you had the Chief Justice of Barbados apologise to you in the press as well as in the court of appeal?

44. 31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

45. One of my mother’s favourites!!

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John at 11:18 AM and 11:18 AM

Also a favourite quotation of OSA RIP. A very inspiring and enabling affirmation.

47. “How many times have you had the Chief Justice of Barbados apologise to you in the press as well as in the court of appeal?”

is that the well known corrupt former CJ or the do nothing, incompetent one who just resigned in disgrace?…an apology from either one means absolutely nothing…..

48. Didn’t need him at all. Got my problem resolved without him.

De madwoman system does wuk!

49. You did not name me the Bride of Dracula for nothing!