Submitted by Kammie Holder

The attached photos were are all taken from the Nation newspaper online.

Perhaps, this may be a rare case of inferiority complex raising its head if the relaxed attitude towards the accused shown last week is used as a yardstick to juxtapose the one of Leroy Parris. Neither am I of the opinion this was a deliberate case of self hate but more of a desire to be nice to accused.

However, the question begs are double standards at play, according to position, wealth, race, or public outcry?

What message is been sent to society and international partners when accused black boys are treated with tight handcuffs and some elite are allowed to take picnic strolls?

This is something the local Black Lives Matter agitators should be keeping noise about for this smacks of inequality and institutional self hate. Did the country not see Leroy Parris a man with significant assets in handcuffs and ever so often little black boys charged with a spliff?

This is a sad day in the history of the Royal Barbados Police Force and must not only be publicly condemned but investigated. I will not hold my breath in a society that leaves everything to their god. But what do we expect from an establishment formed as a force in 1835 and still not a service in 2020. If ever we wanted evidence that our society is divided how we treat each other, we need not look any further. Such happenings undermine the good name of the Royal Barbados Police Force and can create distrust among the masses. The silence of those who champion social justice is disturbingly silent, no wonder many see the local black life movement as a farce.

We can continue to selfishly ignore and dismiss wrongs until it hit homes. Each one of us must be craftsmen of our fate and strict guardians of our heritage. Stop taking your freedoms for granted and never accept silence in the presence of inequality as an option. Perception can overwhelm facts and turn truth on its head.

106 responses to “Arresting Double Standards”

1. The people have to STOP black sellout leaders in the parliament from treating them like 2nd CLASS CITIZENS in a country their ancestors were ENSLAVED TO BUILD and which they themselves FUND, it’s time this evil that these clowns continue to practice stops, they have been doing it for 60 years in every election cycle, you have been given the TOOLS TO STOP THEM…make use of it, you are very welcome.

…do not let the opportunity go to waste and then continue to complain…it is very clear that your black leaders are a CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER to African people everywhere, as they have always been, and as must now be shown to the world to warn African people everywhere.

2. No more excuses, do not allow your ancestors’ brutal enslavement be in vain nor should you allow your own 60 years of equally brutal oppression, racism, exploitation and disenfranchisement at the hands of black sellout leaders go unpunished, this one is on you, no one else and you will have to answer to your children and grandchildren for allowing it to continue to their detriment.

https://youtu.be/rkZlymKirC8

3. i would like to know why the picture of Parris is in full relief whilst that of the first man i suspect to be Nadur isnt? i cant tell whether Nadur is handcuffed or not. nonetheless the author has a point

4. @Greene

Updated.

5. @Kammie

This is Barbados at its best. I am sure Mr Nadur will be freed on some technicality and may even be compensated. Barbadian criminal law is aimed solely at the boys on the block. Others may get caught in the sweeping net.

6. that is better and fully drives home the author’s point. it begs a question of the Bim po po. isnt there a policy on whether prisoners are handcuffed or not?

7. Nuff long talk
    This scenario has been going on forever
    Nothing new here to tie up self in knots
    Charles Herbert and his accomplice were treated like wise
    Never heard loud outburst
    Steupse guh long do
    Wake up this is bubadus

8. @Greene

Did the Police issue a statement about this matter when it was raised in the Parris court appearance? It is the supervising police officer’s call.

9. David,

i dont understand. are you saying the police issued a statement explaining their handcuffing policy when the Parris incident was ventilated? and that policy states handcuffing is discretionary?

10. @Greene

They did.

11. Handcuffing a prisoner should be a security issue, not discretionary. But, of course, in Barbados they make it up as they go along. In any case, that practice of walking prisoners through the open court yard is a massive security risk.
    It may be nice for the photographers, but wow. This is proof that there is no really serious gang crime in Barbados. Can you imagine armed people ambushing the police and freeing a fellow gang member?

12. Can you imagine Mia and the Late David Thompson cooling out in Goodings Land pulling a spliff?

#steuspe

13. David,

wish we could have a read to juxtapose against what this author is saying? could you oblige please?

14. Hopefully a BU member can, the blogmaster is unavoidably engaged for the next couple hours.

15. @David

Supervising Officer’s call? Why are you mekking sport so early in the am? Shouldn’t there be a standard policy with regards to how accused are handled before and after Court appearances? I have seen so many low- level offenders being led in and out of Court in handcuffs that I thought it was mandatory but now I hear something about “Supervising offcer’s call”.

As to the supervising officer in Nadur’s case someone should give him a copy of Austin Clark’s “Growing up stupid under the Union Jack” as it is still very relevant today but then again the irony might escape him.

16. For me the sad thing is that the higherups and better offs associated with the coverup of the CLICO scandal are not on parade as well and it all falls to Leroy Parris.

Regarding the ammunition charge against Zack Nadur I note a similar charge was laid against Richard Arthur, the brother of Owen Arthur and that seemed to take forever to even get to court.

Not really forever, but approaching 10 years.

I also see in Barbados Today that Vonda Pile, the lawyer incarcerated for stealing her client’s money is out on bail awaiting her appeal and is practicing the black art of law once again.

17. Oh my god, if the discretion is that of the supervisor, if he is a person suffering from an inferiority complex, then expect his race whatever it is to be unfairly treated in favor of what ever race she feels superior.

The optics are extremely wrong and if its discretionary then its open to abuse and corrupt influences.

Perhaps, I am making a fuss about nothing until it impacts you when you meet an officer whose ego does not accept getting challenged or questionning his/authority authority. An ego is like power, dangerous without control.

18. Kammie HolderSeptember 15, 2020 8:30 AM

The optics are extremely wrong and if its discretionary then its open to abuse and corrupt influences.

If you realise how many things occur at the “discretion of the court” you would have a cat fit!!

Bail is one!!

https://legal-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/Discretion+of+the+Court

The optics may seem strange but you should do some more digging to understand the logic if it exists,

I don’t understand it either but I have not done any digging!!

A person remanded to Dodds makes the trek to Bridgetown on the Prison Bus to have his application for bail heard and the court determine its disposition.

The person’s freedom has been taken away by the court already.

He appears in handcuffs, sometimes leg shackles.

At the old court, bail hearings took precedence over all other matters for the simple reason that an individual’s freedom had been taken away and his application needed to be heard as an urgent matter.

Might be as simple as Parris is known to the court and Nadur is not.

19. What you may actually be watching is a man is considered innocent until proven guilty.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David Blogmaster, your cartoon caption is actually quite suitably provocative and interesting for debate … 😎

@Kammie, respectfully bro but how is this a BLM issue really … if you want to argue the “suffering from an inferiority complex” point then I would join you … But if the cops are Black and too the accusers, antagonists, prosecutors, judges and the majority of ‘bad boys’ … whereas several elite members of society who are BLACK are NOT treated like these ‘lower-class’ bad-boys how is this truly a BLM isssue!

WHY are you conflating and anecdotally juxtaposing societal CLASS issues with racial profiling

Of course the police should have a set policy re accused and use of handcuffs at court and just as surely their “discretionary” policy likely means that all accused for violent crimes will be handcuffed (by discretion to prevent acting out) and those before the courts for non-violent crimes MAY be managed sans the metal bracelets

Now, I will further offer that if I were supervising the multi millionaire Parris’s trip to court that I would have handcuffed, shackled and demanded that he be placed in a freaking prison jumpsuit and not his Brooks Brothers tweed!

I get the race thing but this is moreso a CLASS issue and as the blogger above noted it’s too long in the tooth to be ‘sucking our teetes’ so resolutely now.

Sorry bro I would not waste one damn sec of breath defending anything that befalls that particular black-man … he cannot be the poster child or reference point for anything to do with EQUITABLE justice… NEVER!

Black Lives do Matter … but tell that to Leroy Parris.

21. This is something the local Black Lives Matter agitators should be keeping noise about for this smacks of inequality and institutional self hate.

It is rather irresponsible to to fan the flames of hatred of this marxist organisation without doing your due diligence.

These are fragile people.

22. When the heck are you all going to accept that whites and the other races are treated ” differently ” in Barbados.

Trying to use the so called Black elite to obfuscate the discriminatory treatment of ordinary black Bajans will not fool those who have seen this bull spit with their own eyes.

Any person charged with the illegal possession of a gun / ammunition should be in handcuffs from the moment he/she is arrested.

23. @ Quaker John,

You are vile. For someone with your views living in a majority black country, someone should come round and try to persuade you why your views are wrong. This is not a game.

24. “Luk at he, he ain’ look like ‘e belung in prison”

The goodly gentleman does not look like a criminal so should not be in cuffs, far less be placed in prison.

25. So was it really 100 kilos of COCAINE or not?…asking for a friend..

and who keeps 50 bullets in their house without a gun, unless they are selling ammunition…

26. My view is very simple, understand the workings of the law before spouting off on its practices.

27. Depriving any individual of his/her freedom is a serious matter in what is often referred to as a democracy!!

28. In some more advanced societies, handcuffs are not even used!!

https://tilakmarg.com/opinion/why-arrested-persons-are-not-handcuffed-by-police-in-india/

29. Some journalists in the UK don’t do their due diligence!!

30. Yes, we have double standards in Barbados. The naive masses pay no land tax and lime around in the civil service or at the expense of NIS, whereas the top-performers of society (businessmen, expats and others) pay 10 – 30K per year for land tax alone per year.

That sound like apartheid at the expense of the latter group to me! If government does not fix the unjust land tax soon, we face riots in Bridgetown. Some outspoken high lords of this island want to remove the monuments of the socialist radical Barrow who is mainly responsible for this mess.

31. Pictures tells a thousand tales.
    De Nations photos are defined proof of our native bajan segregated double standards.

“Perception can overwhelm facts and turn truth on its head”.

Always do in our society….

32. “Where a defendant appears before a court, it is for the court not police or security staff to decide whether or not she/he should be handcuffed: R v Cambridgeshire Justices, ex p. Peacock, 156 JP 895, DC; The Times, 30 July, 1992.

Any application that the defendant should be restrained should be heard inter partes: R v Rollison, 161 JP 107, CA.

Where handcuffs are unjustifiably resorted to, their use will constitute a civil trespass even though the arrest itself is lawful: (Taylor (1895) 59 JP, 393; Bibby v Chief Constable of Essex (2000) 164 JP, 297). It may also violate Articles 3 (degrading treatment) and 6 (the right to a fair trial, and the presumption of innocence) of the ECHR. The rights of the suspects need to be balanced against public safety, and legitimate reasons put forward for handcuffing in court. Any derogation from these principles must be strictly justified.”

33. Kammie, you need to do your due diligence and if you find different to what you are saying, correct yourself.

The BLM volk are fragile and prone to fits of rage and anger.

34. @John

The point at issue is whether the handcuffing of persons about to appear before the court should be discretionary, that is the period from police custody to court docket.

35. @ John September 15, 2020 11:02 AM

The BLM death squad even wanted to kill the police officers in the emergency room in LA.

I know many people in Barbados who are considering selling their properties since they feel not safe anymore under such hostile conditions. First the opposition forces government to double the land tax and then they unleash Presccott and his squad. I guess the next step is expropriation, violence and murder.

Our government must stop the opposition (including Presscott) at any cost!

36. Custody?

Best practice guidance for Custody Management Directions was issued by the Lord Chief Justice in April 2010. The objective of the guidance is to ensure that wherever possible the risk of escape or violence by prisoners is identified in advance of a court appearance and is managed by introducing appropriate arrangements that do not unnecessarily prejudice the prisoner. The jury must be free to decide upon the guilt or innocence of the defendant without the risk of being influenced against him by sight of restraint which in their minds suggests that he is regarded with good cause as being a dangerous criminal. Even at hearings where no jury is present, applications for restraint must be scrutinised and strictly justified.

Where a defendant appears before a court, it is for the court not police or security staff to decide whether or not she/he should be handcuffed: R v Cambridgeshire Justices, ex p. Peacock, 156 JP 895, DC; The Times, 30 July, 1992.

Any application that the defendant should be restrained should be heard inter partes: R v Rollison, 161 JP 107, CA.

Where handcuffs are unjustifiably resorted to, their use will constitute a civil trespass even though the arrest itself is lawful: (Taylor (1895) 59 JP, 393; Bibby v Chief Constable of Essex (2000) 164 JP, 297). It may also violate Articles 3 (degrading treatment) and 6 (the right to a fair trial, and the presumption of innocence) of the ECHR. The rights of the suspects need to be balanced against public safety, and legitimate reasons put forward for handcuffing in court. Any derogation from these principles must be strictly justified.

Black Bajan native suspects are always handcuffed.

37. DavidSeptember 15, 2020 11:04 AM

The point at issue is whether the handcuffing of persons about to appear before the court should be discretionary, that is the period from police custody to court

Is the person guilty or innocent?

38. Has the court already deprived the person of liberty?

39. What was Leroy Parris’ legal status when he appeared in the picture?

40. … the black art of the practice of the law needs to be comprehended before going down this road.

Things are never as they seem!!

41. Kammie

Do your due diligence.

Former journalists don’t worry about such niceties but I don’t think you are a former journalist.

42. English case law whilst persuasive is not binding on Bim’s court. the court may consider the precedent or law but it is not bound to adapt it. laws and precedent from the Privy Council were.

in any case the Bim police are free to implement policies when it comes to persons in its custody going to court with due regard to safety of its officers, safety of the person in custody and the general public. there are bound to be exemptions.i.e. the infirm, persons with injuries to wrists etc.

if a person has been charge, is in the custody of the police and is going to court, he is a prisoner of the police who are responsible for his welfare and safekeeping

43. Black John…what got you so upset, is it because ya have to share the shipment with others or what.

44. What message is been sent to society and international partners when accused black boys are treated with tight handcuffs and some elite are allowed to take picnic strolls?

The so called “black boys” to whom you refer are brought to court as a group in the prison bus, placed in detention areas, and appear one by one as their application for bail is to be heard.

They are handcuffed.

They were on remand at Dodds.

The court has already deprived them of their liberty.

When they appear before the judge they do so with this fact known to the court.

Was Nadur on remand when he appeared before the court?

Did the prosecution object to his application for bail?

What about Leroy Parris.

Did the prosecution object to his bail?

What were the relative sizes of bail, Parris vs Nadur?

We know Leroy Parris’ bail was $1.5 million.

Seems like the prosecution considered Leroy Parris to be huge flight risk.

45. Kammie

You are not thinking!!

46. So what do yall think about this one.

“The chief of the Compton sheriff’s department ( Alex Villanueva ) has a racist gang of Latino deputies named The Executioners, which he has refused to disband.. These officers don’t allow blacks or females to join their little racist group. They have tattoo parties to celebrate theirbeatings and shootings of Compton civilians.
    The black female mayor of Compton (Aja Briwn) was once stopped by them and had her car searched for drugs, even though her children were in the back seat. The let her go when they realized she was the mayor.
    Aja said the Compton sheriff’s department is terrorizing her city.
    They shot a young Latino security guard five times in the back because he ran from them about three months ago. They cost the tax payers 50 million dollars in lawsuits every year.
    Forty percent of the officers in this department belong to this brutal and racist organization.
    Their cheif (Villanueva) was on the news the other day challenging basketball superstar
    LeBron James to match the 100,000 reward for the recent Compton cop shooter, because of Jame’s speaking out on police brutally and his support for the Black Lives Matter movement.
    LeBron said when the cheif cleans his department of the racist Exexutioner gang of cops he will gladly match the reward for the shooter.
    BlackArchaeologist.com”

47. Parris s Bajan, ya ever see his house, pure palace…

Nadur is syrian you goat..