This week a strange development unravelled in the glare of the public. One minister stayed home and one minister went to…

The eagerly anticipated Integrity in Public Life Act 2020 failed to pass the Upper House again. If it did we understand it would have died this week with the prorogation of parliament. If the government is serious about enacting and operationalizing the failed Bill, we HOPE to see it listed on the Order Paper in September 2020 when the House of Assembly resumes after the break. Are we gluttons for receiving punishment from the political class.

What led us to this point civic minded Barbadians want to know? Was the debate designed and orchestrated to fail by hoodwinking independent and opposition Senators or were they willing participants in the show?

It is incomprehensible the government side – led by the experienced Senator Jerome Walcott and member of the kitchen cabinet – was not able to win the support of three Senators. The assumption is that Senator Lucille Moe is onboard with the Bill and not off sulking some where shirking the people’s business. Do we need to remind the political class and so called independents this Bill was recorded in the Chamber for three years before it died in the last session of parliament?

… is that if you have a good bill, then that means it will have support and opposition because the bill will actually do something. Because of this, the bill will require some negotiating and compromise. This means that you should start with the biggest, broadest bill possible because as your bill moves through both houses of the Legislature, you will inevitably have to remove or change some parts of the bill…

CAP.impact

To this blogmaster’s simple way of thinking, enacting integrity legislation is expected to be a contentious undertaking in any place. It follows the citizenry of Barbados expect elected officials in a mature setting to negotiate a final position in the interest of who they were elected to (Rh) serve. We have been trying to pass this type of law since the mid 70s . Our failure to accomplish the task exposes the political class – read Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – as a disingenuous cabal.

How in heavens name can the Minister of Health Jefferey Bostic make a decision out of caution to remain isolated after receiving a negative COVID 19 test AND the Chief Medical Officer (ag) issue a medical clearance to rookie Minister Lisa Cummins to attend the Upper Chamber where the Integrity in Public Life Act 2020 was about to be voted. The minister is the the de facto boss of the CMO for crissakes.

What was the point?

How is it connected?

Minister Lisa Cummins’ apology

Minster Lisa Cummins was instructed to apologize to public criticism. Not the way she wanted to start her tenure as a new minister of government but she appears to be a smart lady and will have to wrestle her conscience if being a politician allows her to the individualist she appears to be.

The blogmaster continues to reflect … if this pandemic does not disrupt what will?

226 responses to “The Fool’s Mate”

1. It means there was a time BU was labelled. DLP mouthpiece especially when Hartley Henry’s articles were carried. If you do a google you should find the postings. You may have the last word. Unlike others there is little merit in be8g puerile about these matters.

2. You are catching up? You will make it eventually. Yes her ex husband is well known.

3. Not too late to say happy indigenous day to African descended and other people in the Americas..

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p526x296/117533719_3091786827615259_4018889026429352672_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=JR-qlcoG4HIAX8P8GZR&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&_nc_tp=6&oh=7415441e848780921e325d1465040b2d&oe=5F555AEE

“Carib Another European terminology.
    The true name of the indigenous tribe is Karinya/Carinya.
    Afro-Indigenous people
    Indigenous People of British Guiana, South America and the Caribbean.
    Happy World indigenous Day”

4. Just heard that the whole Lebanese government resigned…the price of being corrupt and stupid…

5. @David,

snarky remarks there, mate. i like to know exactly where people are coming from, if it is not evident readily, before i respond.

to the matter re Cummins and her ex etc- i choose to certain things at certain times.

a time back i asked you, when you made some silly remark in my direction, if you think i now come town. let me ask you again, you think i now come town?

6. @Greene

You behave so sometimes.

7. @ David

BTW, when i made reference to David growing a pair, i was talking about David Eliis

8. Thanks for the clarification. Did a quick check below and wondered LOL.

9. Naughty,naughty, Robert! Simple Simon had me cracking up there. Haven’t had such a good laugh in weeks. She hurt my belly. I can feel a laugh still coming back.

SISTER WURA,

There is nothing wrong with being wrong sometimes. It is part of being human.

We all do it!

10. NURSE TESTS POSITIVE FOR MALARIA.

One of the Ghanaian nurses that arrived in Barbados on July 30th, has tested positive for malaria.

Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr. Kenneth George says Barbados gets 2 to 3 imported cases per year, and is equipped to handle the case.

Dr. George was speaking during a press conference at the Ministry of Health and Wellness this afternoon.

The nurse has started treatment and is responding well.

11. How in Gods green earth were these “nurses” given a health certification to travel to barbados and to work in the health care system
    From bad to worse
    Wondering what next

12. “There is nothing wrong with being wrong sometimes. ”

i don’t take issue with people who get things wrong, am yet to see or meet anyone who doesn’t and if you don’t get things wrong, you tend not to learn much, what is bothersome is the stubborn ability of those who don’t want to learn anything about themselves, are averse to learning their true history and don’t want to learn anything new so they can pass the information on to their current and future generations, they are keeping others in the same lack of knowledge state as themselves, doing a disservice to their own people and are no different to colonizers keeping others in captivity making sure they learn nothing.

We have been on here for years and a few years ago i warned some who can be seen wasting time on the blog with petty and trivial matters that teaches nothing, that they were going to be left behind, they thought it was a joke and continued in the same vein, now others want to catch up, but they can’t…we have moved so far ahead that we are at the stage of sharing information only when necessary and certain things just cannot be shared anymore..

13. You lie, Mariposa!

No, no, no!

14. Donna
    Check cbc and barbados today
    One would have to be very evil to spread that news
    Anyhow leave it to BU to hide this kind of news
    One reason i have returned is to place balance on this ongoing talk shop which has dug rabbit holes for all to run down

15. I did not expect you were lying.

I forget what type of mosquito is common here. Is it the malaria transmitting ANOPHELES? I know there is one far more common than the Aedes Aegypti which I have actually never seen.

16. so the nurses from Ghana have malaria and are positive for COVID?
    THAT IS EASY! SAME TREATMENT! uh lie?

17. GP i am in no position to answer what treatment is necessary
    However all these treatments are at cost a cost that would eventually be handed to the taxpayers
    At present the economy of barbados can least afford an ongoing deluge of all types of illness which at all cost must be treated
    Ghana problem is barbados problem
    No matter the treatment
    The bottom line spells money

18. The malaria was not contracted in Barbados. The male nurse is reported to be responding well to treatment.

19. Makes for wonder what next these nurses are carrying that are undetected
    Protocols in any country calls for medical checks before a visa is given
    It is now becoming more obvious that these nurses were not properly checked if at all
    Also if so it provides evidence that Ghana health system is relaxed in their rules and regulations and for that reason these nurses should be sent back

20. How were they recruited? Who did the interviews and checked the qualifications? Or were they selected by the Ghanaians?

21. Of course the malaria was not contracted in Barbados, as we don’t have the vector as far I know
    In places where it is endemic, malaria has benefits versus sickle cell.
    The treatment for malaria is very very cheap. You give a very popular drug today that has been on the market for over 6o years now for that indication, and that has proven to be efficacious in the treatment of COVID in many parts of the world. uh lie?

22. Hal
    The lack of transparency by this govt during the time and period these nurses were being seeked is the cause why this issue has blown up in govt face
    For one year all said by govt was nurses from Ghana coming to barbados no more
    This govt has used PR tactics to dumb down the populace and more often than not has delivered useless goods to the people

23. @GP

The radio report acknowledged the type of mosquito lives only in the Graeme Hall Swamp.

24. A few weeks ago blood samples fell off a truck and made way onto the streets in the way of moving traffic
    This story as far as media is concern is of liitle importance
    Never mind that those samples are capable of contamination
    All govt said was something about the QEH incinerator not working
    Never mind govt spent millions of dollars to blow up a buulding to build a park
    It is as if govt does not understand the meaning of the word prioritize

25. @ Donna

The problem is the lady DON’T EVER ADMIT WHEN SHE WRONG!!!

Then she does go on a tirade about how long she was on BU and what she achieved, WITHOUT EVER TELLING WE WHAT ARE THESE SO CALLED ACHIEVEMENTS.

And when yuh ask her what is the achievements, she gine then tell you that she ain’t telling you because yuh get left behind. Left behind from what???

Then she gine talk about teaching something that she could never explain what it is. If you ask her a simple question that just deserve a simple answer, she gine tell you she ain’t got nuh TIME TO WASTE. But yuh know she gine write 3 or 4 long contributions to tell you why she ain’t got nuh time to waste, which in itself is wasting time, when she could of answer the question in the first place.

Hear she now: we have moved so far ahead that we are at the stage of sharing information only when necessary and certain things just cannot be shared anymore {Quote}

Now Donna, you is a woman I respect. You does don’t hide yuh mouth and anything you got to tell somebody, you does tell them. Be honest with me. How it is that she want to teach people something, but saying there are somethings that cannot be shared anymore? Wuh type of foolishness is that?

I mentioned somethings to you the other day and she say I should mind my business. But she now telling we bout how people … adverse to learning their true history and don’t want to learn anything new so they can pass the information on to their current and future generations {Quote}

How she know if or not people learning bout their history? This is an anonymous blog and SHE DON’T KNOW WHO WE ARE AND WHAT WE DOES DO WHEN WE AIN’T ON BU. So what she getting involve in the people business for, when SHE SHOULD STOP MALICIOUSING IN PEOPLE AFFAIRS AND MIND SHE OWN BUSINESS?

Donna, as man to woman, you could tell me at least 3 things WURA achieve in the 8 years she always talking bout?

26. It is no surprise you are of the mistaken belief Barbadians are mugins.

Barbados to recruit nurses from Ghana by September 2019

(Barbados Nation) A six-member team will leave Barbados next month to start the recruitment of nurses in Ghana.

But before that happens, every effort is being made to ensure that all of the registered nurses and nursing aides here at home who have applied to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) and general health services will be given the opportunity to be seen, interviewed and hired.

Minister of Health and Wellness Jeffrey Bostic made the announcement today during Government’s post-Cabinet press briefing at Government Headquarters, Bay Street, St Michael.

Bostic said some of these health professionals have already been hired and about 20 more are going through the process.

Meanwhile, the six-member team will comprise the chairman of the Board of the QEH, a second board member who is a representative of the Council of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados, the director of nursing and the director of human resources. The Chief Nursing Officer in the Ministry Health and a representative from the Barbados Council will round out the delegation.

They will travel from August 13 to 26.

An assessment will be made of Ghana’s system and certification, followed by registration and recruitment.

Last month, Ghana’s president Nana Akufo-Addo made an official visit to Barbados and offered the services of up to 400 nurses to address the shortage here.

Bostic said he was also pleased with the operation of the 24-hour polyclinic at Winston Scott Polyclinic.

27. Never mind that those samples are capable of contamination {Quote}

Mari, you could explain how blood samples, as you call them, could spill on the road and contaminate people?

28. It is no surprise you would seek to make political fodder out of an accident. Here are the facts as reported by Starcom.

https://starcomnetwork.net/blood-spill-temporarily-closed-road/

29. asstin
    re How were they recruited? Who did the interviews and checked the qualifications? Or were they selected by the Ghanaians?
    WOULD YOU BE ASKING THESE QUESTIONS IF THE NURSES WERE CONTRACTED FROM ENGLAND, WALES &SCOTLAND & IRELAND?
    ARE NOT THE GHANIANS TRAINED USING THE SAME TEXTS USED IN THE UK?
    YOU AND THE TWIT NEED TO STOP NIT PICKING EVERYTHING, ABOUT WHICH YOU SEEM TOO KNOW NOTHING.
    ITS GETTING MONOTONOUS

30. The colonel appears to have a great understanding of what is/was needed.
    There is an expression “Perfection is the enemy of the good”.
    The colonel is doing a good/great job.
    This is one avenue that is/will not be productive. You need to find a next bone to gnaw on.

31. So long as the mosquito is found only in the swamp we should be ok. But I have no sickle cell in my family and so I do not need malaria.

32. Robert,

You are correct. WURA does not like to admit she is wrong. She is not alone in that. She really should try it. It is liberating!

As to what she has achieved, she has posted some informative videos sometimes. How do we measure achievement on the blog?

33. I going back and read how Simple Simon handled Sista Well Well. It need to get out the rest of my giggles. They keep popping up when I am trying to talk.

34. What avenue
    This is a bone that has already being crushed and dissected across social media with results showing lack of credibilty heaped on this govt
    Carry on smartly only about 4 our five voices carry swear on BU
    Gazzert u need to come out of your little BU corner and see and hear what is happening on the other side
    Last week we had ministers running out of Parliament because of COVID
    What u should ask your self is what next and if these on going failures speaks well of govt
    Trump is not a person who is afraid however the fear of letting americans come to barbados moved the USA to send a level 3 alert
    U should think on those things
    Things u can chew on for a while
    What next u ought to ask instead of interjecting useless sidebar opinions
    Have a pleasant night hopefully a mosquito would not bite you

35. @ Mariposa,

I wonder if those nurses were tested for TB, Aids or any other veneral diseases. Not forgetting, Yellow fever and a host of other diseases which are prevalent on the Africa continent.

It should be clear to everyone that our government has been negligent in their recruitment of these “nurses”. Prepare yourself for more revelations.

36. Would not be surprised to hear more of the same
    The chief medical officer in his haste to dismiss the malaria as a small problem refuses to realize that the people are already stressed to the max with COVID and can least entertain any other invasion of any kind of disease small or large
    That kind of insensitive jargon by the chief is another attempt to cap and to dumb down the populace with insulting language
    But then again Mia cares

37. I will deal only with substance
    1)
    “Last week we had ministers running out of Parliament because of COVID” should read
    ‘Last week we had ministers running out of Parliament because of fear of contracting COVID”
    Note: At this time we do not know if the fear was real or fanciful
    2)
    “Trump is not a person who is afraid however the fear of letting americans come to barbados moved the USA to send a level 3 alert”
    It is amazing, how you can believe or suspend belief in trump when it suits you.

Again, this is an issue that has or will have very little traction. Only the loyal and faithful opposition will pursue this line of thought. Find another line.

38. Who are the ministers who ran from parliament?

39. Mariposa, there’s a question for you…… I knew what she meant..
    But that is a good example of why you should abandon this course…
    You must resort to hyperbole and erroneous statements to make your case.

40. DAVID
    COULD YOU PLEASE SET UP A MEDICAL ILLITERATES CORNER EXCLUSIVELY FOR THOSE OF THAT ILK?

41. Robert

Mari, you could explain how blood samples, as you call them, could spill on the road and contaminate people?

Obviuosly you never heard of cross contamination
    Go goggle and find the answer
    Would not waste my time going back and forth to schooled a knucklehead

42. Why bother, to do so would redefine ignorance LOL

43. @Mariposa August 10, 2020 5:47 PM “Makes for wonder what next these nurses are carrying that are undetected
    Protocols in any country calls for medical checks before a visa is given.”

Malaria is of course not good.

But the truth is 1.5 million people visit Barbados each year and not a fella undergoes a medical check

44. Mariposa is correct. This is not going well. There are now all sorts of rumours of all types of diseases circulating. If the test results were insignificant why were they released? This is not good for the nurses either.

45. JACKASS ANGELA COLE
    IF blood samples spill on the road THEY CAN NOT contaminate ANYONE
    IF blood samples spill on the road THEY WONT BE ANY “cross contamination” YA IDIOT
    I STAND AMAZED AT THE DEPTH OF YOUR IGNORANCE

46. Who are the minister who ran out of parliament
    David the language i used does not change what the ministers did
    Not surprise at your attempt at distraction

Run or walk the ministers left Parliament
    Anyhow if need to clarify here it is

Senators walk out after Cummins returns to Upper …
    5 days ago · Without missing a beat Senator Caswell Franklin rose to his feet to voice his strong objection declaring, …
    ImageBarbados Today › bb
    (3 Replies to) “FOUR walk out of Senate following return of …
    barbados today/ caswell franklyn / lisa cummins from barbadostoday.bb
    5 days ago · Newly installed Minister of Tourism and International Transport, Lisa Cummins, has expressed shock, …

47. Q If the test results were insignificant why were they released?
    A ONE WOULD THINK THAT THEY WOULD BE KEPT IN SECRET UNTIL THINGS WERE SORTED OUT
    THE TEST RESULTS OF ALL PATIENTS IS NOT THE BUSYNESS OF ALL AND SUNDRY.
    WHAT IS GOING ON?

48. SIGNIFICANT TEST RESULTS OF ALL SORTS ARE MADE EVERYDAY AND HAVE BEEN SO FOR EONS… AND THEY ARE NOT RELEASED FOR THE SLIME AND SCUM TO MAKE OPINIONS ON WHICH THEY ARE UNQUALIFIED TO DO

49. For the record and in the interest of accuracy please name the Ministers who walked out of parliament.

50. If not released then Mariposa, Wura and myself would jump on the conspiracy train.
    Released and Mariposa is on the doom and gloom train. Her trains depart in all directions including the wrong one (every five minutes)
    Have a great night.
    I enjoyed the day.