Barbados is in the grip of the worst pandemic, in my lifetime, Covid-19 that has taken the lives of over 200,000 people worldwide to date. And it does not seem that the Government is up to the task of managing this crisis. To my mind, it is certainly not setting the example by complying with the conditions that it has imposed on the population.

Government has imposed a 24-hour curfew that requires persons to stay indoor, and if you must leave home, you should practice social distancing. It therefore completely baffles me that Government would summon the Senate to meet on Monday, April 27, 2020 to debate: the Exchange Control (Amendment) Bill, 2000; the Control of Disposable Plastics Bill, 2000; and the Income Tax (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

The Exchange Control (Amendment) Bill relates to the validation of a budgetary measure to impose a foreign exchange fee by the last administration that was effective from July 17, 2017; and also to validate the collection of this administration’s fee on foreign transactions. The time to collect these taxes, without legislation being in place, has expired according to section 3 of the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act.

The Control of Disposable Plastics Bill, 2020 repeals and replaces a similar act that was passed and also subsequently amended in 2019.

Why is Government unnecessarily risking the lives of senators.

The foregoing is bad enough but it pales into insignificance when compared to Government’s handling of the rules to deal with the current state of emergency. When Government decided to impose a state of emergency, it had two sensible options open to it.

A state of emergency could have been declared under section 25 of the Constitution or under section 2 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act. Instead, the Government chose to amend the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions of the Emergency Powers Act. Those provisions would have been unconstitutional but for section 26 of the Constitution, which saved laws that were inconsistent with sections 12 to 26 of the Constitution that were passed before 30th November 1966 from being unconstitutional.

Section 26 also allows Parliament to re-enact those pre-independence provisions without significant alterations. However, Government went a step further and included a provision in the amendments to the Emergency Management Act, at section 28A.(6) that allows Cabinet to delegate, to the Prime Minister, its powers to make such directives as may be required in the public interest.

The power given to the Prime Minister did not previously exists and therefore could not have been saved by section 26 of the Constitution. To my mind, in order to bestow this power on the Prime Minister, Parliament would first have to amend the Constitution, and it did not. It would therefore appear that the Prime Minister or, in this case, the acting Prime Minister had no power to make directives under a state of emergency.

But it gets worse. When the substantive Prime Minister went on sick leave, the Hon. Santia Bradshaw was sworn in to act. Subsequent to Ms Bradshaw assuming the role of acting Prime Minister, the substantive holder, Ms Mottley, resumed her role and addressed the country on April 11th. We are also told that she participated in Cabinet meetings by Zoom.

When Ms Mottley resumed her role as Prime Minister, Ms Bradshaw would have immediately ceased to be acting Prime Minister, or Barbados would have had two prime ministers at the same time. Summa cedes non capit duos – The highest seat does not hold two. She would have to be sworn in again when Ms Mottley went back into her sick leave.

Even if the change in the law, to allow Cabinet the authority to delegate its power to the Prime Minister, were constitutional; we are still left with the fact that there was no one sworn in to act as Prime Minister who could have properly made the Emergency Management (Covid-19) Curfew (No. 3) Directive on April 14, 2020.

For the avoidance of doubt, I am in favour of measures, including the curfew, to deal with the Covid-19 pandemic. However, I am not in favour of the Government breaching the constitutional rights of citizens to achieve that end. As far as I’m concerned, the directives issued on April 14th are not properly in place and therefore ineffective.

134 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Prime Minister”

1. @ Enuff April 29, 2020 1:12 PM

From an academic point of view, LSE is ranked 4th in the global league table. With her studies at the LSE, our Most Honourable Prime Minister is ideally prepared for her task.

They would also drag Mrs Mottley through the mud if she had five Harvard and three LEC diplomas. They just can’t stand strong, confident, independent women. Anything that is not behind the stove and has been impregnated three times out of wedlock is suspect to them, that is, any woman who does not conform to the classic image of oppression on the plantation.

Remember: at the end of March they were totally panicked and fantasized about “a thousand dead” in Barbados, others about “400 to 800 cases” by the end of April. None of this came true. If some BU commentators would work with their prophecies at an investment bank, the bank would go bankrupt after three days.

2. @ Hal

DON’T YOU THINK YOU HAVE HAD enuff OF THIS PITIFUL FOOL JOINTLY FAMOUS FOR LICKING THE LAPS OF WHITE MEN IN NY AND A BLP LAPDOG.

ONE DOESN’T CONTINUE TO THROW PEARLS TO SWINES.

3. @ Tron

Which table are you using for the LSE’s 4th place? LSE is not even in the top global 50 of the most reputable tables. It comes top in Social Policy in only one table.
    Don’t get me wrong, LSE is one of the most reputable universities in the world, but exaggeration gets you nowhere. LSE’s strength has always been in social policy. That is the institution the Webbs created. In fact, LSE’s neighbour, King’s (Sonny Ramphal, et al) gives the LSE a run for its money in law. So does UCL, and that is only in London.
    By the way, tables are just guides, they change almost every year. I mentioned this to a Bajan LSE graduate and he laughed his head off.

4. So far – MAM on CNN seems to be faked news unless it going to be a 60secs interview

5. @ Baje

Have you noticed that when you ask a question on BU people see it as an invitation to fight? Instead of answering they set out to prove the premise wrong?
    It comes under the “Don’t mind him, man, I know him”, sub-culture of the Bajan Condition..

6. https://www.cbc.bb/whats-showing-on-tv-8/
    PM Mottley on CNN now

7. Everyone please turn on the TV: Our great leader Mia Mottley explains her grand plan for Barbados and the entire Caribbean.

All very convincing. We need Mottley on CNN once a month.

8. Tron. What? You’re late?

YOU’RE FIRED.

9. Baje – Mr 3 Degrees

Because I made up the other THREE rankings. #showmedempapers

10. @Hal Austin April 29, 2020 2:21 PM “Have you noticed that when you ask a question on BU people see it as an invitation to fight?”

Becausin’ we know how wunna Ivy boys too love a fight.

11. Just switched my TV to CNN. Am i too late.
    I would prefer to hear MM and not read the summary generously provide by some

12. Charles Skeete Avatar

Codgy
    Section 68 of the Constitution does not speak to”sick leave”
    It speaks to “unable to perform duties”
    What Mr Franklyn seems to be trying to point out is that the substantive Prime Minister by virtue of having addressed the nation on April 11 and indicated she had met with key leaders had in effect resumed her duties and the role of the acting Prime Minister had effectively ceased
    Notice my earlier comment on the issue was not posted

13. @Tron April 29, 2020 2:07 PM “They would also drag Mrs Mottley through the mud if she had five Harvard and three LEC diplomas. They just can’t stand strong, confident, independent women. Anything that is not behind the stove and has been impregnated three times out of wedlock is suspect to them.”

So true.

14. @Hal AustinApril 29, 2020 2:16 PM

Ref https://ideas.repec.org/top/top.law.html

Our prime minister might as well be CEO of Goldman Sachs or Apple. She’s that well-trained.

15. Hal
    What asked question what!! It is just that you got jumped. Even what you posted after was to try to question QS Rankings, Times Higher etc. Only last week an MSc from the same LSE was a nothing degree according to you. I am here to clear and clean up the misinformation.

16. @ Tron

Nice to see the president is well and back at work. Now for action.

17. Amanpour noted that today is the birthday of the Duke and finished the program with this classic

18. Baje – Mr 3 Degrees

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@enuff aka Beavis

YOU WANT ME TO PULL THE PAPERS OUT OF THE SAME RED BAG USED BY YOUR DECEPTIVE LEADER MIA MOTTLEY NIGHTLY ON THE BLP PLATFORM BEFORE 2018 ELECTIONS ALLEGING FRAUD AND CORRUPTION INCLUDING CHRIS SINCLAIR AND MARK MALONEY TO BE PROSECUTED UPON BEING ELECTED.

YOU ARE A MAJOR TOM FOOLERY TALKING OUT ONE SIDE OF YOUR BLINDED DECEPTIVE ASS..

#miablpstoolpigeons

19. @Hal Austin April 29, 2020 3:26 PM “Shanghai Top 100 Rankings. Academic Ranking of World Universities 2019”

Whew!!! Glad to see that the universities of me, my chief and my little jonnie made the this top 100 list, as well as a few that we had to turn down.

In any event old people arguing about which university is a whole lotta foolishness. Because it is not which university you went to, but what you did with your university education once you left.

20. @TheOgazerts April 29, 2020 2:49 PM “Just switched my TV to CNN. Am i too late. I would prefer to hear MM and not read the summary generously provide by some.

You may be able to replay it on You Tube CNN amanpour Barbados Prime Minister.

21. @ Hal

SEEMS LIKE enuff SMELLED WAY TOO MUCH OF MIA’S PANTIES AND HAS LIKE SEVERAL OTHERS LOST SENSE OF REALITY.

22. @Piece the Legend April 29, 2020 11:57 AM “So dat wunna does not misunderstand that miracle recovery, here we gots Mugabe RESURRECTED FROM HER ALMOST DEATH BED to tek on an interview wid CNN.”

I am sure that not one of the boys of BU have ever had female surgery.

Well I have. Female surgery is NOT, I repeat NOT, a “death bed” kinda thing. Lolll!!!

Death bed what?

Except for the hour or so when one is under anthesia, and unconscious, ones thinking powers and ones speaking and writing powers remain ABSOLUTELY UNIMPAIRED.

After I regained consciousness the doctor asked me “how do you know that you have had the surgery” I answered correctly. Next morning got up and took myself to the bathroom. Nearly scared the poor ward sister to death. 17 hours after the surgery I was outta there. The next morning 41 hours after the surgery I was out shopping. Walked half a mile to the shop too. No car remember.

Women are not half as weak as so many men delude themselves into believing.

Fellas we don’t have to be weak so that you can be strong.

We can both be strong together.

23. @ Baje

Have you noticed the chairman has removed the second set of tables I posted, a totally different set to the first and the top Shanghai 100? The predators will awake and claim I was proven wrong again or that I hijacked the blog.
    I questioned the first claim of the global supremacy of the LSE, it was nice, but wrong. Then someone came in to give it legitimacy. It was news to me. LSE has a very high reputation historically, but so do all the old matriculation universities. But the author plays fast and loose with the facts. He has done it before.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Charles Skeete at 2 :49 PM

Thanks for your response. I agree with your position on the fundamental issue. One simply cannot have an acting PM and a substantive PM at the same time. It opens the gateway to all sorts of speculation. I believe that the appropriate legal processes are being followed.

25. @CHARLES

What says ye?

It can also be argued that the address to the nation is possible today because of the advances in technology.

Back in the days the meeting with key leaders could have been done on her sick/recovery bed at home or in hospital. and the address the nation could have been done by telephone over radio from her recovery bed.

In the above case the power would still be in the hands of the acting PM since the substantive PM would still have been seen as “unable to perform her duties”

She will only officially resume her duties when she indicates this to the GG / physically take her position as chairperson of cabinet meetings or her seat of MP in the house.

what says ye?

26. @Hal Austin April 29, 2020 12:32 PM “A heroine comes off her sick bed…”

Sick bed what.

My old lady was on her “sick bed” once that I can recall. Took to her bed on the Monday and was dead by Friday morning. But not before eating her breakfast first. She was 31 years older than our PM is now.

27. @Tron April 29, 2020 12:40 PM. “Our leader endangers her health.”

Endangering health what?

Stupseee!!!

Moderately complex, everyday surgery done several weeks ago is no danger to any woman’s health.

28. indicate it to the GG / cabinet.

29. @ Silly Woman April 29, 2020 4:50 PM

Have you ever heard of dramaturgy?

Every national epic has a matching narrative. I see myself as a kind of national poet with artistic freedoms. Fictional elements are part of my art.

The present narrative is as follows:

In times of greatest need for the party, country and its people, the Most Honourable Prime Minister turns from her sickbed to the world public, sacrifices herself after Barbados, in her absence, has gradually come closer to demise.

30. Mia Mottley is a national heroine on hold, cum spe, so to speak.

31. Wow! Evidence, plse. Evidence. Is LSE in the top 10 of UK universities (or constituent colleges), either on teaching or research? What is its world ranking? What is it ranking in the UK as a law school? {Quote}

Here comes the village idiot again.

Let me give wunnuh uh example.

There was a time when West Indies cricket was at #1. Recently, the team has been languishing at the bottom of the ratings———-struggling to maintain a position between 7th and 8th.

When we gine rate Lloyd, Greenidge, Haynes, Marshall and those guys. are we going to use recent stats to rate them or are we going to use the stats at the time when they played?

Okay, let me bring it home. NOTE, wunnuh talking bout Mia Mottley and when she went to LSE.

What was the rating of the university at the time when Mottley attended it?

How can any sane man use the 2019-2020 ratings of universities to judge a woman who went to a university long before that time period?

I tired telling wunnuh here that Hal Austin IS NOT AS SMART AS HE WANTS US TO BELIEVE.

32. “I am sure that not one of the boys of BU have ever had female surgery.

Well I have. Female surgery is NOT, I repeat NOT, a “death bed” kinda thing. Lolll!!!

Death bed what?”

..I once had radical surgery and was out and about the next day…..

…they needed the time to PLOT and PLAN…to suck in the fools, they done know how easy it is to fool RETARDS ALREADY…

thankfully not everyone is thus SOFT IN THEIR HEADS…

33. Mr Franklyn is a guy i respect quite a lot especially on union andcivil service regulations. However i find was he has the csmeras on him in the senate he likes to be melodramatic.Hence i ask why come to the senate meeting then to walk out and why didn, t Ms Drakes walk out with you?I didn,t see yoir leader Rev Atherley likewise.

34. Baje – 3 Degrees
    Pull dem do!! Yuh want help?🤣🤣🤣

35. David BU

Hal Austin does not bring anything positive, important or that will add value to BU, other than HIDING BEHIND THE RIGHT TO FREE SPEECH to insult other contributors. If he is allowed to continue, he will certainly destroy BU.

A time duz come when enough is enough.

I am calling for the operators of Barbados Underground to BAN Hal Austin.

I know the cowards here who he insults and are still eager to interact with him, will object. SO WHAT!!!

BAN HAL AUSTIN FROM BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.

36. @ Robert April 29, 2020 5:33 PM

The LSE has enjoyed an outstanding global reputation since the economic debates of the 1920s. These debates have also spread to faculties other than economics. In the field of law, it outperformed and outperforms Oxford and Cambridge in Great Britain as far as connecting lines to sociology and economics are concerned.

A figure with family name Barrow had also studied there, although obviously his education was of no use to him. Barrow was only a lawyer, he obviously couldn’t handle numbers – like his successor Chris Sinckler. Otherwise, he would not have advocated independence that has caused us so many problems when you compare Barbados with the French and Dutch domains.

37. Addendum

The problem with Barrow’s education is that he studied at the LSE shortly after the Second World War. At the time, Britain was going through a very difficult period. We all know that Britain had won the war militarily, but lost it economically. So Barrow’s education carried a kind of loser DNA.

It was very different with Mia Mottley. She studied under Thatcher at the LSE, at a time when successful liberal market ideas were being preached.

So Barrow and Mottley’s educational paths were completely different. Barrow became a socialist who believed in distributing wealth but only created backwoods poverty. Mottley, on the other hand, was influenced by Thatcherism and is therefore able to make unpleasant decisions and fight against the lazy mentality on the island.

38. @ Mr. Hal Austin,

Hal,

De ole man see that they are calling for you to be banned heheheheheheh

You will also notice that there are five people appointed to attack you heheheheh

39. @ Tron you olde Sexton

You are doing well with the comedy keep it up.

De ole man wants your opinion about the waste foop CNN Interview.

What you think bout it?

What was the real purpose? You notice how Mugabe swallow deep when she get asked bout Women’s Rights!

If you was dere interviewing she, i sure you would ask she bout Women’s lefts too, as in a right hook and a left jab heheheheheheh and a few bites too!

Tron, Look how IN THE MIDDLE OF this important issue bout how Mugabe abrogating the Constitution of Barbados, de people here getting side track to talk bout Mugabe LSE AGAIN?

You believe that Tron?

Dis is what we gots to guard against Tron, you in your corner, fighting to expose Mugabe using your Tragedo-comedy and de ole man in mine with my constant reminders about her despotism

https://i.imgur.com/ATnjgKG.gifv

40. Piece,

If you treat ladies with respect, you have nothing to fear.

I can’t wait to see what Senator Caswell might encounter in the future. I guess our leader is sending him on a suicide mission like OSA with GECOM and LIAT. Do you know a state corporation in Barbados or CARICOM that’s doing extremely poorly and can’t be restructured? That would be a perfect job for the senator.

41. Robert

Pay Hal no mind. Let me spell out what I posted earlier for 3 Degrees

Top 10 Law Schools in the World
    Based on the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2020

1 Harvard University
    2 University of Oxford
    3 University of Cambridge
    4 Yale University
    5 Stanford University
    6 LSE
    7 University of California, Berkeley
    8 Columbia University
    9 New York University (NYU)
    10 The University of Melbourne

42. Performance of Prime Minister’s functions in certain events

Whenever the Prime Minister is unable, by reason of his illness or absence from Barbados, to perform the functions of his office, the Governor General may, by instrument under the Public Seal, authorize any other Minister who is a member of the House of Assembly to perform the functions conferred on the Prime Minister by this Constitution (other than the functions conferred by subsection (3)).

The Governor General may, by instrument under the Public Seal, revoke any authority given under this section.
    The powers conferred on the Governor General by this section shall be exercised by him acting in his discretion if in his opinion it is impracticable to obtain the advice of the Prime Minister owing to the Prime Minister’s illness or absence, and in any other case shall be exercised by the Governor General in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister.

https://barbados.org/constitution.htm

and in any other case shall be exercised by the Governor General in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister.

43. @ John2

You have thrown a spanner in the works with your 10.01 response

44. @ Tron

Which “ladies” you talking bout? heheheheheheh

45. Our Supreme Leader, not what you think …

46. @ Tron April 29, 2020 12:40 PM
    The interview is an act of self-sacrifice and deep love for people and nation. Our leader endangers her health and shows once again that she is married to Barbados and to nobody else. Like her great role model Elizabeth I to England.

We can you see are a ‘man’ well and widely read; a true ‘genteel’ member of the literati, both low and highbrow in your complete range of literary taste.

Hope you are not implying that they share a ‘common’ secret?
    For Virginity is reserved for goddesses like “Good Queen Bess”; not political idols of double talk.

Chris Stinkliar is no Robert Dudley.

“A clear and innocent conscience fears nothing” [not even death}.

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Tron, ye older Sexton

Why dem fear de ole man so much and refusing to publish my questions to you?

48. @Enuff April 29, 2020 2:41 PM

Baje – Mr 3 Degrees

Did you not see the post in which the lying SOB suh he only got 2 degrees and not 3 – lol. I am willing to bet the Major League Asshole called Baje ain’t got 1 degree.