On reflection, hindsight is of course a wonderful thing, but I ponder just how many individuals and companies are kicking themselves, for not implementing supplemental trading measures while they had the opportunity and available funding?

Take one, if not our largest, food wholesale and retail distribution entities as an example.

If they only had spent a fraction of the millions ploughed into installing new brand signage and  instead created and managed an online website/e-business platform where people could select, order and pay for basic essentials from the safety of their own homes and have those items delivered in controlled circumstances. Such a move certainly would have helped protect employment, both for the company and its suppliers.

I have also been frankly amazed at the lack of response from major utility and service suppliers, well before lockdown, even when addressing repeated personal emails to their senior managers including managing directors. For some reason, the majority of them feel they have no obligation to respond, even when reasonable requests are made.

Equally you can attempt to contact employees at lower levels or follow the instructions on certain online or printed bills, stating ‘to share a compliment or make a query, email us at’, only to discover that address is not functional and has not been for some considerable period.

Like so many businesses, we are faced with the extreme challenge of having no anticipated earned income from which we can pay our monthly obligations.  So the natural and sensible path to take is to reach out early, to our service providers and hopefully offset or mitigate those imminent upcoming charges.

Our banks appear equally indifferent.

Yes, some may have deferred principal payments, but monthly and other charges have remained the same, despite severely reduced or the provision of non-existent services. Well before the crisis, we had given up expecting a local branch manager or employee to return voicemail or email messages, either at all, or in a timely manner.

The only remaining option is to hang-on to the telephone for an indefinite period, hoping to speak to someone that can first understand and then resolve even minor banking queries in less than two hours, usually from a remote ‘customer-care’ location in Jamaica, Latin America or God knows where.

During the prolonged Coronavirus crisis, hopefully the directors of these entities will spend a little of their newly acquired enforced leisure time in self-isolation, reflecting exactly how they intend to do business in the future, so there will be marked improvement, as and when, our economy recovers.

Poor and unacceptable customer service seems to have become rife among many of our commercial organisations and one is only left to assume that this has been accepted as the ‘norm’ by those at the highest level.

The current crisis has left many consumers with the available time to seek out and implement better working alternatives and who will be loathed to return to a sea of trading mediocrity and previous compromise.

Let us use this opportunity to bounce back with an improved way of conducting business.

Clearly, some of our captains of industry can do a great deal better.

105 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – F Grade for Captains of Industry”

1. So High Streets are characterised and anchored by retail. The BU household should search the Guardian newspaper or the former senior editor’s employer Dail Mail, not Google, and see how many High Street stores have gone into administration or shut down over the last 2 years. Then look for one of the key reasons for their failure. A supermarket is a different scenario to a clothes store. Anyhow, research Ocado’s performance (look for a warehouse fire) and compare and contrast with supermarkets with brick and mortar stores. Then visit Spoke’s website, for example, and see how people are ‘trying on’ clothes virtually. For one, online clothing stores tend to have more sizes, colours etc than in store. Like I said when I first made the comment about online shopping v brick and mortar, I know people who live in the UK that do research on these issues. In fact, with the advent of COVID, discussions have started about further reviewing high streets and town centres uses. Only few years ago, changing offices to homes was made easier to do and hotels are becoming popular. I may use Google (Google scholar included) but I don’t depend on it. I also prefer evidence-based info over desktop expertise driven by ego. BU can choose to listen to the Centre for Retail Research who madecthe 50% statement or a desktop know-it-all.

2. LOL…..CLAP BARBADOS……. how do the people who think this stuff up be so stupid when they try and market it

3. https://www.forbes.com/sites/annaschaverien/2018/12/29/amazon-online-offline-store-retail/#dd538aa51287
    Five Reasons Why Amazon Is Moving Into Bricks-And-Mortar Retail

4. Back in the early 60’s before I started secondary school two of my elder sisters had entry level jobs working at two different early supermarkets . One of those supermarkets is now a Jordan’s and the other is a Massy. Supermarkets took phone orders even back then, and delivered the groceries to customers homes and to hotels, guest houses and institutions True most customers did not have phones and so could not use the service but at those supermarkets the “rich white ladies” and the housewives of the emerging middle class professional men rarely went to the supermarket. They called in their orders, the groceries were packed and delivered right to their kitchen doors.

Even now my little Susie who lives in the great white north sometimes works as a packer for a major department retailer. The job pays a bit above minimum wage But hey it is a student part job, no great expectations except tp pack fast and accurately and to see the wages show up in your bank account on Friday. Got an award for fast accurate work during the few months she worked there.

In addition even now most supermarkets in Barbados unlike those in the great white north have packers who sit or stand behind the cashiers and pack the groceries for the customers, If payments are being made online those same packers can do the packing. But yes unless the customer is doing curbside pickup the supermarkets will need more drivers, but taxi people are out of work right now and i am sure would be happy to get work delivering groceries. The store need not even charge the customer for the delivery. let the taxi be paid directly by the customers. The customers can also pay the taxi online. Some of us without cars are accustomed to paying a tax ito bring us home once a month with the big grocery order anyhow. Some supermarkets have “free” shuttles but my supermarket has contracted out that service for years now. The customers board the shuttle and pay the driver $3 to be brought to their doors. Now the shuttle driver can do the same task, but instead of having to carry 5 or 5 passengers he or she can stack more groceries in the vehicles.

I pay my gardener and hairdresser on line, why can’t i also pay the taxi driver online?

How is it impossible in the 21st century to scale up from where we were in the early 60’s when many of us were at elementary school?

5. Some people seem to worry about the quality of groceries delivered to my door. But as a customer i know that i have the power. If you deliver crappy groceries to me I will not buy from you again.

One night bought a liter of millk from a certain supermarket. I came directly home.Next morning one of my children drank a 1/4 liter cold. The other child shortly afterwards attempted to warm up 1/4 liter. One child liked cereal with cold milk the other liked cereal with warm milk, Once the heat hit the milk the milk “turned-up”/curdled. The first child had severe diarrhea, needed 2 doctors visits and a week home from school. I complained and the store implied that I had mishandled the milk. I had not. I grew up in a family with cows, chickens etc. and I know how to handle perishables [studied domestic science too] . At that time i was spending about $7,000 per year with that store. Twenty-one years have passed and I’ve never shopped there since. But in truth I don’t think that the store that from then until now cared that they lost nearly $150,000 in sales.

Yet if i now shoplifted a $1.95 BDS can of sardines they and the judicial system would waste thousands of dollars having me charged and perhaps imprisoned.

Stupssseee!!!

People including business people MUST use good sense.

So “yes” if the quality of delivered goods is poor, the stores will either have to shape up or the customers will ship out.

6. @ PLT

The answer is not that simple if you follow your suggestion through based on logistics.

So 24 phones in the hands of 24 staff members take say 3 minutes a customer to take 24 orders. each order for purpose of example has 40 items in it. So then what happens? Do the 24 order of 40 items each get handed now to 24 guys with trolleys? Ok so the 24 trolleys now assuming the orders can be filled in I minute, must now get to 24 cash registers who can complete the transactions in another minute, leaving the trolley guys 1 minute to get back to the said order takers who would have 24 more orders waiting to repeat the above logistical path all over again. Do you see that being doable? Even if it could be done the slightest delay in any part of the chain will cause the whole plan to fail. Trust me it’s ok to say blame the supermarkets but if no supermarket on the island even those with 12 stations open and customers delivering their trolly loads, could handle the load you think 24 people on phones each taking 3 minutes to take an order could do it? Remember too is not just taking the order, they also have to take the clients name, addresses, maybe ID number and credit card info as well.

Em ain’t as easy as buying 24 cheap phones from Flow trust me!

Now

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Every crisis is an opportunity. I’m going to use this opportunity to emancipate myself from supermarkets entirely… fresh fish I can buy at the fishmarket, fresh vegetables and fruit from the farm gate (or failing that at farmers’ markets or cheapside, get chicken & eggs direct from the poultry producers, and packaged stuff directly from wholesalers.

Massy can go suck eggs.

8. I often tell my son that he loves to make easy tasks difficult. PLT is correct. I could have made it work. I bet Silly Woman could have got it done.

Steupse!

9. @Peter

#COVID19 #disruptor

10. Silly woman
    Yes but Amazon Go is for small purchases, an average of $10 per shop. Online food orders require a maximum spend of at least 4 times Amazon Go. The number of stores opened so far is also way below what was planned. This is more about convenience and novelty than anything else. In terms of Whole Foods, as an established niche brand this was a no-brainer for Amazon and their superior logistics and supply chain infrastructure. Even with some cities implementing low emission zones to tackle vehicular air pollution, online retail continues unabated with train stations and other 3rd parties becoming optional delivery points for customers. Meaning multi-customer deliveries to one address rather than individual addresses, and convenient options for customers. Returns are usually pre-paid and easier to do than in store purchases. Online purchases can be returned by mail or in store but not vice versa.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ John A
    “Do the 24 order of 40 items each get handed now to 24 guys with trolleys?”
    No, No, No.
    The 24 people on mobiles ARE the 24 people picking groceries off the shelf, putting them in trolleys, and checking them out through the cashiers at the register. They are simply paid replacement shoppers.

If you were in Massy with only 23 other shoppers would you feel crowded? No. The shopping process takes longer than the checkout process so of course you need fewre cash registers than shoppers. Did massy ever put on 100 cash registers to deal with 100 people in their stores? No. The ration will be best worked out in practice but I think that 6 cash registers will serve the 24 paid shoppers quite adequately.

Make all the aisles one way for efficiency… give the shoppers a chart which shows where everything in the store is.. If we give the paid shoppers 20 minutes to fill each order on average, and the cashiers 5 minutes to put it through the till then the supermarket can process 72 orders per hour, about 550 orders per workday. If that is not enough then more cashiers, paid shoppers, mobile phones and double shifts. It is NOT rocket science. It’s basic logistics that any 1st year engineering or management student should be able to figure out.

12. @ PLT

That’s a good idea I think even after things return I will continue going in the market for my vegetables etc. Plus it will give me something to do on Saturday. Lol

13. I was not referring to Amazon Go.

At the time Susie worked there she was packing Christmas orders for clothing, books, toys etc.

And we know how we grandmas go mad and bust our budgets when buying Christmas goodies for the little ones. So think hundreds of dollars for individual family orders.

And then before Christmas was done the Valentines orders came rolling in. I mean does anybody really need a fancy new red nightie? But people will buy if it is marketed to them. And birthday’s etc. graduations, wedding gifts etc. Enough to keep a large warehouse staff very busy.

14. John A
    Your position is premised on same day delivery/receipt. That is a flawed starting point. An appropriate lead time must first be established. Does Courts deliver same day?🤣🤣

15. @ PLT

On Covid Friday one major supermarket I can tell you was processing roughly 400 transactions an hour or 4800 transactions in an 8 hour day and that included the credit card transaction and closing the sale. So you would need to step that 550 transactions up a bit to handle the load I outlined above.

16. Sorry 3200 transactions in an 8 hour day not 4800 my mistake.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    “…roughly 400 transactions an hour…”
    +++++++++++++++
    With about how many cash registers?

18. @ PLT

You want me talk out the people business now lol. Let me say over 10 and leave it there.

19. @Johan A

There is opportunity, if an approved vaccine takes more there is a significant segment of the population who will want non contact shopping. This will form new habits and behaviors. Once there is a core support marketing will takeover to make it a routine behaviour.

20. Yes they are swamped with orders to process. It will take them days to clear the backlog. Many outlets said they had the single biggest retail day since they were opened. The load made Xmas look like a slow day.

21. @ DAVID.

The thing is a large part of supermarket trade comes from what is referred to as ” impulse purchases.” All those items we don’t leave home planning to buy but see them and say ” let me try this.” That spin off trade they don’t get online, as the client orders only what he needs. For that reason the supermarkets want you to come in.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    Putting two and two together…

So I see that Massy was able to process 400 transactions per hour, they simply were not able to fulfil those orders. In other words they simply did not have a plan in place to replace the labour that their customers usually did for themselves, so now they have to put their order taking on hold to catch up with order fulfilment.

Now if they would hire some extra hands to fulfil those orders…

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

John A

Crowd dynamics. The crowd response although expected to increase was beyond their imagination. How could a 24hour notice be adequate for management to plan for this surge.?

24. @ David April 13, 2020 5:50 PM

You are forecasting a world of retailing in which ‘Cash’ will no longer exist as a method of payment and all shoppers will be in possession of an e-account held at some e-financial entity.

This would mean that all adult persons must be guaranteed a minimum living ‘wage’ electronically paid and earned through the sale of their labour or by State funded welfare contributions to keep their account active.

But before your brave new e-world of commerce can come on stream Barbados must first introduce self-service at petrol stations and self-checkout at supermarkets to prepare Bajans for the future of full AI.

25. PLT
    We on the same page. More staff, I said it on another blog. Even Amazon hiring 75,000 new workers to deal with the surge.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

So @JohnA, if we take you as a spokesman of sorts here of the supt industry should we interpret your remarks that this is seen as an opportunity for business growth and a big sale day – like the Christmas season – rather than a major crisis requiring a focued change in operational best practices. SMH.

How else should one interpret your comment *”The thing is a large part of supermarket trade comes from what is referred to as ” impulse purchases.” […] That spin off trade they don’t get online, as the client orders only what he needs.*** For that reason the supermarkets want you to come in.***”

I shake my head at your remark as I realize it was said off hand without consideration that this is once in a 100 year plague like event that is killing people in shocking numbers and CANNOT be seen as a Shylock moment by anyone.

But then again a US fund manager Bill Ackman is reported as coining over $2B on the COVID market declines via his high risk options trading…so what’s a little extra coin for our local supt market execs, right…with those impulse buys over next month or two.

SMH, bro.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, not so fast….introducing “self-service at petrol stations and self-checkout at supermarkets” is a function of a employment and capital expenditure balance more than it is a slow ecommerce ramp up.

I suggest to you senor that either of those could have been done at least 10 years ago – particularly the petrol pump thing. I would equate in a general way to the intro of EMV chip cards in US. … there , it is little incentive to do it although the tech and know-how were there, simply because there was no awesome business case for it…that eventually changed and now it’s a US standard as it was in Europe for years.

But why send home that petrol assistant to seek unemployment and replace him with a card reader pump… on that I would say govt should ban them actually.

Self checkout are also quite straightforward (generally) but again in our small environments do we really need them that significantly… I doubt we do.

28. At present it is unreasonable to expect same day delivery. Companies should use all means to let customers know this. My sibling in the U.K has told me that it is taking about a week to receive her food order. It is up to the stores to manage the customer’s expectations.

A friend here in Barbados who ordered last week Wednesday at about 1 p.m. from one of the big box grocery stores, was called and asked to pick up the order on Thursday morning. So some stores have got it.

29. @ Silly Woman

“I pay my gardener and hairdresser on line, why can’t i also pay the taxi driver online?”

Have you been faking it ?

30. @John A April 13, 2020 6:23 PM “Yes they are swamped with orders to process. It will take them days to clear the backlog. Many outlets said they had the single biggest retail day since they were opened. The load made Xmas look like a slow day.”

So as I said last week, at present the supermarkets ‘corning” the money.

Why not spend some for extra staff, even if only short timers. At present a lot of people are out of work and would be glad to earn some money even if only in the short term.

31. @John A *”The thing is a large part of supermarket trade comes from what is referred to as ” impulse purchases.”

But marketing to entice shoppers can also be done on line. Certainly when i go to Amazon to buy books they promt me to buy books I may not have thought of,

I don’t know how much it costs but certainly other online stores do the same. Buy one pair of shoes or a dress and prompts appear to buy more, more, more. A friend who likes to read “complained” that the Amazon prompts are like “crack cocaine” or for the company “impulse buyer heaven”

But maybe our merchants don’t have the money/technology/technicians yet to “seduce” the online shoppers.

32. John A
    Real online grocery shopping facilitates and promotes impulse buying more than in store. You can see from the time you log on what are the specials, deals, discounts. What to pair with what, substitutes, what you bought last time, suggestions, replacements. You don’t get tired walking, or can’t bother to bend down or reach for an item. Not to mention the lay out of the virtual shelves and the ability to checkout at a later time/date and even amend your order after placing it.

33. Just received on WhataApp a notice from Mass which says in part “due to the enormous response, regrettably, effective April 13th, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. we are TEMPORARILY suspending further access to our curbside pickup and home delvery service as we process the orders currently in our system”

34. @John A April 13, 2020 4:22 PM @ PLT The answer is not that simple if you follow your suggestion through based on logistics. So 24 phones in the hands of 24 staff members take say 3 minutes a customer to take 24 orders.”

Customers should be “seduced” into emailing their orders. For example I have a Massy and one from Mr. Proppa. Those merchants already know my name, address, phone numbers and email address [one even sends me a birthday card right on time every year] They ought to know my payment history, and even the things I buy every month, including my favourite brands. Otherwise why have they been issuing these cards if they are not mining the data?

For the time being why can’t i just email in my order. I’ve already written down what i want to buy. . The store already knows via my unique customer number, my name address etc, The picker grabs the shopping list out of the printer and picks up my order, No need to write down anything or “waste” time asking me for information which the store already has.

I transfer money from my checking account to my credit card account and pay the store with my credit card. Or if the store already know I am a good customer i can pay cash on delivery, or with a crossed check. Or the delivery people can have a mobile device and I can swipe my card while standing 9 feet from the delivery person.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I’ve been ordering from A1 Emerald city exclusively by email since the beginning of March. They were quite efficient with same day service before the 24 hr lockdown then things went offtrack. I am expecting my order from last Thursday to be delivered tomorrow or Wednesday. I think they are doing an OK job given the circumstances and Easter weekend.

36. Good.

37. The stores should be able to look at my shopping history over the past year or the past twenty years, and generate a list of the items I buy most frequently, for example I like carrots, sweet peppers, onions and tomatoes. I have NEVER bought eddoes in my adult life [maybe I ate too many as a child] I rarely buy cabbage or beets, don’t like them much [although I grew some beets last year] I buy equal amounts of 2% milk and lactose reduced milk based on my family’s needs. I rarely buy okras because I grow my own. If the grocers are not mining the data either their technology/technicians are not good enough; or they have paid for technology and technicians and are not using them to the optimum.

38. The supermarkets prior to the Covid virus did not offer a bad online service. The volume was low and manageable. Then you throw at them in a 24 hour period a volume that they could not conceive ever having to handle. Remember the Wednesday night all was well and supermarkets were to be open, then by Thursday the game changed to shut them down for 2 weeks.

What exactly did you expect was going to happen? As I said picture Xmas eve with only 18 hours notice to shop!

39. We are conflating two issues. The inability of the supermarkets to respond to online demand for food as a result of the curfew and the neglect of supermarket business model to integrate a scalable/robust e-business solution by local captains of industry.

40. @ Vincent.

No company globally could in 18 hours notice convert a business to handle several times it’s daily volume. Especially when more than half of those hours were in fact spent sleeping. As I said before the chaos was a direct result of a bad decision by government made out of panic. When you move a supermarket from handling say 20 online orders a day to 600 with less than 24 hours notice, how do you expect them to prepare for it? The notice Massy sent out tonight clearly shows the results of such a knee jerk approach. It will now take them days just to clear the backlog of phone and online orders.

Total madness.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

“I transfer money from my checking account to my credit card account and pay the store with my credit card”
    why bother to have a CREDIT card, just use debit, if you are not utilizing the credit facility. BTW I loved the crossed cheque. Haven’t had a chequebook in eons, and even then, haven’t seen a crossed cheque since I left Bim.

42. @Northern Observer

They are probably accessing a loyalty program. How does the blogmaster know? We do the same.

43. David
    Do you know if protective glass shields are being installed between cashiers and customers in supermarkets for the reopening on Wednesday?

44. I don’t understand all this fuss about food deliveries. Just call Sandy Lane, special services. Or the admin of your gated community. That’s all.They’ll do it. Relax. If the credit card is right.

Why should our government worry about ridiculous details?

45. @enuff

They were installed at Emerald City Carlton in response to strike action a couple weeks ago. One can reasonably assume this is something that will be in place soon for all supermarkets and financial institutions

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :23 PM

Where was the neglect on the part of the supermarkets? Do you think these( ?)”e” systems can be designed and installed in 24 hours or even three months? You need to take a good dose of reality? Which planet are you living on?

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Vincent CodringtonApril 14, 2020 9:09 AM
    “Where was the neglect on the part of the supermarkets?”
    The neglect on the part of the supermarkets was in not expanding both their staffing levels and their communications infrastructure to deal with the changing conditions of trade. They failed their customers miserably. Adapting to changing market conditions is the fundamental responsibility of every business corporation for three pivotal reasons: for the protection of the capital invested by its shareholders, for the security of employment of its workers, and for the quality of services to its customers.

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PLT at 10 :17 A M

The two supermarket chains at which I shop weekly and for several years, have been expanding their quantity and quality of staff and do adapt to local marketing conditions. But it is a matter of perception.