At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. You do realize the blogmaster intervened to correct John2 who incorrectly stated the death count for Guyana?
    #blogmasterisatruetruebajan

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

some one than can read and comprehend could see that from a mile off

thought you were going to let it slide @david.

2. Well…good news, Africans in Nigeria are having none of the 21st century PLOT TO ENSLAVE AFRICANS nor COLONIZE AFRICA and are BURNING the chinese out….BURN THEM OUT..

colonizing plotters beware, we are not our foreparents…not mentally…so proceed at YOUR OWN RISK.

3. I read the Sun newspaper nearly every day. So.…..I do not despise you. I pity your aggressive ignorance and a reluctance (inability?) to reason. And I have spelt it out on numerous occasions.
    You have two roles: as chairman and as a commenter. I suggest you separate them. For once using a pseudonym will be justified for your opinions pieces. Use a pseudonym for silly, ill-informed opinions and you will be ignored by me as others are.
    The chairmanship should be objective and fair. Instead, you are the first to attack, yet when people reply you and your mob then try to turn the attack on the person you attacked. That is the behaviour of a coward. Don’t attack and you won’t be attacked. Attack and expect to be attacked in return.
    Citizens have a right to critique the president, especially in the light of bad leadership (following on from what she calls the lost decade), but for some inexplicable reason you think this is not acceptable and often come out all guns blazing. But critics are not going to run away. If you want to take a ‘bullet’ for your leader, then expect to be shot.

4. You may have the last word.

#blogmasterisatruebajan

5. What does ‘having the last word mean’, apart from a deflection or an exhaustion of an argument, a cast of mind, a condition? It is verbal nonsense, a discursive surrender.

6. The following comment was posted by @LyallSmall this morning on another blog to respond to a critique of a graph he submitted to BU. It is a comment worth unpacking by some.

TheOGazerts.

You’ve made my day! Glad you liked the graph.

I used to be almost an expert on Excel and my Master’s thesis was on an Epidemiological project many many years ago so your comments on the earlier graphs and the mistakes I made with them really hurt because you were totally right in all respects.

7. never get too cocky and arrogant, follow the science and experts. Singapore tried their best, but may have reopened too early, can’t relax restrictions…

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-new-cases-moh-apr-21-foreign-workers-dormitories-12660968?fbclid=IwAR2-L5FulCmlYaCD1ski378ReTWXqKFIR8CUAAlCmCNSyd1DqAuWbDbKR1s#.Xp7LpFFjck.facebook

“Four weeks ago Singapore was a shining example of a country who had COVID-19 under control… Then they lifted their restrictions and now they are sadly paying the price..”

8. We also risk a new outbreak of the Wuhan plague if Charles Jong visits his relatives and brings back something bad.

9. @ Silly Woman April 20, 2020 6:25 PM
    “When I lived in Quito a little coco tea, and i don’t mean the thing used to make chocolate, helped to ease the altitude difference, and i noticed that the indigenous people are kind of small. if you live so high up and oxygen is scarce evolution ensures that you are not lumbered by a 6 foot, 300 pound body.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well well, here goes our globetrotting friend once more while her Bajan kitchen garden beds (and Animal Farm) go to ruin!

Next you will be regaling the BU audience with more tall tales about your 6 months stay on Lake Titicaca to catch the ‘high-flying’ fish which you sent back to Bim along with your “little coc(o)a tea leaves to help out the people living on Mount Misery.

You should also query why the Pygmies are “kind of small”.

At least you are being honest with yourself as you admit to your severe withdrawal symptoms from the drug of brainwashing caused by the life-long imbibing of the Jewish fairy tall tales about mankind’s origin in some mythical garden of Eden where the Sun shines 7/24/365 with Eve skinny dipping without even an erection of lust from a blind and dumb Adam until the ‘snake’ revealed itself and pointed the way to the gate of lifelong ecstasy which even you today would kill and cure over.

10. Now i would add an adjective which fits bajans like a glove malicious
    Robert you are a perfect example cause nobody call yuh name but like a true bajan couldnt help but to peep out yuh window to see what was going on {Quote}

@ Maridummy

So, wait, MALICIOUSNESS GOT DIFFERENT MEANINGS?

WUH, NUHBODY DIN CALL YOU NAME, EITHER, but you decide come out to attack the blogmaster on behalf of your chairman. YOU EN MALICIOUS.

BUT I MALICIOUS because, YOU accused the blogmaster of insulting people and call it the bajan condition and all I asked if you and your chairman DON’T DO THE SAME THING TOO, IF THAT IS NOT THE BAJAN CONDITION, ALSO.

SO, THE MEANINGS OF MALICIOUSNESS AND THE BAJAN CONDITION IS FLEXIBLE ACCORDING TO WHO IT IS?

WELL, WELL, WELL!!!!!

11. Just ignore the barking wild dogs. They want to be heard. Let them drift back to their cesspit of obscenities and fabrications until they are fed again. {Quote}

THAT IS ANOTHER ONE TO ADD TO THE LIST, “BARKING WILD DOGS.”

AND WUNNUH NOTICE THAT IT UNPROVOKED———- NUH BODY DIN CALL HE NOTHING.

ANYWAY, HE WOULD KNOW HOW TO IGNORE A BARKING WILD DOG. HAD TO DO IT EVERY DAY, FOR YEARS. FROM THE TIME HE WAKE UP ON MORNINGS, TIL THE TIME HE READY TO GO BACK TO SLEEP AT NIGHT. SO, HE DOES COME HERE TO TAKE OUT HIS FRUSTRATIONS ON BU.

POOR CHAP.

AT LEAST IT IS MUCH EASIER HERE TO IGNORE THE BARKING WILD DOGS. HE COULD EITHER TURN OFF HIS COMPUTER OR LOG OUT FROM BU.

12. @ Baje

Have you noticed everytime you try to critique any social policy programme in Barbados the first thing the BU warriors do defensively is compare Barbados with some other nation, usually the US, Canada or quit e often the UK?
    They cannot seem to defend a policy based on its own principles and appropriateness. It is irritating, but like a constant itch. Or there are those who want to prove t hey are more Barbadian than others.
    I call it the Boris Johnson/ Donald Trump syndrome: The New York-born, Turkish Boris Johnson wants to prove more British than the ret of us; and the Scottish/German Trump wants to be more American.
    Just look at the chaotic incompetence over social distancing, the curfew and shopping. These highly educated and equally highly paid politicians and advisers cannot even organise a simple roster.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Small minds attack people.

Smaller minds attack their own people.

The tiniest minds attack can be found in crabs.

#spoton!

cccccccccccccccccccccccccc

YOU, YOU, YOU are the biggest hypocrite on the blog. You never apologize when you are exposed to have been incorrect in postings.

You support commenters who agree with you. When those commenters are also exposed as posting inaccurate comments you ignore.

YOU are a blasted hypocrite, a man with no shame, no integrity. Yet you claim to be a former journalist. A good journalist goes after truth. A good journalist is tied to an ethical code of behaviour.

Here is the laugh, you despise the blogmaster however every aching minute of the day you and others of your rh ilk are logged to a blog managed by THIS blogmaster.

Blasted hypocrite.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal LED BY THE FAMOUS BLOGMASTER WHO SHOULD LOOK IN THE MIRROR AND TAKE THE PLANK OUT OF HIS OWN EYES.

HE BLATANTLY HIGHLIGHTS AND AGREES WITH ANONYMOUS BLOGGERS WHO SHARES HIS NARROW MINDED VIEWS.

HE IS TIED TO THE GOVERNMENT AND BU BLOG IS NOW THE DEFACTO MOUTHPIECE OF THE BLP GOVERNMENT CHAMPIONED BY HIM.

WHILST I MAY UNDERSTAND PEOPLE MAKE NOT LIKE BEING CALLED THE BAJAN CONDITION OR 2×3 ISLAND OR FIND IT OFFENSIVE HOW ELSE DO YOU WAKE PEOPLE UP WHO SEEMS NOT TO UNDERSTAND OBJECTIVITY AND ARE NOT EVEN EMOTIONALLY MATURE AND WANT TO LASH OUT AT OTHERS AND EXPECT THEM TO TURN THE OTHER CHEEK DAY AFTER DAY.

HELL NO THAT IS NOT HOW THE REAL WORLD WORKS YOU GIVE AND YOU GET.

IT IS EMBARRASSING TO LIVE OVERSEAS AND SEE THE SHITE GOING ON IN BIM AND THEN PRETEND THAT ALL IS RIGHT UNLESS ONE HAS SOLD THEIR SOUL TO THE DEVIL OR JUST PLAIN IGNORANT.

FOOL ME ONCE SHAME ON YOU, FOOL ME TWICE SHAME ON ME……

BARBADOS IS A DEVELOPING ISLAND WHO DUE TO AN EVENT OUT OF EVERYONE CONTROL ECONOMICALLY BECAUSE OF DEPENDENCY OF TOURISM WILL SUFFER IN UNTOLD WAYS IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

THE SUFFERING SHOULD NOT BE FROM GOVERNMENT GOADED ON BY THEIR LACKEYS AS WE SEE ON THE BLOG AND EXPECT EVERYONE TO FALL INTO LINE IN AGREEMENT.

THAT IS SMALL MINDED THINKING AND IS A CONDITION OF CRABS IN THE BUCKET SYNDROME.

JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

13. Don’t attack and you won’t be attacked. Attack and expect to be attacked in return. {Quote}

IT IS A PITY YOU DON’T TAKE YOUR OWN ADVICE.

HE SAY SOMETHING THAT I LIKE REAL, REAL BAD. MAN, I LIKE IT SO BAD THAT I HAD TO WRITE IT DOWN.

HE SAID: Let me end on this: I think we will DO A LOT BETTER if we were to CONCENTRATE ON DEBATING IDEAS RATHER THEN DRIFTING INTO PERSONAL INSULTS AND ABUSE , even if that is the Barbados way. {Quote}

AND LOOK AT WHAT HE SAY THIS MORNING.

Thanks for defending me against the village idiot. But every time he opens his mouth he proves my point: his limited education; inability to critique; his lack of knowledge of key subjects; his willingness to be obscene, etc. In other words semi-educated, ignorant, buffoon. I could also add aggressive, angry, prone to violence and a liking for mobs. {Quote}

IF THAT ENT PERSONAL ABUSE, THEN I DON’T KNOW WHAT PERSONAL ABUSE IS.

FABRICATIONS? NO. THE EVIDENCE IS THERE.

14. ” Ten Consecutive Days Of No New COVID-19 Cases ”

https://stluciatimes.com/ten-consecutive-days-of-no-new-covid-19-cases/

15. As of April 20, 2020, Saint Lucia has a total of 15 confirmed cases of COVID-19. Of these 15 cases, 13 of them have recovered to date and have been discharged from hospital care, two of whom were repatriated to the United Kingdom earlier in April.

At present, we only have two positive cases in isolation at the respiratory hospital.

Our last confirmed case was reported on Friday, April 10, 2020 and since then of the 58 tests run, all have been negative for COVID-19.

ccccccccccccccccccccccccc

” Ten Consecutive Days Of No New COVID-19 Cases ”

https://stluciatimes.com/ten-consecutive-days-of-no-new-covid-19-cases/

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

CAN ONE OF THE BLINDED GOVERNMENT PROPAGANDIST ON BU BLOG INCLUDING BLOGMASTER LET ME KNOW WHETHER ST LUCIA CLOSED THEIR PHARMACIES AND SUPERMARKETS TO ITS PEOPLE CAUSING THEM UNNECESSARY HARDSHIPS AND GREAT STRESS?

CAN THEY TELL ME IF ST LUCIA IS ON 24HR LOCKDOWN?

DID ST LUCIA JAILED ANYONE FOR 6 MONTHS OR A YEAR FOR BREAKING MIA’S CURFEW OR DEPORTATION PENDING?

DID ST LUCIA CHANGED ITS LAWS IN THIS CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC TO GIVE ITS PRIME MINISTER ULTIMATE AUTHORITY BYPASSING CABINET?

15 POSITIVES CORONAVIRUS DEATHS 0 ST LUCIA IS VERY VERY LOW COMPARED TO 75 POSITIVES CORONAVIRUS DEATHS 5 BARBADOS (WHERE PEOPLES CIVIL LIBERTIES WERE REMOVED BY MIA CARES ALSO KNOWN FOR PULLING ON CAMPAIGN TRAIL DOCUMENTS OUT OF A RED BAG FOR HER OWN NARRATIVE AND SELF PROMOTION).

GIVE ME THE VOTE AND WATCH MUH

16. Piece…just one example of just how ahead we are….music to our ears. Every manjack will run back to their countries and stop using small jurisdictions to be parasites and evading taxes….lol…totally screwed.

“Denmark has told companies that they will not be eligible for bailout funds to help them through the coronavirus pandemic if they are registered in tax havens, prompting calls for other countries, including the UK, to attach similar strings to their own financial support packages.”

17. What is embarrassing is that the wild dogs, savages and pigs (that was last week) have facilities waiting for them if they are infected with COVID -19 and the civilized human being Hal Austin is out in the UK (where the silly prime minister, the health minister and the chief medical officer were all stricken) worrying that the civilized English people will leave him to die like a whimpering black dog.

Wuh dah funny doah!

Life is good here in the jungle at present for us animals.

Sorry guys! We are still alive! Sorry to disappoint you. Try again tomorrow!

18. BAJE

YOU ARE SO DUMB

Did they teach you how to do a comparison when you did your 3 degrees?

Did Barbados have a curfew in effect when it only had 15 cases?

how many did Barbados had infected and what was the daily or weekly infection rate when they implemented the curfew measures?

you know how to google and criticize well when are you going learn to think?

19. What is embarrassing is that the wild dogs, savages and pigs (that was last week) have facilities waiting for them if they are infected with COVID -19 and the civilized human being Hal Austin is out in the UK (where the silly prime minister, the health minister and the chief medical officer were all stricken) worrying that the civilized English people will leave him to die like a whimpering black dog.

Wuh dah funny doah!

Life is good here in the jungle at present for us animals.

Sorry guys! We are still alive! Sorry to disappoint you. Try again tomorrow!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

CALM DOWN.

THIS IS COMING FROM THE 10% WEALTHY AMONG THE WORLD POPULATION.

PRETTY OBVIOUS THAT YOU NEED SOME TIME IN THE MENTAL IN BLACK ROCK WHICH IS MORE APPROPRIATE FOR YOU THAN THE WOMAN IN COVERLY CHRIST CHURCH VICTIMIZED BY MARK MALONEY AND THE GOON POLICE FORCE IN BARBADOS.

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND TAKE OR GET MEDICATION FOR THE MENTAL INSTABILITY YOU HAVE.

AFTER ALL YOU CAN AFFORD IT SINCE YOU AMONG THE TOP RICHEST 10% GLOBALLY.

DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR AND OUT OF TOUCH WITH REALITY.

ENJOY YOUR DAY AND PLEASE GET SOME HELP WITH THOSE DEMONS IN YOUR HEAD.

20. BAJE

I told you drop that shit of trying to compare what happen in Barbados with every damn part of the Caribbean/world!

cuss mia as much as you like
    cuss the bees ag much as you like

We all on BU got that part that you don’t like them
    no one can fault you for that
    but the comparisons day after day mek you look so stupid, who would want to follow you if you finally come up with a good idea?

Stick to the promises that mia aint fulfill !

21. Bajeposa you ain, t tired taking licks you are like ice cream. The other day you were parading about Jamaica how low their rate was.Then low and behold you realize that their cases has skyrocketed blowing your argument out of the water and now you switch to St Lucia? Who will you switch to next fraud.Clesfly you have no credibility on this blog and should take a long rest from your petty political agenda.

22. BAJE TRIED

THE WORLD – MAURITIUS DID BEFORE BARBADOS
    JAMAICA – JAMAICA INSTITUING SAME MEASURE LARGER PART OF THEIR POPULATION THAN BARBADOS
    GUYANA – GUYANA DID ABOUT 1/3 OF THE TOTAL TESTING
    ST LUCIA – AT THE SAME STAGE OF 15 THE CONDITIONS WERE COMPARABLE.

ALL THIS TO PROVE WHAT???

that he don’t like mia and the BLP (under pretence that he care about Barbados).

23. remember who said

“ne thing that makes me happy is to see Barbados is the laughing stock of the world”

or something very similar to that

the one and only BAJE who want us to believe he so much care about Barbados or bajans

24. MEXICO POPULATION 126 MILLION

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Mexico enters most serious ‘Phase 3’ spread of coronavirus epidemic

MEXICO CITY (Reuters) – Mexico has entered what the government calls “Phase 3” of the spread of the new coronavirus, the most serious stage, as transmission of the virus is intensifying, Deputy Health Minister Hugo Lopez-Gatell said on Tuesday.

Mexico has registered 712 coronavirus deaths and 8,772 infections, with 511 new cases reported on Monday.

But health officials expect the real number to be substantially higher as Mexico has limited testing capacity. Lopez-Gatell on Thursday said the government’s “Sentinel Surveillance” mathematical model estimated there were 55,951 cases across the country.

Lopez-Gatell said the focus of Phase 3 is to further reduce movement of people in public spaces and that it was vital that Mexicans followed government’s social distancing instructions to prevent the country’s health system from being overwhelmed.

“Today we want to announce the start of ‘Phase 3’ of the COVID epidemic, remembering that we are in the phase of rapid spread where a large number of infections and hospitalizations are accumulated,” Lopez-Gatell said during the daily morning news conference held by President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador.

Mexico’s leftist leader once again vowed that the country would not enforce “authoritarian” measures such as curfews, which other countries around the globe have implemented.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/mexico-entered-most-serious-phase-125222515.html

25. @John2

Why don’t your focus on a more constructive discussion and avoid a couple dishonest commenters who are of the view they are so smart by using double monikers.

26. Most of the world is living paycheck to paycheck – those who even have one. The real wealth is concentrated in the 1%. The inequality in the world is one of the most talked about problems in the world today. I did not make up the stats. They came from those tasked with producing them. Do you know the value of my property or my bank balance or other assets and what I owe. It takes very little to be in the top ten percent in a world full of poverty and people living paycheck to paycheck who cannot afford even a minor emergency. Surveys have shown that forty percent of people who live in the “wealthiest country in the world” the US of A cannot afford an emergency. People are stretched out and buried in debt, living above their means on numerous credit cards. Young professionals cannot get out from under their college loans. Most of the world is broke. Their debts outweigh their assets. They are in the red. I am not.

So yes, I can afford treatment for any mental problems which arise and will get it if need be. But right now I am happy as a lark being productive and have no need.

There is treatment out there for madness. I know of none that can cure what ails you – whatever it is that makes you so obnoxious and vile. You have turned this blog into a toxic place. It is fast becoming a place where I do not want to be. It was hard enough to deal with Hal Austin but the two of you together prevent anything positive from happening in this space. You are The Terrible Toxic Twins.

PS. Much better to watch my carrots grow. They peeked out this morning. I must thank Robert Lucas for the dry grass tip. Much better to bake some bread and test out my bread maker. These are all things I always wanted to do but never got around to doing.

Out!

27. David BU are you saying that thisnewbie fraud Baje is using more than one moniker?I thought you had banned anyone caught doing that.Anyway can you confirm this since many on here questions his intentions from the begining and have proved him to be a liar on several occasions and would like nothing better than to blow him fully out of the water for the fraud he is with his ill will towards bajans.

28. Not picking sides… Just cannot help amusing myself

🙂 So you have been given a chance to do some research on Guyana, Jamaica, T and T and now St Lucia. Enjoy the Caribbean cruise and stop complaining 🙂

“Skippa, I wanna go Grenaduh. It next?”

29. Well at least i can warn the fowls not to go on the first blog, because if they think it’s bad here and they are fretting….wait until they see what i posted….and they can’t even complain because i am warning them..

30. This is what is happening in New Bruinswick,….so Northern, how come you aint saying nothing and Lawson disappeared..

“I keep reading “no new cases in N.B.” It is important to understand that this does not mean new people aren’t getting sick from COVID in N.B. What is means is that now COVID has been around for awhile, most people believe that (i) there is nothing doctors can do (or will do) unless you have severe symptoms and (ii) there is no sense going to get tested if you just have mild symptoms. As such, people who have mild symptoms are likely just going to bed in hopes of getting better. In short, given that many of us in N.B. have to drive 75 km or more to get to a testing location or hospital, I serious doubt if someone wakes up with mild symptoms their first inclination would be to jump in a car – alone…or with someone else who may or may not be sick – to drive 45 to 60 minutes each way just to get tested. That’s not how New Brunswickers think….especially when half the population is out of work and can barely afford to eat, let alone put gas in their car to waste driving into the city when sick, for a test that tells them they’re sick.”

31. For those who don’t know, it is a rural area of Canada, not even a cushion of $2,000 a month and unemployment benefits for everyone is making it easy during a plague.

32. Another Bajan condition to call people with whom they disagree liars

33. Yet the biggest liars are sitting in Parliament and the blp yardfowls see no wrong
    If one wants to find an island of hypocrites try barbados

34. Six days of a COVID 19 case not reported.

35. Thank you, dear Mia Mottley, for eradicating the two worst infestations in Barbados: the DLP and the Wuhan plague, although I’m not sure which is more dangerous.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

WW&C
    I haven’t a clue what is going in N.B. BTW its a province, it has good sized towns as well as rural areas (don’t know where your quote is from) I know lobster season got cancelled. And they still have snow on the ground. Otherwise, unless the deer, fox, moose and raccoons are spreaders, those same rural (many Acadian) communities are likely safe. I mean who the hell is going there at this time of year? And now a denture maker grabs a gun, some gas and an RCMP uniform and drives around killing 22 and burning down homes, in Nova Scotia, so if they were not staying home before, they are now.
    Our Achilles thus far has been the senior homes. Covid can wipe out 33% of the residents in 3 weeks. Curve flattening, but still a ways to go yet.
    I see somebody (WH?) didn’t like JHopkins reporting USA as a country, so now they are reporting deaths by towns and regions everywhere. That way it doesn’t place USA as #1. I thought they liked being #1?

37. @ Tron ye olde Sexton

You said and de ole man quotes

“… Tron April 21, 2020 8:24 AM

We also risk a new outbreak of the Wuhan plague if Charles Jong visits his relatives and brings back something bad….”

You flying dangerously close to being apprehended for sedition with your riotous yet mutinous comments against the cherished one of Mugabe Charles Me Love You Jong Time!

you are not scared?

When is the last time that you type in the website ip-tracker.org pun you computer?

What is your My IP Country: saying now to your Honourable Blogmaster?

What you need to do is to write a genuine and long letter of apology to the Director of Communication Long and copy it to the Blogmaster apologizing sincerely to “Me Love you Long time” saying that “you were overcome by a fit of jester idiocy” or that you were attacked by Jester Ince or some similarly unknown ailment, that caused you to write these spurious items here.

Or you could claim that your Chinese girlfriend left you recently and derefore he became the target of your anger when you remember the sweetness dat you had!!!

Tings like dat cause if you continue to hit out at Long may “shorten” your career heheheheheheh

38. Northern…it’s rought out there, stay safe, people will get spring fever among other mental issues and not just in rural areas, since then the death toll from that denture dude’s rampage has risen, it’s now over twenty=two deaths being reported, if it’s accurate, they claim they are still finding dead bodies everywhere…the ones living in the rural NB areas are the ones feeling the most hopeless, for want of a better word..

am sure by next month metropolis towns ans cities will explode into something even worse and don’t talk about the inner cities am sure everyone is just oiling and cleaning guns for the summer madness, restrictions will go to their heads…

For the last couple days i have seen various scientists saying this, now WHO comes out with the same thing, everyone now has to be super careful…no relaxing….serious situation.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/coronavirus-pandemic-who-antibodies-immunity-covid-19-a9476371.html

“The World Health Organisation (WHO) has warned “the worst is yet ahead of us” in the coronavirus outbreak, with the vast majority of the public thought to remain at risk from the disease even in countries that are lifting lockdown measures.

Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, the organisation’s director-general, said early data indicated fewer than 3 per cent of the population has had Covid-19 in the worst-affected regions, meaning there is little chance of widespread immunity to the virus.

More than 2.5 million coronavirus infections have been confirmed across the world, but antibody testing – which shows whether a person has recovered from the disease and is now probably immune – is expected to reveal there have been many more undiagnosed and asymptomatic cases.”

39. “I see somebody (WH?) didn’t like JHopkins reporting USA as a country, so now they are reporting deaths by towns and regions everywhere. That way it doesn’t place USA as #1. I thought they liked being #1?”

These days i just watch from the sidelines, these people have way too much energy pour moi…i tire easily, they don’t….i really need the little energy that i have left.

…it is a very bad situation though and i hope they not only flatten the curve soon, but infections and deaths drop significantly if not stop altogether….people are dying at a horribly fast pace….and everyone is being impacted and feeling the effects..i saw one report today where they are now just freezing bodies in parts of NYC, i suspect it’s because the death rate is now higher than the speed with which they can bury them.

I hope the smaller islands are taking notes, this is not the time to be reckless or careless.

40. PAHO
    Is paying close attention to the lies and halftruths
    This message is for Minister Bostic

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) officials are eager to see more testing for the COVID-19 virus being conducted in the Caribbean and Latin America.

In addition, PAHO is recommending that governments start putting measures in place to release prisoners if cases are reported in prisons, in an effort to prevent a widespread outbreak in that setting.

The recommendations were put on the table as PAHO held its weekly virtual media briefing on Tuesday.

PAHO Director Dr Carissa Etienne said she was hoping measures implemented in countries were sufficient “to flatten the curve significantly” but suggested that the numbers being recorded were not a true reflection of how widespread the infection was in the Caribbean and Latin America.

“We need a clearer view of where the virus is circulating, and how many people have been infected in order to guide our actions. It is important to accelerate and expand testing to trap the spread of COVID-19 in the Americas,” said Etienne.

“Expanded and decentralized testing will help us better monitor the trends of the pandemic within each country. This also helps governments introduce, reinforce or adapt public health measures such as social distancing. Expanded testing will also allow local health authorities to implement and strengthen contact tracing to quickly isolate suspected cases and to break the chain of transmission in communities,” she said

41. When opposing views say Hell NO something doesn’t seem right the yardfowls fly off the fence and launch attacks
    The above statement by PAHO falls in line with many who suspects that the daily zero numbers by the ministry of health seems concocted and out of sync with reality
    A reality that would have produced clear and accurate finding if a vast amount of the population was tested
    It is startling that with the many factors that shows were people can have the virus but shows no symptoms
    That the ministry of health would continue to give COVID updates borne on so little testing
    Shame Shame Shame

42. Symmonds: Community tests could be next option

BARBADOS’ COVID-19 TESTING could soon be community-based if the country continues to register days when there are no new infections.

Minister of Tourism Kerrie Symmonds, in an interview with a Toronto-based media company about how Barbados was coping with the pandemic, suggested that by next week health authorities could start doing random local tests as it ramps up containment and mitigation measures.

He said should the random testing also produce good results, then an ease on the national lockdown could be reached sooner rather than later.

“There is still no evidence of community spread, which is good, but we want to maintain our guard and make sure we can, in the next week or two, if we don’t have any more positive cases, start random testing across communities to be doubly sure there is no spread. If we can do at an average of 100 to 200 tests per day, then medical health professionals feel if we come to that point, we could relax some of the restrictions currently in place.”

Main isolation facility
    Barbados has conducted 1 098 COVID-19 tests up to yesterday. Five people have died, 25 of the 75 tested positive but have recovered and sent home, while 45 remain in isolation, most of whom will be moved to the main isolation facility at Harrison Point, St Lucy.

On Monday, Minister of Health and Wellness Jeffrey Bostic revealed the receipt of a further 27 000 test kits and 2 800 swabs, which would allow for more testing and contact tracing.

In the interview with Travel Pulse Canada, based in Toronto, Symmonds said authorities wanted to improve containment though there had been no evidence of community spread.

“We seem to be plateauing, but it is still way too early to roll back your safety net. We have to continue what we’ve been doing, specially aggressive contact tracing,” he told interviewer John Adams.
    (BA)

43. Encouraging signs

“We are seeing encouraging results.

Most countries started recording cases sometime in March.

Anguilla has gone 17 days with no new cases; St Vincent, Dominica, Grenada, in the range of 11 to 12 days without new cases, and here in Barbados, six days.

“There are at least ten countries in our region where there have been no deaths reported. Governments and ministries of health are working very hard to maintain [certain] restrictions and continuing to encourage people to [practise] physical distancing as they are reviewing the next steps after the two-week incubation period,” he said, adding no country had been overwhelmed.

Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic said the additional testing kits were invaluable as Barbados expanded its testing for the virus. He added the country could only have achieved what it had due to partners like PAHO. (CA) MINISTER OF HEALTH JEFFREY BOSTIC (centre) and Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George (right) receiving the personal protection equipment yesterday from PAHO representative for Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Dr Yitades Gebre.

http://nationnews.brb.newsmemory.com/newsmemvol1/barbados/nationnews/20200422/20200422mw_06.pdf.0/img/Image_0.jpg
    Extracted from Nation newspaper 22/04/2020

44. Yet the biggest liars are sitting in Parliament and the blp yardfowls see no wrong. If one wants to find an island of hypocrites try barbados {Quote}

HYPOCRISY AND TELLING LIES LIKE THEY GOT DIFFERENT MEANINGS TOO.

Another Bajan Condition is to TELL LIES when you want to prove a point. Case in point, Maridummy said she was in another Caribbean island recently and that she manages a large corporation.

THERE IS NO BIGGER LIAR AND YARDFOWL ON BU THAN MARIDUMMY.

READ ALL HER POSTS BETWEEN JANUARY 2008 AND MAY 2018. THE DLP COULD DO NO WRONG FOR HER. SHE DEFENDED EVERYTHING THEY SAID AND DID.

I REMEMBER SHE WAS DEFENDING DEM WHEN THEY RETRENCHED THE OVER 6,000 CIVIL SERVANTS, TALKING ABOUT PEOPLE SHOULD PUT COUNTRY BEFORE SELF. AND THAT THE LAYOFFS WERE FOR THE GOOD OF THE COUNTRY.

NOW SHE TALKING BOUT HYPOCRITES.

SHE IS SO DUMB SHE MAKES A DOOR KNOB LOOK SMART.

45. Hope everyone is paying attention and stop talking shite, the sweeping powers MEAN NOTHING if you do not even have a WAY FORWARD…

Was waiting on more info to address the agriculture blog.

Miller…watch this 3-0…with the bigger countries being 3…

Dependency tourism is OFFICIALLY GONE…and will never be the same again.

Denmark has OFFICIALLY decided to refuse their companies that use tax havens to avoid paying taxes to get any bail out money DURING THE PLAGUE and they have encouraged UK to do the same, just a matter of time before all the other countries that have companies who EVADE TAXES will ALSO FALL IN LINE…. so now the international business game is also ABOUT TO BE GONE…and will never be the same again….

So on top of all that bad news that is certainly no laughing matter, the EU decided AFTER BREXIT to clamp down on UK owned territories, that are KNOWN tax havens……and that was EVEN BEFORE THE PLAGUE…when i was carrying on and carrying on with the cousins in the Palace, that is how far back it was…

https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=A2KLfR48HqBeRj8AxE5XNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTEyNWJxb3RhBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMzBHZ0aWQDQjk5MTVfMQRzZWMDc3I-/RV=2/RE=1587580605/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fwww.msn.com%2fen-gb%2fnews%2fuknews%2fin-wake-of-brexit-eu-to-put-cayman-islands-on-tax-haven-blacklist%2far-BBZXOqJ/RK=2/RS=ZGJrhBqqiizxUQoimd0o7rawROM-

So where does that leave DEPENDENT ISLANDS like Barbados whose governments do not and NEVER wanted their PEOPLE to be self-sufficient in the area of food, business, agriculture ….NOTHING…who enable and encourage DEPENDENCY in everything…to keep the PEOPLE AS PAUPERS, BEGGING AND BORROWING…while the greedy, useless minorities LIVE OFF THEIR BACKS..

Well the FOWLS cannot tell us anything, it’s way ABOVE their low pay grade…..maybe the more ENLIGHTENED among us can ASK Mia……SO WHAT NOW?? now that she has REFUSED to allow HER PEOPLE to have the marijuana and has been ACCUSED of selling it out to corrupt, parasitic minorities….who CANNOT DO ANYTHING WITH IT ANYWAY, during a PLAGUE…oh KARMA…

just look at the 0.

46. Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) officials are eager to see more testing for the COVID-19 virus being conducted in the Caribbean and Latin America.

In addition, PAHO is recommending that governments start putting measures in place to release prisoners if cases are reported in prisons, in an effort to prevent a widespread outbreak in that setting.

The recommendations were put on the table as PAHO held its weekly virtual media briefing on Tuesday.

PAHO Director Dr Carissa Etienne said she was hoping measures implemented in countries were sufficient “to flatten the curve significantly” but suggested that the numbers being recorded were not a true reflection of how widespread the infection was in the Caribbean and Latin America.

“We need a clearer view of where the virus is circulating, and how many people have been infected in order to guide our actions. It is important to accelerate and expand testing to trap the spread of COVID-19 in the Americas,” said Etienne.

“Expanded and decentralized testing will help us better monitor the trends of the pandemic within each country. This also helps governments introduce, reinforce or adapt public health measures such as social distancing. Expanded testing will also allow local health authorities to implement and strengthen contact tracing to quickly isolate suspected cases and to break the chain of transmission in communities,” she said

47. @ Mariposa

You are right to be cautious about official figures. It is a question of trust. If officials play games with transparency, then why should you take their word for granted?
    Ask the so-called Czar to publish his epidemiological methodology; as them to explain their testing regimes; ask them to explain how people became infected, where and the spread. How many negative tests must people have before they are pronounced virus free? How many tests do we do each day or week? Who are we taking scientific advice from, not medical, but scientific?
    Of course we all want Barbados to be CoVid-19 free, but we do not want officials to cook the books to make us feel good.

48. Now that the furore over opening supermarkets has abated we have the naysayers turning their attention to the accuracy of the numbers being issued by public health officials.

#spoton

49. When the numbers wer 3-5 per day or 10 + a week for a few weeks before the last six days of 0s NOT ONE MAN/WOMAN, rat ,cat or jackass questioned the numbers