I did not know what to make of last night’s [1 April 2020] announcement. We continue to treat this COVID-19 as a political exercise. However, it seems to have finally dawned on someone that their political games will have fatal consequences.

Lawson
I am not a pilot and am not aware of their conditions of work.
For SAFTEY reasons FAA rules may be totally different.
flying a plain to England
there are other pilots for if its an emergency case and I don’t think they would dock a pilot leave in that case.
if its not an emergency then why would a pilot want to report sick (and have his leave dock if that the case) when the planes mostly fly on auto pilot?
They keep saying from 5:00PM today……. but this extracted from GIS: (is it 5:00PM or 6:00PM???)
NOW THEREFORE by virtue of the power and the authority in me
vested and on the advice of the Chief Medical Officer aforesaid I do hereby
issue the following directive.
(1) A curfew is hereby imposed throughout Barbados from the 3rd
April, 2020 to midnight on 14th April, 2020 between the hours of
6:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. on the following day.
@David “You are aware the majority of cases are bajans returning from New York?”.
When this broke in NY, the island should have been shut down for the very same reason. Trinidad closed there’s, and if Barbados would have done it sooner those seniors wouldn’t have been a problem. But, it all goes back to the quick buck, and greed by the government, merchants, and airlines, etc. So now the government has to take the hit for its lack of government and the drastic measures that now face the island. Just look at the lines at the supermarkets, you think that Covid-19 can’r be passed easily there.
John2 it was a joke John don’t over think it
John2
Since u got all the answers why don’t u advice the braying govt donkeys that created the supermarket mess that it is time they get there act together and stop making the poor and vulnerable having to make unconscionable sacrifices
The people have been asked since May2018 to make all kinds of sacrifices
Now today April 3 2020 the sacrifices being made by the people are overbearing and spiteful all because of govt hardline mistake akin to genocide
People standing in the long lines in the hot broiling sun trying to buy food in less than twelve hours is inexcusable
Some body needs to be lock up for this crime against the humanity of the bajan people
My God
Where is the responsibility of individuals to stand 6 feet from the person in front?
What all are witnessing is fuel throw on a raging fire all because of govt not having vision oversight to see that a tsunami of biblical proportions was heading their way
Some body ought to be locked up
@ David.
Alot of the panic buying today came from the fact that the acting PM said one thing Wednesday night and the opposite Thursday at midday. People therefore with a lack of clearly defined leadership will go into panic mode. This is nothing I did not expect after her midday announcement. I can also tell you that many of the people waiting to go into supermarkets will not get in them today, based on the time now and the lines outside. I can say that having not long passed Massy Holetown. Then what will happen you think?
Many of those who get in will not have gas to cook with either as most of the sellers on the west and north are out of bottled gas already.
All this could have been avoided if a proper plan was in place and adhered to but instead we now have this chaos.
@John A
That said what does that have to do with an individual being responsible for their health by observing social distancing?
Did the acting prime minister clear her speech on Wed with the president? If so, did the president approve the speech? Are there any plans for a food shortage?
We cannot blame the acting prime minister, she was only fronting for the Cabinet. We are all in this together.
MARI
John2
March 26, 2020 9:10 PM
It needs to go on full lockdown
XXXXXXXXXXX
Everyone got their own opinion/ reasons when the shut down should have started.
None of us are advisors to the government. Although I would have shut it down a lot sooner I do acknowledge that government is taking their advice from mainly their medicals advisors.
How come you are not one that out there in the broiling sun?
@Vincent, I must respectfully disagree. There is ALWAYS a blueprint for crisis management. Every govt should have them…let me go way left field to make the general point and then I’ll come back.
Do you think that the Adams govt had a specific ‘blue print’ on action to repel Sydney Burnett-Alleyne or rather a military crisis plan re internal possible insurrection with possible outside help which they would have adapted and modified with speed to deal with that threat which ended in Martinique!
This I would be shocked to know that Ministry of Health (Cabinet) did not have a blueprint of some form laying out a crisis response for a major health related event…and because of the threats from Ebola and H1N1 I anticipate the modelling could have bnee based on a respiratory contagion type virus.
I can only make that supposition…based on practical, sensible governance expectations !
Now you asked directly:“… do you have a blue print of the process that managing this unprecedented event would take? We are all in no man’s land here, brother.”
We have exhausted many words on this topic in recent days so I am going to be very brief…
First up, “no man’s lands” is what I interpret as that place of strange desolation where you are totally unfamiliar and cant get your bearings!
But if you are in a strange place but you can look beyond the unfamiliar surroundings and identify key celestial bearings from the star or far away see outcroppings which help you establish key points of reference then that no man’s land is in fact not quite as desolate as first appears.
Barbados had numerous bearings that were quite visible from NY and Italy to name two, which could have very purposefully informed their predicament…that coupled with those mandatory crisis blueprints should have guided them differently in my opinion. Simple.
I would have been stringent at cabinet were I an adviser or Minister. I would have asked the PM the same simple question: ‘if we have done 340 test and have 34 positives should we not be concerned that if we do 600 test by tomorrow that we will have 60 positives… Madame PM we have a NY sized problem on our hand and we don’t have that NY size resource pool…let’s move now’!
Anyhow, we all in this together..so what’s done, is done. I gone.
Two months ago i planned my shopping also bought adequate amounts of water
Did not wait for govt to plan my life
No i am not sharing my water or food supply with govt
Stop begging
The government’s rollout of the 24 hour curfew and supermarket shutdown raises existential questions for Barbadians.
Is this a sht show, or merely a cluster fck? These distinctions are more than academic.
I invite the political poultry from both sides of the cart road to weigh in… Mariposa? Enuff?
Brilliantly said! @plt
What a farce this. How can the govt give 24 hours notice and expect panicked crowds to social distance at the supermarkets?
Is anyone in the govt thinking these issues through?
Once again Hal Austin is shown up as uninformed. A former investigative journalist that can’t investigate. Bajans can continue to blame everyone else for their actions. Why would I, having been bombarded with all matters about COVID-19, go and congregate cheek by jowl in a mass gathering to last minute buy food? My cupboard would gotta be empty for me to see those lines yet gather. Farms open, fish markets open, village shops and minimarts open but we gone to buy wuh from the Populars etc? Bajans really ain’t serious. Look at how the UK and US governments fuck up their responses but the likes of Hal and the other know-it-alls in the diaspora don’t seem to be lining up outside Tesco, Walmart or any mart.
David 3, 2020 12:25 PM
Where is the responsibility of individuals to stand 6 feet from the person in front?
Xxxxxxccccccccvvcv
Are u serious do u know what fear does to the human mind
Just think for a minute having so much going on in the mind having to deal with long lines in the hot broiling sun
Your one focus is looking for a cool place.not standing out further in sunlight
It is time govt issue a longer time period before curfew time gets shorter and the people start to rebel
Are we as a nation world class? punching above our weight? Best political leader in the world? Or grossly incompetent?
Is the UK? Look hush do! Still awaiting the themes of your numerous theses given your all encompassing expertise.🤣🤣
not begging
my point is that you are not relying on government. for once I give u kudos.
Donna did the same.
SW always prepared so she don’t have to make a move.
From time I hear first case in Barbados I told the wife what to do.
Now I know everyone don’t have the resources to do like you but I will bet you a lot of those out there in the sun no could have been home doing something else if they had prepared early instead of waiting government.
it is ok to blame gov but the individuals got to use their heads heads too
@Enuff
so it has nothing to do with Acting MAM announcing that the supermarkets will be opened during the lockdown and the next day saying they will be closed? man guh way wid yuh nonsense, do!!!!
How did this government manage to cock this up when they were being warned and warned.
The supermarkets are now a disaster zone and nighmare for everyone, just because they did not want to hear and believe they know it all.
Why are the supermarkets not being allowed to deliver…thousands cannot get in to stock up on food supplies…a total disaster which can lead to starvation..
from one cockup to the next…watch muh nuh..
Enuff
April 3, 2020 12:54 PM
Once again Hal Austin is shown up as uninformed. A former investigative journalist that can’t investigate. Bajans can continue to blame everyone else for their actions. Why would I, having been bombarded with all matters about COVID-19, go and congregate cheek by jowl in a mass gathering to last minute buy food?
????????????
Watch Venezuela!!
Bill Withers & Jose Feliciano 1973
Sad to see another from those days passing on – I was at Mona Campus in 1973 when this was recorded
Wonder how many of those standing in the long lines voted for this govt
My advice to them is to get it right next time
Also must tell them wuh sweeten goat mout bound to burn the belly
Now a message to govt they need to revised their 10 lost years slogan
To one day plus two weeks of impending hell for the People
Planned your shopping where? In Barbados?
DavidApril 3, 2020 1:13 PM
Planned your shopping where? In Barbados?
What difference does it make
Didnt wait for headless 26marching band to show me direction
@Enuff
Bajans really ain’t serious
These are the same Bajans that voted for your Gov’t, maybe they followed the Gov’ts instructions and refrained from hoarding. Looka I know that in your eyes the Gov’t can do no wrong, but a change in direction about shopping in 6 working hours? Now you defend the Gov’t with “I’m alright Jack” attitude.
You are right Bajans aint serious if they were serious they would be rioting.
That above video shows the end result of uncaring govt who from day i put the interest of the people last
What a dam shame
“Our response was to wait for the 24/25th affected person, in accordance with the W.H.O., prior to taking action. Too bloody late!”
That is crap, many islands like St. Lucia, St. Kitts, Grenada etc only needed ONE INFECTION TO LOCK DOWN and they too followed WHO notifications nd guidelines…this government is lying, they could have locked down earlier and did not need 25 infections first, that was their delaying tactic and it BACKFIRED, it was greed kept them open, now they will feel the consequences.
Lawson…that is why it’s you locked in up there with Justin..
I would close the supermarket – NOW.
more changes coming from Acting MAM. Where is the real MAM when yuh dont need her? lol
will the Actors get it right?
MARI
30 – 0 AGAIN ! DEM aint getting one seat.
you think the people aint know that if DEM did in power thing would have been a lot worse?
one thing for sure – u harping bout closing the border early – DEM did gne keep them opened just like the Bees did.
JOHN2April 3, 2020 1:28 PM
I would close the supermarket – NOW.i
Yuh mean after hours of standing in the hot sun
Close the doors in the people face
Yuh crazy
It is not as if some of these people have adequate transportation to take them back and forth
As long there is no major threat to cause violence let the scence play out
Why are we in the midst of a pandemic promoting political rhetoric?
The CZAR of COVID 19 just declared that the model in use projects 100s of deaths.
The 5 p.m. curfew announced for today has been extended to 8 p.m.
Acting Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw made this announcement moments ago on Down To Brasstacks after consultation with Attorney General Dale Marshall and stakeholders.
mari
public health reasons. I would shut them down IMMEDIATELY NOW!!!
I HAVE SEEN SOME IN THE HOTSUN AT A JOB FAIR.
” You may be able to spread coronavirus just by breathing, new report finds ”
Who is speaking to the nation? The Czar, a non-medical and non scientist; the acting prime minister; or the attorney general? WSe want a single voice.
Barbadians are generally happy with the proactive interaction by government ministers. Each person are in a position to bring relevant information and perspectives.
Greene
Your head either hard, you on an agenda or both. We are dealing with a pandemic that is characterised by constant change, this is not for example a hurricane that you can say is 100miles of Bdos moving at xmiles. All yuh behaving like it is only in Bdos the response to the pandemic is constantly changing. You and your ilk can continue to look fuh stripes but I don’t have time for igrunce. Why you ain’t down in the line at Popular?
Heard 6 more people have tge virus
At this rate the health system would become overburden
How did we get here
This is very serious as crunch time approaches and the numbers become frightening
Pray for the country
Leadership is what is needed
Disorganisation, chaos, incompetence. Is this world class and punching above our weight? It is a disgrace. Flamboyant speeches, waffling on for three hours, are no solutions. Details, dear boy, details.
We need firm authoritative leadership. Leadership is not about speeches. The nation is like a rudderless ship. Cometh the hour, cometh the (wo)man.
“Why you ain’t down in the line at Popular?”
You may not like the man, but don’t ask him to commit suicide…
@ Hants
Keep listening before then they might change their mind again. As I said before they are like a sailboat in high wind. I have to say how they handled this last chapter has left much to be desired.
The government DID NOT TAKE THE INFECTIONS SERIOUSLY…so the people did not either and this is the result…plus people had to wait to get paid the measly wages the shitehound employers in Barbados pay…..and the government knows all of this, yet there they are playing with people’s lives…despite all the multimillion dollar taxpayer paid consultants.
what a cockup of gigantic proportions…
Don’t mind FOWL Enuff…the other islands did not have all this confusion, there were some hiccups but not fights and cussing and such large gatherings because the PM or her sidekick decided to up the ante and create goddamn confusion.
As long as they know it REFLECTS ON THE GOVERNMENT AND NOT THE PEOPLE….everyone is watching
this was badly handled from DAY 1…amateur hour…