Barbados Goes on Partial LOCKDOWN

Prime Minister Mia Mottley  advised the country tonight that Barbados will impose a curfew from 8PM to 6AM starting on Saturday 28 March 2020  until 14 April 2020. On a personal note the Prime Minister also shared she will be MIA for a while because her medical team advised her to undergo a medical procedure this coming weekend. Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw will act as prime minister. The blogmaster wishes her well.

790 thoughts on “Barbados Goes on Partial LOCKDOWN

1. Pelosi … “Come to Chinatown … safe … join us”

Back in February!!

In other words don’t mind Trump the virus is not an issue!!

2. Going back some five years or more ago one man invested his political capital in a lie about the nationality of Barack Obama… He lied and lied and lied and it has served him well.

Here on BU the same thing applies handily… Lie, after lie after lie.

For the record the US expert De Fauci said this: (my emphasis)

“Whenever the models come in, they give a worst-case scenario and a best-case scenario. Generally, the reality is somewhere in the middle. I’ve never seen a model of the diseases that I’ve dealt with where the worst case actually came out. They always overshoot,”

“I mean, looking at what we’re seeing now, you know, I would say between 100 and 200,000 (deaths). But I don’t want to be held to that.”

The joys of being Christian…I imagine… the ability to lie and go to ur priest for regular penance and forgiveness…

I will see u again tomorrow, my son, said the priest!

3. The topic here is Trump, not Pelosi. Nobody ever said that Pelosi is a very stable genius. One cannot be a very stable genius and vacillate from one extreme to the other. One cannot be a very stable GENIUS and predict that the cases would peak at fifteen and quickly plummet to zero and find yourself out by 188,530 with 3,889 deaths and counting.

That being said that does not mean that he is totally wrong about everything. The mortality rate could still turn out to be no more than the flu. That all depends, as you have said, on the denominator. This virus appears to be more dramatic because it seems to transmit more easily and when it kills, it kills quickly.

We shall all have to wait and see as will Dr. Fauci AND Donald Trump because none of us have got a clue really.

4. Trump was not the first world leader to close his country’s border in January.

Another country did it a week earlier and has 5 deaths so far!!

It’s population is 23.8 million.

Let’s see if you can figure out the puzzle of the numbers.

5. I do not need you to direct me to a link to understand what is going on I also have PH.D and have done post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA. Have been teaching public health courses. So cut the sarcasm.

Hey Dr Robert Lucas, thanks again for reminding us of your background in microbiology. I promise we will try not to forget this time.
    The Dullard is not interested in what you did in the 1970s. Why do you feel the need to share your CV on an anonymous virtual rum shop?
    The Dullard is just a simple guy, no fancy academic titles nor “post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA”.
    He is not impressed by certificates (only the green, honest type) but actions and truth.

In any case the comment was not directed at you but at others who continue to mislead the blog.

Did I tingle your fragile ego?

6. WHO also said that the virus only infects people in certain categories most the elderly and people who are sick
    Now we are seeing people much younger being infected and dying
    The truth about the mask stems from shortages which is understandable but the authorities including Trump has proven themselves to be bold faced liars on the issue
    I listen to a clip of Carlson Tucker take on the story of the mask and the confusing explanations given by leading authorities and i had to agree with every word he said

7. David, the problem with the WHO guideline in wearing masks is the ‘fragility’ of its core intent.

It’s not that wearing a mask by others will NOT generally be beneficial to prevent infection but simply because they need to focus on the gear of masks for medical pros due to the shortages.

In that the WHO et al are being disengenuous … They will do us all a GRAVE injustice WHEN they then start to advise the wearing of masks by the masses….

Which they WILL eventually as the issue of supply becomes a NON-ISSUE… Soon enough.

8. Just as truth is not yours. Just saw your very stable genius changing his mind yet again. Apparently HE has a friend who is critically ill with complications from CO VID 19 . And so NOW the virus is NOT like the flu.

And if you are referring to the fact that I did not subtract the fifteen cases from the number it is because by now they should have recovered and the number should have been ZERO.

Now I will leave your rabbit holes to Bugs Bunny and return to THE CHILL ROOM.

9. @Mariposa, there are occassions you make reasonable points but you are so often boldly imprecise that it’s difficult to accept you as ‘legitimate’ even when that happens.

Case in point above… Your remarks about use of masks are in ball park of my views of the matter…

But then you accompany that reality with the completely INACCURATE “WHO also said that the virus ONLY infects people in certain categories most the elderly and people who are sick”!

I have read (like many) heavily if this subject matter and I NEVER read that bit of disinformation.

Can’t YOU do yourself a big favour by being more careful or do you deliberately intend to be careless just like others you condemn!

10. “One or more of the experts is crazy given these simple numbers.

Like I said, the experts and the press need to be called to account.”

Just as we followed the pattern to see how Covid survives…follow the pattern to see where everything leads…..the frontline workers are the ones seeing everything play out in real time..

we done know Dr. GP is not doctor Enuff to tell us what he knows and/or suspects…too busy hiding.

11. The Bronx.

“Nurses and doctors at Jacobi Medical Center are on a “suicide mission” — exposed, along with their patients, to coronavirus because of inadequate protective equipment, a veteran nurse at the Bronx facility told the Daily News.

“We just had a nurse who passed away over the weekend from this,” said Kelley Cabrera, who’s worked at Jacobi for five years. “We are starting to see our own fall sick. Who’s going to replace us?”

Kelley Cabrera, a health care worker at Jacobi Medical Center, is pictured with makeshift protective wear on Tuesday.

Cabrera spoke through tears as she told The News that a physician colleague at Jacobi admitted himself to the city-run hospital Tuesday with symptoms of COVID-19, including difficulty breathing.

“He waited at home. He did what we’re telling people to do. He didn’t come in until he needed care,” she said. “He can’t breathe. It’s hard enough watching patients go through it. It is so hard watching one of your own go through this.”

New York State..

“Gov. Cuomo offered grim numbers at his daily presser in Albany on Tuesday as an additional 332 New Yorkers died of coronavirus in the past day as the pandemic keeps ravaging NYC and its suburbs.

The number of positive cases soared over 75,000 and the total death toll rose to 1,550 in the state.”

12. Taiwan was the country.

Closed its borders with Wuhan on 24th January, a week before Trump.

Today it has 329 cases and only 5 deaths.

Its population is 27.8 million and is also Chinese except not Communist Chinese.

It has strong links with mainland China.

It has the same population that should have celebrated Chinese New Year.

On February 8th here are some of its other actions following its severing of contacts.

Most important are its actions to prevent the young from catching and spreading the virus.

https://thediplomat.com/2020/02/taiwan-delays-spring-semester-tightens-travel-rules-over-coronavirus-worries/

You see the lunacy of Pelosi in Chinatown at a time when she should have been backing up her president’s actions!!

13. Pedantic
    Fo yourself a favour and scroll by comments
    You would save yourself a big headache
    As to my comment about WHO and statements on how the virus is spread i stand by what i said

14. @David, Informed by my closing comment that the WHO will likely change guidance of masks usage to advise their wearing by the masses as initial protection.

I thus used the word ‘fragility’ to highlight their current stance.

I get it that front line professionals caring for the sick are in dire circumstances but that does not mean that WHO and the other experts themselves should be propagating bunkum that citizens using masks is non-beneficial… That’s callously ridiculous.

One pertinent series of quotes:

“During the early days of the coronavirus pandemic, experts and officials cautioned against widespread public use of face masks. US Surgeon General Jerome Adams tweeted, “STOP BUYING MASKS!” He added that masks “are NOT effective in preventing general public from catching #Coronavirus, but if healthcare providers can’t get them to care for sick patients, it puts them and our communities at risk!”

Ok…we got that! And then we get THIS…

“But as the outbreak has worsened, experts have increasingly acknowledged that public use of masks could help prevent the spread of Covid-19, the disease caused by the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), previously resistant to encouraging mask use by the general public, is now reportedly considering it.”

It is COUNTERFACTUAL to state masks cannot be useful for everyday users… yet obviously we need them for the pros…

… now when you get to this point below then someone is simply playing on our ‘fragile’ emotions!

“The shift in expert guidance has come in the past couple of weeks — as the coronavirus has spread throughout the US. A recent report by public health experts for the conservative-leaning American Enterprise Institute (AEI) was unequivocal: “everyone, including people without symptoms, should be encouraged to wear nonmedical fabric face masks while in public.”

15. “John” keeps reminding us that Trump issued a ban on flights from China in January, he doesn’t tell us that South Korea and the US had their first COVID19 patient on virtually the same date in January, South Korea’s death count is under 200, what is the death count in the US ? Trump is like a man who told his family that a hurricane is coming but neglected to board up the windows and doors and didn’t replenish his supplies now that the hurricane has struck and the roof has blown off and the windows and doors are smashed and everything has collapsed around the residents who are huddled trying to escape the elements he is trying to repair the home but anyone would know that you can’t repair a house in a hurricane all you can do is wait and hope for it to blow over.

16. @Mariposa, as with John or Hal or anyone else who makes outlandish claims I will at times respond.

There is a response generally common to you all who are so absolutely convinced of your accuracy: you simply REFUSE to reexamine what you wrote and clarify the misspeak.

YOUR comment about WHO I would gently say was carelessly misstated… that you would redouble to ”stand by what [you] said” and thus repeat it is to be bluntly dishonest.

That statement “WHO also said that the virus ONLY infects people in certain categories most the elderly and people who are sick”!” …clearly shows your level of integrity and desire for accuracy.

Carry on smartly. It takes all to make the world spin!

17. The young are infecting the old in their own homes.

Like children in kindergarten who routinely take sicknesses home young adults also took home the COVID-19 virus to their parent’s homes and their grandparents homes.

It is the North east of America where the biggest problems lie.

The authorities, Pelosi in California, de Blasio and Cuomo in New York are culpable.

The Lord Mayor of London is culpable.

The boss of Milan is culpable.

The boss of Madrid is culpable.

etc. etc. etc.

The only sensible adult actions taken to prevent the spread were taken in Taiwan and by Trump (against expert advice).

Taiwan was barely affected.

We are in that boat as well by accident, not by design.

The virus is neither as contagious or as deadly as believed.

It however can be made to be so through childish actions.

Sweden, like Taiwan may well be doing the right thing.

My bet is they are.

Let it run its course.

No gatherings, especially young adults.

Social distancing.

Common sense.

18. The president does not have the power to direct states to follow his orders.

Left to Trump, a curfew would be on New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

Howls of protest from Cuomo!!

States have rights that can’t be easily breached by presidents and the Fed.

Pelosi, de Blasio and Cuomo behaved like petulant little children when the situation cried out for an adult approach.

19. @John March 31, 2020 10:16 PM
    “We should look at SWEDEN.
    Let it run its course.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why not proffer that advice to your example of the epitome of leadership and statesmanship.

Wouldn’t it be a welcoming suggestion coming from the Quaker pacifist Sir John to Il Duce Donald the wacky ducky?

By turning America into a quarantine camp your Fuhrer has finally declared the war he has been fighting for all along.

The Trojan immigrant horse called Covid has jumped over the ‘white-washed’ wall of cordon sanitaire and has entered the camp of homeland security.

Let us see how the trumpeter, el Presidente with his uniquely outstanding leadership qualities, ‘blows away’ the invisible enemy now contained within an imaginary wall.

Maybe he should blow his own trumpet by seeking the BU GP’s advice and let the biblically-predicted Rapture begin to signal the return of Jesus on Easter coming.

20. “In here must be the annex to Jenkins.”

lol……ya won’t be picking up anybody under the guise of Corona though, stick with ya Beggars Charity as a COV-er..

21. “Right wing regimes all over the world are exploiting the public health crisis to consolidate political power in anti-democratic ways.”

exploiters and opportunists are out and about to use COV…..er up….all types of crimes and buy time to COV…er their TRACKS..

22. Miller
    April 1, 2020 9:37 AM

@John March 31, 2020 10:16 PM
    “We should look at SWEDEN.
    Let it run its course.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Why not proffer that advice to your example of the epitome of leadership and statesmanship.

If you had any brain in your head you would realise that is exactly what will happen, with or without his help.

But, he already knows!!

The virus will run its course.

23. @John, you have very intense soliloquys and I wanted to see what are the things you are telling yourself… so if you will please clarify…

“It is the secondary infections from young to old, healthy to unhealthy, that makes this virus so horrible.”

Is there a DIFFERENT method in your deep dive analysis of history which has proven more horrible at anytime in spreading sickness/plague/virus? Your point here being what exactly?

24. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 7:01 AM
    You even got the time wrong. I suggest you re-read the post that resulted in my comment. Maybe a remedial course in English comprehension is required . You sarcasm was quite evident. It does not affect my ego. People in glass houses should not throw stones,:thus your reply.

25. Here is the PRIMARY infection.

Once infected, these independent imbeciles return to their Mummy and Daddy’s home where the SECONDARY infection occurs.

They will also infect their grandparents because they depend on them and are not as independent as they would have you believe.

It is actually quite horrible.

26. @Hal April 1.2020 %.48 AM.

“It was opposite King William Street. It was called The Olde Grogge Shoppe”

What a great name.

27. So we don’t have Chinese New Year, we don’t have Carnival, and we don’t have Spring Break … or do we?

28. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 7:01 AM

“put aside the guess work and braying”

As far as I know only asses bray and to use the term “braying) connotes that those who use BU can be liken to asses”

29. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 7:01 AM
    You even got the time wrong. I suggest you re-read the post that resulted in my comment. Maybe a remedial course in English comprehension is required . You sarcasm was quite evident. It does not affect my ego. People in glass houses should not throw stones,:thus your reply.

@ Dr Robert Lucas BSc, MSc, PhD, I will let this long hop pass outside leg. On another day I would smash it over the Kensington Stand.
    Have a good one.

30. Waru

Yuh is still a Salemite but this mek muh laff:

“lol……ya won’t be picking up anybody under the guise of Corona though, stick with ya Beggars Charity as a COV-er..”

31. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 12:51 PM

You even got the number of letters behind my name wrong also. You are not only sloppy in regard to English comprehension. Do not let the letters bother you. The places I can go just having them you cannot go. I make no pretense of saying so either.

32. I have been waiting all long to hear govt disclosed the good news which Peter Lawerence shared on Bu stating because of the generosity of the Chinese Barbados need of medical supplies is no longer necessary
    The Chinese had supplied large enough amounts to cover the time line of the virus

33. De Santis another Duffus who would rarther see the health care system collapsing than closing the borders
    These are the kind of nincompoops the people voted
    Makes me wonder how many of those that voted for Trump and DeSantis are dead or infected almost 7000 thousand people infected in fla and the jac ass would not call for a nation wide shutdown

34. Okay Bobby let’s do it your way…

The Dullard is not interested in what you did in the 1970s. Why do you feel the need to share your CV on an anonymous virtual rum shop?

Did I bruise your fragile ego?

35. 48 mins Desantis issue shut down for Fla
    It took 7000 thousand people to be infected before the duffus issues a nationwide shutdown
    My God a country of clowns taking people like sheep to the slaughter

36. Govt of barbados why don’t u tell the truth as to how low the medical supplies are
    After reading PAHO article it is about time govt of barbados comes clean to the public
    No sense in waiting until the last minute
    Transparency is what is needed now
    Not hiding behind of a veil of deceit and wishing the pandemic would go away

37. John
    April 1, 2020 12:44 PM

So we don’t have Chinese New Year, we don’t have Carnival, and we don’t have Spring Break … or do we?

We do have Spring Break.

Our own students in the US and the Ross student’s here.

I would venture a guess that the curfew is in effect to protect the young folks from themselves and to protect us older folk from them!!

38. Florida has 87 deaths so far.

Here is what the experts say.

“His about-face came as health data experts gave clearer estimates of coronavirus’s toll, they warned that even with social distancing, Florida could see a median of 6,937 deaths, and the virus could kill between 100,000 and 240,000 people in the United States in the coming months.”

I doubt very much that 87 will get to 6,937!!!

Agree the number of infections will climb after Spring Break but that does not mean the deaths will rise.

What it does mean is that the virus is not as deadly as at first thought.

My gut is the experts will have completely discredited themselves when this is over.

39. New York has 1,941 deaths so far more as a result of incompetence at the Mayoral and State Governor ship level than the lethality of the virus …. Democrats!!

California has 184 deaths … Pelosi and company.

Democrats cannot run any thing but in the ground.

40. @ Quaker John

Have you ever ran anything, apart from being a book keeper at some sugar plantation?

41. Now all across social media is this woman who claims of having no placed of abode locked in handcuffs and decked on both sides by policeman
    Now what was her crime ..Oh she broke the curfew
    Here is an instance wherby this woman could not be having no place of abode
    But the first response by police was to locked the lady in hand cuffs and take her into custody
    I get the feeling that the image was to send a strong measure to the public
    But cuhdear there are many people who are mentally challenged and have no place of abode
    Instead of using the lady as an example could not the police released the information to the public without all the kudoment publicity
    I would bet this is another one of govt publicity stunts to win favour with the people after the govt disastrous handling of the Corona Virus
    With so much crime taking root in barbados daily would it not be better to place a stronger interest in finding the criminal element that keeps barbadians in fear
    How about the squatters living illegally on land why cant govt give them the same type of police treatment that is set aside for squatters

42. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 1:50 PM

If I choose to go into a rum shop it is my money not yours. I was drinking and doing my studies at the same time. Also playing cricket. and setting up a business. How far along the scale have you gotten doing any of them? If you have tried and failed I will respect your effort and guts for having tried. You are typical of the general Barbadian population. Envious of others in your self righteousness. Personally, I find you are not very bright. I am curious to see how far you want to proceed. As I said do not let my credentials bother you. You seemed pissed off by them especially the doctorate .I did not stop you from getting one. Do you know how one gets one?. You certainly do not get one by being stupid. You, in passing talked about paper qualifications. It only shows how silly you are . All of my areas of study called for hands on practical experience. As I have said you are not only sloppy in English comprehension but also in numerical skills, having got the number of letters behind my wrong. I have taken time out to respond because I do not take s–t from people.

43. @John,

So, is the aircraft carrier that has been basically put out of commission run by Democrats?

No, this is all caused by Trumps totally ineffectual lack of leadership and action.

But, get that, an aircraft carrier out of commission because of this virus. Do you realise the implications for the defense???

Is the twit still calling it a hoax???

This is a crisis of grave magnitude and calls for definitive leadership and urgent action.

That said, your friend and his cronies would likely prefer that this is a crisis that extends into September, pushing any chance of an election into 2021 or 2022.

Strange times indeed.

44. @ Crusoe April 1, 2020 4:48 PM

There are nine more. Basically, the carrier is as obsolete as was the battle ship in WW2. You sink one of them with anti-ship missile :100 planes lost.5000 men dead or missing and billions of dollars wasted. The Admirals have this fixation on the carriers just for prestige. The money would be better spent having more missile destroyers and corvettes.

45. Crusoe
    April 1, 2020 4:48 PM

@John,
    So, is the aircraft carrier that has been basically put out of commission run by Democrats?

The spread of the virus is the result of Democrats.

So if the virus spreads to an aircraft carrier or whatever, … I will leave you to fill in the blanks!!

46. Hal Austin
    April 1, 2020 3:35 PM

@ Quaker John
    Have you ever ran anything, apart from being a book keeper at some sugar plantation?

Yup!!

47. @ Bobby

Thank you for taking the time to respond. And thanks again for reminding the Dullard of your “research” from the 1970s.
    Your little lab work from the 1970s is nothing to brag about, neither are the failed “business” ventures.

Personally, I find you are not very bright
    Look at the moniker — Dullard. But tell me, what makes you “bright”?

As I have said you are not only sloppy in English comprehension but also in numerical skills
    You “have done post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA”. What makes you think you are numerate?

You are typical of the general Barbadian population. Envious of others in your self righteousness
    I am not sure what you have that would interest the Dullard. (Grand)daughters perhaps?

A. Dullard

48. Hal

Looks like the UK is going through a second wave of deaths.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/uk/

Were there more celebrations in the UK after the Chinese New Year?

Was there an equivalent to a Mardi Gras/Carnival?

It is just 3 days.

Here is what I think was the first wave of infections in London and Milan, the days leading up to February 10.

First deaths March 14th, 10 that day.

What would have happened in the days after February 10?

Could be mass transit, London Underground.

Looks like services were curtailed on 19th March.

On that day there were 40 deaths.

So the virus had more than a month to spread via the underground if it did.

Maybe it isn’t a second wave, maybe it is a continuation of the first wave.

49. Milan also has a mass transit system.

By Feb 26 it had emptied out, Northern Italy then went into lock down on 12th March.

Probably same thing happened in London, people stopped using the Underground before the authorities closed it.

Looks like week of March 8th to 15th, a couple of weeks after Milan in this graph below.

https://qz.com/1824243/coronavirus-has-killed-off-public-transportation-across-the-world/

How many passengers in the various mass transit systems around the world?

https://www.citylab.com/transportation/2018/09/the-global-mass-transit-revolution/570883/

Unfortunately it doesn’t separate England from Europe.

“Worldwide, mass transit carried 53 billion passengers in 2017—an increase of roughly 9 billion passengers since 2012, with most of that growth occurring in Asia, and the Middle East-North Africa region. Asian transit systems carry more than 26 billion passengers a year; European lines carry more than 10 billion passengers; Latin America nearly 6 billion and North America (U.S. and Canada) just 3.7 billion. Metro networks are most utilized in Eurasia, with the average inhabitant taking 117 trips last year, although simultaneously, Eurasia is the only region to see a decline in trips per capita.”

50. Top 10 Busiest Transit Systems (Annual Ridership in Billions)
    Ranking
    City
    Ridership
    Tokyo
    Moscow
    Shanghai
    Beijing
    Seoul
    New York City
    New Delhi
    Guangzhou
    Mexico City
    Hong Kong

51. London, Milan and Madrid are not in the top 10 but they do have mass transit systems.

What can we get from the table of the top 10?

China where the virus originated has 3 cities in the top 10.

New York where I suggest the virus was first spread in the New Year celebrations is #6.

Hong Kong canceled its New Year celebrations or had them cancelled by China which also cancelled its own.

Possibly the spread in China was due to Mass Transit and not the New Year celebrations.

Possible absence of spread in Hong Kong was due to lack of numbers to spread via Mass Transit.

Possible New York had both the initial numbers through its celebrations and the Mass Transit.

Disaster.

New Delhi, Russia and Tokyo are like Hong Kong, no large numbers to spread.

52. If China’s numbers are right, and if mass transit alone and not the celebrations was responsible for the spread there then it is possible the duration for England may be similar, 3 months.

53. I remember a contributor posting a poem to imply it was some flattering prediction about Trump.

Miller subsequently posted a quote from Nostradamus, which he used to imply the opposite.

Interestingly, I came across an article in which the author mentioned Trump’s presidency was predicted in 1920, by H.L Mencken.

“H.L. Mencken foresaw the decline of American democracy and the inevitable rise of the 45th president…. all the way back in 1920.”

“As democracy is perfected, the office of president represents, more and more closely, the inner soul of the people. On some great and glorious day the plain folks of the land will reach their heart’s desire at last and the White House will be adorned by a downright moron.” [H.L. Mencken, Baltimore Evening Sun, July 26, 1920]

54. @ Quaker John

You need a new hobby. Your bogus theory is irritating, but if it helps you to maintain your sanity keep it up. I suggest you stop Googling nonsense about Chinese New Year celebrations and make yourself more useful to the society.
    It is sad that Barbadian taxpayers spent so much money on your education and now do not benefit from it. I have no interesting in debunking your nonsense. Life is too short. I leave that to others who have limited cognitive skills.

55. @ Dullard April 1, 2020 9:55 PM

You have supported the points I have made. The envy and constant harping on my research in 1970’s. The talk about business failure. Did you ever try to start a business?

56. @ Bobbie

You have made no point.

Only revert to your 1st line of defense: bray about your “post doctoral research in microbiology and recombinant DNA” and failed businesses (plural). By the way, what have you done recently?

How can I envy you? Assuming that “robert lucas” is your government name, I’ve never heard of you.

57. You guys have got to call a halt. The nation – the world – is going through tough times. We need all hands on deck, especially as it looks as if Barbados is so badly in need of sound political leadership. The chairman has lost control.

58. @ Hal

Halt to what? I am having a great conversation, getting to know the blogger with the handle “robert lucas”.

Who invited you? And how does BU contribute to “sound political leadership”?

The chairman has lost control of nothing.

59. @ Dullard

Thanks for your kind words. I do not care nor am I interested in your private conversations. What I am saying, in simple words, is that Barbados is in crisis. Our political leaders have abandoned ship, our media prefers entertainment, and BU, the single voice of the people, is witnessing two of its most articulate voices getting in to a deep personal conversation.
    Share the love, Talk to all of us, and the rest of the nation, by putting forward ideas/solutions to get us out of this mess. Nobody invifed me, and as I have said on numerous occasions, I am not a joiner. So even if invited I will decline. The only organisation I have ever belonged to was the NUJ, and then reluctantly.
    It is my view that the chairman has lost control, but that is not new.

60. Hal Austin
    April 2, 2020 3:44 AM

@ Quaker John

I have no interesting in debunking your nonsense

All I want from you is information about what is going on in the UK on the ground, dates, times!!

FACTS.

My brain deals in FACTS.

So sometimes I will provoke because in so doing accidentally a FACT you may not realise you possess or think unimportant will unknowingly slip out, something that you have seen or heard in a country with the problem which we blessed here as we are with minimal issues for the moment can learn from and try to explain.

I don’t trust the press so double check it from on the ground resources.

Everything I have seen from the FACTS I have been able to glean tells me “the only thing we have to fear is fear itself” … in cliché form.

I wasn’t brought up in fear and I will not succumb to it now!!

What about Fear of God you may say but God gave me the talents I posses and I will use them without fear!!

61. @ Dullard April 2, 2020 7:45 AM

Unlike you, I do not hide my identity using an alias. I have a pretty good idea of who you are based on a word you keep repeating.

62. @ the blogger with handle “robert lucas”

Ahhh. So predictable. Just like clockwork, when all fails, you use the old , “well at least I use my real name” routine to claim some imaginary moral superiority. Pathetic!

You don’t know the Dullard. More importantly, the Dullard has never heard of any “robert lucas” apart from this blog.

Why do you think you are so important?

63. @ robert lucas

Why do you bother?

Their behavior is so predictable.

Pretty obvious they can’t help themselves.

64. @ Hal

IN MY NECK OF THE WOODS THE US$ VALUE HAS INCREASED AT LEAST 20% OVER THE LAST 2 WEEKS.

ALSO GASOLINE AT THE PUMP WHETHER REGULAR, OR PREMIUM HAS DROPPED BY OVER US$1 (BD$2) PER LITER) BECAUSE OF SUBSTANTIAL LOWER PRICES PER BARREL ON THE WORLDWIDE MARKET.

THE CLOSEST US STATE HAS ALSO SEEN THE SAME TYPE OF FALL IN GASOLINE PRICING AT THE PUMP BECAUSE OF WORLDWIDE PRICING.

ARE BARBADIANS SEEN THIS SAME TYPE OF SAVINGS OR IS THE GOVERNMENT THE SOLE IMPORTER PRICE GOUGING AT A TIME WHEN PEOPLE COULD USE SAVINGS TO BUY FOOD AND MORE PRESSING ITEMS?

65. @ Baje

Ironically, as the world rush for the safe haven of the Greenback, the value of the Bajan is also appreciating, which spells danger down the line in everyway, including making Barbados more expensive for UK tourists. Still waiting for our economists to tell us what is the future of BERT. Note the deafening silence. On the contrary, yesterday I spent an hour watching a webinar on how the crisis will impact the UK economy.
    The oil price has largely collapsed because of the battle between the Russians and Saudis, that the fall has not been passed on to Barbadian consumers is not surprising.

66. Why do you bother? Their behavior is so predictable. Pretty obvious they can’t help themselves.

When it come to self important egotists the Dullard is both compulsive and merciless. You appear to be one of their number.

67. Why do you bother? Their behavior is so predictable. Pretty obvious they can’t help themselves.

When it come to self important egotists the Dullard is both compulsive and merciless. You appear to be one of their number.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I MAKE NO APOLOGIES.

I WILL NEVER ALLOW ANYONE ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND OR OUTSIDE BELITTLE ME OR SEEK TO MAKE ME ASHAMED OF WHO I AM OR HAVE ACHIEVED.

I HAVE SUCCEEDED WHEREVER I GO BECAUSE I DON’T SUBSCRIBE TO WHAT AND YOUR COHORTS BELIEVE AND WANT TO PASS ONTO OTHERS WHO DON’T LIVE INSIDE YOUR SMALL BOX.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.