Highly reliable test kits are available from Germany at a cost of Bd$346 per hundred tests. We immediately need to acquire 1 million tests for under 4 million dollars (that includes chartering a private jet to bring them here).

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/24/asia/testing-coronavirus-science-intl-hnk/index.html

This is the most important way of dealing with the pandemic because without data about infection rates we are simply pissing into the wind with every other measure that we take.

We need mass testing now.

– Peter Lawrence Thompson

There has been a call by a BU commenter and philanthropist Peter Thompson for the Barbados government to initiate mass testing for the COVID-19 virus, NOW.

Discuss for 50 marks.

327 responses to “Call for MASS COVID 19 Testing”

1. Hal Austin
    March 25, 2020 6:12 PM

With doctors playing God, deciding who will live and who will die, blacks come bottom of the list. When people talk of the wonderful NHS, it is not the general experience of black people.

.. or old people unfortunately.

2. Ok Hal

What celebrations have been held in Britain in January or February in which large crowds participate??

Were there Chinese New Year celebrations in the UK in January and February?

Where is Peckham in relation to any such celebrations??

Was this celebration well attended?

https://chinatown.co.uk/en/chinese-new-year/chinese-new-year/

3. Hal Austin
    March 25, 2020 5:28 PM

@ John
    By the weekend most people expect London to be in total lockdown; the length of stay on an ICU ventilator is 3 weeks; some expert s now estimate the government estimate of 250000 deaths is optimistic. Anyone over age 75 will not be saved.
    This virus is frightening. We are taking it lightly in Barbados. Either we know something or the Europeans are mental. I know which I believe.

Apart from Ms. Mockley’s gathering, we have had no big bash here in Barbados in January or February where thousands of people from all over the world are in close proximity.

The Europeans, Americans Chinese etc are not mental!!

They just had the misfortune to concentrate large numbers of people from all over the world at the wrong time.

4. Look at Africa.

We and Africa are lucky as shite.

Neither Africa or ourselves had a concentration of thousands of infected persons from all over the world gathered together at one time.

Having a few persons arriving from the centres of infection is a whole different story from having thousands.

The math is different.

5. Hal

Where is Peckham in relation to Chinatown?

6. Multiculturalism?

7. @ John March 25, 2020 7:23 PM
    I have been pointing out to Hal that to be British one has to have lived and develop an ethos over hundreds of years in the country and to have shared the same cultural experiences over that time period. Of course there is also the fact of genetics. When push come to shove, they are going to go for kith and kin. There is always the fact that people always connect to people who look like ( apart from the black race).themselves . One can call it racism but that is a fact of life.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mariposa, I dread getting into back n forth wiypth you as they quickly dissolve into yoyr nasty attacks or just simple ignorance… and that’s meant in the good way of displaying a lack of information.

But for the record…

It is ignorance (lack of knowledge) to equate your New Yorker article to a suggestion that the tests were defective. The kindest thing to say is as @PLT noted…you SIMPLY do not UNDERSTAND basic English or understand basic science.

Suffice to say you are so wrong as to be absurdly ridiculous.

Two quotes from your article (Really SMH at your absurdity) 1…”..And yet while the reagent problems were, in their way, a *** fairly ordinary technical hiccup—”***

We’ve got a lot of scientists and doctors and laboratory personnel who are incredibly good at making assays. What we’re not so good at is figuring out all the forms and working with the bureaucracy of the federal government.”

It was REGULATORY paperwork which affected the lab NOT their technical or scientific skills or results… the failure of the reagents in the prelinary testing kits were accepted technical isdues that were reported BECAUSE the scientist KNEW and understood that there was a flaw discovered. That’s how that stuff works…test, retest, validate!

Your DLP team never found Nemo, did they. 🤣

This is pure hogwash as clearly you have no grasp of what was said in the article: “Most likely all those kits that didnt get the required necessary oversight during the manufacturing process were probably sent to small island nations”

And yes *”this is a time of health crisis where action is necessary to saves lives and [DISINFORMATION SHOULD NOT be offered so ridiculously]

I gone bro.

9. There’s that temperature again.

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/fauci-says-us-needs-to-be-prepared-for-coronavirus-to-be-cyclical/ar-BB11I0s1?ocid=spartandhp

Next year just make sure the world has fewer international multicultural events in the colder months where many people are gathered.

For the winter coming up in the Southern Hemisphere, do the same.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1201971216310207

Somebody better find a vaccine quick!!

10. Sorry, that second link is better separate.

There have been epidemics but not of flu in another major gathering.

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1201971216310207

11. Numbers far smaller but principle the same, movement of large numbers from differing cultures and countries for a specific reason.

“In 1987, 1841 confirmed cases of meningococcal disease were reported in Saudi Arabia, predominantly in the three cities most closely associated with pilgrimage (Mecca, Medina, and Jeddah).20 Internationally, soon after the 1987 pilgrimage, group A meningococcal disease was reported from neighboring Gulf countries and among Hajjis returning to Europe and North America.19 In the UK, approximately 10 000 pilgrims travelled to Saudi Arabia in 1987. There were 19 reported cases of serogroup A disease among the pilgrims returning from Mecca, and 15 subsequent cases among Muslims over the following 19 months.23 All the primary cases were adults, but the 15 secondary cases were mainly children who had had some family contact with relatives who had returned from the Hajj.22, 23 In France, Denamur and colleagues observed four cases of group A meningococcal disease in the city of Amiens in the 2 months following the 1987 Hajj.24 The cases were two children, the mother of one of the children, and a 16-year-old adolescent. All cases were contacts of pilgrims returning from Hajj.”

12. Look at the picture of pilgrims at mecca.

Suppose testing reveals on is positive.

Who are his contacts?

Similar position with a parade in January/February, regardless of where it was held, New York, San Francisco, London, Ottawa, Toronto, New Orleans etc etc etc

It would be interesting to know what actions South Korea, Hong Kong, Singapore and Taiwan, China’s close neighbours took with their celebrations.

Here is Hong Kong, a stroke of luck for them, canceled for a different reason.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

This guy is good….he imitates POTUS to a T

14. Dibbler
    .you are a bold face liar
    Now you are testing my patience where did i say in my comments the kits where defective
    You brought up the principle of kits being done under strict requirements
    I pointed you to an article which stated that in early Jan that such requirements where not permitted because of a law
    I believe u consider your self to be intelligent
    However from my vantage point i consider your retort to intentionally take my comments out of context and replace with words which would support your point of view
    Just be honest and say your initial statement in which you vouched to say the kits were made under strict requirements was wrong
    The comments from the article made clarification

15. @Dribbler u can also read this article to get a clearer understanding of what is happening and how govt interference can hamper the necessary requirments for making the kits

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/23/technology/coronavirus-home-testing-swab-kits.html?0p19G=7900

Any how not going engage this matter any longer

16. Mariposa, count the locks on this sexy specimen’s head and go to sleep, nuh!

There’s a killer on the rampage,
    Don’t feel no fear!
    Can’t kill my love for you……

17. @ John

You seem to have some bizarre theories which confuse me: smoking, blaming the Chinese (which of course you got from your racist in chief the dumb Donald Trump), gathering in crowds months ago, etc.
    There is no evidence of smokers, or ex-smokers being more susceptible to the virus; you are making that up. That is no more the case then people who eat cucumber being susceptible.
    The origin of the virus is still out for debate, but of course, learning by rote means that if a Wuhan live market is the main suspect, then it become fact.
    How about the Americans planting the virus as part of its biological war against rising Chinese power? Some people say they do not trust Chinese figures, but do the US and European? Is that based on fact or political bias?
    Western governments lie and black people who remember the Tuskegee Syphilis experiment should be wary of government claims. American public democracy is not the same as European public democracy. That is what having a critical mind means.
    By the way, I do not know how it helps, but Peckham is about four miles away from China town, which is between Leicester Square and Piccadilly. In January dozens of Chinese came in at Grantley Adams/Seawell airport. None had a health check at the airport.
    But the epicentre in London is at Northwick Park hospital, Harrow, with a large Asian (Indian) community, mainly Hindus and Muslims; the hospital is also in the catchment area for Brent, which has the largest Bajan community in the UK.
    I suggest you make your will and get ready to settle your account with God.

18. @ Hal March 26, 2020 3:35 AM

Where did the outbreak Start? The Chinese tried to cover up (like all governments) the outbreak.. The virus just jump from animals to humans. A normal occurrence. A lot more of these outbreaks will happen.

19. @ Robert

The place of the outbreak has nothing to do with the origin of the virus. As I have said, the possibility of biological warfare must be factored in.
    I am no scientist, but we do not yet know how this particular disease started. From animals to humans, yes, but that does not mean the Chinese were eating bats. It is perfectly rational to assume it was created in a laboratory.
    This is what the scientists are saying, unless you know better. Stop blaming the Chinese and look for the evidence. For what it is worth, I think the US is one of the most evil nations on earth. I will put nothing beyond them.
    You may remember the murder of Lumumba, et al, Bay of Pigs, Grenada, Aristide (by the liberal Clinton), Dominican Republic, Panama, etc.. The long reach of American wickedness.

20. @ Hal March 26, 2020 3:54 AM

As I said, the virus jumped from animals to humans .That is normal. As for the this virus it is generally acknowledge that the flu bugs start in China .Jump from pigs to humans. The flu vaccine each year is modeled after genetic profile of the flus found in China. The reason for this is that China has the most pigs in the world and in the country side and until recently in other parts there was/is a cheek by jowl association between pigs and humans. Sure the Americans have done a lot of foolishness. I wager you have heard talk of a Hanta virus outbreak in China. The Hanta virus was first describe in the western states of the US. It is associated with rodents primarily mice. According to rumors the Americans are also responsible for the alleged outbreak. The disease that is killing off hogs in China is also attributed to the US. If all these things are true If I were a yank I would proud as hell of my country’s ability to be omnipotent and omniscient.
    Take a more measured approach. let there be less invective where the US is concerned and more objectivity. Do not allow personal animus to color your stance.
    I will take a break for now and watch some true crime programs. Will resume later

21. @ Robert

I am not disputing your claim to the ‘normal’ transmission of the virus. You are the scientist. All I am saying is that it could be developed in a laboratory. That is what biological warfare is about.
    Why do you think the Brits have Porton Down? For fun? They spend all their time creating biological weapons. I am saying at this stage of the crisis we do not yet know the origins of this PARTICULAR virus. It could be part of the US war against rising Chinese power. You do not know, I do not know. And the idea cannot be taken off the table. Ignore the propaganda, the official US narrative.
    As to the veracity of Chinese data, all states lie. Let us maintain some objectivity. I do not have any confidence in the honesty of the US state, and this is made worse by having a Queen’s gangster as president. It was not for nothing that Queen’s was the US home of the Mafia.
    Let us deal with the virus now, and look at the politics and history later, when the books are written..

22. This virus was in the making for years
    The epicentre was all in place starting as the perfect breeding ground in a place called China
    All the chemical compounds and toxins and pollutants contributed to the environment by mankind gave mother Nature ease and access to create a ticking time bomb which eventually explode in the atmosphere as a virus called Corona
    Over the years i have observed how mankind act with much disdain and disregard for the environment
    Behaving like children playing with fire thinking they will not get burn
    Well the environment has spoken loud and clear and its about time instead of counting economic numbers
    Get back to the drawing board and figure how all will start a process of cleaning the environment
    I indeed say that the next virus would be much deadlier and faster moving if all does not need Corona warning

23. From off-Guardian(dot)org, the web site that aims to cover issues and news The Guardian doesn’t.

12 Experts Questioning the Coronavirus Panic

Below is our list of twelve medical experts whose opinions on the Coronavirus outbreak contradict the official narratives of the MSM, and the memes so prevalent on social media.

Dr Sucharit Bhakdi is a specialist in microbiology. He was a professor at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and head of the Institute for Medical Microbiology and Hygiene and one of the most cited research scientists in German history.

What he says:

We are afraid that 1 million infections with the new virus will lead to 30 deaths per day over the next 100 days. But we do not realise that 20, 30, 40 or 100 patients positive for normal coronaviruses are already dying every day.

[The government’s anti-COVID19 measures] are grotesque, absurd and very dangerous […] The life expectancy of millions is being shortened. The horrifying impact on the world economy threatens the existence of countless people. The consequences on medical care are profound. Already services to patients in need are reduced, operations cancelled, practices empty, hospital personnel dwindling. All this will impact profoundly on our whole society.

All these measures are leading to self-destruction and collective suicide based on nothing but a spook.

(Link might take a few seconds longer than normal to load as it looks like there is a security check to prevent denial of service attacks before the connection is completed)

https://off-guardian.org/2020/03/24/12-experts-questioning-the-coronavirus-panic/?cf_chl_jschl_tk=666eac711c356d72102527269c4f3af30e90ea23-1585218226-0-Abn12EYOjR1kk6P7b4kXu7PPXS-gnKTfRMDpOewVpYbRK6uDQ-NxZ_dhQDrOGnVdYXgLpTWIISeltf4MHdINtW0gRlv7xzdPT9QYUan6OJlBeyGemm8MgITmPUfcZZ2OHtVwRBwByW12CrfABrR033hFB_snCp_zEBX6-QtF4SnzmXMJPr3dJB6gnpFHd3LFfD1z-vWAPb1m6Yqy24JshZRTTAZFGH-mq0gWeqwy-bAkbl1-JHAg-MmjRYC566OZCOnNRC9rfOErc06cdmZT0K7iGYex-N9M3bSYUGIbo1rN-P_nc2o70cjydslnc52NDNa4byr6pjsTLyQCiOkyXfdlfEXjFbXhxN_w5j6va5vL

24. It was bound to happen, Trinidad has around 50 or 60 Covid cases, there is a pattern from infection to first death and then multiple deaths….as long as stupid governments do not try to cover up the infections and deaths from the public…everything should run smoothly until this thing runs it’s course, no matter how long it takes.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/don-t-get-angry-with-kamla-over-covid-death-announcement/article_ef5c0e94-6f47-11ea-8b22-af8e3933a2ae.html

25. The pattern, always follow the pattern.

“As of Tuesday morning, the Health Ministry reports the following:

• Number of samples submitted to the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) for testing for COVID-19 = 332

• Number of samples which have tested positive = 53

The Ministry provides the following update:

• Two additional persons have tested positive for COVID-19.

One of these persons has a history of recent travel.

This person was isolated immediately upon disembarking the aircraft at the ANR Robinson International Airport and is being treated in isolation in Scarborough, Tobago.

The Ministry of Health in a press conference this morning explained the process of contact tracing. They have identified and classified persons as either Primary contacts or Secondary contacts. Primary contacts are the persons within a household exposed to a recent traveler or someone who has been exposed to the virus, for example a spouse or child. A secondary contact is an individual who may have come into contact with a Primary contact, for example at work, religious or any social gathering.

Contact tracing was initiated. Additional information is available in the media release issued from the Division of Health, Wellness and Family Development, Tobago House of Assembly (THA) on Monday.

The second new case is a primary contact of an existing recent imported case.

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh, and Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley all said at a press conference on Monday that the transfer of the virus from an imported case to someone in Trinidad was inevitable.”

26. @Hal

spot on Hal. years from now we may learn the real truth and be surprised. it is now said the spanish flu originated in Kansas altho i have read soldiers in the european civil war aka the 1st world war experienced a flu type illness in the trenches.

bottom line everything said now about this flu should be taken with a pinch of salt- non semper ea sunt quae videntur

27. All bacteria needs is a breeding ground with all the right ingredients to grow
    The long talk about mankind having hands in the Corona virus is true but not in the conspiracy theories making way across social media

28. @ Greene

I am not sure who taught you Latin. My teacher was Livy Greaves. Keep it up. Seriously, I have been in national journalism for a long time and know that things are often not what they seem. The last thing I would believe unquestionably would be the word of a journalist.
    I will give you two simple stories: I had a friend who was a lawyer for one of the Magic Circle firms and every time there was a big crime case we would ring up each other and speculate on how the investigation would go. Often it was the usual suspects; human error; etc. Reassuring the public.
    Remember when the Boeing 737 Max first ran in to trouble the first thing they did was to blame human (pilot) error. The technology is never wrong. We now know it WAS the technology.
    You may also recall the Post Office trouble with sub-post offices and the flawed technology. A number of sub post masters got jailed because the Post Office accused them of fraud. Now e know it was the technology.
    The other scandal is when officials brief on a situation and get their narrative out; when lazy journalists go along with that narrative they just mislead the reading public. Politics and crime are two good examples of this. Read the nonsense about black crime in London and knife crime, etc.
    I was involved in one small instance, the Stephen Lawrence case, and the myth is now embedded that the then editor of the Daily Mail, out of the kindness of his heart, supported the Lawrence family. Even the Lawrence family fell for the myth. When I tell people what my instructions really were they practically call me a liar.

29. @Hal

latin teachers were Bumpy Moore and KK King.

but analytical skills gained in 6th form history especially european history taught by the beast- Mr Gittens- is what has helped formulate my thoughts throughout my life. he was a great teacher and impressed upon us whilst lecturing on the Renaissance and Reformation that one should always have a healthy distrust for authority, and official proclamations- they are almost always wrong and disseminated for disinformation.

30. @ Greene

Do you mean Stanton Gittens?

31. So Hal

Were there Chinese New Year celebrations in the UK?

Close to Peckham?

32. @ John

There were celebrations, but in China town. Carry on with your Trumpism. Why you are picking on Peckham is a mystery. One lady died from Peckham. I have said the epicentre in London and the UK is Harrow, Northwick Park hospital. the other side of London, over 20 miles away.
    And no, I do not know if the dead lady was a smoker, or drank Bajan rum, or stripped at Crop Over, or put you to bed as a baby. I do know she was 36, married and BLACK, which to me is the key as to who will be allowed to live or die in the UK during this crisis.

33. So Hal

All I am doing is trying to eliminate te obvious.

When I do that I will consider your weird theories!!

34. @Robert Lucas
    “As for the this virus it is generally acknowledge that the flu bugs start in China”.
    ##############################################################

By generally acknowledged, do you mean that the main western media and governments say so? You must be aware that this claim is strongly challenged by many, including spokespeople of the Chinese government. As for the claim that the virus originated in bats and made its way into humans, this too is hotly contested. Therefore, your statement is not accurate.

35. CARICOM will need to start about how to secure resources to address the social and economic fall out from the current Covid-19 lockdowns. Imposition of capital controls and debt cancellation have to be put on the table.

https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2020/mar/25/africa-leads-calls-for-debt-relief-in-face-of-coronavirus-crisis?

https://criticalfinance.org/2020/03/24/developing-and-emerging-countries-need-capital-controls/?

36. @ John,

Unlike you, I do not have any theories. I am just challenging the nonsense.

37. Hal Austin
    March 25, 2020 5:54 PM

We still do not know how the virus is transmitted.

It isn’t that we don’t know HOW the virus is transmitted in a crowd we do not know WHO is transmitting the virus.

A person testing positive after the crowded event cannot even tell you with whom he/she was in contact.

Obvious fact!!

It is not possible to track the contacts down unless they happen to at some time later also test positive.

Temperature testing, facial recognition are two means of screening a lot of people in a short time.

If China’s data is right, the episode will pass.

There should be far fewer deaths due to COVID-19 than the normal flu that is circulating.

38. @ Quaker John

My apologies. You are absolutely right and have been all along. Should I suggest that Mia should ask your advice?

39. Hal

The simple fact is that there are 97 countries in this world who have reported zero deaths due to COOVID-19!!

Many have reported a ONE SINGLE case.

It is obvious there was some event/events that precipitated the situation and in all likelihood they occurred inside the countries themselves.

Let’s eliminate to begin with the idea of germ warfare.

40. Wonderful to sleep on, even more wonderful to wake up to!

Maybe the sunshine WILL save us!

Some of you guys and gals have been up all night!

41. Hal

Another simple fact.

China, Italy, Spain, USA, France and Iran have more than 1000 deaths.

All have a single common factor, China.

Iran is slightly different.

https://fortune.com/2020/01/10/us-iran-sanctions-china/

42. correlation is not causation

43. @Greene

This is a whole new global economic vista of which we are a part. BLP or DLP narratives must be tossed out. Are you willing to make the leap?

44. why dont u ask others? what do you think the last ten years infer? and negative references to Barrow?

45. Barbados like all countries in the world have to adjust to a whole new world. Old narratives will not take us anywhere. If this crisis does not jolt all of us into a new mindset nothing will.

46. @John
    https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-health-iran-toll/iran-says-43-infected-with-coronavirus-eight-dead-official-idUSKCN20H0AT

“The virus came from China to Qom city. A merchant from Qom, who died of the virus, used to travel regularly to China”

Apparently licking shrines is a religious practice in Qom, that’s why it spread so quickly

So the link is China in all cases