Highly reliable test kits are available from Germany at a cost of Bd$346 per hundred tests. We immediately need to acquire 1 million tests for under 4 million dollars (that includes chartering a private jet to bring them here).

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/24/asia/testing-coronavirus-science-intl-hnk/index.html

This is the most important way of dealing with the pandemic because without data about infection rates we are simply pissing into the wind with every other measure that we take.

We need mass testing now.

– Peter Lawrence Thompson

There has been a call by a BU commenter and philanthropist Peter Thompson for the Barbados government to initiate mass testing for the COVID-19 virus, NOW.

Discuss for 50 marks.

327 responses to “Call for MASS COVID 19 Testing”

1. Strange to ask
    Is our Prime Minister ok
    –””–”–””’–””””””””””’
    Stop the Presses
    Is our Prime Minister ok
    Inquiring minds wants to know

2. @ Mariposa

More important than if the resident is well is what preparations are we making for frontline staff, in terms of protection equipment in accordance with WHO guidance? We know government has ordered equipment, but an order does it mean it has the equipment in its possession.
    What ICU beds have we got prepared? What epidemiological projections have we made? Are there any plans for a likely food shortage?
    It would also be nice to know if we are paying any international lines to provide flights to Barbados which they are not doing? What about White Oaks? Are we still paying them during this global crisis?

3. @Hal Austin March 26, 2020 7:28 AM. “Remember when the Boeing 737 Max first ran in to trouble the first thing they did was to blame human (pilot) error. The technology is never wrong. We now know it WAS the technology.”

ell the technology is made by hu-men, int it?

I remember a long time ago hearing about a Boeing techie who kept a horse as an outside hor-man. I made me feel funny, because I used to travel a lot and I didn’t feel right that such a weird character was central to the creation of the airplanes on which I travelled.

So maybe human errors are the errors of extremely weird humans.

4. @cpilgrimeaqaolcom March 26, 2020 10:22 AM

Arrrggghhh!!! Did you have to post that rat as food treatise just when I was trying to dig into an early pelau [with fish] lunch?

5. I remember a Barbadian colleague who reportedly cried at her naturalization ceremony. Others thought she cried, along with others similarly situated, because of her adopted nationality. … On the other hand, she indicated that she became emotional at the thought of someone asking her to surrender her Barbadian nationality.
    Xxxxxxxx

THIS WAS A SILLY REACTION AND IS NOT BASED ON FACT.

BECOMING NATURALIZED DOESN’T MEAN GIVING ONES ORIGINAL CITIZENSHIP OF BIRTH.

I AM A BARBADIAN CITIZEN BY BIRTH AND US CITIZEN BY NATURALIZATION WHICH GIVES ME DUAL CITIZENSHIP.

I HAVE BOTH PASSPORTS.

SOME OF US LIKE SPREADING WHAT IS NOT FACT AND TRUTH TO JUSTIFY OUR LACK OF KNOWLEDGE TO MISLEAD OTHERS.

6. At 8pm, on the dot, the entire nation applauded the NHS workers. An enormous show of appreciation.

7. More than 30 million lives around the world could be saved during the coronavirus pandemic if countries act quickly, a report from Imperial College London researchers suggests.
    The ideal strategy is to introduce widespread testing and strict social distancing measures rapidly.
    Acting early could reduce mortality by as much as 95%, the report finds.
    But lower-income countries are likely to face a much higher burden than wealthier nations.
    Researchers from Imperial College in London looked at the health impact of the pandemic in 202 countries using a number of different scenarios, and based their estimates on data from China and high-income countries.
    Doing nothing to combat the virus would leave the world facing around 40 million deaths this year, the report says.
    Social distancing – to reduce the social contacts in the general population by 40% and among the elderly and vulnerable population by 60% – could bring this down by about half.
    But health systems in all countries would still be quickly overwhelmed, the report adds
    If countries adopt stricter measures early – such as testing, isolating cases and wider social distancing to prevent transmission to more people – 38.7 million lives could be saved.
    This is equivalent to a 95% reduction in mortality.
    If these measures are introduced later, the figure could drop to 30.7 million, the researchers estimate.
    “Delays in implementing strategies to suppress transmission will lead to worse outcomes and fewer lives saved,” they conclude.
    ‘Grave global threat’
    The effects of the pandemic are likely to be most severe in developing countries,
    There will be 25 times more patients needing critical care than beds available, compared to seven times more in high-income countries, the report says.
    The researchers say their models are not predictions of what will happen. Instead they illustrate the magnitude of the problem and the benefits of acting quickly.
    They say strategies to suppress the virus will need to be maintained in some way until vaccines or effective treatments become available to avoid the risk of another epidemic.
    Prof Neil Ferguson, from Imperial College London and author of the report, said: “Our research adds to the growing evidence that the COVID-19 pandemic poses a grave global public health threat.
    “Countries need to act collectively to rapidly respond to this fast-growing epidemic.
    “Sharing both resources and best practice is critically important if the potentially catastrophic impacts of the pandemic are to be prevented at a global level.”(Quote)

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “The ideal strategy is to introduce widespread testing and strict social distancing measures rapidly.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    How can we get the Barbados Cabinet and COVID-19 Czar to read the Imperial College research and act accordingly?? Multiple people have made offers to me to contribute financially. A sensible policy is well within our national capacity, and I am trying to get non governmental organizations to understand that they do not have to wait on the government… but the Bajan mindset is making me into the voice of one crying in the wilderness.

Suggestions??

9. Last reports say PM was last seen and heard of on 20th March
    David can u verify if that report is true
    Inquiring minds are asking questions

10. US is rolling out home testing as reported just like UK, but that could be a 2 month wait on FDA and this and that….it would definitely help people control their attitudes and behaviors.

11. VOB is reporting now that the PM chaired today’s Cabinet meeting as usual.

12. Wow vob responded quickly
    However on the really important news of the stranded Trinidians entrance to barbados
    Not a peek of first hand info to alert the public

13. @ PLT

The first move is for our political leadership to accept the depth of the seriousness of the problem? Not by making long, boring speeches, but firm action. We need a task force made up of public health doctors, scientists and good mathematicians/epidemiologists.
    We need to acquisition private hospitals, turn Glendiary in to an ICU emergency hospital, take control of food distribution, establish a national home service to make sure the elderly and vulnerable living at home are looked after, lockdown the nation, and get vehicle making non-essential journeys off the streets.
    This is time for action, not for the minister of Labour, or some inarticulate trade unionist, or the equally inarticulate attorney general to be making speeches on a subject they do not understand.
    And, instead of planning patties for the Diaspora, ask them for assistance. I have said before, a huge number of Public Health England research scientists are of Caribbean heritage, most with post-doctoral research experience. Hold out a hand to them.

14. @ Silly Woman March 26, 2020 3:52 PM
    Trinidadians cook pelau with dry pigeon peas and brown-down chicken. diced carrots also added. What you seem to be talking about is a cook-up as my mum would have called a cabbage bush, salt-fish and riced cooked together. You seem to do a lot of eating ,it is a good thing you work that garden.

15. Another story of people standard at Grantley Adams airport because their country has closed their borders

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/lead-stories/20200326/jamaicans-sleep-barbados-airport-dozens-left-grounded

16. Went for an hour’s walk today too.

I like to eat, that’s true, but my weight has remained stable for decades, because I also truly enjoy a lot of physical activity. i think nothing of a regular 2 mile walk

17. peterlawrencethompson
    March 26, 2020 10:44 AM

@John March 26, 2020 9:55 AM
    “Trump will in all likelihood emerge even stronger!!”
    I agree that this is so… mostly because almost half the American population is bedrock stupid and racist as well.

Also, and more significantly, he has never had any real opposition!!

Almost half the American population supported Hilary if you remember.

At the moment he has as potential opposition Biden who is to all intents and purposes senile and Bernie who is a lunatic!!

By the way, where are they in all this pandemic talk?

… while Trump is at the bridge?

18. Coronavirus has been found in sewage water in the Netherlands and is likely to have got there from the faeces of patients with Covid-19.

Research suggests that monitoring sewage water is a good way of detecting whether specific infections such as Covid-19 are present in the population.

The Dutch National Institute for Public Health and the Environment has previously found norovirus, antibiotic-resistant bacteria and measles in waste water using the same technique.

Only a small percentage of Covid-19 patients have the coronavirus in their gastrointestinal tract and will excrete it into the sewers.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2020/03/26/coronavirus-found-dutch-sewage-water/?utm_term=Autofeed&utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_content=news&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1585215517

19. Hal Austin
    March 26, 2020 3:43 PM

What ICU beds have we got prepared?

So far, none of the 18 cases have been classed as serious or critical so none needed at the moment.

Thank God!!

If we go by statistics 81% of the 18 will recover as if it were normal flu.

We potentially need 2 beds.

Next door to the UK on the Isle of Man, there are 25 cases, none of them classed serious or critical, similar to here.

How many in Ireland?

I still think we will be spared the worse.

20. Mari
    There is article in tiday Natoon saying on wed Mia signed a loan with the cdb or some other Bank

21. First hospitalization in Isle of Man

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-isle-of-man-52050282

22. @ Baje (anonymous)

“This was a silly reaction and not based on fact … Some of us like spreading what is not fact and truth to justify our lack of knowledge and mislead others”.

—————-

Baje:

While you may be a naturalized U.S citizen and a Barbadian citizen as well, you are obviously ignorant of the Oath of Allegiance you took.

I presented a truthful factual scenario. I include for your information the actual text of the Oath of Allegiance, CFR 337.1., which you would have sworn.

https://www.uscis.gov/us-citizenship/naturalization-test/naturalization-oath-allegiance-united-states-america

Naturalization Oath of Allegiance to the United States of America

It is simply an elementary reading function, Baje. The issue of any waiver is a separate and distinct issue.

23. @ John:

“Trump will in most likelihood emerge even stronger”.

Note that there is some chatter of drafting NY Governor Andrew Cuomo as Biden’s VP Candidate. His experience and stature merit consideration, notwithstanding Biden’s talk about a Black and/or Female VP candidate on the ticket.

24. Well..people are certainly showing concern, time to come clean Ms. Mia.

“DLP wants answers – by Barbados Today March 26, 2020

The Democratic Labour Party is knocking the Government for failing to deliver daily updates on developments relating to the COVID-19 response.

In a statement issued by President Verla DePeiza, the party charges that there is “ loud silence” from the Government.

WHERE ARE THE PROMISED UPDATES?

Barbados is beginning to receive news about itself from agencies outside of this country.

There is a loud silence from a usually loquacious and camera friendly administration.

On behalf of the people of Barbados, we expect the promised transparency and fulsome communication; especially at this time.

In the absence of the promised daily updates, the Democratic Labour Party raises the following questions:

Was there a second and third group of CARICOM nationals stranded in Barbados?
    Are our ports now closed as per a Press report from a respected Guyana newspaper.
    What is the update on COVID -19 positive and suspected cases? Our last Government live update was four days ago, and finally
    Is our Prime Minister ok?

Verla DePeiza

President, The Democratic Labour Party”

25. Caleb Pilgrim
    March 26, 2020 6:47 PM

@ John:
    “Trump will in most likelihood emerge even stronger”.
    Note that there is some chatter of drafting NY Governor Andrew Cuomo as Biden’s VP Candidate. His experience and stature merit consideration, notwithstanding Biden’s talk about a Black and/or Female VP candidate on the ticket.

Cuomo and other governors are going to find themselves in big trouble after the outbreak in the US settles, if not before.

Like Philadelphia in the Spanish Flu of 1918, they let the New Year celebrations continue.

Hal,

I suspect the Lord Mayor of London will have some answering to do as well!!

26. I am also starting to see people talking about reparations from China!!

27. One of the most famous road races, Isle of Man TT was canceled.

Here is how the Manx dealt with it.

28. The stable genius has filed charges against Nicholas Maduro for turning the state of Venezuela into a criminal enterprise under the RICO statute.

CARICOM better watch out!!

29. @ John:

I have no problem with seeking such Reparations from The PRC, as may be warranted.

However, I am not unmindful of the negligent mismanagement and delayed, incompetent, incoherent and inadequate responses by the Trump Admin despite earlier warnings by the Intelligence Community (IC). I also have been reading up some “conspiracy” theorists who share a different perspective..,

30. cpilgrimeaqaolcom
    March 26, 2020 8:07 PM

@ John:
    I have no problem with seeking such Reparations from The PRC, as may be warranted.
    However, I am not unmindful of the negligent mismanagement and delayed, incompetent, incoherent and inadequate responses by the Trump Admin despite earlier warnings by the Intelligence Community (IC). I also have been reading up some “conspiracy” theorists who share a different perspective..,

Can you imagine if Biden or Hilary were in charge!!

31. @ WURA:

Re the DLP’s call for daily update by the BLP:

As I pressed the Blogmaster earlier, (leave aside the number of masks), how many ventilators, how many respirators, how many gowns, how many gloves, PEP, etc, etc do you have available? Others have speculated about the number of beds? Such comprehensive data should normally be (an absolute necessity and) easily available. If one knows…. despite the QEH and the health care system is supposedly publicly funded?

32. Mia says Good
    Mia says Good
    Mia says Pause
    Mia says borders stays open
    Good Job Mia
    Now it is time to catch the mad horse
    Good

33. Barbados can turn this disaster into new business opportunities for the next 20+ years to cleanse the country and employ the educated workforce.
    We can partner with a willing US Biotechnology company, establish a formal Biotech Industry here as a prime new business strategy for Barbados and use advanced chemistry to produce high value medical products.

Perfect would be non alcohol based sanitizers, hospital grade wipes, super disinfectants and antimicrobial FDA approved liquids and gels.

There is such a partnership being negotiated even now!

Let’s hope it comes to pass….. and soon!

34. “Re the DLP’s call for daily update by the BLP:”

They are not prepared, but they have money now to buy the required equipment needed to fight the virus or at least treat patients. Now am hearing 24 cases on the island, they were acting as though the cases would not rise when they are rising for everyone else in every country, now they see the seriousness of the situation…hope it does not get too out of control for them…

curfew from 8pm to 6am for Barbados.

35. @ John;

“Could you imagine if Biden or Hilary (sic) we’re in charge!!!”

——————

Probably No difference- Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum. Still preferable. Not that the choice matters to B’dos living in B’dos & facing the threat.

———
    Yes to Doc M. I assume that the UWI (Cave Hill), Science Faculty & Medical School would/should be fully involved along with other relevant resident academic institutions? But who knows?

36. Curfew from 6 -8pm before leaving the borders open was all about the economy
    Now the economy will be shut down after the horse 🐎 has bolted
    Good strategy
    What next

37. Get it right, the curfew is from 8PM to 6AM.

38. All hail our leader Mia Mottley!

Thanks for the state of emergency.

In this way, Mia Mottley has finally reconciled political reality (one-party state) and constitutional order (emergency constitution).

39. No Mia is the one to get it right
    I have been in lockdown since May 24 2018
    Lockdown my pocket book
    Lockdown my bankbook
    And fuh sure gonna lockdown muh house and get to hell outta here
    This woman is dangerousssss

40. Naturalization Oath of Allegiance to the United States of America

It is simply an elementary reading function, Baje. The issue of any waiver is a separate and distinct issue

Xxxxxxxx

AS A FORMER MEMBER OF THE US ARMED FORCES I KNOW MORE ABOUT SWEARING ALLEGIANCE TO BOTH COUNTRY AND FLAG.

HOWEVER YOUR INFORMATION DOESN’T TALLY WITH FACT.

THE US/BRITAIN/CANADA RECOGNIZES DUAL CITIZENSHIP IRREGARDLESS OF WHAT ONES INTIAL COUNTRY OF ORIGIN.

TO HIGHLIGHT YOUR IGNORANCE GUYANA RECENTLY BECAUSE OF THE NO CONFIDENT VOTE BY A CANADIAN GUYANESE MINISTER PASSED A LAW THAT NO DUAL CITIZENSHIP MINISTERS OF GOVERNMENT/OPPOSITION OR SEEKING TO BE ELECTED COULD ONLY BE GUYANESE CITIZEN SOLELY.

TO THAT END SEVERAL US/GUYANESE CITIZENS MP AND 1 BRITISH/GUYANESE CITIZEN MP WERE FORCED TO RESIGN FROM GOVERNMENT AND OPPOSITION AS MPs.

THIS ALSO HAPPENED IN RECENT DISPUTED ELECTION AMONG SEVERAL CANDIDATES OF SMALL OPPOSITION PARTIES WHO COULD NOT RUN BARRED BY GECOM BECAUSE OF COURT LAW UNLESS THEY RENOUNCE THEIR FOREIGN CITIZENSHIP BECAUSE OF NEW LAW.

PURELY VOLUNTARY.

I HAVE NEVER BEEN ASKED TO REVOKE BARBADOS CITIZEN OR IT BEEN TAKEN AWAY.

SOMETIMES IT IS GOOD TO ADMIT LACK OF KNOWLEDGE OR MISUNDERSTANDING INSTEAD OF WAFFLING BULLSHIT.

I WOULD NEVER MISLEAD ANYONE ON THIS BLOG ESPECIALLY WHEN I KNOW FIRST HAND.

ARE YOU A NATURALIZED AMERICAN CITIZEN?

IF YOU ARE NOT THEN YOU CAN’T BE SPEAKING FROM FACTS.

41. She going to bust a vein in your head and festarit that pea Brain

42. No Mia is the one to get it right
    I have been in lockdown since May 24 2018
    Lockdown my pocket book
    Lockdown my bankbook
    And fuh sure gonna lockdown muh house and get to hell outta here
    Xxxxxxxx

@Mariposa DON’T KILL ME.

YOU COOKING WITH GAS TODAY WITH THOSE COMMENTS.

43. There was a simple methodology for combating this ruthless virus. And that was a complete blockade of the island for a 2 month period. Zero in; zero out.

Such an approach was deemed unacceptable by a short sighted business community and a naive government. It will be interesting to see how this virus develops in many African countries, particularly Kenya, under the leadership of Kenyatta who calculated that his country lacked the means to combat this virus and responded forewith.

Partnering with a US biotec company to manufacture “high value medical products” is the typical reactionary, subservient and non-creative approach from a country that lacks the foresight and the self-belief to develop their own ideas.

Do not expect that Barbados will learn from Coronavirus. Mia left the door opened to this virus and It is simply a matter of time for the purge of the population to commence.

By the way what research has the UWI carried out on our well know mosquito population? Have they considered partnering up with African researchers who have many decades of primary research behind them in malaria and many other forms of infectious diseases.

44. I am hearing that 9 of the COVID cases are linked to one person.

45. And after two months you open the border with the world still battling COVID 19 what happens then?

46. @ Blogmaster, check your spam.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Baje
    Mariposa is not cooking with gas… at best she is passing gas. Her comments bring no new information, no analysis, no insight, nothing except the same old useless political yard fowl stench. Yes she is just passing gas.

48. WHAT I MEANT @MARIPOSA JUST GAVE ME A GOOD LAUGH.

SOMETIMES LAUGHTER IS GOOD IF ONLY FOR A FEW MINUTES IN A TIME LIKE THIS.