The Editor

Barbados Underground

Barbados, W.I

Dear Sir/Madam

There was an article in your newspaper of 3 .February 2020 entitled: “Barbados not rushing to ban travellers from China.” The same message was also aired on radio. Mention was made about the statistical likelihood of an outbreak locally being under two percent. There was even mention of the fact that since 1967 there was no real impact on Barbados of the outbreak of contagious diseases. According to the aired news the local authorities were following the World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines. As the holder of a doctorate in microbiology and some one who has done post doctoral studies in the discipline, I have a few questions, which I want answered in the public interest.

According to the Center for Disease control and Prevention (CDC). the virus has an incubation period of two weeks. Infected person maybe asymptomatic during the two-week period. It was for this reason the USA instituted a ban on persons who had been exposed for less than two weeks entering its domain. The reason given for doing so was the logistics involved in screening for potential carriers. Let me explain.

Let us assume there is an asymptomatic carrier who has entered the Barbadian domain and is interacting with the locals. After realizing that there is an active carrier in Barbados, it is incumbent on the authorities to track down and screen all persons who have interacted with the carrier. If the carrier has interacted with one hundred persons, each person has to be screened. This only allows for interaction of the carrier with one hundred persons. Allowance also has to be made for the interaction of each member of the one-hundred with other people. As can be envisaged, the number of persons required to screen, dramatically increases to such an extent, that the screening process breaks down. It is for this reason that countries have introduced a ban on persons who come from infected areas. In the case illustrated above where would Barbados get the required trained persons to actively carry out screening?

There has been mention of the fact that Barbados is following the WHO guidelines. Is this the same WHO that was shown to be totally incompetent its handling of Ebola? What about the Haitian cholera outbreak? The latter was under the aegis of the United Nation of which WHO is a part. The best scientists in the field do not work for WHO; they are found in research institutions. The WHO like all other United Nations bodies are constrained by political realities of member states who push political objectives ahead of what the correct scientific should be. As far as I can make out, there seems to be a pecuniary method behind Barbados’s stance on this matter: namely an effort not to affect the tourist industry.

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D.

734 responses to “Coronavirus Back Story – Why Barbados is NOT Banning Travel from Affected Areas”

1. But was there not talk stated by govt officials that because of the austerity plan
    Govt did not have the finances to purchase the kits
    So where in a week did govt find the 700k

2. Why don’t you come up for air and breathe?

3. Wouldn’t make any difference. The oxygen never gets to her brain.

4. David dont worry about the air i breathe or if i need air
    At this point and time in barbados there are many barbadians being suffocated by the pollutants coming from the fiery still smoking land fill
    That is where you interest should lay if you are truly interested in the health and well being of barbados.
    Tires burning and not a word out of your mouth another component which serves to compromised the health of barbadians
    As i said that if that landfill was annoying the tourist industry there would have been a solution
    Needless to say the difference between the people living in the area of the land fill and tourist industry situated around the South Coast where the sewage was in the street is vast and wide

5. And to you Donna my comments serve to keep you busy
    No

6. Mari
    Where the 700k coming from? Now wasn’t the government clear, plain and transparent and tell you that only your tax going up soon soon soon? Now you cant complain. it for the best interested of the public health and to ease fear. remember that this wasn’t around before so it was not in the last budget. ha

7. Yes. You and Grenville. I have the tendency to want to flush crap down the toilet. It is a good thing to do. No?

8. Well thanks and no thanks
    From my vantage point Mia has an oversized ministry plus White Oaks from whence she can trim some of the fat to help buy the kits
    Why must the bill be always thrown in the hard working barbadian lap.

9. Donna l don’t give a rats a rse what u think
    However glad to keep u busy

10. Apparently i made enough noise along with others to force govt to have an open dialogue to give forth right information to the people on the Corona virus
    Sad but true many bird brain butt licking govt supporters with plenty time on their hands seems to be angry
    But as mariposa tells them to stay in their own lane and do their own thing cause mariposa does not give a rat botsy about what they think
    Cheers to all yuh wunna talking heads
    Mariposa still standing

11. Flush!

12. you better sleep and walk bout with your mask on. this lying government maybe keeping the real truth from the public.
    it might be out there waiting for your a rse.

13. the 700k kits to test all the Chinese visitors so we wont have turn them away. you know- we need them greenbacks from in their pockets

14. Too late many of them already breathing around us
    Mia told them to come in
    The kits would be of very little use if some or all of them came in with the virus
    Also govt said they were relying on past itinerary from passengers who came out of countries where infection had occured
    However it has been stated that signs of symptoms may vary in people and not necessarily within the same time periods

15. The World Health Orgaization (WHO) has named this corona virus: COVID-19

16. Question being asked by pharmaceutical practitioners in barbados
    If govt have a supply of masked if in case an urgent need to be worn by populace
    Pharmaceutical practitioners are stating that so far the demand has outweighed the supply from the country( China) where the masked are most purchased
    Once again barbados might be caught having to catch a horse which might have long bolted

17. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243867/nineteen-watch

Seems the authorities are doing their job.

Anybody dead yet?

18. A repreeentave from PAHO is reported to be on the island to do training of frontline persons to be able to screen identify suspected cases. Also train lab technicians to test for the virus.

19. Good .but the 27 that were said to have been released
    Why hasnt govt released the cause for them being quarantined
    Since there were not tested how was it possible for govt to know if the 27 had any strain of the virus in their blood
    Any how this is bubadus where once the horse is bolted it is anybody guess if it would be harnessed

20. MARI
    PUT ON YOU MASK AND GO AND SLEEP.
    YOU LIKE YOU CANT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU READ.
    IT WAS STATED WHY THEY WERE QUARINTINED

I in the USA and I read it on BT and you there spreading fear and missed it? cheeze on bread…yuh head too hard.

21. John2
    U lived where the media digs long deep and hard
    The media in barbados takes whatever the govt says as gospel
    Between US media and barbados media like mixing apples and orange
    There is no comparison
    I asked why did govt not state or released what problematic causes where there for these people to be quaratined
    Also if they were given a clear medical clerance certification by the chief medical officer after thorough examination
    You decide to jump out of bed to bawl about what u read in BT a fishy smelly corrupt political rag
    Man next time u think of quoting BT go do yuh dishes

22. so you claming that BT claim of what the health minister said is all lies?
    BT lie / the minister lie.

23. By the way I live in Barbados. My wife kids and home is in Barbados.

24. I make no such claims but bt can not be certified as moral.and ethical pursuant to journalism standards rules and regulations
    I know first hand and also have been stated that any comments that tend to gove govt hard knocks are not published by barbados today
    All i am saying uf it walks like a duck quacks like a duck the obvious is realized

25. What was published / what I read on BT was the same info provided by the advocate and the nation’
    So how you can know that “we didn’t have kits and sufficient housing” but you conveniently didn’t see that the information as to why the people we quarantined was given.

Yuh blinded or yuh cant read? BLINDED!

NOW GO AND SLEEP!

26. U can’t hear what i said put on a hearing aid if u cant read or see what i stated put on yuh glasses
    Cause yuh said u read the article from BT
    Now want to change the focus to the other local newspapers
    Truthfully have no interest in none
    Hope yuh understan what i said
    Now go bag yuh head and scroll by Mari comments or else yuh gonna go crazy

27. YES I READ IT ON BT after u claim bt lying I checked it on the others. the liar is YOU.

no matter where it was published, fact remains that the info was made public days ago.

the government doing it best to be prepared, Are you?

What actions have you taken to be prepared?

do you even have 14 days supply of food and water on the ready incase u have to be quarantined ?
    or do u think it cannot get to you?
    I bet you expect the government to house feed and look after you.

28. Fool.i never said i read any thing in any of the bdos newspaper
    I simply pointed out that Bt ethical standards are low and hence i do not trust their reporting
    You calling me a liar points directly in your direction
    Maybe u ought to take off your mask

29. US health authority shipped faulty coronavirus test kits across country

Washington (AFP) – A number of test kits sent out by US health authorities to labs across the country to diagnose the deadly novel coronavirus are faulty, a senior official said Wednesday.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began shipping 200 test kids nationwide on February 5 to speed up the diagnosis of US cases of COVID-19, which currently number 13.

But the labs reported that while performing a verification procedure they realized the kits were returning inconclusive results, meaning neither positive nor negative, said senior CDC official Nancy Messonnier.

“We think that the issue at the stage, can be explained by one reagent that isn’t performing as it should, consistently,” she said, referring to one the substances used in the kit. “And that’s why we are remanufacturing that reagent.”

For now, the testing of all patient specimens will continue to be carried out at the CDC’s headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia.

The US is shipping the test kit to 36 countries that have placed orders, and each kit can be used approximately 700 to 800 times.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/us-health-authority-shipped-faulty-coronavirus-test-kits-205948746.html

30. DONKEY BUTT HOLE

you don’t have to say where you read it!

your pea brains don’t remember the article you published.
    but you wanta pull down BT for reporting from the same meeting .

Mariposa
    February 10, 2020 1:50 PM

CORONAVIRUS TESTING CAPACITY COMING
    Tue, 02/04/2020 – 7:38am
    Within the next two weeks, Barbados will have the capacity to test for the presence of the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
    Stating this assurance had been given by the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA), Chief Medical Officer Dr. Kenneth George highlighted this was important as no other Caribbean island had this capability.
    “CARPHA at the moment cannot test for the virus and we have personally intervened with PAHO to make sure that this is fast-tracked. We will be the first island in the region doing this. We are trying our level best to let persons know that we have put a plan in place and there is always need for a review of the plan and improvement of the plan,” he said.
    George pointed out that as the island was in the midst of an economic recovery programme, funds were not readily available.
    “We had issues with getting the quarantine stations up and have taken an active approach as to how we are going to solve this,” he said.
    Speaking on Sunday night’s episode of The People’s Business, he explained while there were quarantine stations at the ports of entry, these were only equipped to handle four to six persons and not for the 14-day incubation period of the coronavirus.
    “We are in the process of scaling these up. Those quarantine stations were never intended to keep persons quarantined for 14 days to three weeks. Those were simply transfer holding areas. That is not the solution for this particular virus. However, we intend to pursue that. There are quarantine stations at both the seaport and airport. The airport one needs some infrastructural work done,” he added.
    The Ministry of Health’s Port Health Specialist, Stephen Harte said one of the major issues encountered with the facility at the airport was that since it was not used on a regular basis, deterioration had set in.
    “So we have been having discussions with GAIA Inc. in terms of having a a mobile hospital that can do the triage and assist with the public health emergencies that may occur and they were looking at sourcing the tent that could be used for that. At the seaport, Barbados Port Inc. has been working to get that back up and running, but at the seaportm passengers who are sick are actually isolated in their cabins or the medical facility on board the ship,” he noted.
    Barbados Advocate

WHAT DOES THE LAST LINE SAY?
    ONLY AN DONKEY BUTT HOLE/ PEA BRAIN LIAR WOULD PUBLISH AN ARTICLE SHE DIDNT READ!

31. What is striking and remarkable that during the time govt officials were saying there were no cases of people infected with the virus on the island
    Govt had no kits whereby to test the people that were quarantined
    Also remarkable was that some of these people were released without being tested
    When all the truth about the way govt has responded is told
    Those who were said to be agents of scaremongering will be exonerated
    Truth never dies

32. Clearly u dont understand that u said and it was u who quoted the Barbados today article which i said i did not read
    So what are u trying to prove by posting an article which i had posted from the Barbados Advocate
    No the Butt along with the hole is yours
    Sadly the head as in But head is missing
    Maybe that is why you are confused
    Now go feed the dog

33. hahahaha…you cant call Mariposa an ass’s ass. She is not that bad, just wearing the blinkers.

34. COPY AND PASTE WHEN YOU SAID U DIDNT READ BT!

35. Dame is was trying to be nice. also you left out the “hole”

36. So i was attacked for saying i do not belive all being said in the barbados media about the Corona virus
    The issue in my mind stems around Truth
    All else doesn’t matter if what is said how it was said and who said what
    I Mariposa would continue to comment or post my views in accordance with seeking the truth
    Dont care less how others perceived or interpret my opinions
    This virus is too serious an issue to take for granted that close mouth information is the best way forward
    Needless to say that small bits and pieces of information has only been given to the people after an advocacy to find truth was place in the public domain

37. pea brain

who attacked you?

published where u said u didn’t read BT

38. Health authorities in Barbados are currently monitoring 13 people who are quarantined in their homes after arriving from regions impacted by the novel coronavirus.
    Statistics provided by the Ministry of Health and Wellness indicate that 44 people entering Barbados have been screened since the outbreak of the highly contagious respiratory illness in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China last December. (Quote)

39. John 2 my brain might be the size of a pea
    But i can bet you that i command a living wage more than double the size of the peanuts you earned or have earned
    Plus my financial status would and does not allow me to be a beggar at any one doorstep

40. Nobody on the blog can verify squat on the blog so what is the point?

41. David did i mash your corns if so i make no apology
    How many times must i tell u to stay in your lane

42. Pea Brain

A lot you know bout me

let us put it to the bet?

I have never borrow a cent from an individual.
    who door step you accusing me of begging at now?

I still waiting for you to publish when you said you didn’t read BT

43. MariposaFebruary 13, 2020 7:36 PM

John 2 my brain might be the size of a pea
    But i can bet you that i command a living wage more than double the size of the peanuts you earned or have earned
    Plus my financial status would and does not allow me to be a beggar at any one doorstep

It seems u have a problem with intrepretation

The above comments were clarifications to you comments
    Feb 13 2020 ..10.52 am

Funny enough your response in a defensive manner bodes well to say that yout reply might have open your Pandora box which u might prefer to keep close
    No i was not prying into your life but apparently you have
    crack enough of an opening which makes for asking the question why and why the defense
    After all i was not attacking you just letting it known to u i was financially sufficient secure albeit i have a pea brain

44. I told you lets put it to the bet

I may have a problem with interpretation but I am not a fool
    in one paragraph u telling me u make more than my pennies
    then in the following u talking about not begging at anyone door

I don’t know how much u make or made but I am will to bet that the money I am making today u have never made at any point in your life (wages or salary)

that may have been so when I was younger but I will bet I it is so today.

bet on!
    but david is correct

45. @John2

You have made your point. This protracted exchange with ac is unproductive. The hignorance of some knoweth no bounds.

46. John u seem to have forgotten that u told me in one of your comments that my expectation was for govt to housed and feed me in time of crisis
    Hence my latter comment targeted that comment which u had told me
    As i said u have a problem with intrepretation

47. PEA BRAIN

Go back and read what I wrote in it entirety!

I did not say if you expect the government to feed you because of you financial situation.

I ask you if you had at least 14 days of food INCASE YOU WERE QUARITINED !!!

Obviously (oops , of course not obvious to a pea brain) if I aask u about your preparation and I ask u about having a supply of 14day food , I am refering to if you are quaritined in you own house – where u cannot go out shopping and no one can bring stuff to you.

I never for once thought about your financial status farless care bout it!
    Niether would I put down or even try to put down another because of their financial status.
    I ate bakes and saltfish and drink lemon/cool aid like most bajans my age – that’s saying I was dirt poor when I was growing also , so n o need for me to go pulling down someone who is poorer than I am now.

Shame on you

Real pee brain/ donkey but fuh true!

48. John 2 your exact words and the entire comment

john2February 12, 2020 9:07 PM

YES I READ IT ON BT after u claim bt lying I checked it on the others. the liar is YOU.

no matter where it was published, fact remains that the info was made public days ago.

the government doing it best to be prepared, Are you?

What actions have you taken to be prepared?

do you even have 14 days supply of food and water on the ready incase u have to be quarantined ?
    or do u think it cannot get to you?
    I bet you expect the government to house feed and look after you