Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.

Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.

She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.

Barbados Today

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”

1. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243515/inniss-guilty-counts

Former Cabinet Minister Donville Inniss was today found guilty on all counts.

The verdict came in at 4:40 p.m. Barbados time (3:40 p.m. New York time.)

Inniss was charged with conspiracy to commit money laundering, and two counts of money laundering involving US$36 000.

The trial started on Monday in the United States Eastern District Court in Brooklyn, New York, before District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto.

The unanimous verdict was delivered by a 12-member mixed jury.

The Nation’s team of Maria Bradshaw and Tony Best reported that when the verdict was delivered, Inniss showed no emotion.

He was accused of leveraging his office as Minister of Commerce and Industry under the former Democratic Labour Party government to help the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Ltd. (ICBL) secure insurance contracts. (Nation News)

2. Sad
    But if yuh play wid fire you would get burn
    What a dam shame

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Where did all this begin?
    Didn’t the ICBL parent co. make some admission to US authorities, and pay a fine, to ostensibly cover their own a**. And in so doing, opened the can of worms.
    As such, subsequent events were “laid on a platter” for authorities, they didn’t require months of digging.

4. NEXT!!!!!!

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

Didn’t take BU long to alter the Thread header lol

6. They ain’t nothing sad about it, the man break the law and will pay the price! In a U.S court of course cause we don’t deal in them kind of cases “bout hey”

7. @ Bajan in NY:

His lawyers plan to appeal etc, etc. (paraphrasing)

As I said earlier, the EDNY seemed a hostile environment.

The verdict was therefore predictable.

As to any appeal, the NY Appellate Court is a Court of Record, like most Appellate Courts in the USA. The Defense apparently did not adduce any evidence; did not call any witnesses; and barring serious errors (unlikely) in the judge’s charge to the jury or some other prejudicial error(s), an appeal may be a practical non-starter. In short, the appeal boat may have already sailed.

However, hope springs eternal …. Not much to hope for here. Good luck

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Everybody always knew Donville was guilty as sin… the only chance for him was a technicality of law.

9. Nonsense, traditional media was on standby all day to bring the verdict.

10. I guess that Guyson has discovered that none of our grandmothers had balls; and that the United States is not Barbados.

That said i feel sorry for Donville and for his wife, children and siblings, and if his parents are dead thank God that they are dead.

And as a Bajan i feel that Donville has shamed our people. Now the Americans know that at least one of our Cabinet Ministers have done the bad stuff and they can laugh at us and feel fee to disrespect us, because the man whom we elected multiple times has let us down and it makes us look stupid because we did not recognize his deceit or we recognized it but continued to elect him anyway.

11. People too wutless. Imagine a friend from Jamaica just call me and say he hear American Airlines got a special in collaboration with the US Penal System for all X Bajan ministers of $200 bds one way and how accommodation free at Uncle Sam expenses with free meals and everything!

I mean some people really should be shame, i had to tell him we ministers is decent people and that not one ever get charge here for nothing so yet! Dam Jamaicans think everybody like them! Further than that I had to tell him I doubt one of we ministers past or present, ever even get charge with speeding, farless such unspeakable criminal activity.

Anyhow I done talk before President Trump line up my little shack with one of them missiles he got there on standby.

12. I have read that members of the Inniss family wept as the verdict was read out in court. Least we forget; it is we the people who pay the price for our corrupt politicians. Members of his family would probably have benefited from the proceeds of his corruption. The GOB needs to pursue the named family to return all assets in their possession which may have been gained through acts of corruption. We also need to ensure that the GOB cancels Inniss’ government pension.

The GOB needs to send out a message in the same manner as the USA court system: that crime does not pay.

13. @ Bajan in NY January 16, 2020 5:28 PM

The same thought came to mind. On Tuesday, Tony Best admitted that it was going to be hard to refute the e-mails and the documentary evidence discovered by the Forensic FBI accountant.. Hopefully, the crooked local politician will learn a lesson.

14. @ Blogmaster,

Even with this verdict; you continue to censor my posts. Please check your spam.

15. Any yardfowls willing to volunteer to serve Donville’s time when they hear it next month…lol…

ah know how yall bottomfeeders love politicians…especially when they are corrupt, the more corrupt they are the more you love them. There should be a requirement that yardfowls also have to serve time for and with corrupt ministers…

16. @ David January 16, 2020 5:30 PM

“This was an easy call. Tell Guyson Mayers so.”

The man is a disgrace. And he aspires to elective office. A total disgrace.

17. The blogmaster now issues a request to the BU intelligentisia to submitb500 hundred words on the topic Why Tasker and et al Must be Prosecuted by Local Authorities.

18. I look at the amount of taxes which I have had to pay and continue to pay for the rest of my life and I look at our crumbling infrastructure and i wonder are there more corrupt former or current Cabinet Ministers. I wonder how much this sort of thing cost the taxpayers. I wonder what else we can’t get done because a Minister feels entitled to use his position to demand a “cut” for doing no work at all. I wonder what else costs more, perhaps significantly more because Ministers have to get an unearned “cut.” I wonder how many companies and individuals did not get contracts because they refused to give Ministers a cut. Are there other false invoices out there? Are there other young professionals out there afraid that if they say no to a bullying boss or a corrupt Cabinet Minister that will be out of work, out of an income. Is that fair to those young people to essentially say to them “sign here/do this or you are out of a job, out of an income” cannot support yourself nor your children nor your elderly parents, cannot repay your student’s loan, cannot pay your rent or mortgage.”

19. An appeal would only postpone the inevitable, his best hope is that he serves his time at a Club Fed.
    Is Donville a US citizen? Conviction will lead to a fine, jail sentence and a deportation order(for non citizens) .

20. Michael Carrington must be thinking “but for the hypocrisy and wickedness of the Bajan justice system there go I”!!!
    I hope that silly and immoral Guyson Mayers will now crawl back under rock where he hides.

21. Peter Lawrence yuh need to close teet wid yuh proclamations of guilty
    When Charles Herbert was caught on a boat laden wid drugs you were the first to say he was innocent when evidence would have put him in jail if caught in international waters
    Fortunately he was given his freedom in a corrupt justice system

22. “The GOB needs to pursue the named family to return all assets in their possession which may have been gained through acts of corruption. We also need to ensure that the GOB cancels Inniss’ government pension.”

that should dry up those fake tears…real fast.

23. @Silly Woman

And as a Bajan i feel that Donville has shamed our people. Now the Americans know that at least one of our Cabinet Ministers have done the bad stuff and they can laugh at us and feel fee to disrespect us, because the man whom we elected multiple times has let us down and it makes us look stupid because we did not recognize his deceit or we recognized it but continued to elect him anyway.
    +++++++++++++++
    Speak for yourself and stop with the collective guilt shite talk, if you feel ashamed that’s your business, I am not responsible for Donville’s crimes so they don’t reflect on me as a man and as a Bajan.

Now go ahead and hide your face from the public.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa
    You are an ass who cannot see past the colour of a suspect’s skin. That is commonplace in Barbados, but sad. You knew I had the benefit of inside information in the Herbert case, but you are blind to the truth. When the case eventually gets to court it will all be clear as day.

25. @ David.

Could dear it can’t take no 500 words to say why the ones here locally should be charged. The man that receive the funds from the bunch here just get found guilty on all 4 charges. If he guilty for receiving and laundering ill gotten gains, those that furnished the said funds got to hold some time her locally too.

I mean the US Court just hand wunna the facts and findings, you mean we AG can’t find the court steps now either?

If we had an opposition this is where they would now pressure government to pursue the matter, but alas them is only a bunch of seat warmers.

What I can say is that if it is not pursued expect to see it come back to bite us in our tail down the road with foreign investors. At least the law abiding ones.

Mr AG I guess we will now see what you made of, or if all the election talk about stamping out corruption was just for the vote.

Interesting times ahead for sure.

26. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Greed is something else. For $ US36000 bucks, the guy destroys is reputation and embarrassed is whole family. How low can you go.

27. there is nothing that Guyson Mayers said that was wrong. if so unnuh should also cuss the AG.

28. @robert lucas January 16, 2020 4:28 PM “Silly Woman. I expected that you would have been a vegan, based on your feminist leanings.”

Oh no, no, no. I am of the school “rise Peter, kill and eat” old school.

I am a hearty eater of ground food, but remember this morning i dug the potatoes and yams myself, pulled the cassava myself, and tomorrow I might decide to grate some of it by hand. So plenty food, but plenty exercise too.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene
    “… if so unnuh should also cuss the AG.”
    +++++
    That’s right. The AG was also misleading Bajans.

30. Poor Mariposa and all the Dem apologist on here like Sarge,Hants,Skinner ,Austin and a few more who were hoping this day would not come i say karma is a bitch when i recall how Mr Inniss treated those over 60 emplyees at the BIDC..He refused to take them back even though the government lost the case and some had mortgages to pay and students at UWI.Look how the mighty have fallen in my view.

31. the law consists of fine distinctions. some of which are not appreciated by the layman. none of those two men pass any judgment on Donville’s guilt or innocence regarding his alleged crime in the US but were merely commenting on the laws of Bim wrt ML and his alleged crime. in that regard both are right and i concur with what they said

32. Barbados needs a Unexplained Wealth Act.
    They can copy the UK version.
    It’ll never happen .
    They would need a new jail to house the tiefs.

33. Peter lawrrence Maybe an a.ss .have u ever heard if Balam a.ss any how.
    But once again with more emphasis you have no moral authority to speak on guilt or innocent of any one
    You bold faced looked beyond a boat laden with drugs on which your friend Charles was sailing and said that Charles was innocent
    Again i reiterate that if the boat was caught in International waters Charles would have a lot of explaining to do
    Fortunately for him and his color and his political leanings he was giving his freedom by a corrupt justice system
    Couldnt care less what you think of me
    But this i know when it came to Charles Herbert u show your true colors of hypocrisy

34. this is big news in Bim and perhaps the Caribbean but in the scheme of things this is nothing big. US senators and congress persons get convicted all the time and their party dont suffer. altho this will be forever a blot on the DLP and Harrison College but time heals all wounds.

35. Lorenzo go shut uh mouth
    Just like you hoping that Jackie Stewart would go away and all the corruption she talks about across social media to the likes of George Payne and Dale Marshall would dry up like a pond without water
    Huh but don’t be to eager to celebrate Donville loss cause it might be the rope that might help catapult Jackie years of fighting for her rights to the top of the international justice system

36. on the face of the information that was in the public domain re Herbert it was difficult to see how the DPP could sustain a charge against him. not the same here with Donville. we ought to learn how to differentiate between the two, legally speaking.

37. Across social media the call is one down
    59 more to go

38. Redman
    It already exists. Passed under the current administration.

39. David
    Please post the video from parliament’s sitting with the AG’s comments in relation to Donville and the IL. Some people trying to mislead the blog.

40. @peterlawrencethompson January 16, 2020 5:31 PM “There were multiple events. Two of them took place in Barbados when Donville and the ICBL executives broke the 1929 POC Act, specifically.”

I hope that the 1929 act is not so strict that in prevents me from giving the postman and the sanitation men $20 each at Christmas?

Mind you they have NEVER asked, nor have they ever failed to provide excellent service. And even at times when I could not afford a $20 or anything else my service remained excellent.

41. the Proceeds and Instrumentalities of Crime Act, 2019-17 contains an Unexplained Wealth section

42. @ Greene January 16, 2020 6:29 PM

The Ag as far as I am concerned is in the same boat as Mayers. I have a very low opinion of lawyers who I view as parasites on society.

43. @ Silly Woman January 16, 2020 6:30 PM

Noted.

44. Tasker of the former Digicel and ICBL is a fraudster pure and simple and a conman.

Whether he is arrested and prosecuted in clown court Barbados it makes no difference to the rest of the world who view him as a criminal.

Tasker better be careful of flying outside the island as Interpol may be waiting for him on a US ARREST warrant.

45. @enuff

Why bother? Some here have their partisan positions and that is all that matters.

46. Robert Lucas,

legally speaking, both men are correct in what they said.

47. @peterlawrencethompson January 16, 2020 5:52 PM “Everybody always knew Donville was guilty as sin… the only chance for him was a technicality of law.”

Well yes, ’tis true that we wanted to say Donville Inniss convict, but you know how our politicians like to sue for “libel” and win too.

But now that a US court has convicted him we can begin a sentence with, “the convict Donville Inniss”

Since I din go to Harsun, what de HC fellas and girls saying on the old boys and girls social media?

Now I can confess

I did NOT go to Harrison College.

Obviously.

LOL.

48. legally speaking, what is it that Tasker could be arrested and tried for in the US?