Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.
Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.
She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.
Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”
-
Wondering how many politicians have unused plane tickets.
Not able to get into the back and forth…
Wondering what the inside information is… -
@WURA. i know you saw this coming a long time now. @Simple Silly woman. speaking of Cassava, is there any truth to that age old belief that that plant aids in the growth of a certain part of a man’s body?
-
One thing is for sure regardless of how anyone tries to deflect from reality.
The crime started her in Barbados. The issuing of the funds started here in Barbados. The authorisation to pay the funds knowing full well it was not for services or product lawfully supplied, happened here in Barbados.
I could go on but there is more than enough reasons that the matter should now be pursued here in Barbados in a Bajan court. Why hasn’t the board of ICBL not pursued this matter? After all they are the ones responsible to the shareholders are they not? Why havent the shareholders demanded that the matter be pursued?
Any that try to dismiss these facts are only burying their heads in the sand for what ever reason and in so doing supporting the activities that lead to today’s court case and it’s outcome in the USA.
-
@Greene January 16, 2020 7:20 PM “legally speaking, what is it that Tasker could be arrested and tried for in the US?”
https://www.justice.gov/criminal-fraud/fcpa/cases/donville-inniss
United States v. Donville Inniss: Docket No. 18-CR-00134
This case was filed on March 15, 2018, in the Eastern District of New York.
This case was announced on August 6, 2018.
Related Document(s):
Indictment
Press Release
Related Case(s):
U.S. v. Ingrid Innes: Docket No. 18-CR-00134
U.S. v. Alex Tasker: Docket No. 18-CR-00134
-
@PLT, I am confounded by @Mariposa’a lack of basic commonsense re the Herbert and Inniss matters.
As a non lawyer it has always been clear to me that with any case of search for illegal contraband it is always a matter of proving that there was a direct and continuous link/connection of the contraband to the accused.
It seemed quite facile for any competent attorney to establish a sea of reasonable doubt of any direct link to Herbert (and any of the others too).
To lock down that case they would have needed to place an electronic beacon in the drugs and surveil until they were collected…when they made the arrest at that point there would be much less wiggle room to extricate from knowing about the drugs.
The Inniss matter had NONE of that reasonable doubt.
Only a partisan looks past those basic facts.
@ SillyWoman, I agree with the Sarge…cut the false tears crap.
Inniss does NOT make me feel bad as a Bajan and he makes other Bajans look bad no more than Ted Bundy makes ALL Americans look bad!
He tried a thing and GOT caught. So be it.
His family benefitted by his supposedly good name and they will deal with his supposedly now tainted image.
So be it. This too will pass.
-
Please stop defending Charles Herbert and pretending that he was released because the case against him was weak. From the day he was arrested, every Bajan I talked to said his case would be dismissed because they understand how racist the system is in Barbados. Stop pretending something else happened. I raised the question I raised before. Why was a political decision taken by the US government to prosecute Donville? Don’t tell me it’s because he’s corrupt. That would include 99% of politicians in Barbados and the USA.
-
@ Greene January 16, 2020 7:20 PM
Let him pay a visit and we shall soon see how much this politically-exposed person fares with the immigration authorities.
He certainly cannot have his visa renewed, if he has one.
What we know for sure is that there are local laws sufficiently sound to ask this alleged collaborator to answer, right here in Bimshire, to a charge of fraud if not as an accessory to M/L.
Same thing applies equally to his former female boss.
Are you going to be that ‘honest law abiding taxpayer’ to be that so-called necessary complainant to get the ball rolling even if you have to use the Crimestoppers hotline?
It’s time you, mainly black, petty tin pot white collar criminals be taught a lesson that the People’s (taxpayers’) money paid into to the Treasury is not your piggy banks to be raided for your own personal aggrandizement but is to be used for the provision of public goods for the sustaining and betterment of the Bajan society like the provision of better health care, roads and paying nurses and policemen better salaries.
-
@DPD “SillyWoman, I agree with the Sarge…cut the false tears crap.”
OK guys. Take it easy. I did not mean to suggest that you should lose any sleep. Because I am certainly not losing any sleep.
But when somebody asks me “you from Barbados, the same place Rihanna comes from?” and I feel a little false sweetness, even though NOBODY would ever mistake me for our star girl. I feel a little shame about Donville’s conviction, but no guilt, and I certainly won’t be losing any sleep.
-
The blogmaster spares a thought for his family, especially his children.
-
The “children” are adults, not so David?
-
To some of the Jackasses focusing on DLP should note the following:
Michael Lashley
George Payne
Dennis Lowe
Rommel Marshall
David Estwick
Dale Marshall
Owen Arthur
Michael Carrington
Mia Mottley
Ester Byer Suckoo
Noel LynchAnd many others both B&D should be wearing ankle bracelets and spending time in Dodds Prison.
All voting Bajans should have lost ALL RESPECT FOR BLP AND DLP POLITICIANS WHO SEE THEM AS FOOLS AND TOOLS TO BE USED FOR THEIR GREEDY PURPOSES.
-
Miller,
why doesnt the US seek Tasker’s extradition from Bim?
BTW Tasker is not a PEP within the legal definition of the term
-
@Greene a few items to you et al ..
I saw ur explanation of @Maripos’s lack of simple legal commonsense after I had already dribbled… So u had covered that.
Ok…otherwise tell me. You have repeated several times that Inniss, according to two local attotneys, had no legal exposure under local ML regs.
Did he have ANY legal exposure under any other local statutes under which he can be prosecuted… Based obviously on public info to date?
Like for fraud as an example.
And all:
And realistically why should HC worry about Inniss.
Why should any school or alumni worry about their former students/colleagues …that just makes no sense to me.
Harvard has graduated big crooks too so what !
-
For those who still believe we need a so-called complaint, a hint:
You’re all so upset about slavery. But there would have been no complaint 200 year ago. So was slavery a legal thing? If we followed DLP logic, slavery was great.
Argumentum ad absurdum.
We owe this victory of justice in the Inniss case not only to the USA alone, but also to the brilliant cooperation of our present government with the USA. Long live Mia Mottley!
-
I wonder how much money this has cost is costing Donville. Not being able to work for more than a year. Two children in university? Lawyer’s fees? Lawyer’s fees for the appeal? Maybe the wife taking unpaid leave from her job to accompany him at his trial? Etc. etc. etc.
-
@David, I applaud your empathy re The blogmaster spares a thought for his family, especially his children..
Total BS as far as I am concerned but if u have that deep well of empathy then more power to you.
Inniss’ crime is mere white collar piffle… Yes he is now :Inniss the convict’ but who will pay attention to this after the proverbial next 15 minutes of infamy.
I had no empathy for Madoff’s kids either and was quite angry, rather that understanding when one of his son’s took his life, rather than manage the scorn and derision.
Context bro.
This is a very simple crime and in a few years will mean nothing to the Inniss family.
The Madoff matter was a much bigger deal and a clear thinking person would have taken the cost of changing their name, moving and starting over rather than death.
Context bro…lots of shizz happens out there under a family name… Lots of ways to get past them … in time!
-
Mariposa doesnt pay these white folks any mind they would protect they own and as usual would find comfort amongst the the black community with the uncle Toms who sides with their efforts
The elites control the economy of barbados and more economic hell would have rained down on barbados economy if Herbert was found guilty
There is no way that Herbert.caught travelling on a boat laden with drugs in international waters would have walked away free without giving full accountability as to what he knew and when he knew it
The corruption surrounding the Herbert case is evident
Cant imagine that over 200hundred thousand dollars worth on drugs found on a boat in international waters and the DEA says ok buddy yuh free to go .
Never would happen.but barbados is another bowl of wax with laws unto itself
One thing for sure cant see Charles Herbert setting foot in America without being carefully watched -
Dribbler,
i posted this to @Miller at 1.31pm today-
quote]
Miller,
i never said Donville would slip thru any legal system in Bim. my posts were restricted to the crime he is facing in the US- ML. there is the Prevention of Crime Act and other dishonesty offences that may capture the described behaviour on the face of it.[quote
-
/Baje
January 16, 2020 8:07 PMTo some of the Jackasses focusing on DLP should note the following:
Michael Lashley
George Payne
Dennis Lowe
Rommel Marshall
David Estwick
Dale Marshall
Owen Arthur
Michael Carrington
Mia Mottley
Ester Byer Suckoo
Noel Lynch
And many others both B&D should be wearing ankle bracelets and spending time in Dodds Prison./Some of those names made rumour mill more often far longer than Inniss. His name was linked mostly with some porn company.
Carrington, Payne, Lynch, Marshall, Marshall, Lowe,Lashley. Those are the magnified seven .
-
@Mariposa
Just so you know and can complain about it, Herbert has been reinstated as Chairman of the board of Goddards Enterprises and he travels all over the world on business for them including to to the USA. -
“As a non lawyer it has always been clear to me that with any case of search for illegal contraband it is always a matter of proving that there was a direct and continuous link/connection of the contraband to the accused.”
As a non lawyer, it is clear to me that three men traveling on a boat loaded with drugs had a direct and continuous link/connection to the drugs.
Can you explain to me why only Mr Prescod has a c and c.
-
Silly Woman
January 16, 2020 6:59 PMI hope that the 1929 act is not so strict that in prevents me from giving the postman and the sanitation men $20 each at Christmas?
I thought you said you never paid for it?
-
Naughty, naughty.
-
Peter lawerence why do u insist on 1. Talking to balam a.ss
2. Finding all kind of accolades to prop up Charles Herbert
Even a blind man would know if it walks like a duck it is a duck
Your hypocrisy shines brightly but as the ole people say yuh can hide and buy land but as in the case of Herbert he couldnt hide while trying to work it
Maybe only u and a few handful along with a corrupt barbados justice system belives Herbert hands are clean
On one side there is a well recognized and unapologetic blp unwavering supporter charles Herbert trying to undermined and further destroy the moral fibre of barbados caught redhanded travelling on a boat laden with drugs
On the other hand Donville Inniss found guilty in an American justice system after giving due process under the law
Wish i could say the latter for Charles Herbert since his freedom was one given without full accountability and transparency but under the shadows of doubt and suspicion all tied to a corrupt justice system -
I haven’t heard any official statement from Verla nor Guyson yet?
-
Here is the Prevention of Corruption 1929 Act.
https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/01/prevention-of-corruption-1929.pdf
-
Home / Local News / DLP says Inniss’ guilty verdict is a sad day for Barbados
DLP says Inniss’ guilty verdict is a sad day for Barbados
Article by
Sandy DeanePublished on
January 16, 2020Democratic Labour Party (DLP) President Verla De Peiza has described the guilty verdict against ex-government minister Donville Inniss as a “sad day for the country and the DLP.”
A 12-member jury came to the unanimous verdict after just under two hours of deliberation at the Eastern District Court of New York this afternoon.
Inniss was charged with two counts of money laundering and one count of conspiracy to commit money laundering.
The court found that Inniss took US$36,000 in bribes from the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited in 2015 and 2016.De Peiza added that the outcome of the case should serve as a warning for public figures.
“It is also a cautionary tale for all politicians, persons in public life, and corporate entities. We all now need to learn the lesson of this bleak day and ensure that it never ever happens again,” she said.
Inniss is to remain on bail pending sentencing next month.
His attorney Anthony Ricco is planning to immediately appeal the verdict on the grounds of insufficient evidence. -
A 12-member jury came to the unanimous verdict after just under two hours of deliberation at the Eastern District Court of New York this afternoon.
Inniss was charged with two counts of money laundering and one count of conspiracy to commit money laundering.
The court found that Inniss took US$36,000 in bribes from the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited in 2015 and 2016.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxTHIS IS FOR THE FOLKS WHO LIKE TALKING SHITE.
THE ONE COUNT OF CONSPIRACY IS WORKING IN CRIMINAL COLLUSION WITH TASKER AND INNES.
THEY BETTER NOT TRAVEL BY FLYING OR CRUISE SHIP OUTSIDE OF BARBADOS.
ANY BOATS TO LEAVE SHOULD BE A FISHING OR BANANA BOAT.
TASKER THIS GIVES ME GREAT JOY PERSONALLY AS I HAVE SAT ACROSS A TABLE FROM YOU ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, YOU ARE AN ARROGANT FAT SLOB AND A FRAUDSTER.
-
“Cant imagine that over 200hundred thousand dollars worth on drugs found on a boat in international waters and the DEA says ok buddy yuh free to go.”
Mariposa
You never cease to amaze me.
If the above comment is a reference to the case that involved Walter Prescod, Charles Herbert and Chris Rogers, then your January 16, 2020 8:41 PM contribution is a POOR attempt to defend Donville Inniss.
Perhaps you may want to “tell” BU the source of your information relative to drugs being found on the yacht by the DEA in international waters and they told a certain member of the crew he were “free to go.”
Because, according to official reports, “Ecstasy”, a yacht owned by Goddard Enterprises Limited (owners of Coreas Hazells Limited), returned to Barbados from Grenada with the three above mentioned individuals on board. Acting on information received, Barbados Custom Officers searched the yacht and discovered what was subsequently determined to be $3M worth of marijuana.
This does not have anything to do with whites protecting whites, as you would obviously want to imply. The “long and short of the story is,” Donville did shiite and was caught.
Live with it.
-
IF CHARLES HERBERT HAD BEEN CAUGHT BY THE US DEA ON THAT YACHT WITH THE TWO OTHERS WITH THE AMOUNT OF DRUGS ONBOARD ALL 3 WOULD HAVE BEEN FULLY PROSECUTED.
CHARLES HERBERT BENEFITED FROM THE CORRUPT LEGAL SYSTEM IN BARBADOS PLAIN AND SIMPLE.
-
Well that’s that, I guess. I had previously thought that he was too smart to be so easily caught. Leads me to believe that he is just one of many and did not expect to be singled out. Strange indeed!
-
Fraudsters EXPOSED TO A REAL JUSTICE SYSTEM January 16, 2020 9:30 PM
IF CHARLES HERBERT HAD BEEN CAUGHT BY THE US DEA ON THAT YACHT WITH THE TWO OTHERS WITH THE AMOUNT OF DRUGS ONBOARD ALL 3 WOULD HAVE BEEN FULLY PROSECUTED.
CHARLES HERBERT BENEFITED FROM THE CORRUPT LEGAL SYSTEM IN BARBADOS PLAIN AND SIMPLE
Agree 1000 percent
Only stool.pigeons and booty lickers of Charles Herbert and his associates would say different
As for bail Charles wouldnt have got one day of freedom
But then again this is barbados where the law would see fit and proper to send a man to jail for stealing a salt bread but would allow transportation of drugs to be hauled into the country and not a man found guilty or accountable for such criminal activity associated with drug laundering that violates international laws and standards -
The man of the moment is Donville Inniss, deal with it!
-
Somewhere I read: “The evil that men do, lives after them/the good is oft interred with their bones”.
What therefore is to be included, what is to be excluded from any pre-sentencing report in DI’s case? Which allegations or better yet which evidence of which particular infelicities? And, on balance, what facts in mitigation?
-
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240014/dpp
What happen to Walter O’Neal Prescod. Did he get bail ?
-
David BUJanuary 16, 2020 10:04 PM
The man of the moment is Donville deal with it
”””””””””,,,,,””,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
What is there to deal with in any event i applaud the American justice system for its openess transparency and being accountable and guided by the reigns of a democratic process with due respect to a person right to having a fair trial
Unlike Barbados justice system whose wheels of justice are heavily tilted to one side favouring the most rich and famous
Just in case u miss my earlier comments in reference to Donville Inniss u can scroll backward to find them
U hypocrite -
Judicial system in Barbados is racist ,case in point- the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has dropped charges related to over $500 000 in drugs against Charles Herbert former Chairman of Goddard Enterprises Ltd (GEL).
The same is true for USA , case on point-an African-American boy, George Stinney Jr., who was executed at age 14 for the killing of two young white girls has been exonerated in South Carolina, 70 years after he became the youngest person executed in the U.S. in the 1900s. A judge ruled he was denied due process.There was also no physical evidence linking him to the crime.
His parents were never allowed to visit him following his arrest.
George was sentenced to death by a jury of 12 white men who returned a guilty verdict after only 10 minutes of deliberation.Another example of the racist judicial system in USA is the Emitt Till case. On January 24, 1956, Look magazine publishes the confessions of J.W. Milam and Roy Bryant, two white men from Mississippi who were acquitted in the 1955 kidnapping and murder of Emmett Louis Till, an African-American teenager from Chicago. In the Look article, titled “The Shocking Story of Approved Killing in Mississippi,” the men detailed how they beat Till with a gun, shot him and threw his body in the Tallahatchie River with a heavy cotton-gin fan attached with barbed wire to his neck to weigh him down. The two killers were paid a reported $4,000 for their participation in the article.
On August 24, 1955 14 yr old Emitt Till went into Bryant’s Grocery and Meat Market in Money, Mississippi, to buy candy. He allegedly whistled at Carolyn Bryant, the wife of Roy Bryant. In the early hours of August 28, Roy Bryant and his half-brother, J.W. Milam, abducted , mutilated murdered Emmett Till .
The cases and many other should remind us that America’s Justice System Is Not Color-Blind .Former MP , Donville Inniss should have expected nothing less than a quilty verdict in his case in the USA.
-
De ole man finds this statement by you truly hypocritical
“… David January 16, 2020 7:17 PM
@enuff [ first of the Rented jackasses Hee Hee]
Why bother? Some here have their partisan positions and that is all that matters…”
I wonder if you would be man enough to post the Article I sent to this Barbados Underground on why Pornville WAS GOING TO BE FOUND GUILTY?
I wonder if, in keeping with your “partisan position” you refused to publish that article and two more of de ole man’s prediction!
Is it because WHEN I PIECE THE LEGEND SPEAK, that it comes to pass?
Is it because you have explicit instructions NOT TO LET DE OLE MAN’S POST BE SEEN CAUSE I still getting too many clicks?
I would tell you how we monitoring that BUT
The fact is that you are paying lip service to Patriotism and have no interest in our Flag.
Were such the case you would let divergent opinions vie for supremacy but such goes against Mugabe’s orders.
BARBADOS WILL HAVE 75 DEATHS THIS YEAR.
If Mugabe does not try Tasker and Innes, it will be ine of the single worst decisions of her visionless government
Keep on killing de ole man articles
-
Bro this is 2020
All them cases u cited have historical roots linked to the KKK and which have shamed America
Given this is 2020 what transpired in Barbados in 2019 when Herbert was given his walking papers to freedom takes barbados back to the days of Emitt Teele and other cases when white was always right
Hang on bro barbados still is yet to catch up in a new era where racism is frowned upon
But then again this is barbados and it will take the movers and shakers many years before they can see the light
Charles Herbert now stands as Exhibit A and a glaring case of racism and corruption beyond a shadow of doubt -
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please.
The man was guilty of accepting a bribe Akenatenl what does that have to do with racism?
Steupse
-
Why did Bajan Donville opt for a jury trial Americans ?
Thought you are supposed to be tried by a jury of your peers ?
-
The shameful truth is that a country of fifty three years independence could not bring criminal charges against a member of its own parliament who obviously used his office to further his own interests.
It clearly shows that this corrupt Duopoly has no intentions of cleaning up its own corruption and would hide behind any excuse to protect its own.The Duopoly Rules
-
The penalties for a federal money laundering conviction include the following:
Jail Time:A maximum sentence of 20 years in a federal prison.
Fines: $500,000 or twice the amount of money that was laundered.
-
Fortunately for the BRIBERS the offence was committed in Barbados and Donville was a Barbados MP……
“The penalties for bribery of a public official includes a fine of up to three times the value of the bribe, and imprisonment for up to 15 years in a federal penitentiary.
-
“Fortunately for the BRIBERS the offence was committed in Barbados…”
+++++
From the Barbados 1929 Prevention of Corruption Act:
“A person convicted on indictment of a misdemeanour under this Act, where the matter or transaction in relation to which the offence was committed was a contract, or a proposal for a contract, with the Crown or any Government Department or any public body, or a sub-contract to execute any work comprised in such a contract, shall be liable to imprisonment for any term not exceeding seven nor less than three years.”So that means Ingrid Innes, Alex Tasker, and Donville Inniss should each be in Dodds for between 3 and 7 years.
-
“is there any truth to that age old belief that that plant aids in the growth of a certain part of a man’s body?”
Don’t have a certain part of a man’s body, but ah heard men saying so, ya in good company, Dame Simple cooks cassava on the regular.
-
“Former MP , Donville Inniss should have expected nothing less than a quilty verdict in his case in the USA.”
Donville DESERVES a guilty verdict, did you hear what their former police turned lawyer said, he never would have been charged for misusing his office and literally STEALING FROM THE PUBLIC to further his own selfish agenda and every LOWLIFE in the parliament, supreme court and bar association think like that…they think they are invincible and untouchable and one by one they will find out they ARE NOT….not anymore.
““sad day for the country and the DLP.”
what sad what, sane people glad as shite and having a drink in CELEBRATION…..most people are saying NEXT!!!!!…we want each and everyone one from that toxic duopoly locked the hell up, so break out those INDICTMENTS…the people are tired of these maggots, BRIBERS and facilitators…
They all PROMOTE a bunch of MINORITY THIEVES…while firmly believing thst the PEOPLE’S MONEY and any wealth generated by the people on the island BELONGS TO THEM to give away and split up between themselves and these criminals..Mia fully believes that her only job is to enrich the covetous, envious criminal Willams, Maloneys etc…she has to come to a fake christian understanding …THAT IS NOT WHY SHE WAS ELECTED….she never misses an opportunity to PROMOTE these racists, savages and thieves…and NOT ONE WORD OF PROMOTION for the the people who elected her..
“It’s time you, mainly black, petty tin pot white collar criminals be taught a lesson that the People’s (taxpayers’) money paid into to the Treasury is not your piggy banks to be raided for your own personal aggrandizement but is to be used for the provision of public goods for the sustaining and betterment of the Bajan society like the provision of better health care, roads and paying nurses and policemen better salaries.”
-
They always believe they can fool everyone. Butterfield bank was used to commit a lot of crimes against many people in Barbados, their bank accounts disappeared. There is always a link to the criminals and their scams when they intriduce these companies.
-
Not a fella is shedding a tear..
“Omar Watson is with Douglas Trotman and 10 others.
3 hrs
I’ll tell you the biggest problem in Barbados. Wanna see all of the people that are acting surprised about Dumbville’s conviction? That’s the biggest problem! Pretend you didn’t know what was and is general knowledge. That politics in Barbados is a dirty game!Partisan nonsense is why these people will continue to do sh*te! The Dems want to be in denial because it is Dumbville but the Bees wukkin up but fail to realize that everyone has their hand in the cookie jar.
Anyways I am going to finish drink my heinekens.
#thekeepingitrealnetwork #tkirn #animalfarm”