Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.

Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.

She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.

Barbados Today

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

http://imgur.com/AB01lcb

Bu Thursday we bajans will see if Pornville is a bad boy and if strings get pulled!

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury what say ye on Money laundering and Pornville?

Guilty you RH, guilty as charged!!!

2. I am surprise that Inniss did not speak on his behalf and that did his defence did not call any witnesses. If indeed the money entered the US the way the prosecution said it did then I think he is cooked.

3. By Thursday the jury would hear
    It it doesn’t fit u must acquit

4. Donville had an opportunity to break up that criminal syndicate that is DBLP in Barbados and he played uppity like if he was still in Barbados doing shite, now he has been rolled over by the bus driven by the syndicate members, so whatever he gets he will have to take.

5. @Adrian HindsJanuary 14, 2020 7:26 PM

I am surprise that Inniss did not speak on his behalf and that did his defence did not call any witnesses. If indeed the money entered the US the way the prosecution said it did then I think he is cooked

His lawyers seem to have no means of fighting the evidence presented, so avoiding jail time seems to be the objective. They will most likely throw him on the mercy of the court and he will avoid jail time because of the relative small sum of money involved.

6. “chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.”

Those paying bribes should be punished just like those receiving bribes.

7. Bajan NY

His position as a minister in government will probably work against him.

8. The evidence presented so far is a slam dunk. Once the US authorities link the payment to Inniss it was curtains. The blogmaster suspects there will be other charges brought.

9. @Adrian Hinds
    I am surprise that Inniss did not speak on his behalf and that did his defence did not call any witnesses.
    Inniss could only speak if the defense called him to the stand to testify in his own defense, but that would give the Prosecution the opportunity to cross examine him and who knows where that would lead. Smart lawyers never want to expose their clients to cross examination.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Thought this little tidbit from DI’s lawyer in the opening remarks to the jury was noteworthy…
    “This case is about politics 2000 miles away and you are going to hear about a powerful organisation that collected profits long before Inniss came into office,”

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Sargeant, Law101!

How he heaveans name can Inniss go on the stand … To say what that could validate how an INTERNAL invoice made at ICBL was made payable to him via a US based company while he was at the time a senior member of cabinet of the ring government.

The only way his lawyer could put him on the stand would be for Inniss to have grounds for appeal for his grossly incompetent attorney!

@David what other charges do you perceive?

Are either of the ICBL officers domiciled in US?

The Bdos govt/DPP has shown no interest in bringing charges.

12. Fraudsters EXPOSED TO A REAL JUSTICE SYSTEM Avatar
    Fraudsters EXPOSED TO A REAL JUSTICE SYSTEM

Alex Tasker bai, you and your fraud brother Trevor Tasker are real real Guyanese skunts that feel everybody foolish.

Along with Bryon Gibson, Frank Drakes and Cardinal Burnett have been engaged in drug trafficking, fraud and money laundering way way too long.

All of wunna want losting away in Dodds Prison as you all feel that you can keep bribing Political officials and Police to turn a blind eye on your criminal network.

The USA waiting to put handcuffs on you.

Not so arrogant now.

Pure pure FRAUD CRIMINALS.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Corrections …How IN heaven’s name

ring= ruling.

14. I will wait for the jury to decide.

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

This is so comical!

At one time this man’s defence was that it was a customary thing for politicians to teif!

And even in the face of this as well as the evidence against ICBL people giving dis man a free pass?

Dat is why wunna getting foop daily under the previous and current government

http://imgur.com/ZUvCVHA

16. The CRIMINAL SYNDICATE that is DBLP governments must be BROKEN UP. Listen to this one, is he not another policeman turned lawyer like Dave A. Cumberbatch from Arlington Chambers, somehow they can NEVER see a crime nor corruption as long as it’s the scum from the criminal syndicate committing it…corruption and crimes against the people is NOT ILLEGAL IN BARBADOS, money laundering and thefts of public funds is ALL LEGAL, the island is under SEIGE from these useless criminals in the parliament…..and these police turned lawyers ENFORCERS.

They REFUSE to change 90 year old laws to make these crimes illegal, they all need to be swept up and imprisoned.

“As far as the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is concerned, embattled member Donville Inniss should not be on trial.

At least, says general secretary Guyson Mayers, not by Barbados law.

“If Mr Inniss’ matter was to be tried under Barbadian law, by now it would have ended because there would be no case against him. Based on what is in the public domain, I am not sure the elements of a charge of money laundering would be satisfied based on the four corners of our domestic legislation,” he said yesterday during a press conference at DLP headquarters, George Street, Belleville, St Michael.”

17. “Those paying bribes should be punished just like those receiving bribes.”

Iness is probably hiding her skunky self in Barbados, once she crosses back into Canada, they will hand her ass over to US, am sure there are indictments waiting for her and the other crook Tasker.

Only in a CORRUPT PIT like Barbados you will find crimes not being crimes.

18. Piece…. a message has to be sent to the VOTING populi over the next 3 years…KICK ALL LAWYERS OUT…of the parliament…and NEVER, EVER ELECT ANOTHER ONE…they are dangerous, toxic criminals..

so sharpen up your stoopid cartoon tools.

19. All of them should be in prison, they continue to be A THREAT to the people, the island AND other countries.

https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1225972650945605/

20. Ah too love when they cocky, arrogant and stupid.

Ah know alyuh bad but dont forget who got the Money Launderer’s Inc BANK ACCOUNT NUMBERS, SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER and NAMES….ya done know as bad to the bonevand wealthy as ya are from ya crimes against the people…ya handicap is STILL THE SHORT MEMORY THING.

And with dumbass Lawsuit Lorenzo…yall already on shaky ground.

21. Guyson should shut up. Verla gave a more reasoned statement. Who is speaking for the DLP anyhow? Verla or one of the traditional old boys?

I hope that Verla has the balls to do a Mia to the old boys, just as Mia did in the BLP.

I tired ‘o de ole menses.

22. Tasker has an identical twin. If i was the twin I would not travel to the USA.

With identical twins it is damn hard to figure out who is who.

23. Relax folks lets hear the defense rebuttal on the imaginary dental Clinic and Roger Clarke and past govt involvement with the Insurance company
    Rushing to judgement can break many necks

24. And that british Cardiff company Fulcrum that Dale Whistleblower claimed is helping them FIND CORRUPTION in the corrupt SOE’s etc…are looking more and more like just another shady, scam company being used to siphon off taxpayers money..just like whiteHOAX.

25. @Mariposa January 15, 2020 8:21 AM “Relax folks lets hear the defense rebuttal on the imaginary dental Clinic”

There was/is a an “imaginary dental clinic”

26. i thought Guyson gave a measured response too if anyone cared to read his full statement.

having interfaced with US Fed authorities and laws i can say that the laws in the US are in some ways different to Bim’s laws and UK laws.

anti m/l laws are applied differently according to the laws of the land

the jury shall decide.

on a more important note the AG has hired Fulcrum from the UK to do an assessment on whether corruption in Bim during the last Govt. interesting times ahead

27. There is no point saying if the issue was taking place under Barbados laws.

That is like saying if my grandmother had balls she would be my grandfather.

Granny did NOT have balls.

She was NOT my grandfather.

Donville is NOT being tried in Barbados.

28. Even if an innocent verdict is delivered there is enough information in the public place to have smeared Inniss. His reputation as a public service is destroyed, he will probably find a way to continue at the private level.

29. @ David.

The question I would ask is will this matter be pursued in a Bajan court if he is found innocent?

The fact that as of today not a man or woman has been brought before a local court, begs that this question must be asked. After all at elections I was told of the ” mass corruption” that plagues our island.

30. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dis Guyson MAYERS, who he?

He says and I quote

“…“As far as the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is concerned, embattled member Donville Inniss should not be on trial….

If Mr Inniss’ matter was to be tried under Barbadian law, by now it would have ended because there would be no case against him…”

And this is why de ole man rooting for the New York Prosecutors to succeed in locking up Pornville

http://imgur.com/u1k8rPn

Wunna corrupt a.sses does do what wunna like in Barbados TO WHOM WUNNA FEEL LIKE, for as long as wunna like!

But Amurica has shown wunna dat you Pornville ent shy$e and very soon… heheheheh

31. @John A

You should read Nation Editorial of today, the same question is being asked. Has the matter been complained about to COP Griffith? You may recall he indicated the matter had to be initiated externally.

On another note the blogmaster notes the testimony by ICBL official when he stated that the BIDC deal that has embroiled Inniss in the matter at hand was finally closed 70:30 between ICBL and CGI. The blogmaster does not intend to opine on the matter other than what is fact.

32. john2January 14, 2020 9:27 PM

Bajan NY

“His position as a minister in government will probably work against him.”

i was thinking otherwise that it would probably work for him

33. @ Silly Woman January 15, 2020 8:43 AM
    “There is no point saying if the issue was taking place under Barbados laws.
    That is like saying if my grandmother had balls she would be my grandfather.
    Granny did NOT have balls.
    She was NOT my grandfather.
    Donville is NOT being tried in Barbados.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Now that’s the kind of gender-neutral unbiased impartial contribution we like to see from a silly woman called Simple Simon(e) the budding president of BU bloggers.

How could such a prosecution take place under Barbados laws when there will be no complainant as pertains with the other ‘alleged’ collaborators in the petty theft in an insurance scam?

Can you imagine such a defence of the Don of Pornville is coming from a politically modified ‘man’ who is keen on becoming a representative of the people of St. Josephine in Parliament and hopefully a minister of the Crown soon to be the ‘Republic of Barbados’?

The Big question we would like to put to the genetically-modified (GM) legal luminary for the defence of DLP graft is why should the same the same Don of Pornville get himself ‘personally’ involved in the day-to-day affairs of the BIDC which ought to be the purview of its Board and Executive management?

Why are his personal e-mail address and his tampering role coming up in correspondence between the management of the ICBL and his ministerial intervention?

Shouldn’t that correspondence on such a ‘routine contract of insurance matter’ be restricted to the representatives of the management of both entities that is the CEO of the BIDC or its designate and the CEO of the ICBL or its designate?

34. The DLP folks should shut up in this matter until the verdict is delivered.

35. @Miller

The AG is quoted in the paper to say if Barbados had Integrity Legislation the Inniss matter could have been tried in Barbados. As you know parliament debated a resolution yesterday to adopt the report of the joint select committee on the Integrity in Public Life Bill 2018.

36. @ David.

What integrity legislation got to do with thiefing? Is people ain’t got nothing sensible to say then hUsh. Say wunna can’t touch one of you own and done.

37. Charles Skeete

How so?

38. DavidJanuary 15, 2020 8:46 AM

Even if an innocent verdict is delivered there is enough information in the public place to have smeared Inniss. His reputation as a public service is destroyed
    —-‘-””-‘—”””””””

Correct one of the lessons of reality that teaches …..if one lie down with downs uh gonna catch fleas

39. Hal Austin some where out there i hope all is well with u

40. @ David January 15, 2020 9:34 AM

Would it have been applicable without a complainant as demanded by the CoP?

What’s so wrong with the existing legislation that the CoP cannot enforce like the vending or the use of alcohol and cannabis laws?

Right now the same CoP uses the investigative powers to go after those seen breaking the laws on social media like ‘seemingly’ handling high-powered weapons, drugs and in the abuse of children and vulnerable adults.

What’s so ‘divine’ about the public information surrounding the ‘alleged’ involvement of two former employees of the ICBL in a game of fraud against the Bajan taxpayers who are effectively the shareholders of the ICBL?

41. by now if the AG was serious some govt official would have supplied the RBPF with documents and a statement. unless Fulcrum will do that initial work and deliver a package to the RBPF for possible investigation. that would work too and probably the better way to do it altho it does assume some double work

but then it would have to be decided how an investigative team is constructed

42. @ JohnA

@ David.

What integrity legislation got to do with thiefing? Is people ain’t got nothing sensible to say then hUsh. Say wunna can’t touch one of you own and done.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Correct %200.

I PREDICT DONVILLE INNISS WILL BE CONVICTED BY THE JURY OR 12.

THIS IS IN A REAL COURT NOT CORRUPT BARBADOS WHERE IT IS BUSINESS AS USUAL IN CRIMINALITY EXCEPT FOR THE SALT BREAD MAN AND OTHERS ON THE LOWER END OF THE TOTEM POLE.

43. Guyson Mayers is and was always a dummy. Unless the dental practice was preparing false teets, bridges and braces for ICBL staff, the 5% evidence is “pellucidly clear”. Then again this was the same man that sat few days ago at a press conference questioning Dottin’s consultancy forgetting about his 15-month, $300,000 one that produced nothing. Coincidentally, it was to fight money laundering. Verla shudda keep she mout shut tuh. That photo of her sitting below a pic of Donville may come back to sink her.🤣🤣

44. JURY OF 12

45. If Mr Inniss’ matter was to be tried under Barbadian law, by now it would have ended because there would be no case against him…”

policeman turned lawyer only succeeded in showing the DEPTH of the corruption in Barbados, they all worked diligently for decades and were successful in REDUCING the Supreme Court to NONFUNCTIONAL and here is this fool showing everyone why the court system cannot function..

..he needs to be checked out himself, see what he has been getting up to in US and in other jurisdictions…since he has CONFIRMED that Barbados has NO RULE OF LAW.

46. “The AG is quoted in the paper to say if Barbados has Integrity Legislation the Inniss matter could have been tried in Barbados.”

And if DBLP corrupt syndicate had REMOVED the 1929 now 90 year old SLAVE LAW created by SLAVE MASTERS to cover their own corrupt asses…Donville could never have been arrested using that same law…but these PRETENDERS in parliament all aspire to be JUST LIKE MASSA…so there..

47. Am sure Blogmaster can bring up everyone of my posts over the years cussing them, begging them, beseeching them, to remove those slave laws…oh well, they can’t see it was my fault, they will have to find another fall guy.

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the First of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee

This is the very first time SINCE MAY 24TH 2018, de ole man got a reason to endorse what you are saying AS OPPOSED TO YOUR USUAL BRAYINGS!!!

“…Guyson Mayers is and was always a dummy…”

De ole man endorse that statement and unfortunately have to add de Depieza lady to that statement too!

She clearly DOES NOT UNDERSTAND HOW TO DISTANCE HERSELF FROM THESE TORPEDOES that will sink the ship of her political aspirations!!!

But den Hee Hee you add a likkle comedy which was unexpected! Heheheheh

You said and I quote “…Unless the dental practice was preparing false teets, bridges and braces for ICBL staff, the 5% evidence is “pellucidly clear”…”

False teets! Not to be confused with the 87 teets, real shark teets dat de Attorney General Teets Marshall got in he head AND BARES TO DE CAMERAS WHENEVER HE PUN CBC REPORTING LIES!

Or Charles Me Love You Jong Time BLP owned Parliament TV!!!

49. “On another note the blogmaster notes the testimony by ICBL official when he stated that the BIDC deal that has embroiled Inniss in the matter at hand was finally closed 70:30 between ICBL and CGI. The blogmaster does not intend to opine on the matter other than what is fact.”

It’s no secret that CGI was helping ICBL through Tasker sending out some kinda SOS in those times, it was all over social media, the Saturday fish cookout meetings in St. John i believe, if i remember, as well as the board meetings with everyone present at ICBL..don’t know if the Don was there though..