Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.
Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.
She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.
Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”
-
@fortyacres
Agree with you but it should not detere from establishing the legal framework while we continue to improve enforcement.
-
Someone would have to be extremely naive to believe that the US government has decided to prosecute Donville Inniss because he corruptly received $90k. The US political system is mired in corruption, all the way from financial corruption to involvement in paedophile rings. The sums involved are in the millions and people in the know get killed if they are considered to be a threat. The spy agencies keep the dirt on all those involved and bring it into the open when a political decision is made to destroy an individual. The more important question is why was such a decision made to hang Donville out to dry.
-
@Caleb “However, do we really want to kick a fellow Barbadian, a former Barbadian M.P and Government Minister when he is very much on the ropes, and he and his family clearly have a tough [row] to hoe.”
I don’t know about others but I wish Donville well and I wish that the judge and jury will deliver justice, whether he is acquitted or whether he is convicted.
When justice is done, it brings joy to the righteous but terror to evil doers.Proverbs 21:15
-
@TLSN
On another depressing note why has the former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and the Former Speaker of the House, Michael Carrington , chosen to have accompanied Mr Inniss – a man accused of corruption – in court?
Maybe they are trying to prove thata) They can travel to the USA without being hauled to the hoosegow as has been rumoured
b) They are willing to support a friend, that they won’t abandon their friends if they get in trouble -
What do you mean that all the ministers from the last govt. will be locked up? That will certainly be something seismic. -
David which number juror are u
Have you already read the defense rebuttal / response to the prosecution presentation given by witnesses
David ( juror) please tell us what u know and how u came to the conclusion in lite of the fact the defense has yet to give a rebuttal
Anyhow this is barbados where speculation trumps facts
Hopefully maybe in a few days all would get to know what u dont know -
@ Simple Simon
You need banning girl!
Look how you bringing the Barbados Underground blog to disrepute!
All that xrated conversation!
You ought to be ashamed of yourself!
“…I wish that I had a nice hard working fisherman to hug up in my bed now that these nights are so chilly…”
What you mean by “hard?”
Is that chiseled features you mean?
Is that hard muscles?
Where you going with that sort of talk pun BU?
Then you continue
“… I have NEVER lusted after a Cabinet Minister (except maybe after Owen) mostly because too many ‘o dem too damn chubby…”
You need your glasses checking though!
You say lust AND OWEN IN THE SAME SENTENCE?
Puff, de Magic Dragon? He not only “chubby” dat man vertically challenged!
He is 2 inches taller than me AND DE OLE MAN IN 5 FT 2 INCHES!
But you ent content to stop there with your salaciousness
You gone on to say “…A nice hard, hard working fisherman is more what I desire…”
Why 2 HARDS?
All uh we understand the first hard to qualify the word “working” but 2 hards is smutty conversation AND YOU NEED BANNING IMMEDIATELY
heheheheh
Girl, it appears like you ent really hate we so much after all
You may need to consult with Mugabe concerning “replacements” to deal with your “lusts”
Though, now de ole man tink of it, is not the Mugabe Regime not fooping you enough with their taxes?
You like you got an insatiable appetite for HARD wood woman!
-
Piece I said all that to say this: Fishing is good, productive, useful, profitable, honorable, tasty work.
But i thought that I would spice it up a little bit.
A good evening to you.
-
PIECE
YOU LIKE YOU LOOKING FOR AN UNNECESSARY AMPUTATION YUH
-
“I wish that I had a nice hard working fisherman to hug up in my bed now that these nights are so chilly.”
Silly Woman
A friend of mine told me about “a nice hard working fisherman” who became involved with a certain woman, whom he subsequently married.
On those chilly nights, When she had enough of him and reaped all the benefits he sowed, the reason she gave the Court for wanting a divorce was “he does smell too raw.”
I guess she probably endured the rawness of his hands when he hugged her on those chilly nights, while imagining his money smelled like perfume.
-
“Anyhow this is barbados where speculation trumps facts.”
Mariposa
Spot on!!!!
Especially when one considers your political contributions are usually based on speculation and not facts.
-
The public comments of Freundel Stuart in reference to the case involving former Speaker of the House Michael Carrington and now the public comments of Guyson Mayers in reference to the case of Donville Inniss, is more than enough evidence of the total lack of morals and a total disregard for ethics which characterizes the leading members of the DLP.
-
@ David the BU blogmaster, Is there enough information to have exposed ingrid innes and tasker of ICBL to having engaged in corrupted behaviour ?
You wrote “There is enough information to have exposed Donville having engaged in corrupted behaviour.”
Seems to me there were equal corrupted behaviour by the PAYORS and the RECEIVER.
-
Many companies have no problem paying a referral fee/commission to individuals. In this case ICBL paid Donville knowing the intent was to swing business to the company. Their behaviour is unethical and borders on corrupt. Is it illegal?
-
What we Can take away from all this is that in the absence of new integrity legislation we can not prosecute anyone for basic “tiefing” at the very least. Forget the fancy talk about money laundering etc. Wunna can’t convict a fellow even for basic fraud neither in Bim then? So if I take money under pretence of supplying a service or product not actually supplied, well it got to be at least a basic case of fraud, correct? I thought we had a “fraud squad ” in the force years back, but maybe with all the cutbacks dem all get send home who knows.
I mean if bout hey didn’t so sad it would be laughable.
-
@Hal Austin must be laughing real hard in the UK.
BARBADOS IS INDEED A FAILED STATE.
HOWEVER DONVILLE INNISS ASS IS GRASS IN THE USA.
SOMEONE PLEASE TELL HIM NOT TO BEND OVER TO PICK UP THE SOAP WHEN HE IS IN FEDERAL CUSTODY IN THE PRISON SHOWERS.
-
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please
Of course it is illegal!
De man is de Minister and he is not an insurance agent wukking pun commissions.
What sort of Stoopid question is that?
-
@ David January 15, 2020 7:31 PM
You are omitting the fact that Donville’s contract of employment (Oath of Office) as a minister of the Crown strictly forbade him from engaging in any other gainful activities which will constitute conflict of interests.
Now you could not want a more pellucid case of conflict of interest than the one which pertains with ICBL and the Minister responsible for the ‘lawfully’ sound functioning of the BIDC.
-
Of course it is illegal for any person to pay a minister a bribe.
PAYING BRIBES TO GOVERNMENT MINISTERS IS A ” WHITE COLLAR CRIME ”
Miller and Piece the Legend can focus on Donville and the DLP..
I just want justice to be dispensed to the payor and payee of the bribe.
-
In Barbados there is no such thing as below:
PAYING BRIBES TO GOVERNMENT MINISTERS IS A ” WHITE COLLAR CRIME ”
Only the Blue collar and unemployed recieves Prison sentences LOCALLY because they can’t pay the local Police and others to look the other way.
Charles Herbert is a CLASSIC CASE OF A WHITE COLLAR CRIMINAL WHO GOT AWAY WITH A YACHT FULL OF DRUGS.
I WONDER IF HE WAS IN THE USA WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE OUTCOME?
-
John A
You seem to be suggesting that, upon hearing about the case, the “Fraud Squad” should have made the necessary arrangements to arrest and charge Inniss, Innes and Tasker.
But let me ask you this. On whose authority would the police investigate this matter? Would they do so on their own volition or would ICBL officials have to make a formal complaint, provide them with the necessary information and ask them to proceed with investigations?
-
One more time
Daily the pattern of “Speak No Ill” of the Privileged of Barbados is shown to be the order of the day.
Just a few comments above we were asked to say nothing about Pornville and his crimes because we, dutiful sheep, should let it play out in court.
Wunna do remember how that court ting does wuk out in Barbados do you?
The famous scare tactic of “we cannot talk bout dis cause de matter is subjudice”
And when dat scare tactic DOES NOT WORK, cause after all we are all anonymous bloggers pun BU and the Honourable Blogmaster does not share our identities with anyone, when dat strategy doan wuk, dem does try this new one!
“How can wunna talk bad bout Pornville?
Is he not a father, a son, a bajan AND OUR BROTHER?
And de ole man does ask dese fvuckers this!
Was Pornville not a Rass**le brother when he, and others of our RH bajan brother did, WITH MALICE AFORETHOUGHT, plan and execute grievous thievery against he so called brothers and sisters?
I hope he rass**le get lock to FVUCK up in Amurica and get fvucking bull by Bubba so that he, AND ALL DEM FVUCKERS start to understand what it feels like to be shat upon by dem politicians!
Even if the effer gets off, WHEN THE NEXT TWO CASES GET HEARD, he will be requested to go back to the USofA and he will refuse to do so.
He will be sentences in absentee AND DECLARED PERSONA NON GRATA THERE!
Go to Canada or England thereafter
-
@ Artax.
There is no shortage of blame and incompetence to go around.
From what we saw here the AG “pleaded” with the commissioner to act, who said he was waiting on the DPP to move on it. So somewhere in that triangle of despair nothing happened.
Now once the charges were laid in a U.S court, one would of thought that charges would also of been laid locally. Alas that did not happen either.
So that brings us to the present chapter in the local comedy, where we are now being told that nothing has been pursued so far, because after being in power for nearly 2 years we did not get around to putting integrity legislation in place. As a result we can’t even charge he for fraud or tiefing under we laws. Oh and before wunna fly up and ask why we cant lock up no body at CLIC0 the excuse is the same (probably)!
Well what can we surmise from all these proclamations? For me it first started as a case of “em ain’t my job it’s his ( or hers) to bring charges”, then it progressed to ” well the USA move pun he so what we going do?” That was finally followed 2 years later by ” alright then we putting integrity legislation in place sometime soon” so it don’t happen again (hopefully).
I know it ain’t no joke but the truth is if we don’t look at it and laugh, you will just work yourself into a state of despair.
-
It looks like you answered your question.
-
“Now once the charges were laid in a U.S court, one would of thought that charges would also of been laid locally. Alas that did not happen either.”
John A
Things don’t necessarily work that way.
-
@ Artax
From What I can see here it don’t work no way at all!
-
Is this a current or former judge. If it is, say he was not tied up in the offshore mess with the name Morley while a sitting judge.
-
And as for the Fulcrum scam, what is all of that about at taxpayer’s expense too.
-
Wuhloss…crooks of a feather, CAUGHT TOGETHER.
https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1226883547521182/
-
@Tee White. I was thinking on that same level. Why would the USA government used up all this resources to go after a banana republic minister for such a relative small sum. You would have thought in the bigger scheme ot things, larger whales are out there to catch. Or maybe because the USA government know our justice system is a joke when it comes to the elites… they making an example of Innis and embarrassing us at the same time.
-
“they making an example of Innis and embarrassing us at the same time..”
Everyone knows i take a turn in everyone, even US, evenly distributing how i really feel, but i think a little gratefulness and appreciation is called for here.
I would more look at this as FREEING BLACK BAJANS FINALLY from DBLP crime syndicate of THIEVES, LIARS and FRAUDS…who have operated for 80 YEARS..to the detriment of 3 generations of unaware bajans, most of whom have gone to THEIR GRAVES NOT KNOW WHY OR HOW THEY WERE VICTIMIZED AND ROBBED.
You can call this finally freeing the people from financial and mental BONDAGE…
your POISONOUS, CANCEROUS criminal syndicate has spread their DESTRUCTIVE wings into other people’s jurisdictions AFTER DESTROYING THE ISLAND and countless Black and other lives…this could not be allowed to continue…generations lost to poverty and prison because of their nasty massa mentality and GREED.
on my behalf and for the small part i played…you are welcome.
-
Just last year, Abuka, the corrupted businessman from Nigeria who was running for President was allowed to enter the USA, after it was well documented, he along with his wife, laundered millions of $ in the USA. Go figure. However, as corrupt as Nigeria is, at least, they have managed to send some bigwigs to prison. Not in Bim though.
-
@ Hants January 15, 2020 9:14 PM
Totally agree!
What has been done to the payee (recipient) must be done also to the payer (giver) of those bribes.
The question is when would the Bajan authorities do their job as those in the USA have done so far?
The legislation covering such criminal acts is already on the statute books; just awaiting enforcement in this case.
-
Definitely a read and WEEP moment.
-
@fortyacres
It is why the blogmaster intimated that there may be other matters to be prosecuted. We will see.
-
@WARU. I am on your side. In no way I am calling out the USA on this one and giving Innis a pass. Good for him. It just seemed curious to me that the USA will used up all this resources to prosecute a small fry.
-
Piece…don’t forget my humble request for you and your grandson’s very creative cartoons that will encourage Bajans to FOREVER BAN..every toxic lawyer from entering that parliament..no lawyers for centuries into the future.
Lawyers are the ENEMIES of Black people on the island.
-
We are on the home stretch of this matter – today is summation day for both sides and the judge will give instruction to the jury before they retire to deliberate Donville’s fate. Whatever the outcome like MICHAEL CARRINGTON your buddy on the ground giving support you are guilty of unethical behaviour.
-
“It just seemed curious to me that the USA will used up all this resources to prosecute a small fry.”
one has to start somewhere.
-
Here is the “am not a money launderer”..lol
-
David BU
I’ve read where it’s being suggested, because they were 6 officers and 5 registrations, Fulcrum Chambers Ltd. is a scam.
I prefer to be FAIR, rather than rushing off to make wild, unsubstantiated accusations.
What were the reasons for the resignations? Is there any evidence to indicate whether or not those individuals that resigned were members of the Board of Directors or employees?
(1). Lee Marler – Director – resigned on March 31, 2012.
(2). Anthony Edward Richard Wheatley – Director – resigned on November 21, 2014
(3). David Huw Williams – Secretary – resigned on October 18, 2019.
(4). David Huw Williams – Director – resigned on October 18, 2019.
(5). Ivan James Pearce Molland – Director – resigned on October 18, 2019.It’s important to note that ONE man represents 2 of the 5 resignations.
There are 17 individuals listed on their website, who are described as being “at the heart of what (they) do.” And, they have very impressive profiles…….including David Huw Williams and Ivan Pearce, who are FOUNDERS of Fulcrum Chambers Ltd.
So, it’s clear Williams and Pearce resigned as Directors ONLY…. and not from the company.
David Huw Williams areas of practice includes International Bribery and Corruption and Anti-Money Laundering; Global Investigations; Commercial Law; Commercial Fraud.
Ivan Pearce’s areas of expertise includes International Bribery and Corruption and Anti-Money Laundering; Global Investigations; Price Fixing; Dealing Offences; Asset Forfeiture; Tracing and Confiscation.
-
@Artax
Thanks for your input as usual.
Taking this opportunity to restate that the directorships exposed on the Panama Papers website is a CAIPO dump. The directorships exposed is not a conformation of a corrupt behaviour.
-
The multimillions being paid to the whiteHOAX scam is starting to climb higher, higher, higher..according to an article by Atherley…don’t think it’s this one, it has moved from 54 MILLION to 62 MILLION DOLLARS..
https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243490/atherley-answers-white-oak
-
@greene
Can you expand on your comment that commenters are unfamiliar with ML as it applies in this case?
If it can be proved under Barbados law that Donville accepted an inappropriate payment from ICBL and the link can be made to the Dental company in the USA, is there a good basis for ML suspicion?
-
@ John A January 15, 2020 10:03 PM
“So that brings us to the present chapter in the local comedy, where we are now being told that nothing has been pursued so far, because after being in power for nearly 2 years we did not get around to putting integrity legislation in place. As a result we can’t even charge he for fraud or tiefing under we laws. Oh and before wunna fly up and ask why we cant lock up no body at CLIC0 the excuse is the same (probably)!”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++Don’t fall for that load of “BS”! The existing laws do give ‘sufficient’ teeth to the authorities to bring criminal charges against those who have been involved in ‘alleged’ bribery, fraud and money-laundering activities.
Even the former PM, a ‘boss’ lawyer himself, did recognize the validity of the old 1929 Prevention of Corruption Act (POCA) despite its ‘comparatively’ low penalty of $2,900.00 which would have been a lot of money when it was passed.
Then there is the 1992 Theft Act (Act 29) and the Anti-money Laundering legislation to cover the overseas aspect of the unlawful transaction.
Can you say what legal authority the law enforcement agencies have to act on tips via the Crimestoppers line or by monitoring perceived criminal activity circulated on social media without a ‘live’ complainant?
BTW, what has become of the case against the Leper boy now in hiding for selling ‘illegal’ financial products to the public?
The answer to that would give you the reason why Barbados is in its current condition.
Maybe a former chief of the coppers now a topnotch consultant can recommend a ‘monkey’ solution to this one-eye approach to justice in Barbados where the authorities ‘see no evil, hear no evil and speak no evil’ when it comes to their cocktail friends in the “Two Barbadoes”.
-
Sometimes people don’t get it the first time they read something and have to read it again.
“The vice-president and financial controller of BF&M Gloria Legere, also took to the stand yesterday and testified that after she discovered the US$20 000 payout in the second quarter of 2016, she conducted her own investigation and realized a similar payment had been made in 2015.
She said she had trouble identifying the reason for the payment.
Legere said the first payment was honoured by BF&M Life insurance while the latter was paid by BF&M General insurance.
However, she said this was not the norm as payments to the same business were usually paid by the same BF&M company.
She said she could not initially locate the payment or who authorized it, but eventually discovered there were consulting fees charged to ICBL by Crystal Dental Labs.
She said when she called the company’s branch in Virginia, US, she was told no such consultations had been done.
Under cross examination by Ricco, Legere said she had tried repeatedly to get information from Innes, former chief financial officer Kamante Millar and BF&M’s former chief information officer Paul Matthews, to no avail.
She admitted that while the money had been paid to Crystal Dental Labs’ New York branch, repeated efforts to contact them proved unsuccessful, leading her to enquire with the Virginia branch. randybennett@barbadostoday.bb“
-
Miller…whiteHOAX has become a liability…it only took them 9 months to complete their Grenada contract …yet 3 months short of 2 YEARS later they are charging taxpayers even more multimilllions….looks like the taxpayers will be stuck with those parasites for another 3 years…until the well has run even drier.
-
No, Northern Observer, the lawyer in question was not a Barbadian lawyer in New York. He has since retired to Florida.
Too bad that Barbadian lawyers have allowed their reputations to be so sullied.
SIMPLE RULE: NEVER BORROW YOUR CLIENTS’ MONEY (Euphemism).
-
“We can’t do it with the population that we have now, in terms of building this country and moving us to the next level, which is the vision of the Mia Mottley administration. We have to look to open up our country a bit more to people who can be productive.
These are the words of the right honourable Minister of Home Affairs Edmund Hinkson who’s stated that the BLP Cabinet recently approved a new immigration policy which would make it easier for those who want to invest in Barbados’ economy.
There we have it folks, decades of absolute corruption as practised by our two principle parties. Such is their desperation that they are now pursuing high net worth individuals whom they believe will bring investment to the country.
Confirmation if needed that our elite have given up on the masses.
-
For inquiring minds the blog was not updated because of the interest in the top blog.