Millar told the court that in August 2015, she attended a meeting with former chief executive officer (CEO) of ICBL Ingrid Innes and former senior vice-president with responsibility for business development and marketing Alex Tasker.
Following that meeting, she said Innes instructed her to make “an urgent payment” of a referral bonus to Inniss.
She said she was uncomfortable with the request made by Innes as he was “politically exposed” and she enquired if she Innes had cleared such a transaction with the company’s chairman John Wight, to which Innes responded, “It’s fine”.
Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged

724 responses to “Donville Inniss GUILTY as Charged”
-
And i remember vividly that employees at ICBL complained publicly, loudly and bitterly at CGI’s presence at those board meetings and the clear and present danger that could develop because of that toxic association…..the blogs are still available am sure.
-
@ Miller who wrote, ” the ‘alleged’ involvement of two former employees of the ICBL ”
Pay bribe, receive bribe….same difference.
Most BU bloggers tread lightly around those who PAY BRIBES AND FACILITATE CORRUPT POLITICAL PRACTICES.
Government ministers who tief taxpayers money could be locked up.
People who PAY BRIBES to government ministers and civil servants could be locked up.
-
Question:
Isn’t Guyston Mayer’s and the Attorney saying the same thing in a different way?
Just asking.The Duopoly Rules
-
to be absolutely clear Guyson was talking about M/L and not deception, corruption or fraud. it seems to me that many here are mixing up those crimes.
quote} “Based on what is in the public domain, I am not sure that the elements of a charge of money laundering, for which he [Inniss] now stands trial, would be satisfied, based on the four corners of our domestic legislation.
“However, I am aware that there are other issues that may be relevant where this case is concerned.”{quote
please read up the anti M/L laws in Bim and why it was severely criticised by CFATF during its last evaluation.
-
@ skinner
take the grand prize, please
-
“Isn’t Guyston Mayers and the Attorney (General) saying the same thing in a different way?”
Mr. Skinner
Ironically, I was “thinking the same thing.”
And, I hope you noticed both Mayers and AG Marshall were being politically expedient in their comments.
Whereas AG Dale Marshall is essentially implying the DEMS refusing to immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring a declaration of assets by public officials, a Code of Conduct for Ministers and integrity legislation (as was outlined and promised on page 48 of their 2008 election manifesto), prevented Donville from facing criminal charges in Barbados………
………Mayers is saying, “if Donville’s matter was to be tried under Barbadian law, by now it would have ended because there would be no case against him.”
So, Mayers is attempting to placate the George Street rum punch drinkers that Donville hasn’t really done anything wrong under the laws of Barbados……
………. and Marshall is trying to pacify the angry Roebuck Street kool-aid drinkers that, although he made unsubstantiated references to corruption under the last administration and would like to lock a few former DLP ministers, the DEMS not implementing certain legislation, is preventing them from taking further action.
As you always “say”………. the duopoly rules.
-
Greene
You fuh real?🤣🤣🤣 -
@Artax
quote}So, Mayers is attempting to placate the George Street rum punch drinkers that Donville hasn’t really done anything wrong under the laws of Barbados……{quote
he never said that. he was referring M/L laws specifically in Bim.
from Mayers according to the Bim papers-
quote} “Based on what is in the public domain, I am not sure that the elements of a charge of money laundering, for which he [Inniss] now stands trial, would be satisfied, based on the four corners of our domestic legislation.
“However, I am aware that there are other issues that may be relevant where this case is concerned.”{quote
-
@Enuff,
i am aware that a lot of you who post here have a passing acquaintance with what M/L actually means and what the M/L laws in Bim says
-
None here can deny the fact that Guyson should be aware of the intricacies of money laundering.
After all, he was a former acting director of the Financial Intelligence Unit under the previous Freundel Stuart administration and was subsequently contracted for 15 months to oversee the National Risk Assessment and Mutual Evaluation Exercise of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter Financing of Terrorism Regime of Barbados……
…… for which he was paid $300,000 and $224 000 to purchase “technical tools” from the World Bank to get the job done.
So, Guyson should know wuh he talkin’ ’bout.
-
So @Artax and @Skinner, if I am reading u guys correctly u are saying that Inniss is not or would not be guilty under current local ML statutes according to the nuanced language of both Marshall and Mayers!
Ok… I hear that .
But please can either of u tell me which legal standard ALLOWS the creation of false invoices payable to a foreign entity with whom the company issuing the cheque has no known business dealings and payable to a Min of Government who had some responsibility/control over said company issuing invoice and cheque for the fraudulent services in his name.
Which tenent of the criminal code allows such activity?
As asked above what does ‘tiefing’ or fraud have to do with Integrity legislation !
ML is the final net in a series available to catch the crook but the various other filters are more than useful if and when put into action.
-
Greene
I never mentioned Mayers said anything as you you’re suggesting.
I presented MY interpretation of what Mayers said re: “if Donville’s matter was to be tried under Barbadian law, by now it would have ended because there would be no case against him,” is that Donville didn’t do anything wrong that would be recognized under the laws of Barbados.
Unless, you’re suggesting Donville ACTUALLY did SOMETHING ILLEGAL for which he could NOT be prosecuted under the laws of Barbados.
So, cut all the fancy talk about knowing money laundering laws and answer the following question.
Did Donville Inniss engaged in an illegal activity or not? YES or NO?
-
Mayers is misleading Bajans. We do not have money laundering laws but we have the 1929 Barbados Prevention of Corruption Act. Donville should also be charged in Barbados after he has served his time in US jail.
-
“But please can either of u tell me which legal standard ALLOWS the creation of false invoices payable to a foreign entity with whom the company issuing the cheque has no known business dealings and payable to a Min of Government who had some responsibility/control over said company issuing invoice and cheque for the fraudulent services in his name.”
dPd
I presented MY interpretation of the statements made by both gentlemen, within a political context.
However, what I can “say,” as it relates to circumstances surrounding the creation of false invoices for alleged consultation services rendered and subsequent issuing of cheques as payments for those services, it is clear case of FRAUD.
I believe that, being aware of this information, it would be up to ICBL’s management to provide the RBPF with the necessary evidence to investigate the matter, since, in these circumstances, the police cannot invite themselves to investigate.
-
@ Artax,
if you are instructing me i charge in 15 minute blocks at 75 pounds.
to save you some dosh read Guyson’s words in the bit i quoted above
-
Donville committed at least two distinct criminal acts:
1. Soliciting and accepting a bribe;
2. Laundering the bribe proceeds. -
@ Piece of the Legend January 15, 2020 9:06 AM
I back you one-hundred percent.
-
Inniss is being tried for M/L in the US. the jury will decide whether that offence has been proven by the Prosecutors there.
-
“Mayers is misleading Bajans. We do not have money laundering laws but we have the 1929 Barbados Prevention of Corruption Act.”
Don’t know if they ratified the anti-money laundering laws like they were supposed to but the refused to ratify or upgrade the anitcorruption laws for decades.
-
Mayers said: “If Mr Inniss’ matter was to be tried on Barbadian law, by now it would have been ended because there is no case against him based on Barbadian law.
What he really meant to say is that corruption has become the accepted norm in Barbados.
On another depressing note why has the former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and the Former Speaker of the House, Michael Carrington , chosen to have accompanied Mr Inniss – a man accused of corruption – in court? Were they there to offer him support or could there have been more sinister reasons for their presence in the court?
-
But Piece why dont u pay attention to the dark horse called Atherley who hasnt in two years said any or done anything to help the people of barbados
Even the gun violence he has dare to say anything of worth to affect change
Stupsee wuh Verla and Diepieza not sitting in Parliament like the dead horse Atherley who now seems to have found a comfortable spot collecting tax payers money fuh doing nothing
Hey Verla and Myers can talk all they want but their views not gonna form any “real” legislation to form change
Yuh need to check Atherley and asked why is he so silent and at times behaving like a robot -
@ depedanticDribbler
I merely asked if Mayers and the attorney general are not saying the same thing differently.
I did not even hint the legal implications of Inniss’ acts. And I don’t intend to get into that.
As @Artax correctly states both statements are nothing more than red meat for the apologists and cool aid drinkers of the Duopoly. And the Duopoly is a past master at that.The Duopoly Rules
-
Question:
Will the assets of those covered by the Integrity legislation be declared to the public?
I thought that they were to be kept confidentially by the cabinet secretary.
Maybe I am wrong.
Just asking. -
Things aren’t looking too good for Donville, I must say. Guyston Mayers is trying to cloud the issue and confuse people. That’s all.
But it is my opinion that there are many many Barbadians who find it difficult to be outraged at such because they would be doing exactly the same thing.
There is a saying here that any man who gains political power and leaves power a poor man is an idiot who does not deserve political power.
This bribery problem is not one of politicians only but civil servants who have the power to grant licences, permits, certificates, immigration papers. One can get one’s vehicle declared roadworthy without an inspection. One can obtain a driver’s licence without passing the test. One can make a traffic violation go away on the spot. One can regularise one’s immigration status, waltz through customs with items not declared, obtain a ZR permit etc etc etc. All these things, I know from persons who have taken advantage of such, are a matter of course in Barbados, although I have never taken that route or had it suggested to me.
Also, though I personally have not been in a situation where I had no choice, I do know others who were extorted as well. Legitimate applications were withheld until such bribes were paid.
People simply do not see the connection between the financial health of the society at large and their own personal financial health. They would kill the goose that lays the golden egg, figuring that they will already have accumulated eggs to keep them fed for life. Many of them will discover that the eggs still need a good nest of some kind in order to hatch healthy goslings.
The problem is pervasive and accepted as a legitimate “hustle” by many many Barbadians. So to say that Donville is done is premature.
-
But there is no lie in the AG’s statement. He simply said that if such a law were in place Donville would have been easily caught because the Integrity Commission would have seen the USD$36,000 (provided the foreign account was declared) and he would have had to face the court. We would have never known of ICBL Gate had the money not been wired to Amurka. Furthermore, what Fulcrum digging for? All the false invoicers need to be called to account too.#justasking
-
TLSN,
Just read your conclusion and i guess you and i are saying the same thing. Corruption has become the accepted norm in Barbados. From the top to the bottom.
-
Fulcrum, from my knowledge, is doing a comprehensive legal/criminal review of what transpired in the last 10 years not just the Donville incident.
-
@Greene
since it is from your part of the globe, who is Fulcrum?
I found this….http://www.fulcrumdirect.co.uk/index.php
Unsure it is these folks, since their specialties do not seem to overlap with the intended exercise?
The bigger Fulcrum seems to be in the energy space. -
Fulcrum Chambers Ltd is a highly specialised legal advisory and consultancy business comprising barristers, solicitors, investigators and other high calibre professionals.
We have established ourselves as an award winning firm providing strategic legal advice for corporates, public bodies, and private individuals in the field of bribery & corruption, fraud, investigations, due diligence and regulatory and compliance issues and compliance.
We have been involved in, and continue to be involved in, the most significant and high-profile international corporate criminal investigations and prosecutions of the past decade.
https://fulcrumchambers.com/about-us/
taken from their website
-
@David January 15, 2020 8:46 AM “Even if an innocent verdict is delivered there is enough information in the public place to have smeared Inniss. His reputation as a public service is destroyed, he will probably find a way to continue at the private level.”
Whether or not Donville is convicted he still has a very bright future ahead of him. Donville a son of a fisherman can still go into the fishing industry once he is a completely free man. Fishermen make very good money. I don’t know why wunna feel that being a Cabinet Minister is somehow “better” than being a fisherman. A university educated friend of mine married am American fisherman, she and her husband can sell a Cabinet full of Cabinet Ministers all a penny.
I wish that I had a nice hard working fisherman to hug up in my bed now that these nights are so chilly. I have NEVER lusted after a Cabinet Minister 9except maybe after Owen) mostly because too many ‘o dem too damn chubby.
A nice hard, hard working fisherman is more what I desire.
So Donville once he is free to travel should take up his daddy’s line of work. Didn’t daddy raise a whole Cabinet Minister outta dat work?
Has Donville raised a Cabinet Minister yet?
Stupseee!!!
Wunna so damn foolish den.
-
Seems as if these guys when they should shut their mouth.
He dies not help Donville, but only confirms what the pick-a-noise/salemites say … The laws are just to slam the poor, the powerful and rich walk
-
Seems as if these guys talk when they should shut their mouth.
He does not help Donville, but only confirms what the pick-a-noise/salemites say … The laws are just to slam the poor, the powerful and rich walk.
__on a phone
-
@David January 15, 2020 9:34 AM “The AG is quoted in the paper to say if Barbados had Integrity Legislation the Inniss matter could have been tried in Barbados.”
And Dale has been a Member of Parliament and a Cabinet Minister for how long?
If Parliament/Cabinet has not made laws to prosecute whose fault is it? If the officials who work under the our Attorney General’s supervision do not/have not investigated or prosecuted is it our fault? What do our MP’s think that we elect them for? What do they think that we pay them for? Why do they think that we pay them nice, nice pensions?
Dale really needs to shut up too.
Stupssseee!!!
-
How long has the Duopoly been in power? Is this the AG’s first stint as AG? Nothing but Duopoly hot air.The Duopoly Rules.
-
I am looking at today’s newspaper and even while Donville looks quite cheerful, his wife looks enormously distressed.
I must declare that I took all “lemonade” courses while at university, so my assessment is NOT based on any hard science.
The uni’s refused to let me into the “hard science” classes.
Lolll!!!
-
Long ago and far away before cell phones were invented I picked up my little kid from day nursery. I looked at the kid’s face and said “what happened?” Kid replied “one of the children died today”
There were no tears on my kid’s face and the other child had died several hours earlier
That day without being told i saw “death” on my child’s face. i still don’t understand how I knew without being told that my child had been traumatized
Maybe Dr. GP or some BU scientists can explain.
Of course my mother when a teenaged cook saw a guardian angel or a duppy or a spirit walking a few steps ahead of her as she walked home along a long lonely dark road by herself late at night. It upped and flew away once she got to a point of safety and comfort.
-
@Greene
Thanks. This makes a lot more sense. -
@peterlawrencethompson January 15, 2020 12:42 PM “…should also be charged in Barbados after he has served his time in US jail.”
But, but, but, he is a Harsun fella…the Americans can’t lock up a Harsun fella, can they?
-
The Atty Gen is quoted as saying that the Barbados authorities couldn’t charge Donville under the existing laws, yet the Barbados Gov’t has enlisted the service of a British firm to investigate instances of corruption going back ten years (note the timeline) which begs the question is the Gov’t going to make the Integrity Legislation retroactive or will any persons found to be corrupt be charged under the 1929 law? If they would be charged under the 1929 law it means that the learned Atty Gen. was just blowing hot air when it came to the issue of charges against Donville.
How many people have any confidence in the Atty. General?
-
I have a lawyer friend who once prosecuted a matter before the then Chief Judge, the late David Trager. in the Eastern District of New York (E.D.N.Y). (Judge Trager was also the Presiding Judge in the case of defendant, Lemrick Nelson, who was convicted for the murder of a Hasidic Rabbinical student, Yankel Rosenblum, during the Crown Heights riots of 1991).
My lawyer friend represented an elderly black parishioner who had retained a Jewish lawyer in New York to settle an estate. The lawyer settled the estate. However, he simply forgot to pay his client.
My lawyer friend then sued the lawyer to recover monies wrongfully retained by the lawyer. The matter was highly contentious.
My friend explained to me that in that case he had found the E.D.N.Y a hostile environment. In the end, it was only after some severe legal skirmishing that the matter settled, and he was able to recover the money due his client from the sale of the real property part of the estate, and some other compensation.
Let me say that I am not privy to the facts or the evidence in Donville Inniss’ case. But, which one of us is without blemish in this life? Which one of us has not erred and made sometimes tragic and foolish decisions? We have all sinned. We all have some axe to grind. However, do we really want to kick a fellow Barbadian, a former Barbadian M.P and Government Minister when he is very much on the ropes, and he and his family clearly have a tough road to hoe.
Perhaps, we should simply suspend judgment, notwithstanding any shortcomings on Inniss part, await the jury’s verdict, and any sentence in the matter.
-
These Duopoly apologists are so predictable. They latch on to anything they are told and then they spin spin …………pathetic !
The Duopoly Rules
-
What is the blogmaster missing?
There is enough information to have exposed Donville having engaged in corrupted behaviour.
As far as this blogmaster is concerned the die has been cast. Let us continue to create pressure on those who serve to do so with integrity.
-
@ Silly Woman January 15, 2020 3:32 PM
“What do our MP’s think that we elect them for? What do they think that we pay them for? Why do they think that we pay them nice, nice pensions?
Dale really needs to shut up too.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++If the Don of Porn is found guilty would he still be entitled to a pension from the GoB as a former Minister of the Crown?
He needs to explain why he got himself involved- while being a minister of the Crown- in the manufacture of fraudulent invoices from which he benefited.
He must have learnt this M/L technique from the dead King David and his leper friend Leroy the rearguard mechanic.
What kind of consultancy services was he providing to a private sector insurance company while in receipt of a taxpayers-funded salary?
Will the Don of Porn be asked to pay back to the Treasury the amounts misappropriated while employed in the capacity of a Minister of the Crown.
We can now understand why this guy was so boisterous in demanding back his 10% salary cut as his sacrificial contribution to the resuscitation efforts in trying to rescue the economy under Sinckler.
He had too many bills to pay, not so?
The man came into elected politics and was appointed a minister of the Crown having amassed more than a bagatelle of wealth and a mansion.
“Greed is a bottomless pit which exhausts the person in an endless effort to satisfy the need without ever reaching satisfaction.”
-
Why should integrity legislation makes any difference? A number of caricom countries have various anti-corruption laws on their book for public officials and still these people are corrupted as ever. Why should Bim be any different?
-
@fortyacres
It is the right thing to do. We have to manage our country to satisfy our standards and values. No need to benchmark to others falling short.
-
@Sargeant
The ten year stop is obviously political, that the investigation has been initiated could be good news. What it does is for DLPite members of the political class to see the benefit of blowing the whistle.
-
@William
We hope and pray that there is something seismic about to happen, the tipping point.
-
First of all they come up with slap-on-the-wrist fines for breaches of said law in addition to all sort of loopholes. Not to mention not providing enough resources to the entity whose job is to audit those asset declaration.
-
@CalebP
are you sure she hired a ‘jewish lawyer in NY’? Sure sounds like a Bajan lawyer to me. -
@David. Historically the problem with us is not the law per se but enforcement and equity. Intergity legislation is great in theory and a good for political optics, however it becomes just as useless as the other laws on the books if it is not properly funded and enforced.