Today’s debate in the Senate piqued the interest of the blogmaster when that chamber debated the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Amendment) Act 2019. As a side note Senator Caswell Franklyn must be commended for almost single-handedly keeping the dissenting voice alive in a democracy under stress given the result of the general election  of May 2019.

Of interest to the blogmaster was Senator Franklyn’s point the newly created Executive Chairman’s position was not advertised to create the opportunity for the best candidate to be selected. The BU family may recall the former government took a similar position by appointing Arnie Walters at the BWU, it failed. We learned recently that Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, the wife of Minister Dwight Sutherland was appointed to the role as Executive Chairman of the QEH. An incensed BLP Senator Rudy Grant sought to deflect Franklyn’s point by promoting the qualifications of Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland. After relieving himself, he failed miserably to make contact with Senator Franklyn’s principled concern. Listen to the debate at 48 minutes into the following video.

Senator Rudy Grant took the opportunity to update the Upper House about the status of the garbage trucks due to be delivered in November. After listening to his explanation one must conclude the Board of the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) under HIS chairmanship did not have a plan in the SHORT TERM to move garbage from the streets of Barbados. Correction: there was a plan to procure second hand garbage trucks, however, a team sent to Europe was recalled by Prime Minister Mottley in August 2018 for reasons this blogmaster is to properly understand.

Driving around Barbados on a daily basis there is deep sadness and embarrassment at the piles of garbage to be seen deposited at every street.  For many households garbage pickup is once every four or five weeks.  This blogmaster has sympathy for the inherited position of the government. A fleet of garbage trucks not properly maintained or added to in a decade. However if the problem was known before taking office a commonsense position shouts that a temporary plan should have been implemented. For example the government immediately selected default on debt on winning the government, no hesitation – there was a plan? Almost two years in office and there is no discernable plan for picking up garbage. More embarrassing is the fact we should be discussing waste to energy.

After the BU blog post – QEH on Death’s Bed  we are knocked for six at today’s revelation by Leader of Government business Senator Jerome Walcott. Te naked corruption, misappreciation of taxpayers money and level of mismanagement. This is not new at the primary care institution. Politicians continue to laugh at we all the way to the bank.

Please note: Senator Crystal N Drakes touch on the matter of the external debt agreement for those interested in her view on the matter.

259 responses to “Senators Caswell Franklyn and Rudy Grant Clash Over the Appointment of Minister’s Wife to Executive Chairman @QEH – GARBAGE”

1. Had our DNA not been so horribly altered after surviving the middle passage, by now we would have collectively refused to pay another cent toward a sanitation levy that has effectively doubled our water bills. Not another cent until such time as there was an improvement in the delivery of water and collection garbage.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

I going have to skip Senator Toni Moore ‘s illiterate segment of this video.

What does this ignoramus mean by

“…if a health care system is NOT governed well we will UNLIKELY SEE health benefits…?

Aawhere she went school?

With Jepter Ince?

UNLIKELY SEE!

Unlikely definition, not likely to be or occur; improbable; marked by doubt.

So how de badword (notice dat de ole man language is improving) can a thing that is not likely to be seen , BE SEEN???

What de badword badword are these illiterates doing in the Senate PRETENDING TO KNOW DIDDLEY SQUAT ABOUT ANYTHING?

Wunna see why de ole man always cussing ??

Leh me go back and fast forward past she poop to sensible discourse

3. Franklyn hit the nail squarely on the head. It not only looks bad and smells bad, it is bad.

If the individual is highly qualified for the post, as Grant is suggesting, then why not advertise the post? Why select one of the most corrupting methods available to procure this management position?

Of course, for those who have been around for a while, Franklyn’s spot-on comments are common between the established parties – to the point that it is expected theatrical bluster. Jesus said to judge people by what they do, not by what they say.

Regrettably, despite Franklyn and Drakes appearing to say the right things, they both consistently vote with the BLP to pass the most dangerously harmful legislation for Barbadians. So, while I tend to agree with their theatrical bluster, they have yet to show that they are anything but persons who the BLP can confidently count on to vote with them when it counts.

4. “Had our DNA not been so horribly altered after surviving the middle passage”

It’s not the DNA being altered, that should have been A PLUS…..given ancestral and genetc this and that…

….it’s the mental DUMBING DOWN, INDOCTRINATIONS, MISEDUCATION, lies BY BOTH GOVERNMENTS….

5. RE Clear, coherent, comprehensive, consistent and conclusive. A model of good teaching.

CAN YOU CITE THE TEXT WHERE HE SAID THIS THANKS

6. Nextparty246

What are you smoking? When do you see me voting with Government the way you suggested

7. Jesus said to judge people by what they do, not by what they say.
    CAN YOU CITE THE TEXT WHERE HE SAID THIS THANKS

8. CASWELL

YOUR SPEECH TODAY WAS SPOT ON

NOTHING YOU SAID CAN BE REFUTED

Clear, coherent, comprehensive, consistent and conclusive

9. David
    Your namesake never even bothered to amend the BWA Act to lawfully appoint the then recently former Senator Walters. As I recalled, that decision was opposed by very few here on BU, including Caswell. The truth is that whether the government advertise the post of Executive Chairman at the QEH or not, once Bynoe-Sutherland is selected Bajans would still say it look and smell bad. Dah is how we stay, unfortunately! Even Caswell called the lady a party hack today. Oh the irony of accusing one’s opponent of doing exactly what one is guilty of–being political. But here’s another perspective: the composition of the Board, the urgency of getting the hospital on a sound footing operationally and of course the political dimension. In the end the government and not the CEO or Executive Chairman will be the one that the electorate will blame. Context, context, context.

10. Caswell:

The Data Protection Bill is perhaps the most dangerous bill to have ever been passed in our Parliament. Drakes’ exhibited an appalling level of ineptitude in the select committee in reviewing the various submissions, including that of Solutions Barbados. You may read the report of the select committee for verification.

That bill passed the senate. The BLP obviously voted for the Bill. Did you vote with the BLP to pass this bill?

11. All the transparency police dead!

The Duopoly Rules.

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

A few things become evident on viewing the video

1.the title for this submission is controversial and does not truly be Justice to the contributions of Senators Franklyn nor Caddle.

2.The point that Senator Franklyn made was very simple really

He did not really care about the Lady’s qualifications WHAT HE SPOKE TO WAS THE SINGLE SOURCE MECHANISM THAT THE NEPOTISM FOCUSED BLP employed to engage this party hack.

For those of you with defective memories THIS WAS PRECISELY THE TYPE OF CORRUPT HIRING PRACTICES EMPLOYED WITH THE HIRING OF PERMANENT SECRETARY CHARLES JONG!

THE HIRING PROCEDURES WERE PROSTITUTED FOR ANOTHER PARTY HACK.

De ole man call he Permanent Secretary because of his unlawful salary is just short of a PS’s own.

2.Senator Caddle was very calm and concise in her delivery AND EQUALLY CLEAR IN THE DAMNING REMARKS LAID AGAINST THE TEIFING BLP.

By doing their EFFED up appointment they have commingled to administrative positions that MUST BE SEPARATE since one is to be the oversight mechanism for the other AND IF BOTH JOBS ARE HELD BY THE SAME BODY, de system is not going wuk.

Couple dat wid de fact dat one body does report to de Minister, who hired dem? den de chain of command totally EFFED up.

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

You are a man WHO DOES DOAN GET EASILY FLUSTERED.

You going have to expect dat ISO TALIBAN AKA GRENVILLE PHILLIPS is going to be leaving his articles and coming to pick at you and all the other People’s Party for Democracy and Development going forward!

The PDP has sounded the battle horn AND JUST LIKE WALTER the he Beatchhhh does look for all de ole man’s postings and comments bout de ole man CAUSE I DESTROY HIS POLITICAL ASPIRATIONS, Grenville Phillips the Bedroom Policeman is going to come and snipe at you

This BLP VOTE SUPPORT is a puerile attempt to get you vex but both men are “he beatches”

A “he Beatchhhh” is a pretend man who, ONCE HE DOES NOT GET HIS WAY, proceeds to behave like a “woman scorned” as in Walter with me and Grenville with ALL PDP candidates!

Left de two uh dem to de ole man CAUSE I ENT HAVE NO BROUGHTUPCY nor training and whereas you and Miss Caddle are of the gentleman and lady stock DE OLE MAN HAS IDENTIFIED BOTH OF THEM AS FAILED POLITICAL CANDIDATES and will not let them NOR BU FORGET THIS!

Watch dem gather as I does wind dem up like a toy drummer heheheheh

13. GP:

Jesus stated “Therefore by their fruits you will know them.” (Matt 7:20) The context is in Matthew 7:15-28, reproduced below for your convenience.

Vs 15-20: Jesus warned about false prophets (those who spoke), who could be judged to be false because they were unable to ‘bear good fruit’.

Vs 21-23: Jesus then explained that it was not those who said what appeared to be responsible things who would enter the kingdom. Those who “practice lawlessness” (bore bad fruit) would deny themselves entry.

Vs 24-27: Jesus concluded that the wise will hear and do (or bear good fruit), while the foolish will hear and not do (or not bear good fruit).

15 “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. 16 You will know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes from thornbushes or figs from thistles? 17 Even so, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a bad tree bear good fruit. 19 Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. 20 Therefore by their fruits you will know them.

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

24 “Therefore whoever hears these sayings of Mine, and does them, I will liken him to a wise man who built his house on the rock: 25 and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it did not fall, for it was founded on the rock.

26 “But everyone who hears these sayings of Mine, and does not do them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand: 27 and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house; and it fell. And great was its fall.”

28 And so it was, when Jesus had ended these sayings, that the people were astonished at His teaching, 29 for He taught them as one having authority, and not as the scribes.

14. Caswell:

You would do well to be wary of your colleague, Piece. He is the resident ppfdd yardfowl on BU, and must attack anyone with whom he perceives to be a threat to his party. The other one may appear shortly. You also need to watch your six. Those knives are not for peeling apples.

You would also do well to be guided by Jesus on this matter. “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. You will know them by their fruits.” (Matt 7:15, 16a) Piece’s fruit are easy to identify.

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

Here is ” a fruit” for you to “identify” Bedroom Policeman

IF, IF YOU WERE TRULY A MAN OF GOD AND PRINCIPLE the same way you are captivating Caswell for siding with the BLP YOU WOULD NEVER ACCEPT ONE CENT FROM THEM GRENVILLE PHILLIPS.

You are a nasty bad minded hypocrite who hides behind the Word but in the darkness OF ST STEPHENS HILL, you accept BLP CONTRACTS and do road work consultancies.

You are a paid BLP PIMP Grenville Phillips with no Solution that Barbados WILL EVER USE!

THIS DE OLE MAN PROMISES YOU!

16. Piece the Legend Avatar

Castigating not captivating

17. nextparty246October 23, 2019 10:49 PM

YOU LOVE TO PLAY LOOSELY WITH THE IPSIMA VOX

I CONCENTRATE WITH THE IPSIMA VERBA ACCORDING TO THE WAY I WAS TRAINED THAT INCLUDES THE ORIGINAL LANGUAGES

I NOTE THAT YOU TRY TO MERGE TWO PASSAGES IN YOUR ATTEMPT TO TEACH ME BIBLE

WHERE DID Jesus saY to judge people by what they do, not by what they say. LOL

ARE WE IN YOUR POLITICAL ASPIRATIONS TO LISTEN TO YOUR IPSIMA VOX OR YOUR IPSIMA VERBA ?

SEEMS YOU CAN SPIN THEREBY

WATCH OUT FOR THE IDIOT TRYING TO CONTRADICT NOW……..MURDAH

18. PIECE

I DID NOT KNOW THAT YOU MASQUERADE AS A false prophet in sheep’s clothing,

OR THAT YOU HAD INTRINSIC WOLVERINE PROCLIVITIES

WUH KIND OF FRUIT YOU DEALING WID?

DOES YOUR BAG OF FRUIT HAVE WRITTEN ON THE OUTSIDE “NO SOLUTIONS HERE”

19. It would be useful if we shift focus to the issues raised.

20. To reinforce the point of Senator Caswell being a one man Opposition here is a question- how many front page lead articles has the goodly senator commended in the traditional media?

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your question at 12.46 am is a legitimate one

And de Coleman will answer why ALL OF THE SO CALLED main stream media are avoiding him.

Roswell, Bigfoot and the Lochness monster all have become world renowned myths because of each being highlighted by the main newspapers of the day.

“…Newspapers have traditionally been an important part of civil society, providing information to citizens, convening groups around events and issues, and serving as a watchdog against abuses by those in power…”

This statement is made even more important in a region where newspapers earn their being from advertising $$ which come from a combination of the private sector, individual advertising and government underwritten revenues.

It is therefore or critical import that these media outlets DO NOT USE THEIR ADVERTISING SPACE, to promote a person like Senator Franklyn AT THE EXPENSE OF DEMOTING THEIR ABILITIES TO GET REVENUES FROM THEIR GOVERNMENT LIFELINES.

it is allowable that, around election time, senator Franklyn may get some visual real estate BUT TO FEATURE HIME, out of season, AS YOU DO HERE ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND is for them to destroy the revenue source from Mugabe Mottley!

It would have to be momentous like Senator Caswell cussing Rudy Grant’s mother or exposing a closet mystery you know de ting.

All this is is an orchestrated suppression of his visibility

22. While they are once again SETTING UP to VIOLATE the rights of the MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION….using their tried and true decades old criminality….everyone should have this tool to FIGHT BACK…ya can’t say ya helpless anymore, people are GOING OUT OF THEIR WAY…to make sure you are not..

Caswell..pay special attention to this from where you are sitting…

http://www.oas.org/es/cidh/docs/folleto/CIDHFolleto_eng.pdf

23. Yall still want to be playing children’s games with these criminals in the parliament and bar association, well go right ahead, just remember you wanted it for when YOUR TURN comes to be warded at QEH..

check out the write off specialists..bet ya many more missing millions ARE NOT EVEN BEING MENTIONED, we await the locking up of the thieves, just don’t hold ya breaths.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/242374/qeh-money-probe

“An investigation has been launched to discover where millions of dollars belonging to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) have ended up.

This was revealed by Leader of Government Business Senator Jerome Walcott, who told the Senate yesterday the last qualified audit of the hospital was done in 2011 and there was currently “an additional $7.1 million that cannot be explained in terms of where it has gone; what it has purchased; who it has paid”.

He also highlighted a situation where there was a gap of $13.1 million between an actual stock count and a matching book value of inventory that has to be written off.”

24. iN THE DEBATE THE DR SOUGHT TO UNFAIRLY HIGHLIGHT THE QEH SITUATION POLITICALLY AS ESSENTIALLY MAINLY A FAILING OF THE LAST DLP ADMINISTRATION,

CASWELL POINTED OUT THAT WHEREAS THIS IS PARTIALLY SO, THE ROOT OF THE SITUATION HAD ITS GENESIS IN MOVING FROM EFFECTIVE GOVERNANCE OF THE QEH FROM A SMALL GROUP OF MEN TO A BOARD UNDER THE BLP CIRCA 2002

CASWELL POINTED OUT ALSO THAT THE NEW PROPOSED SUPER STRUCTURE OF LEADERSHIP IS UNNECESSARY AND COSTLY, AND MERELY PROVIDES JOBS FOR THE PARTY ELITE

IT SEEMS THAT WE ARE NO LONGER ABLE OR WILLING TO FUNCTION EFFICIENTLY ,SIMPLY AND LOGICALLY AS OUR UPBRINGING DEMANDED,AS WE PREVIOUSLY DID……… AND THAT NOW WE SEEK THE GRANDIOSE AND “HIGHFALUTIN” AS WE CONSISTENTLY FLAIL, AND FAIL AND FLOUNDER IN A SEA OF SELFISH GREED AND GRAFT BY OUR LEADERS.

THEY PRETEND IN THEIR LOFTY TALKS TO BE DOING GOOD, BUT THEY ARE DOING EVIL BECAUSE THEY ARE ESSENTIALLY GREEDY EVIL PEOPLE.

WE SEEM TO BE SPINNING TOP IN MUD AS OUR LEADERS HAVE NO VISION FOR THE PEOPLE OR THE COUNTRY. THEIR VISION IS TOTALLY MYOPIC AND SELFISH

THEY FAIL TO APPRECIATE THE AXIOM OF OUR ELDERLY THAT “A PINT POT CAN ONLY HOLD A PINT”. AND THAT TO ATTEMPT TO POUR IN MORE RESULTS ONLY IN WASTE FOR THE BODY POLITIC

PERHAPS THIS BEHAVIOUR IS A SIGN THAT WE ARE INDEED LIVING IN THE LAST DAYS

WE WISH CASWELL WELL IN HIS EFFORTS

25. “THE SITUATION HAD ITS GENESIS IN MOVING FROM EFFECTIVE GOVERNANCE OF THE QEH FROM A SMALL GROUP OF MEN TO A BOARD UNDER THE BLP CIRCA 2002”

while the PROVEN destructive DECADES OLD PATRIARCAL system of governance in taxpayer funded entities MUST BE ELIMINATED at all cost and FEMALES must take control to END THIS……the nepotism, family and friends hiring GOTTA GO..it is equally destructive and counterproductive.

26. Men love to GO ALONG TO GET ALONG…in their destructive buddy, buddy systems and LODGES…..wuh the US is now a prime example…

STRONG, intelligent women DON’T.

27. WURA,

Bynoe-Sutherland is a woman. Plenty of women doing “buddying” along with the men.

Do we have a dearth of “STRONG, intelligent women” then?

28. @Donna

Do you agree with Senator Crystal we should desist with the personification of this matter? Appointing an executive chairman is a policy and governance matter.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Every man,every day comes on BU to sell his wares whether there is a market for them or not. The issues posed in the leading articles are seldom addressed. Perhaps a gentle nudge from the Blogmaster may help.

I could not help but note that even in the Senate. Senator Drakes was allowed to address the Strategic Debt Default in a debate about the change in the QEH governance system.

The tactics are so obvious. We need to watch this slide as well. We must be aware of the “yeast of the Pharisees”.

30. David,

Are you suggesting that we should approach this as a question of whether or not there should be an executive chairperson in the first place?

That is a good question.

But another good question is – assuming that an executive chairperson is necessary, by what process should we acquire one?

Or more pointedly – by what process should we NOT acquire one?

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Personification of Public Offices? Have you not read that “Caesar’s wife must be above reproach”? Did Errol Barrow appoint Anita Barrow as GG? Did Grantley Adams sponsor Tom Adams to succeed him as Political leader of the BLP? There are ethical standards for which Barbados was reknown. Why are we lowering these standards?

32. Senator C. is starting to get dangerous. We must promote him, preferably as an ambassador far away in Geneva or Beijing, so that he no longer disturbs our business.

33. re Every man,every day comes on BU to sell his wares whether there is a market for them or not.

ONLY PARTIALLY TRUE——NOT “Every man”

RE The issues posed in the leading articles are seldom addressed. TRUE

WHEN FOLK SPEAK WITHIN THE AMBIT OF THEIR EXPERTISE, WE DO GET SOME HELPFUL INFORMATION
    OTHERWISE WE GET LOTS OF HEAT…..BUT NO LIGHT!

RE Perhaps a gentle nudge from the Blogmaster may help.

HOW WILL THIS HELP IMPROVE THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS OF THE BRIMBLING BARKERS AND BRAYERS WHO SEEK TO PONTIFICATE ON THINGS ABOUT WHICH THEY KNOW NOTHING?

34. Vincent CodringtonOctober 24, 2019 9:15 AM

@ David BU

Personification of Public Offices? Have you not read that “Caesar’s wife must be above reproach”? Did Errol Barrow appoint Anita Barrow as GG? Did Grantley Adams sponsor Tom Adams to succeed him as Political leader of the BLP? There are ethical standards for which Barbados was reknown. Why are we lowering these standards?

======================
    THIS IS THE CRUX OF THE PROBLEM
    WE HAVE REMOVED THE OLD LANDMARKS, AND MUST RETURN THERETO

THE PROBLEM IS THAT OUR PUBLIC LEADERS NO LONGER HAVE THE ETHICAL STANDARDS OF OUR FORE PARENTS WHO BUILT THE COUNTRY SLOWLY AND STEADFASTLY

35. God damn it! The red bishop should lead a puppet opposition, not investigative critics. We need docile, naive sheep, not snoopers.

36. BU has been saturated with intelligent comments for the past few days.

Very enjoyable reading material.

37. WATCH MA BARBADOS…NOT ONE PLASTIC STRAW IN SIGHT!!!

In Barbados, the Government have banned SINGLE USE PLASTICS including Straws to Protect the Environment however; Garbage is left Uncollected for Weeks increasing the Rodent Population and Flies Exponentially! Garbage Piled up for weeks that become projectiles in hurricanes that have not been Collected while Bajans are Being Taxed for Garbage Removal?

Just like they have forced us to have no Plastic Straws and Bags while quadrupling the Price, Doubling the Size of the Garbage Volume, Paying more for these Green Products all the while claiming to save the Planet by removing these items and such like. Meanwhile not Removing Garbage in a Timely manner while Potentially killing the Bajans with the Rat Infestations across the Country!

Over One Year after having Won the Government, Bajans still do not have New Garbage Trucks. All we are getting is Virtue Signaling of how Barbados Saving the Planet by Rasing Water Rates, by Paying a Sewage Charge even if you are Not Connected to Sewage, by Paying a Daily Garbage Collection Fee and they do not Show up for between 14-28 days to Remove the Stinking Garbage, Rats, Flies and maggots included! Soon going to be paying More for Electricity.

When are we going to Get Leaders with Common Sense Rather than Leaders who Pretend they are doing the Right Thing?

In Conclusion, Water Rates have Escalated, some small farmers have stopped planting because they cannot afford the increased rates.

New Garbage Collection Rates and the Garbage Not being Removed.

Paying for Sewage and you while not Connected to the Sewage.

Forced to Pay for Paper Product that are filling the landfill faster.

Higher Cost for Transport with limited Busses, More Taxes Causing More Unemployment.

More Taxes Causing a Drop in Disposable Income, More Taxes Causing a Drop in Retail Businesses.

Giving people a Tax Credit who do Not Pay Taxes.

More Taxes Causing more Business Failures and yet we hear Barbados is Mending, things are getting Better, All is Well and the average person with a pang in his Belly and feeling his Pocket and finding it Empty!

WE ARE TRULY INDENTURED WITHOUT A RELEASE DATE!!!

WAKE UP BARBADOS…THAT’S SOCIALISM FOR YA!

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/IMG_4533-650×433.jpg

Matthew Pray

This is a street in Los Angeles littered with needles/syringes from people using Mexican “Tar” Heroin and Shards/glass (meth) manufactured in Mexico but local Democrats are having a conniption over using plastic straws. Wake Up California!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10217866904722428&set=a.2138993832558&type=3&theater

38. “Do we have a dearth of “STRONG, intelligent women” then?”

You tell me if they are any INDEPENDENT MINDED, STRONG WILLED, INTELLIGENT WOMEN..on the island, DEVOID of the ugly party politics and when appointed DON’T acquire the nodding bobble headed yes persona and baying sheep mentality….but if show ANY RESISTANCE to the status quo OR when they see CRIMES committed against taxpayers and pensioners will have the balls to tell who appointed them to carry their so and so job and resign AND EXPOSE THEM ALL to the WORLD…..

Those are the types of leaders needed…do you know any…they just go along to get along.

We already know the appointed males are too weak, selfish and greedy with watery bellies..or the island would never be in such a horrible state…

So far Caswell is the only one showing any real backbone.

39. One does not have to be an accredited “expert” in a field to contribute substance to a discussion. One just has to be intelligent and curious.

We must not attempt to turn this into an “elitist” lecture hall. This is a people’s forum not an intellectual club designed to denigrate the average Barbadian.

In other words, EVERYONE deserves to be heard. If a person needs help from experts to point them in a different direction this can be done in a productive manner without lording one’s “superiority” over that person..

There is a time and place (or blog) for experts to pontificate and a time and place (or blog) for others to voice their experiences and opinions.

BU is, as I understand it, a place for both.

What really spoils our discussion and our progress is the sleazy partisan politics that seeks to defy all common sense.

40. “There are ethical standards for which Barbados was reknown. Why are we lowering these standards?”

The answer to this is fairly simple. Barbadians have become bystanders. They have refused to exercise their civic duties by demanding from their leaders good governance. There must be, currently, at least ten countries, whose populations are in open revolt. They are taking to the streets en-masse. From Haiti to Chile in unity. Yet in Bimshire…….

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The only place where you can justify two wrongs to be right is in Barbados. You would think that the BLP, after all the shite that the DLP did, and the shite that they, the BLP did, before the DLP was elected to do shite, would have thought the BLP valuable lessons from the past, to keep clear of shite doings and shite decisions. Not this BLP! This BLP is bent on ensuring that they nests are well feathered after 10 years of having of them plucked to bearing bald pooches. As you are seeing, they are hell bent on doing devious acts in the open, and who best exemplified this, you guess it- Mia Rogue Works Mottley. What we are having here in this development is a simple follow the leader, leader, leader, follow the leader, situation. Did Mia Amor not start the ball rolling by changing the constitution so that her two friends could hold positions in the senate? Did she not followed that with a nice little tax exemption under a hold load of bile so her father (business friends etc) would not have to worry anymore about his unpaid taxes or be looked upon ever again as a normal citizen? I would think that the creation of this post for Sutherland’s wife is just following a precedent set by the very articulative wordsmith, Mia Amor Rogue Works Mottley. Her nepotism was smoking, but Jesus H Christ, this woman can talk. Let no one fool you, they ain’t got a boy in Barbados that can articulate and expound like Mia Rogue Works Mottley. I was speechless after I was asked to come and listen to the Prime Minister of Barbados UN address. For a moment there, I was proud is ass to be a Bajan, since no other speech came close to besting the speech of Barbados’s first female Prime Minister. However, after feeling happy, I return to a sad and vex state. While Prime Minister Rogue Works was expounding and scouring valuable points, the reality back home was the same. Rogue Works was not speaking with any similar passion regarding governing Barbados with a code of right standing that would once and for all remove the corrupt stigma associated with these two wicked is ass parties. There was no such articulation and passion regarding getting down to the bottom of all the things spelt out as corrupt in the DLP camp while they govern. There is no similar articulative passion for strengthening agencies that have the power to investigate misappropriation practices. She was well prepared to execute her plans of interest with citizen needs and cries having to wait in a long line of seconds and thirds places. But, nothing sums it up like how the Blogmaster nicely put it and in precis: we can see that Mottley was well prepared for her address to the UN (my words), well prepared to go into a deal with Whiteoaks on debt restructuring, well prepared to split up ministries and foist on the people of Barbados the biggest cabinet in history (my words). Well prepared for the backlash that would have come on knighting her father (my words). Well prepared for two ministers to operate in one ministry and the list can go on. But, on the matter of procuring garbages trucks to solve the island garbage issues, the matter of addressing basic housekeeping was and still is not part of that well-prepared to-do list that saw an action plan put into action. How much sacrificing has this government made in the last 500 days for Barbadians to get their garbage collected?

42. Social media is abuzz about a lady shot a few days ago in critical condition
    The story infers the woman is the mother of Mighty Gabby daughter

43. @Donna

BU is a place for ALL. It will never be be elitist.

44. Agree with this comment. The BU family have discussed many times the number of acting permanent secretaries, the output from the Auditor General reports as two examples the deteriorating quality of senior public officers.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Grenville Phillips

You should be a little more circumspect when pelting jabs at Caswell. Caswell is asking the hard questions and questioning the mindblowing decisions of a Barbados Labour Party presenting their brand of so called facts and enlightenment. All I see is more rogue, under a rogue and in rogue. Why would you even do that? As a person seeking office, surely you know that while all things can be said some things are better not said. I am sure that Caswell Franklyn is not seeking to oppose for opposing sake. At the end of the day if he agrees with a bill that in your estimation is dangerous, why must the agreeing or helping to pass the bill link him to the party? Are saying that Caswell is a pimp for the BLP operating like he opposes the BLP?

46. One does not have to be an accredited “expert” in a field to contribute substance to a discussion.

ONE HAS HOWEVER to be an accredited “expert” in a field to contribute EXPERT SUBSTANCE, AND FACTS

One just has to be intelligent and curious.
    IF YOU ARE “intelligent and curious”, ASK QUESTIONS, DON’T TALK RUBBISH. SPARE US THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS OF THE BRIMBLING BARKERS AND BRAYERS WHO SEEK TO PONTIFICATE ON THINGS ABOUT WHICH THEY KNOW NOTHING

We must not attempt to turn this into an “elitist” lecture hall. This is a people’s forum not an intellectual club designed to denigrate the average Barbadian.

JUST AS WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE THE POOR WITH US, WE WILL ALSO HAVE THE ELITIST AND THE INTELLECTUALS, SINCE THE ELITIST AND THE INTELLECTUALS ARE ALSO PEOPLE, AND ARE MORE LIKELY TO GIVE PERTINENT COMMENTS, ESPECIALLY IN THEIR AREAS OF EXPERTISE.

WHO OR WHAT IS” the average Barbadian?”

In other words, EVERYONE deserves to be heard. THAT SURELY INCLUDES THE ELITIST AND THE INTELLECTUALS.

If a person needs help from experts to point them in a different direction this can be done in a productive manner without lording one’s “superiority” over that person.
    YES, SUCH PERSONS CAN ASK POLITELY AND NOT SEEK TO MOCK OR CONTRADICT, WHEN THEY ARE OBVIOUSLY DUMMIES, AND IGNORANT ABOUT THE TOPIC .
    ANY TIME ANYONE, ANYWHERE SEEKS TO MOCK OR CONTRADICT,OR DENIGRATE ME, I WILL STAMP ON THEM. I DO NOT MOCK OR CONTRADICT,OR DENIGRATE THE EXPERTS HERE WHEN THEY ARE PONTIFICATING BECAUSE, I DID NOT DROP OUT HERE, THERE OR ANYWHERE. I RAN THE RACE.

There is a time and place (or blog) for experts to pontificate. EXACTLY! and a time and place (or blog) for others to voice their experiences and opinions. THAT TOO. BUT DISCUSSIONS ARE NEVER HELPED BY THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS THAT OFTEN ABOUND HERE OR THE BRIMBLING OF BARKERS AND BRAYERS WHO SEEK TO PONTIFICATE ON THINGS ABOUT WHICH THEY CLEARLY KNOW NOTHING?

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Caswell is correct of course, but the strategic error that the government is making goes still deeper.

Whenever a nonprofit organization places a board member on it’s staff it is a signal that the organization is in big trouble. Boards are there for governance… executive staff are there to run operations. It is very worrying to overlap these two functions because it damages both governance and operations.

Furthermore, it is highly problematic to have an executive leadership of a hospital without experience in the operational delivery of health care services.

The CEO and Chair being the same person is bad news in any organization, but it is particularly damaging in nonprofit or governmental organizations because they are particularly vulnerable to financial chicanery and conflicts of interest. This is because in a for profit company the interests of the CEO and Chairman are usually aligned: make money. However in a nonprofit or governmental organization the governance and organizational priorities are very often at odds with each other. Governance has to prioritize the organizational mission of public service, while the executive has to cut and contrive to balance the budget, the staff interests, and a million other tactical details.

Although I disagree with 99% of what he thinks and says, even GP would be a better choice for this position 😉

48. @enuff

Context is this case can be interpreted the other way- to whom much is given so much is expected. Mia and team must show an appetite to depart from old ways how things were done.

49. @ Donna,

BU is a place for all to express their opinions. You can read or scroll past comments you don’t like.

I use my index finger (on the scroll button on my mouse ) as often as PM Mia uses hers to point when she is speechifying. lol

Enjoy the freeness.

50. @Donna

This is a solid question. If you listen to all of the video embedded Senator Drakes indicated in all of her research the top hospitals in the world mirrored a structure with an executive Chairman. Minister Boston in his contribution on the issue did not address this issue.