Today’s debate in the Senate piqued the interest of the blogmaster when that chamber debated the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Amendment) Act 2019. As a side note Senator Caswell Franklyn must be commended for almost single-handedly keeping the dissenting voice alive in a democracy under stress given the result of the general election  of May 2019.

Of interest to the blogmaster was Senator Franklyn’s point the newly created Executive Chairman’s position was not advertised to create the opportunity for the best candidate to be selected. The BU family may recall the former government took a similar position by appointing Arnie Walters at the BWU, it failed. We learned recently that Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, the wife of Minister Dwight Sutherland was appointed to the role as Executive Chairman of the QEH. An incensed BLP Senator Rudy Grant sought to deflect Franklyn’s point by promoting the qualifications of Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland. After relieving himself, he failed miserably to make contact with Senator Franklyn’s principled concern. Listen to the debate at 48 minutes into the following video.

Senator Rudy Grant took the opportunity to update the Upper House about the status of the garbage trucks due to be delivered in November. After listening to his explanation one must conclude the Board of the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) under HIS chairmanship did not have a plan in the SHORT TERM to move garbage from the streets of Barbados. Correction: there was a plan to procure second hand garbage trucks, however, a team sent to Europe was recalled by Prime Minister Mottley in August 2018 for reasons this blogmaster is to properly understand.

Driving around Barbados on a daily basis there is deep sadness and embarrassment at the piles of garbage to be seen deposited at every street.  For many households garbage pickup is once every four or five weeks.  This blogmaster has sympathy for the inherited position of the government. A fleet of garbage trucks not properly maintained or added to in a decade. However if the problem was known before taking office a commonsense position shouts that a temporary plan should have been implemented. For example the government immediately selected default on debt on winning the government, no hesitation – there was a plan? Almost two years in office and there is no discernable plan for picking up garbage. More embarrassing is the fact we should be discussing waste to energy.

After the BU blog post – QEH on Death’s Bed  we are knocked for six at today’s revelation by Leader of Government business Senator Jerome Walcott. Te naked corruption, misappreciation of taxpayers money and level of mismanagement. This is not new at the primary care institution. Politicians continue to laugh at we all the way to the bank.

Please note: Senator Crystal N Drakes touch on the matter of the external debt agreement for those interested in her view on the matter.

259 responses to “Senators Caswell Franklyn and Rudy Grant Clash Over the Appointment of Minister’s Wife to Executive Chairman @QEH – GARBAGE”

1. DONNA YOU HAVE SPOKEN WORDS OF SOUND REASON…WHAT YOU HAVE SAID IS CORRECT AND WORTHY ADMONITION!

Donna October 24, 2019 10:57 AM

RE, “We must not attempt to turn this into an “elitist” lecture hall. This is a people’s forum not an intellectual club designed to denigrate the average Barbadian…

In other words, EVERYONE deserves to be heard. If a person needs help from experts to point them in a different direction this can be done in a productive manner without lording one’s “superiority” over that person…”

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A STUPID QUESTION, ALL IT MEANS IS THAT SOMEBODY HAS NOT REACHED YOUR UNDERSTANDING AS YET!

UNFORTUNATELY WHEN THOSE WHO ESTEEM THEMSELVES LEARNED, IT’S THEIR WAY OR THE HIGHWAY! THEY WILL BELITTLE AND CALL OTHERS NAMES AS THEY WILL, AS IN “ANY TIME ANYONE, ANYWHERE SEEKS TO MOCK OR CONTRADICT, OR DENIGRATE ME, I WILL STAMP ON THEM.” THEIR WORDS NOT MINE… THEY GO AFTER THE PERSON MAKING COMMENTS, THEY ATTACK THE CONTRIBUTOR AND SEEK TO DESTROY THEM, RATHER THAN CLARIFY THE STATEMENT! LIKE THE PHARISEES OF OLD THEY FEAR THEIR STANDING WILL BE DIMINISHED AND HENCE THEY WILL SEEK TO DESTROY OTHERS DARE TO CONTEST THEIR WAY OF THINKING!

Donna October 24, 2019 2:47 PM RE …“I was addressing those who seem to think that ONLY experts should speak their piece or that others should sit at their feet in adulation.”

AMEN AND AMEN!

Re, “experts often disagree and we do have access to their presentations as well. And what passes as expert knowledge in one century is often debunked in another. Experts are often proven wrong”

SOUND REASONING MY DEAR HOWEVER REMEMBER IN THE EYES OF THESE ELITIST EXPERTS THEY KNOW IT ALL AND OTHERS ARE MERELY “DUMMIES AND IGNORANT”!

Donna October 24, 2019 3:42 PM

RE, “Sometimes it is not what one says but how one says it that is the hindrance to good communication. If one wants someone to be receptive to instruction it is better not to call him/her a fool first. That tends to trigger closure of the ears.”

It is Customary for the SO CALLED LEARNED on BU to call others FOOLS/IDIOTS/ MORONS TO NAME A FEW! PERCEIVING THEY TO BE THE ELITIST, WISE AND ABOVE THE REST… BOTTOM LINE IS THESE SUPPOSED TRUTH BEARERS “DO NOT CARE WHO THEY OFFEND”!

PLEASE BE ADVISED…

https://images.slideplayer.com/22/6347108/slides/slide_23.jpg

2. PUTTING FORTH THE POINTED FINGER IS A COMMON TRAIT THAT SEEMS TO BE THE MAJOR POWER POINTER ON BU!

https://www.facebook.com/tjf2006/photos/a.773100152799453/2345602895549163/?type=3&theater

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DonnaOctober 24, 2019 9:09 AM “But another good question is – assuming that an executive chairperson is necessary, by what process should we acquire one? Or more pointedly – by what process should we NOT acquire one?”

Most sensible, most logical, most literate comment so far.

4. As long as we stay locked into the discredited, undemocratic and colonial system of ‘representative democracy’ and party rule, these problems will persist. Secrecy and corruption are in the DNA of this system. The party, while in opposition, will condemn the corruption of the party in power and, as soon as the tables are turned, will engage in the same corrupt practices that it was condemning yesterday. In all this, the people are powerless to reverse the corrupt decisions or bring the corrupt individuals to account. There will come a time when we will realise that we, the ordinary working people, are the only ones who can change this situation around.

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TronOctober 24, 2019 9:49 AM “God damn it! The red bishop should lead a puppet opposition, not investigative critics. WE need docile, naive sheep, not snoopers.”

This WE that you speak of.

Is this WE a gentle shepherd?

Or is this WE a WOLF in shepherd’s clothing?

6. “It is also highly suspect to have the operational leader have no health care expertise. This will not work.”

it’s ugly …theythink they optics are so cute to hire people who are not only related to sitting ministers and at taxpayers expense…BUT THEY ARE NEVER QUALIFIED OR TRAINED FOR THE JOB…..they always think having some obscure degree gives them instant knowledge and experience…without even realizing that administrative posts in hospitals and EVERY WHERE ELSE requires YEARS OF TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE….their resumes obviously need no months of training or DECADES OF EXPERIENCE, they only need to be connected to somebody in parliament…and cannot see how unprofessional and expensive to the public purse this is, a total waste.

they do everything EXPECT for their expert TIEFING…halfassed..

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Piece
    Errol Barrow once won 24 seats ; the then opposition won 3 seats. Barrow had declared during that election that It appeared his party was going to win all the seats and it might cause a constitutional crisis. He then went on to say that with those numbers he may have to create an opposition within the government.
    Today we have a 29 to 1 . The one was created out of the 30 won. So in natural fact we have an opposition created out of the government.
    I say no more on that for now.
    I must also say that the then three man opposition , known in political folklore as the “ three blind mice”did a remarkable job and the opposition party rebounded rather quickly.

8. re “ANY TIME ANYONE, ANYWHERE SEEKS TO MOCK OR CONTRADICT, OR DENIGRATE ME, I WILL STAMP ON THEM.”

I said it and I mean it and have no apologies at all to make
    when I speak here or anywhere in public I speak what I know well

if i do not know I do not speak
    the betzpaenic barkers and brayers are in no position TO MOCK OR CONTRADICT, OR DENIGRATE ME,
    It does not happen any where else, and I will not tolerate it

If yuh cant accept me as I am forget me

9. “Of interest to the blogmaster was Senator Franklyn’s point the newly created Executive Chairman’s position was not advertised to create the opportunity for the best candidate to be selected. ”

They are certain steps that need to be followed to ensure that suitable candidates are selected for the position. If these steps are not followed we may find that Minister Joe has both qualified and unqualified worker and all of them want jobs. With nepotism as the dominant rule for selecting candidates we will essentially end up with a good fit and some square pegs in round holes.

I know you already know this, but we throw it out of the door when it comes to relatives/friends:
    Positions should be advertised (unless it is not in the national interest – a fellow can use that excuse)
    Applications solicited from people who meet conditions set out in advertisement
    An independent person review the resumes and select the top two to four candidates
    Independent interviews conducted pf these candidates
    The most suitable/qualified candidate selected
    The process must be made to work.

If improperly managed, it could be a waste of time for some of the candidates,,,,,,”Hey, we gun go through the process, but at the end of it my brother Joe don’t get the job, you lose yours. Wouldn’t it be funny if Joe get your job”.

10. As always,
    Have a great day Barbados

11. They are certain steps that need to be followed to ensure that suitable candidates are selected for the position. If these steps are not followed we may find that Minister Joe has both qualified and unqualified relatives/friends and all of them want jobs. With nepotism as the dominant rule for selecting candidates we will end up with a good fit now and then and with some square pegs in round holes.

The future of the country should not be decided on the roll of a dice.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I should note that the person appointed to the position of Executive Chair at the hospital has an
    M.Sc. in International Public Health from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, U. of London. When I argue that the executive leader of a hospital should have “health care expertise” I mean they should have operational experience as hospital staff delivering health care, ie they should be a physician, surgeon or nurse.

IMHO

13. Agree with you @plt an “M.Sc. in International Public Health” has nothing to do with being able to run a sno cone cart far less the QEH.

Separately, I noted before that Enuff is the new ac. This is proving to be true as enuffs positions look ever more ridiculous as she rushes to defend the growing missteps of the BLP. Just look at some of the nonsensical arguments above.

14. Already forgotten. I am not an elephant.

15. PLT

But didn’t I hear the lady in question has operational experience from working in a hospital in New York?

Dullard
    What’s nonsensical about the reality that in a small island the need to hire relatives/friends of politicians is inescapable? What’s nonsensical about a government hand picking someone they feel can achieve their goals and objectives? What’s nonsensical about saying whether advertised or not the lady would have been appointed and you and others would cry nepotism? For the benefit of BU, define nepotism and I am sure it is not a term confined solely to the public sector. Yet nuff ah wunna in here does call wunna friends and family to get picks for undeserving friends and family both in the public and private sector. #justsaying

16. DULLARD & PLT YOU ARE BOTH 100% CORRECT HERE BECAUSE A M.Sc. in International Public Health” has nothing to do with being able to run the QEH.

the executive leader of a hospital should have “health care expertise” I mean they should have operational experience as hospital staff delivering health care, ie they should be a physician, surgeon or nurse.

THE PURPOSE OF an “M.Sc. in International Public Health” HAS TO DO WITH RUNNING PUBLIC HEALTH SECTORS HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE

I WOULD THINK A DR WITH THE MPH COULD SERVE A SIMILAR PURPOSE ALSO

TO RUN THE QEH ONE NEEDS TO UNDERSTAND THE NEEDS OF THE VARIOUS DEPARTMENTS AND PIECES OF THE HOSPITAL, AND BE WILLING TO LISTEN AND PRIORITIZE THE USE OF RESOURCES WITH RESPECT TO CURRENT NEEDS

IT CALLS FOR SOME ONE WITH EXPERIENCE AND A HIGH NUMBER OF FUNCTIONING BETZ CELLS

17. RE But didn’t I hear the lady in question has operational experience from working in a hospital in New York?

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN ACTUALLY?

has operational experience DOING WHAT EXACTLY?

DOES THAT MEAN THAT SUCH EXPERIENCE THERE CAN BE TRANSLATED HERE?
    WHAT DOES SHE KNOW ABOUT THE QEH AND ITS INNER WORKINGS/

18. Simple Simon,

I am not an expert in the field of hospital management nor in the management of for profit or not for profit organizations but I do have a knack for disposing of distractions and zeroing in on the crux of the matter. You have a talent for simplifying matters that have been complicated by ivory tower experts.

It is my humble opinion that these attributes add value to a discussion.

Years ago I had a cyst on my foot. The doctor recommended surgical removal with the possibility of re-occurrence The nurse recommended a nightly warm Epsom salts bath and a massage.

The nurses solution was cheaper, painless and final.

Looney Tunes,

Just goes to show that we can find common ground with just about anybody.

19. RE Already forgotten. I am not an elephant.

NOR DO YOU POSESS THE REQUIRED COMPLEMENT OF BETZ CELLS TO REMEMBER LIKE AN ELEPHANT
    IS THAT WHY YOU DROPPED OUT HERE AND DROPPED OUT THERE AND DROPPED OUT EVERYWHERE?

20. GP
    Ask the people in power and the lady? I am neither one. I just stated what I heard in the parliamentary debate. In any event I think ‘political commitment’ i.e. buy in by the Exec Chair is key to any government meeting their targets at the QEH. On that note I am done with this thread because I find the arguments here lacking context.

21. WHEREAS I AGREE WHOLE HEARTEDLY WITH PLT THAT the executive leader of a hospital should have “health care expertise” I mean they should have operational experience as hospital staff delivering health care, ie they should be a physician, surgeon or nurse. THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT ANY SURGEON CAN DO SO

FOR EXAMPLE THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS THAT EFFLUXES FROM THE SHELVES OF HOUSTON OF DR WALCOTT AND HIS UTTER FAILURE AS MINISTER OF HEALTH DEMONSTRATES THIS

@ ENUFF YOOR ATTEMPTS AT APOLOGETICS IS EXEPTIONALLY POOR
    A COMMON CUR IS UNQUALIFIED TO RUN WITH THE TOP DOGS
    YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT
    YOU ARE AN OBVIOUS COMMON YARDFOWL AND AN APPROXIMATOR OF YOUR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE OVERLAYING YOUR MASTERS GLUTIAE I.E YOU ARE AN ASSLICKER IN COMMON BAJAN PARLANCE

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

Behold the Reasoning of the Rented Jackasses.

“…Issue “X” IS WRONG!

And you have without doubt, shown that we, THE PARTY IN POWER, are employing X as a practice IN ALLL OF OUR DEALINGS.

We did it when we changed the Constitution to import Canadians and make them Senators!

We did it when we forgave $1 million in taxes owed by the father of the Prime Minister Mugabe.

We then doubled down on that corrupt practice and nepotism AND MADE THAT SHAMED PARTY a knight

We continue to do it daily and ARE DOING IT NOW AT THE QEH with the wife of one of our Ministers of Parliament one Dwight Sutherland

AND NO, the definition of NEPOTISM IN NOT “…patronage bestowed or favoritism shown on the basis of family relationship, as in business and politics:

Example MUGABE was accused of nepotism when she colluded with the OBE selectors and forced her father to be made a Knight of the Order of the British Empire …”

But now THE ENTIRE WORLD knows we are nothing more than a banana estate NOT EVEN A REPUBLIC!

Where else Mugabe Mottley flying off to this week?

With her excuse of “I does doan fly first class or stay in high cost hotels…”

And the Rented jackasses and sheeple CANT SEE WHAT WE PEOPLE SEE WHICH IS

1 (trip) x $ 5000 (per ticket) and accomodation

IS LESS THAN

35 (trips) x $1,000 and Accommodation for Mugabe Mottley and the 15 women in her entourage who jetting all over the world tekking pictures for her website and INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT!

But we stupid OK!

23. RE Years ago I had a cyst on my foot. The doctor recommended surgical removal with the possibility of re-occurrence The nurse recommended a nightly warm Epsom salts bath and a massage.

The nurses solution was cheaper, painless and final.

YOU APPARENTLY HAD SOMETHING OTHER THAN A CYST DUMMY & MEDICAL ILLITERATE

CYST ARE NOT CURED BY a nightly warm Epsom salts bath and a massage.

CYSTS ARE EXISED——BARTHOLINS CYSTS ARE MARSUPIALIZED!

CYSTS THAT BECOME INFECTED AND ABSCESSES MUST BE DRAINED!

ROCKING AND MOCKING ON BU TOO SWEET THOUGH LOL LOL

24. No sir.

I am just a person who finds everything interesting enough to know something about but not interesting enough to hold me for life. Couldn’t find anything worth pursuing above all else. Couldn’t imagine doing anything everyday for the rest of my life.

PS. I actually have a great memory. I can even remember when you called me intelligent. Are you now admitting that you were wrong? Made a mistake, did you?

Wuhlaus!

You know, my opinion on someone’s intelligence is not dependent on whether or not we are on good terms. I can give the devil his due. I find it liberating.

25. The dummy and medical illiterate was the doctor who diagnosed it as such. Shows why we shouldn’t parrot what a doctor says.

Murdah!

26. Are you now admitting that you were wrong? Made a mistake, did you?

I CAN BE INFALLIBLE SOME TIMES
    MAYBE I JUDGED TOO SOON
    I KNOW FOR SURE THAT YOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND A DROPPER OUT BY YOUR OWN ADMISSION
    YOU WILL NO DOUBT REVEAL MORE

RE my opinion on someone’s intelligence is not dependent on whether or not we are on good terms. I can give the devil his due.

NOTE THAT IT IS WRITTEN IN Proverbs 3:27

Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it.

27. The dummy and medical illiterate was the doctor who diagnosed it as such.

NOT NECESSARILY

SHOWS YOU WERE SO DUMB YOU WENT TO A BAD DR OR ONE WHO MADE THE WRONG DIAGNOSIS FROM THE LIST OF DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSES

AS A dummy and medical illiterate YOU BELIEVED THAT YOU CAN TREAT A “CYST” WITH EPSOM SALTS

Shows why we shouldn’t parrot what a doctor says.

WE SHOULD PARROT ONLY WHAT THE LORD SAYS, BUT WE SHOULD LISTEN TO COMPETENT DOCTORS

28. The warm Epsom salts foot bath and massage of the “cyst” caused it to disappear after a few short days. It had been there for months.

Orthopedic specialist to patient with a serious arm injury (yours truly), “Do you wish me to refer you to a psychiatrist? What you are suggesting is happening to your back just does not happen as a result of that injury.”

Occupational therapist to patient, “You are carrying your body differently due to the injury. You are leaning to a side to accommodate it. Your body is out of alignment. When your range of motion is settled I need to fix your posture. Surely he knows that!”

General practitioner to patient with eye problem, “It is not a serious problem. It can wait until Monday after your concert.”

Nurse mother to daughter, ” Your cornea has ruptured. You need to seek medical attention immediately or you may lose the sight in your eye.”

I listened to the GP and almost lost the sight.

Now higher level credentials mean something to me but not everything.

29. re Orthopedic specialist to patient with a serious arm injury (yours truly), “Do you wish me to refer you to a psychiatrist?

HE NO DOUBT HAD A VERY GOOD REASON FOR THAT OPINION

RE Surely he knows that!” HE CAN NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS NOT TAUGHT ROMANS 10:14 TEACHES how shall they hear without a Teacher?

Occupational therapist WAS TRAINED TO GIVE HER OPINION. THAT IS WHY WE SHOULD WORK IN TEAMS

RE Nurse mother to daughter, ” Your cornea has ruptured. You need to seek medical attention immediately or you may lose the sight in your eye. SEEMS YOU HAVE A PENCHANT FOR ATTENDING BAD DOCTORS,

GOOD GP’S LIKE GP ALWAYS REFER THEIR PATIENTS EVEN WHEN THEY ARE CORRECT TO REASSURE THEMSELVES AND THEIR PATIENTS

I HAVE OFTEN HAD SPECIALISTS TELL ME “YOU HAVE DONE THE RIGHT THING, WHY DID YOU SEND THIS PATIENT TO ME?”

”Globe rupture is an ophthalmologic condition when the integrity of the outer membranes of the eye are disrupted by blunt or penetrating trauma, usually resulting from a full-thickness injury to the cornea or sclera.

WONDER WHAT KIND OF HISTORY YOU GAVE THAT POOR DR

30. I did not think I had to check his word as well as his diagnosis. It wasn’t that important. What mattered was that whatever it was, the remedy worked. A remedy I only tried skeptically as the doctor had proven to be competent in other matters.

I did not drop out of anything but a community art course. I completed all the other courses and decided I had learnt what I needed. In short in some cases I was curious and had satisfied my curiosity. In some cases I was exploring to find out if I would make it a career choice. I decided it was not my cup of tea for a lifetime.

You know, if it makes you happy to call me a dummy, have at it. I beginning to think the same thing about you who knows everything about Jesus except how to draw others unto him using his example.

PS. I think you meant “fallible” not “infallible”.

But…..enough of your malevolence for the day! You may have the last very nasty word. That more than anything else is your specialty. Far be it from me to tangle with the expert!

Onward and upwards!

31. A few years ago, before entering politics, I was on a panel discussing construction. Also on the panel, to my immediate right, was then Minister Donville Inniss.

I provided a litany of corrupt practises and invited the Minister to respond. His response was an effective political response. He simply deflected the incontrovertible evidence that I presented by stating that I was living in a bubble. I have had similar deflections from politicians over the past 2 decades.

I explained that I agree with Sen Franklyn’s comments. Everyone should. It is common in Barbados to appoint extreme political supporters to board positions of statutory corporations. But operational management positions should be advertised, and the extreme political supporters are free to apply.

Despite Sen Franklyn’s convincing and responsible arguments, I simply made the point that I have seen this movie many times before. Accusations of corruption and mismanagement by BLP and DLP politicians is common. However, they both vote for bills that harm Barbadians.

I noted that I observed that Sen Franklyn and Drakes have followed the same pattern of making entertaining speeches, but consistently voting for harmful bills when it counts.

Sen Franklyn’s did not dispute his and Drakes’ irresponsible voting pattern. Instead, his response to the incontrovertible evidence was to ask what I was smoking. It has not taken him long to behave exactly like the politicians whom he previously criticized.

I asked Sen Franklyn whether he voted for the most dangerous bill to have ever been passed in Parliament, the Data Protection Bill. He did not respond. An examination of the record shows that he did. I had assumed that he had been tricked into voting for it, but he claimed to have read it – so he is without excuse.

But voting patters are an inconvenient truth – even though that is all that really matters to Barbadians. So here on BU, let’s ignore how he, Sen Drakes and Atherley vote (supporting the BLP on every single piece of dangerous legislation). Instead, let us only concentrate on the entertaining bluster. If you dare expose anything negative about the ppfdd, then you will certainly have to deal with their extreme supporters here on BU, Piece the wolf, and his wolfette.

32. Keratoconus was my problem. That was the history I gave, you malevolent presence. The cornea had thinned.

As for the recommendation to the psychiatrist, the orthopedic surgeon said that I was imagining a physical problem that didn’t exist and would not be persuaded otherwise. That was the ONLY reason. He was PROVEN WRONG. There again it was the specialist at fault, because he should have sent me to the OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST FOR EVALUATION or at least consulted with him.

PS. The ‘bad” doctors sat the same exams you did and passed. Just some more proof that papers ain’t all!!

Vincent Codrington,

Have I offended you because I don’t swoon in adulation of your expertise?

33. re The ‘bad” doctors sat the same exams you did and passed. Just some more proof that papers ain’t all!!
    that is why we speak of PRACTICING MEDICINE

Keratoconus IS RARE
    A GP IS NOT A SPECIALIST HE IS NOT EXPECTED TO GET A RARE DIAGNOSIS IN A NEUROTIC WOMAN
    A SMART GP WOULD REFER YOU AT THE EARLIEST

NOT ONLY IS YOUR CORNEA THINNED, SO HAS THE QUANITY AND QUALITY OF YOUR BETZ CELLS

RE As for the recommendation to the psychiatrist, the orthopedic surgeon said that I was imagining a physical problem that didn’t exist and would not be persuaded otherwise. That was the ONLY reason. He was PROVEN WRONG.

BUT HE PRACTICED CORRECTLY EXCEPT THAT HE DID NOT REFER YOU WITH GREATER HASTE!

RE Vincent Codrington,

Have I offended you because I don’t swoon in adulation of your expertise?

NOW YOU HAVE STARTED UP PUN POOR Vincent Codrington, WHO HAS DONE YOU NOTHING

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff October 25, 2019 7:59 AM
    “But didn’t I hear the lady in question has operational experience from working in a hospital in New York?”
    ++++++++++++++++
    I don’t know what you ‘hear,’ but I’m looking at her LinkedIn profile where she herself highlights her significant work experience.

I specifically defined health care expertise in this context: “… operational experience as hospital staff delivering health care, ie they should be a physician, surgeon or nurse.”

This is not about the person in the position, it is about the governance and executive leadership of the hospital as a public institution.

35. PLT

You’re one of the more reasoned persons on this blog and I always have time for you. Again, I said what I heard in the parliamentary debate. if you think one must be a surgeon, physician or nurse to properly manage a hospital that is your opinion. I don’t agree.

36. Oh he who will not be contradicted,

That title is enough for a layman to diagnose your personality disorder.

You and Trump share the same characteristics.

PS. Vincent knows what I mean. Put your cursor over the one person in the like button.

Anyway…… back to the topic!

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff, I understand that your opinion is that it does not take a surgical, medical or nursing experience to be the executive leader of a nonprofit hospital; but I also understand that your opinion is based on no data whatsoever. To me that makes it worthless. If you wish to dispute its worthlessness, please cite data.

38. You and Trump share the same characteristics.
    AND WE ARE BOTH SUCESSFUL!

39. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“AND WE ARE BOTH SUCESSFUL!”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Well, I have little knowledge of you GP, but Trump is successful at serial bankruptcy, fraud, racism, sexual assault (self confessed), and being a compulsive liar. I do hope that you have made a better success of your life; I know I have.

40. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

This incestous appointment is nothing short of a Banana Republic behaviour by the BLP. And we like to thump our chest about punching above our weight and a model for black nations. Truth be told, we are as tribal, incompetent, and corrupt like those on the african continent.

41. @ Caswell Franklyn October 23, 2019 9:27 PM
    “Nextparty246
    What are you smoking? When do you see me voting with Government the way you suggested….’’
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Brother Caswell, we (that is, the good people of Barbados whether resident or in the Diaspora) see you not only as the most effective voice in the current desert of democracy but also as the ‘de facto’ leader of the real Opposition. Even though you are not (yet) directly representing the interests of the “Commoners”.

For that very reason we are encouraging and supporting you in your travails to put a stop to the continuing rot which has befallen the QEH since its conversion into a statutory board aka the highly politicized and rotten borough for corrupt politicians and their handpicked yard-birds. .

On its current trajectory the QEH is heading in the same direction which the arrogant puffed-up politicians have taken the Transport Board.

It seems the cash-strapped QEH has contracted the same yeast from a viral infection of financial infelicities as the BWA which is still suffering from similar cases of financial rape when, for instance, over a million in Bajan dollars were extracted in a heist of legal fees wrapped in an invoice and copied right from the CLICO & Thompson template.

The jury is still awaiting guidance from Judge Caswell F to confirm that the VAT collected on those invoice(s) has been paid over to the taxpayers’ bank account in the Treasury.

But just for the record, and to be on the ‘right’ side of societal Justice, please do not diminish your resolve to get to the bottom of the large scale financial raping of that poorly managed patient called the QEH over the last 7 years.

Taxpayers, especially the poor, just cannot continue to take the financial buggery which took place right in the precincts in the country’s healing place of first and last resort.

Many were hatched in that institution and many will also be dispatched from that ‘last’ resort.

Please help to ensure the medical stop(s) along the journey is not a resting place leading to premature departure for too many.

Your former BU mentor Bush Tea, wherever he may be, would be most proud of you, a fellow “Up and On” boy who was forged in the ‘Waterford-made’ crucible of honesty and fashioned on the anvil of strength and perseverance.

If only the same could be expected of Grenville P No.2 to whom much has been given!

42. PLT
    HE IS SUCESSFUL IN RUNNING HIS DETRACTORS RAGGED………THAT IS MY POINT.IN THE CONTEXT

I HAVE LED A RATHER SIMPLE LIFE SEEKING TO WALK IN THE LIGHT OF THE TRUTH OF HIS WORD AS TAUGHT IN I JOHN 1:7 AND TRYING TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME ACCORDING TO HEBREWS 12:1

43. Out of 500 Plus Successful Business Trump had 5 Failed Business. Trump has 15 Best Seller Books and a Successful TV Show that ran for many years! Now he is Commander in Chief of the Most Powerful Nation in the world!

What about you Mr. Accuser? Think your so called efforts can make you worthy to Lace his Shoes? … Stand in Line with the Rest of the Envious Losers!! People won’t even remember your name when you leave this world!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10156770249563775&set=gm.2639802742770457&type=3&theater

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Stalin was also successful in running his detractors ragged. I am glad that we each have led more useful and successful lives than Trump or Stalin.

45. Donna
    October 25, 2019 9:32 AM

“Onward and upwards!”

Donna,
    hmmmm.
    To the suspecting, these words carry a lot of weight and meaning.

46. Walter Blackman Avatar

nextparty246
    October 25, 2019 9:40 AM

“But voting patter(n)s are an inconvenient truth – even though that is all that really matters to Barbadians. So here on BU, let’s ignore how he, Sen Drakes and Atherley vote (supporting the BLP on every single piece of dangerous legislation).”

nextparty246,
    To be effective, you will have to cite “every single piece of dangerous legislation”, explain the dangers it posed to Barbados and Barbadians, and inform us how Senator Franklyn, Senator Drakes, and Atherley voted.

47. peterlawrencethompson
    October 25, 2019 12:31 PM

Stalin was also successful in running his detractors ragged.

Sho’ nuff!!!

He rinsed out Hitler if you remember your history at a time when GB and USA had not created the second front!!

Were it not for Stalin’s (Russia’s) singlehanded contribution, Hitler would probably have won WWII!!

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Walter Blackman tH*

I am going to ease up on your Acronym for a little while

Reason being, at 1.04 pm you said and I quote

“…nextparty246,

To be effective, you will have to cite “every single piece of dangerous legislation”, explain the dangers it posed to Barbados and Barbadians, and inform us how Senator Franklyn, Senator Drakes, and Atherley voted..”

You are the single person here on Barbados Underground in all these comments who has picked up on this deceitful style of polemics that Grenville Phillips uses in all of his representations!

Every single time he takes one infraction AND MAKES THEM MANY and hopes this lie and misrepresentation will tarnish the PDP!

That is the nuanced approach that Grenville Phillips the Bedroom Police uses here as his get back at the PDP strategy that he is locked into AS HIS JOB FROM MIA MOTTLEY!

He simply cannot understand why his former colleagues abandoned his lied ass and why Peter Lawrence Thompson called him out as a liar on his fictitious economic recovery plan!

You Walter are now his Enemy Forever because you exposed his weak political strategy

Watch now for his Bible quote about wolves or something …

49. David

I responded to Grenville some time ago but it is not showing up. Could you please check to see if it has gone to junk

50. Walter BlackmanOctober 25, 2019 12:46 PM

Donna
    October 25, 2019 9:32 AM

“Onward and upwards!”

To the suspecting, these words carry a lot of weight and meaning.

IS THIS A SLOWER BALL BOUNCER OR A FASTER BALL? MURDAH!
    IS YOUR EMPHASIS ONWARD OR UPWARDS?