There is a conversation that has emerged in Barbados concerning the ‘visible’ leadership style of Prime Minister Mia Mottley. A style that is accentuated if compared to the unobtrusive approach by her predecessor. Some feel justified levelling the criticism because Mottley presides over the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados, probably the world if measured on a per mille basis.

What justification can there be for a prime minister to be at every ‘dog fight’ if the large Cabinet is unable to give wings to Mottley’s mantra – many hands make light work?

The blogmaster recalls during An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley  conducted by David Ellis soon after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was elected to office – Mottley explained her reason for the large Cabinet. She asked Barbadians to be patient and to judge her government by results. After 15 months in office, it is fair to suggest several of the ministers are struggling to find their feet and undeserving of a minister’s salary during  a time of austerity.

In the pseudo Westminster parliamentary system of government practice in Barbados all roads lead to the prime minister. It is not uncommon to hear the reference “primus inter pares.” Our culture is one where there is an expectation the prime minister must solve all problems. Have a read of this blog through the years, there was an unrelenting attack on former prime minister Freundel Stuart because he appeared to be uncomfortable in the leadership role and was rejected at the polls in unprecedented fashion.

A key characteristic of a good leaders is that they recruit the right people to do the job. This is why the quality of persons offering themselves for political office is important.  Are we confident members of parliament elected on the 24 May 2018 possess the requisite skill set to get the job done?

The blogmaster is on the side of the side of the leadership style that works. The fact Mottley is always out front may reflect on the quality of her team. If this is the case who is to blame?

Our governance system needs reform. There was talk from the minister early in her term about devolving authority from the office of prime minister. Update anyone?

252 responses to “Mottley’s Dominant Leadership Style”

1. Says who? Some one who does not know the difference between a High Commission and Embassy?

#bullocksw

2. Exactly. I rest my case.

3. Go and have a look at BBC news and see true leadership by a Prime Minister, a leader without a majority.

4. Leadership style on the island….via lawyers..

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241636/pile-sentenced-prison

“Attorney Vonda Pile has been jailed for three years for stealing a client’s money in 2009.

However she was given credit for the 94 days she has spent on remand and will serve the remaining two years 271 days. The sentence was just imposed by Justice Pamela Beckles in the No.5 Supreme Court. The judge said the offence was so serious only a custodial sentence was appropriate.”

5. I don’t have to. I can spend my time trying to unscramble your poor grammar.

6. @ Hal Austin

Who the hell s Chastanet? I am interested in Barbados. She is getting in the way of the emergency services the way the Clintons did in Haiti. She is a PR freak, an obsessive. . She should stay t home and lead the support campaign.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I WONDER WHO ONTHE ISLAND IS TAKING CARE OF THE ONGOING VICTIMS OF HURRICANE BERT WHOSE CATEGORY IS APPROACHING 5 FOR THE POOR AND VULNERABLE ON THE ISLAND OF BARBADOS.

MIA UNFORTUNATELY IS A PR HOG AND ENJOYS FREQUENT FLYING MORE THAN HER PREDECESSOR STUART SHE ACCUSED OF SAME THING AND WHO WAS RIGHTLY CRITICIZED WHILST THE ISLAND LANGUISH.

SHE IS NOT A RESCUE WORKER OR A TECHNICAL EXPERT IN ANY AREA THAT CAN BENEFIT THE ISLANDS OF BAHAMAS REELING FROM THE DEVASTATING EFFECTS OF HURRICANE DORIAN.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-WAR-on-USeptember 5, 2019 12:39 PM “Floridians are in this article…mobilizing to send WATER, FOOD, MEDICINE etc to the victims of Hurricane Dorian in Bahamas…no one is REFUSING anything or asking for cash only….”

There are well established shipping routes between the Bahamas and Florida. Such shipping (or air) links do not exist between Barbados and the Bahamas. For those people who live in Barbados money is the best thing to give. If I was living in Florida, of course I would give supplies, as I gave supplies when Dominica, a less than 200 mile overnight trip by fishing boat was hit 2 years ago. But since I live in Barbados, more than 1400 miles from the Bahamas I will give money, and the relief organizations can use the money to buy supplies from Miami which is less than 200 miles from Miami.

If I gave supplies how do I get it quickly to the Bahamas?

8. How about unscrambling this.

#buffoon

9. “We should add for the uninformed that the national effort to raise cash will be given to CEDEMA giVen its role.”

HELLO…raise what…many have already DONATED…through the same Bahamas Redcross……DIRECTLY..

and many have already MADE ARRANGEMENTS…to donate DRY GOODS…immediate RELIEF… that is really needed….won’t go to waste…there is already SHOOTINGS going on in Abaco…the only way to stabilize that suitation is to make sure people have no reason to go looking for food and water and basic necessities…they are SPECIFYING what dry goods should be donated…only an ass would not know wat SPECIFIC MEANS…it does not means CASH ONLY…

10. “If I gave supplies how do I get it quickly to the Bahamas?”

People are already making arrangements..

but AIN’T YALL GOT A BIG ABLE 747 WIDE BODIED if ya please…..flying the Barbados flag….wuh this is the BEST time to put that BEAST to work for a good cause…lol. lol…

ah heard it was flown to US recently,, wuh that is a hop skip and a jump to Bahamas…

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TLSNSeptember 5, 2019 1:11 PM “Food for thought. From the horse’s mouth.”

I LOVE the little short guy. But tired of seeing this tape over and over and over again. Political partisans disagree. Who cares? Listening to this is like listening to a divorced person complaining over and over again about the faults of their former spouse. Who cares? Boring.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinSeptember 5, 2019 2:13 PM “Why has Mottley gone to the Bahamas? Is she an emergency worker? The woman is full of herself. She urgenty needs counselling.”

So when David Thompson tried to go to Haiti in the aftermath of the earthquake (a much more massive disaster, right in the capital city). He was stopped in the Dominican Republic because Port au Prince was in no position to receive a head of state. I did not hear any complaints from you.

The Bahamas is a long archipelago and I’ve heard that the capital 88 miles from the disaster area is in great shape, so our Prime Minister’s face to face with the Bahamian political leaders and emergency officials is not out of order.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinSeptember 5, 2019 2:13 PM “She urgenty needs counselling.”

So as well as being a senior editor, you is a psychiatrist now too? And diagnosing from 4,210 miles away, never having met the “patient”? You wah have to be a boss den.

Lolll!!!

14. Simple…am told the Barbados FamilyPlanning Association are accepting donations, so you can contact them and see which items they specify, and check around for others who are also organizing.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-WAR-on-USeptember 5, 2019 3:47 PM “Simple…am told the Barbados FamilyPlanning Association are accepting donations.”

I have a dozen or more condoms in the freezer which were given to my young guests who were on the road for Crop Over. I am unlikely to be able to use them all up in the few years I have left, the Barbados Family Planning Association may be able to make use of them.

But I will also be giving cash to CDEMA, the Red Cross my church, or the Salvation Army.

Because today is dem, tomorrow it may be me.

However I don’t want to see the issue politicized or trivialized.

16. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLifeSeptember 5, 2019 3:45 PM

Pay no attention to the self hating bullshitter from the Ivy. He types because he can and not because he has anything of substance to say. The jackass doesn’t even know the names of the leaders in Caricom, but feels at liberty to criticise everything they say or do. I hope the people of Barbados know what to do if/when BoJo and Farage kicks his sorry ass back to the Ivy.

17. “However I don’t want to see the issue politicized or trivialized.”

That is why i made sure people KNOW that they can DONATE DIRECTLY to the Bahamas…cash money…and that they can DONATE DRY GOODS…contrary to what is being told to them by Mia no less….and so that politicians do not use it for political mileage…or bad intent…and for photo ops to big up themselves as they are prone to do, they are the only ones who look for mileage out of any situation…be it death or birth….disaster or otherwise…

18. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife,

When Arthur made this speech way back, I said that he sounded like a bitter old man who was envious of the up and coming and clearly ambitious Mia. This view was probably shared by the majority of Barbadians at the time.

Given what we have learned of Mia’s leadership since she became Prime Minister. I believe that your good self and your fellow citizens should reevaluate Arthur’s speech. It was powerful back then and today it sounds like a speech made by a prophet.

This speech reminds me of a similar one in tone to Sir Geoffrey Howe’s when he put the sword into Margaret Thatcher’s reign by delivering the most deadly of speeches in the House of Parliament which led to her falling on her sword.

I found your comments not only patronising but very sad.

19. @Bajan in New York

I know Chastanet is PM of St Lucia. My question was rhetorical. But I am becoming concerned about your interest in Brexit – it seems a bit obsessive for someone based in New York. People in the UK are not that obsessed. Are we missing something? Maybe we need a Trump.
    Give one example of me criticising a CARICOM leader, apart from Stuart/Mottley/Commissiong, anyone for any reason? Bajan Condition again, make it up as you go along.

20. Leadership for hurricane relief in Bahamas…..if ya have the money….then the citizens, donate accordingly….there is a gofund to repatriate a Canadian killed by the storm.

“Freeland and Monsef said in the statement that Canada is announcing up to $500,000 in emergency assistance to support humanitarian organizations regarding disaster relief.”

21. Hal is all bluster. He had ample opportunity to question the PM at the Townhall Meeting in London and left when the Q&A started. I tell wunna already that I was informed he behaved as if he were representing the Royals. What are the lead responsibilities for Chastanet and Mottley within the Caricom HoGs as PMs of St Lucia and Bdos? Always talking without info. Just souse in clothes.

22. @ Enuff aka Beavis

THIS WOMAN HAS LEARNT WELL FROM YOU AND YOUR CROOKED BLP COLLEAGUES LIES AND DECEPTION.

IN THIS CASE A 20-YEAR-OLD PONZI SCHEME.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

‘Over $500,000’ owed

“All we want is our money back!”

This is the plea from a group of irate members of the meeting turn savings scheme organised by Alicia Francis, who say despite their commitment to the arrangement over several years, Francis has been ‘dodging’ them when it comes to paying them the money they have been owed ever since July this year, which according to them adds up to over $500,000.

One member, Keisha, told Barbados TODAY, “Our meeting started on March 8, we were told it was for one year, and the payout money we were told for what we were throwing was $10,000. We took our money faithfully every week, Alicia would pick it up or we would drop it off at her home. In July a friend of hers called and said the meeting was facing some challenges. When I spoke to Alicia, she said two people owed money and had the meeting in trouble. I suggested to her that if she could not pay anyone the full amount, she could pay out half, then pay the other half once things improved.”

She explained: “Alicia agreed to that, and she sent me a list of names of people to call who she said owed her. I called them, and one day she came to me with payments from two of those people and said she would collect money from the third person later that day. But for whatever reason, she has been blocking some of us from her phone.”

Another member, Nikita, said the meeting turn coordinator sometimes appeared depressed and disoriented when she went to see her to ask about her funds.

“In May I went by Alicia to pay my meeting. When I got there she was in her bedroom, she looked disoriented and she was crying. She said one of the members, who she drives around with as she goes to collect money, owed her $60,000 and she wanted him to pay it because it has her “offset”. She said he told her he was going for a loan for that amount that would come through in two weeks and when it did, she would get the money to put it back on track. I did not pay it any mind after that because I figured she would get it sorted out.”

Nikita said, “I was paying in $2,000 a week, and one week in May I was short by $240, and she sent several nasty texts and messages to my phone because of that. I mustered up the funds and paid her, but then when my turn was due in July, I was owed $10,000 and when she came to me, she only gave me $3,000. That put me in a bind, and when I went to her house a few days later, I went on the road with her as she was collecting money from another member, and later that week I got $3,000 more.”

“The following week I had a $5,000 turn, so I let her deduct my weekly from it so she could just give me the balance. I told Alicia I could not go through another week as I had to travel, and at that point I got the remainder of my money. My uncle, my cousin and his wife also got theirs at that time and they were owed $10,000 as well.”

Nikita said she suggested that Alicia put up the names of the people who owed her on social media and the amount of weeks they had not paid to make an effort to collect the outstanding funds. She said Alicia told another section of the press she was willing to do that, but so far she had not reached out to any of the members of the savings plan. In fact, no one has seen her, nor has she been answering her phone.

When asked whether they had reported the matter to the police, Keisha said, “Several of our members have reported her to police stations in the areas where they live, and [the police] have lists of people to whom she owes money.” Keisha added that while Alicia said she herself had gone to the police, the officers she spoke to have no record of her ever having done so.

One of the members said, “We realise that when people threaten her, she pays them their money, but we don’t want to take any extreme measures lest we end up in trouble with the law. We just want to know what is happening with our money; we can live with an arrangement where she can give people back their money over time.”

Efforts to reach Alicia Francis this evening were unsuccessful .

However, in a previous interview Francis denied benefitting from the money.

“I just want you all to know that I have never dipped my hand into your money. I didn’t change my car from a Swift to a jeep out of anyone’s money. In the 19 years I ran this meeting I never touch this meeting money to do my own thing.

“I know how you all feel. I feel bad. I went into a shell, but I did not steal anyone’s money or give any money to anybody. The meeting ran into difficulty, but when I should have taken charge of it, I went into a shell when the first social media posts came out talking about where I live, and people even put up my cell number and landline number.” Francis added that at one time her phone was out of order, but she was driving around reassuring people that the meeting was still up and running.

She also pleaded with the defaulters to pay her what they owed, and apologised for her delays in paying the people whose turns were due.

“In order for me to go forward with the meeting turn like I did for 19 years, I would like the people – you all know who you all are – that got turns, that are not willing to pay back, I am begging you all to please pay the meeting money so it can go back on track.” (DH)

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/09/04/over-500000-owed/

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I warned you that you were starting a riot and you got a riot. I am not sure what was the real objective. I am sure, framed differently ,you might have achieved a more useful outcome.Anyhow that is your style.

@ Piece the Legend

What are you trying to do to this poor, peaceful and polite pensioner? I thought you had my back. Wuh Loss !!!

24. Leadership during hurricane relief efforts to Bahamas……

“Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has announced that Trinidad and Tobago will assist the Bahamas with soldiers, electricity workers and US$500,000.”

25. Baje September 5, 2019 5:21 PM
    “THIS WOMAN HAS LEARNT WELL FROM YOU AND YOUR CROOKED BLP COLLEAGUES LIES AND DECEPTION.
    IN THIS CASE A 20-YEAR-OLD PONZI SCHEME.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We think you are mixing up your conmen (and women).

You mean to say the “woman has learnt well” from Greenverbs Parris and his crooked friends in the now decimated deceitful lying party.

Now who is the biggest leper in Bim? The skeleton Thompson, Lord Fumble or his bosom pal Greenverbs Parris?

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

If a meeting Turn/Sou Sou teaches $500000 in liabilities ,should it not attract the attention of the finance regulatory body?

27. @Hants

Read it.

What the editorial ignores is that the country is broke. The IMF pointed this out when Glyne Murray rubbished a UPP candidate on air for bring it up.

We cannot continue business as usual. Many of these MPs in parliament are incompetent and or inexperience. Mottley does not have the luxury of allowing time to use trainer wheels. The country is in deep shit. You may recall Duguid mouthing and implementing a lot of rubbish at the start of his tenure.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/04/21/nis-reserves-projected-by-imf-to-be-exhausted-in-2037-upp-candidate-craig-harewood-muted-by-vob/

‘The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Created in 1945, the IMF is governed by and accountable to the 189 countries that make up its near-global membership.’ – IMF Website The

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU.

The reserves/surplus fund of the NIS is not the same as the NIS funding. Present pensions are paid out of subscriptions of present contributors to the Fund.I have repeated this OBVIOUS fact several times before. The referenced report specifies reserves. The biggest threat to the fund is the reducing ratio of workers to pensioners.

@ Is Barbados really broke? Explain?

29. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington

I apologise if the article is troublesome.

I have pledged that I will ONLY SPEAK WORDS OF TRUTH till I depart this clime.

With that pledge comes my commitment to AND support for only for Words of Truth, as yours are.

There is much to be done AND LITTLE TIME, so we dont have the luxury to waste with soft soaping the facts.

Either Mugabe changes her modus OPERANDUM to the truth OR WE WILL REPLACE HER TOO like the DLP!

And since the leopard cannot change its spots we are now engaged and embarked to change her too!

What you said all those weeks ago

30. @Vincent

What does running a deficit on current account for many years translate to?

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 8:05 PM

Poor/uninspired managenent of the finances of GoB.

32. @ Miller

Baje September 5, 2019 5:21 PM
    “THIS WOMAN HAS LEARNT WELL FROM YOU AND YOUR CROOKED BLP COLLEAGUES LIES AND DECEPTION.
    IN THIS CASE A 20-YEAR-OLD PONZI SCHEME.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We think you are mixing up your conmen (and women).

You mean to say the “woman has learnt well” from Greenverbs Parris and his crooked friends in the now decimated deceitful lying party.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I AGREE WITH YOUR FEEDBACK HOWEVER THERE IS NO DIFFERENTIATION BETWEEN BLP OR DLP modus operation.

BARBADOS NEEDS A REAL CHANGE OF LANDSCAPE WITH BOTH POLITICAL PARTIES AND THEIR ENABLERS BEING WIPED OFF THE MAP.

33. @ Baje September 5, 2019 8:51 PM

Yes indeed, Baje!
    Just a classic case of the Tweedling Dumb Dems and Tweedling Bumming Bees.

The 2018 campaign of BLP promises of change was just a rerun of the DLP campaign of false hope.

Same old same old bullshit of exchanging one set of crooks for another set of con men and women.

Both were undertaken to propel incestuously-friendly political egomaniacs to power to fulfill childhood dreams; not to change the socio-economic landscape of Barbados in order to propel further its human development as experienced under the steadfast Grantley Adams, the bold and brave EWB and the imaginative Tom Adams.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

David@Hants

Read it.

What the editorial ignores is that the country is broke. The IMF pointed this out when Glyne Murray rubbished a UPP candidate on air for bring it up.

We cannot continue business as usual. Many of these MPs in parliament are incompetent and or inexperience. Mottley does not have the luxury of allowing time to use trainer wheels. The country is in deep shit. You may recall Duguid mouthing and implementing a lot of rubbish at the start of his tenure.
    ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
    What the cunt hole she went with a big cabinet to do if she knows she has a bunch of inexperience dodo birds on her hand? You ripped a new ass hole in the DLP for a lot of their shite but with Rogue Works Mottley, she can do no wrong for you, em is AOK. Your double standards are showing Mr Blogmaster et al. But, you do not give a rats ass in this situation, your party in power; AND THE SAUCE AWAITS! Mia must be protected at every turn of a new matter. Blasted two face snake. All hail King David,

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Dear Sunny Sun Shine: All of us are inexperienced at some time. We can only gain experience by actually doing the job. Why cuss a Cabinet Minister because he or she is inexperienced.

Weren’t the revered Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow, Tom Adams, Bree St. John, Erskine Sandiford, Owen Arthur, Fruendel Stuart, Mia Mottley and many others not also inexperienced the first day they sat in Cabinet?

Experience can only be gained by doing the job.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Sir Simple Simon POF

Madam, reel and come again. The politics to which you, I, and many others have grown accustomed too in Barbados would make any of us believe that even the season politicians are experiencing- inexperienced. When you have under so many ministries financial irregularities that those with the experience should be experienced enough to put stop-gap measures in place to deal with these issues, we are all left to wonder why it is overlooked and what the heck they are doing. When we leave our institutions to run debilitated and rising cost for maintenance turns into mash-up millions, buyback millions, completely renovate or rebuild millions, how much experience is experienced enough to know that you need a cyclic plan? When we see so much backward approaches to progression that are setting us back several years instead of pushing us forward, we are left to wonder about their experience. Prior to winning the election, they were experienced enough on the campaign trail to articulate their party’s position on a number of issues that rightfully label the stinking DLP as complete misfits. They had time to prepare and time to orient themselves while in their respective roles as shadow ministers. What is the experience that they need? Time to learn the fine points of public speaking? They were doing that! Time to learn how to deal with conflicts arising? They were speaking on those! Time to learn how to stamp their authority in their respective ministries? It was obvious they needed to that! Time to learn how to run a ministry? They only needed an orientation on that! This is not a hospital or a firm where you get on the jobs training and a period of probation. They had ample time to plan, strategise and consult in situ positions. Have you not notice that since post-1966 all the experience that is needed for you to become an experienced seasoned politician has brought Barbados to the point of ruin? Who or what brought us here- EXPERIENCE OR INEXPERIENCE? How much more experience do we need before we start experiencing experiences that would make us feel proud of those we elected? How much is how much?

37. The great Robert Mugabe has just passed away.

38. Check your spam blogmaster. I stated that the president of Zimbabwe has just passed away.

39. Nurse again protests non-payment of benefits

A retired nurse has resumed her protest against the discontinuation of her invalidity benefit with a reduced pension despite the Prime Minister’s assurances that the policy was to end.

Speaking to Barbados TODAY at her Chelston Avenue, St Michael home, Harris said that the joy of hearing the announcement by Prime Minister Mottley that she would soon receive her dues was short-lived as her telephone was disconnected yesterday.

This, said Janice Harris, 56, led her to protest once again from Collymore Rock to the Treasury Building on Bridge Street.

She said: “I took to the streets of Barbados yesterday to represent the medically unfit because we are a people who have contributed to the nation of Barbados and we have been through a very hard time where our bills are not being paid to time and many are facing a very rough time in their lives.

“When the Prime Minister said our pensions was going to be paid back, I felt joy, I felt praises, I gave God thanks for moving the heart of the Prime Minister of Barbados.”

After her protest in Bridgetown, she became dehydrated, she claimed, and went to the Welfare Department in search of help from her sister, a welfare office, who she was told was on vacation. She was told that she could receive assistance with her utility bills as well as a voucher for food after an officer heard her plight.

She said: “When I look at the Welfare Department, I look at it for people who are less fortunate and I do not believe that we that contribute to this nation should be in a place to receive from Welfare because they are people in this country who cannot afford to pay their bills and they are in a situation where they are not working.

“Welfare Department has its issues and its moments and [does] not need the medically unfit people who have contributed to the nation of Barbados.

“But I give God thanks and praise for the welfare department who came to my needs.”

Harris said Government did not swiftly put a system in place so affected workers are not forced to live in poverty conditions.

She said: “My question to the administration of the Barbados Labour Party, why was a system not put in place to assist the medically unfit people whose pensions were taken away?

“At this point in time, I do not have a problem if my pension from the treasury was taken to fulfil the needs of the debts of Barbados. I can live with $956 monthly provided my mortgage is being paid.

“It is a challenge for me where I am forced to live in a poverty condition. We that are medically unfit have gone into a crisis that is so painful and so hurtful and at times it brings tears to my eyes.”

Harris became emotional as she indicated her utilities are due for disconnection.

She said she has also been placed in the debt collectors’ hands by Unicomer Barbados for outstanding debts she has with furnishers Courts.

She made an impassioned plea for reinstatement of her benefits.

She said: “Until the pensions are being restored what do we do in this country? It is sad it is painful and I pray to God that there will be a speedy recovery of the pensions being paid by next week.

“The Prime Minister has given an order, a command, and in Jesus’s name, I want those that are responsible for giving the authorization to the Barbados Treasury to [authorize the payments].

“Because the Treasury cannot pay and would not pay any pensions until the authorization is given.

“I feel that the words of the Prime Minister of Barbados should be carried out and as the leader of our nation, speaking with authority that those that have a duty to perform shall not delay any more.

“This is six months I am like this and I am asking you in the name of Jesus you that are responsible for giving the Barbados Treasury the authorization please, please, we have suffered enough, we have hurt enough, we have mourned and I am asking you to have consideration that we have our bills to pay and give the Barbados Treasury the authority to restore back our pensions.”

Harris first appeared in Barbados TODAY when she stood outside Parliament’s gates in protest after her $628 pension was reduced to $47.51 three months ago because she also received an invalidity benefit of over $800.

Since May 29, Harris has been receiving payments of the $47.51 which she returned to the Treasury as she deemed it “a disgrace” to receive money on which she cannot live.

She said: “ It is more than an injustice. It is unbearable and it cannot be described. It is too much pain and sorrow that we the medical unfit people have been in this nation.

“We have served the Government of this nation, we have devoted our lives to this nation and I do not believe that it should go pass next week. The Prime Minister gave an order and it should be done right away.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/09/06/nurse-again-protests-non-payment-of-benefits/

40. Hopefully this is THE NEW LEADERSHIP STYLE FOR THE FUTURE…on the island and not the continuation of a bunch of arrogant empty headed black people in parliament who can only talk about foreign investment with the DISENFRANCHISING to the majority CONCESSIONS that steals money from generations of bajans….and all of them continue to PRETEND…that the population cannot THINK for nor HELP THEMSELVES, CREATE, NOR INNOVATE……useless leadership..it is indeed UGLY that not one of them had the intelligence to see how distructive that BACKWARD practice is to generations of young people…..not one of them in the last 50 years…..they all prostrate themselves before foreign companies to the DETRIMENT..of creative bajans…damn idiots…

…and this government is still doing it re medical marijuana and still talking SHITE about a company must leave 30% for the island but not telling ya that those same foreign companies WILL DEMAND….20 and 25 years of CONCESSIONS that will add up to billions in losses for Bajans over decades…as is the NORM…the people end up with very little to nothing……but ya government is TOO STUPID AND GREEDY…to calculate those losses to the people, they only know how to calculate BRIBES TO THEMSELVES….they continue to INSTILL the DEPENDENCY SYNDROME….worse still…it is Bajans have the skills to make BOTH INDUSTRIES a success for THEMSELVES and the island……NOT FOREIGN COMPANIES..

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241370/-energy-bajan-hands

For renewable energy….the PEOPLE have the SKILLS…

For medical marijuana …the PEOPLE have the SKILLS..

Both governments have displayed nothing BUT BAD LEADERSHIP….for over 60 years.

41. And Mia is STILL LYING to disabled people…she is the minister of finance, the NIS cannot proceed unless SHE greenlights it…and she REFUSES to give the go ahead …but lying and blaming NIS, the BOARD is to be blamed fir cutting the benefits in the first place and we can be sure it was with Mia’s blessing……WICKED leadership…and pretending she cares about Bahamas victims…oh please…pure photo ops..

Ya cannot care about anyone unless ya care about YA OWN PEOPLE FIRST.

42. The blogmaster has posted on the size of Mottleys cabinet for those who are able to receive the point.

43. And it was posted. It never went to spam. Some of you should invest in a penata.

44. Piece the Legend Avatar

Many other posters before de ole man have, like you, commented on the burdensome size of the overweight Mugabe AND HER OVERWEIGHT CABINET.

let us put this in clearer perspective here so that all readers, BOTH THE PEOPLE AND THE SHEEPLE, can understand this phenomenon

Do you remember de ole man’s submission and prediction?

Let me refresh your memory with this Stoopid Cartoon about the matter

http://imgur.com/YEWJJWE

De ole man will explain to readers the reasoning behind this Prophecy.

Mugabe, the one who yet lives, BY APPOINTING 26 MINISTERS confirms de ole man’s prediction and submission!!!

What Mugabe is saying to all bajans “if I barely lef out one of these inexperienced and incompetent BLP members MY ASS IS GRASS!!!!

Because it will meant that ” these formerly unemployed AND UNEMPLOYABLE WRETCHED OF THE EARTH, would all have been technically THE CURRET GOVERNMENT, but I Mugabe WOULD HAVE BEEN UNSBLE TO GOVERN 25 sticks of Dynamite

I, Mugabe, would have had a Guy Fawkes Configuration sitting right under my sizeable ass, and that was untenable.

Now mind you, while she is managing to show a front of solidarity to Jane and John Public, THE FACT IS THAT THERE IS MUCH UNREST IN HER 15 MONTH OLD MINISTERIAL MILESTONE.

looka how she treating big men like boys!!

Speaking about which, de grandson mekking up a video wid all she snafus

Where she cutting off BIG RH MENSES and tekking off lil boy hats in front de TV.

And you AND DEM dun know dat dem is she lil boy toys heheheheh

45. Now Mia would use every Dorian photo op to boost her image
    In the meanwhile hundreds of barbadians suffer in silence
    The people her needs jobs so they can feed their families and pay their bills
    Mia is yet to put a growth plan in place for the economic growth of the country
    It is apparantly clear that Mia sole interest is a sickening self interest that relies on photo ops having a sensational glow of savouring approval

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you kindly

47. More organizations that are handling…DIRECT..hurricane relief for Bahamas victims..

HeadKnowles Emergency Fund

Bahamas Hurricane Dorian Relief

The Kohn Foundation

Atlantis Bahamas Hurricane Dorian Relief

Lend a Hand Bahamas

Caribbean Tourism Organization Hurricane Relief

Global Giving Hurricane Relief

Bahamas Red Cross

Hope 4 Hopetown – Abacos Islands Relief

Dorian Relief Effort

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

She selected those persons for a purpose. She hit the ground running with her many hands at her feet, head and sides. The situation that she was faced with was dire. After 15 months, Mr Blogmaster, you think they should still be drinking milk from a baby bottle and Mottley having to tell them, which milk will not give them the belly? Time provided her with the opportunity to put her house in order amidst the boldness of this administration to tell bajans WATCH MA, WE GOT THIS! The DLP was piss poor, the expectation from the BLP was that they had learnt the lessons well from their messed up past mistakes and those of a highly incompetent bunch of DLP bone corrupt brutes. What has she brought to the mix that says she has learnt those lessons well? To whom much is given much is expected. She justified her big cabinet, and if she got to be at every cockfight for them, then she should do the right thing and shuffle their asses or reduced their numbers. Sometimes, you get a lot more done with less.

49. Mia is a very fake and pretentious person
    Watch how quickly she reaches out to speak on helping the people of the Bahamas
    However when the pensioners cries for a six month period was being heard loud and clear across local and social media and directly up in her face outside parliament
    Mia said nothing
    Mia one not to miss a media beat jumps first on the Bahamian line to seek help for the Bahamian people while her people at home continue to suffer
    Needless to say the picture that Mia wants to portray of having a kind and gentle heart falls short and miserably a picture being unable to capture the same sensitive actions for the barbadian people who continue to suffer because of harsh and unrealistic IMF policies .

#####fakemiaphotoopps