Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

Anytime I hear a person is arrested, my first question is ‘what’s the crime?’ You just don’t apprehend persons, humiliate them and sentence them without making allegations or setting forth the charges. I recall in the last general elections, where the Democratic Labour Party cleverly and successfully brought a series of charges against then Prime Minister Owen Arthur. In all his ranting and raving on the public platform, he never once addressed or answered the questions. The verdict of January 15th, 2008 suggested that he was tried and found wanting by the electorate and was sentenced. That, to my mind, is natural justice.

This past week we heard of the political arrest and soon to be sentencing of Mia Mottley, but to this day we are yet to be told of the specific charges that are being brought against the Leader of the Opposition.

I am no fan of Mia Mottley. Indeed, this column has been in the forefront of highlighting her shortcomings as a leader. But, from when do I have a say or influence in the running of the Barbados Labour Party? Peter Wickham’s recent poll also highlighted the relatively poor rating of Mottley in the eyes of the general public. But, from when does the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party factor in the views of the public in its decision making?

As flattering as it might be, I do not believe that either my writings or the Cadres poll played any significant role in the coup that has taken place against Mia Mottley. There is nothing that has been said about Mia Mottley in the last two and a half years that was not known to the Parliamentary Group of the Barbados Labour Party at the time of her appointment. There is nothing that has been said or written about her since the last attempted palace coup that was not known to the Parliamentary Group of the Barbados Labour Party when it reaffirmed its support for and confidence in Ms. Mottley a few months ago. So why the broadside on her at this point?

The politically naïve would suggest it has to do with the illness of Prime Minister David Thompson. They would say that the party fancies its chances of winning the next election in the event of Thompson not leading the Democratic Labour Party into the next election. There might be theoretical logic and merit in that submission, but I frankly do not believe it was the primary motivation.  If, as the recent poll suggested, the country is minded to go for vibrant, youthful leadership at this point, then Mottley would easily be the better option for the BLP. Her reaffirmation as leader less than one year ago, suggest that her colleagues had no fundamental difficulty with her politics and style of leadership. Therefore, the question remains, why the onslaught on her at this particular time? Why does she have to move to accommodate the return of Owen Arthur? How is it that in this particular undertaking, Arthur has the support of George Payne, Dale Marshall, Gline Clarke and Ronald Toppin? What do they all have in common? What common interest and desire do they share?

These are the questions that thinking Barbadians need to ask and answer as they analyze this week’s political upheavals in the Barbados Labour Party. Lionel Craig said it in one word, and others have taken and are taking longer to articulate the simple truth. It all has to do with greed!

I wrote some years ago that the Barbados Labour Party, under the leadership of Owen Arthur, had become an election fighting machine; that it was no longer a political party functioning on the principles and philosophies of its founding fathers, but existed almost exclusively to fight elections and serve the causes of its sponsors. I said then that the party had been hijacked by a band of modern day bandits, who jumped at the whims of their economic masters. That was the motivation for the actions of the former Barbados Labour Party government in relation to scandalous scenarios such as the $750 million prison, the $400 million expansion of the ABC Highway, the $600 million Gems fiasco, the 300 per cent mark ups on vehicles and equipment brought in for and on behalf of the government, the $550 million Greenland headache, and the list goes on. The same considerations that led to those blotches on the public administrative record of Barbados during the 14 year rule of the BLP are the same factors that are at play in the inevitable removal of Mia Mottley from the leadership of the party at this time.

Students of politics must understand that Mottley represents old Labour. The faction of the party that is seeking to do away with her at this time, represents new labour. New Labour is a stooge of certain sections of big business in Barbados. The coup that we are witnessing at this time is therefore the handiwork of certain economic interests who are not getting their way with the current Democratic Labour Party government and who are not confident that Mia Mottley, were she to succeed in becoming Prime Minister of Barbados, would do things any different.

This is a set of business moguls who would wish to corrupt and subvert certain administrative processes. They want a Prime Minister who they can call up, invite around by the house for a brown paper bag of eddoes, and have Zone One land changed to Zone Two in the twinkling of an eye. They want a Prime Minister who would call up the Chief Town Planner and demand that he approve developments that are not in the aesthetic or ecological interest of Barbados. They want a Prime Minister who would look the other way when they affix 300 per cent mark ups on vehicles and equipment procured for various agencies of government. They want a Prime Minister who would waive import duties for his friends, give Knighthoods to his economic masters and who would see nothing wrong with small companies going under while big ones flourish. That is the type of leadership that a selfish, greedy one per cent of the population is seeking to inflict upon an innocent and unsuspecting 99 per cent.

These businessmen do not see David Thompson, Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler or Mia Mottley as likely to play ball, so they are not keen on any of them. They want a leader whom they can rely upon to do their bidding. Therefore, topping it all, when it comes to amassing profits, they will marshal forces and inflict whatever pain is necessary, to see more after.

Mia Mottley is being moved out of the way because some people in Barbados perceive that there is a government on the market and that Barbados is for sale. The response of John Public to this cold hearted, cold blooded, mad grab for profits, using those they would entrust with power, constitutes a dark blotch on the political landscape of Barbados. Tuesday was indeed a sad day for Barbados.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

95 responses to “Mia Squeezed, For Failing To Play Ball”

1. Is it not a fact that the opposition Parliamentary Group’s primary concern should always be who as leader will restore them to the being the Her Majestys Government?

This is not personal, this is politics. This group obviously feel Owen is the man best capable and able to deliver a victory and in the alternative, Mia is least likely of the two to achieve the objective.

2. Georgie Porgie is right.

Mia is being attacked primarily becasue she has no balls.

Those of us who also have no balls will remember this when next we are in the polling booth.

The people WITHOUT BALLS are more than 50% of the electorate.

And we will punish the anti-woman politicains for their sins.

And besides if I have a choice between a gay woman and an impotent man I’d choose the gay woman any time.

Impotent men are damn USELESS.

Without the Viagra and without the Cialis MOST OF OUT CURRENT MALE POLITICIANS ARE IMPOTENT.

I think that most of them are jealous that Mia has some sexuality left, while they have NONE.

I don’t know why people worry so much about Mia’s sexuality.

Both the BLP and the DLP have always appointed gay Cabinet members.

Barbados isn’t Jamaica.

Every single cabinet since Independence has had gay people in it.

I challenge anybody to come here and disprove what I have said.

3. I would rather be ruled over by a gay woman, than by an impotent sick man, or an impotent old man.

That’s the truth.

4. HAS IT NOT OCCURED TO YOU – DEAR BU READERS AND BLOGGERS – THAT THE REASON WHY I do not think that the BLP has any real leadership problem, IS BECAUSE ITS PAST IS CLASHING WITH ITS FUTURE.

It is not an issue of competence – just knowing when to move on. Trinidad moved on and Kamla seems to be doing pretty well. Didn’t Panday form the UNC? Wasn’t Kamla fired by Panday twice? Isn’t she leading T&T today? But where is Panday? Isn’t he (forced forgotton)

I think it is fair to say that: “THERE IS NO CLAMOUR FOR ARTHUR BECAUSE OF MIA MOTTLEY.” Think about it! If there was no arthur, Mia Mottley would be the undisputed leader of the BLP, plain and simple.

I am no expert but it seems as though the DLP allowed arthur access to CBC to boost his profile ahead of Mia Mottley’s TO DRIVE A WEDGE BETWEEN ARTHUR AND MIA MOTTLEY.

PM Thompson also invited arthur to a breakfast session for that same reason. However, despite access to CBC and despite being a 3-tem PM, arthur ratings is a mere 22%, Mia Mottley’s is 18%.

18% despite being unable to get on CBC. Stuart was 6.6% and Sincklet 6.0% despite all the access to CBC.

I contend that there is no clamour for owen arthur because of Mia Mottley. That is your conflict. The BLP’s past and its future colliding.

No clamour for owen because of Mia Mottley and Mia Mottley now being forced out because arthur is unable to secure the confidence of 4 of his former cabinet colleagues.

As simple as that. If it were up to me and the past was clashing with the future, I would know what to do. All Barbadians would. The BLP does not.

5. Really now ……… Kamla is doing really well.

Where are you living. She does not run that government I get the impression that Warner does. Furthermore, I heard on the news that some persons are becoming disgruntled. Where are you getting your information from?

6. @Bajan Panday
    I luv yuh what yuh say but yuh mean someone shud out Owin lights? Hey hey ah din tink bout it dat wey.

@J
    yuh tawkin some reel cents girl chile
    Dem a wee wid no balls outnumba dem wid balls, so we gine fix de ballers at elekshan tyme. We gine mek dem bawl. LOLLLLL

7. @ JC | October 15, 2010 at 9:56 AM | Really now ……… Kamla is doing really well.

Where are you living. She does not run that government I get the impression that Warner does. Furthermore, I heard on the news that some persons are becoming disgruntled. Where are you getting your information from?

My response:

You merely highlight my point. Kamla is a woman. The cabinet are males. Seconly, when she went overseas she did not leave Jack in charge.

Thirdly, it is Kamla who put an end to this and said she is running a corrupt free government. Do you hear those word from a woman (corrupt free government) Note that the contracts were split in two and issued by a man in the absence of a board being in place, which is illegal.

Here is what Kamla put an end to:

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,128925.html

8. All over the world it seems obvious that women are stamping out corruption as their first order of business:

Corruption-free Govt: Kamla tells Trinis in England
    By London

Story Created: Oct 12, 2010 at 11:55 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Oct 12, 2010 at 11:55 PM ECT )

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has stressed she intends to run a corruption-free Government.

“I intend to lead a Government that will build a country that places the highest value and integrity in public life through accountability and transparency,” Persad-Bissessar told a spillover audience of Trinidadians and Tobagonians domiciled here

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Corruption-free_Govt__Kamla_tells_Trinis_in_England-104833654.html

9. Friends! is it not despicable and vulgar that one should grab for such a high office with a margin of only one vote which is his own. The majority vote can only occur if the major benefactor votes for himself. Do you understand the distasteful nature of this greed?

10. Fair and Balance Avatar

@Prescod
    if you take out Owen vote then you take out Mia vote owen still win

11. BU Family, I appeal to you as a proud liberated black woman and single mother.

Is it alright for five men to convict Mia Mottley. Sentence her and now seek to invite her to a trail on Monday morning.
    They already have a signed letter to take to the GG.

Not even in China or Cuba would this happen.

This seems like the same blackmail and the same bullying that now plague our schools. Why do these five men want to embarrass a Barbadian woman?

Owen Arthur, George Pain, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke have convicted Mia Mottley. They have sentenced her but now that they want to claim the moral high ground, they suddenly remember that she has not had a trial.

But she is being tried by owen arthur who thinks parlaiment was too poor-raket for him to attend. George pain who did not go to parliament after arthur fired him for arrogance; gline clarke who PM Thompson says hardly makes sence when he speaks and toppin who does not feel that a woman could lead him.

These five men have declared war on Barbadian woman.

This has nothing to do with leadership – in addition to – it is about five men declaring war on the women of Barbados

12. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

RE: “Fair and Balance | October 15, 2010 at 10:35 AM | @Prescod
    if you take out Owen vote then you take out Mia vote owen still win”

Hi PRESSIE, looks like FAIR & BALANCED just completely deflated you and your silly comment!

13. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

By the way, PRESSIE, instead of being so off-based with your arguments, you could always do a “double-cross” like your sometimes “old buddy” and sometimes “adversary” Hammie-La. I don’t think that Owen and the crew, not even Mia, would really miss you man, in much the same way they don’t miss Hammie -LA now!

14. @ Anonymous Numero Uno

The issue is that Mia Mottley was convicted, sentenced and is now being invited to a trial.

The five men who are trying her are the same five men who for the past 3 years, have not been participating in the debates I heard on the radio.

Those five men were silent and were avoiding the House because Thompson was well. They were not going to Parliament because the Parliament is poor-rakey but because they were doing everything possible to avoid PM Thompson.

Those 5 men who are the past of the BLP thought it would have been 10 years in Opposition. Now that PM Thompson is ill, they are making a sudden power grab.

That is why they are pushing aside Mia Mottley even if she is the future of the BLP.

15. @ Anonymous Numero Uno

You point immediately above is why the BLP deserves to be wipe-out at the polls next time so that it would have the opportunity to strengthen its institutional capacity, re-invent itself and move forward.

The people who should win seats are St. Thomas – Cynthia Forde; St. Peter Owen Arthur, St. Michael North East Mia Mottley and St. James North Rawle Eastman.

That would immediately settle the BLP and give it a chance to replace the DLP within two years of the next election.

It will also allow the BLP to let go its past and move forward.

16. @ JC

You earlier question whether Kamla in T&T was doing well.

My response:

I do not recall anyone else having had to do what she is now doing, that is to say – manage so many different political parties in one:

As I understand it – the People’s Partnership Administration comprised the UNC, COP, Movement for Social Justice, (MSJ), and the National Joint Action Committee, (NJAC).

That Kamla – a women is able to keep all of that together given the interest that Adrian mentioned, has to be catered to, is remarkable.

But do not take my word for it:

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,129165.html

17. Mia is paving the way forward for bajan woman who want to reach the highest office in Barbados. While Owen and his band of merrymen continue to froth at the mouth in sefdestruction of their own party , bajan woman must seize this opportunity and speak out on her behalf .Remember the old farts of yesteryear are not going to easily move out of the way without a dirty fight. Now is the time to let them know that women will not sit idlly by while they unleashed their venom on one of us publicly. Don’t be afraid to speak out! Women whatever Power Owen wants to seize let him do it without our help! Mia has opened the door now don’t let Owen and his misfits close it.

18. Most Bajan women will not* energetically support Mia and most if not all of Barbados knows why.

19. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

You have to be the best sociologist in Barbados. Better yet, you have to be most astute of all social scientists. I do not know why I am understating your credentials. David, you have to be the most efficient statistician to be able to deliver a statement that says “most Bajan women will not* energetically support Mia and most if not all of Barbados knows why.” Certainly her track record in St Michael North east suggests otherwise.
    As stated earlier, I am not defending Mia; it is not my place to do that without being in possession of the facts. However, I will defend the fact that you are misleading persons as to what ‘most barbadian women’ would or would not do. Moreover, would you please tell me what are the criteria for ensuring support and are these criteria universal or does the individual providing the support rely on one or more than one factor which may sometimes appear illogical, beyond reasonable judgement, or indeed may revert to happenstance? David, I would expect better of you because surely you do not believe that every living soul in barbados, inside or outside of politics and Parliament, have rid themselves of all demons, now have they?

20. Most Bajan women will not* energetically support Mia and most if not all of Barbados knows why.
    ac and islandgal kno are well aware of this, they just blowing smoke.

I think that OSA as PM, appointed more women to prominent position than any other PM. Now we are supposed to believe that he hates women. OSA!

Somebody trying to pull a fast one.

21. David / Asman; I agree with you that most women in Barbados would not support Mia. A quick unscientific poll in my neighborhood suggests that is very true but is that fact really relevant in this debate?

As far as I recall there is one other woman in the BLP parliamentary group and it appears that she supports Mia.
    As far as an election is concerned she only needs the support of the women in her constituency and it appears that she generally seems to have their support also.

22. You are well aware that winning one constituency does not win an election, she will need to win at least fourteen more.

23. Asman; I’m aware of that and I’m also aware that, if Mia were to prevail on monday (although the probability is a slim one), her political stocks will rise significantly and her energy, intelligence, drive and resourcefulness would make it very possible for her to help others to win in those 14 constituencies you mention.

24. I am not as sure as you. Will all be forgiven and forgotten by either side?

How is the naked animosity currently on displayed, completely eliminated or masked, to present that united front the Bees thrive on.

Will the public play along with the charade?

25. Funny thing these BLP people Avatar
    Funny thing these BLP people

Trevor Prescod | October 15, 2010 at 10:22 AM |
    Friends! is it not despicable and vulgar that one should grab for such a high office with a margin of only one vote which is his own. The majority vote can only occur if the major benefactor votes for himself. Do you understand the distasteful nature of this greed?

Prescod, he is your problem keep him, not much better to be said about Mottley either really you and your pals are between a rock and a hard place in truth.

26. She was convicted, sentenced but will attend her trial on mandat by the five men who will fire Barbados first female leader of the opposition. That gang of five is making history for the wrong reason.

Here is something else which proves the point above:

“Whatever women must do they must do twice as well as men to be thought half as good. Luckily, this is not difficult.”
    ~ Charlotte Whitton

How true this statement has been in my lifetime. There is some interesting math involved here, though, depending on how you interpret the quote. If we have to work twice as hard to get half the credit, wouldn’t we have to work four times as hard in order to be equal? No wonder we women are so exhausted all the time!

Now on to the part that says “Luckily, this is not difficult.” I am not so sure that is true. Any time a woman takes on the challenge of a “man’s job,” there is usually an instant barrier set in place that she must somehow get over. I have honestly never yet met a woman who walked into a particular job or field of expertise and was just accepted and never once felt an ounce of discrimination. If you have ever experienced total acceptance, please share your story. Unfortunately, this site is full of stories where “acceptance” is not the norm.

http://girlscantwhat.com/twice-as-good-or-four-times-as-hard/

27. Bajan women are not nearly as homphobic as Bajan men, and any man who thinks so is fooling himself.

28. Funny thing these Mottleys Avatar
    Funny thing these Mottleys

And as it gets nastier and nastier for those BLP ones like Henderson whatever you maybe and Greenidge guess you two will be out of work come Monday but so to George Payne if what I am reading takes hold, he too will be a gonner, could not happen to a better bunch, a den of crooks and criminals all of that lot they are crooks.

Move on George
    Sources say that some in the BLP are seeking to have MP George Payne expelled.
    Sat, October 16, 2010 – 12:40 AM
    MOVES ARE AFOOT to have St Andrew MP George Payne expelled from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) on an allegation that he breached the party’s constitution.

SATURDAY SUN investigations have revealed that a coalition of BLP candidates has retained the services of legal counsel and is preparing to carry out a probe into Payne’s conduct.

It’s the latest twist to a bitter leadership fight that pits Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley against her former leader, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

But Payne, who has been in the forefront of efforts to have Mottley removed from the BLP’s helm, could be faced with a fight of his own, as the group’s lawyers review Chapter 15, with specific reference to Section 81 Clause (b), of BLP’s constitution.

The rules indicate that the national council of the BLP reserves the right to discipline, through suspension or expulsion, any member: “If through writings or utterances or in any other way it can be established that he acted in [a] manner inimical to the best interest of the party.”

Quizzed about the development, Payne reacted with surprise. In fact, he told the SATURDAY SUN it all “sounded like a joke” to him.

Meantime, the plot thickened yesterday as some party insiders expressed discomfort with Payne presiding over the national council. This after the St Andrew MP, who is being challenged by Mottley for the chairmanship of the BLP, cancelled a council meeting on Thursday night, which was slated to discuss complaints of vote rigging ahead of this monthend’s internal elections.

St James North MP Rawle Eastmond, who is supporting Mottley’s bid for the chairmanship, went public last weekend after discovering that someone had sent in a list of 56 delegates from his branch to the BLP’s general secretary Cynthia Forde without his prior knowledge or that of his branch executive.

Yesterday, a party source raised concerns about the postponement of Thursday’s meeting.

And in another turn of events, a member of the BLP’s Women’s League revealed that a list of 210 delegates had been sent in to the general secretary although the women’s arm had not met officially to choose delegates. She said the concerns were similar to those highlighted by Eastmond.

However, when contacted Women’s League president Pat Parris denied the allegation.

“The executive met and agreed on a number of delegates and every since then I have been receiving requests from various female members of the party asking to be delegates of the Women’s League. There are thousands of women in the BLP . . . During the past four years whenever we had an annual general meeting we had in excess of 200 members,” she said.

When asked if the delegates were “officially selected”, Parris reiterated that the executive “met and agreed” on a number of delegates. She said she would not comment on the term “officially selected”. (WG/KJ)

29. Men you must not underestimate te bajan woman.some who have not openly support Mia are furious at the way she has been treated by Owen and the Dirty Five. Yes indeed there is going to be a backlash against the male domineering control of the BLP Party. Women movement is not going to let this slide by easiy without fight . Moreover we will not forget or forgive the BLP on this one when it comes to voting. SO here we go !

30. Saturday Sun notes whiplash back at G.Payne.

Looks like the BLP is self-destructing before our eyes.

The DLP may have quite some breathing room until 2018, but that is not a good thing, as a strong Opposition is essential, just as a strong Deputy (Stuart).

31. @J
    “Bajan women are not nearly as homphobic as Bajan men, and any man who thinks so is fooling himself.”

Very true, I have been speaking to many women about this matter and many are blue vex about what is taking place in the BLP. It is an insult to many who have worked hard to get where they are today to see this type of tyranny taking place. I have always known that many, many Bajan men hate the thought of a women in charge. What do they do? They beat her down mentally and physically.

WOMEN OF BARBADOS UNITE NOW TO FIGHT THESE POLITICAL BEASTS. Where are the voices of BILLIE MILLAR, LIZ THOMPSON, and NOW ?

MIA took the party at its lowest ebb and brought it to heights which many people respected and admired her for her that. This gang of four plotted to take the party leadership from her because “SHE WAS DOING TOO MUCH OF A GREAT JOB”. Why? Because the gang of four felt that they are looking bad because MIA is doing a phenomenal job!

If these beasts succeed we will show our disapproval at the ballot box. DEY CAHN TEK DAT AWAY FROM WEE!

SO OWIN AND COMPANY BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR…………..THE RESULTS MIGHT CHOKE ALL OF YOU!

32. @ASSMAN………. ooops sorry ASMAN

“ac and islandgal kno are well aware of this, they just blowing smoke.”

Blowing smoke? You better check to see if it ain yuh dat smoking from yuh rear!

33. If women are going down this ‘women’s’ lane over this issue, then they are proving themselves to be too irrational and not fit to lead. This is not about women. The public sector now has more female permanent secretaries than ever before so it cannot be said that the ‘five’ have something against a woman in charge. When MM was attorney general was any legislation relative to domestic violence or child maintenance changed/amended? Or can you recall her leading the fight for such amendment to be made?? What would it mean for you to have her as PM? Simply to say a woman is PM? I thought people were complaining about the economy.

Foolishness, and the actions of MM herself, throwing her toys out of the pram (the staging of the protest in Queen’s Park and Roebuck Street) are only hurting her party. I would not want such an emotional leader. Quite frankly, these actions go hand in hand with the many allegations about how she treats her partners if they dare to cross her. It’s gloves off as in this same instance.

34. Perhaps the DLP bloggers who are now in high glee about an imminent self destruction by the BLP will consider the following facts.
    A prominent lawyer has indicated that if Thompson died in the US Freundel Stuart, as acting PM, would legally continue as PM. If David Thompson died in Barbados there would have to be a contest to determine the next PM.
    One fact that is indisputable is that Thompson was diagnosed as having Pancreatic Cancer. One of the end stages of Pancreatic cancer is a coma. There have been a few cases of a pancreatic coma being essentially the same as a diabetic coma. Persons can be treated to come out of a diabetic coma.
    Besides the suggestion that David Thompson walked from the plane to the waiting official car after he was brought back to Barbados, there has been no official release on his current condition, except that all comments made suggest that he is very sick.
    Could it be that he was brought back to ensure that Freundel Stuart would not retain the PM ship by default?
    Perhaps the DLP fight for the prime ministership might provide even more interest and infighting than the current BLP debacle.

35. I also read the article “ Move on George” and frankly speaking I am amused. Who are these BLP candidates? The ones selected by Mia? If so they may soon find themselves “deselected”. That Bajan idiom “Head aint brains” rings true once again. Do they think that the moves orchestrated by George were not countenanced by Owen? If somehow they were to achieve their goal but Owen becomes Leader of the Opposition and wants George in his caucus as a BLP member what are they going to do? Furthermore if Owen says George will be a BLP candidate what will they do?

George the long distance runner was always dogged and determined so I expect he will finish the race.

36. @checkit-out

You maybe correct that storm clouds muster on the DLP’s leadership horizon. Dr Leroy McClean when asked the question point blank by David (BU) shouted ‘ABSOLUTLY NO!’. No doubt political spin.

The difference here is that one situation is wrapped in the hypothetical and the other is real life drama. The challenge for the B’s is that their situation may influence the DLP situation, in the positive.

However you cut it, we now operate in interesting times.

37. BLP bovine excrement from the spinners.

The DLP does not have a leadership problem.

David Thompson is the leader of the DLP and the country.

The DLP has potential Leaders that can provide a continuum of leadership should the PM become too incapacitated to continue as PM.

The BLP has the Problems. MIA and Owing in Pain.

38. David yuh see how addictive dis blog is. I come hey fuh a quick update an still hey.
    Anyhow de sammon an trout in de river so I gine fishin in dis nasty stinkin river but I lke fishin as bad as Owen like money an power.

btw. I does truh back de fish uh ketch. If uh eat dem uh might glow in de dark.

39. @Hants

Addictive has negative connotation, yuh mekkin a contribushun man.

40. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

This charge against George Payne and the BLP is deeper than we first believed, this charge as was just reported to me is that George Payne is known to have forged signatures to register these people in favour of Owen in various constituencies.

With this being the case why would any of us not feel concerned by these developments that if the leadership of the BLP sees it fit to pad a voters list and forge signatures of persons for an internal BLP matter why would you feel that they would be honest and not pad a voters list or commit fraud and theft for a NATIONAL ELECTION ???

41. Hi David; Re. your 8:46 post. A very good point and I think you are right. The DLP should learn from the current BLP fiasco and avoid their mistakes.
    But shouldn’t the BLP have learnt from the Mascoll-Thompson problem of 4 or 5 years ago and perhaps not have gone down this road. In any case the fat lady has not yet sung for the BLP and they might yet reach an amicable resolution that does not create all losers.

42. @checkit-out

They should have learned yes, this is why BU remains firm in the view the position by the Arthur faction is to stop Mottley at any* cost on two grounds. None has to do with power.

43. @ Georgie Porgie | October 14, 2010 at 7:53 PM |
    “QUESTION

Is Mia being squeezed for failing to play ball, or for not having balls?

Nothing like a good pun for some fun, I say.”

I agree, GP, and though its late in the blog, let me add to the pun-ish-ment!

Did the Gang of Five noball Mia for throwing a tantrum? Or if she had no balls, how could she rack them without being snookered?

And if she really had balls and they were squeezed hard enough, would they turn blue (the DLP colour), or bright red (signifying that despite everything she is still a Bee)? Worse yet, if Mia had real (not rented) balls and a Bee stung them would she go into anaphylactic shock? Would that not give her great pain, requiring her to do good to marshall her energies, and might she not be left owing the doc?

Enough of this crap, but the whole thing seems rather a joke!!

44. @ Opposition is at sea | October 16, 2010 at 11:50 AM | This charge against George Payne and the BLP is deeper than we first believed, this charge as was just reported to me is that George Payne is known to have forged signatures to register these people in favour of Owen in various constituencies

My Response:

The question is, now that PM Thompson and the DLP administartion is bringing a Prevention of Corruption Act, (which is highly commendable) will all still be motivated to wrestle or will energies be immediately concentrated to finding a scapegoat?

45. The DLP better get on with the running of this country and leave the Bees to themselves. The Bees know how to recoup, regroup and attack in a unified swarm and sting ppl to death. So beware.