Senator Caswell Franklyn of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PPDD) shared the following email (email addresses were redacted from the email) with the blogmaster. The contents of the email is not new and there is no need for the blogmaster to be prolix except to say-  trivializing the process of law making exposes AND compromises the governance system.

We must do better.

– David Blogmaster

From: Parliament of Barbados <parliamentbarbados@caribsurf.com>
Date: 28 August 2019 at 2:05:26 pm GMT-4
To: “Abrahams, Wilfred” , “Atherley, Bishop Joseph” , “Bostic, Jeffery” , “Bradshaw, Santia” , “Caddle, Marsha” , “Clarke, Gline” , “Dr. Browne, Sonia” , “Dr. Duguid, William”, “Forde, Adrian”, “Forde, Cynthia”, “Gooding-Edghill, G. P. Ian” <, “Griffith, Charles”, “Hinkson, Edmund”, “Holder, Arthur” , “Humphrey, Kirk”, “Husbands, Sandra”, “Jordan, Colin”, “King, John”, “Marshall, Dale”, “Mia A. Mottley, Prime Minister” “Parris, Patricia”, “Payne, George” , “Phillips, Peter” <, “Prescod, Trevor” , “Rowe, Neil”, “Straughn, Ryan”  “Sutherland, Dwight” <, “Symmonds, Kerrie”, “Thorne, Ralph”, “Toppin, Ronald”, “Weir, Indar” , “Beverly, Gibbons”  “Eastmond, Pedro” , “Jones, Nigel”
Cc: “Adams, Rawdon” , “Boyce, Kevin”, “Cheltenham, Dr. Sir Richard” , “Cummins, Lisa” , “Drakes, Crystal”, “Franklyn, Caswell” , “Grant, Rudy” , “Greenidge, Rudolph” , “Haynes, Dr. Crystal” , “Henry, June”, “Holder, Lynette” , “Maynard, Dr. Christopher” , “McConney, Kay”, “Moe, Lucille” , “Moore, Toni”, “Nurse, Lindell”, “Rogers, John” “Sands, Damien”, “Springer, Romel”, “Taitt, Monique, “Walcott, Mr. Jerome” , “Wiggins, Alphea”
Subject: Supplement to the Order Paper for Friday 30th August, 2019

Dear Honourable Members
Please see attached the Supplement to the Order Paper of the House of Assembly for the 49th Sitting to be held on Friday 30th August, 2019 and the measures thereon.
  1. Resolution to grant the sum of $2,073,027 from the Consolidated Fund to place it at the disposal of the Government to supplement the Estimates 2019-2020 as shown in the Supplementary Estimates No. 2 2019-2020 which form the Schedule to the Resolution.
  2. Resolution to approve the borrowing by the Government from Republic Bank (Barbados) Ltd. of the sum up to BBD 26.3 million to repay existing overdraft facilities held by the Barbados Transport Board, the National Housing Corporation and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

Regards

Clerk of Parliament

Miss Suzanne Hamblin
Parliament of Barbados
Parliament Buildings
Trafalgar Street
Bridgetown
email: parliamentbarbados@caribsurf.com

Attachments:

274 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn of the Opposition People’s Party for Democracy and Development Exposes a Big Problem II”

1. @@Vincent

This link is useful to explain.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/29/pensions-promise/

2. Can’t locate copy of Austin Clarke’s The Prime Minister, I gotta undertake a search

The Gov’t should announce how many persons have been impacted by this snafu and announce what it will cost the Bajan taxpayers going forward. Based on the promise that future recipients will not be receiving the two pensions the amount should be decreasing annually as people shuffle off to their mortal coil.

As my old Latin teacher was won’t to say “inter omnes constat” ( It is agreed among all) that the payment of a disability pension coupled with an Old Age Pension is an irregularity and should never have happened but that is water under the bridge, however the PM who is a micro manager (the likes we haven’t seen before) knew of this situation of people protesting the curtailment when it reared its head months ago and she chose to do nothing. Now it has exploded all over the radio waves she rushes in to save the day while throwing shade (young people jargon) at her bureaucrats and Ministers.

Politics ….sweet fuh days…..

3. Baje the only ct I see on here is you/”””it seems like I ruffled your feathers too bad I call you as I see you.You are ALWAYS IN AGREEMENT WITH mARIPOSA NOT SOMETIMES so reel and come again jackass,you can,t fool me.Gazzerts the only script I see is when put on the spot and you can,t answer you run away.Your last response is a lame ass excuse but expected so I ask you again which bandwagon you jumping on Piece or Waru?As others told you instead of getting the full story it suits your anti Mottley tag team agenda to rush to be critical.You need to think more and blog less.

4. The government that is paying White Oaks Bds$170000 a month is bankrupt. It cannot even pay its pensioners; but MPs continue to be paid. Had it been a business it would have had to stop trading. Barbados is a failed state.

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 3 :48 PM

Thanks for attempting to help. I am sincere about that. I do understand the source of the confusion. It confirms my support for the clear separation of power and authority as it relates to the Barbados Constitution. I think we touched on this issue in our discussion on “Bifurcations” .

6. What if a person starts collecting a disability pension at age 61 and the disability is long term and overlaps the old age pensionable age ?

Warning to Bajans. Work longer and save more money for retirement. And learn to fish and grow vegetables.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I think we need to add Elements of Law “to the 6th form Curriculum.

8. @Vincent

We need to do many things, cannot wait for things to evolve.

9. @ Lorenzo

If you want to continue the Bajan small minded mentality to win a point to label someone and put them in a box as either a DLP or BLP to dismiss them this is 2019.

I am not the one for shenanigans or innuendo.

Try those tactics on yardfowls, and beneficiaries of the two party practiced locally.

However as you are a Butthead I don’t expect you to comprehend.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 4:17 PM

The disability pension ends when the NIS Contributory Pension begins . There can be no overlap. The funding is from the same source NIS contributions. Disability Pension is a bridging payment.

11. I tell wunna Hal duplicitous. This man supported Mariposa’s two stances on this matter, which by the way are diametrically opposite:

The government should pay the 2 pensions rather than make people impoverished.
    Why promise to pay if the law says one should only receive one pension/grant.

Then he agrees with Skinner’s position:
    “Here it is we have reached a point where we have to legitimize an illegal transaction because it is the only solution.”

Now he’s saying the government can pay White Oak but not pensioners.

Is it an illegal or legal transaction? Should it be paid whether legal or illegal? Will its non-payment lead to impoverishment and, if yes, is paying political, humane or both?

Man in here too sweet.

12. @ Vincent

It would be an actuarial science on one side but also more so a case of a moral issue on the other.

As they say you can be legally right but morally wrong and this is one of those cases.

The other issue we have to address is what financial position is the NIS in to carry any unplanned expenditure now? Remember on their $ 3 billion dollars in useless paper they lost roughly $180 million a year in annual income already. That does not include the so called real estate investments like the grotto that they lose money on every month in real terms either.

So we have a NIS whose annual income is down by at least $180million a year with many other non performing assets, what position are they in to carry new liability as we speak now? What about their other real estate holdings are they on book at their inflated building cost or at market value? If at inflated cost that is another blow in terms of on book adjustment that needs to be dealt with there too.

I believe even without factoring in the cost of those on this benefit, the NIS contributions will be increased in 2020 based on all I outlined above.

13. @John A

The other matter we should also be discussing is the generous pension plan for parliamentarians being 100% underwritten by taxpayers.

14. @ Enuff

I tell wunna Hal duplicitous. This man supported Mariposa’s two stances on this matter, which by the way are diametrically opposite:
    Why promise to pay if the law says one should only receive one pension/grant.(Quote)

Plse inform the blog on the timeline to justify the above statement. I do not know who you are, nor do I really care. But I do enjoy sitting here and having fun with people like you. You must be a colleague of Mr Jong.
    You are a fabricator. It is the Bajan Condition all over again. I am not surprised you choose to hide your appalling ignorance and deception behind a mask.
    Copy and paste the timeline and duplicitous statements I made. Not for @Enuff, because I do not think you have the mental capacity to understand, but here is my position. It has not changed for years: our hybrid NIS system is messed up and urgently needs sorting out, separating out the welfare and pensions responsibilities.
    This government is so obsessed with the economy it has effectively abandoned social policy. I ask again, do you agree that the pensions system needs reform?

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Commander Theophillus Gazerts

De ole man still heah

My 2 responses on this matter still stand.

If it is “a Senator Caswell Franklyn initiated topic” then the Senator would be the party best capable to respond.

I also hinged that ghd topic was NOT AUTHORED BY CASWELL but was lifted by the Honourable Blogmaster!

Knowing Senator Franklyn, he is not the sort of person to be drawn into mess, WHICH IS NOT OF HIS MAKING.

I see that you giving Hee Hee and Hee Haw the two jackasses that we are going to beat like the Rented mules they are, bare licks as usual!

heheheheh

Continue to beat them mercilessly

I notice that a next fellow dead and Hee Hee and Hee Haw boss dst is Mugsbe, tell Amit not to count in this killing

MAN, evey time dem open dem mouf dem call de dissenters names

Dem ent got no respect for we Patriots.

The public sentiment is what going cause Mugabe to lose the next election 12 seats to 18 BECAUSE OF THESE UNCHARACTERISTIC PUBLIC OUTCRY.

Lool at Kelsi’ numbers

http://imgur.com/gallery/58HPRfI

So dem got real worries cause de number of average bajans who are speaking out IS INCREASING.

And de ole man is not doing a ting.

16. Hal
    The fact that you have accused the government of abandoning social policy shows me that you just talk because you have a mouth and clearly don’t know what you support on BU. One of the first acts by the new government was the reinstatement of free tuition at UWI and other tertiary institutions. An increase in non-contributory pension was also done. The government just expanded and upgraded the youth service to BYAC. Wuh bout the land secured so far through planning gain to re-house residents living in overcrowded units in government estates? Wait, wait ain’t only last week the government announced a position on squatting? What is increasing accessibility to 24-hr public health facilities? Wuh bout the Building Blocks programme in Silver Hill etc? Trust Loans? Wuh bout giving contracts to people within the constituency to do work within the constituency? Expanded Sea Cadets programme? Oh I forget, u is a social policy expert. 🤣🤣🤣

17. @ David.

Yes The pension plan for parliamentarians is in need of serious review. After all should they not lead by example? They have every right to have to wait to 65 for pension like all of us. After all why should we pay their pension payments after a period they are no longer working for the state? One can go in there at 40 “work” hopefully for a few years and qualify for a pension.

In reality you know we will never see them touch that in our lifetime though.

18. enuff as most on here has discovered Hal Austin is a bullshiter.Always speaks as if he is an expert in all topics whether economics,health,sewerage which he clearly is an expert in talking garbage,transport,social policy everything.Anyone who can agree all the time with Mariposa who most know as a Dem lackey looking to score cheap political points is unworthy of any debate with.Maybe you should spend more time trying to help your Government with a successful Brexit strategy,which seems more like a failed state than Barbados.

19. William Skinner Avatar

@ Enuff

For the record, Sir. You are quoting David’s position that it was the
    “only “ solution.
    In responding to David I inserted it should read the only “POLITICAL” solution. I don’t want to be involved in any back and forth. Just kindly , when using my name , do it in the correct manner. Thank you, Sir.

20. @William

There was a decision to pay the two pensions or continue as is, what political decision what. Let us keep the thing simple.

21. @ David.

Let me give you an example the lost on the bond restructuring would have say on 60,000 contributors to the fund, if they alone were burdened with making up the lost.

We are just rounding off figures here as an example so no one come back and say they are not 60,000 but 63,101 or any such like.

So if on the $ 3B in paper say they lost 6 points, that is $180m a year. Now spread that among 60,000 contributors and it means each contributor on average would pay $3000 more in NIS a year!

We know that is political suicide so even if on average the said 60000 people paid only $100 more in NIS a month, the NIS fund would still have a shortfall of over $100M a year!

Stop and think on that and it will put in context why the NIS rates will increase in 2020. Even doing that though other hard decisions would still have to be made by the fund to just get back to where they were before the restructuring.

22. @John A

Base on the last IMF analysis of the Fund we already are subjected to the highest social security rate in the region.

23. @ David.

Sorry to bring bad news to you but it ain’t over yet!

This is just the fallout from sinklers printing spree now coming home to roost.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 7:11 PM

Does the NIS not pay the highest and most comprehensive benefits in the region also?. These have to be paid for.

25. “Artax is also a smart guy. I just cannot figure out why you two end up on the “wrong” side all of the time.”

TheOGazzerts

I’m sure you’re aware I’m a “limited range chicken” (according to you) that is appallingly ignorant and learnt by rote.

So, could you please explain what you meant by the comment re Enuff and I “end up on the “wrong” side all of the time?”

Does this means you end up on the right side all the time?

26. Mr. Codrington

The following link provides some information relative to the “cost of living allowance.”

https://treasury.gov.bb/content/considerations-when-calculating-your-pension

“Cost of living allowance is obtained when the government provides an increase in pensions across the board. If you are in receipt of a pension already your monthly payment will not change but the difference will be given as a cost of living allowance.”

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I suspect that a lot of government workers/civil servants were running scams not on the government, not on the NIS, but on WE THE TAXPAYERS. People who felt that they could quit work before the age of 50 and collect an income almost as much as their final salary for the next 30, 40 or more years, while other people not civil servants had to continue working until age 67, while paying the pensions of people 10 years or more younger than they. And at the end these other non-government workers collect just a single measly NIS pension?

Hasn’t anybody noticed that the “medically unfit” are principally former government employees? Hasn’t anybody asked what it is about government work that causes people to become permanently disabled/medically unfit well before the age of 60? Hasn’t anybody asked why aren’t private sector employees going out in droves “medically unfit?”

Look people if a person can collect in their 40’s and 50’s and early 60’s two streams of income FUNDED ENTIRELY BY THE TAXPAYERS, and if those incomes are almost equal to the wage that the person was earning, why are we surprised that government employees were in droves “coming out medical.”

Doesn’t anybody understand that when bad behaviour is rewarded, the only reasonable thing to expect is more bad behaviour?

28. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 31, 2019 11:47 PM
    Hasn’t anybody noticed that the “medically unfit” are principally former government employees?

I told a social media group I am involved with I am willing to bet over 90% of the medically unfit people in Barbados are former government workers. I know 3 former police officers who left the force medically unfit and all were healthier that many folks who dragged themselves out of bed and went to work until retirement. One of those officers is still driving bus here in New York City come sun, rain or snow. Did you read the latest ailment of the pensioner on the front page of Friday’s Nation? He is suffer from dromophobia, a fear of crossing the street. An out and out con-artist if you ask me
    If Mia and her ministers believe the law is not reasonable they should take legislation to parliament and change it rather that ask the civil servants to ignore the law. I am going to wait an she what she tells new pension recipients when they raise a stink about getting one pension when others with the same qualifications are getting two.

29. I do not remember calling you”ignorant and leaning by rote” and I have put aside using “limited range chicken”. However. I have developed a few other names that makes me smile, but I will not share them with BU.

30. Wuhloss..ah heard tiefing Cow was on brasstacks calling all the names of the civil servants who HELPED him SCAM Bajans tax dollars and pension fund…and he had to be STOPPED…lol..wuhloss.

So deserving for a bunch of sell out negros.

31. @ Enuff

I tell wunna Hal duplicitous. This man supported Mariposa’s two stances on this matter, which by the way are diametrically opposite:
    Why promise to pay if the law says one should only receive one pension/grant.(Quote)
    Plse inform the blog on the timeline to justify the above statement.(Quote)
    Still waiting.

Hal

The fact that you have accused the government of abandoning social policy shows me that you just talk because you have a mouth and clearly don’t know what you support on BU. One of the first acts by the new government was the reinstatement of free tuition at UWI and other tertiary institutions. An increase in non-contributory pension was also done. The government just expanded and upgraded the youth service to BYAC. Wuh bout the land secured so far through planning gain to re-house residents living in overcrowded units in government estates? Wait, wait ain’t only last week the government announced a position on squatting? What is increasing accessibility to 24-hr public health facilities? Wuh bout the Building Blocks programme in Silver Hill etc? Trust Loans? Wuh bout giving contracts to people within the constituency to do work within the constituency? Expanded Sea Cadets programme? Oh I forget, u is a social policy expert. 🤣🤣🤣(Quote)

Answer the above question and I will come back to you on this matter of what is social policy. Just a point of information: it is a mental disease to try to shape every discussion in to a party issue, a D or B. know there is a danger of a little universe appearing to be the real world (Plato’s Allegory), but try.

32. Mia speaks with twisted tongue a tongue that adds confusion
    A tongue so twisted and is made of political jargon
    One minute she says the govt is broke
    In the next minute she comes up with a ” humanatarian policy” to pay the Rock hall squatters to move off illegal land
    Now seemingly wants to give the pensioners all their due payments
    Makes me wonder if all the tax giveaways and tax waivers fall under the banner of “humanitarian”
    The fact being that the realities of this govt having a grasp of good goverence solely rides on a pristine political wave which is nothing more than grandstanding and opportunistic and self serving and not a govt wanting to place the best interest of the country first
    Hence we see a govt with a need to pursue a policy now dubbed “humanity”
    Which brings me to the thought of asking where does this govt stand in helping the Venezuelian people in the fight for humanatarian causes
    Yes mam you said it “humanatarian” a brand of policy worth thinking about in helping our less fortunate neighbours

33. Enuff what ” two stances” are u accusing me of speaking on the issue
    The fact that this govt continues to tell lies on the issue rather than come clean on the grounds or basis of law forces me to hold govt feet on the fire of honesty and transparency
    The govt is fooling the people as much and as long as their can
    Hence their need to massage the sensitive nerves of the people with warm and cuddle words of humanity rather than having themselves held accountable for the noise and confusion surrounding the issue

34. Enuff for three months people heard ministers of govt make promises of restoration also stating that the witholding of the invalidity payments were a mistake
    Now we have the PM stating her version under the banner of humanity and avoiding the elephant of law which gives the truth for the withholding
    The forged and twisted tongue of this govt is what can be called twisted stances sending messages of right hand not knowning what the left hand does resulting in political speak and added confusion

35. Madame Butterfly
    But didn’t you advocate for a humanitarian response a few days ago, citing potential poverty for the pensioners? Now the law should take precedence? It ain’t my fault if you’re not sharp enough to recognise your vacillation.🤣🤣 #manigiveup

36. Man dont put words in my mouth
    My stance was for PM to speak on the issue
    I have no dog in the issue but given the flip flop comments from the other talking head ministers
    My stance taken was for govt to truthfully speak on the issue
    Apparantley given the law it seems that govt has skillfuly resort to a new policy called humanitarian instead of truth

37. muh head spinning…lol

no easy feat…

38. Enough to make head spin
    Govt has now find itself skirting the parameters of truth but instead clothed itself into decision makings to fool the people called “humanity
    But question to govt where was the humanity in the past three months
    Now all of a sudden Wuhloss govt finds humanity driven by a political appetite when all and sundry knows that at first solution govt leaned heavily on the law
    As an old saying goes uh could fool some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time

39. Damn…this is going to be a rough ride…and i can only watch, ah got sidelined by yall actions…….since yall made sure that ya REAL notorious and when ya get like that…ah QUICK to stay outta allyuh bidness……murdahhhhh!!!!!!

So i will just watch and make off the cuff, innocuous comments, totally innocent, like a good little blogger.

40. David BU

Any thoughts on the appointment of Fabian Wharton as Chief Executive Officer at the Transport Board?

I noticed they seemed to have either made the post of General Manager redundant or abolished it all together.

41. Sista Abigail
    Have you provided TinFoil and MsEU MM with proof of government’s attempt to cremate the lady’s body yet?🤣🤣🤣

42. @Artax

What recommends the gentleman for the job? Is it his work in the PSV sector?

43. David BU

The following is as much I can gather, so far, about Wharton.

“Making the announcement, the Transport Board said in a statement: “Wharton brings a wealth of experience having spent several years at Cable & Wireless Barbados in various managerial roles before leaving to pursue personal business ventures.”

“During his tenure at Cable & Wireless, Wharton held different regional positions where he was responsible for the consolidation of the data centres resulting in a reduction in operating costs.”

“He was also integral in the retooling of human resources leading to increased productivity and was a key component in the renegotiation of all external contracts.”

Based on this generalized, vague information, in addition to him being a former DJ at Hott 95.3fm and former public relations officer for the Public Service Vehicles Workers’ Association, I don’t see what recommends him for the job other than being the owner of a few PSVs.

It looks as though this maybe another “Sandra Forde scenario” in the making.

Remember, Ms. Forde demonstrated from the outset that she was incompetent and not the best person for the job. But the former administration persisted with her because, and according to them, they CREATED HISTORY by appointing the first female General Manager of the Transport Board……….. and more importantly, she wore the party’s colours.

In this case, perhaps the current administration also wanted to create history, by appointing the first Chief Executive Officer of TB. And he may very well be wearing party colours as well.

Let’s give him a few months to give his vision for TB and what policy initiatives he plans to introduce, before criticizing him.

44. If Wharton has good people working with him he can be successful.

He will have the full support of the PM as she continues her quest to be the greatest…….

45. @Hants and Artax

Agree with the both of you. His work at C&W will help with the rationalization of resources that must take place at TB. If he has a good management team and Board he will be fine, therein is the rub.

46. “Enuff September 1, 2019 10:07 AM

Sista Abigail
    Have you provided TinFoil and MsEU MM with proof of government’s attempt to cremate the lady’s body yet?”

Those are your 2 friends…and since ya tight up tight up with ya fellow president…you should be the one providing the info….whether it’s yeah or nay..

ah watching allyuh create Cannabis Bill 2019…and OMITTING to put in the 60 acres earmarked for Rasta to create a generational cannabis business for future generations of black bajans….in THAT LEGISLATION..

.that is what got me “SURPRISED”…head still spinning, cause apparently yall thought NO ONE WOULD NOTICE……

why was that not in the legislation…wuh all the other legislation i see from other jurisdictions in the Caribbean MAKES PROVISIONS FOR AND LEGISLATES…what Rasta is ENTITLED TO …re medical marijuana…

….so wuh happen with president Mia that she does not want to protect this group who have suffered the most UNDER…you colonial minded LACKEYS…and ya PROGRAMMED HATRED OF NOT WANTING TO SEE YA OWN PEOPLE financially SECURE…..and particularly ya KNOWN HATRED FOR RASTA…

see how nice i am being..

maybe you can expand on this one instead…

…ah sure Natalie’s family got everything under their control by now..

47. Please ask him not to run the overdraft to the max under his watch cause as a tax payer I tired topping up their cheque book

48. Some have commented that Mia seems to be everywhere and in every ministry.

If you follow the stories here closely, you will see a series of missteps by other Ministers and officials.

If Mia wants a second term, she has top become involved with items that are outside of her Ministry. What some sees as micro-managing is a genuine effort to survive and win in 2023.

49. She certainly will not be reelected if she continues to play SLICK with the futures and LACK OF WEALTH of Black bajans and the THREAT to future generations of the majority population when they are robbed and not part of the wealth creation..and …without whom none of them can be elected or reelected.

which they all conveniently FORGET..once they are elected…

….ah told the last nuisances in parliament that there were not enuff minority crooks to elect or reelect any of them and they did not believe me, ya know them, dumb as rocks…lol…ah also told them that they will not be riding into the sunset and flying off to US and here and there after robbing the treasury…and they did not believe me either…lol

let’s see if DUMB is a continuing pattern..in 2019…to 2023..

50. @ David.

On another issue what is the story behind the stoppage of work at Sam Lords? What’s the scoop there?