While most remain distracted with the dos and don’ts of political-economy, the Mugabe regime in Bulbadhus has made prophetic the admonitions of OSA. Arthur had told all who would listen to him that he would never leave the BLP in the hands of Mugabe. While Mugabe, like Obama, pretends to be singing from the same hymnal as ‘his’ forbearers, ‘she’ has spared no effort in the construction of a tapestry of interlocking networks of ‘her’ LGBTQ ‘folks’ within the very ‘seat’ of governmental power in Bulbadhus. ‘It is a hidden government (within a government) operating like a mafia’, a source close to the administration tells us.

We, for a year now, have been receiving reports that regardless to the point of approach one has to navigate a series of LGBTQ networks, characterized by differing personalities and with no less than an obvious determination to empower their people. Not that Barbados is unfamiliar with this ethic, however the overt politicization of this brand of ‘identity politics’ in Barbados represents a stark departure from the past and delivers for Mugabe, like Obama before ‘her’, the undisputed title of the first lesbian prime minister of Barbados, maybe in the Caribbean as well.

We have people, near to and far from Mugabe, coming to us, making the same general types of complaints, they go like this. They would go to Mugabe or she would call them in to meet and then a referral is likely to be made. The making of such a referral it turns out, time after time, to be the equivalent of ‘kicking the matter into the tall grasses’. A grassy area infested with ‘bullers’ and ‘wickers’ experienced to have a firm, unbreakable, commitment to the LGBTQ mafia and to that mafia alone. This means that anybody who is seen as not having the required links will see their proposals and projects ‘offered-up’ to members within the LGBTQ government networks for exploitation. It is not our case however, that these formations are necessarily monolithic.

We have a report that there was a certain directorate which was preferred for a specific person. However, a senior member of the mafia thought that that allocation could have been redirected elsewhere, to a place nearer home. And it was Mugabe, ‘herself’, who then had to behave badly, as badly as we would expect a ‘lion of a woman’ could in order to install a known kleptomaniac instead. We have these kinds of reports but seek not to get anybody in trouble.

And Mugabe continues to play this double-game with the people of Barbados, exhibiting dangerous, even existential, contradictions. For example, she has oft opined, publicly, that the population is getting older, that there are not enough younger people in the population. Very well! But how is the covert and overt promotion of the LGBTQ discourses and praxis, as a national project, to serve population stabilization and development. Are we somehow on the threshold of a scientific breakthrough where men could breed other men or women other women? How could it be possible, for a prime minister, with a straight face, could preach one thing but actively seek to subvert that which Ma’at, Ptah, Sambo, Ani have thusly ordained? Indeed, how is the destruction of the human species by the LGBTQ ‘folks’ any less profligate than the killing of up to 300 life forms monthly? What are the links between the people who are close to her, people who served to sterilize the Barbadian population for decades, the eugenicist and now these LBGTQ people currently controlling the government of Barbados? How it is that Mugabe could redirect economic support from the traditional family structures while seeking to elevate other formations where there is no centrality of children, all in the dead of night? These, and more, are internal contradictions which the Mugabe regime can never reconcile nor does it pretend to.

LGBTQ people, now the GoB and their supporters are unthinkingly supporting the extension of imperialism. An end-stage American, White imperialism which can go no further but being on its death bed seeks to gnaw on the bones of those who still believe that it has something to offer them. It asks us to forget that none of the structural problems of capitalism have been solved, can be solved. These are the essentially questions of race, class, poverty and all which flow therefrom. In response, capitalism and imperialism pretend to present a social formation to deliver comfort to people who see themselves as having issues separate from those which we all suffer. Irrational identity games currently at play are no substitute for radical and fundamental transformation necessary. They cannot avoid the cultural dead-end facing us!

160 responses to “LGBTQ – THE ELECTED & HIDDEN ‘DICKTATORSHIP’ OF ‘BULBADHUS’”

1. Piece the Legend June 19, 2019 9:46 AM

I now understand BLP and LGBTQ are one in the same, WILY’s old school and does not understand or comprehend these new lifestyles.

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Piece “We Bajans do not bull nor wick in public”

here is Piece this morning quoting Plato and confusing himself with “We Bajans do not bull nor wick in public” He may as well have said an equally nonsensical statement about hetero sexual sex, because we do not do that in public either. To the best of my knowledge any king of sexual activity in public is a criminal offense in all countries In fact I have lived in and visited 19 countries, sometimes for a week or two, sometime for a decade or more and I have never seen public sex. Maybe I am too sheltered. However I just got off a ZR van and in spite of what people who have never driven on a ZR will say I have never seen sexual activity on a ZR either, in spite of using the service almost daily for more than two decades.

3. Am actually starting to fell some concern for Mia. That is so not like me.

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Wily at 8:08 and 12;31 “If LGBTQ members want to govern then they should run in elections under the LGBTQ banner…Wily’s old school and does not understand or comprehend these new lifestyles.”

Or most recent former Prime Minister was apparently mostly celibate or asexual. Should he have run under the asexual/celibate banner?

I don’t know how old school Wily is, but I am near three school and ten. I started school long before this present Prime Minister was born, and at least one of my elementary school teachers was gay. There were also gay people both men and women living in my rural Bajan village. Most are elders now, still alive, still well, mostly 80 or older. So I don’t know why Wily thinks that homosexuality is new. Homosexuality is as old as the hills.

We born and find it, and we will ALL DIE and leave it.

Stupssseee!!!

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

“…We born and find it, and we will ALL DIE and leave it…”

Dat is true dat is true.

But if a next 70 year old woman tell you that she had de pokerts for you three score years and ten, you going give up de crumpet TO JOIN THE GROUP?

By the way, you understand what rhetorical speech is though?

You certainly was not no island scholar, you jes uneducated like me den?

Effing you ent unnerstan a concept try NOT TO COMMENT PUN UM OK?

6. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife June 19, 2019 12:36 PM

Did we not have a deputy P.M. who was reportedly a homosexual as far back as the 60s?

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama June 19, 2019 10:41 AM
    “… had we made similar critiques about racism they would have met with your acceptance, we estimate…”
    You estimate wrong.

There are lots of things to critique about the government’s policies, but as soon as you poison that critique with irrelevant attacks on their sexual orientation you fatally undermine your own arguments.

There is only one reason in the world to care about a man or woman’s sexual orientation: if you are fcking them or wish to fck them. Otherwise it is none of your business.

Discriminating against homosexual people is a European colonial invention which you are mimicking without even knowing that you are a mimic. Pre-colonial Africa was not infected with such nonsense. Learn about the openly gay King Mwanga II of the Buganda Kingdom before the infection of European Christianity; seek to understand the Yoruba adofuro behaviors or the Hausa yan daudu.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bajan in NY
    You are thinking of Sir James Cameron (Cammie) Tudor, founding member of the DLP and one of the smartest people in the Barrow cabinet, served as Deputy PM, Foreign Minister, UN Representative, and much else. He was also the first Black President of the Oxford Union when he was a graduate student there.

9. PLT

You have taken it upon yourself to continue with the same canard you started with.

You are in no position to tell us about Africa

You talk about discrimination, sexual orientation defending, and the like. None of which can be attributed to us,

You are obviously intent on casting us within the well-worn frame. As though we are from Mars and totally unaware of the dominant arguments made in defense of homosexuality by Westerers. You are welcomed to do but such. But you have not said nothing new. You have not made contact with the underlying social phenomenon we cited either.

If White people in Barbados are getting all the government contracts would it not be expected that some may cite racism as causal.

And if it is perceived that we have a preponderance of gay people in this administration would it not be fair to question the existence of political networks.

10. @peterlawrencethompson June 19, 2019 2:59 PM

Exactly…he did his job well and no one cared what he did in his bedroom.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Sir James Cameron (Cammie) Tudor, founding member of the DLP and one of the smartest people in the Barrow cabinet, served as Deputy PM, Foreign Minister, UN Representative, and much else. He was also the first Black President of the Oxford Union when he was a graduate student there. AND A WELL KNOWN BULLER!
    GIVE THE MAN HIS DUE! GIVE HIM ALL HIS QUALIFICATIONS!

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama
    The entire LGBTQ issue is the canard. The only “the underlying social phenomenon” is corruption. Corruption has nothing to do with sexual preference.
    LGBTQ has nothing to do with the need for a Contractor General.
    LGBTQ has nothing to do with banning no bid contracts.
    LGBTQ has nothing to do with the lack of Integrity legislation after it was promised within 6 months.
    LGBTQ has nothing to do with lack of transparency legislation.
    LGBTQ has nothing to do with a bloated cabinet.

All you are doing by your rude remarks is getting down in the gutter with the DLP campaign of last election season. It is a complete distraction from the work we need to do as a community.

I expected better of you.

13. Freedom Crier Avatar

THIS ARTICLE IS AS CONFUSING AS THESE FLAGS…

Only in a Free Enterprise Free Society would such be allowed to Exist. In a Totalitarian Socialist Society it is up to the Whim of the Dictator if it would allowed. Although we are in a Democracy and that way may give more Freedom to the people, all Democracy’s eventually Commit Suicide because the System of Democracy has built into itself Mob Rule rather than the Rule by Godly Principles who Value Democracy. However, most Democracy’s in the world today have rejected God. That is like rejecting your Parent and having Children make Decisions without the Mental Capacity to Mature.

Isaiah Chapter 3

1 For, behold, the Lord, the LORD of hosts, doth take away from Jerusalem and from Judah the stay and the staff, the whole stay of bread, and the whole stay of water,

2 The mighty man, and the man of war, the judge, and the prophet, and the prudent, and the ancient,

3 The captain of fifty, and the honourable man, and the counsellor, and the cunning artificer, and the eloquent orator.

4 And I will give children to be their princes, and babes shall rule over them.

5 And the people shall be oppressed, every one by another, and every one by his neighbour: the child shall behave himself proudly against the ancient, and the base against the honourable.

https://www.facebook.com/137261216449365/photos/a.195552563953563/1331494090359399/?type=3&theater

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

So Peter Lawrence Thompson

Let me see if I have this correctly.

If the Prime Lesbian establishes a hiring policy where (1) not only there is no Contractor General but (2) all other existing key positions are being assigned to gays who (3) themselves are awarding de facto non compete contracts solely to persons of the LGBTQ community while (4) effectively employing no bid contracts that benefit LGBTQ persons, you are saying that Pachamama is wrong to even point out that the LGBTQ people are the only ones benefiting from this largese

And you are saying that if said Prime Lesbian has (5) reneged on her promise to pass Integrity legislation after 6 months and (6) is the sole person responsible for a bloated cabinet, you are saying that (7) just the mention of a seeming organisation-wide policy that favours gays is getting down in the gutter?

So you would prefer if Pachamama the Sojourner had made all the above points WITHOUT MENTIONING THE PART BOUT GAYS RIGHT?

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

LBGTQ can’t take it with them when they die either. And they have to die. Just like the rest of we. Since it is likely that they are less likely to have children, I am looking around for a gay auntie or uncle.

But anyway I have NEVER gotten a government contract, nor a government job, not even when the hetero people held sway for all the days of my life. No jobs for me. No contract for me. No scholarships for me. No nothing for me. Nothing at all for me, except duty, hard work and taxes.

I had to gain everything by merit.

So life for me goes on just the same as usual.

Don’t matter if B is in power

Don’t matter if D is in power.

Don’t matter if asexuals/celibates are in power.

Don’t matter if gays are in power.

I ask for, nor do I accept nor expect favours from anybody.

Never sexed to get or hold a job.

16. William Skinner Avatar

@PLT
    If it were discovered that only whites were being favored would it be wrong to comment on such ?
    I just read where you publicly identified a former deputy prime minister as a homosexual. Were you being rude or in the gutter?
    Let us just accept that Pacha made an observation and gave an opinion.Suffice it to say that all forms of discrimination should be exposed, where evident and wiped out.One of my very close gay friends called and said he found the article “ interesting “ and said that a Pacha is a good writer.
    He certainly did not see it as an assault on the gay community.

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

On my first job, earning $55 BDS per week, some old person, who had grandchildren older that I was came putting rudeness to me. I left that job. I would rather graze grass that give sex get or hold a job. When I first went to work my mother advised “don’t ever find yourself doing 2 jobs. You get one pay check, you do one job.” I’ve taught my children the same.

So I never had to accept nastiness. And it didn’t matter who was offering the nastiness.

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

An “no” I should not have had to leave my job. But how does a new employee fire the boss?

So I fired de wuk.

A married “D” Cabinet Minister, when he was in his heyday (may he rest in peace) came putting the same rudeness to my sister, and she was not even working in government. She had to put him in his place. She carried on working for the rest of her life. Did not go to his funeral, lolll!!! Cabinet ministers may think of themselves as powerful, but in truth that have no power to keep anybody out of work long term.

Tell them ‘no” and move on.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@William Skinner at 4:49

You said that your friend said that Pacha is a good writer.

Your friend is wrong.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama
    White supremacy is an embedded cultural pattern with deep roots in history. You cannot draw a meaningful comparison with LGBTQ issues because gay people are those who have been historically discriminated against. There is no such thing as gay supremacy… there is simply the effort to extend normal human rights to gay people. In the LGBTG arena it is the Christian Church which is the analog of White supremacists on the issue of racism.

History matters.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    Read what I wrote again. I never identified anybody as anything. I merely gave Bajan in NY some accurate, respectful, historical information on someone who is alleged to have been homosexual.

As I have pointed out before, the only people whose sexual preferences are remotely my business are those that I am fcking or are fcking me.

22. The really important thing about Cameron Tudor’s political career is that this highly intelligent man allowed his father’s business to die a natural death; our best ever education minister, at the time of his death was receiving food parcels from the Goddards.
    That is why we urgently need a social history that tells our political story. The highly educated son of a multiple shop owner, on the verge of dying from hunger in his mature years, is a source of national embarrassment, yet here we are obsessing about his sexuality.
    This is Barbados, the failed state..

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    You always brilliantly pretend you expected something different. PLT said all he did was present pertinent information on an “ alleged “ homosexual.
    And he has the gall to tell Pacha, he “expected better of him”.
    Imagine a man walking about identifying “alleged “ homosexuals.
    But then Cammie can’t sue for defamation. I wonder if PLT will display the same gall and name some other “alleged “ homosexuals who are actually alive. But he got to be smarter than that.
    I will respectfully suggest that PLT sticks to serious writing and quickly abandon his attempts at comedy.

24. @ peterlawrencethompson June 19, 2019 6:23 PM
    “As I have pointed out before, the only people whose sexual preferences are remotely my business are those that I am fcking or are fcking me.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Lol!!

Sounds like an “AC/DC” type of guy.

Be careful there PLT, Grenville P No.2 might just be spying on you to report you to his own-appointed moral police.

So don’t expect a pick in his ‘Cabinet’ when he becomes Dicktator of Bulbaydus in 2023.

25. “The really important thing about Cameron Tudor’s political career is that this highly intelligent man allowed his father’s business to die a natural death; our best ever education minister, at the time of his death was receiving food parcels from the Goddards.”

Shameful isn’t IT……

….all the UK education but no vision, no forward thinking, no attempts to keep his and others who looked like him businesses alive, just continued to PERPETRATE the same miseducation thatt also pauperized not only him but most of the Tudor clan…

AND THOSE NEGRO-RATS …STILL LEARNED NOTHING….

26. PLT,this guy Skinner does not mind Pacha taking pot shots at the PM but as soon as the spotlight turns on the Dems this Dem apologist and his sidekick Hal Austin have problems.This statement about Sir James was spoken about for years therefore this behaviour was around for years nothing new.Therefore what is your problem with the statement of PLT, damn hyprocrites.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Thank you for telling me about Cameron Tudor’s decline in fortune in his later years and the demise of the family’s business. That is indeed much more interesting and important than parts of his private life which are none of my business. I had naively assumed that his pension would have been adequate.

28. @ Lorenzo June 20, 2019 7:37 PM

Good one there, Lorenzo!

Especially in the light that the Dems had two recent PMs who were ‘botsy mechanics’ both married and single and both dead and alive.

Even the old “Skipper B” was known to be a rear admiral while shooting from the hip.

Those who live in glass houses with their bottom exposed should not throw stones at bulling bulls and wicker cows.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    If you had read what I wrote you might have noticed that I was not the person who made any allegations about Cameron Tudor’s sexuality. It is none of my business. I gave only factual and laudatory information.

It is the small minded busybodies who think that they have the right to invade a person’s privacy and publicity discuss another person’s sexuality, who contribute so much to Barbados being a failed society. (This is much worse than simply being a failed state.)

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner
    I am not the kind of small minded bigot who goes around talking about other people’s sexuality as though it is something they should be ashamed about. LGBTQ people have no reason to be ashamed of their sexuality.

Homophobic people have many reasons to be ashamed of their bigotry.

31. 78 comments and i am still unable to contribute….

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal “receiving food parcels from the Goddards”

Strange indeed.

Tudor was an almost exact contemporary of my parents, born just a few years after them, died just a few years before. My parents worked as domestic servant/skilled tradesman/small farmer, and raised nearly a dozen children. Towards the end of their lives they did not need food parcels from anybody. Their continued small farming, along with their National Insurance pensions provided enough for adequate nourishment.

I am wondering how large a pension of an MP/Cabinet Minister/ diplomat has to receive in order to provide adequate nourishment in their old age?

And if well educated MP’s/Cabinet Ministers/Diplomats cannot manage on their pensions, which are significantly larger than those of ordinary working people how is it that ordinary people live to be almost 100 years old without asking, or expecting food parcels from the Goddards or anyody else. And my parents especially my father were extremely generous giving produce to anybody, including to still living Cabinet Ministers (although truthfully the Minister did not ask and had/has no apparent need). At the time of their deaths the house was in a good state of repair and the funerals were paid for BEFORE the burials.

I doubt Hal’s story.

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The BU homophobes are shameless.

34. “I doubt Hal’s story”
    This should be something that you can prove or disprove.
    It is true or it is false.
    I see your doubt as a measure of probability, where you assigned it a low probability (probably less than 0.5).
    What would it take to move your belief past the 0.5 level?
    Suppose we have prior evidence that Hal is a truthful person. Would this increase your level of confidence…
    We are now entering the realm of Bayesian theory..

I tried, but the topic is a real yawner

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Bluntly put, my question is “How much tax money does the working class and middle class have to contribute in order to ensure that the retired political class continue to live in the style to which they have become accustomed?

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I am not familiar with Bayesian theory. But I am extremely familiar with the pensions paid to elders in Barbados, especially during the period 1992 to 2006. I am also extremely familiar with food prices. Familiar too with the cost of home and institutional elder care, and with managing the long term care of elders. When I say long term I mean elders who need assistance with the tasks of daily living for periods of greater than five years. Been there, done all of that for multiple elders, not just my parents.

I hope that my experience with these things makes up for my deficit with Bayesian theory.

Remember that the basic old age pension in Barbados today is $900 BDS per month. Thousands of people have to live on $900 per month.

Retired diplomats, retired long term Cabinet Ministers, retired long term members of the political class received more, significantly more.

How much more in tax dollars do you think the working and middles classes should contribute to the pensions of those who are already receiving more, significantly more?

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Simple kudos. I share your doubts of Mr Austin’s loosely worded post.

When he says that “at the time of his death [Sir Cameron] was receiving food parcels from the Goddards” and adds that he was “on the verge of dying from hunger in his mature years” he makes a damning assertion based on nothing but his say so!

He does not tell us if Tudor was experiencing senility, had no family members around or no former colleagues… In fact
    neither does he tell us if the food parcels from Goddards were a business arrangement properly requested and executed.

This is an amazing remark that a man (who as noted) had various pensions due to him and surely had too inheritances and property from his wealthy father’s estate was so suddenly at poverty’s door step.

I had never heard this before but had repeatedly heard of the diplomat’s sexual preferences so to me this is much more salacious and an unwanted invasion of the former Dep PM’s privacy!

Ah well…such is the hypocrisy of many of our writers here.

38. How do we know that those food parcels were not ordered and paid for by Mr. Tudor? Let us not forget that many people in the day order groceries wholesale and had them delivered to their homes. My grandmother did that, and we were not rich, but had a large family and bought lots of groceries. The gentleman taught Political Science to Form Six modern studies at my school. His nephew ( I think), Wayne Tudor, when he left College ended up finishing his education at the same institution.

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“This should be something that you can prove or disprove.”

the family fortune was definitely reduced to very little… everything turned decayed and dilapidated, niw real eyesires around the place..

Seemed as though when those who started the family businesses got too old, sick or passed on the younger generations found it difficult to be successful entrepreneurs, most went into the professional fields….read working for somebody…..and that was that.

Some opined that the politics degraded as it is known to and got extremely nasty and they started to cannibalize and saabotage each other just like the crabs both useless political parties and their operatives are.

40. @ Dame Bajans,

The story is amazing because of the person involved. I had no personal knowledge of that story or of Sir Cameron, but was told it in confidence by a very senior politician who I totally believed and who had no obvious reason to smear Sir Cameron, who must had had domestic helpers, who should be able to confirm or deny the story; Senator Goddard’s relatives and close associates must have been aware of what was going on.
    Getting a food parcel has nothing to do with assets, but everything to do with needs. In Barbadian society no person, professional or pauper – far less a man with a spectacular history of public service – would accept alms unless they had to; public shame is too powerful a social weapon.
    I have made the point on here on numerous occasions, that we must have our political and social history written up. Owen Arthur can do this for the nation, writing a history of his 14 yrs of government (the Tudor affair happened during the Arthur years, so our senior politicians and security officials would/should have been aware of this).
    This is also a job for our journalists (the first draft of history), political scientists, biographers and others. Who is writing Sir Cameron’s biography? Talk to Sir Cameron’s associates, his Senate colleagues, Senator Goddard’s associates and staff. This is what journalists and post-graduate researchers do.
    But there is what I call the Bajan condition: believing what should be, rather than what has been. Speculation runs riot. If we want to know what Sir Cameron’s assets were at the time of death, then look at his probate files, they are public records.
    The myth of Barrow as Father of Independence is one example of this national tendency of myth-making. Despite records at the Library of Congress, the Public Records Office in the UK, Hansard (UK) and the still remarkably functioning Sir Henry Forde, one of the consultants at the independence talks, the Barrow myth continues.
    So too we now want to create a fictional biography of Cameron Tudor.

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

…..the family fortune was definitely reduced to very little… everything turned decayed and dilapidated, NOW REAL EYE SORES around the place..

Both political parties presided over that mess…

,..when elected DLP uppity negros just continued to preside over the degradation…and decay even to their own, they syarted their wholesale nastiness ….which spread outward to EMBRACE THE WHOLE ISLAND WITH DECAY…during their reign of jackassness as well.

Neither DBLP, that unit of BACKWARDNESS, is good for the island going forward.

42. Mr Austin you made a ststement about Mr Tudor receiving parcels from the Goddards,which was news to most of us.However, when challenged, you amazingly state that you did not know Sir james personally but was told this by a senior politician.Unbeleivable!Yet you criticize people daily for not doing their jobs properly especially jouralists.Instead of calling Barbados a failed state everyday you should give your ecpert advice to the UK government on a sucessful brexit exit.

43. “n fact, in the report, a United Nations (UN) expert said that Barbados was a transit country for trafficked children and charged that Government was doing little to address the problem.”
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/20/slip-in-trafficking-in-persons-report/

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Not only that @Lorenzo, but the supposedly professional journalist Mr Austin was by his admission told this news in confidence.

Granted Sir Cameron is now long deceased and could care little of the prattle we pronounce here but as u said it is unbelievably amazing that after all this time without any FURTHER verification a professional man makes this pronouncement during a tirade about others OBSESSING about the very well known fact of Tudor’s personal partner preferences !

The more the world spins the more the sense of absolute incredulity of logic and sense surrounds us!

@Hal Austin your reasoning is jaw dropping amazing!

45. @Hal

here is something i found refreshing on Sleepy Smith

46. @ Greene,

This is a remarkable social history. It proves my point that we must write our history and not just gossip irresponsibly. I remember the apartheid days when little black boys could not work in Broad Street.
    Our main responsibility is to historical accuracy, not politeness or avoiding humiliation, although we must also consider those things.
    It is about knowledge production, about critical distance about our recent history.
    Either that, or we dwell in the cultural sewer of ignorance, note the level of poverty that he talked about, poverty that the current generation want to deny by their silence. Fortunately, his nephew Alan, has written a good biography of him. Oral history can be very powerful.
    Note also his reference to dependence in old age; his appreciation of his achievements. Our ruling elite are at most three generations away from abject poverty. Note also his reference to Buckley scholarships and paying Bds$16 a term for he and his brother at Combermere.

47. it would be amusing if the outcome of this discussion is a request from MPs to increase their pensions/salaries/everything

48. @Hal
    i am sure you have seen and heard George Lamming on you tube also. those are v good and highly informative. Lamming talks about political reform etc.

here he is speaking about culture in agriculture-

49. @ Greene,

Approaching the 50th anniversary of independence, I suggested to a Barbadian that he should get about ten of us together to write a 10000 word essay each on the theme What Barbados Means to Us.
    The idea was to publish the 100000 words in book form for the anniversary. I offered to pay for the production cost. The person did not reply nor has he mentioned it since, even though we have ‘talked’ on Facebook since.

50. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Theo…don’t waste your breath…too many of all of them, their friends family and yardfowls are involved…a white lowlife sexual predator from UK just assaulted a black female and the government bent over backward and made SURE HE WALKED FREE…

…you really think the scum in parliament care about TRAFFICKED WOMEN AND CHILDREN…please..these victims are FAIR GAME for all of them.

“It also charged that the 2013 prosecution of two suspected traffickers remained pending before the court.

The report disclosed that Government did not report any investigations, prosecutions, or convictions of Government employees complicit in trafficking offences.

It further charged that Government decreased already minimal efforts to protect victims.

Among one of the many recommendations coming out of the report was for Government to vigorously investigate, prosecute and convict traffickers and apply adequate sentences, as well as to identify victims in vulnerable populations and areas.”