here have been at least two deaths associated with violence in April. This is based on data obtained from reports in the media. March 2019 saw six deaths. Total for the year thus far is 22. The table below lists the two individuals.

Full details posted on caribbeansignal.com.

70 responses to “April 2019 Murder Stats”

1. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

David BU

Make sure you send a copy of those stats to Darwin Dottin !

The ” supposed ” preventer of violent crime in Barbados ……who was brought out of retirement at a ‘ princely sum ‘

Stop the ROTTIN

Fire DOTTIN !

2. This place has gone to the dogs
    The moral fabric has been destroyed
    Selfishness and greed Rules
    Those who have set themselves aside to be examples does not have the moral fortitude to do so
    All across the country the rallying cry is about self
    The poor and vulnerable have no way to turn but to find a path by which they belive they can survive
    Such was the case when an innocent man sitting in his car was robbed and gun down at the hands of a perpetrator
    23 and counting

3. You are right, the moral fabric was not reinforced when a former prime minister refused to fire a former speaker of the House of Assembly because he did nothing illegal although it was immoral. A position you supported. You have absolutely no credibility to suggest anybody is engaged in immoral behaviour.

4. @David

that is some brilliant analysis right there.

were i to seat the aetiology of crime especially murders in Bim, it would be “when a former prime minister refused to fire a former speaker of the House of Assembly because he did nothing illegal although it was immoral.”

take the win man. your days at HC must have been enjoyable? Hal, were are you? hahahaha

5. @David

that is some brilliant analysis right there.

were i to seat the aetiology of crime especially murders in Bim, it would be “when a former prime minister refused to fire a former speaker of the House of Assembly because he did nothing illegal although it was immoral.”

take the win man. your days at HC must have been enjoyable? Hal, where are you? hahahaha

6. David

I wonder what the statistics were on the numbers of stabbing in the month of April in the year 1978? What I am saying is that the increased in gun violence does not necessarily entails an increase in violence crime, but that the criminal element has found a new tool to do their killing …

Nevertheless, growing up in the Bush Hall area I often heard of stabbings on a regular basis, but no one kept record as they do today with regard to this new phenomenon of gun violence …

7. Mr. Greene

Are you trying to be provocative?

Supposed we look at the comments from a “different angle” and interpret his comment re:

“You are right, the moral fabric was not reinforced when a former prime minister refused to fire a former speaker of the House of Assembly because he did nothing illegal although it was immoral.”…….

……… was in response specifiically to the following comment:

“Those who have set themselves aside to be examples does not have the moral fortitude to do so.”

8. @Greene

One thing about you, your favourite colour is not green. Obviously the comment was meant to expose how hypocritical some are when discussing the politics.

9. Anthony Nurse was a male though.

10. We need the opinions of Criminologist and Psychiatrists .

” allegedly died at the hands of a man who had killed another of his lovers in 2004.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239442/family-shocked-stabbing

““And then he uncle run up to my son and stab he up. But all the time I thought he was cuffing him, but he was stabbing him. Got me ain’t got no son now.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/04/30/senseless-3/

11. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

| sincerely hope this current trend of an upward increase in intentional homicide is a one off anamoly and does not become the norm. Because, if Bim should become entrenched in violent crimes, year on year, like some of her regional neighbours … it would be a devastating blow on the national psyche of our people.

12. Needless to say the economic havoc on an already declining environment.

13. For comparison, Toronto with 15 X the population has had 1 less murder ie 20. Surely with the brain power that Bim has, the leaders could solve this if they applied themselves to the task. Increase education and opportunities in various fields while reintroducing the tamarind rod, the CAT and Capital Punishment. Round up the Boys on the Block if they are not progressing in life and place them in a military style facility for training and discipline in various fields. Disarm the criminals, PD know where they live and where the guns are likely hidden.

14. For those in Dodds offer them education and life skills with a reduction in sentence for showing sincere effort to change and learn ie in for 10yrs and the fella completes a course in say carpentry / other trade give him time off for his effort. If he has the capability to do an Uni level degree then give him time off that matches effort / time invested. Make sure and conduct Psychological reviews of all prisoners and offer assistance with overcoming serious problems.

15. Is murder an accurate reflection of the rate of crime in a society? Most people involved in murders, victims and perpetrators, are known to each other, which is why they are normally easier to investigate.
    What is the extent of other forms of crime: burglaries, rape, fraud, etc. How do we define crime? Are all anti-social behaviours criminal?

16. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

War In Time of Peace.

The caribbean subregion ( including central america), according to UN experts, is the most violent region in the world outside of a normal war zone. With an avergae per capita murder rate of 20 /100, 000, four times the USA rate, it’s no wonder the region are often labelled a conflict zone. The gun is the overwhelmingly choice of weapon used in killings, injuries result from shootings, and robberies. One in three adult in the caribbean will lose a friend or family member to violence in their life time according to an IDB study. The population is deeply traumatised from this dispropotion of murder violence.

17. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Hal. Those are some serious questions for the sociologists, criminologists and psychologists alike.

18. Since the name calling was introduced into this topic by David
    I wonder how he would further broaden his brilliant analysis towards Mia Mottley brilliant idea to put George Payne as Minister in charge of land and housing after being caught up in a web of land fraud allegations and Marshall to sit on the Board of corruption who has also been said to have his hands in nefarious behaviour

19. uk issued a warning about the killings and shooting right after the man get kill in the
    mall about you be alert and careful each every where

20. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Murder per capita estimation Statistics in 2018. Source: Yours truly. Figures compiled from news paper reports and official sources. eg crime observatory report.

Antigua ?
    Dominica : 10/100000
    Grenada: 5/100000
    Barbados: 8.6/100000
    Bahamas: 23.6/100000
    St Lucia: 24.29/100000
    St Vincent: 31.19/100000
    Belize: 36.6/100000
    T&T: 38.5/100000
    St. Kitts: 44/100000
    jamaica 45.96/100000

21. im not talking about last year this is on their uk foreign travel site

22. @fortyacresandalule

You have to be careful with the numbers. The kind of society Barbados was known for has changed for the worse. Unless we can – in the near term – arrest the behaviours forcing the current trending the Barbados brand will be irretrievable.

23. David he quoting old numbers the murder rate is 11 per 100000

24. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Violent crimes are akin to contagious diseases, and are hard to cure if left to fester. The Jamaica experience comes to mind. Jamaica goes from a muder rate of 5/100000 at independence(1962), to 10/100000 by 1972. Since then, it has never look back, having a per capita murder rate today akin to a civil war conflict.

Over the past decade and a half, we have seen a trending increase in the murder rate of a number of CARICOM member states.This has also accompany by an increase in the flow of illegal small arms coming mostly from the USA. The two trends above are highly correlated. Geography is destiny, according to the saying, is true to a large degree. It is therefore not rocket science to notice that small island nations in the pacfic region doesn’t suffer the same gun violence as we do in the caribbean.

25. So David i am awaiting your brilliant answer to Mia Mottley brilliant idea
    Yuh know sometimes sleeping dogs would stay asleep unless some one purposely awaken them
    Now u David thought u were being smart trying to push a political loollipop into the mouths of the blp yard birds that fly off the blp fence
    However what u failed to realise that from my comments there wasnt an intent to hide any persons wrong doings ..but being the political speckled fowl u are thought it best to highlight wrongs of the dlp while sitting right under your nose and the nose of Mia Mottley is the permeating stench of George Payne and Dale Mardhall whose allegations flies right in the face of all that is wrong legally and immorally

26. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@john. How many murders were committed in Barbados in 2018? What’s Barbados end of year poulatiln in 2018 ? Correct me if I am wrong, but last count at December 2018, the murder tally was 26 according to newspaper sources. Population was (290, 000).

27. Great stats fortyacres.

However, St Kitts with just 55,000 people with 22 murders would have a rate of 44/100000.

28. Gibberish!

Swamp life restored
    Article by
    Colville Mounsey
    Published on
    May 6, 2019

After a near three-year onslaught from untreated sewage prior to the construction of the new temporary outfall last December, the ecosystem of Barbados’ major wetland, the Graeme Hall Swamp, has almost returned to normalcy.

This revelation was made by Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrahams, who told Barbados TODAY that Government has done considerable rehabilitation of the swamp and it was now left up to nature to take its course.

“The rehabilitation of Graeme Hall is going really well. I would advise anyone to go down there and see for themselves because we all know what it used to look like. The fish are back, the birds are back, everything is back to how it was. There is no more smell and the swamp is being properly maintained,” said Abrahams.

The minister further explained that in their efforts to rehabilitate the wetland, it was important that a balance was struck between man-made help and nature’s propensity to heal itself.

“We are doing all we can do to get the swamp back up but the problem is that you can over-engineer things in an ecosystem. So, we have to be careful sending things in there to excavate. There are settled solids, so the swamp is not as deep as it was before. We could go in with an excavator and dig it out or we could wait for the rains and let the swamp naturally flush itself out,” he said.

The ecological attraction came under threat during the worsening sewage crisis on the south coast. Some business owners and residents impacted by the spills took matters into their own hands and were resorting to dumping the effluent, which had pooled in their backyards for months, into the swamp.

In addition, with blockages in the lines leading to the now decommissioned Needham’s Point system, the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) was forced to temporarily mitigate the effluent spilling onto the streets of the south coast, by redirecting the sewage outflow through the canals of the swamp and into the sea. This had also resulted in the closure of Worthing Beach for several months.

Following a visit to the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary a week after the Barbados Labour Party’s victory at the polls last May, Prime Minister Mia Mottley promised to allocate resources to rejuvenate the swamp immediately after a fix was found for the sewage crisis.

In his recent interview with Barbados TODAY, Abrahams explained that while Government has kept its promise, the average Barbadian has a part to play in seeing the rehabilitation process through. In making this point, the minister pointed out that recent efforts to replenish fish stocks are being undermined by persons fishing in the swamp.

“The fish were reintroduced as part of the ecosystem of the swamp to keep down mosquitoes. So, if people go and catch the fish before they have a chance to spawn, then the mosquito issue is going to come back. We are working hard to restore balance to the ecosystem and the fact that fish are in there alive and well means that water levels are coming back to where they were, so, we can’t have people tampering with what we are doing,” stressed Abrahams.

29. Money Brain,
    …reintroducing the tamarind rod, the CAT and Capital Punishment.

Really?????? Massa stylie???? The problem is too much violence. How do we solve this? With MORE VIOLENCE???? How do we convince people that there are other solutions to disagreements if the solution we put forward is more violence.? We black people have been raised on violence. It is time to break the cycle.

PS. I would venture to suggest that the white population of Barbados is not in the habit of beating their children for disciplinary reasons. There is NO BEATING at the private schools that they attend. I am certain that the black principals at the schools where a few of them still mix with the black population ARE RELUCTANT TO BEAT THE WHITES.. But more beatings for black people????

SMH

30. Side note….

I must compliment the blogger on having the statistics immediately available. Not so long ago, I could google the murder rate in Jamaica or Trinidad and never find a number for Barbados.

This increased transparency is refreshing.

31. Abrahams is a political fly by night who has no knoweldge in the science of ecology
    His comments are words all string together which adds up to nonsense

Btw David i detect a distraction bobbing and weaving style
    Hence my reminder on all deeds immortal is sitting on the table staring u in the face
    Good job David

32. What cannot be refuted is that there is not more shit gushing on the streets of Barbados.

What cannot be refuted is that any individual or entity can enter the swamp to do testing in order to verify what the minister has publicly recorded.

So far he has not had to take a swim in shitty waters like Sealy and Boyce.

33. Ok. I will let u go this one on your own. Btw does Abrahams has accreditation in ecology
    It is one amongst the hardest sciences
    Reason why i know Abrahams knows of what he speaks
    As for where the sewage goes dont expect Mother Nature to be forgiving

However what cannot be refuted are the swirling illegal allegations about George Payne and his side kick Marshall
    Makes me wonder why the two of them have never made reference to the term lawsuit but rather threats

34. Anybody can make allegations. If said allegations can be supported the law court is always available.

35. “Anybody can make allegations. If said allegations can be supported the law court is always available.”

Exactly!!!

And if you want proof, I’ll remind you:

“QUEEN’S COUNSEL Michael Carrington, who is also Speaker of the House of Assembly, has run into hot water with one of his clients.”

“Carrington, a practising attorney-at-law, has been ordered by the High Court to surrender nearly a quarter-million dollars to John Griffiths, funds received and withheld over two years ago from the sale of a property as well as various bank deposits.”

“Justice Jacqueline Cornelius also ruled last month that Carrington render an account of all sums belonging to the particular estate within 28 days. He was also ordered to “pay interest at the rate of per annum” from May 13 until the entire sum is paid, and legal costs of over $7 700 incurred by Griffiths.”

“Abrahams is a political fly by night who has no knowledge in the science of ecology. His comments are words all string together which adds up to nonsense.”

Spot on. You are correct. I believe you have a point.

This BLP administration should have learnt from the mistake made by the former DLP administration, when Chris Sinckler was appointed Minister of Finance, and despite his abysmal performance, he was not removed.

Similarly, Sinckler was a political fly by night who HAD no knowledge in (finance or economics. His comments were words all string together which adds up to nonsense.”

And look wuh part it get we, 24 credit rating downgrades……. and a “wrecked economy,” resulting in austerity measures.

36. South Of The Border Avatar
    South Of The Border

Money Brain,
    …reintroducing the tamarind rod, the CAT and Capital Punishment.

Really?????? Massa stylie???? The problem is too much violence. How do we solve this? With MORE VIOLENCE???? How do we convince people that there are other solutions to disagreements if the solution we put forward is more violence.? We black people have been raised on violence. It is time to break the cycle.

PS. I would venture to suggest that the white population of Barbados is not in the habit of beating their children for disciplinary reasons. There is NO BEATING at the private schools that they attend. I am certain that the black principals at the schools where a few of them still mix with the black population ARE RELUCTANT TO BEAT THE WHITES.. But more beatings for black people????

SMH

@Donna,

Can you provide any evidence to support your claim above that there are no beating/lashes at private schools? I attended both public and private schools in Barbados, and I recall receiving lashes at the private schools. I also witnessed, first hand, beatings – at private schools – dished out by teachers to students of various ethnic backgrounds (including Caucasians).

Cheers.

37. Artax
    Allegations can be made by any one

The only difference are the allegations made towards George Payne have proof of evidence
    Only some one having some tainted charcater would avoid bringing allegations brought towards them to closure
    Lest you forget after all the hue and cry towards Carrington made light he hastened a conclusion
    Almost two years have passed since land fraud and theft allegations forwarded with proof against George Payne made social media and as of yet he has made no attempt to bring conclusion
    Hasn’t George no shame along with his side kick Marshall
    And again to think that the Head of the justice dept a d PM Mia would allow tainted characters reside over depts that associates their character in derogatory fashion is mind blowing

38. Isn’t there a tad of optimism in this report? If untreated sewage was flowing into the swamp into December of 2018, could it be returned to “almost” normalcy in 4-5 months? I note the Minister said that there are settled solids – so what is the makeup of those solids and did anyone do a coliform count?
    In any event I salute those catching the fish, I am sure they belong to the local catch and release society.

39. Some body needs to tell Abrhams that google is everyone’s friend and he should at all cost avoiding talking nonsense

40. “The only difference are the allegations made towards George Payne have proof of evidence…”

Okay.

What is PREVENTING those who “have proof of evidence” of the allegations FROM filing a civil suit against Payne and Marshall……… or calling the police?

Do you believe posting videos in which people are “ranting and raving” is the correct method to use dealing with the issue?

I believe if these people actually had “proof of evidence,” they would have gone to Court or call the police, rather than using social media to talk shiite and doing nothing in the process. There is a fundamental tendency in human behavior. Satisfaction progressively decreases if we continually consume the same item. This is best explained by the law of diminishing marginal utility.

Until these two gentlemen face the law Courts and the allegations are proven to be true……. the allegations are just what they are……. allegations.

41. Why should. Jackie serk the court for solution especially seeing who is in charge
    Their chance of being treated fairly is between slim and none
    The longer shame is splashed across Payne and Marshall the embarassment would sooner give cause for them to come to agreement with the Stewarts
    I say to them keep the fire burning
    The hotter the better
    Wouldnt expect barbados courts to treat them fair

42. Lest you forget after all the hue and cry towards Carrington made light he hastened a conclusion.”

NO….. he did not……… and No, I did not forget anything.

BUT……. I’ll REMIND you……..Carrington was ORDERED by the Court to pay Griffiths.

Therefore, he DID NOT have any CHOICE but to “hasten a conclusion.”

Remember, on December 9, 2014, Madame Justice Jacqueline Cornelius “ORDERED Carrington to render an account of all sums belonging to the Worrell estate which he had received on Griffiths’ behalf, WITHIN 28 days.”

Also, remember on January 29, 2015, FORTY-EIGHT (48) days AFTER the December 9, 2014 ruling, a banker’s cheque for over $200 000, which represented the amount due to Griffiths, was paid on behalf of Carrington to the law firm George Walton Payne and Co.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Btw does Abrahams has accreditation in ecology?

It is one amongst the hardest sciences REALLY? WHAT IS SO HARD ABOUT ECOLOGY?

PLEASE KINDLY ILLUMINATE?

DO YOU HAVE accreditation in ecology? LOL LOL

As for where the sewage goes dont expect Mother Nature to be forgiving

.WHO IS THIS MOTHER NATURE?
    HOW WILL SHE FORGIVE OR NOT FORGIVE? CAN YOU PLEASE EXPLAIN THE BIOLOGY INVOLVED?.

RE I note the Minister said that there are settled solids – so what is the makeup of those solids and did anyone do a coliform count?

WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE?
    WHY DO YOU WANT A COLIFORM COUNT?
    CAN YOU PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN THE REASON FOR THE NEED OF A COLIFORM COUNT?

44. MoneyaBrain

No amount of programs will change the determination of a young man bent on doing wrong Sir … listen! I sat next to one of Barbados most notorious criminals Peter Bradshaw at St. Leonard’s Boys Secondary during the early 80s, and when the both of us were finished with school … I decided to go to the Skills Training Program at the Polytechnic which was offered by the government for those students who weren’t academically incline, and Peter Bradshaw decided on a career of crime. He had the same opportunity as I did … it all comes down to the choices one makes in his or her life Sir.

45. MoneyBrain

The aim and object of government and those who have a vested interest in seeing the young people achieve their dreams is to reach them before they are institutionalized, or are caught up in the criminal justice system … and not after they have done so …

46. “Why should. Jackie seek the court for solution especially seeing who is in charge, Their chance of being treated fairly is between slim and none.”

Hmmmm……….

It’s funny, no.. hilarious that you wrote above comment, especially if one takes into consideration the allegations were NOT made after May 24, 2018, nor was the issued created after that date.

This issue would have been lingering during your 10 year and 3 month tenure, January 15, 2008 to May 24, 2018…… when the DEMS were “in charge”

Perhaps you should ask the Stewarts if, during that period, they sought “the Court for solution”,….. and if not…..WHY NOT.

Unless they were reluctant, “especially seeing who was in charge, and thought “their chance of being treated fairly is between slim and none” as well.

You are essentially admitting BLP + DLP = BDLP.

47. Heard theStuarts make mention of seeking resolution in the courts but was given the runaround by the judge who was conviently absent and had set a date for hearing on a public holiday

48. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Theophillus Gazerts

I would comment but I have been banned for the Crime and Violent Deaths topic

I dont know why but it had something to do with “de ole MSN delighting” in the increases in the deaths

So it is all over to you and Dr GP

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Mariposa

……….Since the name calling was introduced into this topic by David
    I wonder how he would further broaden his brilliant analysis towards Mia Mottley brilliant idea to put George Payne as Minister in charge of land and housing after being caught up in a web of land fraud allegations and Marshall to sit on the Board of corruption who has also been said to have his hands in nefarious behaviour…………

Lord come for ya people, I actually like something that this DLP lapdog has said. But, but, but, when ya right, ya right.

I am very much on Jackie Stewart’s side. I know that she would not rant and rave if there was not a problem with the way her mother’s land went Payne and Marshall’s way. Jackie, please do not curse me ok, I told you that I am on your side. I told you before, regardless of what you think about the judiciary, Payne, Marshall, Cow Williams and whoever else thought to be involved in this alleged scam, they are building on your mother’s land regardless of what proofs you have. There must be a legal loophole in this matter that you have not seen that they exploited that allowed them to do what they are doing. You are not going to make any headway in this matter by levelling insults at them and calling them all sorts of names via youtube or other social media. jackie, listen please, we all know what the system in Barbados is like, we know that it protects the strong and prey on the weak, but if you have documents proving that stinking George Payne and Dale Marshall illegally obtained your mother’s property it is time to take the matter to the next level. This can only be settled in a court of law and if you do not trust the system of law in Barbados then reach out to the Caribbean Court of Justice or present your case on British Broadcasting Media to tell one and all what you know about Land fraud scam in Barbados because you and your mother fell victim to it. You never know, the BBC, CNN or some other news network might just decide to follow your trail and conduct an investigation. Outside of all of that, it seems to me that you are not gaining much ground towards rectification. I hope you understand because you are no fool.

50. Robert Goren Avatar

Outside of all of that, it seems to me that you are not gaining much ground towards rectification. (QUOTE)

@SSS

I agree with you, but some people hate hearing the truth. It seems as though Stewart believes if you don’t support the way she is doing things, you must be defending Marshall and Payne and is against her, then she turns her hostility on you.

Using social media to rant and rave and insult people is not the way to solve her problems. After a time these videos become stale and her messages becomes lost, because people are hearing nothing new, just the same thing over and over in each video.

If she has proof and is hesitant to use the local justice system, why not go to the CCJ.

Myrie used that Court effectively and won a case against Barbados. Myrie’s lawyer used the news media to highlight her case and his intention to take her the matter to the CCJ.

Stewart could likewise give a U.K. lawyer the proof and let him/her use the news media to highlight her case.

If prefers her way and is comfortable, then let her continue.