Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

asstin

can you debunk what PLT said?

if so, do so, instead of asking your silly questions whereby you in dpdesque fashion pretend to be knowledgeable, and whereby you challenge the man’s economic knowledge and acumen.

if you can not debunk what PLT said or provide some alternative, shut up and sit down, and not necessarily in that order.

re It always amuses me when at the end of the submission they place a quotation by a black intellectual, Frederick Douglas is a favourite even though the man they admire in the WH didn’t know if he was dead or alive.

It also amuses me that FREEDOM CRIER is emotionaly spaced out on this socialism and communism issue (currently still irrelevant to Bim) as well as her quotations by the black intellectual, Frederick Douglas. However, it boggles the mind why you think that it is necessary that the man in the WH needs to know if Frederick Douglas is dead or alive——-or whether he ever even lived! HE SEEMS TO BE DOING QUITE A GOOD JOB WITHOUT THIS EDUCATION.

2. Why is it that when the wealthy are asked to contribute to the nation via taxes it is called socialism or class welfare but when workers are asked to take a pay cut or give up some benefits it is pitched as good for the nation or balancing the budget ?

In 1692 the Protestant aristocracy of England anticipated possible conflict with Catholic monarch on the English throne, James II, and prospect of war with the Catholic Monarch Louis XIV of France. The Protestant Earls and Dukes asked a foreigner with a distant claim to the throne, William of Orange, to invade England and remove James II and help fight Louis.

He landed in 1688 with a navy four times the size of the Spanish Armada of 1588. William was Dutch and he told the English Protestant nobility- I will be your king and defender but you must pay for this protection of your estates.- Parliament did the near impossible. the English nobility voted to tax themselves with the Land Tax of 1692 to pay for the defence of the realm.

in 1767 the English nobility were once again called upon to pay off the huge debt from the French and Indian Wars. Chancellor of the Exchequer, Charles Townshend, failed to convince Parliament to raise the Land Tax back to the levels of William and Mary. Instead Parliament voted to tax the colonists.

Those who do not learn from history are destined to repeat it.

3. The brainwashing I speak of took place from school!!!!

Read some of the contributions here and you will realise what I am saying is true.

An “elite” mixed in circles which prepared them for the long struggle ahead.

This “elite” cannot think straight and it is easy to spot them by throwing then some problems the solutions of which are based in fact.

They never got the facts straight because they were too busy being receptors for the brainwashing!!

They can only respond in a circuitous way and as they do it is just a matter of feeding them more facts and watching them perform!!

Most boys at HC were not in this “elite” and played and ran together as boys are supposed to.

Colour was not a bar.

This “elite” never really had a childhood, never played bat and ball or beach cricket.

It is fun now to drive them bananas and watch their predictable responses.

I grew up watching some of my own family being brainwashed so I grew to understand how it worked and how to mess with their heads.

Funny what you learn by watching and listening to others!!

I was a lost cause for the brainwashers, preferring to have fun, study, play cricket and walk about.

HC was perfect for me, circuitous thinking was not.

However I can think circuitously when the situation requires it, but I only do it to mess with the “elite” and for enjoyment!!

4. Georgie Porgie
    May 7, 2019 12:37 PM

re It is for the people who can seize the day and make an honest living providing opportunities for the general public. The public will follow once they see it work
    SURELY THIS IS LEADERSHIP

+++++++++++++++++++

Yes, but the problem for the “elite” is that the “elite” can’t do!!

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN
    RE
    The public will follow once they see it work

SURELY THIS IS LEADERSHIP
    Yes, but the problem for the “elite” is that the “elite” can’t do!!

REMINDS ME OF THE TIME WHEN ONE PERSON DECIDED TO SELL BARBECUED PIG TAILS ALONG THE ABC HIGHWAY

SOON THE MERCHANTS IN BRIDGETOWN WERE IMPORTING SEVERAL CONTAINERS OF PIG TAILS WEEKLY

6. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Hal Austin May 7, 2019 1:10 PM

Here are the realities of socialism and its grandmaster, Karl Marx.

Socialism has never worked anywhere.

Socialism in all its forms — Marxism-Leninism in the Soviet Union, Maoism in China, “state socialism” in India, “democratic socialism” in Sweden, National Socialism in Nazi Germany — has never come close to realizing the classless ideal of its founding father, Karl Marx. Instead, socialists have been forced to adopt a wide range of capitalist measures, including private ownership of railroads and airlines (United Kingdom), special economic zones (China), and open markets and foreign investment (Sweden).

Socialism’s failure to deliver on its promises of bread, peace, and land to the people is confirmed by the repeated, open resistance of dissidents: in Hungary in 1956, Czechoslovakia in 1968, Poland in 1980 with the formation of Solidarity, China’s Tiananmen Square in 1989, and in present-day Cuba with the resolute Ladies in White who parade every Sunday after mass to call attention to the many jailed dissidents including their husbands and sons. And what about the Devastation/Starvation and Death wreaking havoc in Socialist/Communist Venezuela

And Hal you want us to believe “that 20th century is ethical socialism, which makes the case for socialism on moral grounds.”

https://www.facebook.com/WeAreConstitutionalWatchmen/photos/a.170682626319196.44867.159188630801929/1131550200232429/?type=3&theater

7. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

The founding father of socialism is the messianic Karl Marx.

Marx was an atheist socialist who insisted that his was the only “scientific” socialism based not on wishful thinking but the inexorable laws of history. The whole of history, declared Marx and his close collaborator and friend Friedrich Engels, is the history of the class struggle between the proletariat and the bourgeoisie. The inevitable collapse of capitalism and the victory of the proletariat would end the conflict and usher in a classless society and pure socialism or communism (Marx used both terms interchangeably). He listed 10 necessary measures as steps along the way to his utopia, including a progressive income tax, the abolition of private property, free education for all, and centralization of the means of communication and transport in “the hands of the state.”

The core philosophical weakness of Marxism was the founder’s insistence that his version of Hegelian dialectic — thesis, antithesis, synthesis — was scientific and without flaw. He asserted that feudalism had been replaced by capitalism which would be replaced by socialism in an irreversible process. But it is now close to 200 years since the publication of The Communist Manifesto, and capitalism rather than socialism dominates much of the global economy. In the Heritage Foundation’s 2018 Index of Economic Freedom, 102 countries, many of them less developed or emerging economies, showed advances in economic growth and individual prosperity. Economic freedom improved globally for the sixth year in a row.

https://pics.me.me/karl-marx-ludwig-von-mises-advocated-dictatorship-of-he-escaped-2734231.png

8. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Contrary to Marx, feudalism broke down, not because of economic contradictions, but because of the new trade routes which helped England and other countries move from a land-based to a money-based economy. Capitalism did not emerge naturally as the antithesis of feudalism but through a series of events including the emergence of the Puritan ethic, inventions like the cotton gin, the individualism of the Enlightenment, and the emergence of classical liberalism in the writings of thinkers like Adam Smith and John Stuart Mill.

Nor did Marx anticipate that workers would become increasingly affluent, independent, and even bourgeois. He did not foresee that capitalists would address problems such as unemployment and inflation, monopolies, Social Security and health care, and the proper balance of private and public control over the means of production.

Furthermore, the working class has not fallen into greater and greater misery. The industrial nations have seen a dramatic rise in the standard of living of the average worker. The middle class has not disappeared but expanded. As the esteemed economist Paul Samuelson wrote: “As a prophet Marx was colossally unlucky and his system colossally useless.”

https://www.azquotes.com/picture-quotes/quote-the-capitalist-system-was-termed-capitalism-not-by-a-friend-of-the-system-but-by-an-ludwig-von-mises-137-97-94.jp

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“HC was perfect for me…”
    ++++++++++++
    I agree with you completely 😉
    For you, it has incubated what you have become most effectively.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

“HC was perfect for me…also” ENJOYED IT

11. If capitalists would only pay workers what they are worth we wouldn’t be having this discussion.

Who determines what a worker is worth?

If the capitalist is paying the wages should he/she not make that determination?

If the worker is not happy there is always the option of moving on.

If you buy a product or service, what you pay is determined by what you think the product or service is worth.

Why should it be any difference for a capitalist?

12. For you, it has incubated what you have become most effectively.

I had been incubated and hatched 10 years before I went to HC!!

13. John

The labour unions do because if we depend on government we would starve to death …

14. Lexicon
    May 7, 2019 10:27 PM

John
    The labour unions do because if we depend on government we would starve to death

Does the Union pay the worker what it determines the worker is worth?

… of course not …. not even in your dreams!!

You too seem to have been brainwashed and can’t deal with the simple facts of life!!

15. John
    May 7, 2019 10:10 PM

For you, it has incubated what you have become most effectively.
    I had been incubated and hatched 10 years before I went to HC!!

When I arrived at HC I was a work in progress.

I still am!!

God isn’t finished with me yet!

16. Morning prayers at HC, Hymns A&M, Billy Bones on the piano … I enjoyed every one.

I can’t say I understood the words of this one at the time but somehow this morning they are back in my mind and I understand them now.

Through all the changing scenes of life, life is a work in progress.

17. Who determines what a worker is worth?

Like any commodity in a capitalist economy, the value of a worker’s labour power is determined by the amount and complexity of the human work that has been necessary for its production. This is why, in normal market conditions, a car is more valuable than a saltbread and you would have to pay more for an hour’s work from a surgeon than from an unskilled labourer. However, unlike other commodities, human labour power has the unique characteristic that as it is consumed it produces new wealth. Therefore at the end of an 8 hour shift in a cement factory, the capitalist who has paid for and used up 8 hours of the workers’ labour time, is left with hundreds of bags of cement which did not exist when the shift started.

The question that arises is who should own this new wealth. Should it be owned by the workers whose labour has produced it or by the capitalist who bought the raw materials and machines? Obviously, without the workers’ labour, the machiines and raw material would simply rot and be of no use to anyone. It is this new wealth, created by the workers’ labour, that is the source of the workers’ wages and salaries, the capitalist’s profits, the government’s revenue and the interest paid to the moneylenders. Looking at it from this angle, it’s clear that it is the workers who pay the capiitalist and not the other way round. In fact, the capital that the capitalist uses to set up the enterprise in the first place is nothing other than wealth created by previous generations of workers and seized by the capitalist as his or her private property, or inherited from their foreparents who seized it.

18. @Tee White

Is there a logic to the perspective you have articulated? When the deed is done it is more about the philosophical.

19. Tee White

from my experience the worth of a worker or ‘the value of a worker’s labour power’ is whatever the market is willing to pay. for example a farmer who produces food without which humans couldn’t survive is paid less than a tennis player who actually produces nothing but entertainment.

the latter part of your submission is well worth the read.

re- capitalism – i dont understand why a human would want to be worth $1bil. how does that help mankind? personally speaking i am divesting myself of money and property that by the time i reach 70 if i stay on this earth that long i would be worth what i was worth at birth

20. We toss about economic jargon about what market is willing to pay. We operate in an imperfect market where interventions by players seek to manipulate/influence.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@JOHN
    RE Morning prayers at HC, Hymns A&M, Billy Bones on the piano … I enjoyed every one.
    I can’t say I understood the words of this one at the time but somehow this morning they are back in my mind and I understand them now.

LIKE YOU, I ENJOYED PRAYERS AT SCHOOL AT HC, BFS (WE HAD EVENING PRAYERS THERE ON FRIDAY EVENINGS) AND AT PRIMARY SCHOOL

LIKE YOU, OVER THE YEARS AS I HAVE UNDERSTOOD THE BIBLE MORE, I HAVE GOT TO APPRECIATE THE LYRICS OF THE HYMNS WE HAD TO MEMORIZE AT PRIMARY SCHOOL, AND THOSE WE SANG AT HC AND BFS

A FEW YEARS AGO I TAUGHT ON THE LAST HALF OF JAMES 5, AND Through all the changing scenes of life,WAS A MOST APPROPRIATE CLOSING HYMN.

22. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Tee White May 8, 2019 7:59 AM ….RE “The question that arises is who should own this new wealth. Should it be owned by the workers whose labour has produced it or by the capitalist who bought the raw materials and machines?”…

Tee White …TRUE MARXIST COLOURS BLAZING

INVENTIONS ARE THE BRAIN CHILD OF THE INDIVIDUAL!!!

Russian born novelist’s, Ayn Rand’s, intellectual assault against the Marxists of her day who diminish the worth of Individual Freedom, she argues in character: “But you say that [wealth] is made by the strong at the expense of the weak? What strength do you mean? It is not the strength of guns or muscles. Wealth is the product of man’s capacity to think. Then is [wealth] made by the man who invents a motor at the expense of those who did not invent it? Is [wealth] made by the intelligent at the expense of the fools? By the able at the expense of the incompetent? By the ambitious at the expense of the lazy? [Wealth] is made — before it can be looted or mooched — by the effort of every honest man, each to the extent of his ability. An honest man is one who knows that he can’t consume more than he has produced.”

In other words, wealth comes at nobody’s expense but the inventor, the free thinker, the one actually taking the risk and making the sacrifice. It never costs anything to anybody else. There is no expense incurred to those who sit by the side-lines. Therefore, it cannot ever be considered ‘theft” from others who were never involved nor invested in the very process. It costs others nothing!

When your own Eyes can show you that 7 Billion People are being Fed better than ever before, that is because India has Embraced More Free Market Principles and China whenever the push to implement more Free Market Principles their Economy Booms. When the try to Control it as in the Past their Economy Falters and for the US within one and a half years of Trying more Free Enterprise instead of the Throttle Hole the Previous Administration had on the Economy we See the American Economy beginning to ROAR!

And they want to PROMOTE the Ideology of Communism/Marxism/Socialism as Something Good?

Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of Facebook?

Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of Apple?

Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of the Cell Phone?

Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of the Anything you see out there including the Theory of Relativity?

https://quotefancy.com/media/wallpaper/3840×2160/135635-Ayn-Rand-Quote-Wealth-is-the-product-of-man-s-capacity-to-think.jpg

23. David

quote-
    We toss about economic jargon about what market is willing to pay. We operate in an imperfect market where interventions by players seek to manipulate/influence.

man, with seemingly good intent you have a way of cobbling together words with meaningless result

24. It’s very positive to think about how to develop the discussion on the country’s current situation and possible ways forward. In my opinion, our generation are at a historical juncture, similar to the one that the generation of the 1920s and 30s faced. At that time, the old arrrangements from the end of the apprenticeship period were no longer viable and they committed themselves to bringing about change in a way that their children’s lives would be better than theirs were. To a large extent, that generation has now joined the ranks of the ancestors but in the main, even taking into account their mistakes and failings, they pretty much achieved their central goal. If we face our current situation, with the same goal, this might at least orientate us as to the direction to take.

In working out this direction in a more detailed way, it seems to me we will need to do a number of things. First, we will need to extend the discussion so that it involves the mass of Bajans from all walks of life in a way that empowers them with a clear understanding of our current reality and confidence in our ability to change it for the better. This will require demystifying the discussion of the economy, politics and culture so that anyone can understand what is being discussed and take part in an informed way.

We will need to develop a new culture of discussing which is not rooted in the old Eurocentric adversarial concepts of proving who is right or who is wrong or who is smart or who isn’t. The old sectarian BLP/DLP divide will be of no use to us. Instead we will need a more Afrocentric approach to discussing in which the aim is to arrive at common understandings of problems and possible solutions to them through rational and respectful discussion. You might call this an ‘each one teach one’ approach.

Finally, we should encourage an approach that starts with investigating a thing in a thorough way before forming an opinion on it. We should become the best informed about every aspect of Barbados, so that our discussion of the problems can be well grounded and our proposed solutions realistic.

25. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Tee White May 8, 2019 9:06 AM

The only thing he said that was specific was ” Instead we will need a more Afrocentric approach to discussing in which the aim is to arrive at common understandings of problems and possible solutions to them through rational and respectful discussion. You might call this an ‘each one teach one’ approach.”

In other words Tee White has No Vision for Barbados he only has a whole lot of Words…

He has very skillfully turned the discussion towards Race.

True Ideas and True Principles does not have a Colour. He is skillfully saying the only ideas that should be listened to must be those of an Afro man. I suppose that that excludes the PM & Stuarity. So tell us who are these Afrocentric people we should listen to? Is it you?

Tell us the Philosophy of this Afrocentric doctrine because you have rejected our present Afrocentric Politics.

Are you going to come with the Carl Marx philosophy to us again but put on the black garb on it and call it Afrocentric?

Portrait of Karl Marx…

https://www.heritage.org/sites/default/files/styles/commentary_header_image_1280_945x520/public/images/2018-12/hiphotos185557.jpg?h=7e225222&itok=mWiD1SpV

26. Like any commodity in a capitalist economy, the value of a worker’s labour power is determined by the amount and complexity of the human work that has been necessary for its production.

Absolute rubbish!!

A diamond in the desert is worthless, but a pint of water will sell for any price!!

Paradox of value … look it up!!

In a free market what anything is worth is what people will pay for it!!

27. @John

In a free market what anything is worth is what people will pay for it!!(Quote)

Brilliant. I am sure you have been a Barbados Scholar who sat in sixth form at the ‘best ‘ school in the nation. Why is it so difficult to get this over to the finance experts on BU?

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Q Why is it so difficult to get this over to the finance experts on BU?

A PERHAPS IT IS BECAUSE the finance experts on BU HAVE NOT been a Barbados Scholar who sat in sixth form at the ‘best ‘ school in the nation.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Tee White at 7 :59 am and 9 :06 AM

Two excellent insights into:

the proper valuation of the contributions of the factors, labour and capital, in the production process and

a meaningful intellectual approach to understanding the social and economic tasks confronting us.

I hope you continue in this vein.

@ John

A beautiful selection of the Hymn. We are all works in progress. Changes will never cease. We must change to keep in step.

No point lingering in the past

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster interesting interjections above… in particular “When the deed is done it is more about the philosophical”.

@White writes smoothly on the economic theory but as life intrudes the vagaries bring a quite alternative perspective.

You also noted that “[w]e operate in an imperfect market where interventions by players seek to manipulate/influence” and @Greene made the remark about product and compared a farmer’s integral labour producing a necessity and the tennis player offering entertainment. …but as noted last eve it’s never that facile a comparison.

The farmer’s input is the first step (basically) of that chain of wealth creation/services rendered…whereas the player’s services before that stadium crowd is way along the ‘food’ chain: marketers, stadia owners, TV sponsorship etc etc.

Yes the food has a greater value to our well being but based on what HAS to develop to move that produce from farm to kitchen one cannot simply compare the two easily…goes directly to ur other point of manipulate/interference along the wealth creation process.

@John yesterday u said that u learned how to be circutious and undoubtedly that’s ur attempt with the blase standard text book trope of “if the worker is not happy there is always the option of moving on” and “If you buy a product or service, what you pay is determined by what you think the product or service is worth. SMH!

Uber drivers supposedly went on stike today in US..maybe a totally alien concept to locals but it fits as perfectly as any to this debate of wealth creation.

Don’t have time to prolix but work it through: UBER totally disrupts/cannibalizes the independent/self owned taxi industry; fights the independent contractor/employee designation while treating workers as employees; now about to offer an IPO the ultimate in consumer/price paid determination and all for an operation ‘losing’ money hand over fist since startup.

Your standard line above is amusing and so simplistic!

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TW
    “Obviously, without the workers’ labour, the machiines and raw material would simply rot and be of no use to anyone.”
    Without knowing, you have answered why in many modern cement factories, so much has been automated. The human is just there to oversee the various automation and robotic devices, and to press STOP if things get beyond an AI fix.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE “if the worker is not happy there is always the option of moving on” and “If you buy a product or service, what you pay is determined by what you think the product or service is worth.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

SOUND DOCTRINE TENDS TO BE SIMPLISTIC

SMART PERSONS TEND TO MAKE THINGS SIMPLE

WHAT IS AMUSING AND SIMPLISTIC IS WHEN DUMMIES TRY TO ATTACK THE SCHOLARS

33. A few unpalatable facts that might help in the understanding of the value of the worker.

In 1848, the number of steam plants in BIM was one!!

Milling capacity was capped by the number of mill walls which had existed since before 1700.

Some had been increased in height to increase the amount of energy taken from the wind.

Some had changed from vertical to horizontal mills to increase throughput.

Steam was a quantum leap beyond these upgrades.

However, the population of Barbados was doubling rapidly.

Output was stagnant.

After slavery and until steam was introduced on a large scale from the 1850’s onwards, Barbados had probably 4 times the labor it needed to produce a ton of cane.

Wages for labour after slavery could only have been low … fact, proven by history.

Pressure to emigrate could only have been high … fact proven by history.

The pressure to increase output and provide jobs was high … fact proven by rising outputs of sugar after 1848.

The free choice for labour was stay and receive a pittance or leave and look elsewhere.

For the owners of the capital, the Government of the day, it was increase output and wages and avoid unrest.

But at the time Barbados did not exist on its own in a vacuum,

The Colonial Office called the shots.

Barbados was part of the British Empire which had at its disposal, India, British Guyana and Trinidad to name some of its possessions prior to 1948.

Conclusion …. for sure Barbados was subsidized.

That’s why Federation was pushed as the UK sought to divest itself of its colonies, India in 1948.

Federation was the logical answer to the real economic issues at the time,

However it was not to be.

34. Perhaps this to far a leap but it seems to have been that the Colonial Office kept the consolidated fund contributed to by all of Britain’s colonies!!

It then spent monies where it felt monies were to be spent.

35. The difference between value and price
    There appears to be some confusion on the relationship between value and price. These are not the same thing. The value of any commodity is the amount of human labour that is required for its production, given the prevailing technology of production.

Price is the monetary expression of the commodity’s value in the market as regulated by supply and demand. Therefore, it is perfectly possible for a commodity to be sold either above or below its value depending on supply and demand.

To say that “In a free market what anything is worth is what people will pay for it!!” actually sheds zero light on either value or price. If a value of a thing is simply determined by what people would pay for it, how can you explain why people consistently pay more for a house than for a bicycle or more for an aeroplane than for a saltbread? If the price of a commodity is simply a reflection of personal choice, why is it that in the real world where people buy and sell goods and services, commodities which require a similar amount of human labour for their production are offered at roughly similar prices? Everyone is keenly aware of this. If someone offered you a brand new car for $5, you would immediately be suspicious because you know that such a price tag is way below the car’s value. Even if a car dealer couldn’t get his stock shifted at his initial asking price, because people weren’t willing to pay it, there is a limit below which he would not go. He would rather stop selling cars than lower the price too low below the car’s value.

Clearly what people pay for a commodity is primarily socially determined and not a matter of personal choice. No matter how scarce flying fish might be, you have never been asked to pay the same for one as you would be asked to pay for a car. This is because the production of the car requires a lot more human labour than catching, cleaning and boning a flying fish.

36. @ John May 8, 2019 12:31 PM
    “Conclusion …. for sure Barbados was subsidized.”

What is your evidence for reaching such a “conclusion”?

Who subsidized Little England before she became Independent Barbados and from what resources?

Certainly not her mother country Big England?

Was Barbados ever a grant-in-aid colony sucking on the sore financial and administrative nipples of those mandarins in Whitehall?

37. @Greene

Do you understand what is meant by an imperfect market in economic terms?

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

an imperfect market in economic terms IS one that is NOT perfect! lol

39. @ Greene,

Well observed.

40. #bullocks #buffoon

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier
    “Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of the Anything…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    The irony of your question is absolutely profound as you write it on open source WordPress blogging software invented by a community. WordPress is runs using PHP and MySQL, both open source technologies invented by communities. It all runs on the HTTP protocol invented by a committee. All of it on the internet which was invented by a committee and a government committee no less.

All of this would be funny if your ignorance was not so sad.

42. Was Barbados ever a grant-in-aid colony sucking on the sore financial and administrative nipples of those mandarins in Whitehall?

Ever heard of Lome Convention?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lomé_Convention

43. The difference between value and price
    There appears to be some confusion on the relationship between value and price. These are not the same thing. The value of any commodity is the amount of human labour that is required for its production, given the prevailing technology of production.
    Price is the monetary expression of the commodity’s value in the market as regulated by supply and demand. Therefore, it is perfectly possible for a commodity to be sold either above or below its value depending on supply and demand.

Perfect example of someone who has been brainwashed and is incapable of assimilating simple facts!!

Price is what the customer is asked to pay for the product or service.

Value is what the customer thinks the product or service is worth.

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp&ei=nzLTXMnaJMLv5gKhqpqYDg&q=price+vs+value&btnK=Google+Search&oq=price+vs+value&gs_l=psy-ab.3..0l9j0i22i30.2424.17208..17379…13.0..0.167.3156.10j18……0….1..gws-wiz…..0..0i131j0i10.g_M1hCS0GRk

44. Here are some of the colonists who went to Berbice, Essequibo and Demerara

https://www.vc.id.au/tb/bgcolonistsA.html

Here are some Austins, some from Barbados

AUSTIN, Alan Murray
    Born: 1883, Georgetown
    Died: 15 OCT 1914, at sea

AUSTIN, Ann
    Born: 1 MAR 1793, Barbados
    Married SANDERS, George M.D.: 28 JAN 1815, Banns of Marriage
    Died: 8 JUN 1826, Pln. Haslington EC

AUSTIN, Anna Maria
    Born: 7 MAY 1802, Bridgetown, BARBADOS
    Married AUSTIN, William Rev.: 24 MAY 1823, Bridgetown, BARBADOS
    Died: 4 AUG 1836, Lennoxville QUEBEC

AUSTIN, Anna Maria
    Born: ABT 1831
    Died: 7 DEC 1907, Duffryn Mission, Airy Hall, Essequebo

AUSTIN, Arthur Hyndman Piercy
    Born: 13 MAY 1878, Reading BRK
    Died: 4 AUG 1916, The Somme

AUSTIN, Catherine Letitia
    Married THOMPSON, William Clement

AUSTIN, Charles Piercy
    Born: 22 MAR 1839, Pln. Land of Plenty
    Died: 19 APR 1892, Georgetown BG

AUSTIN, Charles Thomas Piercy
    Born: 26 MAR 1864, Kingston House
    Died: 8 NOV 1878

AUSTIN, Charles Wilday
    Born: 9 JAN 1837, Kingston House
    Died: 1 DEC 1862, East Point, Hong Kong

AUSTIN, Christopher Edward Lefroy
    Born: 2 MAR 1841, Surinam, Dutch Guiana
    Married ASHBEE, Emily Jane: 25 JUN 1867, Gloucestershire UK
    Died: 30 NOV 1931, Bournemouth DOR

AUSTIN, Daughter
    Married SWEETMAN, A.J.

AUSTIN, Daughter
    Born: 22 MAR 1819, Pln. Land of Plenty

AUSTIN, Daughter
    Born: 3 APR 1841

AUSTIN, Daughter
    Born: 7 JUN 1876, Georgetown

AUSTIN, Daughter
    Born: 5 SEP 1874

AUSTIN, Edith Murray
    Born: 1874, Berbice
    Died: AFT 1891

AUSTIN, Edward
    Born: 1779
    Married SKEETE, Anna Maria: 31 JUL 1801, Saint James, Barbadoes
    Married PIERCY, Mary Pauline: 18 MAY 1811, Banns of Matrimony
    Married MILLER, Maria
    Died: 25 JUN 1825, Georgetown

AUSTIN, Edward
    Born: ABT 1875

AUSTIN, Eliza Arabella
    Born: ABT 1837
    Married GORE, Augustus Frederick C.M.G.: The Cathedral, Parish of St. George
    Died: 24 JAN 1884, Barbadoes

AUSTIN, Eliza P.
    Born: ABT 1811, British Guiana
    Died: AFT 1871

AUSTIN, Ellen Lockhart Piercy
    Born: 20 AUG 1865, Kingston House
    Died: 7 JUL 1938, Reading BRK

AUSTIN, Emily L.
    Born: ABT 1870, Demerara
    Died: 30 SEP 1894

AUSTIN, Eustace
    Born: ABT 1864, Berbice
    Died: AFT 1881

AUSTIN, Fanny Louisa
    Born: ABT 1847, Essequebo

AUSTIN, Frances
    Died: 7 SEP 1841

AUSTIN, Francis Murray
    Born: 1881, Berbice
    Died: 19 JUN 1953, Marylebone LND

AUSTIN, Frederick Coleridge Moore
    Born: 29 OCT 1850, Cheltenham GLS
    Died: 24 MAR 1851, Cheltenham GLS

AUSTIN, Henrietta Maria ‘Jane’
    Born: 21 DEC 1829, St. John’s, Essequebo
    Married FREEMAN, Rev. John
    Died: 27 JAN 1892, London

AUSTIN, Henry
    Married TAYLOR, Patricia: 29 SEP 1814

AUSTIN, Henry
    Born: Barbados
    Married SISNETT, Charlotte Ann: 16 JUN 1810, Rio Demerary
    Married THOMAS, Charlotte Whitaker

AUSTIN, Hugh William
    Born: 1757, Barbados
    Died: 1 FEB 1802, Bristol SOM

AUSTIN, James Dear
    Born: 9 OCT 1795, Barbados
    Married PIERCE, Elizabeth Mary, widow of –
    Died: 1831

AUSTIN, Jane Mary
    Born: ABT 1847, Berbice
    Married CHIPPINGDALE, Josiah: 20 MAR 1871, St. Philip’s, Dalston

AUSTIN, John
    Married WHITFOOT, Letitia
    Married READING, Mary: 4 OCT 1806, Betrothal
    AUSTIN, John Bird Sumner

AUSTIN, John Gardiner Jnr. C.M.G.
    Born: 19 JUL 1838, Pln. Friendship, East Coast
    Died: 1902

AUSTIN, John Gardiner Snr. Esq. J.P.;
    Born: 7 AUG 1812, Lowlands Pln.
    Married WILDAY, Emma: 17 MAR 1836, St. George’s
    Married GOODHART, Mary Christiana: 5 APR 1886, Church of the Servite Fathers
    Died: 25 JUL 1900, Hove SSX

AUSTIN, John William
    Born: 26 JAN 1822

AUSTIN, Joseph Gibson
    Born: 12 MAR 1802, Barbados
    Married PIERCE, William Edward Esq: 17 FEB 1827, Banns of Matrimony
    Died: ABT 1844

AUSTIN, Josephine Gibson
    Born: ABT 1842
    Married BOSCH REITZ, Guillaume Jacques Abraham ‘Willem’: 1858, Georgetown
    Died: ABT 1917

AUSTIN, Lancelot St. George Piercy
    Born: 30 APR 1871, Kingston House
    Died: 9 JUN 1938, Melbourne VIC Australia

AUSTIN, Mary Annette Piercy
    Born: ABT 1862, British Guiana
    Married MILNE, Alexander
    Died: 17 DEC 1936, Reading SRY

AUSTIN, Mary Ewing
    Born: 4 APR 1788, Barbados
    Married LUGAR, James A.M.: 29 JUL 1825, Banns of Matrimony
    Died: 1851

AUSTIN, Mary Isabella
    Married HARRAGIN, William Campbell: 8 JUL 1880, All Saints’ Church, Berbice

AUSTIN, Mary Jane
    Born: 15 SEP 1802, Barbados
    Married TUCKNISS, Benjamin Fuller: 22 JAN 1822, Banns of Matrimony
    Died: 1883, Steyning SSX

AUSTIN, Mehetabel Wickham
    Born: 1 APR 1841, London
    Married BOOKER, Josias Jnr.: 26 APR 1862, Georgetown
    Died: 2 MAY 1867, Liverpool LAN

AUSTIN, Mehetable P.
    Born: 29 FEB 1840, Kingston

AUSTIN, Melicent Ann
    Born: 5 MAY 1840, Pln. Blenheim
    Married FARRAR, Rev. Thomas B.D.: 13 AUG 1857, St. Philip’s Church
    Died: 16 SEP 1925

AUSTIN, Preston Bruce
    Married GRIFFITH, Anna Eliza: 9 DEC 1854, Cathedral, Barbados

AUSTIN, Ralph H. Piercy
    Born: 1 NOV 1869, Kingston House
    Died: 1 OCT 1926, California USA

AUSTIN, Rev. Edward
    Born: 21 JUL 1823, Essequebo

AUSTIN, Rev. Francis Webster
    Born: 4 FEB 1829, Clapham SRY
    Married PIERCE, Josephine Austin: 2 NOV 1858, Cathedral, Georgetown
    Married MURRAY, Jane
    Died: 1 OCT 1905, Abingdon

AUSTIN, Richard
    Born: ABT 1770
    Married STANTON, Sarah
    Married WENTWORTH, Mary Jane
    Married POPPELMAN, Widow
    Died: ABT 1851, Pln. Catharina Sophia, Suriname

AUSTIN, Richard Arthur Hugh
    Born: 24 NOV 1881, Essequebo
    Died: AFT 1901

AUSTIN, Richard Barker
    Born: 4 MAR 1801, Barbados
    Married INNISS, Melicent: 22 SEP 1836, St Peter’s, Leguan, Essequibo
    Died: 19 NOV 1858, Kleinhoop, Surinam

AUSTIN, Rosamira Murray ‘Myra’
    Born: 1877, Berbice

AUSTIN, Samuel Innis
    Born: 17 MAY 1845, Pln. Bathsheba’s Lust
    Married VENESS, Alice Elizabeth (Elfie): 3 JUN 1880, Pro-Cathedral of BG
    Died: 4 SEP 1888, Pln. Marionville, Wakenaam

AUSTIN, Sarah
    Married DAVIS, Gifford Long: 18 FEB 1804, Banns of Marriage

AUSTIN, Sarah
    Born: ABT 1801, Barbados
    Married BEETE, Joseph Jnr. II: 10 JUN 1815, Banns of Marriage
    Married BEAN, Charles Snr. J.P.: 1836
    Died: 18 MAY 1853, Bedminster SOM

AUSTIN, Sarah
    Born: 8 JUN 1794

AUSTIN, Sarah Elizabeth
    Born: 23 OCT 1825, Essequebo BG
    Died: 12 JUN 1894, Barton Regis GLS

AUSTIN, Sarah Pierce
    Born: 13 JUL 1837, Pln. Blenheim
    Married GORDON, John Sutherland: ABT 1866
    Died: 27 AUG 1872, Pln. Greenfield

AUSTIN, Sarah S.
    Born: ABT 1817, Demerara
    Died: AFT 1861

AUSTIN, Son
    Born: 20 MAR 1872, Georgetown

AUSTIN, Stella Evelyn Piercy
    Born: 13 MAY 1878, Reading BRK
    Died: 3 OCT 1952, Reading BRK

AUSTIN, Thomas
    Born: 1808, Barbados
    Married REED, Elvira: 18 FEB 1836, St. George’s Church
    Died: ABT 1882, Connecticut

AUSTIN, Thomas
    Born: ABT 1866, British Guiana

AUSTIN, Thomas Robertson Esq.,
    Married LEATHER, Harriet Mary Ann: 13 SEP 1845, St. Stephen’s
    Died: BEF 1869

AUSTIN, Wallis M.
    Born: ABT 1879, Berbice

AUSTIN, Walter Murray
    Born: ABT 1880

AUSTIN, Wentworth Murray
    Born: ABT 1880, Berbice BG
    Died: 1954, Honiton DEV

AUSTIN, William
    Married BAGOT, Sidney Amelia: 27 NOV 1862, Christ Church
    Died: BEF 1889

AUSTIN, William
    Born: 28 FEB 1759, Barbados
    Married PIERCY, Mehetable: 26 FEB 1807, Bath SOM
    Died: 3 NOV 1819, Pln. Land of Plenty, Essequebo

AUSTIN, William
    Born: ABT 1885, British Guiana

AUSTIN, William Campbell
    Born: 1846, Demerara
    Died: AFT 1900

AUSTIN, William Edward Piercy
    Born: 5 NOV 1860, Georgetown
    Married PEERMAN, Mary Harriet: 8 JAN 1889, St. Paul’s, Geelong VIC
    Died: 25 JUL 1930, Melbourne VIC Australia

AUSTIN, William George Gardiner M.A.
    Born: 15 APR 1835, Bath SOM
    Married SMYTH, Mary Emily Gray: 27 DEC 1859, Hampton Court Chapel
    Died: 27 OCT 1904

AUSTIN, William Jnr.
    Married QUESTEL, Betsey: 11 MAR 1841

AUSTIN, William Piercy
    Born: 7 NOV 1807, Stone STS
    Married HENDERSON, Eliza Piercy: 21 FEB 1831, St. John’ s, Greenock SCT
    Died: 9 NOV 1892, Georgetown, Demerara

AUSTIN, William Rev.
    Born: 27 AUG 1799, London
    Married AUSTIN, Anna Maria: 24 MAY 1823, Bridgetown, BARBADOS
    Married DAY, Ann: 25 JUL 1837, St. John’s Church
    Died: 17 MAY 1884, St. John’s Rectory

AUSTIN, William Thomas
    Born: 4 AUG 1868, Demerara
    Died: 5 MAY 1952

AUSTIN, Wiltshire Stanton
    Born: 1793, Barbados
    Married WEBSTER, Dunkin: 1824, St. George’s Church
    Died: 26 JAN 1857, Rectory House, Great Bentley

AUSTINE, Alexander
    Died: 2 SEP 1844, Pln. Prospect

AUSTINE, James
    Died: 2 AUG 1839, Windsor Forest, Demerara

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

OMG John… you googled price vs value… you risk the wrath of Hal.

If, however you scroll down a bit in the page you will discover that there are several competing theories of value: labour theory of value, subjective theory of value, exchange theory of value, monetary theory of value, power theory of value, etc.

So your simplistic dismissive attitude is rather off base.

46. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

• peterlawrencethompson May 8, 2019 3:44 PM
    @Freedom Crier …
    “Which Community or Committee was the Inventor of the Anything…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    RE…”The irony of your question is absolutely profound as you write it on open source WordPress blogging software invented by a community. WordPress is runs using PHP and MySQL, both open source technologies invented by communities. It all runs on the HTTP protocol invented by a committee. All of it on the internet which was invented by a committee and a government committee no less.”

PLT YOU SPEAK AS IF YOU KNOW BUT YOU DO NOT KNOW, ALL THE COMPANIES THAT YOU HAVE MENTIONED STARTED BY ONE MAN IDEAS AND THEN OTHER PEOPLE GOT INVOLVED AFTER THAT IDEA WAS FORMULATED, INCLUDING THE INTERNET AND THAT IS PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE.

PLT YOU WANT A GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE TO RULE OVER MAN THAT IS YOUR BIG PROBLEM. YOU SPEAK OUT OF BOTH SIDES OF YOUR MOUTH…YOU ARE A MAN WHO DOES NOT BELIEVE IN INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS YET YOU PROFESS TO TEACH OTHERS ABOUT ENTREPRENEURSHIP!

THE Politburo or (political bureau is the executive committee for communist parties.) THE ONLY THING EVER INVENTED WAS HARDSHIP, TYRANNY AND FORCE… the Politburo remained a self-perpetuating body whose decisions de facto had the force of law.
    PLT THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT TO FOSTER THAT ON US…

Both Systems boiled down to very Simple Principles… Conservatives (Free Market Capitalist) `believed in the Right and power of an Individual to be an individual and that he may get together with other light minds people to form Societies/Governments for their own Protection, such as Security.

While Socialist/Communist Believe that a few people with “Ideas” should be able to control all of the people and tell them what to do, how to behave and how to think under some type of penalty Usurping the rights of individuals for their own Gain and Power with themselves as the leaders.

It further boils down to Freedom for the Individual and by the Individual versus Collectivism that Breeds Tyranny and the Individual does not matter they only exist to serve the State. There is no Virtue or Guarantee of Existence for them.

We are Always left to Choose…Freedom for Everyone or Servitude by Collectivism…

PLT YOUR CHARACTERISTICS/MOTIVES ARE QUITE OBVIOUS TO THOSE WHO CANNOT BE FOOLED BY YOU INCLUDING HAL.

https://thefederalistpapers.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/imageedit_827_2225403584.jpg

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier
    “ALL THE COMPANIES THAT YOU HAVE MENTIONED STARTED BY ONE MAN IDEAS AND THEN OTHER PEOPLE GOT INVOLVED AFTER THAT IDEA WAS FORMULATED”
    +++++++++
    Completely wrong… you don’t have a clue what you are talking about. Do your research.

48. peterlawrencethompson
    May 8, 2019 5:04 PM

OMG John… you googled price vs value… you risk the wrath of Hal.
    If, however you scroll down a bit in the page you will discover that there are several competing theories of value: labour theory of value, subjective theory of value, exchange theory of value, monetary theory of value, power theory of value, etc.
    So your simplistic dismissive attitude is rather off base.

The cost of labour determines the minimum base price at which the product can be sold.

Once the base price is greater than that cost, :value” if you like, the product will make a profit.

However, the selling price is determined by what the market will pay.

If no one wants the product, the value of labour is precisely zero!!

If profit is not an issue, and it usually is, then anything goes.

49. Take Venezuela,

The Government employs the citizens in their thousands and the cost of production rises.

Able or not, a job is provided.

So long as the oil price is high then things work.

As soon as the oil price falls (determined by what the market will pay) things fall apart.

Other bills besides labour can’t be paid.

No spare parts

Things fall apart.