Responding to the vote, European Council President Donald Tusk tweeted: “In view of the rejection of the Withdrawal Agreement by the House of Commons, I have decided to call a European Council on 10 April – Brexit: MPs reject May’s EU withdrawal agreement

Some of us have been observing an amazing event playing out in the United Kingdom triggered by the June 23, 2016 Brexit referendum. The result of the vote was the UK people voted to leave the European Union 53% to 47%.

Post Brexit one can accurately state that the British government has become consumed with the Brexit issue to the extent it has been largely ineffective implementing other policies to move the country forward.

Through the eyes of a blogmaster domiciled in a former colony, it forces one to reflect on what the post Brexit chaos portends for Barbados. The Westminster system is one we attempt to model and as it stands our working committees of parliament are continually being exposed to be ineffective – the Public Accounts Committee, Committee of Privileges to name two.

What conclusion can we make in light of what we know? Are citizens of Barbados in a position to observe what is playing out in the ‘mother country’ to stridently demand changes to the governance system?

What do we have: Theresa May’s Brexit plan rejected for the umpteenth time. 344 votes to 286. Before the labourites start to crow, Jeremy Corbyn’s plan has not gained traction either. A right old mess in old Blighty.

While the focus is on if the UK government will be able to do a houdini to save an orderly Brexit. The blogmaster is reminded to ask what triggered the leave campaign? The answer to this question exposes a dormant concern of citizens everywhere.

107 responses to “Brexit, Bullocks!”

1. What triggered the leave campaign? Fantasy!

2. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

they often say the grass is greener on the the other side; but the other side may along side the septic tank? The BREXIT was an emotive rouse placed on average the UK citizen where the majority brought into a solution without really researching or caring tto research all the pros and cons.
    Sometimes you dont get what you pay for and some times you get way more than you pay for. The UK brexiters may be gotten way more than the bargained for.

3. Q Are citizens of Barbados in a position to observe what is playing out in the ‘mother country’
    A NO. citizens of Barbados and others dont understand that as the “toes of Daniel”s image, the EU IS A WEAK CONGLOMERATION, WHOSE END IS IMMINENT.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The UK referendum result was 52% leave, 48% remain. This was because stupid xenophobic old people voted to leave, and stupid young people neglected to vote because they didn’t believe their elders would be THAT stupid. The overall turnout was 72%, but much lower among young people. Those over 65 voted 67% in favour of leaving while 70% of young voters wanted to remain.

In the three years since the vote a large number of those older voters have died of natural causes (about 1.8 million) and many new young voters have come of age (about 2.1 million). This means that even if nobody changed their mind, the results of a referendum held today would almost certainly produce the opposite outcome.

This does not take into account that the leave campaign won by being massively fraudulent. The promised things like the National Health Service would get hundreds of millions of pounds each week. It does not take into account the massive clusterf**k that Brexit has proven to be in real life.

As a British citizen I am angered and appalled by the sheer incompetence of the British government and parliament. As a Bajan citizen I simply point and sneer… there is definitely schadenfreude in pointing to Britain as a failed state.

5. @Peter

Where does the UK go from here given their predicament?

The parliament is deadlocked.

Another referendum?

Go to a general election?

Should a lame duck prime minster or one not tested at the polls be leading the effort?

It is a democracy after all.

Should the people decide?

Oh Britannica!

6. If Barbados and the wider Caribbean are not watching the downsides of these ‘entanglements’ with consternation then we’re all sleepwalking

The decadence of the Westminster system as defined by a feckless Theresa May and a government shown to be so out-of-its-depth should encourage us all to reassesses any notions of British high standards or lack thereof as a measurement for ourselves, like we are doing in mimicking the EU for our CARICOM

Our project for regional integration, as given a recent push by the Mottley regime, ‘may’ indeed be similarly plagued, if it has not been historically. ‘One from ten leaves naught,’ do we hear?

More troubling is the extreme cruelty of those in Brussels, primarily the Germans and the French, to make it as difficult as possible for the UK to leave and in so doing provide a good example for others who maybe thinking likewise.

Where is Sir William Skinner on these issues?

7. We would have witnessed how effortlessly President Trump was able to carve the ‘unity’ Caricom is suppose to represent when he invited a couple PMs from the community to his private residence in Florida.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David March 30, 2019 12:57 PM
    “Where does the UK go from here…”
    Don’t know… don’t much care. Despite being a citizen I washed my hands of that class ridden hell hole back in the Thatcher years.

If it is indeed a democracy then they will end up abandoning Brexit, which was a corrupt scam from its inception. I don’t have any confidence that Britain is democratic enough to do this and actually act in the best interests and according to the will of the majority of its population.

Britain is a failed state.

9. @Peter

Surprise you have elected to do a Pontius Pilate. There is bound to be blowback for Little England.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Pachamama
    “… the extreme cruelty of those in Brussels, primarily the Germans and the French, to make it as difficult as possible for the UK to leave…”
    This is utter nonsense! The Germans and French have done NOTHING to make it difficult for Britain to leave the EU. ALL the barriers and headaches are entirely matters of internal politics within Britain.

I challenge you to name a single stumbling block that can be attributed to Brussels.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Pontius Pilate was the representative of the colonial power… I am cast much more in the role of that guy from Nazareth who went against the colonial power. 😉

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PLT

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT Pontius Pilate, WHO was the representative of the colonial power PARTICULARLY SAID CONCERNING that guy from Nazareth ” I FIND NO FAULT IN THIS MAN!”

HOW THEN SAYEST THOU THAT that guy from Nazareth who went against the colonial power.

COME ON PLT, MAN , PLEASE DONT DESCEND TO THE LEVELS OF MUSCLE BRAIN SPOUTING NON SEQUITURS ON BU , MAN.
    YOU ARE MUCH BETTER THAN THAT. I AM SURE

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Good point Georgie Porgie. So perhaps, like the Nazarene, my beef is not so much with the colonial power, but with the local power structure: the “chief priests and their officers.”

As soon as the chief priests and officers saw Him, they shouted, “Crucify Him! Crucify Him!” “You take Him and crucify Him,” Pilate replied, “for I find no basis for a charge against Him.”
    —John 19:6

14. As a British citizen I am angered and appalled by the sheer incompetence of the British government and parliament. As a Bajan citizen I simply point and sneer… there is definitely schadenfreude in pointing to Britain as a failed state.(Quote)

Why is parliament incompetent?

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

OK SIR
    I WILL RESCIND YOUR CONDUCT CARD. LOL

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

OH LORD THE IDIOT HAS ENTERED THE ROOM!

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

So you have been married for 50 years or so, and the way you look at it you give everything to the marriage, you are completely blinded to what your spouse does to make life better for you. You regard you spouse as a burden, And you see yourself as the master of the universe. Then you demand a divorce on your terms.

Real like don’t wuk like that.

The couple?

The ungrateful spouse? The United Kingdom. The too patient spouse? The European Union.

i can’t say that i am sorry for the United Kingdom. I am not even sorry for my sibling, who voted Brexit against my advice. Said sibling had forgotten that in the 1960’s they too was a stranger dwelling in a strange land.

And had the nerve to complain about Polish and Romanian immigrants?

18. @Pacha

How do you see this matter in the parliament playing out? It seems we have real division/polarisation in a situation where consensus building is required. What will have to occur for enough members to get on the same side?

A fault line here is that the referendum recorded the wish of the people whether the result is liked or not.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    Parliament had a chance on Thursday to self organize, propose, and coalesce behind an option that was not catastrophic for Britain… they failed utterly. Parliament even rejected the notion of letting the voters have another chance to voice their opinion, but decide that one fraudulent exercise of democracy three years ago trumps and overrides all future attempts at democracy on the Brexit question… profound, abject, and stultifying incompetence.

20. @ SSS

We have had this conversation before. Brexit was nothing to do with invading Eastern Europeans. That was the early claim, then about the ECJ determining our laws. Both arguments were bogus.
    The thing to learn about the Brits is that they do not necessarily say what they mean or mean what they say. Brexit was about non-white immigration – 50 years after Enoch Powell’s Rivers of Blood Speech.
    And the nation was prepared to commit economic suicide for this. Look at how people voted: for Brexit (the north and Midlands, Welsh farmers), to remain (London, Scotland, Northern Ireland).
    Most black people, rightly, voted to remain. I have said before, not only should we vote to reman, we should press on for a United States of Europe.
    But what we are seeing played out is exactly how a parliamentary democracy should be exercised. Political scientists and those interested in elective politics should enjoy this, the battle between parliament (the legislature) and the Executive. Gina Miller saw off the nonsense of the Supreme Court intervening in government.
    The real challenge is the future. It took Canada seven years to negotiate a trade deal with the EU. Remember, Britain is still the fifth or 6th strongest economy in the world.

21. Rule Britannia, Britannia rule the waves! Britons never never never shall be slaves (whilst enslaving everybody else).

Look what a mess they find themselves in!

It probably will have immediate economic consequences for us but maybe it will free us from thinking only black men are fools. That veneer of superiority laced by the polished, sneering British accent shall be no more. No more shall we look to them as examples that we should follow. See how they self-destruct as all empires do!

And what of our new shining example – the US of A. Have we seen enough of them to know they they are no better? Should this not remove the yoke of mental slavery and free us to be all that we can be?

For it seems to me that we no longer stand alone as shithole countries of the banana republic kind.

The gloss has been removed. The tarnish is showing.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “Brexit was about non-white immigration – 50 years after Enoch Powell’s Rivers of Blood Speech.”
    Absolutely true.

Out of an excess of kindness and nostalgia I was attempting to portray Brexit as “incompetent” or “stupid.” But you are correct; I should not mince words… Brexit is indeed an exercise in pure evil.

23. @PLT,

They did not fail utterly. They were divided. What did you want, an orderly agreement, while people privately differed? They are doing exactly as they are elected to do, and do most days without any glare of publicity. (Their constituents voted 52-48).
    What you are witnessing is parliament challenging the government as to who should make constitutional decisions – and parliament should win.
    You are witnessing a government being blackmailed by a far-right wing, a party within a party, an Opposition with a leader who is even more anti-Europe than the Tory right-wing, a right-wing press – and the predatory US waiting n the wings to rip the NHS apart.
    But do not focus on the UK; look at the other internal conflicts in the EU; the rising power of China and its belt and road initiative; simmering conflict between China and the US and China and Japan; and America’s undeclared economic war against China being fought out over Huawei and Silicon Valley through the prism of so-called security. For historical reference, have a look at the 1930s.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin March 30, 2019 2:19 PM “We have had this conversation before. Brexit was nothing to do with invading Eastern Europeans.”

That was my siblings view. And yes my sibling is a black immigrant to the U,K, who voted Brexit, as I am sure tens of thousands of Caribbean immigrants did the same.

I can’t explain it.

i am just reporting a truth.

25. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “… Britain is still the fifth or 6th strongest economy in the world.”
    This is misleading, Hal.

First of all strength is not simply measured in size… you also have to take rate of growth into account.

Even if we consider only size, it depends on how you measure it. Britain is the 5th largest economy using market exchange rates, but international currency exchange rates are a rigged game. It is much more meaningful to compare the size of economies using Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) which takes account of the differences in purchasing power in different economies. Now Britain ends up in 9th place, behind Russia, Indonesia, and Brazil.

Britain is passé.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “For historical reference, have a look at the 1930s.”
    Indeed I do.

27. @ PLT

I will avoid discussing global macro-economics. Suffice to say, you are wrong.

@ SSS,
    Remember the notorious Capt Newman was a member of Hitler’s SS. Funny world we live in. I remember in 1979 the number of black women who voted for Thatcher on the basis that it was time for a woman to be in charge. Funny that.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I will avoid discussing global macro-economics.

GOOD IDEA CAUSE YOU ARE NOT AN ECONOMIST
    STICK TO WRITING THE SHIT YOU HAVE BEEN WRITING FOR ALL THESE YEARS
    THE SAME PORCINE FAECES THAT WAS VERY VERY POORLY RECEIVED HERE ON BU IN YOUR “NUTS FROM A NATIVE MAD MORON”

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “I will avoid discussing global macro-economics.”
    +++++++++
    That is a wise decision if you wish to avoid embarrassment. I have already proven my argument.

30. @PLT

Who is discussing whether or not Britain is a failed state? I thought we were discussing Brexit. I should have attended three seminars on economics. I obviously made a huge mistake.

@ Georgie Porgie

Pity I did not get a national scholarship, if not I would be a know-all doctor. Plse remind me of the name of the schooner owned by your maternal family and where in Dominica your family owned their great wealth?.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    If you cannot perceive the connection between Brexit and Britain being a failed state you must have been asleep for the past three years or more. Maybe a couple of economics seminars might help.

32. @ PLT,

I have tried to explain. Brexit had nothing to do with the success or failure of Britain as a state. Plse scroll back to the previous contributions.
    If you want to attribute Brexit to Britain as a failed state, plse go ahead. I am familiar with the irrational anti-colonial sentiments, but note you have not said in what way the British state has failed – and failed compared to what.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Muscle brain

Q where in Dominica your family owned their great wealth?.
    A Portsmouth

Whereas I am not a know-all doctor, I did get a good grasp between 74 and 79, and I got an even better grasp between 2002 – and since I began teaching, but before I entered medical school I studied some Economics.

re I should have attended three seminars on economics. YES YOU SHOULD HAVE I obviously made a huge mistake. YES YOU DID

34. @ GeorgiePorgie,,
    Thank you. And the name of the schooner, or is that secret?

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

When the Dear Lord was here, he spoke of a period of time called “the time of the Gentiles”. This period refers to the time period from around 586 BC when the Babylonians took Judah into captivity.

God gave the Babylonian leader a vision, the description, history and interpretation is presented in Daniel chapters 2, 7, 8, 9. Essentially the Babylonians, would be replaced by the Medes & Persians, who would be followed by the Greeks and then the Romans. That all this has happened as predicted can not be refuted. It is all recorded history.

This leaves us with the “toes of Daniel’s” vision- the weak, poorly organized EUROPEAN UNION, which like so many international unions and organizations are most ineffective and doom to failure.

According to Daniel the EUROPEAN UNION, will soon be eclipsed when ANTICHRIST takes over.

Whether you like it, Eschatologists believe that these events will be coming very soon.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

approximate your labiae orae to the adipose tissue that overlays your glutei

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “The thing to learn about the Brits is that they do not necessarily say what they mean or mean what they say. Brexit was about non-white immigration – 50 years after Enoch Powell’s Rivers of Blood Speech.
    And the nation was prepared to commit economic suicide for this.”
    ++++++++++
    As usual Hal, you yourself have proved my point. Britain is a failed state —> Brexit. Or perhaps you do not consider “do not […] say what they mean or mean what they say” to be a sign of failure. Or is it that you don’t think that “…the nation was prepared to commit economic suicide for” exalting the racist legacy of a British fascist is being a failed state?

Britain is a failed state. At least one British Cabinet Minister agrees with me wholeheartedly… this is what he or she said about what the government would do next “F**k knows, I’m past caring. It’s like the living dead in here…”

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

it is going slowly towards the end
    read this
    https://redrightvideos.com/james-clapper-tells-cnn-it-was-obama-who-ordered-trump-russia-hoax/?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=subscriber_id:1072512&utm_campaign=James%20Clapper%20Tells%20CNN%20It%20Was%20Obama%20Who%20Ordered%20Trump-Russia%20Hoax
    James Clapper Tells CNN It Was Obama Who Ordered Trump-Russia Hoax

EVERYTHING THAT IS HAPPENING IN WORLD AFFAIRS IS INTERWOVEN

39. UK commentators are distributing this period as the worst crisis of governance in 300 years.

40. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

I want to ask u this question. In your many years in the health sector did you encounter the parents who were adamant about not giving their children the measles vaccine?

I am kind of contorted here. As a parent you have the right to do what u think is best for your child; but if your child is non vaccinated are putting other children at risk as well

Just asking

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ASSTIN

RE And the name of the schooner,

JUST ASKED MY MOTHER ABOUT THESE THINGS
    THIS IS THE ANSWER SHE GAVE ME TO SAY TO YOU

“CHO MAMOW CHO MAMA MAMOW”

I HOPE I SPELL IT CORRECTLY
    AS YOU CAN SEE I AM A VERY COMPLIANT FELLOW

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NO I NEVER DID
    AS FAR AS I KNEW WE HAD VERY GOOD COVERAGE ON THE ISLAND AS YOU COULD NOT GET INTO SCHOOL WITH OUT VACCINATIONS

43. @PLT

How has the state failed? I think the problem is our different understanding of the English language. I think the discussion is becoming silly.
    This is my last attempt to explain how we got to where we are.
    David Cameron was faced with a problem from UKIP, who were not only stealing Tory party members, but were winning council seats in the South from the Tories, and in the north from Labour. He called a referendum ( which is not part of our electoral politics) which he thought he would win and did not. (I did not vote in the referendum).
    Then the constitutional problem started: was the referendum result binding or advisory. If it was advisory, then parliament had a right to reject it; if it was binding, then parliament had to carry out that order.
    This question has still not been fully resolved because it raises questions about the parliamentary nature of our democracy. Cameron resigned and May was elected Tory leader and prime minster with a promise that ‘Brexit means Brexit’. But parliament has rebelled and is rightly demanding a say in the outcome.
    How this demonstrates a failed state is beyond me. It instead demonstrates the power of the legislature versus the Executive, that is all. Under our system, the Executive get is its power from parliament, it is delegated power which can be taken away. Which is what we are now witnessing. See what happens on Monday.
    However, an unintended consequence is the suggested economic suicide. Voters did not go out with the intention of committing economic death. The EU is Britain’s biggest trading partner. Outside the EU it will have to re-negotiate over 40 years of agreements.
    Forgive my ignorance, but tell me which British institutions that have failed as a result of Brexit. Parliament versus the Executive is not a failure, it is a strength.
    I can’t make it any simpler.

44. Don’t take that BS to family members. Leave it here…
    You are doing well on your own

45. TheOGAzerts (splay) Avatar
    TheOGAzerts (splay)

Too much heavy lifting for me.
    Unable to contribute to this Brexshit debate
    🙂

46. The Desire for BREXIT is a very simple thing to understand. People want to be free to determine their own course by their Elected Officials and not by UN-elected Bureaucrats in Brussels that the English have Never Elected. As all the Countries in the EU realize that they are some benefits in their Association with each other, but the UK has decided that they no longer want to have Rules Imposed upon them by these Bureaucrats /Elitist in Brussels.

The Deal that the British are trying to work out is to try to keep as many beneficial arrangements in place while remaining Independent. The English people have a Long History of being in Existence as a Civilised Society. They have not done everything right as a Country but they have done many Great things.

To want to maintain your independence is a Good Thing, but those people who want to have UN-elected Bureaucrats/Elites Rule them are the remainders.

Mr.PTL let me point out to you how you are thinking

1.You believe in Top Down Authoritative Regime .Control (Be Dammed what the people say)
    2. By the Sighting of the Statics of how many people want to remain, shows that you love the youth and the “useful Idiots” and Despise the wisdom of the Elderly that some of them got later in life after realizing the Nuff Mistakes they made when they were younger.

This Desire of Lefties/Socialist/Communist/ Marxist for power, Drives them to want to always Fool the youth to get them to Swing an Election. Why else do you think the Dems in the U.S. want to Reduce the voting age to 16? They want more useful idiots.

But just to let you know, it is not useful Idiots that people Elect, it is still Older people that have some measure of wisdom.

A Hard BREXIT Brittan will still be Independent and they will Still Exist and Trade with the world. A BREXIT with a Deal is Better, but not if it Diminishes the Sovereignty of its own Country. The English Contribute more money to the EU than it receives in Benefits so a Hard BREXIT is Still Okay.

The Whole investment Climate in England has Changed there is Optimism because of BREXIT they are more manufacturing jobs being created now than in the Past. The Whole Country is stomping at the Bit to Fly out of the Gate in terms of its Economic Future. We should all shout for FREEDOM for SOVEREIGNTY/OPPORTUNITY… GO BREXIT GO!

https://static.americasbestracing.net/s3fs-public/styles/large/public/goodmagicprederbyworkeclipse.JPG?ERTDto6f8bZJ2lURaIZOaIBeyzOuPNj7&itok=Alk44m-R

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ASSTIN WRITES

Forgive my ignorance,

YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW HARD WE TRY TO DO THIS ASSTIN , BUT UP TO NOW THERE ARE NO BRAIN TRANSPLANTS ASSTIN

NO ONE IS DOING BRAIN TRANSPLANTS YET ASSTIN
    AND DYPLASIA IN THE BRAIN IS NOT YET REVERSED ASSTIN

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “Forgive my ignorance, but tell me which British institutions that have failed as a result of Brexit. Parliament versus the Executive…”
    +++++++++++++++
    Both Parliament and the executive have failed… and failed miserably.

A member of the executive, the British Cabinet, put it this way when asked what the executive was doing next “F**k knows, I’m past caring. It’s like the living dead in here…”

As far as the parliament is concerned, they had the chance to design alternative strategies and choose one, so they designed 8 alternative strategies and said no to each and every one of them. Abject failure.

49. A simple question got a simple answer. The old Tory IMMIGRATION rabbit was brought out of the old hat yet again and dusted off. Oops! Our economy needs highly skilled people – City workers, Scientists, doctors and nurses from abroad, panic! we must make them Tier one. Our forces recruitment isn’t working as expected – recruit Commonwealth citizens without the previous residency requirements.
    What is often not understood is that Britain has always depended on a large portion of the world for raw materials, labour and finance. Perhaps it’s known but thought to be kept at arms length.
    British Steel – now owned by Indian conglomerate TATA and renamed UK Steel. British Leyland bought by the Chinese and moved to China. Toshiba started the build of nuclear power stations, now looking for a buyer or to be abandoned. China to build a nuclear power station, financed by a French Government owned company.
    Trade deals — Japan asked to cut and paste the EU trade deal and offer it to the UK — No deal is the reply.
    New Zealand lamb complained about by UK farmers and abandoned when we joined the Common Market. That deal is apparently being dusted off again with Welsh sheep farmers already sounding worries.
    This is the picture of a Bright Future for the UK.
    Don’t forget that the DUP holds the whipping hand when it comes to accepting and deal with the EU.
    Forgive them Father for they know not what they do!

50. The failure of successive governments to manage the widening nort-south (primarily London) divide played an integral role in the Brexit outcome too. So maybe PLT is partially corrwct.