Melissa Martin, Ph.D., is an author, columnist, educator, and therapist. She lives in USA
“Right now is a great and important time in history to do everything possible to help forge a more gender-balanced world. Women have come a long way, yet there’s still more to be achieved.” Visit www.internationalwomensday.com. The International Women’s Day website is the go-to hub for everything IWD and provides detailed information, guidance and resources.
Annually on March 8, IWD celebrates the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women across the globe. It’s a gender parity party! It’s a fairness festival! It’s an equality event! The 2019 theme is #BalanceForBetter.
IWD provides an important moment to showcase commitment to women’s equality, launch new initiatives and action, celebrate women’s achievements, and raise awareness.
The day is celebrated and supported globally by industry, governments, educational institutions, community groups, professional associations, women’s networks, charities and non-profit bodies, the media and more.
The first International Women’s Day occurred in 1911, supported by over one million people. Today, IWD belongs to all groups collectively everywhere. IWD is not country, group or organization specific.
International Women’s Day was celebrated by the United Nations in 1975. In 1977, the United Nations General Assembly invited member states to proclaim March 8 as the UN Day for women’s rights and world peace.
In 2014, IWD was celebrated in more than a 100 countries and is an official holiday in Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, China (for women only), Cuba, Georgia, Guinea-Bissau, Eritrea, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Madagascar (for women only), Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Nepal (for women only), Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Zambia. www.iwd.uchicago.edu/.
Let us acknowledge and support the struggles of working-class and oppressed women around the world for justice, equality and liberation. One of the most powerful ways you can influence how quickly gender balance is achieved is by championing your own #BalanceforBetter campaign within your community, network, organization or group.
Why don’t women have access to equality, education and opportunity in all countries? How can women achieve gender equality with equal pay for equal work? Will men speak out for the rights of women everywhere?
Violence towards women and girls is being labeled as a global pandemic. The World Health Organization concluded that violence against women is a “global public health problem of epidemic proportions, requiring urgent action.”
Why do we celebrate the achievements and rights of women when other women are suffering and dying in war-torn countries? Because we must persist to save our daughters and future generations of women. Men, will you help us?
The British medical journal The Lancet (2014) released a series on Violence Against Women and Girls, calling on governments to respond to violence against women. The Lancet urges funding of programs that challenge male control over women; that reduce levels of childhood exposures to violence; that reform discriminatory family laws; that strengthen women’s economic and legal rights; and that eliminate gender inequalities in access to employment and secondary education. www.thelancet.com/.
“I write for those women who do not speak, for those who do not have a voice because they were so terrified, because we are taught to respect fear more than ourselves. We’ve been taught that silence would save us, but it won’t,” proclaimed Audre Lorde.
Like American civil rights activist Martin Luther King, Jr., I have a dream. King declared “—one day right there in Alabama, little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls as sisters and brothers.” My dream is that every country around the globe would recognize and celebrate International Women’s Day by declaring that females should be treated with respect, dignity, and kindness by males. And if that happened there would be an end to domestic violence, sexual assault, and war rape.
International Women’s Day has been celebrated for more than 100 years. How will you celebrate International Women’s Day on Friday March 8 in your home, school, workplace, community and country?
As this American woman speaks she reminds me of the hypocrisy of the very country she lives in as far as women equality is concerned …because in the Land of the Free and Brave… No woman has ever governed America, but across the globe we see women from as far as India, Philippines, England, Germany, Dominica, Jamaica and now our little Barbados have be given that opportunity …this says something very significant about how men view women in these societies…
@Lexicon
Happy international womenâs day!
Violence against women is still a very serious problem in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean for that matter, so it would be of interest to see what this prime minister is going to do to give voice to this very serious issue …
And lastly, men have to learn how to deal with conflict with women without resorting to violence … Men have learn how to beat the walls before they put their hands of women … Men have learn how to walk away even when they have been mistreated by women rather than resort to violence…
Thanks David …same Tah you…
We need the sexes more than ever to find improved ways to coexist. We were created to complement the other.
Yes we were created to coexist, but I bet anything that most women understand men better than they understand themselves …
We as men have to take time and understand the female species, and stop handing over our power so easily to them because that is where most of the conflict between men and women begins….
@David well said. My concern is that the radical feminist seem hell bent on perpetuating the mischief women are not equal in Barbados. We have come a long way an way ahead in equity and justice for women. My concern is that we appear to be going to far south to the point #gynocentricism is creating injustice and emasculation of men
@Kammie
Given where women have had to come and the ensuing culture created there will be tension. We have to continue to use good sense to find ways to appreciate the value of embracing and appreciation gender quality. It is too adversarial at this time. We do a disservice to the quality of society by it.
Kammie, I would agree with you that women have come a long way in Barbados (we have elected a female prime minister), but issues such physical, verbal, eomtional, sexual psychological and financial abuse still have to be addressed in Barbados … especially the physical and sexual aspects of abuse …
Q How will you celebrate International Women’s Day on Friday March 8 in your home, school, workplace, community and country?
A. THE DAY STARTED WITH MY DEAR LOVING WIFE WHO HAS JUST BROUGHT ME HER EGG HAM CHEESE CRACKERS PLATTER WITH MY COFFEE
I WILL WATCH CRICKET ON TV
WATCH THE NEWS ON TV
READ THE WRITINGS OF BRIMBLERS ON BU
REST IN BED
ANYTHING ELSE BUT THINK OF STUPIDNESS SUCH AS INTERNATIONAL DAY OF WOMEN BECAUSE WE CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT EITHER THE PLIGHT OR THE CONTEMPORARY CONTENTIOUSNESS OF WOMEN
LIKE THE POOR, WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE SUCH AMONG US
REMEMBER
GOD MADE THE WORLD AND GOD MADE MAN, AND HE RESTED
THEN HE MADE WOMAN
SINCE THEN, IT IS NOT RECORDED ANYWHERE THAT GOD RESTED AGAIN…….NOR HAS MAN!
BUTHEBREWS 4 TEACHES THERE REMAINS A REST FOR THE PEOPLE OF GOD
International Women’s Day is bigger than the ham, eggs and crackers you wife brought you this morning … It is about acknowledging and appreciating the contributions women have made and have yet to make to improve their lives and that of our world in which we live… My late mother in my mind was next to God because of her strength, sacrifice, and unconditional love…
I shall end with the word of the late British prime minister Margaret Thatcher who said: if you want something said ask a Man( that was my father), but if you want something done ask a Woman( that was my mother.
ONCE MORE
ONE MORE TIME IN ANSWER TO THE QUESTION IN THE LAST LINE OF THE ARTICLE
Q How will you celebrate International Women’s Day on Friday March 8 in your home, school, workplace, community and country?
A. THE DAY STARTED WITH MY DEAR LOVING WIFE WHO HAS JUST BROUGHT ME HER EGG HAM CHEESE CRACKERS PLATTER WITH MY COFFEE
I WILL WATCH CRICKET ON TV
WATCH THE NEWS ON TV
READ THE WRITINGS OF BRIMBLERS ON BU
REST IN BED
ANYTHING ELSE BUT THINK OF STUPIDNESS SUCH AS INTERNATIONAL DAY OF WOMEN BECAUSE WE CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT EITHER THE PLIGHT OR THE CONTEMPORARY CONTENTIOUSNESS OF WOMEN
LIKE THE POOR, WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE SUCH AMONG US
REMEMBER
GOD MADE THE WORLD AND GOD MADE MAN, AND HE RESTED
THEN HE MADE WOMAN
SINCE THEN, IT IS NOT RECORDED ANYWHERE THAT GOD RESTED AGAIN…….NOR HAS MAN!
BUTHEBREWS 4 TEACHES THERE REMAINS A REST FOR THE PEOPLE OF GOD
International Womans Day a Big Charade pointless and useless
A day when woman of certain ethic groups are struggling in corporate to get to the top of the ladder
A day when women are still fighting to get equal pay while doing the same job as men
Isn’t this the reason international women’s day is being highlighted? To bring a focus to what has to be done to improve the lot of women?
Every day is an international day for women. Incidentally, it is also an international day for men. Vive la difference. Let us have a day of celebration for all God’s children. Peace and Love to all my brothers and sisters. WE LOVE YOU.
Mariposa
So we certainly hope that our female prime minister change trajectory for women in Barbados by empowering them with opportunity to break the cycle of oppression…
Kammie,
Women have made great strides with respect to equality it is true but there are still areas that need attention such as violence and sexual assault. Do not let anger at a particular situation blind you to these facts.
The fact is that what is in the long-term interest of women is also in the long-term interest of men. If we first examined ourselves and our deep-rooted desires ,spend time talking honestly with each other we would come to understand that.
It is about partnership for mutual satisfaction. Not dominance of one sex over the other.
Vincent,
Certainly we can reduce the instances of discrimination and indeed we have done so. The world has come a long way from where it was as people become more enlightened. It is not an overnight job and will not occur by magic wand. There will never be peace perfect peace for as long as mankind is left to his own devises. But my understanding is that when we become enlightened we are to work to enlighten others.
What doe the Bible say about that?
the Bible says in Proverbs 21;9 and this by a man who had 1000 women and knew women better that all of us
It is better to dwell in a corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman in a wide house.
i.e It is better to live in a corner of the housetop [on the flat roof, exposed to the weather] Than in a house shared with a quarrelsome (contentious) woman.
this concept is repeated in Proverbs 25:24
It is better to dwell in the corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman and in a wide house.
WHY DO YOU THINK HE HAD TO SAY THIS TWICE?
Happy women’s day girls. Do not forget to take advantage of the situation and let the men know that we are worth more than what they think is worth getting.
First, what is the definition of a brawling woman?
Second, he said MANY THINGS TWICE, THREE TIMES, FOUR TIMES etc. etc etc. The Bible is rife with repetitions.
First, what is the definition of a brawling woman?
WE ALL KNOW AND YOU KNOW TOO UH LIE?
Second, he said MANY THINGS TWICE, THREE TIMES, FOUR TIMES etc. etc etc.
TAKE OUT YOUR CONCORDANCE AND SUBSTANTIATE THAT
The Bible is rife with repetitions.
DOES THIS MAKE WHAT SOLOMON SAID IN PROVERBS UNTRUE?
YOUR SIILLY QUESTIONS DOES NOT ANSWER THE QUESTION WHY DO YOU THINK HE HAD TO SAY THIS TWICE?
LETS SAY IT AGAIN BECAUSE IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
It is better to dwell in the corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman and in a wide house.
SOLOMON WAS SPEAKING FROM EXPERIENCE AND WITH ALL HIS FLAWS HE GOT THIS RIGHT
ALL SINGLE WOMEN WITH CHILDREN ARE NOT IN THAT POSITION BECAUSE OF HAVING CHOSEN A DELINQUENT MAN………….SOME OF THESE WOMEN ARE BRAWLING CANTANKEROUS WOMEN.
SENSIBLE MEN LEAVE THEIR RICHES AND WALK AWAY FROM SUCH
ONE OF OUR BEST PROFESSORS OF MEDICINE IN BARBADOS HAD TO BUILD A SPACE IN HIS YARD BECAUSE HE HAS A BRAWLING CANTANKEROUS WOMEN.
I KNOW OF ANOTHER DR THAT GAVE UP HIS HOUSES AND LANDS AND ACCESS TO THREE VEHICLES………AND WALKED AWAY
ANOTHER WEALTHY BUSYNESS MAN RAN OFF WITH THE MAID CAUSE SHE HAD MORE LOVE IN HER HEART THAN HIS WIFE………WHO ENDED UP AN ALCOHOLIC!
I WOULD ADVISE ALL MEN TO LISTEN TO SOLOMON BUT GO FURTHER AND WALK AWAY
YOU HAVE A GOOD CHANCE OF BEING PROVIDED WITH THE SMARTEST SWEETEST WOMAN YOU EVER MET
@ Donna at 12 :45 PM
I am sure your question was rhetorical and needed no response. In your case ,I will make an exception. We need to practise love. We need to treat each other as we would like to be treated.
The thing about love is it is divisible ad infinitum. There is always enough. I am not so sure that what Solomon was sharing was love as defined by the author of the article under debate. I believe that by sleeping in the upstairs balcony of his house/palace got him into a lot more trouble. But I agree with you. The root of dysfunctional man /woman relationship is cantankerism. I love your anecdotal evidence. I had no idea the practice was so prevalent. These men are as wise as Solomon. LOL!!!
Vincent,
You had liked a GP post that said we can do nothing about the plight of women or the contentiousness of women. I wondered if you are in agreement with that. It has been my experience that much can be done.
GP,
Agree about living with a brawling woman as long as a brawling woman is not defined as “a woman who has an opinion and speaks it assertively” or “a woman who does not always agree with her husband”.
PS. Don’t need a concordance. I do remember.
@Vincent Codrington March 8, 2019 10:59 AM ” I second that.’
I trust that the women of BU have had a healthy, happy, loving and productive day.
@GEORGIE PORGIE March 8, 2019 12:55 PM “the Bible says in Proverbs 21;9 and this by a man who had 1000 women and knew women better that all of us…It is better to dwell in a corner of the housetop, than with a brawling woman in a wide house.”
Any man who is so idiotic as to “have” 1,000 women, and then complain about conflict, is in no position to offer anybody any advice.
He was an idiot from the beginning. How did he think this 1,000 women thing was going to work?
He was probably feeling with the small heads.
Instead of thinking with the big brain which our God had so lovingly given him.
SOLOMON WAS NOT AN IDIOT FROM THE BEGINNING BECAUSE THE BIBLE SAYS THAT GOD GAVE HIM WISDOM
IF HE WAS AN IDIOT THE QUEEN OF SHEBA WOULD NOT HAVE JOURNEYED FAR TO SEE FOR HER SELF HOW WISE HE WAS OR BRING HIM EXPENSIVE GIFTS
SOLOMON DID NOT COMPLAIN ABOUT CONFLICT——-HE RECORDED WHAT HE SAW AROUND HIM
HE WAS CERTAINLY WISE TO ADJUDICATE IN THE FAMOUS FIASCO BROUGHT ON BY…………TWO WOMEN!
DONNA YOU DO NEED A CONCORDANCE CAUSE YOUR NUMBERS ARE ASKEW!
THE BEST BIBLE SCHOLARS GO TO STRONGS……..AND THEY ALSO OBSERVE THE STRONG’S NUMBERS TOO WHEN THEY GET THERE
ONE GOOD THING ABOUT GOOD OLD SOLOMON
HE DID NOT HAVE TO PICK FARES….. OR GO TO HEALTH CENTERS LIKE ENMORE FOR PENADUR INJECTIONS!
I see this white American woman is still being allowed to set the agenda on a black-focused blog? Wow! We are punching above our weight. This must be top quality. Give the chairman an award.
@Georgie Porgie March 8, 2019 5:11 PM “ONE GOOD THING ABOUT GOOD OLD SOLOMON. HE DID NOT HAVE TO PICK FARES….. OR GO TO HEALTH CENTERS LIKE ENMORE FOR PENADUR INJECTIONS!”
Good old Solomon probably died of the clap, because there was no Penadur then.
Lucky you and me.
Lolll!!!
@ THE CONFESSED FARE PICKER
Lucky you NOT ME
I NEVER WENT TO ENMORE OR ANY OF THOSE OLD CLINICS EXCEPT TO WORK IN THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAB
NEVER HAD PENADUR EITHER
NOR HAVE I EVER PICKED FARES
NEVER HAD TO
RE Good old Solomon probably died of the clap, PROBABLY DID NOT EITHER
THAT IS A DISEASE THAT WAS PREVALENT IN PLACES VISITED BY SAILORS PROBABLY WHY BYER STARTED HIS FIRST CLINIC IN SPEIGHSTOWN
PROBABLY WHY YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY DISPLAYING AND SUFFERING FROM GPI!
RE Hal Austin March 8, 2019 5:12 PM
I see this white American woman is still being allowed to set the agenda on a black-focused blog?
DONT YOU NOTICE NO ONE IS REALLY PAYING ANY ATTENTION TO HER BULLSHIT?
@Georgie Porgie March 8, 20195:39 PM “NOR HAVE I EVER PICKED FARES.”
If you tried to charge for ya li’l t’ing, the question is “would anybody be willing to pay?”
NO EVIDENCE THAT SOLOMON HAD GPI.
RE Lucky you and me.
MAYBE LUCKY YOU!
I NEVER ATTENDED ANY OF THE OLD HEALTH CENTERS AS YOU APPEARED TO HAVE DONE
NEVER NEEDED PENADUR EITHER FOR ANYTHING
NEVER PICKED FARES OR HAD TO
I POSSESSED MY VESSEL WITH HONOR AS PROSCRIBED IN THE GOOD BOOK
The Bible also speaks of the virtuous woman in Proverbs 31:10 of which you make little note of….
And in Proverbs 18:22 … the Bible says: Whoso ever fineth a wife …fineth a good thing and obtaineth the favour of the Lord.
So for every good that comes into the world there is a correspondening evil … Hate/love light/darkness evil/good war/peace and so on …
Wuhlaus!
Giving a big shout out to all Women who are single Head of households
There is no bigger job that requires dedication and commitments than that of being a parent
On this day i salute all the women who have work both end of the spectrum and have given there all to be First Grade Parents
Cheer to all you woman
You are the best in your chosen field of
to be the best Parent Ever
Mariposa
My mother was a single mother who never wavered in love, devotion and commitment to her children, and on this International Woman’s Day I want to pay homage to her memory …
But in saying the above … I want to make it clear that I am in no way supporting the idea of single parenting, because children need two well adjusted parents to rear them the way God and not the world intend them to be rear…
But I cognizant of the fact that this is not always the case, so some single mothers and fathers have to rear their children the best way they can …
In todays Society Housewives are not given their rightful due respect as the designers and builders of a future genetation
Most of the time they are looked upon as being insignificant and beholding to what they have learned from their parents and are meek mannered and unwavering in an antiquated way of thinking
Today on international day i prefer to shine the spotlight on Woman who might have been quite and contended to be the builders of society dedicated to being vigilant and being satisfied in the role as being the best parent Ever
Cheers to all you strong and dedicated Women who choose the profession of being a Parent
Mariposa
Are you sure you are talking about the housewives of today or the housewives of the past?
Now if a woman doesn’t understand her power over a man then that is her fault … the Bible would not have said give not thy strength onto a woman or a way which destroyeth Kings if a woman did not have that kind of a control over a man…
Mariposa,
You are not afraid that your CARICOM National wake up and realize that if you were married to a Haitian then you would be trying to deport him and not Haitians?????
Mariposa
I know for a fact that most housewives rule their homes with a iron fish … and if she isn’t happy no one in the home isn’t happy …
We know what a “brawling “woman or for that matter”,brawling” man is. It is someone who shows a lack of couth. A cantankerous is a person who is quarrelsome and makes him or her partner miserable. These types are controlling and are always right.
They exhibit this controlling behaviour early in the relationships. But according to Simple Simon the little heads tend to ignore these warning flags until the stage of come live with muh.
I agreed with GP . He knows the Hebrew and Christian Bibles very well. There is nothing new under the sun. Domination and attempts at owning partners are the fundamental problems. One should never seek to own another person.
Look Lexicon i yawned when i run into bibical theorist
Nite nite night
International Women’s Day is Prime Minister’s Day.
The Prime Minister had to endure attacks during the election campaign, which were below civilian and human level. Her resistance to this terror of arrogant and old men deserves utmost respect.
However, she has won a historic victory against all the insults, insinuations and attacks of a class of intellectually impotent, lazy and arrogant men.
And what happened after the election? Didn’t many so-called commentators on BU want to delegitimize her victory? Didn’t they claim that Barbados needed an opposition in parliament despite the fact that the DLP had sold out Barbadians like African kings had sold out their people to the British 300 years ago?
Truly, much remains to be done on the island. The Prime Minister must continue her course and clean up among the men. Barbados will not survive a second man like Chris Sinckler!
Read the Barbadian Prawda from March 3, 2019: “What the DLP does have on its side, however, is a history of governance that has contributed significantly to Barbados’s development.” You need lots of drugs to believe this bullsh…. What else needs to happen to stop this furor of a class of outdated men who obviously hate and despise women?
I prefer matriarchy to the economic insanity of a dangerous sect called DLP.
Wuh loss International day us PM Mia Day
Wuh next Mothers Day
How about Fathers Day
Tron yuh now make muh belly hurt wid laughter
Oh dont Forget Pain and Suffering Day
That day would soon be officially dedicate to Mia
We, the African peoples of the world, have to be careful about the ways White people weaponize issues and events like International Women’s Day’.
The ways they find intersectionality or solidarity amongst and between the identity political forces they themselves have constructed to divide us against ourselves with wedge issues.
As African peoples we have always known matriarchal societal constructs. And despite the dominant lies told about us by some of us, African peoples have for the vast majority of human existence have known and accepted nothing else but matriarchy. Indeed, this is evident in any community of African people anywhere, still today. And it has nothing to do with Eurocentric thinking.
Our interests have to be about issues which effect us since 500 years ago. Issues like racism, colonialism, militarism etc. These are the issues which more fundamentally effect the African women of this planet. But instead we see the LGBTQ issues again raising their ugly head on such a day initially thrown up to mark the significant role of our Great Mother. The truth is that all days belong the African women. For without Her there would be no human life on earth. She is the Goddess!
It is regrettable how White people would invent fringe groups, sometimes even new or foreign religions, as a way of misleading the many and destroying social cohesion among African peoples. This weaponization must be resisted in the name of the Goddess Ma’at.
Bertram Brewster.. you have made very salient points
White Society focus has been one of breaking down of the family unit
This day now called International Womens Day is more focused in the woman become corporate giants instead of being Giants in family rearing of the children
Today one would hardly hear kudos being given to stay at home woman who choose not to neglect their role as being good Mothers first rather than being a tool and giving their all to big business and corporations
Family first has been replaced with Corporate first and aggrandizing Titles while the woman role in the home has been seen as insignificant
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238803/morris-appointed-press-secretary
MR KING SIR
ABOUT 11 YEARS AGO I WAS SURFING THE NET AND FOUND AN ARTICLE ABOUT A JOURNALIST CALLED ROBERT MORRIS WHO WAS INVOLVED IN ILLICIT SEXUAL ACTIVITY WITH A YOUTH
IS THIS BY ANY CHANCE THE SAME JOURNALIST THAT MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY HAS APPOINTED AS HER PRESS SECRETARY TODAY?
IS THIS WHAT THE DICTATOR HAS DONE ON WOMEN’S DAY?
Roy Morris, the very same.
Clearly he has been washed in the blood of the lamb.
Mariposa
I believe and still hold that a woman can choose to be what she wishes to be … if she chooses to work in big business that is her prerogative …if she chooses to be a wife, a mother or a stepmother …she is at liberty to choose as she sees fit…
Because in the 1800s a woman was regarded as the property of her husband …in essence she had no real rights .. no university would admit a women in this period … and when the Constitution of the land of Liberty was written it made no provision for the rights of women whatsoever … the white man felt so poorly about the her that they gave the black man the right to vote before the white woman … who had to fight and won that right in 1920 …
So we must celebrate every endeavour she dears to undertake knowing she wasn’t always able to do so ….
All them who help carried water for Mia
It is payback time
But i wunda where she is getting all this money when she say that past govt left the country broke
How could it be posdible that a country with no money can hired so many consultants and a press Secretary
On this Intetnational day what a disgrace to all women with children that Mia would so stoop to hire the likes of Morris who was accused of engaging in illict activity with a minor
What a slap in the face of the female gender world wide whose duty is one of raising and protecting their children from scumbags who roam this earth
Well i prefer the role my Mother chose one of being a corporate giant in the household standing side by side with her husband in decision making in putting family first with the main focus of rearing her children.
Yes i can say her role in parenting has made better for her children
It was a joy and pleasure watching how she handle the role of parenting with humility and integrity
To say i learned so much from her about the joys of parenting would not be enough to put in words
How come there is silence about the dust up between Roslyn Smith and Akani Mc Dowell both of the NUPW? Oh to be a fly on the wall during meetings of the NUPW leadership.
Pingback: NUPW Members Should Join Unity Workers Union | Barbados Underground
Some countries have taken internation woman’s day to a another level by declaring it a public holiday.
International Woman’s Day should have focused on male violence against women … it real troubles me how most men would resort to violence against women instead of doing the right thing and walk away from such temptation…
Moreover, I can see how some women would fear men because they are the most violent creatures on the Earth today …. But why do we think it is ok to resort to violence to solve conflict? It shows our emotional weakness as men …
@ Lexicon
Think? Did you write.? There is no thinking in these matters . Emotion takes over. That is precisely why rational measures will not suffice.
@ David BU at 6 :58 AM
Public Holiday? WOW!. This is one of those moments that a waggish friend of mine would have liked the precursive algorithm to engage.
@ David,
a paid public holiday would be appreciated especially by shop assistants and other low income workers.
We do not respect women enough as men, the flip side is that many women do a disservice to their gender. It is a work in progress?
Of all the people in the world – ROY MORRIS!
Vincent,
You obviously misunderstood my question.