At the root of  the state of things in Barbados is the high level of voter apathy commingling with a heavy dose of ignorance about the individual role John citizen must play to ensure an effective democratic system. One does not have to read, All the Kings Men or be acquainted with the insights of Niccolò Machiavelli in his well read Prince. The weight which comes from sitting behind the BU dashboard makes the task of enlightening our audience the more urgent.

In April 2013 Barbados Underground (BU) posted a blog George Payne v Edmund Hinkson: Storm Clouds Hovering Over MAM. The blogmaster wondered at the time why politicians who aspire to lead a nation demonstrate an embarrassing inability to resolve personal conflict.

In October 2015 BU posted a blog Remembering What Politicians Do. When the Eager 11 uprising threatened to derail the Stuart led DLP government- Stuart successful quelled the uprising David Estwick and a few colleagues threatened to sue the Nation newspaper for defamation. Here is a quote from the blog:

…this is innuendo and is defamatory in law. Pleased be advised that I have given my lawyers the instruction to see that my integrity in public and private advocation remains untarnished and unsullied…

There was the incident where David Estwick brandished a gun in the presence of Dale Marshall in parliament of all places. In March of 2019 BU posted the blog Two Members Of Parliament David Estwick And Dale Marshall Go At It!.  There is no doubt in the mind of the blogmaster the matter was allowed to fade by the political class with the prorogue of parliament. Why did the Committee of Privileges not honestly rule on the matter in the two years that followed?

There are other examples found in BU Archives that paint a picture of how members of the political class conspired to undermine the democracy they pledged to uphold. It must be stated that the challenge facing Barbadians is no different to citizens elsewhere. In developed countries the smell of decaying societies may stink less or more based on perspective. It is one of the greatest challenges human beings will face as life continues.

#atrophy?

How can Barbados be the proverbial diamond in the rough?

121 responses to “Politicians and Citizens Falling Short”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 3:52 PM

Some schools of thought believe that education is acquiring a body of knowledge. It is a huge investment of time money and energy; therefore an asset to be guarded like gold.
    Other schools of thought believe that knowledge has a shelf life and what the educated should take away from school is the ability to constantly question existing knowledge and improve upon it. Education should continue after school. One is usually given a number of models that may become inoperable because of changes in context–geographical and cultural. So one tweaks the model or contrive a new one.

This mute goes off track when bloggers assume that communism is the same as that conceived by Marx, considerably modified by Lenin and Stalin and abandoned during our lifetime by Putin and his predecessors. Communism no longer exists. Many in this blog are fighting a battle that exists in a Time Warp.

The same goes for Capitalism. It is not the same as that which existed in 18th century Britain. The whole system has been overtaken by financial developments in London and Wall Street and the Fed. So we are getting the narratives wrong. But it keeps my grey cells grey. I hope.

2. Correct. Some forget to update their data bank.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Our leaders need to be in the forefront of the disruption. They have to get the buy-in from the population. The leaders must listen to the citizens. It is not about them. It is about the well-being of us all, They may be hearing ;but they are not actively listening.

4. good take on the issues. a quote i heard recently was that “education is what remains when we have forgotten what we learned at school”

yeah, Vincent, there are no pure political systems anymore. most systems believe it or not are socialist either socialism for the rich which masquerades as capitalism in the US or socialism for all – Norway, Germany, Canada etc. i know of no socialism for the poor

5. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 4:30 PM

An excellent summary. You must have earned 10/10 for your precis. Thank you.

6. @Vincent

With respect it is the leaders where the disruption must occur. What a dilemma we have!

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

David, there is only one Barbados so we all have to hang in there and make a contribution of time and effort….each according to his ability.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You pose a question for which you already know the answers. Yardfowls or die hard loyals support mostly their respective parties on what they get, got, or hope to receive. You dismiss Peterlawrencethompson’s suggestion as if it is not one of the main factors fueling the support of these sold-out lot. You of all people know that on both sides of the paling it is the amount of scratch grain given that buy these people. No Yardfowl is without his share of bittle. And, its the bittle that they receive that in turn strenghtens the bond to support the duopoly. So stop trying to pretend like there is some other scholarly reason.

It behooves me that you would think our educational system is at fault. I cannot find any fault in our educational system where yardfowls are concern. You have educated yardies and uneducated yardies. You have intelligent thieves and unintelligent thieves. What is the driving force behind their choice to do wrong? MONEY! Education has not stopped a boy from improving meagre means towards a more corpulent end. If education is to be blamed, how comes you are not a yardie? The power of choice prevails in matters of the heart and consciousness;and I believe that many still have an understanding of what right and wrong is, though they choose to operate contrary.

The other factors responsible for the production of the yardie has been delved into by other contributors here. Many Barbadians are a bought and paid for lot and this conditioning is largely responsible for their docility At the end of the day, David, money talks but bullshit walks.

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Peterlawrencethompson February 10, 2019 11:12 AM

So David & SSS, which do you think is main motivation for the electorate’s dysfunction: that the expectation or hope of receiving bribes or other enrichment themselves, or the emotional comforts of team spirit? Or is it something else?

Right now in Barbados, there is a feeling of desperation besetting the struggling populace

Is it a cry for more jobs
    Is it a cry for money
    Is it cry for food
    Is it a cry for better governance
    Is it cry for cheaper prices.
    Is it a cry for justice

Out of all these, what you think is foremost in the minds of bajans?

10. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Mia needs to focus on the important….yardfowls will be yardfowls..but there are more important things to do …and recovering the people’s money stolen by DLP and their thieving masters, recover the old people’s estates…stolen by thieving lawyers and government ministers …..IS WAY MORE IMPORTANT..

Trying to discredit….is going to bring real life problems…don’t be stupid…it is a good warning..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/971215879754618/?t=0

11. SSS
    Cuz one has to be a “yardfowl” to be part of the problem. You clearly, in my opinion, have not fully grasp the main point of PLT’s submission. Continue wirh your myopia.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Enuff

Amazing how you are the only one who can understand everything and all others are to simpleton to grasp. I already know where you stand, and having myopia is far better than being a manipulator.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Barbadian university students view politicians as criminals, liars and frauds”
    So it seems that they are learning SOMETHING up Cave Hill.
    https://www.stlucianewsonline.com/barbadian-university-students-view-politicians-as-criminals-liars-and-frauds-study/

14. Again for all of the Above, this is what Massive Land Fraud and PONZI get you! Pick it apart bit by bit but it then comes back to Clear Title deed of 126 Years of Records missing, hidden from the Worlds eyes of lending for Collateral, Crime Minister is a Well know crook with the rest of her lawyer Family and the worlds know but the Bajan brainwashed with titles of Slavery! Vote Better Next time ,, 2023 or sooner,

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

lol…the tide turned.

I know I can be brutal sometimes, but Mia needs to start listening …really..

if ya don’t display yardfowl qualities…ya are not part of the team..SSS…but leave them….twine is looonnngerrrrrr…than twine.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Sunshine Sunny Shine
    “… what you think is foremost in the minds of bajans?”
    ++++++++++++
    For myself it is the need for justice, and after that it is the related need for governance, but I do not ‘cry’ for these things. I get off my ass, formulate practical things that I can do to help, and get on with the job.

I have no crystal ball to see what is foremost in the minds of my compatriots, but I do wish for less of the crying and more of the doing something about it.

17. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I hope I don’t have to be spelling out everything in the coming months, my patience is already very thin……yall are grown ass adults …ya need to listen..

18. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Things are being done PLT…the only people who are doing nothing to mobilize the people upward…is the goddamn government the majority population elected who are driving them into even more poverty…and acting like they are doing them a huge favour and they should be grateful…people are trying to move forward…but the government is DESTRUCTIVE.

it took less than 9 months to see the intent…

19. @Peter

You are a good example of a citizen giving back. Helping to make Barbados a better place. In an earlier comment you mentioned the fault line in Barbados society which has produced the lethargy we rail about daily on the blog. Our quality of leadership need to make it happen. Some will not agree but people want to be led.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

My opinion is that true leadership is service… it has nothing to do with power or title or position. If you wish to lead people you must serve their best interests… not by telling them what they must do, but by showing (by example) how it can be done.

21. By your definition we have a problem as it related to Barbados? Doing service (public) is not regarded as a prerequisite for leadership positions. Willing to be corrected.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Doing service (public) is not regarded as a prerequisite for leadership positions” anywhere that I know of, so this is not a specifically Bajan problem. My notion of leadership is not widely accepted outside of spiritual circles, but I myself am an atheist. I have met many people in leadership positions who are clearly high functioning psychopaths, because such people often have a charismatic presence (I make no implications about our local political leadership). Many people in Barbados long for charismatic leadership, but that is a dangerous thirst.

23. @Peter

Are we not proposing a model for Barbados that departs from the trodden path? Let the discussion continue!

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Peterlawrencethompson

To each his opinion. justice does not feed hungry bellies or pay bills. Foremost in the minds of bajans is the need for money.

25. Sir David’s call

” BARBADOS NEEDS an anti-corruption unit to monitor the activities of key officials in Government departments in order to help root out public corruption. ”

” And its work should be separate and distinct from that of any team of investigators the Mia Mottley administration is planning for the proposed Integrity Commission now being considered by a select committee of Parliament.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238425/sir-david

26. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah got a big BRIDGE to sell yall if ya believe Simmons’ SPIN..some may not understand what ah go on…but from the time ya see the head crooks running out with more false promises …ya know their asses have been scorched and now exposed to the right entities ..WHEN HE JUMPS OUT LIKE THIS..

They can actually see where this is going and it’s all downhill going forward….they just down know the how yet…

They came back with the SAME CORRUPTION……and thought bajans will just sit and take it…hell no..

27. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Mia and her gang have no intention of doing the right thing by the majority black population and those who know what they do…DO NOT PLAN TO BACK DOWN…..until she does..

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Imagine during their 14 years arrogant and crooked stint, the BLP never once suggested setting up any anticorruption unit. All of sudden as he age, the light of Jesus has shone upon him and he wants now to improve the system that he has benefited immensely from.All of a sudden you are the forget their wicked, arrogant deeds and embrace the BLP who is bringing the light and change.

29. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Don’t mind him, ass being scorched…

Too goddamn wicked and arrogant…the crimes he committed against black bajans while he sat on the bench…he should be in prison…and he knows it…and they got the nerve to come back with the same crap and believe everyone should accept them…without any questions while Mia feeds their parasitic masters at the people’s expense…

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dearest SSS

“…Peterlawrencethompson

To each his opinion. justice does not feed hungry bellies or pay bills.

Foremost in the minds of bajans is the need for money…”

My dearest, there is something that you, as a woman in the middle of a Europe in daily upheaval, live with every day which allows you to arrive at that profound analysis that the Nuffernarians here miss.

At the level if the average bajan, whether they are people or sheeple, dem is not interested in “justice” and all dem lofty tings.

In fact, dearest, you and I know well dat dem doan give knd badword bout these quintessential tings dat we heah discussing with Peter and his similarly convinced colleagues.

The only thing that is important to these people in money FOLLOWED BY wukking up, parties and sex.

In fact, if a new political party were to start holding a street party every weekend AND OFFERED FREE RUM AND FOOD, Mugabe would definitely be a one term government.

Peter’s heart, is in the right place, but dis is a fellow whose Daddy was a doctor and who arrived at school in dat big square at Harsun College in an Jaguar if de rumour is correct.

I ent sure bout de car nor he school cause I ent went to dem big feller things dem

But you sight what I am saying?

For Peter and many here, dem was never hungry a day of dem lives wondering how or where dem going get food tomorrow after eating today’s scant pickings.

He is however right in saying that “instead of griping every day about it people need to get up and move” (a paraphrase not a quote)

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for SSS

@ Dearest SSS

“The devil cannot correct sin.”

How best to cover all dissenters and dissent if not to place “the agents of your despotism” in all the agencies that purportedly are to monitor these infelicities?

32. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

People need to get up and go where, move to where, and do what? There was never a time in Barbados where the cost of living afforded Barbadians a little ease, The average man on the streets, except yardfowls, and hand me down takers, look upon the set up in Barbados as unfair and purposefully developed to maintain the class structure. Barbadians do spend a lot of time talking about justice, but it is the type of conversations that would like to see all thieving politicians and lawyers lock up. They quip about the unfair process of the judiciary, but making ends meet is almost on their minds. The high food prices, the high utilities, the high rents, the taxes that milking the littles they get. The truth of the matter is, is that Peterlawrencethompson is right. Barbadians want justice for all the crimes committed against them at the hands of leaders promising rain, but the only rain that comes falls on those to whom the elected leaders love, respect, and beckon friendships.

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright February 11, 2019 5:54 AM “Peter’s heart, is in the right place, but dis is a fellow whose Daddy was a doctor and who arrived at school in dat big square at Harsun College in an Jaguar if de rumour is correct. For Peter and many here, dem was never hungry a day of dem lives.”

I didn’t go to Harrison College.

My daddy was not a doctor nor other “professional.” He outlived peter’s daddy by a decade or more (no disrespect meant Peter)

I was never ever driven to school. My parents have never owned a car. I have not owned a car for 20 years this month. I walked at least a mile each way everyday, before taking a bus the rest of the way.

My daddy had twice or three times as many children as Peter’s daddy. They all survived to old age. Well one died unnecessarily, I think, at only 65

I have NEVER gone to bed hungry a day in my life.

Barbados cannot survive and thrive by buying massive containers of food from Miami.

This morning for breakfast, brown rice, with kale, spinach, red cabbage and carrots that I grew myself, with a piece of sweet potato, which i also grew myself on top, and a little bit of Bajan fish.

The kale, cabbage and spinach bed is 12 x 3 feet.

34. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Was just going to ask where you are getting kale from, but never mind..

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Grow it myself. pit some in the soil in the rainy season. Add a little bit of fertilizer from time t time. The good Lord, and the sun does the rest. harvest it a few leaves at a time. Wash, t\them, dry them, chop and bad them. Put in the freezer until whenever.

Keep my electricity bill down by using only one light at a time. Haven’t watched TV in years. kKeep the windows open so mostly no fans or airconditioners, except mybe August and September. I’ve had colleagues whose electricity bills were $200 BDS to $1,200 BDS per month, when mine was under $100 BDS. Last month the electricity bill was $136. I think that that was too high. I could probably save $20 by not posting on BU. Lolll!!!

Barbados’ GDP is about 1/4 that of the United States, so why do we think that we can live like rich Americans?

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

bag

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ piece & Simple Simon

My Dad lived well into his 99th year so if your’s outlived him by a decade that was indeed a long life. He didn’t drive me to school… I rode my bicycle when we lived in Bellevile and my Mom and a neighbor car pooled in a Fiat 128 when we moved to St. Thomas. If I had extracurricular activities or simply missed the car in the afternoon because I got busy playing marbles, then I walked to the Princess Alice bus stand and caught the green Elite Hillaby bus back to Shop Hill. It was a privileged childhood, but I was never coddled.

You are correct that Barbados “cannot survive and thrive by buying massive containers of food from Miami.” I have a few young clients that I’m helping to build agricultural enterprises to help solve that problem. The young man in my office 15 minutes ago can make you a 3′ x 3′ vertical garden that outproduces the 12′ x 3′ conventional bed, conserves & recycles water, and you don’t have to strain your old back by bending over to reap your harvest.

38. “Why are we all dancing around the brutal truth that the problem we are discussing is a profound dysfunction deep within Bajan culture. It is not simply manifested in those that we identify as ‘yardfowls’ but is a part of all of us… it is this inane deferral of responsibility to someone else, anyone else, to take the blame for the mess we have made of our society.”

Amen. Yet a similar dysfunction is present within other societies too, Barbados is not alone with this affliction.

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

NO…but the island is closer down the totem pole to hell in a hand basket than most…

it is clear that Mia is NOT caring enough for the majority population who elected her gang to parliament..too busy filling up Cow’s pocket with taxpayers money and giving nasty, covetous Maloney what he wants… …she is saying one thing and doing the exact opposite..

…then she is trying a trump retard thing…hear her..

….oh..last two months ass fake news and rumours …but we will lay off more workers…we have not fixed shit yet…and oh don’t forget…the international creditors still to be paid…but don’t worry…ah will tell yall all about that…sooon..

pure bullshit and making it up as she goes along….and then throwing in her skunk cousin to feed ya a longer line of bullshit….just for good measure..

40. Way to go, PLT! Do you only advise young clients? I think this is the quickest and easiest way to reduce our need for foreign exchange. Why it isn’t being pushed by our governments I do not know.

As to what justice can do for a person – I know several persons who are suffering at the hands of insurance companies aided and abetted by doctors, lawyers and the tardiness of the judicial system, Justice for them would CERTAINLY put food on the table and pay their bills. It is a far greater number than the average person knows about. That is only one aspect of the problems poor or tardy access to justice pose. I knew an old lady who was swindled out of five plots of land and could not get the lawyer to move on another large plot she wanted to sell. Her close relatives are laid back and not inclined to bother. She died in her nineties in squalour waiting for the proceeds of the sale in order to repair her house. She is not the only one.

There is also the craziness that occurs when marriages are dissolved. I know women who are waiting for proceeds from settlements so they can set themselves up in business to supplement the child support and properly provide for the children of that marriage. Judgments are being ignored. Years pass by the children grow up after living in relatively deprived circumstances.

So many people do not even bother to apply to the courts for justice because they KNOW they are likely to die before their case is heard. So people just forget the debts and move on. Settlement of these debts would put food on the table and pay bills. Some small businesses are crippled by this.

I don’t know if I just happen to talk to more people than most but I happen to KNOW that lack of access to JUSTICE is one of the biggest problems in this country. Their are far reaching ramifications with lack of access to justice. One of them is inability to put food on the table and pay bills.

41. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog. Avatar
    WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog.

Last 2 months WAS fake news and rumours..

42. WARU, Crazy &Unstable, Hogging the Blog. Avatar
    WARU, Crazy &Unstable, Hogging the Blog.

Donna…all of that this government will love for everyone to ignore and forget …just as though it does not matter and does not happen way too often…because it is obviously not too negatively impacts those they care for far. more than they do their own people…..that negative, nasty attitude toward the same population who elected them…should see them shown the door and thrown out of parliament…just like DLP….ticktock.

Now in all fairness… and note that I like to be kind to children, the elderly, animals and even criminals sometimes…but I have been hearing a few things…if they turn out to be true..I will post on it..in all fairness..

…but…they got a real long way to go…to erase the destruction and criminality they are ALL GUILTY OF AND they all visited FOR decades on the supreme court and into the lives of their own people..

43. It is all about degree of separation. We are all imperfect, however, it does not mean we do not try to be the best we can by by optimally marshaling resources.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson February 11, 2019 11:48 AM “Well you old man outlived mine by about 4 years. Very good for him. Since I am a few years older that you are i might have seen you in the princes Alice busstand when I was on my way home form my firt job.

The old back is still in excellent shape. i might have told you to check with my chief for confirmation, but Hal would reprimand me (again) for unbecoming talk.

Lolll!!!

I commend you for the work that you are doing. Not just talking the talk, but walking the walk.

Excellent.

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@peterlawrencethompson February 11, 2019 11:48 AM

Had an uncle who lived in the village of Shop Hill. My mother and I would go up from time to time to get piglets from him.

Pudding and souse on a Saturday near to Christmas, and a nice, nice piece of baked pork for Christmas dinner.

I still grow food, partly because I have always had access to good fresh food, and once you have had access to good fresh food you can never again regard KD as real-real food.

46. SSS
    It is called intellect, even though Abigail claims I am in la la land. Mind you I was dead right. The problem I find is that a lotta “big” fish in dining table bowls feel dem know evahting and exposed. Murdaaaa!

47. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The real problem Mia is having is that it’s only yardfowls believe anything she says and there are not Enuff yardfowls nor tiefing minorities to reelect her in 2023…same problem DLP had..

….the biggest mistake she made yesterday is, some say…lying about the number of people she actually laid off..

..she says one thousand workers..people in other forums are saying fourteen plus hundred…were laid off..

….if she lied…very bad…if she does not know the number of people she laid off…even worse..

48. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

So now ya appointing yaself as an intellectual……wuhloss..lol

ya see now how ya always set yaself up to be a target on BU…ya lucky ah resting these days…waiting for the real fireworks to begin….ah leave ya to Piece and others in the interim , ah conserving me energy for later when I will really need it…ticktock..

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Enuff

Very much like you. All you Bim lawyers think you are all knowing oracles, versed in every subject when you are instruments manipulation

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Enuff

I really do not think you are intelligent at all. I mean persons like you would not fair well here in Europe. The problem is that no one gives a shit about speaking good. That is what bajans used as their measuring stick to determine intelligence. Whereas here, it is about your skill set and production. But, glad to know you are intelligent. Keep up the good work, buddy.