Solving crime in Barbados is analogous to a man sitting next to a functioning water faucet and complaining about being thirsty.  However, rather than turning on the faucet, he encourages others to complain with him.

We already know what to do about crime, but we refuse to do it because it is so much easier to simply complain, and commission meaningless studies to make it appear as if we are doing something useful.  We have tolerated the collateral damage for decades, and watched the anguish of crime victims, but we have chosen to do nothing meaningful except talk and complain – why?

We know the root cause of why our students gravitate to a life of crime.  It is primarily because we have designed a school curriculum to make most graduates leave school with no marketable skills.

We know why our school-leavers gravitate to a life of crime.  It is primarily because we have accepted a method of teaching that reinforces the lie that learning complex information is reserved for the few, and that the majority will forever be excluded from that few.

Solutions Barbados has advised both administrations on how to rearrange the school curriculum, so that the easier-to-learn, more exciting practical aspects of subjects can be taught before the more complex theoretical aspects.  Therefore, the entire curriculum will still be taught, but in a way that benefits all students, not just the few.  However, complaining requires significantly less effort.

We seem not to care about the damage that we have done to the self-esteem of most of our school leavers, leaving them vulnerable to being led into a life of crime, drugs and prostitution, because they believe that there is no realistic alternative to acquiring wealth.

We can easily find the drugs and guns if we wanted to, but evidently, we do not want to.  How else can we explain how the least educated school drop-outs can find these illicit things with minimal effort, but our highly trained experts and highly paid consultants claim to have no clue whatsoever.  The simple answer is that they are terrified of exposing what they are likely to find, so they prefer to play it safe and see nothing, rather than suffer the consequences of being courageous and honest.

I cannot blame them for being terrified, but they are solely responsible for their dishonesty.  Anyone who wants to know what the real Barbados is like under the curtain, need only start a political party and run in the next general election, or listen to those who have done so.

The only persons who can meaningfully address Barbados’ crime situation are our Members of Parliament.  They will only do so if they choose to.  For decades, they have chosen not to, and have instead pacified an alarmed public with effective speeches.  Sometimes, the police would be allowed to make examples of a few token criminals.

Solutions Barbados’ policy on the symptoms of crime is to make every offense carry a fine of 10 times its value.  This cost is to be used to compensate the victims and pay for the criminal justice system.  The criminal justice system is designed to serve offenders.  Therefore, they should pay for their service.

Those who plead guilty should not have to pay for a full-service, but a settlement of 3 times the value of the offence.  Those who cannot afford to pay their fines will work them off in providing labour to the nation.  For example, in restoring the Empire Theatre, and other state properties.  Imprisonment is to be reserved for violent offenders and those who choose not to attend work.

Like all effective solutions, these are simple, but not simplistic.  History has shown that simple solutions tend to be initially opposed, but through persistence, the public may eventually benefit.  The unnecessary delays tend to be caused by a small group of individuals who remain in their armchairs, loudly complain, and criticise any measure that either risks their sociopathic emotional high from watching others suffer, or their prominent positions.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

197 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Eyes Wide Shut”

1. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

That is the mistake the father made, from these idiots punished the child for standing up for his human rights, that information should have been all over social media…let the world see the human rights abuses still being perpetrated on black children in a majority Black Country by colonial slaves… just because a new government wanted to put their imps and pimps in the school canteen to funnel money into theirs and their friends pockets.

Persecuting and punishing him was obviously an attempt to send a message to black children in the school system that they will NOT BE ALLOWED TO STAND UP FOR THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS WITHOUT PERSECUTION…in their own country.

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ah hope DLP Greene is watching so that he sees why I dislike the political enslaved, the bible enslaved and the colonial enslaved…still blighting the lives of their own people.

I will advise yall to do not engage me in this forum, so i don’t go nuclear on ya asses.

3. @ A. Dullard,

Just imagine for a minute the jobs worth at the ministry of education was a magistrate; or a police officer; or a future employer? Can you now see the criminal pipeline? I know the minister is ill, but where are the politicians? Does the father have an MP?
    This idiocy starts when the children are youths at school, then goes on into postschool unemployment. Can you now see the rot at the heart of the aggressive, unforgiving Barbadian culture, that so many on BU get worked up about when it is mentioned?
    The same thing is played out in the UK, it is not new or unique. But the Brits then complain about knife crime and so-called county lines drug dealing.
    A youth at the age of 18 or 25 or 35, without qualifications or a job, still has ambitions and aspirations. They also want to own material things.
    I hope the new law and order consultant can tell this to the prime minister.

4. What did the child do to merit a two- month suspension? Did he attack a teacher or another student? Did he sabotage equipment? Did he vandalise school property? It boggles the mind to hear of a two month suspension for protesting and the “rod” may have been put away but we have other ways of punishing you and it makes me understand where the year long sentence for stealing a nail clipper comes from.

We punching

5. Once we remove the blinkered nonsense about patriotism and loyalty, we will realise the unforgiving, brutal underbelly of Barbadian society. It is cultural – a society of hangmen.

6. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin January 31, 2019 10:09 AM “Can you now see the rot at the heart of the aggressive, unforgiving Barbadian culture, that so many on BU get worked up about when it is mentioned? The same thing is played out in the UK.”

Not surprised that the same thing plays out in the U.K. because we learned this aggressiveness and unforgivingness from the U.K.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Me. I am a soft hearted idiot.

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@theogazerts January 31, 2019 7:43 AM “It could have been a drinking buddy of the principal.”

I’ve know the principal from childhood. He doesn’t drink. Has no drinking buddies.

9. Another Bajan thing is quoting out of context to make a juvenile point. It appears to be cultural. Communicating is all about context. Sit down, take a deep breath, and let me explain: I was talking about the creation of criminality from an early age by officialdom and the bogus narrative of gun crimes and knife crimes and teenage mothers and whatever social ill the blinkered middle classes want to whinge about..

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@A. Dullard January 31, 2019 8:27 AM “First, why should the boy be suspended for protesting?”

But was the boy suspended for protesting? Perhaps the Nation reporter is conflating various issues involving this child?

11. @A. Dullard,

Be careful of BU predators who stalk people on the blog simply to try and prove them wrong. They get psychological satisfaction out of that. Maybe the boy was suspended for protesting; may be the Nation reporter got it wrong; may be some buffoon on BU, taking time out from working her land, comes on to wind up people. You know the type.
    The bottom line is that some official with an obvious bloated ego is prepared to destroy a young man’s future so she could walk out of her office, go to church, and praise her Lord.
    We need to take control of schools (our nation’s future) out of the hands of semi-literate bureaucrats.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@NationNews “ten days at the Edna Nicholls Centre in St Peter.”

To the best of my knowledge children are sent to the Edna Nicholls Center for behaviour modification. As parents, as adults, we know that ALL children sometimes misbehave. Perhaps our own children and grandchildren have misbehaved. Perhaps as sensible parents we were able to correct the misbehaviour. Perhaps they listened to us their loving parents. When misbehaviour occurs what do sensible parents do? We try to teach our children right from wrong. If we are unable to manage the misbehaviour on our own we seek professional help, from psychologists, social workers, psychiatrists etc.

So the child received therapy for the ten day period. Perhaps the transfer to the Darryl Jordan School is in the best interest of the child? Perhaps the child needs to be separated from others who may be contributing to his behaviour problems?

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin January 31, 2019 11:15 AM “Be careful of BU predators who stalk people on the blog simply to try and prove them wrong. They get psychological satisfaction out of that. Maybe the boy was suspended for protesting; may be the Nation reporter got it wrong; may be some buffoon on BU, taking time out from working her land, comes on to wind up people. You know the type.”

Oh Lord. Lolll!!! Now I am a “BU predator” because I disagree with the great Hal.

A good day to you sweet Hal.

14. We do not know the specifics of the case and the underlying reality may be his overall behaviour. What we know is that he was involved in a protest and was transferred. Let us stick to the known facts and stop trying to read people’s mind..
    In any case, a 14 yr old with behavioural problems should not be left to rot on the vine. A civilised society would find ways of dealing with his problems. In Barbados they will want to crucify him as a public spectacle – it is cultural..

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Simple Simon at 11:18 AM

From the published information,what is the behavioural problem of this school child?
    Is punishment to parent and child being dispensed? Or a rehabilitative solution is being put in place?
    Is this “pour encourager les autres?

16. That’s how the system is allowed to work in Barbados, especially where people who these bureaucrats deem to be poor are concerned. I’m sure if that student’s father was a doctor, lawyer, policemen, politician, friend, white, knew a “big boy” or drove him to school in a BMW, Mercedes or a Range Rover, he would have been treated differently.

Take this simple issue for example.

There is a rule at primary schools giving teachers the right to flog students if they don’t complete homework assignments.

A primary school student informs her class teacher she was unable to complete the homework assignments because she forgot her text book at school….and shows the teacher the book in her desk drawer.

What is the teacher’s reaction? The teacher flogs the student because the school rules permit him to do so, without him assessing the situation……..and teachers flog in anger.

The lesson that is supposed to be learnt from this rule is teach children discipline…….. no matter whatever the circumstances, they must complete their homework or be flogged. A young child would interpret this as the norm with everything in life.

So, John asks James to loan him a pencil until lunch break. Unfortunately, James had to stay in class to complete an assignment and returns John’s pencil after lunch break. Similar to the teacher, John is unconcerned with reasons of the delay, but reasons he should have his pencil at lunch time…… and resorts to violence, because hitting James is viewed in the same light as the teacher flogging him for not doing his homework.

The hurtful thing about this situation, is the civil service’s organizational culture. If that student’s parents go to the school to discuss the circumstances surrounding why their child was flogged, while recommending the situation could have been differently, that child is automatically filed in “file 13,” and now becomes an outcast until it leaves school or the parents seek a transfer.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 12:12 PM

Exactly. We prefer to follow rules rather than dispense justice. Very often the rules are repugnant to common sense. Then we ask : “How did the youth get so?” Are we really training our children to think and to behave responsibly? Or are we teaching them to be bullies? We then ask ourselves:” Why is the alternative /underground system of justice gaining the upper hand?.

18. Vincent Codrington

There isn’t anything wrong with a child who fails to live up to his parents or societal expectations… that is part and parcel of the process of maturation … what is important however, is that that a child learn from his or her mistakes and try not to repeat them again.

And consequently, aren’t we not preaching hypocrisy when on the one hand the discipline of Neuroscience teaches us that the mind of a child is not fully equipped with cognitive infrastructure to make valued choices, yet on the other hand, we expect a child with this undeveloped mind to think, act and behave as responsible adults do?

Nevertheless, I do believe and still hold that children must be given the lattitude to make mistakes, but they must also be taught the consequences of those mistakes to help in they mental, emotional psychological and development.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin January 31, 2019 11:27 AM “In any case, a 14 yr old with behavioural problems should not be left to rot on the vine. A civilised society would find ways of dealing with his problems.”

The child was sent to the Edna Nicholls Center for ten days for behavioural modification. How is that him being “left to rot on the vine?”

20. Maybe Jeff can address this problem I have with the criminal justice system here in America concerning minors:

Now on the one hand the Law says that a child under the age of 16 cannot give sexual consent to an adult … because he or she does not have mental architecture/ infrastructure to make such a decision.

While on the other hand, the Law treats that same minor/ child as an adult if he or she commits mass murder or some heinous act …

So the question that often puzzles me is how did prosecutes arrived at such a conclusion when the age of the child is a clear indicator or his or her mental development?

Now it seems to me like the nature of the act determines the mental development of the child…

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Vincent Codrington January 31, 2019 12:12 PM “From the published information,what is the behavioural problem of this school child? Is punishment to parent and child being dispensed? Or a rehabilitative solution is being put in place?”

Are you being disingenuous Vincent? You know as well as I do that the details of a minor’s behavioural problems cannot be specified in public. Would you like all of us to have access to YOUR medical/psychological file? No?

What if neither the child nor the parent is being punished. What if the transfer is an attempt to help the child to manage his behaviour.

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin January 31, 201911:27 AM “In Barbados they will want to crucify him as a public spectacle.”

Please take note that according to the Nation report, the boy’s father called the newspaper. It is not any “they” that have made him a public spectacle.

Sadly it is his own father.

A child was sent to professional therapy, and transferred away from his problems, giving a chance to begin anew, and silly old men who should know better are talking about crucifixion.

23. I have told you about selective quoting. You just cannot help it. Plse re-read the context. Remind me, which university did you go to? You are speculating on something you do not know about, unless you have special access to the boy’s school records.

24. SirSimple

Not only a minors personal information, but adults as well … cannot disclose such information without they consent … the HIPPA law protects my personal or private information from public disclosure devoid my consent… And it is called the (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) HIPPA …

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

According to the longer report in the Nation (paper edition) which I just bouht from the shop the father said “My son is one of the brightest children at Grantley Adams.” The father pointed out that the boy was awarded two prizes for excellent work in Social Studies and English at the school’s speech day held last week. He also received a certificate from Edna Nicholls for student of the week.

And further according to the Nation “Dissatisfied with being given this information on the telephone, he went to the Ministry of Education yesterday to seek clarity. he said he was finally informed by an official there that his son was being transferred because of an incident involving him and a teacher at the school. While he was aware of that particular incident, the father said as far as he was concerned, it was a misunderstanding and he thought the matter had been dropped. He charged that no one at the school informed him his child was being disciplined for that situation”

26. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Sir Simple…please stop trying to rewrite the facts, this child was targeted, what goddam professional therapy what…there is no such thing in Barbados, I can tell you that for a fact…unless it was massage therapy….they got some good ones there.

Besides…the principal at Grantley Adams is a total jackass…both you and. I know this…and let’s not start on the colonial slaves in the ministry of miseducation…the british really need to come back and take their goddamn slaves. they are useless. as only the enslaved mind can be.

27. I will preface my comments by stating that I am going by the report of the father.

It appears that this principal has brought his suitcase of problems with him from Alma Parris. This is how the ministry deals with problems. They shift them from school to school. Never a resolution. From the very beginning the situation was handled badly. It should not surprise us that it was not allowed to die a peaceful death.

In Barbados there is no reasoning with children. We have to show who’s the boss even when we are wrong. That seems to be how we get our jollies. Our attitude sucks. This current crop of young people are NOT going to accept that. So we could put that in our pipes and smoke it. It will not end well for ANY of us. There must be a change.

Artax is quite correct in his assessment of flogging in these schools. It is very much overused.

Here’s another instance of stupidity in the classroom.

A classmate slapped my son around his head during class. My son shouted in alarm. The teacher did not see the slap and refused to believe him. The boy denied slapping my son. She believed the liar as seems often to be the case. So she punished my son by sending him to run around the playing field. It was just after he had eaten. He returned to the classroom feeling queasy. He asked to go to the bathroom to vomit and was denied. He swallowed hard and kept it down. (Not what his rebel mother would have done.)

At the class level meeting my son was labelled part of the problem in a rowdy class. She was the only one of the seven teachers I saw who had a problem with his behaviour. She stuck to her guns insisting that she could not possibly have missed any slap in a class she herself had described as loud and rowdy.

A few weeks later the boy slapped another child. This time she saw. Instead of just believing and apologising to my son she asked the boy why he had done it. He lied and said that the boy had “interfered” with him. She asked him if he only slapped boys who interfered with him. He said yes. She decided that my son would have interfered with the boy and was therefore still the cause of the problem. That was her way to achieve her objective of NOT APOLOGIZING.

And one would think it would end there. But no! Since then she tried to get my son flogged for walking in what she somehow determined to be a restricted area, even though another teacher had called him. She also sent him to be flogged because a female student hugged HIM. She has pulled him back from passing through where a line of children had already passed and told him “You en got nuh manners anyway. If she had put her hands on ME in that manner after all that persecution she would have been slapped. But not my son.

Luckily the senior teacher and the principal are not stupid as she is or it surely would not have ended well because I don’t play. And the funny thing is that my father believes that it is good to experience these things to teach the lesson that life isn’t fair.

He did not even think of the lesson about standing up for your rights.

And so it continues.

And our children get angrier and angrier.

And turn on each other.

And the real enemies proceed with impunity to oppress the people of Barbados.

28. I would normally dismiss such nonsense, but it is typical of a certain discursive style, summed up in the popular saying: I know he, man. He ain’t no good. It is cultural. It is interesting how one has to make adjustments when one moves outside one’s comfort zone.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Simple Simon

I asked you for the published information. I never asked you to disclose any confidential information. The truth is that there is none. But you engage in a lot of” what ifs’ drivel to support the unfair treatment to the lad and his parent. We send our children to school to be trained to be good citizens; not to be labeled and profiled. Some one asked : “Were he the son of “a big up” would this issue be treated in this manner?

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Thanks. Smile.

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The british need to return to Barbados and collect their STINKING PERFECT SLAVES…starting with the dirty, corrupt, thieving ones they got in the parliament..and in the judiciary…

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Vincent Codrington January 31, 2019 2:25 PM “Simple Simon: I asked you for the published information. I never asked you to disclose any confidential information.”

And I could not have given you any confidential information, because I don’t know any. I too knew only what I read in the Nation online, the brief report. I was curious, so I walked to the shop and bought a paper copy of the Nation which has a fuller story. Perhaps David BU can publish it for you. I can’t. I have zero techie skills.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Don’t care what contrived stories the principal and lowlifes in the miseducation ministry come up with now…that child was targeted, nothing can change that…there is a pattern of human rights abuses against black children in Barbados….by the black ass government and ministry officials…

They allowed an ugly vicious teacher to teach black boys particularly to hate themselves for 16 goddamn years in one of the top schools on the island..and only just got her ass retired recently because she messed with the right family and it was exposed…..we know how they mistreat the black kids in the other schools they consider low schools with their backward asses, we know how they violate their rights…, ..so don’t come telling us any goddamn nanci (anancy) stories..we know a whole lot better.

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog January 31, 2019 2:05 PM ” what goddam professional therapy what…there is no such thing in Barbados.”

I did a quick search for psychiatrists in Barbados and found 5. I searched for psychologists in Barbados and found 32. Plus there are dozens of social workers. Even while this number may not be optimum in a population of 280,000 of which 10% may need to access professional therapy, to say that there is no such thing as professional therapy in Barbados is a big fat lie.

And who tells the mostest, biggest, fattest lies on this blog?

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Whatever…what professional therapy what…there is nothing professional about the jokes ya got posing as child psychologists…I have met a few…and is it not obvious that their work is useless…look at the mental condition of most of your young men who fall through the cracks…and then tell me how professional and successful ya psychologists are…the quickest thing they do is prescribe shite fo children to ingest..

statistics will show who is lying,..look at ya crime rate….look at ya employment rate among young people who can end up taking up to 5 or 10 years to find some low level shite job with some slave master wannabe..

36. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The problems lie in the slave minded scum ya got as principals who appoint themselves god, many of them see these children who were dragged through the 11 plus as targets to be mistreated, ya unprofessional teachers of which there are too many and the clowns in the ministry of miseducation…who should be shackled and chained.

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog January 31, 2019 4:06 PM “The problems lie in the slave minded scum ya got as principals…ya unprofessional teachers…and the clowns in the ministry of miseducation.”

In every country of the world, every class, every race, every religion, every gender there are children who are a challenge to raise successfully. We work with those children and their parents, and their teachers. I don’t see how chaining and shackling the teachers will solve anything. I don’t see how lying about there being no therapists is a helpful thing to do. Sometimes we as parents, as teachers, as elders have to save our children from themselves.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog January 31, 2019 4:02 PM “prescribe shite fo children to ingest.”

Now if only we could get you to take your prescribed medicine…

39. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Dear WARU:

Are you related to Donald Trump?

No. Let me rephrase that.

Are you Donald Trump?

40. every argument you posit is seated in some slavery meme bs theory. every bajan is a thief. every bajan is a child molester. every police is corrupt. every judge is on the take and every lawyer is corrupt. will the last honest bajan please lock the gates

you must have had a very trying childhood.

the fact of the matter is that school is a very valuable and enjoyable experience. at least it was for me.

learning by rote is necessary in the early parts of life. we do the things we see the adults doing cause we know no better and compliance at that stage is necessary for survival. we learn the abc and to count and multiple by memory. that exercise improves our mental faculty and grows our brains so to speak. at that point there is no real need to analyse anything. for survival we follow the older folks as i have said.

as we get older and more experience we learn to question things in an effort to understand the world around us. that is when we become curious and our analytical hackles are raised- usually in our teens. but at this stage we still dont fully understand the world and that is where we need guidance to ease us along this phase in our life.

it is around the age of 25 that we come into our own and can decipher BS from what is real. mind you many of us never reach this level for many reasons. i remember when i was 18 in sixth i told my father i dont want to hear anything he has to say because i knew and he warned me that with all those o levels and As i knew nothing. at 24 after working for a bit post uni i went back to him and apologised. he laughed

in our 30s is when we get to understand that life is actually full of shite and no one on this earth actually know what they are doing- we are only just doing the best we can given our education and experiences.

and in the 40s and 50s is when we come to realise that we actually know nothing but try to make our children believe that we do and the cycle continues

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@James Greene January 31, 2019 6:05 PM “in our 30s is when we get to understand that life is actually full of shite and no one on this earth actually know what they are doing- we are only just doing the best we can given our education and experiences.”

Love this part. It made me laugh, then cry. Thank you.

42. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“I don’t see how lying about there being no therapists is a helpful thing to do. ”

So that is your excuse for having failed therapists…steuppppsss

43. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Well..everyone is now seeking to be a facebook star..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/964527803756759/?t=0

44. SirSimple

I real thought my grandfather and grandma generation had it together … he was born in 1910; and she was born in 1900 … My grandfather I did admired more than father

Because he was self made man who owned a lot of property and livestock throughout the Christ Church area. In fact, grandfather uprooted the entire family and moved it to one of his many houses in Christ Church in 1978 …

Now picture the horrors this town boy must have gone through after leaving the lights of the city, and moving to Browns Gap Christ Church in the pitch dark in front of a Canfield…and we stayed there from 1978 to 1979 and then moved back to Bush Hall from whence we came..

45. Really in barbados storm troopers putting kids under heavy manners for protesting
    Really WTF

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=964527803756759&id=100005986451739

46. WARU,

Not all principals and teachers are the same. My son has quite a few teachers who are not like that and a few who are absolute gems. The principal is a very reasonable fellow. The problem is the few that are allowed to remain in the system with all their problems. These few can make life miserable for the children.

47. I would have made a social studies lesson out of the protesting. Wouldn’t that have been more constructive?

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife January 31, 2019 3:48 PM
    “I did a quick search for psychiatrists in Barbados and found 5. I searched for psychologists in Barbados and found 32. Plus there are dozens of social workers. Even while this number may not be optimum in a population of 280,000 of which 10% may need to access professional therapy, to say that there is no such thing as professional therapy in Barbados is a big fat lie.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    And all along we were duped by the “SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife” into believing that the cause of all bad behaviours in boys and men was that of Testosterone with the only solution being castration of all males between the age of 2 to 82?

Why aren’t you now recommending such a final solution for the boy and his father who caused this storm in a teacup which the MoE has now thrown down the drain of political interference?

Your own words have come back to bite you in your male-hating ass, not so Sir Simple Simon the dyke of “whiteHill”?

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 7:13 PM

So would I. That episode was very instructive. It certainly reinforced my hypothesis that children learn by watching their elders. They also put into action what grown ups say but never put into action. Children have rights. Children also have a right to eat what appeal to their taste buds. Children have a right to buy what they can afford.

50. Vincent Codrington

It certainly reinforce my hypothesis that children learn from watching their elders … then tell me who was Jeffrey Dahmer watching to have sink so deep into in humanity?