Solving crime in Barbados is analogous to a man sitting next to a functioning water faucet and complaining about being thirsty.  However, rather than turning on the faucet, he encourages others to complain with him.

We already know what to do about crime, but we refuse to do it because it is so much easier to simply complain, and commission meaningless studies to make it appear as if we are doing something useful.  We have tolerated the collateral damage for decades, and watched the anguish of crime victims, but we have chosen to do nothing meaningful except talk and complain – why?

We know the root cause of why our students gravitate to a life of crime.  It is primarily because we have designed a school curriculum to make most graduates leave school with no marketable skills.

We know why our school-leavers gravitate to a life of crime.  It is primarily because we have accepted a method of teaching that reinforces the lie that learning complex information is reserved for the few, and that the majority will forever be excluded from that few.

Solutions Barbados has advised both administrations on how to rearrange the school curriculum, so that the easier-to-learn, more exciting practical aspects of subjects can be taught before the more complex theoretical aspects.  Therefore, the entire curriculum will still be taught, but in a way that benefits all students, not just the few.  However, complaining requires significantly less effort.

We seem not to care about the damage that we have done to the self-esteem of most of our school leavers, leaving them vulnerable to being led into a life of crime, drugs and prostitution, because they believe that there is no realistic alternative to acquiring wealth.

We can easily find the drugs and guns if we wanted to, but evidently, we do not want to.  How else can we explain how the least educated school drop-outs can find these illicit things with minimal effort, but our highly trained experts and highly paid consultants claim to have no clue whatsoever.  The simple answer is that they are terrified of exposing what they are likely to find, so they prefer to play it safe and see nothing, rather than suffer the consequences of being courageous and honest.

I cannot blame them for being terrified, but they are solely responsible for their dishonesty.  Anyone who wants to know what the real Barbados is like under the curtain, need only start a political party and run in the next general election, or listen to those who have done so.

The only persons who can meaningfully address Barbados’ crime situation are our Members of Parliament.  They will only do so if they choose to.  For decades, they have chosen not to, and have instead pacified an alarmed public with effective speeches.  Sometimes, the police would be allowed to make examples of a few token criminals.

Solutions Barbados’ policy on the symptoms of crime is to make every offense carry a fine of 10 times its value.  This cost is to be used to compensate the victims and pay for the criminal justice system.  The criminal justice system is designed to serve offenders.  Therefore, they should pay for their service.

Those who plead guilty should not have to pay for a full-service, but a settlement of 3 times the value of the offence.  Those who cannot afford to pay their fines will work them off in providing labour to the nation.  For example, in restoring the Empire Theatre, and other state properties.  Imprisonment is to be reserved for violent offenders and those who choose not to attend work.

Like all effective solutions, these are simple, but not simplistic.  History has shown that simple solutions tend to be initially opposed, but through persistence, the public may eventually benefit.  The unnecessary delays tend to be caused by a small group of individuals who remain in their armchairs, loudly complain, and criticise any measure that either risks their sociopathic emotional high from watching others suffer, or their prominent positions.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

197 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Eyes Wide Shut”

1. Grenville,

i know you from school. you are correct about how the school system can become more practical.

and some of solutions you posited have merit but do you really want to create a Barbados labour camp?

unless you provide more information how can anyone believe some of your assertions?

you come over too pious sometimes, appear to know all the answers and believe no one else have a clue.

be very careful there, mate. life is not as simple as you think it is.

there has always been crime and there will always be crime.

nevertheless some very useful contributions. you are never short of solutions for Barbados, however simple but not simplistic

2. Solutions Barbados’ policy on the symptoms of crime is to make every offense carry a fine of 10 times its value. This cost is to be used to compensate the victims and pay for the criminal justice system. The criminal justice system is designed to serve offenders. Therefore, they should pay for their service.(Quote)

I suggest that Mr Phillips should do some reading on Hitler and Mussolini. I am sure he is a good structural engineer. He should avoid social policy.

3. Hmmmmm I endorsed it ALL…

4. Students leaving school with no marketable skills

Greenville, Peter Bradshaw sat next to me at St. Leonard Boys Secondary … I left school and entered the Skills Training Program at the polytechnic … Bradshaw left school and entered a career of crime …the opportunity was available to him as it was to me… but he chose career of crime… it all boils down to choice …

5. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

Lets looks a this scenario.

There is a brawl that leads to shots being fired at each other. Of he many shots fired by these person one of the two actors gets wounded and dies. Therefore trhe police now has a homocide case to solve. Also of the many shots fired two innocent by-standers are wounded. One innocent by-standers is not wounded critically but the other by standers dies from his/her gun shit wound.

investigations prove that the innocent by stander dies from the gun fired by the perpetrator that is alive/. all things being equal the police will charge this person with two counts of homicide.

What happens to the families of the by-standers that are kiled and wounded. These famillies maybe poor. One fa,ily will no have to bury a love one and the other family will have to deal with the injuries to their. In bith cases it may be a loss of income or a complete lost of income.

What provision is there under our laws that the perpetrator not pay some moneys to the families of the living and dead by-standers.
    because of their actions we maybe putting a family onto the streets as the bread winner is now dead or injured maybe unable to work again. There should be some financial help coming from the perpetrator to the victims of these crimes as funerals and/or physical therapy are not free in Barbados. At the least they should be made to cover reasonable funeral cost if an innocent person died by their action.

6. Sirfuzzy

In America as soon as there is conviction in the criminal case, the victim’s family can file a civil case against perpetrator for punitive damages for wrongful death …

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Grenville always loses me in his last 2 paragraphs..

you have everything covered, you understand what is going on, I got info today that blew my mind and that is no easy feat…info am sure many people also have and are sharing all over WhatsApp….why can’t you follow through with what really needs to be done…instead of this fairytale 10 times what the bribes or fine or whatever is…

…..the crimes against the people are horrendous and deserves serious punishment….

….a well known individual said today he cannot understand why the place is so dirty…with corruption and everything destructive to the people, he actually spread the info across Europe about the guns and drugs and crimes…this is not going away unless aggressively dealt with…and…he made sure to include that neither government has ever cared sufficiently for the young people, 2 generations worth….to do any better….since before 1966.

8. Sirfuzzy

Now suppose the perpetrator estate is void of accesses … what would be the victim’s family recourse? In America you have find the money to bury you love one because surely, the government isn’t going to do it willingly for you…

9. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Lexicon January 29, 2019 8:30 PM

You said i the US there can be a wrong death civil suit. I would like to know if there is such a provision in Bim as wrongful death civil proceedings..

If the convicted person has no money then s be it; at least the legal recourse that is available will concluded that he is broke etc.

10. Sirfuzzy

You are asking the wrong person about Barbados jurisprudence …I suggest you direct your question to Jeff he practice law in Bim … Ask me anything about the US jurisprudence and I might be able to give you an honest answer …

11. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Lexicon January 29, 2019 9:08 PM

I am hoping that Jeff supplies us with such an answer.

12. Sirfuzzy

If you noticed in the OJ case murder he was acquitted in the criminal case, but he was liable in the civil case because the burden of proof varies in both the criminal and civil case …

13. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Lexicon January 29, 2019 9:08 PM

Followed it but not that intently after we got the “not guilty” verdict etc

14. Greenville Phillips

Greenville, the more I read you article the more I am convinced that you are an ideologue because only an idealist can propose what you suggest for punishment…

However, there is a book called the Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela, and if there is one thing that sticks out in my mind about that book is what he said about penalty … and it as follow: ” Penalty does not deter a man when his conscience has been aroused.”

Moreover, if penalty was an effective deterrent why would after 30 years of imprisonment, and a number of those years on death row … would Peter Bradshaw returned to a life of crime shortly after his released?

15. Prison is a failed institution because man is an adaptable being … Incarceration does not address criminal behaviour; had it there would be no more prisons after the first example of incarceration and execution …

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@SirFuzzy, is your 9:14 query not one of basic law that most folks accept?

If I am on your property and I fall or have some harmful accident due to some provable negligent (careless and dangerous) act on your part are you not liable to pay me costs and damages if found at fault by the courts when I sue you?… don’t Bajans sue successfully if they fall because of a water spill or other fixable and dangerous hazard in a supermarket, as an example?

If you have an illegal gun in your possession and fire a shot whether directly at me or at someone else and the ricochet harms me why can’t I sue you civilly for negligent harm… what you doing playing wid the gun in public; wha u doing with an illegal firearm… if you is a rich fella den definitely you should be made to compensate me for my pain and suffering, attorneys fees, long term medical care, my wife’s sorrow (or joy, depending), and eva thing I can legally demand due to your careless, negligent and stupid acts!

Isn’t death the ultimate (preventable) accident caused by a negligent action? …

With the number of lawyers hungry for business practicising in Bim I would find it strange if legal actions are not lodged in most instances where a negligent actor has the financial resources to pay damages to the unfortunate victim!

But wha money (that can be taken) these low level gangsters got to pay somebody… let’s be real, pls!

17. Pedantic

The gun doesn’t have to be an illegal gun in order for you to sue him for reckless endangerment … Let assume he was playing around with his legal firearm, and accidentally pull the trigger and the gun goes off an injure your spine leaving you paralyzed … you can then sue him for punitive damages /pain and suffering…

18. Pedantic

It is then left to the state prosecutor or district attorney to file criminal charges against him if he deems it necessary …

19. Lexicon: You are mistaken re: ideologue. I do not think that prison is a sufficient deterrent, that is why we are fining persons. If someone steals a cell phone worth $700, they do not go to prison, but must pay a fine of $7,000.

If he cannot pay, then he works. If he chooses to steal another phone, then he must pay a further $7,000. Eventually, it will begin to dawn on him that it is a lot less expensive to simply purchase his own cell phone. Therefore, we are not relying on whether there is successful rehabilitation, we just want the victims compensated.

20. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ de pedantic Dribbler January 29, 2019 10:31 PM

Maybe its on the laws books and covered under some statue etc. As u said getting compensation from a dry hole maybe next to impossible; and maybe that is why little is civil action is engaged. I would still like to hear if civil action in “wrongful deaths”(American legal jargon) can be a civil legal proceeding in Barbados?

just wondering/asking.

21. Possessing a legal firearm exposes you to a lot of liability as well… let say you were walking and a perpetrator approached you and points a gun in your back, and steals your wallet … and you take out you license pistol fire at him miss and strikes a bystander injuring him … you will be civilly liable for his injures, but based on the circumstances of the incident you might quite possibly face criminal charges … because the law always allow for away of escape …

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Steupseee

23. Those who cannot afford to pay their fines will work them off in providing labour to the nation. For example, in restoring the Empire Theatre, and other state properties.
    ++++++++++++++++
    This is a modern- day equivalent of US southern justice, it was called a CHAIN GANG and was used mainly against Black prisoners. Most Bajans should feel some sort of revulsion that a would-be politician would recommend this type of state restitution/punishment, what’s next a Soviet style gulag or a Chinese re-education camp? You can dress it up all you like I will still call it by its name: CHAIN GANG.

I wasn’t aware that you and the former Sheriff of Maricopa County Joe Arpaio had much in common but apparently, I was mistaken.

24. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ grenville.

How do u propose to apply the 10X rule when it comes to acts/crimes against the person? Where not merchandise was stolen etc.

Eg, A man bust another man head for horning he wid his girl friend.

Just asking

25. Greenville

Then what if he refuses to work? And decides that laying in a prison cell is better than labouring in the sweltering heat?

26. Greenville

In theory this all sounds great, but I do not think it is practical …

27. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

I can see what GP3 is trying to come around to. GP3 is looking at crime and the cause of crime from an econimic viewpoint.

a) The police has to arrest and charge you. There is a cost to such activity
    b) Court time etc . Thats another cost
    c) If found guilty u are locked up. There is another cost. Here GP3 wants to save some money.

The society is basically spending money to lock u up and it cost money. if you were fined the cost to imprison you will be removed. so you have to work to pay off your fine; the criminal will be adding value to some activity.

GP3 tactic is to make sure everyone is adding value and building Barbados, not being a burden onthe society.

Its not a chain gang or labour camp by any means. in the US some person do community service when found guilty of certain crimes. There are some areas along the roads that need debushing. it seems to take MTW for eva to make this happen. Why cant we use some of the convicted persons to do this instead of sending them to the prison, they will be working off the fine doing something needed inthe society.

Just my take..

28. Greenville

I don’t think that it is enforceable and I will tell you why: here in this state if you are caught using your cell phone the first time you have to pay $100$, the second time $200, and third time$500, and to this date not one person has been brought before the courts for using their cell phone while driving … Cops use them along the highway everyday …

29. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Lexicon January 29, 2019 11:45 PM

Maybe those are the one that need to be in the chain gang doing hard time.

Just saying

30. Sirfuzzy

You are right about community service … it is much more cost effective than throwing someone in jail for a petty crime at the expense of taxpayers dollars …

31. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Grenville Phillips “We know the root cause of why our students gravitate to a life of crime. It is primarily because we have designed a school curriculum to make most graduates leave school with no marketable skills. We know why our school-leavers gravitate to a life of crime. It is primarily because we have accepted a method of teaching that reinforces the lie that learning complex information is reserved for the few, and that the majority will forever be excluded from that few.”

To use the words of another blogger “bovine excrement”

You need to get over whatever difficulties you had in elementary or secondary school.

32. Sirfuzzy

Then there is an Ankle Monitor for those on house arrest or parole …another cost effective tool … which saves taxpayers money …

33. Sirfuzzy

Then there is an Ankle Monitor for those on house arrest or parole …another cost effective tool … which saves taxpayers money …

34. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Grenville Phillips “Solutions Barbados’ policy on the symptoms of crime is to make every offense carry a fine of 10 times its value. ”

I am not in favour of crime nor criminals, but this is a foolish suggestion (I wish that I could be gentler) Many criminals are poor. 10x fines will further impoverish the families of criminals. Is that really what you want to do? And when people can’t pay with money what will you do then? Have the state suck their blood? Permanently enslave the criminals? Hasn’t Barbados gone the enslavement route before? Did it work nicely for the majaority of Barbados’ population, including my fore-parents and yours?

No?

So why demand 10x money from people who have no hope of ever being able to pay it?

And if the criminals don’t have the money, are you seriously suggesting forced labour?

Really?

35. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Hal Austin January 29, 2019 7:22 PM “I suggest that Mr Phillips should do some reading on Hitler and Mussolini. I am sure he is a good structural engineer. He should avoid social policy.”

Thank you Hal.

Exactly why I did NOT vote for Solutions Barbados. Thoughtless, ahistorical, right-wing nonsense.

36. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@Lexicon January 29, 2019 7:54 PM “Peter Bradshaw sat next to me at St. Leonard Boys Secondary. I left school and entered the Skills Training Program at the polytechnic. Bradshaw left school and entered a career of crime, the opportunity was available to him as it was to me.”

Thanks Lexicon.

37. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) January 29, 2019 8:12 PM “At the least they should be made to cover reasonable funeral cost if an innocent person died by their action.”

Dear Sir Fuzzy: When you discover how to get blood out of a stone, or how to turn dross into gold, please let the rest of us know.

38. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Sir Simple Simon, P.C. January 30, 2019 12:16 AM

Did u actually read what he wrote? did you see anything about 3X is u plead guilty and working off the fine if you cannot pay it.

Maybe you need to reread it before you comment? lol

Just suggesting?

39. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

Poor as ass is poor as ass. You CANNOT get plenty, plenty money out of poor people. Why can’t monied people understand that? And “no” I am NOT in favour of enslaving anybody, not even criminals, not ever murderers.

Barbados went down that enslavement road before. It did not work for the majority of people. It left a badly dysfunctional society. We must NEVER, NEVER go that way again.

40. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Sir Simple Simon, P.C. January 30, 2019 12:24 AM

Maybe the victims family that now has to find money from somewhere to bury their love one will tell u how to do what u are asking me about.

I am not sure about your coinage, but most coins do have two sides. I will suggest you look at both side before.. you comment.

Just saying.

41. Sir Simple Simon, P.C. Avatar
    Sir Simple Simon, P.C.

@de pedantic Dribbler January 29, 2019 10:31 PM “But wha money (that can be taken) these low level gangsters got to pay somebody.”

Low level gangsters living in a government housing unit with their mummies, or in an 18 x 10 propped up with a few soft stones. Never had a real-real job, behind on the child support payments. Grenville has lived a charmed life, where there was always enough money.

Most young gangsters are not so fortunate. Most don’t have the money to child support, the electric bill, a lawyer, then fines of 10x.

Grenville has lived a charmed life. He don’t know poor, poor. Poor is ass.

42. Caribbean solidarity with Venezuela!

43. Good article GP, your theory that the authorities don’t want to investigate too thoroughly for fear of what they find is analogous to the Muslim plague in Europe, where the cancer has been allowed to spread unchecked, and not only is it inconvenient for the Establishments to do so, it is even more inconvenient for them to have the people speaking out about it, and that oxymoronic word ‘islamophobia’ was invented to cow the little people into silence.
    I like your proposal of working off debts instead of incarceration for non-violent offenders, as chain gangs are highly visible, and shaming.
    For a real solution, as I have said before, fear needs to be instilled into the criminal classes. In the 70s at the height of the Northern Irish Troubles it was said that they could be solved by shooting 200 men from both sides. Of course this was unacceptable so hundreds more had to die to prove our humanity.
    The system now is that the human rights of criminals and terrorists trump those of their victims. How wrong can we get it?

44. @ ANTICONQUISTA – surely you mean solidarity with the Venezuelan people, and not the asshole subjecting them to their trials and tribulations.

45. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

You said in the US there can be a wrong death civil suit. I would like to know if there is such a provision in Bim as wrongful death civil proceedings..

I am hoping that Jeff supplies us with such an answer.

Where, after 22nd January, 1981, injury or death is caused by the fault or neglect of another under circumstances where the person is entitled to recover damages, or would have been entitled to recover if not killed, the dependants of the person are entitled to recover their pecuniary loss resulting from the injury or death from the person from whom the person injured or killed is entitled to recover or would have been so entitled if not killed, and to maintain an action for the purpose in a court of competent jurisdiction. Section 3, Accidents Compensation Reform Act 1980

46. 45gov

“For a real solution, as I have said before, fear needs to be installed in the criminal classes”

And what would you solution be?

1) Cutting off their feet to prevent them from escaping?

2) Slow roasting them if they commits murder?

3) Removing their testicles if they rape?

4) Cutting out their tongue to prevent the from telling lies?

But what you do not know or care to is that penalty does not deter a man when his conscience has been aroused, and that came from a man who took violence to the South African Apartheid government knowing fully well that if he was caught death would have been his final punishment. But he pressed on because he knew that his freedom and that of his people was more important than his life or the consequences to be had from his actions.

47. 45gov … you got nothing better do than to sit around and write a lot of RH…

48. @Lexicon

No more warnings.

49. David

I hear your warning David… I shall ignore this chap moving forward… Thanks

50. @ Lexicon,

Why are you being warned?