Pow Pow…this is Barbados

Photo credit: Barbados Today

bang bang bang bang all day, tension in the atmosphere…tell me what is happening to the young generation…call de police…arm the police.

Who would have thought the landscape of Barbados known for order and relative calm compared to our neighbours Trinidad and Jamaica would be one characterized in 2015 […]

as the Mighty Gabby did all those years ago?

This cannot be Barbados!

left right left right the government boots…is it necessary to have so many soldiers in this small country…is it necessary to shine soldier boots with taxpayers money…he buying boots to cover soldier toe.

Is this Barbados where the standing Prime Minister feels compel to publicly credit the Barbados Defence Force  for contributing to the  ‘enduring  national endeavour’ of Barbados being a safe, secure and stable environment?

This cannot be Barbados!

In 2011 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to what was a rising crime:

We have seen the startling crime statistics in other Caribbean countries, and it would be tantamount to burying our heads in the sand if we were to believe that this is not possible in Barbados. But, left unchecked, that is precisely what would happen. The importation of illegal arms and illegal drugs gives the criminal element the leverage to wreak havoc on our society; as the two are linked to most of the heinous acts committed – Statement On The Crime Situation By Attorney General, The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite

In 2015 the Attorney General of Barbados uttered the following words in response to rising crime:

… Last year was a 14 per cent decrease from the year before, so when one looks at the overall statistics one has the impression that what is happening is really just a correction to us going back to more or less what our norm is – I think about 9000 reported crimes per annum – AG: Crime update

This cannot be Barbados!

Several years ago Barbados Underground cautioned Barbados the weeds were sprouting on our manicured lawns and we needed (urgently) to deal with the root of the problem. In 2015 we are forced to listen to politicians addressing the crime problem by retreating to statistical mumbo jumbo. Here AG Adriel Brathwaite:

The Attorney General’s remarks came as he noted that research has shown that the higher the educational attainment in a country, the lower the rate of individuals being involved in homicides – Barbados Advocate

The AG appears to have forgotten the change to government tuition policy has resulted in a precipitous drop in enrolment (of young Barbadians) at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. The BCC according to reports received 5,000 applications for 1,200 available places. How can we sustain the character of the society that has made Barbadians proud and the envy of our neighbours under the current state?

This cannot be Barbados!

There maybe hope yet for policymakers because outspoken minister Donville Inniss recognized we have to stop pushing our heads in the sand as it relates to the crime problem.  The platitudes will get us so far. Time for an action plan.

This is Barbados!

187 comments

• the customs can complain all they want these recent allegations which warrants more than a “thought of concern” would give the govt the “upper hand” to seize upon with force to usher in the control necessary to protect the citizens and the streets of barbados from thugs! hooligans and gun carrying thugs and drug traffickers ,If customs does not like the most wanted solution of cameras too bad .but barbados national interest supersedes the caswells and any other entity who believes they have a God given right to self interest and any thing else can wait until themselves give the say so, Hell have no fury lie a woman scorned if govt allow these arrogant bastards to stand in the way of protecting the nations security first and foremost,

• @Dompey,
    Don’t you read? If a person is caught committing a crime, or is deemed to be a habitual criminal, either in America or Canada, He or she even if they came to the U.S. at an early age and have no connection with Barbados other than the fact that their parents are Barbadians, and they have been in the U.S. all their later life, the law allows nay requires, that they be sent back to Barbados even though they have NO connection or relatives in Barbados. There was a case last year where a woman was murdered, her body put in the trunk of a car. When the police solved the crime it was discovered that the murderer had been deported from the U.S. He was not the only one. Check with the police. Check with your politicians. Do your investigation and get back to me.

• @Dompey et al.

for your information. Copied from an article written in a Caribbean paper.

“The crime was horrifying enough — a nightclub owner, hacked to death with a machete, was found buried in pieces. But what really outraged people was that the accused killer had been deported from the US to his native Grenada as a convicted felon.

As a foreign-bred criminal, the suspect never should have returned to the close-knit tropical nation, relatives of the victim and others said. Islanders called for more vigilance over deportees by the government, which says it needs help from Washington to handle the return of hardened convicts.

“I hope that my brother did not die in vain and something can be done to monitor these criminal deportees,” said Gemma Raeburn-Baynes, a sister of the nightclub owner, Michael Raeburn-Delfish.

The United States has deported thousands of convicted criminals to the Caribbean annually since 1996, when Congress mandated that every non-citizen sentenced to a year or more in prison be kicked out of the country upon release. In all, the US is responsible for about three-quarters of the region’s returning criminal deportees, with the United Kingdom and Canada accounting for most of the other ex-cons arriving in the islands.

It’s a phenomenon that also afflicts many parts of Central America, where street gangs that grew out of Los Angeles spread to the region through massive deportations. Brutal and powerful, the “Maras” are blamed for rampant violent crime, extortion and more recently acting as enforcers for drug cartels.

In the Caribbean, governments say deportees are exacerbating crime in nations with high levels of violence such as Jamaica. On the smaller islands such as Grenada, once considered idyllic havens from gang violence, officials say the returning deportees are partly to blame for increasingly bold and sophisticated crimes and homicide rates soaring to record levels.

The United States is attempting to defuse tensions with island governments by exploring programs to help them reintegrate deportees. During a visit to Barbados in June, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said the US is no longer ignoring complaints that have topped the Caribbean’s diplomatic agenda for more than a decade.

US officials say privately that the deportations cannot be blamed for the increase in violent crime, but declined to discuss the issue on the record, saying the US does not want to hurt relations with Caribbean governments with which it cooperates on other issues.

The man accused in the machete attack in Grenada, Ronald Michael Phillip, 55, was deported from the United States on July 6, 2000, the day after leaving a state prison in Uncasville, Connecticut, where he had spent more than six years.

Island police know only the rough outline of his life abroad: Phillip moved overseas in 1986 and lived in Canada and Brooklyn, New York, before moving to New London, Connecticut. He was arrested in December 1993 on assault and drug charges.

But the officer who found Raeburn-Delfish’s severed head and limbs in three shallow pits on 5 September said the nature of the murder led him to believe the suspect was a practiced killer.

“He had a level of experience with dealing with dead people or animals,” forensics expert Trevor Modeste said. “We don’t usually have crime like that. We don’t usually have planned and executed murders.”

Modeste said his suspicions were confirmed when Phillip, known locally as Ronald de Ally, boasted to police that he killed and buried two people in the United States who were never found.

Grenada police spokesman Troy Garvey said that claim has not been verified. Garvey said investigators’ focus is on solving Raeburn-Delfish’s slaying, but they will pass anything they learn about crimes in the US to the appropriate jurisdiction.

Raeburn-Delfish was Phillip’s landlord, but no motive has been established in the slaying. Phillip, who is charged with murder, did not have an attorney at his first court appearance.

At the heart of the problem is the disparity of wealth between the United States, where migrants often learn their criminal ways, and their poor homelands, where jobs are scarce and police resources are limited. Moreover, islanders who often left their native lands as children return to countries they barely recognize, with no remaining family.

Jean Nemorin, 47, who returned to Haiti in 2008, more than three decades after he arrived in the United States with his family at age 11, said there is a stigma attached to people like him when locals learn of their criminal past, making it tough to find work or a place to live.

“I struggled to feed myself for the first six months,” Nemorin said. He declined to describe his conviction in the United States but said he is crime-free today, operating a moto-taxi in Port-au-Prince that he bought with money from relatives overseas.

The biggest impact has been in heavily populated countries like Jamaica, where deportees are suspected in several violent crimes each week, according to Leslie Green, an assistant police commissioner.

But smaller islands are increasingly leading the calls for help from Washington. A Grenada government spokesman, Richard Simon, said they lack the counseling, monitoring and housing services needed to absorb deportees with serious criminal records.

In Dominica, at least one criminal deportee is suspected in a recent pair of brazen, daylight robberies by masked men, Security Minister Charles Savarin said.

In St. Lucia, an island of 170,000 people that received 18 criminal deportees from the US last year, Security Minister Guy Mayers said some of the convicts were apparently recruited into local drug rings that exploit their contacts from overseas prisons.

“We are not responsible for them becoming monsters,” Mayers said. “We need support to be able to rehabilitate these people.”

In 2007, the US launched a pilot program managed by the United Nations’ International Organization for Migration to help reintegrate deportees. The $3 million project provided services including career counseling and housing assistance in Haiti, Guyana and the Bahamas.

US officials say they hope that effort will be the starting point for a regional discussion, but no money has been assigned so far to keep the program going.

Island governments say the deportee issue will remain a sticking point with Washington until they see more action.

“I raise this with US authorities every chance I get,” Mayers said.

I am always being accused of saying things I know nothing about, so I will let others do the talking. Judge for yourself.

• Exclaimer—Here are some questions: Who makes the guns? Who sanctions the sales of guns within their country? Who offers licenses to gun retailers?

This is mainly the US “culture” of guns. In Bim and Canada this mindset is not so. The fact is there are people who find ways to get hold of guns and transport them to Bim/ Canada. In Bim, I have a nephew who is in his fifties, has been active at Waterford shooting range for years and handles loads of cash on behalf of clients and yet cant get a gun licence. WHY? He has not paid up or does not use powerful friends or school contacts. If I went back to live in Bim I would have a gun licence in weeks because I would quickly discover who to call.

It is pointless to say that because guns are produced that they should be used to kill others without very solid grounds of self defence. I have some excellent butcher knives and dont stab people.

The problem is people without hope or who want to take the easy way out of poverty, they must be helped with proper Education/ training that is relevant, the creation of jobs etc but at the end of the day the root problem is a total lack of discipline and very serious consequences.

So you are saying that in many countries some entity is providing guns for free, mainly in the black community so that they self destruct? Are they also conducting Psyche games and brainwashing?

• Alvin

I know U.S immigration law like the back of my hand, and I know what you’re saying is incorrect. Please cite any case where a naturalized U.S citizen or one born of both Barbadian parents had been deported to Barbados? Alvin, I can assure you that all of those persons who were deported to Barbados for criminal activity were not American citizens. As I have stated last night: a naturalized American citizen can be deported back to Barbados or whence he/she came on two grounds: the falsification of the residence petition or a charge and conviction of treason. Let me ask you this simple question: would it be fair for the U.S Immigration and Homeland Security to deport a person born and bred in the U.S of an African American mother and a Bajan father? Listen! President Abraham Lincoln revolked General Lee citizenship for the act of treason during the Civil War, but he didn’t deport Lee back to Europe. As a matter of fact Lincoln reinstated Lee’ citizenship at the climax of the Civil War!

• NUPW outraged

In a media release today, the NUPW said it “considers the Commissioner’s statements to be inflammatory and without basis; and believe they will only serve to tarnish the reputations and integrity of all Customs Officers”.

• Moneybrain

Guns are a part and parcel of the American culture because the Second Amendment of United States Constitution entitled every citizen the right to own a gun for his or her protection. And Second Amendment is an absolute right meaning that the Congress cannot make or enforce any law that would amend this right, so it remains our Achilles heel to this day.

• @Dompey,
    It appears you did not read my 9.35 blog. Read paragraph 4 again. It begins: The U.S. has deported thousands of convicted criminals back to the Caribbean since 1996…..

• Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

De ole man was tempted to write “behold the sound that two halves of one’s botsie makes when they “clap” together but I will not say this and Piece will hold my Peace while waiting to see to see which half claps louder…

There is an enforced affinity between boys and guns (and females and dolls) that some psychologists may be inclined to say breeds a state and natural disposition to “pow Pow This” all over the world.

The graphic of the $5 computer dat my grandson copy heah for me will probably not be understood by the calcified younger minds that tlak nuff but say nothing her on BU

HOw many of you have seen the svelte lines of the arduino mother board displayed on a featurette for 2.30 seconds with the commensurate music, epic scenery of resistors and Printed Circuit Boards and the words “coming soon to a screen hear you”

Die Hard, Furious Five, Chuckie’s Bride, Nightmare on Elm Street all now are at Series 7 or 9 or somewhere de ole mand has lost count.

But hold your horses.

Who is de chairman at CBC Broadcasting Lies or the Censorship Board, who is leading the charge in this indoctrination per the glory of a 9 mm or a Bushmaster?

It is not the 6 doltish looking youth whose cretinous pictures are emblazoned across our newspapers and the top of this article

It is men and wumens like me and you who does feed these songes the jobby that we call entertainment and they we come here and wonder incredulously who cause all of this.

We have no interest in educating our children, that does not sell papers, what sells papers is the rash actions to show who be de Man…

I hold myself responsible NOT THOSE LOST and BETRAYED young menses cause if i had insisted that their “education” had taken another route, we would not be here today lamenting the fact that we are prisoners in our own homes… as soon as the News dun pun an evening

• @ Money Brain, Piece, Alvin Cummins and Dompey,

” One murder every hour: how El Salvador became the homicide capital of the world

A 2012 truce between the government and gangs has fallen apart, and a police offensive is under way to combat a murder rate 90 times greater than the UK’s”

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/aug/22/el-salvador-worlds-most-homicidal-place

Homicide rates compared

El Salvador (2015 projected)

Honduras

Venezuela

Guatamala

Colombia

Swaziland

Jamaica

Belize

USA 4.7

Australia 1.1

UK 1.0

• “but one cannot overlook the fact/s of the commissioners findings and their relevancy as to how the guns and drugs enter the country and the one worst case scenario of employees working at the ports of entry aiding and abetting gun and drug traffickers .This kind of information had to be given to the commissioner by several sources one which could be been person/s working within those environment and detecting / or people closely affiliated with traffickers and have and interest in telling”

How do we know that the Commissioner’s revelations are not the usual self-serving rhetoric of someone who a short while ago proclaimed that that crime is down and under control . Where is the evidence except for his mouthings and as the boys on the block in New Orleans rightly said why not go after the source if as you say you have the intelligence

• Every single issue we seek to politicize. What JAs.

• Balance

We will never stop the flow of illegal guns and drugs from entering Barbados until we seriously tackle the ETIOLOGIES rather than the SYMPTOMOLOGIES which gives rise or fuels the demand for them.

We have to ask ourselves why would a young persons risk life and limb, and years of incarceration to involved his or her self in these two illegal activity? It would seem quite clear to me that the demand for illegal drug in Barbados and elsewhere in the world is at the root of the problem. So once we find ways of undermining the demand then we would have starte to impact the illegal-drug-trade in some meager way.

Now, we understand why the flow of illegal guns into Barbados is so great; guns or weapons are necessary tools needed in the drug trade. Guns are to illegal drug activity, as important as a hammer is to the trade of carpentry.

Now, those of us who have read or understand anything about the illegal-drug-trade knows quite well that the cardinal rule amongst suppliers and dealers is to never utilize the supply for one personal use. So the question then become: if the suppliers and the dealers aren’t using the supplies then who is? Disrupt the demand for illegal drug in Barbados and then you would have stem the flow of illegal guns which is part and parcel of the illegal-drug-trade.

• What is wrong with you! getting up so early in the morning being offensive with your colorful language, david what is wrong with you,
    The concerns involving of drugs and guns in the wrong hands are many and whether you want to agree or disagree the issue has a potpourri distribution of many angles with tentacles cascading from the top tier and reaching the bottom with catastrophic result to innocent people,
    going forward the politics would be embroiled as the envelope /s becomes unsealed and the numerous revelation of blame/s becomes obvious,
    Take it easy bro too early in the morning to be so intolerant and miserable.

• The NUPW needs to educate themselves and read the number of case studies that show the connections of ports of entry worldwide for illegal arms and drug with a high propensity of illegal activities by custom officers giving a helping hand,
    the question then if no such activities are being done at barbados ports ,how is it possible for so many illegal firearms to make their way on the streets of barbados ,..Either the gate keepers are asleep or something is a mist here,

• Here is what Guy Mayers, former policeman and head of the Police Service Commission wrote about the Customs Department and importantly protecting our porous borders; a 100% coastline.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=editorialNewsID=2074&NewsID=44910

• Exclaimer

Knowing what I know about America, I don’t think I could trust your statistics sir. On the heels of the last mass-shooting in America, President Obama announced quite squarely that America was the most violent society today.

• Guy mayers article makes reasonable points to underscore where their is a softness with little access of tracing that must be given high priority , However we have new evedience given by COP that indicates other areas of weakness within our ports that cannot be sighed ! or shrugged away from the glare of public opinion,
    The COP relies on intelligence that gives him sufficient lead way to direct where these problems are manifested be it at the port of entry or in the homes of everyday citizens sometimes calling a spade a spade is the right procedure,

• Two days ago I met a young man in a Bridgetown store. He makes his living buying items duty free for the store’s customers. He greets customers at the door and very quickly, efficiently and courteously satisfies their requirements. I do not think he is an employee of the store but the store management obviously knows about his dealings. When I declined his services he informed me that if he didn’t make money this way he was quite prepared to go and rob because “de man gotta get money”. His screw face told me that he meant what he said. Now this guy was the best seller I’ve ever encountered in Barbados. I’ve never seen a real sales clerk hustle so. This guy is willing to work. He prefers non-violence but will resort to it if he thinks he has no other option. There will always be these borderline people who will sway with the circumstances. It is my opinion that these and others like him should have been rescued by our educational system and given other options. A life slaving away for a pittance is not enough for today’s youth. These underachieving young men have been abandoned by our system. It has and will continue to be a problem for us as we who are gainfully employed will be their victims. Now we can do nothing or we can do something. If we do nothing then we will be like sitting ducks who deserve to be picked off one by one for our stupidity, self-destructive selfishness, or laziness. Whichever it is.

• And for those criminals who don’t wish any other option there is always incarceration and labour of the kind they refused to do on the outside. That would be a double whammy for them.

Liked by 1 person

• Donna

I fully agree with the young man statement because given the current economic climate in Barbados these days, I would prefer that the young man beg of me rather than to going out there and victimizing others, which he could easily do.
    Now as for as incarceration is concerned: where has incarceration deter the youth from further victimizing others? Incarceration seems to perpetual as well as promote the revolving door today, as it did back in my.
    What the youth need today is the right sort of directionality and more opportunity. And the economy of today does not offer today young people the kind of opportunity it did offered me some thirty-three years ago when I ended my secondary school education and embarked on my technical studies at the Polytechnic. I remember after I had completed my secondary school education I went straight into the Skill Training Program sponsored by the Barbados Polytechnic School located at the St. Peter branch.

And to add to the above comment, jobs were plentifully thirty-three years ago when I was just an eighteen years old lad with much determination and zeal to uplift myself by my own boot straps from the plight which afflicted those of my social echelon. I worked for a short time at Speed-ways, Hill Super Market and Glass-way, and Uncle Wilbert Chicken factory which was owned and operated by a former mounted police and his brother.

This job gave me the opportunity to interact with some of the country people whom I knew little of at the time, but learned a lot about during my time there. Uncle Wilbert Chicken Factory by the way was located in St. Thomas back in the early 1980s.
    And who knows probably if I hadn’t had the kind of opportunity which the Bajan kids lack today, I might have most likely ended up in prison as many did who chose to take the wrong path even though there was enough opportunity back then?

So I think the current escalation in violated crime in Barbados is to be expected given what the bajan young men and women are faced with today in terms of opportunity.

Let me see if de ole man have dis correct

Problem 1. Drugs. Supply. Solution (i) eradicate at source or (ii) interrupt the supply or (iii) interdict or (iv) alternative economic bilateral interventions . Issues, the economic benefits to the economies of these drug producing nations outweigh the other social, political and economic considerations of being a cocaine, poppy growing, ganga cultivation country.
    Problem 2. Demand. Again Ditto above but compliment with (i) education of the target population and/or (ii) Options – jobs and viable income alternatives Why train 1000 cooks at the Marine Tourism oriented complex when the industry can only reasonably employ 100 but then again we are talking to Barbados which has the greatest density of lawyers IN THE WORLD
    Problem 3. “Krime and Vilence” Solution (i) reintroduce the death penalty (ii) standardize the prison sentencing FOR EVERY ONE who is caught with or is trafficking so that any magistrate who is now being paid off to let go a fellow CANT (iii) longer prison sentences (iv) stiffer fines (v) augment prison services to include community services in BIG BRIGHT ORANGE JUMPERS purchased with the $76M that Adriel Nitwit Brathwit is now outfitting Police Stations with (vi) Accentuate the positive – USE the positive stories of youth to highlight what they are capable of doing and have done and continue to do (vii) invest in Pinelands and similar NGOs that have made and continue to make a difference and stop playing politics with NGOs and CBOs
    Mek and example of a Fellow. If de COP so informed about the practices of a Customs Officer it musee dat de COP watch dem sting operations pun Miami Vice and Starsky and Crutch en ting! Set up a sting and see who follow de bait, use some GPS pun a barrel and get dem white boys wid drones dat did look all weekend fuh de white woman dat did run way from she husband and did tekking some nutrients of the mandingo kind, to follow de barrel to de destination.

DE Cop musee cud use de Israeli equipment dat dem get during CWC to do sumting useful udder dan de fellows peeping at de young girls pun Baxters Road pun a day.

De ole man dun wid dis shite uh nuff effing statistics and not a fella ent doing a ting but talking pup pun CBC Reporting Lies

And Guy Mayers is right.

De same way a policeman cannot rappel down the side of a building like a SAS counter terrorism expert, a clerk who only knows how to compute duties and excise taxes SHOULD NOT BE TASKED WITH the responsibility of reviewing Place of Origin information to determine if this shipment is possibly contraband.

Which one uh wunna does go to de mechanic when you gots heart problems??

Whu even David Thompson while he did had a priest who did saying “He Shall not Die Under My Watch” did has was had a doctor heah and a team in Murica treating him fuh Pancreatic Cancer.

But jes so dat dese nitwits can get $$ into de treasur, unna dun know that dem gine ef up de whole national security matrix.

• David, the remarks by Guy Mayers crystalizes some of the comments made previously on BU particularly the absolute counter-intuitive point of moving a Customs Border Security Division under the auspices of a Revenue Control Division.

Any jackass that brays from doing real hard work and not just from sounding off after too much time resting lazily in the barn would recognize that this administrative restructuring is mere smoke and mirrors intended to fulfill/circumvent HR issues rather than to bring better operational security to the Customs Dept.

Intuitively if one were concerned about the management of our borders then Customs would move closer to a policing division as was said here before and alluded to again by Mayers; not further away.

Are we really saying that in order to get an immediate and complete picture of the income at Customs we have to incorporate the entire dept under the BRA org chart? That’s hilarious.

So let’s reset and accept that this has nothing to do with border management or even more efficient management per se because at the end of the day its inconceivable that the BRA Commissioner will have absolutely ANYTHING to do with the day-to-day management of the border control activities of Customs.

Obviously this is about some sort of ‘gerrymandering’ of the Human Resource control process.

Liked by 1 person

• @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

Between me an you, the Police can find most of the criminals, drug dealers and guns in Barbados.

On trips to Barbados I have seen drugs sold in the open like a drive thru at McDonalds.

Sooner or later the Police will have to do something to stop the madness.

• @Dee Word

The government has obviously identified Customs and Excise as an area of inefficient revenue collection over interdiction. We can debate the logic of decision is open for debate.

• Border security in Barbados needs.

More scanners, more drug sniffing dogs, more customs officers.

• @Hants

We have the pushers but we need the players from the Heights and Terraces who fund the importation and distribution. For example a visit to Accra anytime of the day will turn up the pushers.

• Dompey,

Regardless of what studies say I know that in my experience there have been children who would behave well because they were afraid of lashes and children who would do the deed despite the threat of lashes. I’m quite sure that these children when grown would display the same tendencies. I view studies with a pinch of salt because we all know how statistics can be manipulated. Also it is impossible to factor in all the parameters that may influence the outcome. I believe in my own experience of people and common sense. Fear of lashes deterred me from doing plenty. Fear of imprisonment would deter me from taking revenge on someone who did me wrong. I can’t be the only one who responds in that matter. It depends on how much one has to lose. If life on the outside is harder than life on the inside then it sure wouldn’t be much of a deterrent to most people.

But my thoughts on imprisonment were really meant to apply to those who are bent on being criminals regardless of circumstances. There are people who if you give them a billion dollars would still kill you for the five billion you have. These people don’t think about being caught and so punishment would not deter them. However while they are incarcerated their activities can be controlled and when they are made to work they are being useful to society. There is nothing you can do to rehabilitate these guys. They are just bad to the bone so you either have to lock them up or put them to death.

• Ok David, let’s accept that ‘Customs and Excise as an area of inefficient revenue collection over interdiction’.

Let’s further accept that police depts. the world over – and thus I presume in my lovely Barbados – are budgeted to bring in $xx of revenue from traffic tickets etc. If the local constabulary falls under budget year after year obviously that requires serious review.

That review would be made to determine what is causing the slow down in tix issuance and lower fees/fines not seek to shift that aspect to a Revenue Center control.

Customs and Border control have more to do with policing, personal rights and legal issues of property rights than collection of fees. And of course that fee collection and money management is the purview of the accounting officer/department.

The basis for the collection of that money is all about those legal rules, proper enforcement and honest officers. Not accounting systems. The systems track the officers enforce.

Subsuming the dept under BRA does not address any fundamental collection issues in the least. So frankly, it means little at the end of the day. Just another org chart redo.

Back to US for my example: If US Customs now part of the Dept of Homeland Security were removed and returned to the Justice Dept or moved over to the Dept of Treasury would it really make a difference to the effectiveness of the officers on the front line? No.

So improvements on our front line will not change either simply because of a re organization of who reports to whom; so if the goal is front line effectiveness then this (HR reorg) is just the window dressing for a complete replacement of the alleged inept/dishonest customs officers and operational environment !

Now that would be bold.

• @Dee Word

The decision to move Customs and Excise to BRA us moot. Both political parties agree with the reorg.

• @David,

Let us compartmentalize the problems and focus on illegal Guns and Drugs coming through the ports of entry.
    That requires employees, equipment and dogs with specific training.

Collecting duties on imported goods should be handled by a different set of employees.

Liked by 1 person

At Blogmaster David

You do know that in this day and age it is not necessary given the IT infrastructure to move any department anywhere if your are seeking to manage the collection process more efficiently, according to de ganson it jes does be in de code and Smartstream, as antiquated as it is, can do that.

Let me give an analogy, given that when a murder is committed or when a shooting happens we have need of a doctor, a coroner of Two Sons funeral home, if the idiocy that these clowns have proposed under the guise of efficient reorganization but in reality firing some workers while implementing WB directives, we could as easily put the Queen Elizabeth Horspital, the Office of the Coroner and all the Funeral Homes under the Office of the Commissioner of Police

An further political parties agreeing does not make the decision a correct one, on the contrary, that would confirm that it was an ingrunt decision if the 60 uh dem Nitwits agree wid um…hahaha

(Whu is de format of de gravitar text dat de ole amn got to type in to get back me icon? It disappear and I ent know whu to type in. Jes de first part…)

Brother Hants

You mean to say “That requires equipment, employees AND dogs, with specific training.”

Lest we forget that the employees, the majority of dem, ALSO NEED training. By leffing that subject so far away from de qualification “with specific training” people in Murica may erroneously beleive that we peeples is already trained or dat de equipment also gots specific training…I is only pulling you leg me brudda whu aftah all you did sen’ de ole man into tremblings when you sen’ me to look at Krave…

• @Piece

The gravatar is linked to the email address used.

• @Exclaimer August 21, 2015 at 1:52 PM “where human sacrifice was as common as drinking a cup of water.”

You know that this is nonsense right? Any society that practiced human sacrifice as common[ly] as drinking a cup of water would die out. The indigenous people of the Americas are still much alive, although deciminated by the diseases brought from Europe and by the greed of the European colonizers who much like the modern day drug traffickers wanted little work but nuff nuff money.

We need to know the truth about the past, and just maybe we will understand the way forward.

• @Alvin Cummins August 21, 2015 at 9:35 PM “Moreover, islanders who often left their native lands as children return to countries they barely recognize, with no remaining family.”

You know that this is not true right? Everybody knows who their family is and where their family resides.

This is the truth. Once people arrive in the United States, Canada, the U.K. etc. they act as though they have arrived in the promised land and once things are going good for them they ignore the family back home in these small islands…until they go something very bad then the Barbados consuls in North America and in Europe are put under tremendous pressure by the North American and European authorities to find a family member back home to house, feed and find work for these hardened criminals.

If the North American, European or Barbados authorities call me the answer is no, no, no. If you don’t want to know me when the going is good don’t call me when things are going bad for you.

• We all know of people including professional people doctors, lawyers, nurses etc who migrated and left their children to be raised by grandparents, and who refused to provide support for their own children, and who stopped writing to their parents even as their parents were raising the grandchildren. Such people were often embarrassed because they had had children before marriage and they moved to North America and Europe and adopted the philosophy of the dominant groups there that only married people have children. Then they engaged in an elaborate pretense that their bastard children in the Caribbean did not exist.

Every single one of us know of such people.

Of course we all know that human beings have always had sex with or without formal marriage, and that children are born from this sexual activity. The best parents raise all children born of their sexual activity. Yet these best parents are heavily stigmatized.

Last week I said that men are stupid.

This wek let me say that human beings are stupid.

• If you don’t know me when things are going good. Don’t call me when you are in trouble.

• This Ashley Madison thing is showing us how people really are.

• MoneyBrain

I also do agree with your statement above that black on black crime is a big problem in the black communities across the globe. But have you given any thought at all as to what is fueling the black on black crime we now witness on the eventing news continually? Of course not, in it is our personal agenda to focus on the symptoms rather than the causes.

• @Dompey

ENLIGHTEN ME nuh! Just pretend that I could not possibly have a clue.

• MoneyBrain

Don’t take it from me look at the statistical data which indicates that a lot of the black on black crime in the inner-cities of America for example are drug related.

But this doesn’t negate the fact that the problem does exercise, and collectively we as a society have to find ways and means to arrest this moral evil that is robbing human race of its great potentiality. It sad to say, but the seed of self-destruction has been planted centuries ago, and it seems as though young black men are willfuly aiding in this process.

• We Bajans are pastmasers of running behind the horse after it has bolted,with a lage bucket and spade to scoop up the crap it has left in its path. We don’t even bother about bolting the gate to prevent others from legging it through.

• @MoneyBrain,

I made an interesting observation on your contribution to this post @ August 21, 2015 at 9:36 PM.

You stated in your reply to me: “It is pointless to say that because guns are produced that they should be used to kill others without very solid grounds of self-defence. I have some excellent butcher knives and don’t stab people.”

I smiled when I saw your reply to Dompey @ August 22, 2015 at 7:49 PM
    “ENLIGHTEN ME nuh! Just pretend that I could not possibly have a clue.”

What is that saying we have: “Straight out of the horse’s mouth?”

• @Colonel Buggy August 22, 2015 at 10:40 PM #

I hear what you are saying. A man of your vintage must be disillusioned with how life has evolved in Barbados. But your views are perhaps not shared by the majority of Barbadians. For if they were than Barbados would have developed in a different fashion.

• Exclaimer,

Not so. Most people I meet are disillusioned with how life has evolved in Barbados. Some of them were ostriches burying their heads in the sand. Some of them were yard fowls busy clucking and looking for scratch grain. Couldn’t see beyond the barnyard. Some of them were bird brains just didn’t understand until the falcons were directly overhead. Some of them were eagles at the top of the food chain with few who could catch them. Didn’t realize that when they overeat the prey would die out. Some of them were parrots only talking about change. Well, now the chickens have come home to roost.

• Regarding the earlier topic of deportees from the states. I had experience with one such unfortunate who emigrated as a child and was deported as a big man after having done time for drug dealing. He talked freely of his misdeeds which included gun violence. My extended family tried to help him as he was at one point in time homeless. He and his family spent a night at my house as the house he was renting with his pregnant wife was useless against the threatening thunderstorm. He had no relatives that he remembered and was saved by the fact that he had become a Christian and determined to succeed. His wife’s church finally took up the responsibility of helping him to get on his feet. Success story.

• @Donna–

Encouraging news that the old system of family, friends and Church working together to help people back on their own feet, is still practical. This is the way it should be, NOT some bloated Govt bureaucracy with political connivance abusing the Taxpayers $$$ with poor monitoring and controls.

• MoneyBrain,

Best way I know,. The Anglican Youth Ministry service also had a programme of mentorship of the young men from the juvenile facility at Dodds who were about to be released. My young man has not been able to achieve his dream because he just couldn’t be made to believe. He wanted to be a chef and my mother and I were prepared to see him through. I saw him through the periods of the inevitable and understandable police harassment that occurs when crimes are committed in the neighbourhood of a released former offender. He has avoided graduation to the adult facility but unfortunately he settled for less than he was capable of achieving. Some people don’t understand the way despair envelops some neighbourhoods and becomes the almost unshakable culture.

• Donna

Once the Police decide to focus on you they can be relentless without good evidence. Police are often lazyasses that want the easy solution.

• MoneyBrain

I thought the three institutions which exercise the most influence upon the collective-psyche of society, were the institutions of Home, School and Church. It would appear as though there has been a paradigmatic shift in the value structure of our society?

• @Exclaimer and Dompey

I still waiting for U gents to educate me.

• MomeyBrain

Once the police focuses his or her investigation on a specific person of interest, then their most proceed to ascertain the necessary evidence to support the charges brought against this personal of interest. Then that evidence is presented to the prosecutor who then reviews it to determine whether or not such evidence can support or sustain a conviction.

• MoneyBrain

I counts it open-mouth-imbecility to challenge someone with a pedigree education with the trappings of a mongrel education.That reach is the psychological equivalent of the base to the summit of a mountain Money.

Blog Mastahhhhhhh!!!! Help

• @Piece

All out of meds.

• Piece

Then brother you can opt for behavioural therapy which I think involves psychotherapy; medication therapy is just one process in the wide range of interventions.
    You know when you sit in that chair and the behavioural-specialist who resembles the patients in the insane asylum, ask you all manner of personal questions about your childhood because for some twisted reason the behavioural mechanics seems to concluded that this is where it all started.

• @Bush Tea August 21, 2015 at 8:03 AM

Honest, above board citizens actually felt SAFE and comfortable knowing that large numbers of lawmen COULD be around ANY corner ..at night….

A Simple Response: True, true I was stopped and had vehicle searched and no problem except for the little collins thingy…but I do gardening…ask islandgal

One wonders who DID NOT feel comfortable ..and would want to end such an EFFECTIVE tactic…?

A Simple Response: Those who are profiting from importing and selling drugs and guns.

And if the Commissioner feels that customs officers are part of the problem then he should arrest them and their handlers…after all we do not pay the Comish very well just to give us a lotta long talk.

If he knows who the criminals are…then arrest them…and we the men and women of the jury will convict them.

The Commissioner has the power to arrest. We do not.

• Bush Tea

The customs officers in the Barbados are part of the problem and I am going to tell you why.

About a year or so ago a friend of mine in Barbados asked me to send her down somethings, so I went and bought the stuff and took it to the US Postal Service to post it.

So the white attendant at the post office asked me where was I mailing the passage to, so I told him Barbados. And to my shock and amazement he told me that I better double up on the insurance on the passage, and I asked him why. And to my disbelief this white American man told me in no uncertain terms that Customs in Barbados have a history of stealing people’s stuff. If that don’t shock your socks of I don’t know what would?

• Excuse me … I misspelled the word package so that is my sign to call it a night.

• Where is the demand for drugs coming from?

Who is buying the imported drugs?

We know the truth is that if there is no market for the drugs then the drug (and gun) importers would go away.

The first and only time I was ever offered drugs I was just a youth and a scruffy white boy on the Don Mills bus asked me if I wanted to buy marijuana. I politely told him no. He must have sent an international message out to the other drug dealers because nobody has offered me marijuana (or any other drug) before or since.

But then I have an attitude. I’ve always had an attitude. Even as a teen.

• Simple Simon

The demand for drugs has always been there especially amongst the youth in my day, and I am talking about the youth1980s. Marijuana was the drug of choice in my day and the youth throughout the town and country used it regularly, and I knew this to be a fact because in the 1980s I followed the Station Hill basketball throughout these two mentioned localities and witnessed it firsthand.

• Dear Dompey:

Marijuana was available in my youth too. One of my classmates got so high once that he took off all of his clothes walked all the way down the west coast in all his “manly glory”. The cops had to escort him to the mental that time. He almost scared the tourists.

People talk nonsense about social class and education etc. Note that said classmate and I were delivered by the same granny midwife and raised in poverty in the same rural village.

He chose to use marijuana. I chose never ever to use marijuana. I chose never ever to get drunk.

None of us are born with a marijuana cigarette or a rum bottle in our mouths.

Maybe you and your friends used marijuana but I never have. Even when it was offered. I have always found it very easy to say no to “shite”

I didn’t vote for the DLP in in the last 2 elections either.

As I said I find it very very easy to say no to blasted shite.

Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• The commissioner is talking about corrupt Customs officers but I want to know what happened to the case where the young coolie boy Adams was charged with importing a container load of mariujuana.

What happened to that case? Is it still being prosecuted? And if not why not? And where is the contraband stored? Has it been destroyed and etc. and etc.

Because if it is seen that an almost foreigner boy can get away with a container load the foolish youth who are buying and selling a few 5 bags at a time will feel justified in doing so.

If the Commissioner can’t or wont’ tell us maybe the Director of Public Prosecutions and or the Attorney General can shed some light of what has become of that case. Maybe the Prime Minister, he who is head of national security can tell us what is happening. He can tell us why we should be afraid when we are in our own houses. He can even tell us why he felt the need for six policemen to escort him out of the Crane? And he can start to imagine how those of us who can’t even afford a pot starver for protection and who don’t even own a water pistol, he can start to imagine how we feel. After all I assume that the PM wants the DLP to win the next elections. And yet and yet he too posh to talk to we?

And when did we black Bajans become so stupid that we feel we have to buy whatever the coolie man imports? Our grandmothers who didn’t went to school anywhere knew when to buy a khaki school pants for their son from the coolie man and knew when to tell said man to get lost. Has education turned us foolish or what? Why do we feel the need to be perpetual victims?

• @Simple–

Excellent approach to ganja. I used to go out with fellas that all smoked ganja in the car and was the only one to say no! Hate smoke and smoking, I always used to say,”I am on a natural high for life!”

• I was in a car one night going to Sundown Drive In, it was early so all of a sudden the driver went up a cart road in some canes to check his ganja patch, a fella in the backseat said,”suppose the Sarge waiting pun yuh”, the driver reaches under the car seat and pulls out a 357 Magnum. How I didnt soil ma pants bad so, I will never know! I was totally innocent, had no knowledge at all BUT could have been involved in massive trouble!!! Lot of innocent guys in prison for guilt by association. I come from a very solid non criminal family BUT that night was a LIFE Lesson!

• When you say Magnum you don’t mean that delicious chocolate covered ice cream on a stick do you?

Lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If not you lucky Sarge wasn’t there because otherwise your @ss wold be grass and the fellas at Glendairy would have been singing Sparrow’s classic about the Congo man who never had a white meat yet.

• I woulda had the Magnum at the Dairy!!!!haha

Hold de pepper and de double ott sandpaper!!!

• MoneyBrain ,

Dis one have a gun
    Dat one have a gun
    Man dey gon shoot each other fuh fun

Robin Hunte has passed away. Shucks!

• Donna,
    When the Big Fella calls we all gots to go!

• Money Brain,

Yeah, but I do miss everybody so!

• It is perhaps fair to say that there has been tremendous improvement in the standard of living within the last four to five decades. But there has also been a substantial decline in the ethical standards and moral fabric of our society, brought on as a result of rising expectations and demands. It has become almost de rigueur, for children to rob parents, siblings to rob siblings, far less to be robbed by a stranger. Our political leadership, far from attempting to ensure a reasonably equitable distribution of wealth/resources ,its members are more interested in amassing great personal wealth in the shortest time frame possible, after being elected,and definitelyat the expense of the masses. People have resorted to “economic cannibalism”. Small wonder an alleged reprobate of a daughter may have recently robbed her own mother of property ! People stealing from the church !Evahbody tiefing from evahbody ! Even monkeys stealing from monkeys ! Soon de monkeys too will have guns to protect themselves and their ill-gotten gains !

• With many Bajans now cowering in fear of being gunned down, when are we going to accept the fact that the government does not think that the average Bajan is a product deserving any special protection. Guns all over the place , and our leaders cannot come up with a solution, where the Police working along side of the Defence Force could be instrumental in recovering some of these guns and reducing the incidences of gun related crimes, in the same fashion as we have Joint Police/ Defence Force patrols to protect our Tourist Dollar from visitor attacks , and our King Sugar Dollar from acts of arson.

• Col Bugs–

Gather up the Joint group and hit the key areas at 4.30am ie Silver Hill, Bonnets, The Farm et al. No one lower down needs to know why, when, what they are about to do before 4am briefing. Remove the guns, the intelligence gathered should suggest where guns are stored typically. Charge and lock up plenty perps too.

Send a message the easy days done! Bajans should never be in this situation!

• MoneyBrain August 27, 2015 at 12:36 PM #
    That’s the way to go .Cordon and Search at first light. Usually catch many asleep, except those who have been forewarned from on the inside.

• The moral of this story is evident. Install a social system which disenfranchises a large swathe of the population: seldom referred to as the politics of laissez-faire. Sit back and watch the total disintegration of that society.

Wait for the clarion call from a tiny minority to demand that they need to defend themselves in the face of such insecurity and violence. Solution: flood the country with guns.

The only winners are the gun manufacturers, the criminal, certain members of the business community and the politicians who all have a vested interest in seeing the growth in the gun trade.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71600/masked-menace

• Exclaimer,

The effects of disenfranchisement are too hard for some to understand.

• Exclaimer—

Install a Socialised Capitalist system where INCENTIVE favours the clever and hardworking and helps the poorer members of Society to IMPROVE themselves via a good, relevant Education/ Training System, proper Health Care etc. Discourage LAZYASSES who are just TAKERS and dont want to contribute to Society.

Start from the TOP with STRICT INTEGRITY Legislation for Politicians, this will filter down to the masses. Attract the very best people to manage the Nation and pay at least TRIPLE today’s income to MPs. Lock Pols up and throw away the key for transgressors.

Follow and adapt from very successful Nations ie Singapore. Do NOT follow FAILURES that cant produce or import enough FOOD for its people ie Cuba, Nth Korea OR purely Commie/ inefficient Socialist States. Even these states are turning successfully to an INCENTIVE based system ie China , Russia, India.

Western Europe has PROVEN conclusively that Socialist Giveaways DONT Work—- Stealing from hardworkers to encourage LAZYASSES in a very inefficient manner without high expectations of outcomes and severe PENALTIES for ABUSING the assistance NEVER had a chance to work because too many humans are TAKERS without any conscience whatsoever. Even in the USA they give free cell phones to poorer people and some have garnered 30+ phones??????????????? This wastage is typical of very poorly managed Socialist Policies. Govt MUST Monitor and Control its programs to stop nonsense!

This BS happens purely for Pols to use hardworking people’s $$$$$$$$$$$ to BUY VOTES!
    Any idiot can throw away other peoples money! Any Clown can TAKE, TAKE, TAKE!!!!

• @ Money B
    Gather up the Joint group and hit the key areas at 4.30am ie Silver Hill, Bonnets, The Farm et al.
    What about the key areas in the Heights and Terraces where we ALL know the real thieving is going on?
    Who the hell in Bonnets do you think has the wherewithal to influence politicians, customs, police etc to get away with the kinda shiite that we are seeing…?

…you and you one-way-of-seeing things does REALLY make Bushie laugh sometimes hear?

So YES!
    Let us hit ALL the damn key areas with joint forces – not only police and army, but ALSO with forensic audits, Tax audits, routine searches etc….and BOTH in the Farm AND on the Heights….

• @Bushie—-

We on the same page besides the fact that I was putting a stop to Guns etc that kill innocent people many of them Black and/ or poor. Remember a few years back I tore into Wall St and Washington DC etc for Financial malpractice that hurt millions of Citizens that up to now dont know the truth about that 2 by 4. I dont see things ONE WAY, only when straightening out some fellas pun here who are RACIAL, as in Whitey is always wrong/ bad. I will certainly play Devil’s advocate then, even if I dont really believe what I write but just need to shake things up.

Heights and Terraces may call for an Audit Task Force. So Mr Customs Guy/ Politician/ WhoeverCrook, you meking $X per year but have a Home, car and lifestyle suggesting that you are making 5-10 times $X! Please show where that money came from? Inheritance? Lotto?? When, how much, where , who??? ALWAYS remember that Scarface himself, Alphonso Capone, was imprisoned for TAX Evasion and nothing else!!!

Appoint me Benevolent Dictator and I will be Mr CLEANUP from top to bottom. I will need a full time security detail for sure as these Bad actors will want me gone to the beyond! I will also ban Communist nonsense, such jokers will be invited to move to Cuba etc on a one way ticket.

• @ Money
    Appoint me Benevolent Dictator…
    Skippa … yuh mean you ain’t detect the kinda mood that Bushie in today…??!!

APPOINT YOU as WUH….!!!!???
    …you is a piecea shiite? ..wuh boss, we had 400 years of ‘benevolent dictators’ just like you… and look where it got us….
    Steupsss … Man not even BAJANS are such brass bowls as to do that….

You like MONEY!! you don’t give two shits bout we… all the lotta talk you got, we all know that in two -twos you, COW, KiFF and Bizz would be tight tight, …business taxes would be dropped – and all like Bushie would be back pun some plantation sweating for a few shillings …or singing shiite in some hotel….

Man go long back to sleep and finish off that dream you was having bout ‘benevolent dictator’ do…

Bushie heard about horror dreams …but you like you does dream comedies …. 🙂

• @Bushie–

De joke pun U cause I and plenty Black Bajans living sweeeeeetttt to rahteeeed up here in Toronto so, and dat is no dream hey. I did see this shyte coming down de stream back in 1979-80 and leff it all to wunna to live wid. This is exactly what I told my family dat would come to past, all de corruption, and black Pols brekking fuh demselves. My advice was leff Bim and watch the fun from afar! Wuhloss dem mash de place up quick so! If dem ever update the bible for modern prophesy I in dey like flint booossey. Cor bluma! Dah fah lick yah! ALL TOTALLY PREDICTABLE!

• @ Money
    Boss man, before you start laughing your ass off at us poor Bajans… you betta look around yuh… Bushie tell you already we could always sleep on the beach and eat breadfruit and mangoes… when the Canadian shit hit the freezer wuh you going do…?
    You laugh…
    ..at least Lawson keeping he ties with Bim …and Hants got NUFF land bout here… LOL

• @Bushie—

Dont cry for me Bushie cause I may soon buy onea dem $2mn homes the Banks selling for like $500k. Dat is my kinda price, bottom fishing—I did always love a sweet bottom.(besides any male’s of course) Glad to learn dat Hants gots nuff land in Bim, I just praying he didnt buying anywhere near the peak and needer Liar/ Lawyer in carry way the Deeds and such, yuh know how dem does stan. Dem Liars and Pols woulda carry way the Moon,long time, if dem had a step ladder long enuff!

I gots plenty nuff ties wid Bim, bessy not worry yuh head bout dat, doan study it! Christmas come I would be drinking Rum and Coconut Water all over de place. Mek sure dem clean up de sargassum from bout de place cause i aint able wid no bad smells and de touristes gin stan home.

Skippa if shyte happen here in TO I can fly to several destinations—Singapore? Bim? USA? Hawaii—knows dem all, Hawaii real sweeeett gots nuff sweeett ass Asians–Koreans, Chinese, Japs, Phillipinos—oh I woulda dead fixing dem up! Food dey like Bim—FISH–MAHI MAHI or Dolphin—eat it grilled with rice/ potatoes etc at the Intl market in Waikiki for under $10.

• Bushie,

Yellow bird up high in banana tree

Now dat was sweet!

MoneyBrain,

Leave Bushie alone before he kill me with laugh.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s