amor elliott mottley
Photo credit: Barbados Today

The seemingly small gesture of Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, of recommending her father for a knighthood speaks volumes about the way how she intends to govern, or should I say rule, this country. It is another clear clear indication that Miss Mottley is hell bent on establishing the closest thing to royalty in Barbados, with her friends and family as the upper class.

The people of this country should not be surprised by the indecent haste with which the PM procured the appointment for daddy dearest. It would appear that indecent haste is the hallmark of everything associated with this new Mottley administration. The indecent haste of amending the Constitution to secure the appointment of friends to the Senate. The indecent haste of terminating public workers, ostensibly to save money, rather than go after tax defaulters who owe in excess of one billion dollars to the Treasury. And letโ€™s not forget the indecent haste of rushing legislation through parliament to forgive tax defaulters who failed to pay their taxes between 1968 and 2000. They are many others but these are just a few examples of the haste and bad judgment that has characterised this administration so far.

However, I want to concentrate on the recommendation to Her Majesty the Queen, to award the Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG) to the Prime Ministerโ€™s father. It looks bad. Someone close to the PM, maybe the knight himself, should have told her how it looks.

Like many, I am not concerned about the criteria for awarding the knighthood, since over the centuries, the monarch of England have granted such distinctions to a variety of scoundrels for service to the Crown. That is not to say that any of the current recipients of high honour are scoundrels. For example, a pirate, Francis Drake, was knighted for service to the Crown.

To my mind, the appointment has less to do with service to this country and is more about setting up an upper class in this country, with the Prime Minister and her family as the queen and court. From now on Sir Elliot and his wife Lady Mottley have the right to parade around the world with a Barbados Diplomatic passport as long as they live. Again, to my mind, this particular knighthood is more about the perks than the honour itself.

Gimme the vote and watch muh take care of my friends and family to the exclusion of all others.

326 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Diplomatic Passports for Mummy and Daddy”

1. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Bajan boy January 4, 2019 5:06 AM “…most of of us who csme from down there have not only been taken from the gutter but me made sure in our rise we took the gutter out of us.”

But why would you imply that you came from the gutter?

Weren’t you born of a woman, just like the Prime Minister, just like all of us on this blog?

Why do you think that the political class had to take some kinda gutter out of you?

2. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@David January 4, 2019 5:33 AM “@Bajan boy @Johnathan @Joe Boy. Pick one moniker and use it! What is classless is to use multiple monikers to mislead the blog.”

@WARU January 4, 2019 5:34 AM “lolโ€ฆso sad, but typical yardfowl.”

Agreed. It looks kinda foolish when semi-literate people jump out of the bushes to defend the Prime Minister.

3. Austin
    You live in the U.K. and should be familiar with the Westminster System.That system requires a simple majority to go to the GG and convince her the Prime Minister no longer enjoys the support of the majority of MP’s and candidate X now has that honour whereupon the parliament is either dissolved by the sitting PM or he/she accepts the decision of the majority of members and business of the House continues with a new PM sworn in by the GG.

4. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Frank M. Gilkes January 4, 2019 7:25 AM “should a person whoโ€™s contribution merits such rewards be disqualified because of their connection to the Prime Minister? ”

No Prime Minister, “B” nor “D” should permit awards to go to their immediate relatives. Immediate relatives being grandparents, parents, siblings, spouse, children, grandchildren, aunts and uncles, and spouses of these people.

it just looks bad,smells stink. and grates on the electorate’s ear.

Simple Simon, who voted for the BLP on May 24th, but who is neither “B” nor “D”

5. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Prodigal Son January 4, 2019 11:01 AM “You people on BU are so biasโ€ฆwho died and made Caswell the only principled person in Barbados? Had not for the traitor Atherley where would CF be?”

Atherley is NOT a traitor.

Disagreeing with your political party is NOT an act of treachery. It is a simple disagreement, that’s all.

Treason is an act against the state.

The BLP is NOT the state. It is simply a political party, that’s all.

6. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Prodigal Son January 4, 2019 12:09 PM “David. I am on record of having said on the other blog that l would not have done it were l the PM knowing how the partisans are. It is done now so are we going to beat it to death 24/7?”

Are you pretending that you do not know that awards can be rescinded?

Are you pretending that you do not know that the recipient can graciously decline?

7. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal

Let me connect some more DOTS for you. Moses another clothes seller and cocaine trafficker is Gabriel Abed’s uncle.

Bitt Inc was conceptualise by Gabriel Abeds and Anthony Nadur.

Anthony Nadur’s family Posse runs the Racing Pools in Barbados.

He has also been involved in drug trafficking/money laundering and has an Air Conditioning Company as a front.

http://www.csi.bb/contact/

These guys and their families CONNECTIONS are Barbados Mafia fraternity protected by Police who take monetary and other favors as bribes for facilitation and kickbacks.

8. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@NorthernObserver January 4, 2019 3:09 PM “Picking family, especially immediate family, signals arrogance of the highest order.”

Actually for me it signals weakness.

Once we are adults, and especially once we have reached middle age, we ought to be able to say “no” to anybody, including, or especially if warranted, we should be able to say “no” to our own parents, spouse, children etc.

To be unable to say “no’ to those nearest and dearest, to me that signals a profound weakness.

9. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

@Gabriel January 4, 2019 3:41 PM “What do the following have in common!Sir Henry,Sir Louis,Sir Bree,Sir Johnny,Sir Maurice,Sir Philip.Sir John.”

Testicles?

One gets national honours for having testicles?

10. Caswell principles were bought with a job as a bag carrier for an AG Minister of a BLP Government before. After he lost the job as bag carrier,and many other jobs,due to his attitude,now developed bad attitude, a Bush Tea on BU called it a ” Real Man”

11. David
    Maybe the traditional has formed a more politically mature view and are not hypocrites. For those contantly calling me an agent of Mia and the BLP..that suit wunna. If wunna only knew I was an agent for…lmao.#yallmadstaymad.

12. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

Somebody mentioned fried food, and somebody else mentioned racing pools, and another person fabrics.

Lemme ask wunna a question.

Would it kill you not to buy fast food for a year?

Would it kill you not to gamble for a year, or five, or a lifetime?

Would it kill you not to buy new fabric for a year or two or five or ten?

13. And for those Bdos is a fail state peddlers, the British PM just recommended one of her backbenchers for a knighthood, and talking about contracts
    https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/dec/31/no-deal-brexit-ferries-who-gets-funds-and-how-was-contract-awarded

14. Sir SimpleSimon Avatar

Is Caswell trying to tell us that the award of a knighthood comes with a diplomatic passport for the knight and his lady?

If so why?

What diplomatic services are the many dozens of knights and ladies (of both parties) performing for the good people of Barbados?

Also did Donville not hold a diplomatic passport for many, many years? More than a decade? And where is Donville now?

What people must be aware of–and I am sorry that I did not tell Donville this face to face on the many, many occasions that he visited my church–what people should be aware of is that the Americans have no friends, only contacts.

A word to the wise is sufficient.

15. We have people on BU who like to posts videos of the nails lady, the expert on corruption in Bdos and loves to big up the Jamaican PM. Google Petrojam and Dr.Wheatley. #cut&paste๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

16. @ Watchman 9.14 pm
    Talking bout ‘real’ men….

Do you think that an albino foreigner woman could come here and build a wall to block Caswell’s drainage system
    – causing his house to flood when it rains heavily…?
    …and that the situation could continue for YEARS….?

AT ALL !!!

Wuh he would gotta be a shiite hound boss….

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Hello David. Check your email. Sent you a poster and write up. As for that link, there is no link that I can see at the top of the page.

18.         It is located under Fact Check. 

Email went to spam.

19. JOB CUTS! THE NEW NORMAL ?

Reliable sources have informed THE NATION that the retrenchment of between 40 and 45 workers from next week could have a negative impact on the preparation process of this yearโ€™s harvest and how the Portvale factory in Blowers, St James, performs throughout the season.

20. “A young man was shot tonight while at Wanstead Gardens, St James.

Around 7:25 p.m. tonight police responded to a report of a shooting at Niles Road, Waterfall Land, St Michael.”

21. “We have people on BU who like to posts videos of the nails lady, the expert on corruption in Bdos ”

Maybe if Marshall and Payne and Worrell did not TIEF HER MOTHER’S PROPERTY…..maybe if the Mottley and Cheltenham names were not affixed to the Deeds of properties…STOLEN FROM THE ELDERLY, DECEASED AND THEIR BENEFICIARIES….ya would not see any videos…

about the rest of ya ignorant, yardfowl comment…ah have no clue what ya mumbling about and don’t care to find out…

22. “the British PM just recommended one of her backbenchers for a knighthood, ”

how many old, black people’s properties did that backbencher STEAL in UK…

yall with ya monkey see monkey do mimicking of UK and everyone else who is shady…the PEOPLE have had Enuff…

I do believe UK has a FUNCTIONING SUPREME COURT…though…while yall destroyed ya own, with corruption..

……ah still waiting to hear what was the NIGHTHOOD’S ..”contribution to the legal fraternity…THAT GOT IT SO CORRUPT…and NONFUNCTIONAL.

23. “To be unable to say โ€œnoโ€™ to those nearest and dearest, to me that signals a profound weakness.”

Weakness to the nth degree and more than UNBECOMING OF A REAL LEADER…

A major problem with Barbados lawyers…they LACK ETHICS…and that is DESPITE talking ethics courses in law school.

Their moral compass IS BROKEN…they do as they please with NO BOUNDARIES..hence they are known as the most DISHONEST lawyers in the world..

24. @ Gabriel,

Once the prime minister has lost the confidence of the majority of BLP members she can be removed as prime minister, but not as MP. What is important is that under t he Westminster system the prime minister is first among equals, key decisions are made in a formally constituted Cabinet meeting. I get the impression the prime minister is an autocrat. If so, it will end in tears.
    Decent, self-respecting, intelligent members of parliament, no matter how much they enjoy the status of being a minister, will tolerate being bulldozed by a self-obsessed prime minister. At some point something must give.

@Whistleblower,

It is a matter of time that the push back from the fat cats – especially the foreign New Barbadians – will end in violence. Here is one scenario: a vocal opponent is found dead with shots to the head; in his/her pocket is a bundle of money and drugs. Word goes out he was a drug dealer and his death was a gangland assassination. End of story. The real gangsters continue in business.
    Watch out.

25. What is the process of identifying candidates for knighthood and which body makes the final decision?

Which one of you would not honor your parents?

26. “Let me connect some more DOTS for you. Moses another clothes seller and cocaine trafficker is Gabriel Abedโ€™s uncle.

Bitt Inc was conceptualise by Gabriel Abeds and Anthony Nadur.

Anthony Nadurโ€™s family Posse runs the Racing Pools in Barbados.

He has also been involved in drug trafficking/money laundering and has an Air Conditioning Company as a front.

http://www.csi.bb/contact/

These guys and their families CONNECTIONS are Barbados Mafia fraternity protected by Police who take monetary and other favors as bribes for facilitation and kickbacks.”

Ya forgot to add that they OWN EVERY GOVERNMENT MINISTER…maybe except for the very new ones, so far, but it is still early in the 5 year term…and every LOWLIFE LAWYER that can be found on the island…and of those there are hundreds…at least 1,200…and ya can guarantee at least 1,190 of those demon lawyers ARE OWNED BY CRIMINAL MINORITIES….lawyers who TIEF from their own people to please, appease and enrich those criminals like themselves…

27. To give passport out the criminals so they shall not be held by the US government! President Trump will deal with Deep State very soon, for Laundering! GITMO

28. WARU
    Not surprised by your answer, that’s what Salemites and c&p specialists do. No thought, just sensationalism, hysteria and hyperbole. How come your mentor/mentee don’t post videos about the plight of returning nationals to Jamaica, that was raised by Hal? No need to answer, we know why. By the way, you definitely have court clothes. Keep posting. ๐Ÿค

29. “videos about the plight of returning nationals to Jamaica”

Far as I know the lady is BAJAN not Jamaican…if you know differently…maybe you can share..

……AND…she is expounding on the RETURNING BAJAN NATIONALS WHO ARE ROBBED BY BAJAN LAWYERS…MANY BY THE SCUM IN PARLIAMENT…

so why should she be making videos on Jamaica…

In case ya forgetting…all documents REGARDING the THEFT OF HER MOTHER’S ESTATE…including the signatures of the THIEVES…affixed….and ALL documents REGARDING theft from the vulnerable and elderly..ovre the decades, by the THIEVES IN AND OUT OF PArLIAMENT…….ARE POSTED ON FACEBOOK..

so SUE AWAY…

30. Word of advice to Mia…instead of trying to cover up the criminality by issuing diplomatic passports and staying silent…maybe it’s time to LOCK UP THE CRIMINALS….cause for CERTAIN crimes…diplomatic passports mean nothing, the world has trod that path before.

but don’t mind me…not a fella can affix ankle monitors on me, cause ah aint got no offshore accounts HIDING ANYTHING , ah don’t launder money and ah don’t take bribes…

31. Ah should add..ah don’t sell drugs, ENABLE drug traffickers…or award them SHITEHOODS….lol

32. BajanFeeParty
    January 5, 2019 6:37 AM

Trump deal with what? He is a moron. A well chosen front salesman for the idiots like you to believe. The wealthy clique get richer, while the idiots in a pickup truckwith two bales of hay scream his name happily, as their saviour.

‘Dog diggity do mamma, that thar’s our saviah’.

Even more stupid for the supposed educated outside of US to support that nonsense.

33. Invoking trump now that he is ON HIS WAY TO JAIL…not a good idea.,,he is a useless ass bringing down death on black and brown people…he is as useless as Enuff’s masters in parliament…as useless as yardfowls..

34. I wish to commend PM Mottley and the current administration who are attempting to salvage an economy brought to its knees by the former administration.

Further, the pain and sufferation that the poor, middle class have had to endure as a result of errant policies by the former administration, during and now, cannot be relieved in a day, a week or a month and we realise that.

It is not going to be easy and the great PM Mia Amor Mottley warned us of that pre and post election. And with that, we entrusted her with the reins, knowing full well that she is the only one with the tenacity to pull us out of the mire that them so and so’s put us in.

Respect Muh Lady, R-E-S-P-E-C-T as the late great Areefah usid tuh say.

Doan mind the nincompoops who still cannot get over that the Barbados public pelt dem out pun dey backside.

We trust that you will continue to lead in the right direction.

As fuh de Sir thing, you know that Bajans love to pull down, not lift up. It is a national pastime. Like Lou licking she mout out de frontroom winda pun a evening. Telling all an sundry bout de girl who live up de road, getting a liff home in a big cyar by de manager. Eh ayyyyy.

Yuh know what I is saying?

Keep good.

35. Waru on his way to jail LOL that is the mantra you liberals have been saying for two years and it hasn;t still and wont happen.Every week is a new we gotcha ..and none has come about, talk about crazy . Doing the same thing every week and expecting a different result. Get ready to commit hari kari because he is going to get china on board the wall will be built and he will be president in 2020.

36. Some still miss the part where…RESPECT IS EARNED…not GIVEN..just because a shite title was given by the people to a PM or ministers with taxpayer funded SALARIES ATTACHED..

the only society where people believe because they elect and give ministers titles and because said ministers award their friends and families with more shite titles that everyone should jump on the respect crooks bandwagon…..it is called a mentally enslaved society…misled and miseducated..

Again….RESPECT IS EARNED…not given.

37. Lawson..ya knowing when am not fighting…it will not end well…lol

38. Crusoe January 5, 2019 7:13 AM

BajanFeeParty
    January 5, 2019 6:37 AM

Trump deal with what? He is a moron. @@
    @ Mia right in front of you and you can’t see her! Yet to you see Trump in his Nation? With one-sided fake new Barbados give you? Only 5 of you woke up to know what going on in your own Nation of Barbados and Keep voting for swap! As you don’t know your own history nor how you go into this mess, I will not jump on you as yet keep coming and I will, Go Back and Vote for criminals again then Bitch later!, Trump dealing with the same things in Barbados you cant even see, He is going after white criminals white on white crime,black need to watch, Who voted for Trump was sick of both parties in office for some over 50 doing nothings! Sounds like Barbados, Deep State Cabal also in Barbados. KKK and all other groups were doing the same in the state no matter who is in office even Obama! State rights, state laws, Study the laws of Barbados as go by Rule of Law, not just what you feel and think, Only thing will save you all is to know truth, its will not come from your media nor your schools for your History after 180 was replaces with you GOD COW!
    We were ahead of you ALL with what went wrong in Barbados and never moved, posted on BU 2012 and before Barbados Free Press back 2007? We are here again to keep trying to wake you up, There is more room under Mia BBLP dress for you to run under as she gaining weight of the back and pockets of you all!,, You seem very new to BU unless you change your name, Try to keep up, you are more than 50 behind!

Barbados is Now living the Warnings in real time of Well Well, LOOK, Bush Tea, Plantation deeds, and a few other who now changing their words, The warning are the same the crooks are the same, Check your Deed for Clear title then go to the bank to see if you can get alone! Yes we know Mia cares, NOT never did never,

39. For the misled…..Lawson…stay out of US, won’t want to hear they start hauling in trump supporters when the tide turns and ya get locked in a cell with SHAQUAN…lol

This will expire around the same time Donville is going to his trial in Brooklyn..

“Robert Mueller isnโ€™t ready to close up shop.

A federal judge in Washington has extended the grand jury used in the special counselโ€™s Russia investigation for another six months, a court spokeswoman said Friday.

The grand jury, which has already delivered high-profile indictments against former Trump campaign officials Paul Manafort and Rick Gates as well as dozens of Russian operatives and companies, was set to pack up on Saturday, when its standard 18-month term expired.

But Muellerโ€™s team applied for a six-month extension and U.S. District Judge Beryl Howell approved it.”

40. WARU January 5, 2019 7:27 AM

Invoking trump now that he is ON HIS WAY TO JAILโ€ฆnot a good idea.,,he is a useless ass bringing down death on black and brown peopleโ€ฆhe is as useless as Enuffโ€™s masters in parliamentโ€ฆas useless as yardfowls..@

Mia is worse than Trump for a Nation , The USA we may see some “law” working but none is working in Barbados, Owen as PM, Mia as AG, David Simmons as AG then CJ, COW, Cheltenham,CLICO for over 30 years,VAT1997 now over 21 years,UDC fraud , NHC crown land fraud for Dummies, TAX and VAT , fuel and cost of living,? over price white fuel ?no work, no jobs, guns, drugs of the Crime Minister Mia, no DLP being charged for the BBLP must go first, Turning State evidence against each other, shit in the streets, people dropping dead, Bajans in Barbados need to mind their business at home , they cant go globle! We warn before Truth is what we are seeking, None In BDS!

41. mueller extends grand jury….what a red herring…..its like putting insurance on your car ..you probably wont need it but if you do you want it in place. Quit reading the tea leaves as you have done for two years of trumps demise on every thing mueller does. Mueller sneezes and you guys say trump has sent agents to give him the cold and hopefully die lol.

42. nineofnine January 5, 2019 5:43 AM

What is the process of identifying candidates for knighthood and which body makes the final decision?

Which one of you would not honor your parents?

Mia is a crook, her father is a crook, her brother is a crook, they are all crooks, they are also crook lawyers in and out of office, there is no Honor to Honor, each person in office is to knight their own family? to avoid jail for crimes against the state and to travel freely, soon she will have to knight her brother the lawyer to keep him out of US jail with offshore accounts and passports,

43. Prodigal Son (Still a serious misnomer)

Oh, I do know you! I know you by your posts. The most telling one is when you told me I needed to get over my “hatred” of Trump. All I did was criticize the despicable acts of an obvious megalomaniac, pathological liar, racist, misogynist, despot in the making and you found the fault to lie with ME! Now THAT was NASTY!

What else do I need to know about you????????

But this post is also particularly revealing. You don’t even UNDERSTAND what I meant by the pig sty. Hint – it had nothing to do with your standard of living. And that’s why YOU are poor and I am not.

Now here’s MY advice to YOU –

YOU need to get over your unconditional love of the Prime Minister!

Unless you are willing to administer TOUGH LOVE when needed and speak truth to power your love is not constructive.

44. not sure how this works but if you are being knighted who pays for your expenses, air fare ,hotel,meals, etc to have it done, so when i honor my parents i dont have others pay for it especially if they never knew or liked them.

45. This family hates paying for anything…so they have been MOOCHING off vulnerable bajans and the taxpayers for decades…obviously it continues UNABATED AND UNASHAMEDLY.

46. @ Lawson,

Is cutting and pasting and vulgarity a mental illness in Canada? Can I volunteer someone to be held under the mental health Act?

47. “All I did was criticize the despicable acts of an obvious megalomaniac, pathological liar, racist, misogynist, despot in the making and you found the fault to lie with ME! Now THAT was NASTY!”

The typical mentally enslaved, miseducated black mind…they can NEVER see the CRIMINALS in power..THEY CAN ONLY SEE THOSE WHO POINT THEM OUT…

48. Crusoe,

“Our great prime minister??????’ Aren’t you putting the cart before the horse? Doesn’t she first have to do something great before she earns that title?

PS. I still watching but all I see so far is two garbage trucks, plenty pink slips, an increased water bill etc.

49. What does a knighthood entitle one to?
    What are the benefits?

50. You have not been following the blog?