amor elliott mottley
Photo credit: Barbados Today

The seemingly small gesture of Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, of recommending her father for a knighthood speaks volumes about the way how she intends to govern, or should I say rule, this country. It is another clear clear indication that Miss Mottley is hell bent on establishing the closest thing to royalty in Barbados, with her friends and family as the upper class.

The people of this country should not be surprised by the indecent haste with which the PM procured the appointment for daddy dearest. It would appear that indecent haste is the hallmark of everything associated with this new Mottley administration. The indecent haste of amending the Constitution to secure the appointment of friends to the Senate. The indecent haste of terminating public workers, ostensibly to save money, rather than go after tax defaulters who owe in excess of one billion dollars to the Treasury. And let’s not forget the indecent haste of rushing legislation through parliament to forgive tax defaulters who failed to pay their taxes between 1968 and 2000. They are many others but these are just a few examples of the haste and bad judgment that has characterised this administration so far.

However, I want to concentrate on the recommendation to Her Majesty the Queen, to award the Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG) to the Prime Minister’s father. It looks bad. Someone close to the PM, maybe the knight himself, should have told her how it looks.

Like many, I am not concerned about the criteria for awarding the knighthood, since over the centuries, the monarch of England have granted such distinctions to a variety of scoundrels for service to the Crown. That is not to say that any of the current recipients of high honour are scoundrels. For example, a pirate, Francis Drake, was knighted for service to the Crown.

To my mind, the appointment has less to do with service to this country and is more about setting up an upper class in this country, with the Prime Minister and her family as the queen and court. From now on Sir Elliot and his wife Lady Mottley have the right to parade around the world with a Barbados Diplomatic passport as long as they live. Again, to my mind, this particular knighthood is more about the perks than the honour itself.

Gimme the vote and watch muh take care of my friends and family to the exclusion of all others.

326 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Diplomatic Passports for Mummy and Daddy”

1. If Mia cannot do right by the people because she and her family suffers from the delusions that they are some elite upperclass and better than the black population…black like themselves….who elected her…then she too and her circus clowns, need to be permanently REMOVED from the parliament just like her criminal friends in the exiled DLP…

2. @William

A good leader by definition will lead. No ifs or buts.

3. Ah wonder when it will occur to them that it is the BAIT and SWITCH she and MARSHALL and am sure all the other crooks were involved in that wickedly devious plot …that they all conceived and thought that no one noticed…..IS WHAT WILL DO HER IN…

4. @ Maripoka
    If Caswell would ONLY put George Payne feet to the fire on all illegal allegations being brought against him in social media
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Why the donkey don’t you and the pissy DLP shiitehounds put Payne’s feet to the fire…?
    Is it that wunna crooked feet would get burnt too…?
    Why not ask Carrington to lead the charge…
    yuh JA…

Caswell is NOT wunna mouthpiece or messenger….
    Wunna shiite hounds CANNOT dictate to Caswell what – or who – to talk about….

You are nothing but a shameless brassbowl of the topsy variety…..
    Caswell knows better than to interact with such a contaminated vessel… that is NOT his role..
    He can always leave that task to Bushie – whose whacker KNOWS how to dispose of shiite..
    …and to Artax – the BU Sewage disposal master..

NO SHAME whatsoever….

Having said that…
    Bushie will deal with Hats at the appropriate time….

5. Instead of harping on about why he should or should not be knighted it would be more prudent to focus on the process and the criteria that allowed this.

Firstly both the process and criteria should be well defined, agreed and communicated to all.
    This is a basic standard for good governance.

I can point to numerous examples in the civil service and at SOE’s that have also resulted in questionable appointments that have been far more detrimental to the country.

The old geezer going be dead in a few years anyway.

Our problem is we waste too much energy discussing personalities rather than the policies, procedures and processes (PPP) that allow said personalities to exploit the system. The PPPS are supposed to designed in such a way to make it damn hard or illegal to exploit the system the way the PM just did.

The system is so weak she could have knighted Ninjaman for his contribution to vagrancy.

Our system for appointments is flawed, corrective action is needed.

PDCA

6. Maybe these types of actions or powers by the PM, other government officials, could be brought under the preview of the integrity legislation/commission.

For it would make absolutely no sense to focus exclusively on one type of graft, financial, while kind violations, which arguably are worth tens of millions, remain in place.

Mia Mottley, seems to be a serial violator, in this latter category.

In to-to, Barbados will continue to show its true colours as a rentier state.

7. Again Redguard has gone near to the ROOT of the problem.

The next question is
    WHY do we have such loose systems of appointment in place?
    Is it that the system is DESIGNED to facilitate political patronage?
    Did we create a ‘yardfowl paradise’?

When the change was made to our constitution to allow POLITICIANS to effectively appoint the country’s managers in the public service – what did we REALLY think would follow?

If you do shiite, it will eventually smell … and smell stink.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What has Elliot Mottley done? Show his achievements and what he has done for Barbados that has benefited it. The rogue is not even in power a good darn year yet and already she has made decisions that have upset the apple cart.

Poster time again. Where is the poster blog? You took it down. SSS back.

9. Did some idiot here actually give her parents the title “first parents? ” Since when did Barbados have “first parents?” This is precisely the attitude that we are talking about!

We have a prime minister. The prime minister is a SERVANT OF THE PEOPLE! We do not vote for rulers or royalty. We vote for SERVANTS OF THE PEOPLE! Since we pay their salaries we expect OUR INTERESTS TO BE PARAMOUNT IN THE MINDS OF OUR SERVANTS.

We expect them to GOVERN not RULE nor REIGN nor LORD THEIR POSITIONS OF THE POWER WE VESTED IN THEM over us..

Whether or not this man is worthy of honour is not the point. If she had waited until she had accomplished her mission or until we could at least see major inroads made into our most vexing problems we would line the streets in the hot sun and cheer as she awarded her whole family honours for supporting her in the valley!

What stands out is the “INDECENT HASTE” with which she did this.

It sends us a clear message!

MESSAGE RECEIVED LOUD AND CLEAR!.

Well said T. Inniss! That this is the thought that consumed her at night is obvious and it is obscene. Who cares if retrenched workers have bread to eat? My father has his honours. NOW ALL IS WELL in the Mottley household. The only thing we were missing has now been attained. WE HAVE IT ALL!
    Na na na na na!

To all BLP supporters – FYI we voted the BLP in to do BETTER than the DLP. “Well they did it first!” is therefore not an acceptable response to our concerns. Just stop it! It is making us angry. Five years is really not a long time. If Caswell would only start a political party……..

Imagine these idiots are talking about Caswell bringing the House into disrepute! Newsflash! Your peeps did that a long time ago. The House has NO REPUTATION TO SQUANDER!

CASWELL TRUTH TIME should be a weekly routine.

@Prodigal Son (a serious misnomer)

From what I can see you are still in the pig pen. Covered in shite.

10. Would there have been this non sensical dissent if it were Sir Ernest?There are those who would have had their two cents worth to add against such a colonial honour.As expressed elsewhere whomever political is honoured,given our adversary political system there will be these storms in tea cups irrespective of the occupier of the high office of PM.
    When OSA named David Simmons CJ it was fodder for the likes of Thompson the political loser.For the same reason there are those who disagree with Stuart’s naming a new GG and a new DPP when the door was slamming in both his face and his rear end.Nobody is fussing over those things today.For the current PM however it seems an acceptable diversion from the economic management of the country.

11. https://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/2018/10/01/commentary-mottley-more-clown-than-con-a-mix-of-both-perhaps/

Indeed , I am not surprised about the machinations of Mia Amor Mottley!

As a matter of fact her former boss called her a DESPOT !

Her former political colleague called her a DEMON in WHITE !

The author in the article above calls her a CLOWN / CON !

But she is not alone .,,,..!!

Sir Richard Cheltenham – President of the Senate – received millions of dollars as Attorney Fees from the Government of Barbados with respect to the Al Barrack case .,,,,,,.and as at January 4 , 2019 REFUSES to pay 2 junior attorneys who worked on that case with him.

So Mia has her THIEVES all around with her !

12. @SSS

The link is at the top of the page.

13. Bush Tea

Top marks for your post @ 8:08 a.m.

Skinner

I think that the leadership remark by David/BU was meant to be tongue in cheek – Apologies in advance if I am wrong.

I agree with him 100% – if you are a true leader it can never be a difficult thing to lead.

It is ingrained in you – and would come naturally as breathing.

The question is the type of leadership – Ethical – or Unethical.

Mia is proving herself to be in the latter grouping.

14. We are not convinced that this appointment is either the first or the last to attract some controversy.

Elombe, hasn’t gotten his ‘touch of the sword’ as yet!

15. Bush tea any shitty brass bowl spouting sh.it is you FYI Caswell came out with blazing guns protecting George Payne
    Get lost you fool

16. @T.Inniss

Is it our imagination or is Grenville of Solutions Barbados and Caswell of the unnamed Opposition Party more strident in voice than the DLP.

17. David

Can the dead talk?

The DLP has been rightly put to death by Bajans

The burial still awaits.

But instead of planning the burial you seek resurrection.

No resurrection, no time soon, is ah coming.

18. @Pacha

There is no resurrection intent in the comment, it is to send a message.

A word to the politically partisans should be enough.

19. When I read people like Gabriel and Prodi – Gal – I get very concerned because unlike Mariposa who has never advanced any argument that she is an intellectual superior – but the others have come masquerading as ‘angels of light’ and desirous of meaningful change.

However when you see the sickening, arguments and examples they are using to justify their shite – man its really bad.

20. Both Gabriel and Prodigal Son are misnomers.

Gabriel is lost in a dark hole and Prodigal Son is still in the pig pen.

21. David

As Bajans we lack the collective imagination to rid ourselves of the whole system in one fell swoop.

That is now the trick.

But in the meantime now the DLP is dead we have to keep it dead as we try to find a creative means by which the BLP and all third party pressure groups, duopoly’s offspring, could join them.

22. I am not the least bit surprised this BLP government ain’t no damm better than DLP,both of these two political parties that have ever only governed Barbados slimy shady and corrupted.With these two political parties it’s like taking a shower and putting back on the same dirty clothes one was wearing before shower,the rich gine get richer and the poor gine stay just that way with both of these two slimy political parties.Don’t like nor care for either of them so nothing about them surprises me,wish Bajans see them for what they really are and that is dirty rotten self serving dogs.

23. David

I have heard the new President – Verla Depeiza making very strong pronouncements against policies and decisions taken by Mottley.

However she is first of all not given PROMINENCE in the Newspaper when she speaks – and secondly is also always outnumbered when she is invited to speak on the call in show on VOB. It is always Verla the Dee – against Ellis,Wickham,Ryan Straughn – who are all Bees or Mottley sympathisers – advancing their argument against the Dems.

She is easily accessible to the media from all indications and she responds publicly – so unless you are saying you really want the same MPs who were rejected to come in the public domain – so they could get a strong cussing again – then say so.

Listening to Verla – the DLP is in rebuilding mode – so it will take some time before they identify spokesperson – but it does not mean that they can’t come out in their individual right to speak out on National Issues.

24. Rawle Spooner now is the time to start yuh own party
    Uh dont think so!

25. @Sunshine Sunny Shine January 4, 2019 9:48 AM

Why only Elliott Mottley? What has Mazie Barker-Welch, John Conell, Louis Tull, Johnny Cheltenham, Austin Sealy etc. etc. etc. done?The system of awarding titles was broken long ago

26. You people on BU are so bias….who died and made Caswell the only principled person in Barbados?

Had not for the traitor Atherley where would CF be?

I did not attack CF,….l just ask people to be reasonable…… attacking people for attacking sake.

The Dems mashed up this country… Left behind a mess and all we can see on BU daily from four disgruntled Dems is moaning and belly aching over things that their party should have done…

Grow up people…..the DLP was given a Redwash for a reason!

27. T Inniss
    Try all you like the damn DLP dead as a door nail.People won’t forget Senator VERLA referring vehemently, to Bajans as TRAITORS,for opposing finger printing to re-enter their country of birth and residence.

28. Pig husks, anyone?

29. The Dems destroyed Barbados and now that we are seeing what real governance should look like…..all we are getting is hogwash from disgruntled Dems.

Look…. Ryan Straughn said that they knew things were bad…….when they got in and the CBB governor opened up to them……they realized that things were 100 times worse.

Are we still being downgraded?

Are we still depressed?

Are poor people children not being afforded UWI education?

Did taxpayers not getting back their tax refunds and VAT refunds?

Are roads not being paved?

Did we not get garbage trucks a few days ago?

Results galore! Woohoo!

30. Poor Donna…..l pity you…..so nasty to someone you don’t even know…

Far from being in a pig pen….l must let you know that I have a pretty good life….lack nothing.

Peace to you my dear…..

31. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

The main problem with Barbados Politicians is they all operate on the concept that we are still operating in the dark ages with business as usual whilst continuity of corruption and taking the Public as FOOLS AND PAWNS.

The one thing they fear is Social Media.

However the Public that they treat with scorn and contempt behind close doors must wake up and get rid of both DLP and BLP who are both Parasites robbing them blind through taxes and then stealing from them via their cronies being both close associates and business people as operatives.

They have done it so successful for many years it is par for the course and the masses has fallen for it through BRAINWASHING USING DLP VS BLP PARTAINSHIP TO DIVIDE & RULE AND CONQUER WHILST ENJOYING THE MASSIVE SPOILS FROM THEIR CORRUPTION AND STEALING FROM THE PUBLIC.

32. To :Jonathan
    I refer you to the fact that he was given twenty-four hours to leave Bermuda or else be arrested for perverting the course of justice.. The only reason he was not arrested and jailed by the Bermudians was the avoidance of greater publicity ,that would have been very damaging to the country’s reputation. As I have said previously, Barbadians have flexible memories when they want to pretend that a fact is not a fact.

33. @Prodigal

The partisans will be partisans. Partisans will be on the hunt to criticise government. This is not the issue here. The blogmaster has company with citizens from all walks of life who are commenting negatively on the conferment of a knighthood to the PM’s father. Address ordinary Bajans with the concern NOT the partisans.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

An excellent post earlier.

That is where you need to keep hitting.

Hou have to get to that point that when a feller sees that you posted they automatically click on your name link like they do with Caswell Franklyn and Bush Tea and Sage Annunaki

35. David

You would readily recall that Pachamama was the sole voice to predict this 30-0 DLP defeat. And it was done 4 years ahead of time, the last election.

There was one pollical, so-called scribe here, who expressed doubt. All wrongly based on alleged political acumen, experience.

We had asked the DLP after the election before last, 2013, to form a coalition government with a ‘defeated’ OSA, given the close 16-14 results. For such an approach to Mottley would have be rebuffed, in our estimation.

This is a new year and another prediction of a similar magnitude maybe in the offing. But we reverse our powder for another time.

36. Can Dr. Lucas or some other expand on this matter of Elliott Mottley embroiled in the Bermuda matter?

37. Prodigal

You asked:

1) Are we still being downgraded ? Answer – Yes – when Mia defaulted on the loan ‘which the IMF described as Selective Default’ – Barbados was downgraded twice – and don’t even mention that partial small upgrade which was given.

2) Are we still depressed – Answer – A hundred times yes – wuh you living on Mars – yuh ain’t hearing the cries of the people ?

I forget – you in your new job with your entertainment, travel and Duty allowance – so you can dress up in your nice dresses and handbags – as you enjoy that nice piece of Bar -B -Q fatted calf.

3) Are poor children not being afforded UWI education – Answer – they never stopped my dear – even when they had to pay their tuition – grants were made available to those same poor children at UWI.

4) Did citizens not get back their tax refunds ? – Didn’t you know,citizens had already started receiving their tax refunds under the last administration – so you are not doing something new.

5) Are roads not being paved – Wuh you meaning ‘ being paved with the loan negotiated and signed for by the same ‘incompetent dems govt”. I notice that Mia took some of that money and paved the roads in her constituencies – rather than the bad roads in other constituencies that are badly in need of paving.

6) Did we not get garbage trucks a few weeks ago .You mean the 2 trucks which were already on order from the last government – and of course not the 30 Sanitation trucks yuh said we would have been getting in 3 months time right ?

Mia told us give she the vote and watch she – so she got the vote and then what – crap.

She told us she got this – but I want to know what it is she really got – yuh mean the perks for her family and friends ?

The people are not happy that they got exchange and not the Change that was promised.

Wuhloss Unethical leadership galore.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@SSS

Welcome back SSS.

A prosperous new year go you and yours.

Just a little update about your query about the “poster corner “.

I can confirm that it is there BUT NESTED nearly said tested but let me also say this.

I will “speculate” here a little but … de ole man would advise you to read what I am saying as I suggest a different strategy for a few reasons.

The Honourable Blogmaster, the old David of BU, IS FIGHTING.

His is a serious battle as it relates to (i) keeping BU open in the face of (ii) constant pressure from the technological side, (iii) legal attacks by everyone who feels offended by BU content, (iv) coercion by the Mugabe regime, (v) buyout offers and a few more that I will not openly mention here.

Sometimes it is best to “REST” a blog because it has achieved its objective and should not be revisited for a few of the aforestated reasons

so a suggestion might be to either post your posters among the comments or request a new corner which does not mingle with the first.

what you have go consider is the Fact that the Sedition Act of 2019 is being prepared to destroy BU and end ALL DISSENT.

And Edmund Hinkson and Dale Marshall the legal dogs of Mugabe, Sorry beagles, Ralph Thorne and Oblong Head Kerrie Symmons have been tasked to design a tool to eradicate Social Media sites.

They are also conspiring to change the voting process SOMETHING THAT WUNNA SOON GOING SEE

And I am sure your peeple would have told you this before.

As Pachamama and Mr William Skinner and others here are saying, it is time for a Third Party and its campaign HAS TO BE DELIVERED FROM NOW.

Choose your articles here on BU carefully and blog your items AND WHEN IT IS TIME A MECHANISM WILL BE PROVIDED FOR FIRE & FURY where all of them will be made available heheheheh

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 11 :45 AM

Are you serious? What is it you want Dr Lucas to be involved in? As far as I know Dr, Lucas deals with issues of a scientific matter. Please do not go down that road.

40. David

I am on record of having said on the other blog that l would not have done it were l the PM knowing how the partisans are.

It is done now so are we going to beat it to death 24/7?

Do we now raise the level of the debate to the criteria that should be used to make the awards.

41. @Vincent

Your point eludes us all to be sure. Dr. Lucas has posted on the matter of Elliott Mottley and Bermuda, twice!

On Fri, Jan 4, 2019 at 4:06 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ T Inniss

YOU CAN NEVER AGAIN USE THE WORDS FATTED CALF

Are you foolish or what

David Thompson your dead leader used those words and you are promoting the dead DLP.

You cannot use that phrase…may I suggest “the Fat Sea Cow”?

The imagery is directed towards Mugabe AND, BARRING HER GETTING A BROOKSLAX DIET, the idea is to create a visual imagery which builds around her blatant acts of “political gluttony” juxtaposed against her size.

De ole man only going help you thus far but I voing warn you that Verla Depeiza is NOT ON THE RIGHT PATH AND WILL FAIL.

43. @Prodigal Son

Be that as it may there are consequences for ones action. Mia ran a political platform of change, about transparency, about taking the country to the next level. Optics will play a part to the extent the government is able to mobile and command the support of the citizenry after 10 years of a fractious and divisive period. The period she has labelled the lost decade.

44. “Do we now raise the level of the debate to the criteria that should be used to make the awards.”

wuh yeah…how else are we going to get the ATTENTION of the criteria titled jackasses who continue to PERPETRATE THE SAME SHIT…WHILE EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS…

45. @ David BU, the Chairman, The man who holds this forum in order,

Plse explain to the blog the change that the Mottley-led government has introduced, or even better proposed, apart from defaulting on our domestic and foreign debt?
    Give us a single example of transparency introduced by the Mottley-led government that was not in existence previously? To help you, the BLP government cannot even bring itself to publish the CXC school exams, as the Trinidadians have done. Why not? Remember, Ms Mottley is a former minister of education.
    Tell us the level that Mottley has taken us to, apart from the boastful, simplistic nonsense about punching above our weight regionally and globally (and implicitly that she is punching above her weight regionally and globally)?
    Which post-independence period of government do you want to compare the ten-years of DLP rule to? Pick a period; pick a prime minister.
    May I suggest with respect that you post your views anonymously so those of us who take our politics seriously do not have to respond.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 12:13 PM

I am not making a point. I made a request which you may or may not grant. The buck stops at you.

47. Mottley boasted that once she wins the election Barbados will be getting 30 buses in 3 months time.

Professor Emritus Michael Howard – warned Mottley in his assessment of her Mini manifesto – that she would not be able to do some of the things she was promising – but no – for her it was win at all cost – and now what ?

Now we have the Chairman Gregory Niccolls apologizing for the low number of buses available to put on the roads – this after the government boasted a few months after they got in – that they have fixed and refreshed the Transport fleet with an extra 54 buses ( I think was the number given.)

Now School Children are about to go back to school – minibuses threatening more strikes – and no new buses available.

Blame this on Mia defaulting on this country’s loans payments.So overseas Creditors will not be giving you credit to purchase these big tickets items.

Same with the Sanitation Service – and the purchase of Sanitation Trucks.Steupse.

48. @T.Inniss,

Whatever happened to White Oak? Did Persaud receive a searcher’s fee in connection with White Oak? What is his fee as an economic consultant to the government?

49. I love how we conflate issues on BU….but when it suits our narrative and agenda.

50. Hal

I have been asking that question over and over.

Mottley ain’t care about that.She is putting her people in place to lick out the taxpayers money.Steupse.