amor elliott mottley
Photo credit: Barbados Today

The seemingly small gesture of Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, of recommending her father for a knighthood speaks volumes about the way how she intends to govern, or should I say rule, this country. It is another clear clear indication that Miss Mottley is hell bent on establishing the closest thing to royalty in Barbados, with her friends and family as the upper class.

The people of this country should not be surprised by the indecent haste with which the PM procured the appointment for daddy dearest. It would appear that indecent haste is the hallmark of everything associated with this new Mottley administration. The indecent haste of amending the Constitution to secure the appointment of friends to the Senate. The indecent haste of terminating public workers, ostensibly to save money, rather than go after tax defaulters who owe in excess of one billion dollars to the Treasury. And let’s not forget the indecent haste of rushing legislation through parliament to forgive tax defaulters who failed to pay their taxes between 1968 and 2000. They are many others but these are just a few examples of the haste and bad judgment that has characterised this administration so far.

However, I want to concentrate on the recommendation to Her Majesty the Queen, to award the Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG) to the Prime Minister’s father. It looks bad. Someone close to the PM, maybe the knight himself, should have told her how it looks.

Like many, I am not concerned about the criteria for awarding the knighthood, since over the centuries, the monarch of England have granted such distinctions to a variety of scoundrels for service to the Crown. That is not to say that any of the current recipients of high honour are scoundrels. For example, a pirate, Francis Drake, was knighted for service to the Crown.

To my mind, the appointment has less to do with service to this country and is more about setting up an upper class in this country, with the Prime Minister and her family as the queen and court. From now on Sir Elliot and his wife Lady Mottley have the right to parade around the world with a Barbados Diplomatic passport as long as they live. Again, to my mind, this particular knighthood is more about the perks than the honour itself.

Gimme the vote and watch muh take care of my friends and family to the exclusion of all others.

326 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Diplomatic Passports for Mummy and Daddy”

1. @enuff

It is not about conflating issues. It is a simple matter some not liking the optics of the matter in year 1. The public has a right to like not like. Politicians serve us ,do not forget. Do not measure MAM’s and government’s performance against the incompetents or decisions of the past.

2. David

Was there a blog post about Sir Austin Sealy?

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Hal Austin

Hal.

Your post at 12.47 PM is precisely the strategy that T Inniss is astoundingly weak in.

Intelligence Content.

Look everything dat de ole man does post has a purpose to inform, to publicise, to emote, to shame, to sensitize.

Some things BECAUSE OF THEIR SOURCE, cannot be detailed because they expose people of whom de old man numbereth first heheheheh

But T Inniss’ campaign is very simple

“Mia Mottley is Bad because she has done or not done a, b, c or d.”

Full effing stop.

Yet, he comes to the blog and while he repeats emotive content HE IS NOT HITTING US SHEEPLE WITH NEW CONTENT

Which suggests that his campaign against Mugabe IS NOT CONNECTED TO OR SANCTIONED BY THE DLP.

He has no actionable intelligence

Were he to bring content namely answers to questions like those you asked above, HE WOULD BE SERIOUSLY DAMAGING THE BLP.

Do you think he can do this?

I think so and de ole man can show him how to do it but…

4. @David
    Can Dr. Lucas or some other expand on this matter of Elliott Mottley embroiled in the Bermuda matter?

Google the name Rebecca Jane Middleton, watch the documentary

5. I earlier suggested to Robert Lucas that he stick to his forte Food Sciences and Grenville 2 that he stick to his Professional Engineering.

6. @enuff

Was Austin Sealy the father of Stuart?

7. Thanks Sargeant

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sargeant

You could quite as easily have provided the link to the documentary of which you speak for all here

Why didnt you ? Heheheheh

You frighten ghost THE BLP brown shirts report the NCO to Mugabe?

9. David

Really? Ok then, Mia should just come out and say George Payne chose Elliott when she was away and GP was acting. LMBAO.

10. @enuiff

Actually the Mottleys should have taken one for the team given the current state of affairs, 30 zip, state of the economy, the saga with the waiver of penalties and interest etc. it is about judgement.

11. The Dems left debt and the Bees created more debt in six months than the dees in ten years taking into account the list of economic advisers who have yet to show proof that they can help lift barbados out of its economic mess

12. @PUDRYR

You should know that Bushy took away my stripes long ago and these things are above my pay grade.

A sleuth such as yourself would have been aware that the video existed but all you posted were articles from a long- ago blog, you were probably operating under the principle “you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him think”.

This award/appointment is a self- inflicted wound but the operative word is “redwash”.

13. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

For those of you living in a Dream land and think Politicians are Servants of the People need to wake-up from Dreaming.

Barbados elected Politicians once given a Ministry see themselves as all knowing and Masters of the Masses.

What the Public choose to believe and what goes on behind close doors is two very different variables.

14. “The Dems left debt and the Bees created more debt in six months than the dees in ten years taking into account the list of economic advisers who have yet to show proof that they can help lift barbados out of its economic mess”

WDF I am reading?

15. the question of whether E. MOTTLEY deserves to be knighted is moot. the optics of his daughter conferring such on him is bad. it should have never happened.

nevertheless MOTTLEY was never given 24hrs to leave Bermuda. MOTTLEY was the AG when certain decisions were made in a murder case from an investigative and prosecutorial standpoint. the matter was subject of a Commission of Inquiry and i believe MOTTLEY had left Bermuda by then. he was only a person subject to that inquiry because he was the AG (DPP) at the time and would have made or caused certain charging decisions to be made.

who ever posted that should be asked to so prove or apologize. at the time the government that was in power in Bermuda was the PLP which hired MOTTLEY and whose top MPs are very close friends of MAM. in fact the same Fintech and Mmoney initiatives in Bim are being pushed in Bermuda with Gabriel Abed the adviser to the Bermuda PM in that regard.

a lot of posters post misleading info masquerading as facts on this site. it takes away a lot from the issues under discussion. think about it… under what law can you give an AG 24hrs to leave a country?

16. “he was only a person subject to that inquiry because he was the AG (DPP) at the time and would have made or caused certain charging decisions to be made.”

that is what got those in the documentary really, really pissed off.

17. That murder case was taken all the way to the Privy Council which ruled against the Bermuda authorities.I expected to see Elliot was or is a Freemason and all the ill advised commentary that institution engenders among those unfamiliar with what it entails.Hogwash contributions from a certain source that doesn’t know any better.Argue of what you are qualified to speak.

18. Okay……

We acknowledge and agree the optics of Mottley’s father receiving a knighthood is bad, the title should have never been conferred upon him and he should have respectfully declined the knighthood.

Then what??????

What do we plan to do about it other than come to BU to repeatedly post the “samey samey” shiite comments and then go on to the next article?

I started my protest by expressing disgust at the Mottley knighthood, to the representative of my constituency. I suggest people should do likewise.

Let this Mottley led BLP administration hear from the electorate that we are dissatisfied her father receiving a knighthood. Attend the constituency branch meeting and let your representatives know how you feel about this situation.

Organise a town hall meeting where citizens can express their views and let Mia Mottley know she is NOT bigger than Barbados……..she is doing a lot of shiite……….

……… and this arrogant BLP administration is not demonstrating the CHANGE they voted for on May 24, 2018.

19. For the benefit of the azz Mariposa.
    Barbados National debt 1628-2007…….7 billion BD$
    Barbados National debt. 2008-2018. 16 billion BD$
    Result:- 30 love defeat at the polls held May 24th 2018.That is cutass.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

Murdah…”The Dems left debt and the Bees created more debt in six months than the dees in ten years”….I am certain you must have been Chris’s economic advisor, as they couldn’t count either LOL

Back to the Knighthood. So many of the issues that MAM had to deal with, were existing. Suddenly she has a clean slate issue. She is not guided, nor confined, by any prior choices; she can choose whomever she wants, or nobody. And looka what she does? While a patronage type appointment is expected, or someone who can make a donation elsewhere, she selects her father. The optics of this are beyond bad, especially since his record is not without questions. Picking family, especially immediate family, signals arrogance of the highest order. One will hope this serious error in judgement is a one off, and not a pattern. And yes, I’m watching yuh.

21. What do the following have in common!Sir Henry,Sir Louis,Sir Bree,Sir Johnny,Sir Maurice,Sir Philip.Sir John..So,why is Sir Elliot such a brain teaser?The goodly gentleman is a top notch legal luminary.That is well known in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean all the way to Belize where he served with distinction.So the problem is that his misfortune is that his daughter is the PM.What a coincidence!Her Majesty didn’t have a problem in conferring the distinguished KCMG on Sir Elliot.And when he goes up to Buckingham Palace and its all recorded for posterity or is that prosperity ’nuff hearts gine get eat out’ especially in George St.
    Buhbaydus is back wid flying colours.

22. I am still confused that it seems it was okay for the Deputy PM’s father but it’s an issue with the PM’ s father. #butiamayardfowl

23. Atax @ 3:01

I am beginning more and more to like some of your recent suggestions Sir.

And since I am one to give all their due – I will commend where I see the need to do so.

So when next I see my representative I too will register my disgust at this unsatisfactory affair.

David/BU

Thank you too for standing on principle with your response to Enuff..

24. @ Enuff
    Was there a blog post about Sir Austin Sealy?
    Ask Gabriel….

25. Wunna see how far these BLP operatives are prepared to lie,and exaggerate and contort information to protect their party interests.

As far as I am aware – Neither Freundel Stuart nor David Thompson appointed a deputy Prime Minister Unlike Owen Arthur who created that precedent first with Billie Miller and then Mia Mottley.

The suggestion being hinted at by this duplicitous character Enuff – is that Richard Sealy was Deputy Prime Minister and Freundel Stuart gave Richard Sealy father a knighthood.

Wunna recognize the deceit, and sleight of hand type of move by BLP operatives like Enuff. ?

Richard Sealy on many occasions acted as Prime Minister in the absence of P.M. Freundel Stuart,similarly to Ronald Jones who did so in the DLP first term.

Even if Richard Sealy was Deputy P.M. – which he was not – he was first of all not P.M. – and HE NEVER CONFERRED ANY AWARD ON HIS FATHER.

Note as far as I can recall, Austin Sealy was recognized for his work in the Olympic Association. He was never run out of any country nor that Organisation as far as I am aware.He was not recognized for working in his chosen profession at Barclays Bank – which paid him handsomely for that – as is being done for Elliot Mottley being recognized for working in his profession as a lawyer – with no ground breaking legal matter under his belt.

As Vincent warned me – to look out for the smoke and mirrors everywhere.

Now back to the topic at hand – the vulgar display of Mia giving her father a knighthood 7 months into her term and in the midst of an Austerity programme that is tearing up low level public servants,pensioners and the middle class.

26. From Fractured BLP January 4, 2019 9:58 AM

” By Youri A Kemp

While Barbadians and Caribbean folks at large bask in the glow of a female leader taking the helm of one of our beautiful islands, making the honeymoon phase of the new Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration longer than it would normally be, we must now begin to get down to the serious issues that: 1. Barbadians have a life and a country that needs to be healed; 2. Facts need to be set aside from the fiction of the campaign slogans and promises; and 3. Barbadian problems before the elections still exist and need identifiable solutions that can be tracked moving forward.”

WORTH READING AND DISCUSSING!

27. Uh huh .

We dun see that one coming boss man – look here – don’t look there.

Discuss this – enough of the discussion on dat dey . lol

28. If I were Assad John Haloute,the fry chicken king ‘o Buhbaydus wid 15 outlets and counting,I would prefer to be known as Sir John and not Sir Assad because Bajans got a habit of abbreviating peoples names like Sir Charles is called Sir Cow (and he answers)and Sir Hilary is called Sir Cave(behind his back and on BU)Sir Bernard is called Sir Bree,Sir Garfield is called Sir Garry,Sir Richard is called Sir Johnny etc…So before he get called Sir Acid,or Sir Ass,he should let it be known to Dame Sandra that he wants to rise as Sir John.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Caswell Franklyn

DE OLE MAN does suffer from tin foil burn and sometimes de ole man wished dat I was as smart as many of de brainiacs heah pun Barbados Underground.

Looka how people talking bout awards and luminaries and deserving and entitlement and all dese fancy tings.

But de ole man looked at your title at caption and being a conspiracist said dat perhaps you were hinting at something else so one needed to refocus on what you were saying.

De ole man training is in other things in addition to collecting Reynolds Tin Foil heheheheh and one of dese tings is ***

So I said I would ask you to comment about these passports to help me understand the direction you were taking with this Diplomat Passport and its commensurate search exemptions.

So de ole man wondered, AND YOU CAN CORRECT ME EFFING I AM WRONG, about the movement of people, and currency and money laundering and drug shipments and exemptions of a Diplomat IN FACT EXEMPTIONS ACCORDED A KNIGHT!!

So I was did go and read The Vienna Convention of 1961, article 36, and said i would share it with wunna sheeple and people:

1.The receiving State shall, in accordance with such laws and regulations as it may adopt, permit entry of and grant exemption from all customs duties, taxes, and related charges other than charges for storage, cartage and similar services, on:

(a) Articles for the official use of the mission;

(b) Articles for the personal use of a diplomatic agent or members of his family forming part of his household, including articles intended for his establishment.

2.The personal baggage of a diplomatic agent shall be exempt from inspection, unless there are serious grounds for presuming that it contains articles not covered by the exemptions mentioned in paragraph 1 of this article, or articles the import or export of which is prohibited by the law or controlled by the quarantine regulations of the receiving State. Such inspection shall be conducted only in the presence of the diplomatic agent or of his authorized representative…”

Oh dear…de ole man hopes dat dis is not interpreted as “such visceral hatred…” given the the words of “In the Name of Common Sense” here on BU

Would you care to respond to why you focused on the Diplomatic Passports?

I mean, it is an anomaly of great proportions Caswell…

ALL HAIL MUGABE

30. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

in fact the same Fintech and Mmoney initiatives in Bim are being pushed in Bermuda with Gabriel Abed the adviser to the Bermuda PM in that regard
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This is the same Gabriel Abed who started Bitt Inc to assist the drug traffickers locally to launder their money with no paper trail as currently exists in local Banking.

This is also the same Gabriel Abed a significant user and trafficker of Cocaine etc.

I am not making slight accusations I know this as fact having met with Gabriel quite a few times when his former office with exotic wood paneled floors was in Hastings Plaza.

The whole Caribbean is corrupt and easily bought.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a drivel question for Mr. Caswell Franklyn thank you

32. BU Whistleblower

You note the pattern right /

The Syrians man – Abed,Haloute,then the Indians Juman – Mottley -(father) former client.

33. I seem to recall Red Plastic Bag had a song called coke in a bed.Was this the same a bed or was that tony.Whatever, that name was mentioned in a calypso by dee bag.

34. What gets me every time is as I examine the records of the DLP and the BLP – with the exception of Barrow and to a limited extent – Tom Adams – every successive leader of these parties has created less and less wealth for the black masses who are the very ones that the white,syrian and indian minority depend on to vote to put in these unenlightened,sell out politicians – so that these minority grouping can cream off the limited resources of the country with their friggin,shyte schemes.

How you think Abed get so rich from selling cheap cloth – every custom officer or public official that will take an under the counter deal is identified – and then matter done.

Same with Haloute

Same with SY Adams who flourished under the BLP and City MP Billie Miller

Same with Pandor – under the DLP

And Maloney under the Dee and now the Bees.

While the majority of black citizens living pay check to pay check and now the Trinidadian and Guyanese Syrians and Indians now coming to join their minority brethren to rake off whatever is left – and wunna fighting over ‘your favourite politician’

Steupse – They will have a lot to answer to God for.

35. Two things about the Lebanese Abeds: first, back in the 1960s, there was almost a riot in Swan Street after allegations that a manager at the Abeds store had kicked a black woman.
    Second, and one I have raised before, why are Barbadians proud of having relatives in Canada, the US, UK, and the islands, yet when it is drawn to their attention that Bajan/Lebanese too have family connections in Lebanon, Brazil (the biggest Lebanese community outside Lebanon), Sydney an other places. Ask the Australians about Lebanese criminals.
    If you want an idea of how they organise, read the State Department’s report on the Canadian-Lebanese ban and what the money was used for.
    We are playing with fire with these New Barbadians and they know our political leaders are low-hanging fruit – will sell their parents for 30 pieces of silver. You have been warned.

36. Btw talking about Coke in a bed what about Dem bad Morgan boys that sail a fishing trawler from the U.K. To Buhbaydus with some illegal drugs on it.One went to live in Curaçao or some such place because the heat was on his azz in Bim.The other one,a Dem too,still knocking bout here say he’s a fisherman.All damn fiends looking to cheat,steal and holler Dems!

37. “coke in a bed.”

am surprised there were not 2…Sir Cocaine Traffickers, maybe next year..

38. Hal,

you are correct but at least MAM had the gumption to invite the local drug kingpins to the opening of parliament for her installation as PM. quite inclusive, what?

39. James Greene

Imagine that sight nuh.

Drugs lord who mek the police shyte – and the police managed to catch,charge and then they were convicted in the courts – have beeb released – but are still big up in the trade – and the police got to now treat them as official guests of the Honourable Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

NEVER EVER SEEN OR HEARD OF IN THE HISTORY OF BARBADIAN POLITICS AND BY ANY OTHER BARBADIAN PRIME MINISTER.

But Gabriel,Enuff,Prodigal,Fear Play and the like – see nothing wrong there.Hmm

When a man shows you who he is – BELIEVE HIM HEAR ! – Mia is showing all uh wunna who she really is – and wunna could like it or lump it.

More to come peoples.

It will all end in tears. Prophetic words it seem from Hal Austin.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

When you travel with a diplomatic passport to a friendly country, you are not given the scrutiny that an ordinary person carrying a normal passport, even if the holder of the diplomatic passport is not accredited to the particular country. Sometimes you would notice at airports that diplomats get priority and don’t join the queue. These people want to feel big-up and their “little girl” facilitated them.

41. The traditional media has been loudly silent on this matter.

42. the traditional media like the unions have sold their souls

43. i get the sense that everyone was so vested in getting rid of the DLP that they didnt plan for the arrogance of the BLP

44. For our constitutional experts, can a prime minister be impeached or recalled?

45. Hal,

if that was possible under our rules, Stuart would not have served a second term

46. That David Thompson was such a piker, he started something called “Family First” now wunna complaining when I approach “Family First” from a different angle.

47. Indeed David. Not a word from the Judases .

Then they got the nerve to talk about the unregulated,irresponsible social media.

I can’t find enough unflattering adjectives to describe the Traditional media – especially the radio and print divisions.

They too will be judged and weighed in the balance.

They really turn my stomach – to be a paid mouth piece rather than keep your integrity.For them I suppose Integrity can’t get you that new car.

Pimps and prostitutes – the whole lot.

48. Excellent thread, cogent posts and hopefully a start to truly holding our leaders accountable regardless of how we feel personally.

Better must be done. Keep at it Caswell .

Just observing

49. Mottley has done some real nerve provoking actions in the seven months in office
    From yanking the pensioners money and yes Ross my stomach still turns especially seeing her with these broad grins when in the presence of the Ross one armed bandits who had all but fleeced Dominica of any some financial support as Dominica govt had their hoped built on Ross return
    It is so sickening and revolting to belive that after Mia campagain speeches about helping the poor that she would steal what little financial resources Dominica had