@Enuff
“Up to now you can’t say why the man is not deserving. In a small country how do you escape proximity to “power/decision-making”?”

Once I see you heading down this road, I know things bad.
No, No, No.
The onus is upon those conferring the honour to highlight the contributions, which are being recognized. Period.
Is Barbados, the country conferring the knighthood, doing so for work in Bermuda, Belize, Caymans, Turks and a little in Barbados too. Or for the leverage used in the BLP leadership battles.
Seems like another Marston Gibson were a Bajan leaves home and spends much of their career working elsewhere, only to return home and be knighted.
To me, if the PM had an ounce of moral decency, she would avoid selecting her father at all costs, especially in the first few opportunities she gets to bestow such an honour. What’s the rush? Is the man ill? – Northern Observer

To be honest the blogmaster does not pay too much attention to the New Year Honours list. The selection appears to be less than transparent and more importantly we are not enthused by a system that awards titles that is anchored to an irrelevant colonial past.

The New Year Honours List for 2019 released by the Government Information Service is as follows [blogmaster’s emphasis]:-

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards in the 2019 New Year Honours:

KNIGHT BACHELOR (KtBach)

• Assad John HALOUTE for services to the hospitality industry and philanthropy

KNIGHT COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF SAINT MICHAEL AND SAINT GEORGE (KCMG)

• Elliott Deighton MOTTLEY for services to the legal profession, diplomatic service and the community

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (CBE)

• Dr. Frances Louise CHANDLER, OBE for services to agriculture and sustainable development

OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (OBE)

• Ms. Cynthia Joan WILLIAMS for services to nursing and the community

MEMBER OF THE ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE (MBE)

• Reverend Hughson Carlos INNISS for services to youth empowerment and the fight against HIV/AIDS
  • John Wayne Anderson WATTS for services to environmental health

The decision to award Elliott Mottley a knighthood has attracted robust and muscular public comment across the length and breath of Barbados, notwithstanding the din generated by the holiday season. There is no need to be prolix with this matter. A repost of the blogmaster’s too brief comment to Northern Observer is enough.

Agree with this comment, the optics are bad and the brazenness of doing it in the first year of term is a foreboding act.

The opinion of the blogmaster is not meant to ignore Elliott’s Mottley’s contribution in his field of work. However, if the Prime Minister is serious about being a change agent she must avoid decisions that will distract and deepen citizen apathy. The herculean task to turn the country around is bigger than the aggrandisement of any family member. Even if that family member is her father. In fact some will suggest with good reason that the controversial waiver of the tax and penalties (NOT TAX DUE) in the amount of $1,051,872.28 to Elliott Mottley which came out of an audit of Mottley’s accounts is reward enough.

A word to the Prime Minister should be sufficient.

625 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley’s Father Awarded Knighthood”

1. tHE HONOUR EAS LONG OVERDUE

2. The least deserving recipient that could be found.

3. When cocaine traffickers are getting these shite. titles, ya done know they can now be called by their rightful names as Inniss opined…’”Shitehoods”…..

….every halfassed lawyer/crook has been getting them for years, rip off the people, ya are awarded a “shitehood”…launder money, ya are awarded a “shitehood”…pay bribes to lawyers and government ministers, ya are awarded a “shitehood”….BUILD AN UGLY MONSTROSITY LIKE LIMEGROVE THAT IS NOTHING MORE THAN A LAUNDERMAT…ya are awarded a “shitehood”…by the SHITES in parliament..

All that has ever come out of buckingham palace is SHITE anyway, so they are ALL IN GOOD COMPANY.

4. On reflection…the standards for those shit titles have been lowered to the LEVEL IT REALLY BELONGS…lol

5. Whether he deserves it or not the optics suck, she should have let the next administration do it or at least wait till or if she can turn the island around. By doing it before before she accomplishes anything either shows that there is little hope for barbados or a total disregard for the feelings of many bajans about there being a old boys club. This is like when a woman gets off a plane in a country and has a baby then the baby can sponsor you into the country ..it just doesnt feel right.

6. I can picture it now when it is Bush Tea’s turn The palace pageantry everyone in attendance, trumpets and fanfare all around ……. the queen touches him on the shoulder and says….SIR……are you sure you are supposed to be in here.

7. Liked in error.

8. This has NOTHING to do with Buckingham Palace, and everything to do with local political filth.

9. Those loudest in their condemnation of the discredited and anachronistic honours system are usually the first to execute a volte face when they get a sniff of one for themselves.
    I wonder if WARU could resist!!

10. Lawson

He may not make it to the next administration; he is getting older … though he isn’t as old as 45govt and Peice, who should be getting their personal affairs in order because time isn’t on their side.

11. @45Govt,

A Happy and Prosperous New Year to you and yours. Just a suggestion for the new year: if you find Lexicon so irritating and uninformed, why challenge him at every opportunity? Just ignore him. This personal row is unbecoming. It suggests to me that challenging Lexicon at every point is an indication of one’s own insecurity.

12. “By doing it before before she accomplishes anything either shows that there is little hope for barbados or a total disregard for the feelings of many bajans about there being a old boys club. ”

Very perceptive.

13. “I wonder if WARU could resist!!”

….don’t hold ya breathe muhdear, I got all the titles I need..and Queen does not nearly begin to describe..

14. “This has NOTHING to do with Buckingham Palace, and everything to do with local political filth.”

..that would be COMPLETELY true if the damn blighted titles did not originate from buckingham palace..

..they know the titles are being MISUSED and ABUSED to MOSTLY AWARD THE CORRUPT AND CRIMINAL MINDED in Barbados and the Caribbean by the shite governments who place those names for consideration…they KNOW..yet the jackass keeps approving them while sitting her ass on that stolen throne…

what does that tell ya @45?

This cannot continue…it will only go downhill at this pace.

15. You will note that I don’t bother with him without he first mentions me, as he did unprovoked in the post I replied to. He cannot help himself, the sad creature.
    A Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year to you and yours too Hal. 😊

16. It is entirely within the purview of the local political filth to withdraw from the system which has become a laughingstock in the UK for all the ne’er do wells who get them. Won’t happen though, will it? Political filth and jobsworth public sector parasites love baubles and beads.

17. Exactly…It will not happen…the fraud system fits in too well and too neatly with their criminal activities and GUARANTEES NO ACCOUNTaBLITY and NO CONSEQUENCES for their criminal actions….so in my view..buckingham palace is ENABLING this level of crap in the Caribbean that post independence has turned into a THREAT to the people..

They know this in buckingham palace….so why are they not stopping it..

It is bad enough that Mia’s lawmakers/crooks are busy legislating CORRUPTION INTO LAW…ya do not need CRIMINALS WITH TITLES as well.

18. 45govt

It is best that I inform you that some of the greatest minds in human history ( Albert Einstein for example, were dyslexic) … and some dyslexic people have problems with spelling and others read backward etc… but that in of itself does not take away from their intelligence …

19. It is not actually within Buckingham Palace’s remit to stop it. HM can only advise and consult, and she has a strictly limited scope to award honours personally, which are almost exclusively for her family personal staff and courtiers.
    As ever, it is the political scum who have made it stink, and Barbados ‘ scum is no worse than anywhere else. Still, I see Ariana Grande politely declined a damehood. Good for her.

20. BTW..there is NOTHING..in the UK drafted Barbados Constitution that says these Shitehood titles are a necessity or a requirement OR are MANDATORY..nothing…there is no mention of them anywhere …so they can be REMOVED from the islands landscape’s PERMANENTLY. and the islands that do have their OWN locally drafted constitutions…should not even be considering them as a way of AWARDING their most distinguished people who ACTUALLY contribute to their societies.

21. This man was given 24 hours to leave Bermuda or suffer the consequences of being arrested for perverting the course of justice. Barbadians seem to have very flexible memories. This was big news in Barbadian newspapers at the time. As far as I am concerned he should have been disbarred. I do not expect things to change at all in this country.

22. There gotta be a better, way if these halfassed Caribbean leaders were even a tiny bit creative, they would find a way to award their people who contribute POSITIVELY..devoid of criminality and corruption…to the country and people…without using the buckingham palace fraud template..

23. “Barbadians seem to have very flexible memories.”

not flexible at all..but short term memories, complete with 15 second attention spans…coupled with loving criminals who are lawyers and criminals who are politicians/ministers/corrupt business people….those are the diseases destroying the island..

24. Precisely!! That is what I have been saying. Baubles and beads are loved by the Banderlog.

25. He has a LOT of other faults too.

26. I see the blogmaster has been doing some very selective censorship. Is it ‘cos I’s white?

27. “and she has a strictly limited scope to award honours personally, which are almost exclusively for her family personal staff and courtiers.”

Those titles should not be leaving the boundaries of the UK to be fouling up the Caribbean…being commonwealth members don’t mean they have to copy everything FROM UK…they are supposed to be “independent”…right?

..of course with their tract records they will probably foul up any new system of awarding those who are exceptional with they vision of the court ….but what is the use of having UK titles when UK cannot stop them…according to you…from being corrupt…

….but UK has the POWER…to stop them from using their titles though…..they just don’t want to…

28. You playing the race card or what…..lol

29. ….of course with their tract records they will probably foul up any new system of awarding those who are exceptional with THEIR VERSION OF CORRUPTION.

30. As for knighthoods, what a heap of nonsense. After fifty-two years of independence it is no wonder the country is in the mess it is in.. In 1999,there was an interview with Henry Forde (note, I have not used the “acronym” which comes before his name) on Voice of Barbados. When challenged about the “sirs” he tried to justify it as a local honor (I was unware that people in the Scotland district engaged in the Knightly art of jousting) and when requested to name one other country apart from Britain with similar honors, could only name Antigua; a country with a dubious reputation. The leaders of this country seem to live in a past era.

31. WARU

It is time we stop blaming those in government for undermining our trust and confidence, because it is to no avail.

Nevertheless, if the power lies in the hands of the people, then isn’t it the acquiescence of the people that contributes to this perpetual cycle of corruption in the political affairs of Barbados?

32. They are the most brainwashed and MENTALLY weakest people in the Caribbean ..a total disgrace to the African race and only have the strength to victimize, demonize and terrorize their own people.

33. The reason why the PEOPLE..threw the last lot of corrupt DLP demons out of parliament on their asses….the same reason the PEOPLE…because of SELF PRESERVATION…and just like the LAST election will have NO CHOICE but to THROW this current corrupt lot, OUT of parliament…on their asses…

34. I can’t agree that these titles originated from Buckingham Palace because men were given knighthoods from as early as the Middle Ages. Buckingham Palace was built around 1703 and in 1837 it became the official London residence of Queen Victoria.

That aside, the origins of knighthoods is a topic for another discussion and not important at this time.

What is important is the fact that Mottley (or whoever) chose to select her father for a knighthood, which I believe is morally and ethically incorrect and sends the wrong signals………ABUSE OF POWER.

This travesty, in addition to amending the constitution to facilitate the appointment of Rawdon Adams as a senator, awarding BLP politician Delisle Bradshaw the “Champion of Honour” under the sham “for his outstanding contribution to political affairs and education,”…….. and OTHER QUESTIONABLE DECISIONS made by the Mottley administration……..

…..…….gives any reasonable thinking individual that, if Mottley continues along this path, she is giving Barbadians a clear indication that she will “abuse her power,”………..which will end in her being the first female PM with a “ONE TERM” administration.

Elliott Mottley is supposed to be an intelligent man and should have advised his daughter that “rewarding” him a knighthood should not be contemplated. He should have exercised some level of doubt or hesitation with regard to the morality or propriety of accepting the knighthood……..and respectfully refused the gesture.

His acceptance is indicative that “unscrupulous behavior” is a characteristic that may be hereditary.

35. @Artax

You have touched on a point the blogmaster deliberately omitted to give room for discussion. Some commenters can learn from leaving room for discussion. Make a point and shut up.

36. “I can’t agree that these titles originated from Buckingham Palace because”

In case the point is being missed..I am sure when these titles are awarded, those who presented the names…TO BUCKINGHAM PALACE..states emphatically WHEN THEY ARE APPROVED.. while gushing with spittle…that the beast of buckingham palace was most pleased to award these titles on HER NEW YEAR’S honors list……

the ORIGIN of the titles IS buckingham palace, if the beast STOPS enabling the ISSUANCE of these titles…they will be no more…another way will have to be found…if they are still interested in honouring their MEANINGFUL contributors to society…

37. LOL@ Lawson
    I can picture it now when it is Bush Tea’s turn
    The palace pageantry everyone in attendance, trumpets and fanfare all around
    ……. the queen touches him on the shoulder…..
    Queen shiite!!!
    The Big Boss Bushman will be the person with the shoulder touch skippa….

Perhaps we are all reading this knighthood thing incorrectly…
    Look at those already holding this title ….
    Why is Mia’s father not qualified….?
    Sir Richard?
    Sir Cave Hillary?
    Sir Marston?
    Sir Anthony?
    Sir Warrick?

Perhaps this is the new means of publicly identifying a certain class of citizen in Barbados….
    Birds of a feather SHOULD be flocked together.

38. @Bush Tea

The argument against today was used yesterday. More strident this time around because it comingles with other concerns.

39. You have no idea how CORRECT YOU ARE..but there is so much more to add..

40. If the gentleman is deserving, we should wait until his daughter is no longer PM to award him posthumously? All of a sudden a biography must accompany an honoree. Why no other recipient is being challenged/questioned? Then we bawl murder about yardfowlism and politicisation.

41. Well worth repeating:

“Perhaps this is the new means of publicly identifying a certain class of citizen in Barbados….
    Birds of a feather SHOULD be flocked together.”

42. If Mr Elliott Mottley was NOT the father of the PM but all other details of his life remain unchanged, would he still be undeserving of the honour conferred on him? The only reasonable objection (alleged) I think that has been proffered is that of Dr Robert Lucas at 6:56 am today.

43. It is being said that he is NOT DESERVING..they say he is too shady for such an award, ya done know I have no time to butter it up, I do not even use butter anyway.

44. Rise Sir Elliot!Come along Amor Lady Mottley.Talk all you want KCMG carries a weighted acceptance of honour in the Commonwealth.Chapeau!This ripple too will past.Carry on smartly Mia!Mek Buhbaydus proud agen.Yuh got de guts and pedigree to do it better than Errol and Tom combined.

45. There is NO-ONE less deserving than this creature. As WARU says – SHADY, and that is being kind. Venality is a hallmark.

46. Yes, he would. I guess you don’t know too much about him, but he’s a lawyer, with lawyer friends, and in Bim, that is pretty well all you need to know.

47. Nurse!!!!!

48. Besides…many may be PRETENDING not to see…but I keep seeing the Mottley name/SIGNATURES attached to too many LEGAL documents ASSOCIATED WITH PROPERTY THEFT..against the elderly and dead…ON FACEBOOK..

I just saw another one, these documents are being released and have been for WEEKS.

49. In my opinion and observation, I thought that it was tradition to award the knighthood to the Principal of UWI (Cave Hill)e.g. Sir Hilary Beckles, Sir Keith Hunte and Sir Sydney Martin (a Jamaican). Thus unless she has refused the honour I wonder why Professor Eudine Bariteau has not been conferred similarly. She does not have much longer in the position as retirement beckons.

50. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

And we wonder why Barbados is often referred to as “Little England”. These people live in their own bubble far removed from the daily struggles of their fellow citizens. That Mia cannot see the obscenity of awarding her own father a knighthood is revealing.

The only question we need to ask ourselves is how does the country rid itself of this self-serving parasitical elite.

@ David,

These people simply do not get it! I believe that Pachamama has an ancient solution for resolving this problem.