The six month old Mottley government cannot be accused of NOT making decisions. In the relatively short time since winning the government several initiatives have been promised with few started. There are private sector projects coming online- a few that have been in the pipeline before the Mottley government took up residence in Government House.

The most recent announcement by the government issued amidst the noise of the Christmas season is the plan to litter the coastline between Hastings and Paradise Beach with about twelve hotels with four receiving upgrades. What piqued the interest of the blogmaster was that areas in St. Lucy, Christ Church and St. Phillip will be identified for tourism related projects. The blogmaster suspects deals have already been cut in smoke-filled back rooms and what is left is the PR piece.

The question Barbadians must ask- are we happy continuing to pump millions in the tourism model? The way business is done in this sector requires generous concessions to be offered AND analysts agree there is significant foreign exchange leakage associated with the segment. The blogmaster is not suggesting we should neglect a sector all admit that is paying the bills. What we want to see is a different kind of investment to grow a more resilient economy.

During the Arthur administration BU posted concerns about the extent the coastline was being carved up to serve tourism development. One expects flyovers will enter the discussion at some point. Our opposition then and still relevant is that Barbados will lose its shine as a SID if we continue to morph into a concrete jungle. We are already seeing unusual changes with our coastline to suggest decisions taken are not in harmony with the environment. We struggle with implementing a waste management and efficient water system. Is it conceivable that we should be looking to ease our hand from the tourism investment mouth?

Regional governments and by extension the citizenry have demonstrated in the last twenty years a lack of innovation and creativity in the problem solving business.

You requested to have this matter posted. Expecting you to lead the discussion!

466 responses to “Carving a Hotel Corridor”

1. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar
    The Truth Shall Set You Free

“A feature of the mob is not only does it get angry if you do not agree with their views, they can often turn to violence. The mob is intolerant.”

@ Hal Austin

I can’t find the words to appropriately describes you.

Why do you continue making these silly shooting off the lip statements? It is time you realize you’re an old has been who seem to believe coming to Barbados Underground every day to write nonsense is your way of remaining relevant.

Would you also AGREE that you CALLING people BUFFOONS, SEMI-LITERATE, SILLY, APPALLINGLY IGNORANT and asking what school they attended, when THEY DO NOT AGREE WITH YOUR VIEWS, is another sign of INTOLERANCE and another feature of the mob?

What are the signs that led you to believe Barbados’s economy is in such state and Barbadians are so BACKWARD in 2018 going into 2019 the extent that would carry out acts of violence similarly to what occurred in Jamaica in 1976 and Nicaragua under Daniel Ortega in the early 1980s?

In the early 1990s, Erskine Sandiford’s and the IMF’s structural adjustment program saw harsh economic measures foisted on the island and hardship for Barbadians.
    Also, the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy 2010-2014, Medium Term Development Strategy 2010-2014, Barbados Growth & Development Strategy 2013-2020 and Medium Term Growth and Development Strategy 2013-2020, were ECONOMIC POLICIES conceptualized by the former DLP administration, ALL of which FAILED….. and Barbados received 23 credit rating downgrades in the process.

Yet, Barbadians did not carry out the level of violence you referred to in Jamaica and Nicaragua.

Where is the evidence that led you to suggest that if BERT fails, (because the almighty Hal Austin, who by the way is NOT an economist, only a rag newspaper journalist, says so), Barbadians will carry out acts of violence that was seen in Jamaica in 1976 and Nicaragua under Daniel Ortega in the early 1980s?

What qualifies you to say BERT will fail?

These are all reasonable questions.

2. Locally driven economy .. means barbados must have a sizeable workforce to support local business As govt continue to cut work force local business would feel the brunt as inventory remains on the shelf
    Exporting product which can play a huge part in economic recovery helping to bring much needed forex cannot be dependable in a global market where competition is fierce and tight.

3. There is enough evidence provided by small islands that IMF policies does not work
    Jamaica is a prime example. What more evidence do you expect
    A country that chops away at its social enviroment to preserve the status quo will Fail

4. Donna

Neither the DLP nor the BLP give any serious attention to the one sector which could assist us in reducing the use of large sums of foreign exchange – and that is the Agricultural sector.

It seems as though they are all blinkered and only see that sector through the same blinkers..

Indar weir the new Agriculture Minister – a man whose only employment was in a small travel agency – is now tasked with dealing with the needs of that sector – he is so dense – and so out of his depth.

With the former minister of Agriculture – we had a man who seem to be focused on getting his hairy -scary favourite money projects off the ground and to hell with agriculture.He sat on his boxy for the last 8 years and this man who has sooooo much talent – refused to do anything because he was not Minister of Finance.Imagine that huh !

And so it goes with every administration – agriculture is seen as the ugly step child to be left in the background.

Yet we are spending hundreds of millions of dollars every year in foreign exchange being spent importing food stuff some of which we can easily grow ourselves.

These political leaders really need to change their stinkin’ thinking.

5. @ T Inniss
    These political leaders really need to change their stinkin’ thinking.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Valid.
    That is the challenge.

But why would they change …. ?
    – when they end up rich,
    – never called to explain their wealth
    – never gets called to answer for their wrong doings
    – never gets charged when in CLEAR breech of the law

So ONLY a focus on RIGHTEOUSNESS and JUSTICE can save us…
    Call another name besides Caswell with ANY such focus …..

6. @The Truth Shall Set You Free December 21, 2018 9:10 AM

Hal is a one-trick pony who has advice for the leaders of every country in the Caribbean region, but none for the woefully out of her depth leader of the country he lives in.

7. @The Truth Shall Set You Free December 21, 2018 9:10 AM

Hal will talk about every country under the sun, but he will not tell you the UK hold the record for the largest IMF bailout.

The 1976 IMF Crisis was a financial crisis in the United Kingdom in 1976 which forced James Callaghan’s Labour Party government to borrow $3.9 billion ($16.8 billion in 2017) from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the largest loan ever to have been requested from the IMF.

8. Never knew Mia was a baseball fan, perhaps she watched the movie “Field of Dreams” based on the novel “Shoeless Joe” by WP Kinsella. In the movie there is this line of dialogue:

“If you build it, he will come”, which can be updated for the “hotel corridor” “If you build them they will come”

9. @ Sargeant ,

The government is not building anything. Hotel Investors will come if they get similar concessions to those Sandals got .

Government will solve the sewage problem. They have no choice.

10. BushTea
    Given your comments, we should just shut up shop. Becausen you seem to be saying what happened in the past cannot be corrected going forward. I don’t subscribe to that thinking. What I have realised is that, notwithstanding the constant barrage of calls for new and innovative ways of thinking on this blog, whatever is proposed is criticised. Identifying lots that are suitable for hotels and inviting prospective developers to a conference to explore potential investment is the right approach. I repeat, it allows the authorities to plan comprehensively, a sort of mesoscale tourism plan–infrastructure, product mix and marketing etc. If you go back to my comments on the Hyatt, you would see that apart from no EIA I also raised concerns about the lack of a comprehensive approach to developing lower Bay Street/Pierhead. I am no party hack, but I know what I am talking bout. Yuh want proof?🤣🤣

11. @ David
    For a complete explanation of Mia’s problem, have a read of Caswell’s comments on page 41 of today’s nation.

Well intentioned monkeys playing with guns
    …immediately after another set of jackasses left everything in chaos…
    There is no better recipe for disaster…

Leadership is about finding TRUE talents
    …and exploiting those ASSETS to the benefit of the whole society.

Political grand standing is about empowering your jack-ass friends and family …to feel good about themselves
    ….while the results (fruit again) reflect their ineptitude.

Caswell is 100% right
    But it extends WELL beyond the labour relations that he cited.

12. LOL @ Enuff
    Give us the proof boss…

Of COURSE we can do better going forward …. BUT NOT BY DOING THE SAME SHIITE that we did in the past…

If Barbados was a company…
    Would we hire UNQUALIFIED jackasses to make company policy – just because they won popular votes?
    …or would we HEAD HUNT for the best available talents?

If Barbados was a company..
    Would we continue to pay a jackass (who was unqualified in the first place)…and who continues to get it WRONG time after time….
    …be it injection wells, repairing broken pipes or managing water tanks?

If we were a company..
    Would CRITICAL operations be handed over to complete NOVICES to be micro-managed? People who have NEVER even run a stall at a Fair before … but who are suddenly ‘given a Ministry’…?
    Explain how YOU see any possibility of success from such an approach.

Obviously you are hoping that by LUCK, we will eventually hit on a square peg for our square hole and see some results…
    Luck and CHANCE…???
    Is THAT your plan Enuff????

#giveBushieabreakdo

13. @Hants

Don’t take my words literally, I know the Gov’t isn’t in the building industry but the implication/suggestion is that investors will up and build hotels to fill a non- existent void.

14. “Why are you wasting your time with that jackass?”

Hmmmmm……….

I’m guessing those words were used quite often in your home,

15. @ Hants
    The government is not building anything. Hotel Investors will come if they get similar concessions to those Sandals got .
    Government will solve the sewage problem. They have no choice.
    Why the hell don’t you leave the drinks until Christmas?
    You are much more lucid when sober.

If YOU gave Bushie concessions to come home and fix-up your family members as he saw fit …you would be surprised what you can get built…. especially if you have cute daughters…
    Give similar concessions to others and soon your family will be looking haggard and old….
    ‘they’ will stop coming… (no pun intended)

As to “solving the sewerage problem”….
    Inasmuch as we have solved …
    The Clico problem
    The Sugar Industry problem
    Solid waste disposal’
    The transportation problem
    the pot hole problem
    the ZR problem
    the QEH problem
    …among MANY others
    Your conclusion sounds to have been influenced by Mount Gay…

Hants….
    Leave the damn drinks until you have guests…

16. BushTea
    Misinformation, anti-everything, melodrama, hyperbole, ego and plain comedy is celebrated on and unfortunately dominates this blog. If we were to hire the “best and brightest” they would confirm that the approach being put forward by the government is used successfully over and away and is a good start, but we prefer to cuss the idea because like I said–ego, misinformation etc gets in the way of listening. One of these days I may give yuh the proof. GP describes this blog aptly. Y’all may carry on.🤣🤣

17. Bushie
    “Clustering shiite”
    Tell me what are the benefits or disbenefits of “clustering”? Make sure your answer assesses other instances of clustering in Barbados–hotels, industrial parks etc? 25 points📌

18. lol, Hants is going to build the first hotel. He will sell his rental houses to raise the capital. To expect the poor black Bajan to shoulder the burden of more concessions is sheer lunacy. The taxes foregone, that would maintain services, have to come from somewhere. With these new hotels, the foreign currency for imports have to come from somewhere and we know most hoteliers leave their booking fees abroad. Remittances will not be enough.

19. The problem with you Enuff, and your cohorts is that you like to copy everything from “over and away”, whether it is good for Barbados or not. Have you been to Miami beach? It is no longer a beach but a concrete jungle. Have you been to Varadero in Cuba? A good 2 miles of hotels, although locals have access to all the beaches.
    Because something was done ‘over and away’ does not mean it is good for Barbados.

20. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Am I missing something folks? Why are we using the UK’s ills as a barometer to that of Barbados problems. I have just come back from Bridgetown via Eagle Hall and the so-called national sport’s stadium (where the road appears to have been recently tarmacked).

I have never seen a place so dishevelled. The whole place looks derelict. Overgrown grass verge, horrendous roads, shocking pavements, half-built structures, dilapidated buildings, rubbish everywhere, et al. The word slum would not be too far off to describe modern day Barbados.

Yet we talk of the possibility of carving out a hotel corridor. Dream on!

21. Bajans
    How did you jump from an investor conference and clustering to concrete jungle? Because of David’s picture? Concrete jungles are created due to design, layout, lanscaping etc not solely location. Clusters do not mean next to each other either. In any event isn’t the South Coast already a “concrete jungle”?

22. Yet we talk of the possibility of carving out a hotel corridor. Dream on!

true true murder

23. TLSN
    But just like the hotel corridor, I have heard talk about a new stadium too. But if you don’t generate economic activity, how are we going to build a stadium or clean up the derelict sites, with talk, peanuts or shells? Why must we think linearly?

24. @ Enuff
    If we were to hire the “best and brightest” they would confirm that the approach being put forward by the government is used successfully over and away and is a good start,
    Therein lies your folly.

The REAL best and brightest are measured by the RESULTS that they are able to achieve . and that they have achieved so far in life…. NOT by copying.

ANY jackass can just copy what they see (and often misunderstand) from over and away…
    BUT YOU KNOW ALL THIS…
    Why then the misleading nonsense…?

Over and AWAY is VERY different to HERE and NOW….
    In MULTIPLE ways…

some basic
    Some MUCH more complex…

Only a Jackass would copy work from someone doing a DIFFERENT exam altogether….
    BUT IT IS WHAT WE DO…

Shiite…
    We even CHANGED our constitution so that we can bring in better ‘copiers’ from ‘over and away’
    ….and we (WUNNA) actually expect good results…??

WTH !!!

How about looking for people who have a HISTORY of excellent results HERE ….
    WITH LOCAL work and local ingenuity?
    How about measuring success by RESULTS – rather than by what worked ‘over and away’..

What a place!!!!
    It is UNBELIEVABLY hard to convert a brass bowl mind – after FOUR CENTURIES Of SERVITUDE
    – into thinking like royalty…
    Seems that we will require a guillotine….

…BUT IT HAS BEEN DONE OTHERWISE..

A word to the wise is enuff
    …even if Enuff is not wise to the word.
    LOl

25. @Bajan in NY

Hal is a one-trick pony who has advice for the leaders of every country in the Caribbean region, but none for the woefully out of her depth leader of the country he lives in.(Quote)

Plse explain what is my one-trick; also tell me when did I give advice to any Caribbean leader, including Barbados? Or is this further verbal diarrhoea?

l will talk about every country under the sun, but he will not tell you the UK hold the record for the largest IMF bailout.(Quote)

Bajan Yankee, am I to explain Britain’s post-war economic history? Maybe it is easier to ask a question if something puzzles you. By the way, how about Tru8mp. What do you want to explain about Trump’s right-wing nationalism?

@The Truth Shall Set You Free

“A feature of the mob is not only does it get angry if you do not agree with their views, they can often turn to violence. The mob is intolerant.”
    @ Hal Austin
    I can’t find the words to appropriately describes you.(Quote)

Is the above statement historically incorrect, or are you saying Barbadians are not Jamaican or Nicaraguans? Just look at the anger on BU when someone disagrees with you. My argument is that this anger can easily become violence, even if by a single person.

Where is the evidence that led you to suggest that if BERT fails, (because the almighty Hal Austin, who by the way is NOT an economist, only a rag newspaper journalist, says so)….(Quote)

Simple. What are the economic principles that BERT is based on? Austerity, mass public-sector sackings, defaulting on public sector debt, corporate tax rebates?
    Like most Barbadians I want Barbados to succeed, but unlike the loud mouths on BU, I am not a fanatical nationalist. BERT, as presented by powerpoint by technocrats, is not an economic plan. It is a wish list. Nothing since has firmed up the idea as a policy.
    We have had Dr Greenidge saying that all the planned redundancies must go through (presumably even if proven to be bad policy), we have had Professor Persaud talking about the financialisation of the economy, an observation, but not making any proposals, now we have the proposed hotel corridor. Further, Prof Persaud did not make clear (as reported) if that observation was part of the overall picture for BERT.
    As I have said, as has been explained, BERT cannot work in the real world. I have avoided any mention of the six-month statement since that was simply bad PR.
    Maybe a proper objective analysis of the Motley government’s first six months, instead of Chinese propaganda, may be more educational.

26. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Robert Goren

If catching my ass making in excess of over BD$260,000 annually I plead guilty.

Too much ignorance and assumption based perhaps on your own personal circumstances.

27. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar

“Just look at the anger on BU when someone disagrees with you. My argument is that this anger can easily become violence, even if by a single person.”

Really, Hal Austin?????

Stop trying to play pseudo psychiatrist.

What amazes me about you is when you call someone who disagrees with you keyboard warriors, loud mouths, the mob, silly, semi-literate and appallingly ignorant, that is DEBATING. But when people react with you similarly, for you, it is venting anger, which would lead to violence. You’re truly an anomaly and enigma.

Now you’re trying to tell us that a few loud mouths on BU gives you enough reason to determine that the Barbadian society has underlying issues of anger and entire population can be EASILY PROVOKED, even by a single person, into committing acts of violence?

Politicians, lawyers and people in general display some level of anger with each other on a daily basis, but this anger has never provoked people to violence. We had two lawyers who, because of certain issues, disrespected the bench, one by showing his ass and other by using abusive language. Yet these two lawyers were unable to cause a mass provocation of violence among lawyers.

if in your opinion, this behaviour is reflective of the Barbadian society, bear in mind you are ALSO one of those PERSONS who vent ANGER on BU when someone disagrees with YOU. Despite how many years you were living in the UK, you are still a PRODUCT of this society. Therefore, according to you, “it’s a cultural thing.”

However, I have found that although people do express some level of anger at each other on BU, UNLIKE YOU, many of them do not take it PERSONALLY and take it to an EXTREME of holding contempt for certain bloggers, or continually make snide references and remarks to those bloggers, who in your “muscle mind,” offend you. Therein lies the difference. Then I can conclude that your assumptions as it relates to anger becoming violence is based on your attitude.

“What are the economic principles that BERT is based on? Austerity, mass public-sector sackings, defaulting on public sector debt, corporate tax rebate.”

Have you READ the BERT document or are you relying on second hand information to conclude BERT will fail? I remember reading your contributions in which you said the people who conceptualized BERT have not given a thorough explanation of its policies and you asked for someone to give an analysis. In this regard, you could you determine BERT will fail.

Are you saying that your economics training is at a much higher level than the IMF’s economists who gave the policies thumbs up…. or are they lying or don’t know what they are talking about?

Bearing in mind that a rebate could be defined as partial refund to an individual or company that overpaid taxes, can you tell where is it stated in BERT that there will be a REBATE of CORPORATE TAXES?

28. The Truth Shall Set You Free Avatar

If catching my ass making in excess of over BD$260,000 annually I plead guilty [Quote]

So what? I could easily say I make in access of BD$300,000 annually, but you won’t believe me, but expect us to believe you.

Why not send us a copy of your pay slip.

The amazing thing about posting contributions under the cloak of anonymity is that you can get away with writing nonsense just to sound impressive and because they know we have no way of verifying if it is true.

29. The amazing thing about posting contributions under the cloak of anonymity is that you can get away with writing nonsense just to sound impressive and because they know we have no way of verifying if it is true.(Quote)

30. BushTea
    You are trying to tell me that what I know works can’t work? Boss you carry on. I could rattle of a series of projects I have been involved in, but I shall remain silent. #egomisinformationantagonist

31. Donna

When other countries are talking bout de high-tech industry
    … we bout hay talkin bout taurism … and this is analogous tah 45govt talkin bout World War II in de era of Iraq and Afghanistan and Syria …

32. Donna

And this is why the East Asian countries are moving ahead today because of the demand across the globe for people with the high-tech skills … just take an inventory of most of the insurance companies in America today and who constitutes the workforce with these high-tech skills? And this trend is pervasive around the world because of the high demand for this East Asian workforce with the high-tech skills…

33. $260k annually and scrambling?🤔🤣🤣

34. Good job Lexicon…..
    Whilst technology is advancing our preferred direction is towards more maids, bartenders, cleaning staff …
    I do not look down on these occupations, but they should not be a national priority.
    Indeed It seems as if Barbados is going backwards….

35. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal Austin
    @Barbados Underground,

A feature of the mob is not only does it get angry if you do not agree with their views, they can often turn to violence. The mob is intolerant. As BERT fails, which it will, the angry mob will likely become violent.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I have lived and excelled among them so I know of their ignorance and bad talking when they seek to deflect.

@ The Truth will set you Free

I responded to @ Robert Goren I don’t need to impress you or anyone.

I know what good living is and I am used to it since graduating University.

@ Enuff
    If scrambling is enjoying life with no financial stress then I wish more Bajans being mislead would ‘scramble’ like me instead of having to resort to getting water in buckets to drink and bathe from storage tanks in 2018, women have to prostitute themselves and their children to keep a roof over their head. Locals having to lie that they are homeless to get benefits and other hand outs.

It is why I would preach to anyone with ambition on the island to leave as there are much greener pastures despite others who may seek to cloud the individual with doubt and their own propoganda.

I lived around the 1% of high earners on the Island and was never a follower or allowed anyone negativity to stop from excelling.

36. “Indeed It seems as if Barbados is going backwards….”

PROGRESSIVELY backward in their regressive state that they just cannot see.

They need to DIVERSIFY…in a really, really big way…..chop, chop

37. @ TTSSUF

You answered both of them appropriately.

38. Hyatt’s a go in 2019

” Construction on the 237-room, 15-storey controversial Hyatt Hotel at Bay Street, St Michael, is expected to begin next year.”

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    since you are the Queen of the Majority-Minority approach, what are these minority ferners doing donating large sums to Trusts? Shouldn’t these stinking minorities tek dey money somewhere else?

40. Waiit I thought the Hyatt had gone to St.Lucia? I await the anti-everythings new narrative. I also hope an EIA is being done and changes made to the design.

41. Maloney is on record that he will prepare the EIA as requested. An interesting observation is that the Coverley exit is being fixed. There is evidence that Mia will take the opportunity to revisit some missteps by the former government.

42. Northern…no one ever ASKS….WHERE DID THEY GET THEIR MONEY FROM…….

And

What is in it for them?

And

WHAT ARE THEY HOPING TO GET IN RETURN….hopefully not access to loans made by governmemt ministers in the people’s names, hopefully not to SIPHON OFF such loans directly into their and the ministers pockets…wnk, wink.

Given the decades of such practices…it certainly has to be taken into consideration. .

Again…people in the St. Andrew, Sy, John, St, Joseph and parts of St. Philip were suffering for what for years, not just recently, how many of these majority/minority partnerships offered just one tank of water to these villages….

…..easy, it was not in their best interests to do so, they could not get any contracts outta dat…BUT NOW…everyone both majority and minority are running out to offer tanks…it is instructive that they finally found their humanity…though it is tied to attempts by some to DIP THEIR HANDS INTO TAXPAYERS AND PENSIONERS MONEY….

So…none of them can be trusted to be GENUINE…there is always some game playing to get closer to free money…..and the Innotech optics were so bad, there are those who wanted to shut those optics down real fast thinking no more will be revealed…BUT THEY ARE WRONG.

43. David
    I expect the EIA to be done, but ya know how BUers are, they would be quick to call me a yardfowl or party hack. On Coverley, not only is the entrance being fixed, but a solution to the 99-year lease of empty houses has been found, and through a PRIVATE initiative. If true, the government has avoided paying Maloney for all those unsold houses too. Yet we hear the government has accomplished nothing, though Ross U alone has addressed 3/4 pre-election issues. This government will make mistakes, but I am confident their overall performance will far outweigh the missteps. They appear to be wukkin for dem pay, parliament is a good guage.

44. Agree that credit must be given when it is merited. Some are trapped in the criticizing for the sake of it syndrome. One should always try to be fair. It does not mean the blogmaster will not level criticism if merited.

45. Mia knows well that history will not be kind to her if she TOO…does not do the job that the MAJORITY POPULATION ELECTED AND ARE PAYING HER TO DO..

There has been more than enough government ministers taking a salary AND MORE for not doing their jobs Enuff….for decades.

Anyhoo…..who says that KARMA IS NOT REAL.

46. The final entrant on our list of the world’s largest hotel chains is Hyatt Hotel Corporation, which had a reported revenue of $4.33 billion for the fiscal year that ended in March 2015.

https://tophotel.news/get-know-five-biggest-hotel-chains-world/

47. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Enuff,
    The phrase cleanliness is next to Godliness does not apply to Barbadians. This morning I was in Bridgetown and took a stroll from the QEH to the Jordan’s store. There was a cruise ship in the docks and I noted a number of cruise passengers who were promenading through our esteemed capital city.

I looked at those short term visitors and asked myself: I wonder what they were thinking as they ventured out on foot whistling past the numerous dilapidated, filthy, polluted streets and the equally unkempt stores and buildings. This is a national disgrace. We arrogantly believe that our country is the jewel in the Caribbean and is a destination for high end foreigners. We are wrong.

Are we Bajans so myopic that we cannot see the absolute squalor that we reside in.

How are we suppose to develop a country when we live in a pigsty. How do we expect to promote our hotels, our cusine and our local food shops when we live serenely hand-in-hand with squalor.

Our attitude to cleanliness is a metaphor to all that takes place in our country: shoddy, uncaring, negligent, indifferent, rank incompetence and third rate.

If as a country we can adopt the phrase cleanliness is next to Godliness and live our live accordingly then hope remains. If not we shall continue to wither on the vine.

48. “How are we suppose to develop a country when we live in a pigsty. How do we expect to promote our hotels, our cusine and our local food shops when we live serenely hand-in-hand with squalor.”

Tell that to all the former and current ministers..all the lawyers, senators, PS etc ..and the greedy pigs fo business people who all have these massive million dollar offshore accounts…while living on the pigsty…RAPING IT..