The six month old Mottley government cannot be accused of NOT making decisions. In the relatively short time since winning the government several initiatives have been promised with few started. There are private sector projects coming online- a few that have been in the pipeline before the Mottley government took up residence in Government House.

The most recent announcement by the government issued amidst the noise of the Christmas season is the plan to litter the coastline between Hastings and Paradise Beach with about twelve hotels with four receiving upgrades. What piqued the interest of the blogmaster was that areas in St. Lucy, Christ Church and St. Phillip will be identified for tourism related projects. The blogmaster suspects deals have already been cut in smoke-filled back rooms and what is left is the PR piece.

The question Barbadians must ask- are we happy continuing to pump millions in the tourism model? The way business is done in this sector requires generous concessions to be offered AND analysts agree there is significant foreign exchange leakage associated with the segment. The blogmaster is not suggesting we should neglect a sector all admit that is paying the bills. What we want to see is a different kind of investment to grow a more resilient economy.

During the Arthur administration BU posted concerns about the extent the coastline was being carved up to serve tourism development. One expects flyovers will enter the discussion at some point. Our opposition then and still relevant is that Barbados will lose its shine as a SID if we continue to morph into a concrete jungle. We are already seeing unusual changes with our coastline to suggest decisions taken are not in harmony with the environment. We struggle with implementing a waste management and efficient water system. Is it conceivable that we should be looking to ease our hand from the tourism investment mouth?

Regional governments and by extension the citizenry have demonstrated in the last twenty years a lack of innovation and creativity in the problem solving business.

You requested to have this matter posted. Expecting you to lead the discussion!

466 responses to “Carving a Hotel Corridor”

1. To wrestle with a pig you have to get down in the mud with the pig.

To fight with a BLP stool pigeon you have to play up in BLP pigeon stool.

I don’t like mud or pigeon stool.

I will not return to this discussion except to say that the post @ 8:43 a.m. is riddled with lies re the rehashing of the old post.

As for leaving you alone – yuh doan see that I don’t even fart pon yuh.

You barely want noticing – I have ignored you as I usually do and especially since yuh start up wid de lies about Sandra the food vendor and ‘bollards and boulders’ – but yuh so glad yuh name get called with some other BLPITES that yuh couldn’t wait to bong in.

Wuh happen yuh mudda or yuh wife never gi yuh no attention.

Get some help hear. Talk to your priest skipper and tek yuh tablets tonight lollllll.

Now have the last word Stoolie hahahahah.

2. “Where was Maloney the wannabe Bajan Butch Stewart going to get all that foreign money from to build such a big able Miami beach-looking hotel in Lilliputian Bridgetown?”

he would go to a hard money lender! wuh ya tink?

3. Hyatt is an International brand name that only fools would try wrestling to the ground
    Over the years that Hyatt has been established its name has never been associated with bribes low life or scalliwags
    Barbados brand / image has been tarnished internationally and to hear idiots questioning the credibilty of Hyatt and its financial resources acquired is laughable
    Barbados needs Hyatt.Hyatt does not need barbados
    Barbados seems to be satisfied with a bottle of MountGay in international markets a brand and an image barbadians seem quite happy to be associated
    Thinking outside the box had never been one of barbados claim to fame
    Mount Gay rum and coucou enough to do the job

4. Mariposa…Hyatt fallS under the civil liabilities act…they understand the RULE OF LAW,,,something Bajan government ministers are yet to acquaint themselves with..

..so whether it’s Hyatt UK or Hyatt US…they understand the rule of law and the trouble they can get into with bribery corruption..

Fo the 50th time, the Hyatt brand is not the problem…it is the Maloney gang and their WELL KNOWN BRIBERY CORRUPTION..is the problem..

“THE IMPACT OF THE FOREIGN CORRUPT PRACTICES ACT AND THE UK BRIBERY ACT ON THE HOSPITALITY AND GAMING INDUSTRIES.’

“In addition, the DOJ and SEC guidance has a very prominent section on aiding and abetting and conspiracy liability, which does not always come up when you think about the FCPA. But there is aiding and abetting liability and conspiracy liability for others’ FCPA violations, and the DOJ guidance says in particular that for civil liability the standard is recklessness, not even actual knowledge, so putting your head in the sand when someone else is doing something that would run afoul of the FCPA could create civil liability under the FCPA. “

5. PLT
    A national conversation on what? As someone, I think Northern, said earlier tourism is still our bread and butter. You remember Sealy’s Tourism Masterplan? Maybe that provides some evidence base for the touted “hotel zone”.🤣🤣 All jokes aside, I understand your concerns but I maintain that once properly planned there should be no need for alarm.

6. Yall done know ya asses BROKE already…ya done know ya living on DEBT..yall better stay in ya lane until ya can find REAL investors with REAL money….who are not criminals…they exist, but if ya go looking for more thieves. ya will FIND them…ask Donville…

7. Pains me to see/hear novices “expound” on development planning, viability, development, financing etc.etc. If Bajans know all and everything, why Bridgetown ain’t Utopia? SMFH

8. “Hyatt fallS under the civil liabilities act…they understand the RULE OF LAW”

And you don’t. You pretend like you know the law. Working as a receptionist in a lawyer’s office does not qualify.

Hyatt is a business. Business is about profit or ROI. If Hyatt sees the opportunity for a decent ROI, they will work with Maloney, I don’t know what rule of law you talking bout.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff December 20, 2018 2:51 PM
    “Pains me to see/hear novices “expound” on development planning, viability, development, financing etc.etc. If Bajans know all and everything, why Bridgetown ain’t Utopia? SMFH”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You know very well that what is being touted as the Saviour plan for Bajan tourism is nothing more than an alphabet soup of warm over proposals dreamed up over the years by the Bajan Tourism Investment Inc (BTII) to justify its SOE’s existence stretching back to the days of previous prime ministers since the closure of the old Mobil Oil refinery.

The problem with the Saviour plan is in its inability to attract genuine financiers with foreign money.
    How can you attract FDI for tourism projects for the South coast corridor when the government can’t even undertake a city rehabilitation project (from Roebuck Street to Nelson Street to the Orleans) that even Hal Austin can see from over 4,000 air miles away?

What Bajans ought to concern themselves ‘more’ about is what the current administration- which touted itself as one committed to transparency and accountability- is going to do about the duties and taxes waived on a luxury vehicle for an non-existent Sales Director for an imaginary hotel.

Should we enjoin our friend Caswell Franklyn to make this matter a very serious issue for discussion in the Upper Chamber in order to get a response from the MoF in the Lower House?

Don’t you think Bajans have the right to question the plan of erecting hotels on the South coast from Hastings to Paradise when they are faced daily with the stark real(i)ties of seeing only bamboo huts facing a dilapidated rat infested Empire Theatre building and broken-down fencing overrun with bush hiding the promised Paradise now turned into an environmental hellhole?

10. Miller…we already know how UNINFORMED and INFORMATION STARVED yardfowls are…all we gotta do is sit back and WATCH..

Yes Redguard who believes he knows everything about me…

AND YET….with all the tourism ya got and getting…and ya hoping for ….and all the PRETENSE that ya got all the answers…ya been in tourism since before INDEPENDENCE…and yet…and yet…

Yall done know ya asses BROKE already…ya done know ya living on DEBT..yall better stay in ya lane until ya can find REAL investors with REAL money….who are not criminals…they exist, but if ya go looking for more thieves. ya will FIND them…ask Donville…

11. “What Bajans ought to concern themselves ‘more’ about is what the current administration- which touted itself as one committed to transparency and accountability- is going to do about the duties and taxes waived on a luxury vehicle for an non-existent Sales Director for an imaginary hotel.”

With all the back patting in the parliament night before…we have not heaed one word about that…and not ONE WORD about the missing taxpayers and pensioners money under DLP…….all we are hearing is about the SAVIOR SYNDOME..using debt.

12. That is what is called BLINDNESS and TUNNEL VISION…ya been in tourism since the 1950s…most bajans don’t know that…most of you were not even born yet…….OVER 60 YEARS OF TOURISM ,,and yet, and yet……….

…..I sure as hell WILL NOT SPELL IT OUT..

13. ya been in tourism since the 1950s…most bajans don’t know that..

Actually I have to correct that…cause although black people had no control over tourism on the island back then., tourists were traversing Barbados even longer than that, the date on Sam Lord’s Castle I can’t exactly remember but Crane was around since sometime in the 1700s….saw it recently but did not retain the exact date ..

…and i spoke to an old gal in North York some years ago, she was in her 90s, she remembered cruising to Barbados much earlier than the 50s , sometime in the 40s she said, she said the boat NEVER stopped in Trinidad or Jamaica, they were too afraid of the violence, but she travelled to Barbados as a tourist many times…back then…over 6 decades ago..

So ya tourism brand has been around for many decades….. that should tell ya something..

14. Maybe it’s time to UTILIZE your black creatives, inventors, entrepreneurs …those who were NEVER given an opportunity to help the. island grow, progress reach heights never, ever seen before..

…..if it’s one thing the US knows, it is how to use their black creatives for MAXIMUM RESULTS……Barbados got over 270 thousand Black people.

http://www.wsfa.com/2018/12/19/year-old-mathematician-whose-calculations-helped-create-gps-inducted-into-air-force-pioneers-hall-fame/?fbclid=IwAR22DrSJvrnVjWUzFufL35lqiLz1tILjnqTbudlFMN6oHKbpz1Z0dzUYE44

“PETERSON AFB, CO (KPLC) – An 87-year-old doctor whose programming of accurate earth models led to the current GPS system has been inducted into the Air Force Space and Missile Pioneers Hall of Fame.

Dr. Gladys West was presented with the Air Force Space and Missile Pioneers award for her decades of contributions to the Air Force’s space program.

West was one of only a few women who participated in computing for the U.S. Military in an era before electronic systems. She is also credited for programming calculations that ultimately became GPS.

The mathematician worked on accounting for variations in gravitational, tidal, and other forces that distort Earth’s shape in the 1970s and 1980s. She was also involved in astronomical studies that won awards and changed the way we explore space. West was among the so-called “Hidden Figures” part of the team who did computing for the U.S. military.”

15. Miller

Sometimes warmed over soup duz brek the air

16. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

December 20, 2018 11:23 AM

@ T.Inniss December 20, 2018 3:39 AM
    “Donks Gripe
    You are spot on.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So what are you and the griping Donks trying to tell naïve Bajans? That the construction and fitting of the Hyatt hotel was being financed by way of FDI secured during the rule of the previous administration and MAM and her cousin Comissiong put paid to this foreign money lifeline?
    Where was Maloney the wannabe Bajan Butch Stewart going to get all that foreign money from to build such a big able Miami beach-looking hotel in Lilliputian Bridgetown

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

millerthenukee you are the Lilliputian with the jackass parasol to shade you from the moon. Where the island Hyatt move to getting money from to build a Miami style 400 hundred room hotel? That island’s economy is a third the size of ours. Mottley likes to quote that Bajans have $9 billion sitting in the banks.

Hyatt was not built here for transparent political reasons: (1) pure evil spite (2) to derail improvement in the economy under the outgoing administration (3) to assist the then opposition in their attacks on economic mismanagement. In a word the project was sabotaged. All the shoite you dump cant change those facts.

Barbados lost a valuable foreign exchange earner and job creator because of sabotage. Another jurisdiction gained bigly as a result. Voters need to take note. Five years go by quickly.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Donks Gripe and Josh December 20, 2018 6:57 PM
    “Hyatt was not built here for transparent political reasons: (1) pure evil spite (2) to derail improvement in the economy under the outgoing administration (3) to assist the then opposition in their attacks on economic mismanagement. In a word the project was sabotaged. All the shoite you dump cant change those facts.
    Barbados lost a valuable foreign exchange earner and job creator because of sabotage. Another jurisdiction gained bigly as a result. Voters need to take note. Five years go by quickly.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Donks the Griping jackass aka “waiting”, what about also blaming Mottley and Comissiong for the Four Seasons fiasco even though Sinckler promised its resurgence as an economic game changer (just like the Hyatt) in every budget presentation since 2011?

How come the ‘sabotaged’ Cahill nuclear plant did not migrate to St. Lucia or even Grenada after being exposed as a massive scam? Don’t those other countries also generate waste or capable of importing waste?

How come you haven’t blame the Mottley woman and the Commie for your now decimated party’s inability to rehabilitate the sugar cane industry after Stinkliar secured a US$ 270 million dollar loan from the Japanese; or was it from the UAE?

Just asking on behalf of miller the nuksie.

18. Wuhloss…the thieves names getting called out…

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/938623749680498/?t=679

19. Well, I guess when Maloney dissapeared from the scene he was in the back lobbying the BLP. Seems as if the gravy train is still running,.

A word to the wise…. Yardfowls suffer depending on how their political party fare in an elexction….. A Maloney yardfowl eats regardless of who is in power.

20. disappear, election

21. If these sickazz Dems that governed this country from 2008 to 2018 were in China they would have faced a firing squad long time.We waiting on Mia and Dale to ferret out all the damn thieving and corrupters and bring them before the high courts with all the force and fury you two can muster.Otherwise you will meet the wrath of the people and the ISO man might have the last laugh.For sure the Dems deadizazz and dunwid.

22. Wanting u Gabriel the archangel to keep waiting cause yuh be waiting in vain
    Mia nor Dale does not have the moral authority to haul anyone before a judge or any court in the land furthermore the intestinal fortitude to do so
    I remember Trump calling Hilary a thief and saying she should be locked up
    But look who is getting closer to be locked up Trump and his croonies one by one they are shackled and chained and hauled off to prison
    The moral of the story dont be the boy who cried wolf

23. “Mia nor Dale does not have the moral authority to haul anyone before a judge or any court in the land furthermore the intestinal fortitude to do so.”

So ya calling Mia’s bluff..if she had locked up at least 4 former DLP ministers already and HAUL ALL THAT STOLEN MONEY IN OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS..back to Barbados…..ya would not be able to call her. bluff now or hint that she is a coward…now would ya….lol

24. Just calling out her to be a liar.She told the whole country that she would love dem up

25. Ah think she is loving dem up when she should be locking them up…..so in some sense ..ya are right..

26. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Gabriel
    If these sickazz Dems that governed this country from 2008 to 2018 were in China they would have faced a firing squad long time.We waiting on Mia and Dale to ferret out all the damn thieving and corrupters and bring them before the high courts with all the force and fury you two can muster.Otherwise you will meet the wrath of the people and the ISO man might have the last laugh.For sure the Dems deadizazz and dunwid
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You are a Bajan comedian.

If both DLP and BLP Politicians were in China they would all be pushing up daises from 6 feet under for corruption and thievery of Public Funds.

They would be no Wuk fuh Wuk Glyne Clarke, Thorne, Mia, George Payne or Dale Marshall etc all would be skeletons below the ground joined by the crooks in the other party.

27. T. Inniss

Re: “I will not return to this discussion except to say that the post @ 8:43 a.m. is riddled with lies re the rehashing of the old post.”

If, according to you, my “8:43 AM post is RIDDLED WITH LIES,” why did you not PRESENT the EVIDENCE to BU to PROVE those lies…….. rather than resorting to childish insults?

Re: “Wuh happen yuh mudda or yuh wife never gi yuh no attention…..”

Since you’re the one who introduced “mudda and wife” to the “discussion”……..it’s not my fault you’re a shameless, stupid, childish jackass….… those characteristics are usually hereditary……….. ask “yuh mudda” and yuh father…(that’s if “yuh mudda” KNOWS his IDENTITY).

Re: “You barely want noticing – I have ignored you as I usually do and especially since yuh start up wid de lies about Sandra the food vendor and ‘bollards and boulders’…”

You mentioned I “start up wid de lies about Sandra the food vendor.” Here is a man….. ACCUSING me of lying……. yet he has NOT been able to PRESENT ANY EVIDENCE to PROVE I’m lying……… only shiite rhetoric.

So…….essentially…… I’m a liar BECAUSE YOU SAY I’M A LIAR…….and you believe that’s enough to convince people.

And you’re advising me to “get some help hear?”

28. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ T. Inniss

Why are you wasting your time with that jackass?

29. I meaning charades and grandstanding is all this govt offered the people which in totality is equal to 100 water tanks full of lies
    Now one Gabriel waiting to see what will never happen
    Dam koolaid drinking fools sound like the clowns who said they would die for Trump only to get their wish coming from the American judicial system

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff December 20, 2018 2:41 PM
    “… once properly planned there should be no need for alarm…”
    And when was the last time something on this scale in Barbados was properly planned? Answer: never.

31. Cant even get a sewer system constructed right and Mia spouting sh.it abou a corridor laden with hotels
    And some here belive Hyatt got time to play around in bajan political sh.ite
    The present govt won the fight but everday losing the battle

32. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

All the grandiose plans and cannot put simple lights whilst walking along a public pathway to protect visitors who bought a home in Barbados.

I agree totally with Hal the island of Barbados is a failure and continue to pull the wool over the eyes of an ignorant backward population who seemingly can’t think for themselves.

A violent robbery has left long time American visitors John and Janice Garrod contemplating whether they should ever return to the island. The two who own a property along the Batts Rock beach said everything has changed since the robbery.

“Before we retired, we used to visit Barbados regularly. We then bought this house in 1998 and started staying for longer periods. Now we’re retired, we spend the winters here almost every year. When we first settled here, there was a period of trouble with break-ins, but that calmed down and it’s been pretty good or we would not have stayed, which is why this is so surprising,” said John, 80.

The incident happened on December 7 when the couple had decided to frequent a newly opened restaurant in the area. They left their home around 5:15 p.m., when it was still relatively bright, unaware that none of the many torches along the path were working.

“We had a good time and decided to have dinner. Around 6:45 p.m. we were walking back, but you could hardly see your hand in front your face – it was pitch black as the lights weren’t working. I suddenly got a shove which sent me stumbling down and then I heard my wife screaming,” he said. (CA)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/224929/violent-crime-leaves-visitors-shaken

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Those incidents of robbery, whether of tourists or natives or long stay residents ARE GOING TO INCREASE.

And Smiley Teets nor (R)eadie the Muff eater of Prostitutes will, though charged with the mandate for Crime and Violence WILL NOT BE ABLE TO MANAGE THIS CRIME

34. A few more attacks on tourists and we will hear a call for Tourist only resorts and private beaches.

35. “I agree totally with Hal the island of Barbados is a failure and continue to pull the wool over the eyes of an ignorant backward population who seemingly can’t think for themselves.”

This type of nonsense usually comes from Bajans living abroad, who are catching their ass.

If you judge Barbados from the way you guys describe it, anyone would believe it’s the worst place to live and everything is crumbling down.

Name 5 countries where everything is perfect. Countries that have zero crime, full employment, all systems perfect.

Imagine you called someone as a jackass.

36. An insightful comment.

37. @Barbados Underground,

A feature of the mob is not only does it get angry if you do not agree with their views, they can often turn to violence. The mob is intolerant. As BERT fails, which it will, the angry mob will likely become violent. Remember Jamaica in 1976; remember Daniel Ortega in the early 1980s when he was the darling of the Left?

38. When we start dismissing our growing social problems by using other peoples problems as excuses
    Then we know we are in deep doo
    Sad to see this country while this country clings to preserve the interest of the satus quo the social enviroment is decaying rapidly

39. And just to REINFORCE so there is no misunderstanding… and believe it or not the OECD states should be thanked for applying pressure to government to get this outcome.

In this instance here, there is ABSOLUTELY NO REASON for any business in Barbados to ask for anymore concessions from taxpayers via government ministers, neither old businesses nor new businesses, hotels in particular, should be getting another dime of concessions in Barbados…new start ups need tax breaks…established companies do not need to be hanging on to the treasury and pension fund.

Their corporate tax was REDUCED from 30% to a sliding scale of 1%- to 5%….let them get their lazy parasitic asses up and PRODUCE to EXPORT ..…stop sucking on taxpayers…they have STOLEN ENUFF….it is a measure that should be COPIED ACROSS THE CARIBBEAN TO DETER CORPORATE THIEVES.

NO MORE CONCESSIONS….for businesses.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/21/were-not-out-of-the-woods-yet-stephen/

“Stephen pointed out that progress in 2019 would also depend on the private sector changing the way it does business from being locally-driven to export orientation, following the Prime Minister’s recent decision to lower corporation tax from 30 per cent to a sliding scale of one to five per cent.”

40. new business start ups need 3 YEAR tax breaks….it should not be a FOREVER THING.

ya can’t have crooks like the Cow and Bizzy STILL thinking as soon as their business model looks like it is shaky and possibly sinking, they run to the ministers with scam business plans and demand loans from NIS and treasury…and live off taxpayers and pensioners for ANOTHER 30 years….that has to end…then got the audacity after begging to become uppity and claim they will close Apes Hill…AFTER LIVING OFF THEIR EMPLOYEES TAX DOLLARS AND PENSION MONEY.

41. Waru

I agree with that point at 7;27 a.m.

I wish ALL of these black bajan governments – plural – would think about these things and respond accordingly.

42. Inniss…sorry to say but they are not intellectually capable…

It is OUR JOB to point it out to THEM…so they can THINK about it and see the BENEFITS to the taxpayers and pensioners and island as a whole …once these PARASITES are gone out of the people’s lives….they will only THEN need to do what both governments HAVE NEGLECTED TO DO FOR 53 YEARS….start PROTECTING the VULNERABLE majority population AND THEIR MONEY …FROM THIEVES like the current lot of minority business people….who are always jumping out with these get rich quick scams at the EXPENSE of taxpayers and pensioners.

43. PLT
    Prior to 24 May, had one single party sweep all the seats in our HOA post 1966? NEVER. Intensification makes sense–clustering creates the numbers for the night-time economy “attractions”, including Bush Hill.🤣

44. @enuff

You are on the side of legalizing prostitution?

45. It is true that Barbados is in for some hard times. We WILL taste the grass…

But in comparison to what BREXIT will do to the asses of Britons, who ALSO have huge REPARATIONS that are due,- especially those STILL considered strangers within the gates of that racist country,
    …our grass will be lush.

In comparison to where Trump will take the USA, – a country with many things yet to be accounted for by Karma, (and PARTICULARLY FOR THEIR UNWELCOME PEOPLE OF COLOUR)
    ….Barbados will look like a park…

Bushie has said this already – but repeat it here for the record….

These are TWO distinct discussions.

Barbados is a VERY SPECIAL place that SHOULD have been a role model of development and success …because we had been blessed with EVERYTHING needed for fantastic success.
    BUT we were betrayed by greedy fools who led us into brass bowlery.

These other places all enjoyed the initial (and temporary) fruits of their greed and selfishness from their pyramid schemes for a time and times …. and have now reached the point of collapse…. which will be spectacular….
    Woe betide the ‘unwanted’ in their midst …when the jobby reaches the big fan….. as it will shortly.

Be VERY careful therefore, what you wish for Barbados….
    Touch not the Lord’s anointed….
    The Lord himself will judge and correct his own…
    But who will moderate for the others…?

46. Enuff is beginning to sound like one of those party hacks that use the most ridiculous, childish arguments to support whatever the politicians want to do for their own selfish reasons..
    Clustering shiite!!

… once properly planned there should be no need for alarm…
    What an idiotic statement in Barbados after things like CAHILL, CLICO and the sewerage mess

as to your question…
    If Bajans know all and everything, why Bridgetown ain’t Utopia?
    Simple answer –
    Because of compliant yardfowls who ENCOURAGE retarded, selfish politicians to do shiite…

47. “Because of compliant yardfowls who ENCOURAGE retarded, selfish politicians to do shiite”

lol.lol

48. Here we are talking about a stupid tourism industry when there are momentous shifts in the world. A stupid tourism industry is not going to save us.

We need to pause and think!

Who are we? Who do we want to be? Do we want to be ourselves or ape-like white man wannabes?

And around and around they go and where they stop nobody knows!