The entrance/exit to the Villages at Coverley Gardens is about to be fixed!

Last year the authorities came under heavy criticism from the public when 11 year old Abijah died in a crash in the area and his mother Felisha Holder charged with manslaughter by the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Thanks to the BU family member for submitting the video.

RelatedBU links

73 responses to “Coverley Danger Fixed!”

1. And only one little boy had to die. Congratulations for NOTHING!

2. Wait a minute! How long has it been fixed? Was it for our benefit or the Ross students?????

3. Almost fixed!

Ross coming is good timing.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

This overly urgent corrective action has been too long in the coming!

The mere fact that the authorities can now recognize so quickly the need to remove that blatant road safety hazard aka death trap clearly supports the argument for a case of contributory negligence to be brought against the developers which resulted in the death of an innocent schoolboy.

Is there a case for compensation for the loss of that child’s life?

So when is the motor manslaughter charge going to be dropped like that of the cougar woman who was sleeping with the enemy while in prison?

Shouldn’t the dead schoolboy’s mother be entitled to legal aid to be funded from that large amount owing to the State as a result of the duties and taxes evasion scheme associated with the importation of a luxury vehicle for a phantom Director of Sales for a ghost of an invisible Hyatt hotel?

Donna the Innocent, do you see the power the whites have over stupid ‘Christian’ blacks?

It takes the pending arrival of a few American ‘white’ medical students to make the authorities get off their lazy black asses to do what is right.

We can only wish that similar alacrity would be extended to the removal of the garbage and detritus littering the streets of deteriorating Barbados.

5. David

Why was the little boy mother charged? And how did she contributed to the death of her son? There is obviously a lot more to the story …

6. ROSS and money is the reason! The case NOW need to be over but the builder is the one need to be charged, Nothing was to move until the case was over! Crooks for Life and Money!DPP needs to be Gone! Adding more Pain to the Family

7. Miller

You really ought to be circumspect with respect to how you continually endeavour to undemine the idea of God.

8. Chefette at Ball’s Corner and now Massy at Coverly!!

Just shows who is in the know!!

9. All you needed to have done is to look at the civil works involved in “fixing” the problem.

Karst in a word!!

It was interesting to watch the geology exposed in the effort to make Ross work!!

Fascinating.

Too expensive to have done it right the first time.

Somebody got a lot of money to wash!!

Will be interesting to see if The Villages will become a gated community, … like UWI!!

10. When my madda died yearly this year mah sista rent aa car fah mah tah drive on dem Bajan roads … and I sah tah her no sir … I’ll take mah chances on de battlefield aa foreign before I risk mah life on dem Bajan roads … de way I sah how people die in accidences in Benbados everyday…

11. Following John’s logic,there should soon be a cyclist only pathway to/from Villages at Coverley to Chefette.They jus happen to be pun de same han’.We will soon hear of a rass speshul.

12. Here is my take on the depression that had to be excavated and filled to make the new entrance.

As sea level fell and exposed Barbados it did so in stages and remained stationary at various levels.

Fresh water making its way to the sea from higher elevations percolated through the coral and formed a freshwater lens which floated on the seawater.

The sea water intrudes into the coral because it is porous.

The Freshwater is slightly acidic, carbonic acid.

https://www.google.com/search?q=coral+and+carbonic+acid+equation&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=MADRzULpauXIwM%253A%252CPFM95Szxu-CXpM%252C_&usg=AI4_-kQ3qEsiB2WuQWZXePIqswoD7bRUww&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjq1bGemJnfAhWJpFkKHa64D2QQ9QEwAnoECAMQCA#imgrc=MADRzULpauXIwM:

It dissolved the limestone forming caves at sea level.

https://www.google.com/search?q=coral+and+carbonic+acid+equation&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=MADRzULpauXIwM%253A%252CPFM95Szxu-CXpM%252C_&usg=AI4_-kQ3qEsiB2WuQWZXePIqswoD7bRUww&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjq1bGemJnfAhWJpFkKHa64D2QQ9QEwAnoECAMQCA#imgrc=wY4Wl_jy767BRM:

The cave collapsed and the resulting depressions were filled with soil, washed there by the rain.
    You can see the markers at other points in Barbados with a similar elevation to that of the Coverly entrance.

The size of the caves depend on the volume of fresh water which depends on the rainfall and catchment area.

A position with the same elevation is Warrens.

Next time you are passing through the Bottom by the FCIB building going to Jackson, stop and take a look at the immense gully,

Warrens receives far more water from a far larger catchment area with higher rainfall than does Coverly.

At Coverly all you have to do to appreciate the direction and path of the waterflow to the sea is look north at the hill.

There is a reason Lowland got its name!!

You can also see similar depressions by Slumberest where there is a large pond.

13. Graeme Hall Swamp is there because the depression it is over a collapsed cave.

It is fed by a catchment of 1156 acres.

14. Another example but at an intermediate elevation (between the Swamp and Coverly) is Arch Cot.

The cave which collapsed was formed the same way.

One of the characteristics of areas where freshwater and seawater interacted as described is there is soft marl.

Best place for quarries.

Other examples of the process at the same elevation as Arch Cot are Waterford Bottom, the biggest depression over the biggest collapsed cave in Barbados.

You can look at the coral in the cuttings over by the stadium or even as you descend to Howell’s Cross Road to appreciate the difference in the coral.

It is marl!!

15. @ David,

We could discuss this threat to the health and lives of poor Barbadians who depend on the BWA.

” Innotech was in process of removing community tanks from critical water-scarce areas such as St Joseph, St Andrew and St John to name a few. ”
    “We were shocked when we learnt that the community tanks that we rent from Innotech were either, removed, emptied or made inoperable. ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/11/tank-less/

16. Have Bajans become so stupid that they do not understand the importance of clean water ?

The big ups and politicians can bathe in bottle water. Poor people depend on BWA and their water tanks.

I am going to shut to France up because I don’t want to be perceived as inciting civil self preservation.

17. @Miller

Should the developer be charged or the government agency responsible held to account for not enforcing the regs.

18. That illegal Maloney protrusion scared the hell out of me one night, I was not expecting to see this thing protruding in the middle of the road.. .and that was BEFORE the child died.

19. The very existence of Coverly and Chefette at Balls Corner run contrary to Town Planning and their definition of “the Urban Corridor” into which the development should fall!!!

The idea was to protect agricultural lands!!

20. Ah think we can walk and chew gum at the same time, Maloney should be CHARGED AND the government department held accountable for allowing him to commit this CRIME.

21. Re Innotech…why are your enemies in control of your water supply, they were all warned…they should all be in jail.

22. Most likely it was a town man who put his feet on the back of country man chair in the Globe, Rockie, Puzzler, and the Empire cinama… back in the day the town man knew that the country man had to get the last bus …or what we used to called the 12 oclock bus…. those were the good days … but I noticed back in the day much country men never really came down by the Rockie …because it was the further away from town plus it was the worse of the cinemas … down by Eastman corner ….

23. It sad to say but the town man back in the day used beat the town man when they came down town to the cinema or to shop… back in those days the country man could not dress a lick … dem used tah mixing bear pretty colour tah gather and dat is where we used tah get we laugh …those were the days … but I loved the country people though because we used tah think dat dem were foreigners by de way a lot of dem spoke and dressed back in de day …

24. In control of food supply
    in control of water supply
    seems like the only thing bajans can claim as their own is mt stinkaroo

25. “Most likely it was a town man who put his feet on the back of country man chair in the Globe, Rockie, Puzzler, and the Empire cinama…”

Lexicon

I’m familiar with the Globe, Vista and Olympic cinemas, as well as the Roodal’s and Sundown Drive-Ins…….

……. but…….do you mind “telling” me where the “Rockie” and “Puzzler” were located…..if they were actually located in Barbados?

26. My foolish question is – why were we LEASING tanks in the first place? Wouldn’t something as important as a water tank in a waterless area have been better BOUGHT AND OWNED? How much could it have cost to buy them – as much as the foolish 50th anniversary celebrations???????

#stinkingrottingfishinthewatertank

27. All about bribes and corruption…I have to see this contract to understand WHY taxpayer’s money, hundred’s of millions of dollars built this shiny new BWA building…but somehow the builders Innotech are not only the LANDLORDS OF A TAXPAYER FUNDED BUILDING, but are supplying …renting no less…water tanks to communities…water tanks that should have been BOUGHT…imported by government…NOT rented from thieves and parasities in the minority business community.

They can scramble to talk about arresting DLP former ministers and seizing all those offshire accounts as much as they want and 8 months AFTER THE FACT, but they better DO IT and stop talking SHITE.

28. @Artax December 12, 2018 7:16 AM

Lexicon misspelt Roxy in Eagle Hall and the Plaza (Oistin, Bridgetown and Barbarees) cinemas.

29. And have these THIEVING DaSilvas from Innotech ARRESTED while they at it…because from reports…an IDB LOAN….in TAXPAYER’S NAME…built the BWA building…

Innotech gave a 30 million dollar amount then INFLATED THE INVOICE TO OVER one hundred million…of course to accomodate the BRIBES for MINISTERS..

……..THEN …Innotech was GIVEN a LOAN…to help them complete the building….so which DUMB NEGRO SELLOUTS in the former government…..made Innotech the LANDLORDS for 13 YEARS….IN EXCHANGE FOR BRIBES.

AND to add iNSULT TO INJURY…the same dumb sellout negros had the nerve TO RENT community TANKS…from the same THIEVING DaSilvas instead of BUYING THEIR OWN…..all in exchange for BRIBES..

It is time to LOCKP the CATTLEWASH CROOKS…they are going TOO FAR.

30. And as for the WICKED LAWYERS who read such an obviously null and void document and signed off on such a criminal contract to disenfranchise their own selves, their own families, children and grandchildren……and the population as a whole…well let’s just say, ya should be living in China…they would know what to do with you…corrupt rats.

31. “Lexicon misspelt Roxy in Eagle Hall and the Plaza (Oistin, Bridgetown and Barbarees) cinemas.”

Bajan in NY

I “figured as much.” I “had a mind” that by “Rockie” he meant the Roxy in Eagle Hall….. but the “Puzzler” is too far left to be interpreted as the “Plaza.”

Perhaps he’s related to “Left Brain” of “Brass Tacks” fame.

32. @Artax December 12, 2018 11:23 AM
    Perhaps he’s related to “Left Brain” of “Brass Tacks” fame.

Cut Lexicon a little slack – lol

33. @Artax, he admitted sometime back that he has a learning disability….dyslexia. I understood what he meant and saw no need to comment on it.

34. murdah

fenty got dyslexia
    and DPD GOT Uk APHASIA

murdah

35. May survives no confidence motion.

36. RIP Sir Don.

37. why are they building new housing at coverly for ross university, half of coverly is empty why not clean it up and rent it, CORRUPTION

38. Aren’t they cleaning up the unoccupied houses?

39. DESERVING OF SERIOUS DISCUSSION ?

A dozen new hotels are to pop up along the entire southwest coast over the next decade – from Hastings, Christ Church, north through Bridgetown to Paradise Beach, Clearwater Bay, St Michael – as the area is to become a major hotel strip, the Prime Minister has said.

“We want to be able to turn where Government Headquarters is, into a major conference and convention centre, keeping the Prime Ministers’ office and maybe the Ministry of Foreign Affairs there but the site is large enough, because we have to be able to better leverage that corridor from Savannah to Paradise,” she added.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/15/hotel-zone/

40. MEGA PROJECTS COMING ?

“She also indicated that after the conference Government would be working on an “environmental scoping study” with the Coastal Zone Management Unit and other stakeholders, in order to “determine the feasibility of the reclamation of islands and or peninsulas”.

“That scoping study will take about six months to do. So we reckon that by next year this time we will comfortably be in a position to pass legislation to facilitate investment, not by the Government, but by those who want to invest in reclamation of either islands or peninsula, and we know broadly the three areas where it can happen but we now require the detail work to be able to go to the next level,” she said, without disclosing those areas

Giving an indication that she expected the plans to materialize over the next ten years, Mottley said “this will be the focus of our Government to ensure that over the course of the next decade anyone who come to Barbados will see a completely different vista over the next ten years from Savannah at the Garrison to Paradise because this is what makes us most proud.”

41. @ David,

I respectfully suggest we start a blog about the proposal by the PM to create a ” Hotel Zone “.

42. @Hants,

Barbadian policy-making at its best or strangest. Was this policy part of the BLP’s manifesto? Has it been discussed in parliament? Has it been discussed in Cabinet? Or, is it another example of a prime minister shouting from the lip, making it up as she goes along?
    If there is going to be a two-mile corridor of hotels and bed and breakfast businesses, has this been thought through? Where is the policy paper? Remember, at the Cricket World Cup we had a hotel occupancy rate of 70 per cent, what gives the BERT team the impression that a hotel corridor from Savanna Hotel to Paradise will bring in more clients, if so, from where? Of course, it will be good for competition, but is it good policy-making?
    I have said it will all end in tears. This government is making it up as it goes along. Sadly, supporters are going along without question.

43. @Waldorf

What is the Bridgetown redevelopment Plan ?

44. GEMS … where is David Shorey when you need him?

Create another one!!

Like the Nigerian leader who was cloned!!

…. rumour has it … in Wakunda!!

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Imagine this

“I Abijah Holder late of Barbados, summarily executed on the ABC highway

My mother charged for my death by the Director of Public Prosecution

A country that is 95% black CANNOT AGITATE FOR THE REMOVAL OF THE PROMONTORY THAT KILLED ME.

but a few white people from ovah and away come, and Whaplax, de death island gone with the wind!

Yet barring two commenters, people talking about de effing Rockies and platypus (I is dyslexic too) de Rasspole coral formation, de reformation, the formation of the cosmos and all sort of shyte.

And I Abijah Holder am forgotten like worms meat.

Wunna down see nuffing wrong wid dis?

Does nothing rise up in wunna scvunt and say “Enough?”

While all around wunna de former administration and now Mugabe carving up de island into two colonies?

Barbados and Mugabe Island?

So I, poor black child of equally poor black parents just look on and watch as the so called intelligencia walk around and pat wunna selves pun wunna backs while rolling comfortably back into slavery

Massa day ent done and Mugabe going build 2 miles of beach front which not one of you or your children will see or will be able to bathe on

ALL HAIL MUGABE

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you kindly

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
  48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I had posted an item on behalf of the fallen Abijah Holder and would be grateful if you could retrieve it at your convenience thank you