The following blogs authored by a young Barbadian Economist Simon Naitram who is currently an assistant lecturer at the University of the West Indies while pursuing a PhD from the University of Glasgow (featured image: Simon Naitram)

• David, Barbados Underground

Life, debt, and now default. Barbados has reached the final stage of its illness. This isn’t our sob story. This is the tale of how we got here. This post isn’t a eulogy—it’s a lesson, a warning to our future selves.

The reason the government has defaulted on the country’s public debt is simple: the government just doesn’t have enough money to both keep paying back its loans and keep the country’s services running. The government chose to keep the country running.

How did the government reach this breaking point? Did the government simply borrow more than it could repay? The economics of government debt aren’t that simple. The government might have borrowed too much—it certainly made some bad financial decisions—but that’s not the real economic story.

The underlying economic mistake leading to default is that our government did not invest. It’s not that we spent too much money. Instead it’s that we spent our money on the wrong things. For a decade we did not invest in a brighter future. Nodebtw that we’ve reached that future, it’s a dark and miserable place.

A government’s debt is measured relative to how rich its people are. Bill Gates borrowing a million dollars isn’t the same as me borrowing a million dollars. The richer we the people are, the more money the government gets from taxing us. A 20% tax on $100 gives the government way more revenue than a 20% tax on $20.

Read full textLife, Debt, and Default

Barbados’ giant economic hole is entirely of our own making. Our distress stems from one fatal flaw: we do not invest.

Let me make it plain. Investment in new businesses, new technologies, and new ideas is the only way to generate sustainable economic growth. Economic growth is not just an economist’s foolish cravings. Economic growth is the only path to prosperity. Investment is needed for economic growth, and without economic growth, we perish.

Why is it that we don’t invest? What can we do to fix this fatal flaw?

The first problem is that we save only 13.6% of our income. The rest of the world saves 23.1% of its income. Our savings are paltry in comparison to the investment hole we need to fill. We simply don’t put aside enough money for our businesses to invest.

And yet, commercial banks don’t want our cash. They offer us a ridiculous 0.05% interest rate on our savings. Why? In 1990, the banks lent 68% of our savings to businesses. Lending to businesses is risky, but it is productive investment that generates high returns and grows the economy. In 2018, the banks have lent only 28% of our savings to businesses! Banks have stopped channeling our funds into productive economic activity—which is in fact their one job.

Read full textFailure to Invest

339 responses to “Fault Lines: Life, Debt, Default and a Failure to Invest”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Waru
    “ … PLT and his team are on the scene….there is hope…”
    +++++++++

I do not lead the team that I work with, I simply serve it. I’m in my sixties and this project will take a generation to bear full fruit, so we need to depend on younger people than ourselves. There are plenty of younger Bajans who are tackling the catastrophe that is baby boomers have inflicted on this island… I work with some of them and there are lots of others.

2. PLT…it is not an overnight thing…it took those demons in the parliament and their corrupt sidekicks in the business community 53 years to bring the island AND it’s people to the brink.

John…ya still missing what will happen next…but as I said…ah done spelling out everything, the majority population knows what NEEDS to be done to protect themselves from the crooks in parliament and their thieving bribemasters in the business community…enough said.

3. “There is no asset in Barbados that has had as much capital or attention invested into it, none.”

And yall are STILL DEAD BROKE….most of the land was STOLEN from the original owners, ask Cow…and yall still can’t move forward.

4. @ Hal @ PLT

The bigger question is: How do we create those who think creatively and will be innovative in their approach to entrepreneurship. You see fellows, 19th century economic theory and an equally archaic educational system will give us the same results over and over.
    So the argument becomes nothing more than an academic exercise.
    Millions of jobs were created by those who embraced the information highway/internet.
    Educational systems worldwide moved to meet and exploit a changing world economy . We did not. And we need to accept that once more you get what you produce: lawyers, economists etc.
    You see who benefitting from the big tax breaks – the same ones who benefitted from slavery. Think…….

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, I read you this morn and was about to respond when I got distracted at another spot 🙂 …. so now others have touched on your point…wha loss!…So not to be prolix…you are right that the Halmeister “makes …some useful points [but his] manner of doing so is a tad off” !

Alas, but that is the tone and texture of this blog site and blogging in general.

Many lambaste the former journo as lacking insight, expertise and all such critiques and he in turn excoriates bloggers as having a Bajan malaise of self grandeur, inability to reason properly etc etc…in sum its a stupid little name calling game…like the ‘my daddy can beat your daddy’ we start as ‘stupid lil boys’.

How can a man who lived and worked and reached a senior level at a major corp in a competitive and serious profession in the UK and did so for many years be discounted as he is here in his areas of specialty!

But then how can a man who experienced all that, interacted regularly with Caribbean pols, peers, regular Bajan Clydes and Cheryls and professionals adopt the scathing style he does to debate items with those same peeps.

I presume the apt quote would be: none of the pots can see the kettle for the blackness! or something so 🙂

BTW, @PLT and @Hal the discussion (despite the unnecessary cross talk) was quite good.

The simple explanation of how savings are not always investments was amusing… @PLT’s point was understandable and clearly made as a link to the essayist’s point that; The underlying economic mistake leading to default is that our government did not invest. It’s not that we spent too much money. Instead it’s that we spent our money on the wrong things.

That @Hal, chose to bypass that simple point and build over it the valid but totally off-contextual supposed counter argument that savings do lead to investment was regrettably unnecessary.

They said the SAME thing just nuanced quite differently! Regrettable cross talk.

Anyhow, those with understanding could still pull the positive threads from the overall debate. Very good stuff all around from the essayist and commentaries.

6. WARU
    November 24, 2018 10:06 AM

“There is no asset in Barbados that has had as much capital or attention invested into it, none.”
    And yall are STILL DEAD BROKE….most of the land was STOLEN from the original owners, ask Cow…and yall still can’t move forward.

Why do people steal anything?

7. Bajans living in the diaspora for a very long time cant tell Bajans living at home nothing
    One can be guaranteed they will be a labelling a notorious and outrageous tone and manner in how they will be treated and dusrespected( like jobby rising to the top)
    Yeah ! Bajans living at home has all the answers
    Reason why the piss poor economic performance has a strsngle hold on everyhousehold
    There was a time when bajans would scoff at neighbouring islands because of slow economic progress
    Today these islands sit back and roar with laughter at barbados economic downfall regulating the country as ” one of them”
    Say what any one belives or think of Hal differing respect
    There are few here who can stand side by side with Hal and say that there educational and background in international world affairs is on par with Hal
    This country has become a basket full of dysfunctional “know it all” having nothing to offer but crticism of differing views

8. The challenges facing the Barbadian economy are real and complex but can’t be solved without addressing the first question of namely what is its purpose.

Historically, during the period of slavery and colonialism, the sole purpose of the economy was to meet the needs of the slavematsers and colonialists. That is why after 300 years, the living conditions of the mass of Bajans were dire. We lacked access to education, water, electricity, health care and much more, while the wealth created by our labour went to provide the local and foreign plantation owners with an opulent lifestyle.

The period from 1951, when the first election was held under universal suffrage, saw a gradual amelioriation of the living conditions of the mass of Bajans through various reforms. This was the post war period in which World capitalism accepted the idea that all citizens, and not just for the rich, were entitled to some share of the wealth they produced. Hence the emergence of social welfare programmes in most of Europe, including England. However, the basic aim of our economy remained as during the period of slavery and colonialism. Even the transition from a sugar based economy to a tourism based one did not address this issue.

Now, we are operating in a different global environment. Global capitalism has rejected the concept of social security for all and is following the ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’ principle which underlies the current neo-liberal economic orthodoxy. The application of this doctrine which has intensified since the financial collapse of 2007 drives socio-economic inequality and hamstrings the ability of the government to intervene in the economy. Furthermore, the total reliance on foreign direct investment means that it’s impossible to develop a coherent plan for the all round economic development of the country. The investors are the ones who make the decisions about which sectors of the economy will be developed and which neglected. Also, backed by the IMF and World Bank etc, they demand and seize the lion’s share of all new wealth produced, leaving the Bajan workers and government to scrabble for the crumbs that are left over. This is why, as Waru points out no matter the number of visitors, the country is unable to maintain infrastructure and efficiently provide basic public services like sanitation and public transport. It is also why most Bajans have limited savings and so can’t start up their own businesses and why there is no plan for providing jobs for anyone, let alone the 16-25 year olds.

We will not be able to address these issues without changing the purpose of the Barbadian economy to be to meet the needs of the people of our country.

9. @ Bajans living in the Diaspora. Here is an opportunity to contribute. Enjoy a Bajan centric holiday by spending your vacation in Barbados and spend your cash in locally owned establishments.

“2020 To Be Bajan Diaspora “Homecoming” Year

​2020 has been designated by Prime Minister Mia Mottley as “the year for the Barbadian diaspora to be recognised and for them to be invited to return to their ancestral home.”

10. I will not repeat the word I used yesterday.

Let me add that despite the eloquence and treatises of others, I had the best summary of Hal Austin.

I have often enjoyed and complimented Hal’s contributions and can remember using words like “brilliant” and “sheer brilliance”, but too often, I have seen him ‘nagged’ others with the sole intention of proving he is the most ‘intelligent’ man in the room.

The current exchange with PLT will not end until Hal has the last word. In his mind, he will be the victor and will have shown himself to be more intelligent than PLT.

He is an intelligent man, but that doesn’t mean he is not an ………..

11. The underlying economic mistake leading to default is that our government did not invest. It’s not that we spent too much money. Instead it’s that we spent our money on the wrong things.

So, what are the right things?

… and where does Government get money from to invest?

This analysis completely childish!!

Grownups are supposed to know what are the right things.

They are also supposed to know Government is not in the business of investing … at least it should not be!!

It can create an investment climate however!!

12. @Hants

The late David Thompson and his foreign affairs minister went to the diaspora well, what happened?

13. The decision of what a government involves itsef in is solely a political decision. There is nothing grown up or childish about arguing either that the government should invest in the economy or it shouldn’t. These are conflicting political positions. The idea that the role of government is to “create a suitable climate for investors” is simply a political position expressed by neo-liberal globalists.

14. @ David,

How much money did Bajans in the ” diaspora “contribute to the Barbados economy last year ?

15. Historically, during the period of slavery and colonialism, the sole purpose of the economy was to meet the needs of the slavematsers and colonialists.

You do realise the slave population doubled and quadrupled in the period!!

Somebody must have been having fun, and it wasn’t the “slave masters” and “colonialists”!!

Today the birth rate has plummeted.

Lots of Bajans are just plain miserable, a lot more miserable than in the time of slavery.

16. “Why do people steal anything?”

I dont need to analyze the why…tiefing from other people is a disease, the best we can do is EXPOSE all the hard core THIEVES that Barbados got like Cow , Bizzy, Maloney, the lawyers …the clowns in parliament et al…who are still sucking the life blood of the people…so the people would know to avoid them all and stone them when they see them going around the elderly and vulnerable..stop spending their hardearned money with them and look for better alternatives.

The thieves need to spend some of their stolen money to find out WHY they steal…ain’t none of my business their psycho problems… cause they can’t steal a thing from me……

…..ah figured out years ago how horrible the level of thievery is…now the outside world is being made aware …ah guess Cowell and Webber and all the others who got robbed millions of dollars in the 4 seasons scam are not shy about spreading the info worldwide either….that is the norm when you rob people…you get blacklisted…

17. @John

What is your point?

Be careful how you respond.

18. John’s remedy for bajan whites not being able to be the parasitic bloodsucking bed bugs they are in the black population’s lives…is to bring back the enslavement of the Black population. .,and that makes so much sense to this clown who does not know how to move on,…..

ADVICE…yall need to get off ya lazy asses and go look for other people’s lives to LIVE OFF OF.

…..hint, hint, UK is looking for bedbugs and parasites., they are the ones Barbadosed yall.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Mariposa
    “There are few here who can stand side by side with Hal and say that there (sic) educational and background in international world affairs is on par with Hal”
    +++++++++

My educational background and understanding of world affairs is apparently superior to Hal’s if we take what is written on BU as evidence. Furthermore there are lots of Bajans here and abroad who understand what is going on and what is required to fix Barbados.

20. @Hants

No need to check the numbers, it is significant.

21. There is no need to be soft with the white supremacists who keep coming on here spreading their racist garbage.

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@William Skinner November 24, 2018 10:08 AM
    “The bigger question is: How do we create those who think creatively and will be innovative in their approach to entrepreneurship.”
    https://www.tenhabitat.com/

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John November 24, 2018 11:23 AM
    “You do realise the slave population doubled and quadrupled in the period!!”

My routine refutation of your disgustingly racist implications:
    “Before 1807, most British Caribbean colonies had shown long-term growth in the size of their slave populations, but this growth was sustained largely by the continued influx of slaves through the Atlantic trade since few of the populations had achieved a position of positive natural increase.”
    Population and Labor in the British Caribbean in the Early Nineteenth Century
    Author: B. W. Higman

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John November 24, 2018 10:59 AM
    “So, what are the right things?
    … and where does Government get money from to invest?”
    ++++++++++++++++++

The answers to these questions are so obvious that 13 year old John would have known the answers for sure. What happened?

The right things for governments to invest in are: roads, highways, and other transportation infrastructure like airports and ports; educational infrastructure from kindergarten through advanced post doctoral research institutes; public health care infrastructure like polyclinics and hospitals; environmental protection infrastructure like sewage treatment and preserving natural areas of both land and ocean ecosystems;…

The government invests revenue that it has raised through taxation. It can also borrow to invest if the investment improves the GDP to the extent that increased tax revenue will more that service the loan costs (eg. borrowing to build a good airport if it increases tourist arrivals).

25. The problem i have with the minority population in Barbados is their attitude that somehow the majority population OWES them survival so they are ENTITLED to STEAL from the majority population USING THE WEAK LEADERS…indefinitely…

That nasty mentality gotta go….no one on the island owes them anything…PARTICULARLY NOT THE BLACK POPULATION….they gotta learn how to survive without STEALING from the people…stealing their land and everything else they can put their slimy tiefing hands on, cause were these same thieves in UK/Europe where their ancestors originated, most of them would be in prison for the crimes they get away with committing in Barbados.

26. dpd asked How can a man who lived and worked and reached a senior level at a major corp in a competitive and serious profession in the UK and did so for many years be discounted as he is here in his areas of specialty!

THIS IS THE NORM ON BU
    IT IS CALLED CHALLENGING
    PERSONS WHO DO IT ARE CALLED BY DAVID KING PROVOCATEURS
    IF YOU OBJECT YOU ARE SAID TO BE THIN SKINNED

DPD ONCE CHALLENGED AND TRIED TO DISCOUNT MY EDUCATED OPINION ON CERVICAL INJURIES AND EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS

OTHERS HAVE SOUGHT TO TEACH ME MY SPECIALTY- BIOCHEMISTRY AND OTHER ASPECTS OF MEDICINE

SO HAVE THE BIBLE ILLITERATES WHO ABOUND ON BU INCLUDING THE DEVIL’S REPRESENTATIVE HIMSELF

WATCH NOW WATCH

27. One cannot sit behind a computer and intrepert what is going on inside of a commentators mind at the time of writing
    In my mind i belive Hal does not set a stage for being argumentative or disagreeable ..but sets a stage where it makes one feel uncomfortable enough( but with a an advantage )of forcing all to look in other places for solutions
    We have the Top Hat Tin Foil dictator one bush Tea who proposes to have the answers to every dam shit and resorts to a level of jobby talk when others disagree with him
    I would dare say that Hal age and experiences an his articles articulates for the better part where he is in this life and how much knoweldge he has and been involved in world affairs
    It is almost laughable to hear people like a Bush Tea actually open his big mouth and be crtical of a person whose input outside of country has not been of a hindrance but have help certain aspects of other countries
    Now he has decided to bring some of what he has learned over the years to BU he is scoffed and mock by lick mout people of the Bush Tea standing
    Wuh loss

28. The original argument was about investments and savings in Barbados, to which PLT stuck to the script. But Austin introduced Confucian territories and investments in the UK to demonstrate to the audience he knows about that stuff and completely ignoring the original argument.(Robert Goren)

Plse re-read the thread. I attempted to give an explanation for the savings ratio in North America, Europe and Asia (the Confucian cultures), which you saw as a digression. What can I say? I repeat: Asians save more because they do not have a social security safety net. In the west we mainly do. There is no digression there, no showing off..
    Why is this important? In our economic model it is important that consumers spend (consume), retailers will then buy more goods and employ more staff; government will increase its tax revenue and invest more in infrastructure. That, simply, is our model. To help drive this, since the 1960s, we have the rise of consumer debt (from credit cards, store cards, a growth in mortgages, etc). But this is based on the assumption of full (or near full) employment.
    There is nothing new or a radical about any of this. The surprise is that I actually had to state it. A mature conversation will take us on from this basic, rather than be bogged down with nonsense about what are savings and what are investments.. If, for example, in numbers I were to say 1, 2, 3, normally there won’t be a debate about this. Why is there an intense discussion about the simplicity of investments? Households invest their savings. Full stop.
    Same thing about job creation. Most jobs in liberal democracies are created by small businesses (entrepreneurs), but most do not earn foreign exchange, as @PLT put it.
    They provide goods and services to their local communities. They (the bakers, plumbers, engineers, mechanics, shop keepers, accountants, etc) pay their taxes and government uses those taxes to meet dollar-denominated debt obligations and provide services for citizens (education, health, housing, roads, etc).
    At the tech end, the aim of entrepreneurship is not to start and run a business (very few do that), but to create and move on. I gave the example of Google and Facebook buying up rivals. I have previously given an example of the son of a close friend who moved to Silicon Valley and did well there, earning more in six months than his father or I have made in a lifetime..
    It is not the job of small businesses to talk of economic growth; that is government’s responsibility. The task of small businesses is to survive (there is a 70 per cent failure rate). Most are family owned.
    @Robert Goren, references to the archivists, it is a reference to an interpretation of what is said and NOT what is actually said. It is bad form to assume you know the intentions of the other person.
    I call this a cultural trait because it is not something that I come across in the society in which I live. People would ask: what do you mean? Rather than tell you what you mean.
    I know sometimes people shout a lot, but oft times it does not add up. Avoid the mob. We will only get out of this fog when we have honest, mature debates.

29. Bushie would join in here with Maripoka and GP, but is limited by his own earlier advice to PLT.
    ..and that of Mark Twain…

Talking about your specialty of biochemistry, …did you learn anything new about water…?
    You know… H2O…?

30. Sooo……..the solution seems to be to return to the days of slavery when we black people were obviously more happy, as evidenced by the frequency of our copulation. Or at least to the pre-Errol days when we were more happy as evidenced by….???????. Look, it is about time we just ignore this attempt to belittle us, even the “monkey handling guns” De Santis-like comment because the only people who are THAT MENTALLY ENSLAVED that they would fall for that crap are some of the centenarians that John speaks about as happy serving massa. They will soon all be DEAD.

Let us take our deprogramming forward! I believe it was Tee White who spoke of the way we need to look at what our economic system was designed to do and what we must now undo.

P.S. Why our population is not increasing – BIRTH CONTROL!!!!!!!!

31. P.S. Why our population is not increasing – BIRTH CONTROL!!!!!!!!

So why are people so miserable?

32. By the way – the reason why today’s Barbadian is miserable is because he is no longer working towards a worthy cause. Barbadians thought the battle was over and that change would occur naturally. Now they are waking up to the reality that the war is ongoing and they have forgotten how to unite and fight.

33. Don’t mind John…he and the shitehounds in parliament want to breed more Black people TO STEAL FROM..that is all they know.

Between the illiterates in parliament and their bribe masters in the minority community….had they not been playing such a nasty game of …TIEF ALL THEY CAN FROM THE MAJORITY POPULATION…for DECADES…the island could never be in the current financial mess facing the people…they ALL STOLE TOO MUCH…and there is nothing that any of them, no matter how many lies Mia Borrows tell…can change that reality..

….all of their OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS ARE IN EXISTENCE…as living PROOF…that they have all stolen from the majority population for decades…not one of them can LIEplain that away..

34. They will never be happy until they re-embrace the cause and restart the fight. But they first have to deal with the mindset that money alone will solve our problem. It goes much much deeper than that.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 1 :08 PM

A good repartee in that submission. Unless one knows what the blogger means one cannot do the subject under discussion justice. That is why one should cherry pick.
    Very often in discussions in the wider press a small business man is referred to as an entrepreneur. And we talk as if we can mass produce them. Entrepreneurs are rare. They take risks in the innovation of newly discovered processes.
    I have the feeling that this moot was another kite flying exercise.

36. The right things for governments to invest in are:
    roads,
    highways,
    and other transportation infrastructure
    like airports
    and ports;
    educational infrastructure from kindergarten through advanced post doctoral research institutes;
    public health care infrastructure like polyclinics and hospitals;
    environmental protection infrastructure like sewage treatment
    and preserving natural areas of both land and ocean ecosystems;…

Suppose I were to tell you the GOB has done all this investing as you recommend.

While you were over and away the GOB built the ABC Highway, maintained Roads and built new ones, upgraded the Airport and Deep Water Harbour, instituted free university education, built and ran numerous polyclinics, built not only a sewage plant but an entirely new sewage system etc etc!!

You can’t say it hasn’t, no one can!!

So, the thesis of the author must be wrong!!

That thesis is:

“The underlying economic mistake leading to default is that our government did not invest. It’s not that we spent too much money. Instead it’s that we spent our money on the wrong things.”

We should be flying high as the GOB can put a check mark against everything you have identified as the right things.

But we all agree something is badly wrong and by your list it can’t be that the Government invested in the wrong things.

So it must be that we spent too much money … assuming these are the only two possibilities that could explain the economic mess we are in!!!

Bu they aren’t, that’s why the blog is child like!!!

It must be obvious by driving about that the most likely place for short term and long term jobs to be created is agriculture!!

You will see you left that off your list …. you missed that one completely .. flew right over your head!!

Maybe the thesis is right … just that nobody seems capable of understanding the levels of investment we have in our land and its ability to support us as it has always done!!

…. and it isn’t GOB that should be investing, it should be the Private Sector!!

I have given you an example at Nicholas Abbey!!

That has to be the best example of linking the manufacture, tourism and agricultural sectors.

37. Ya can’t make none of this up…still waiting to see if Mia already sold out the medical Marijuana trade from under her people as some are alleging….can’t hide the info forever..

…..so it’s quite legal for Caribbean people to go and work in marijuana farms in the countries that have legalized marijuana, the same Caribbean people who are still being terrorized and arrested in these islands for the plant…but somehow it is a conflict to remit their earnings for working with marijuana ..BACK TO THE CARIBBEAN..OH REALLY?..THESE CLOWNS BETTTE GET THIS SORTED AND FAST AND DON’T SEIZE THE PEOPLE’S MONEY WITH THEIR SMALL ISLAND SHIT.

Has Colin Jordan said any of what he is telling Loop news to the people of Barbados who pay his salary..talk is cheap.

http://www.loopslu.com/content/remittances-lucians-working-canadian-ganja-farms-crime?fbclid=IwAR16CO9AZoKcOndd3zDy-nqxakUjfHL3fDALcnMhnjx6GQvNMcsdxvCd9iQ#.W_k_WT7nA5w.facebook

“Labour Ministers of Saint Lucia and Barbados are not too perturbed about a possible legal conflict involving remittances to family members from their nationals employed on marijuana farms in Canada under the Canada/Caribbean Seasonal Agricultural Workers Programme.

The conflict is over whether these remittances, derived from Saint Lucians and Barbadians on those farms – Canada having legalized marijuana – can be confiscated as proceeds of crime on arrival in the two respective Caribbean countries, seeing that both countries have on their law books the trafficking, selling, trading, handling, etc., of marijuana as being illegal.

Ministers Stephenson King (Saint Lucia) and Colin Jordan (Barbados) told reporters this week, during this year’s annual review meeting of the programme at the Harbour Club Resort in Saint Lucia that something would be worked out within their respective territories that would see a way out of this looming legal conflict.

“There is an active conversation taking place in the Cabinet today and that particular issue will be addressed sooner than later,” King said.

He added, “it is a legal conflict that we will resolve and hopefully we will have no issue going forward.”

Minister Jordan said that his government has a commitment to Barbados where it will be pursuing a policy of legalizing cannabis for medicinal purposes and so “the possibility of our workers, citizens of our country, being involved in that kind of agricultural activity is not one that would be foreign to our thinking,” noted Jordan.”

38. “Now they are waking up to the reality that the war is ongoing and they have forgotten how to unite and fight.”

a DEMONIC WAR…where black people will need all the strength of their ANCESTORS …JUST to win..

39. BTW, did you know the ABC Highway was called the Industrial Access Highway …. what industries are there?

It was renamed after our illustrious political leaders, Adams, Barrow and Cummins.

I know I know, who the fcuk is Cummins?

40. Donna
    November 24, 2018 1:45 PM

They will never be happy until they re-embrace the cause and restart the fight. But they first have to deal with the mindset that money alone will solve our problem. It goes much much deeper than that.

People are miserable because they are idiots!!

They let old fashioned hard headed common sense be replaced by utter rubbish and sat and watched as their country was destroyed before their eyes.

41. @John

Is there a correlation between a growing middle class and decline in population growth?

There is the line being pushed by Dr. Mascoll that we need to encourage immigration to expand the tax base.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John November 24, 2018 2:05 PM
    “GOB built the ABC Highway, maintained Roads and built new ones, upgraded the Airport and Deep Water Harbour, instituted free university education, built and ran numerous polyclinics, built not only a sewage plant but an entirely new sewage system etc etc…”

Yes John, and you will notice that this investment ALL took place prior to 2008, most of it way prior. Then the GOB stopped investing, and the economy went to hell in a handbasket. It’s not a coincidence! As Simon Naitram pointed out “Since 2009, Barbados drastically reduced public investment. From 1996 to 2008, average public investment was 14.5% of total government spending. From 2008 to 2015, average public investment was only 4.6% of total government spending. The chart below shows this massive shift in government policy. It was a huge mistake.”

Until 2008 Bajans were increasingly prosperous; the GDP per capita grew to fund that prosperity, but that stopped in 2008.

43. THIS IS WHY PEOPLE MISERABLE
    ROMANS 1:18-32
    18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;
    19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.
    20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:
    21 Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.
    22 Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,
    23 And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.
    24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:
    25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.
    26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:
    27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.
    28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;
    29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,
    30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,
    31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:
    32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

44. If this is the line being pushed by Clyde, for whom I have the highest respect, then he is wrong. It is an issue now engaging the Japanese: do they allow immigrants or not? The same issue underlines the Brexit debate. Government must think beyond the taxation take: by allowing immigrants we are in effect changing the nature of the society. Is that what we want?
    A simple, but real example: I have seen the national dish of Barbados described as cou cou and rotis. Rotis? I remember when Chow a Trinidadian Chinese man, first brought rotis to Barbados in the late 1950s at his shop in Nelson Street. Now in a few decades it has become part of our national dish. Immigrants change societies.

45. You have articulated a concern read he need to protect the Bajan way. However the problem Barbados faces remains- an ageing population, dwindling tax base and a social security fund where pension expense is not being covered off made worse in a low investment yield environment. Address the problem.

46. @PLT,

You must be out of breath. Think back to what happened to the global economy in 2008. You shout and get the impression you are saying new things; you are not.
    The Owen Arthur prosperity was built on debt. Barbados has underperformed the global and regional economies since November 30, 1966. @PLT stop repeating falsehoods.
    Until 2008 Bajans were increasingly prosperous; the GDP per capita grew to fund that prosperity, but that stopped in 2008.(Quote)

Plse remind readers why the BLP government has defaulted on our debt. Stop it @PLT. You are mis-educating the blog.

47. @Hal A
    A simple, but real example: I have seen the national dish of Barbados described as cou cou and rotis.
    +++++++++++++++
    Source?

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin November 24, 2018 1:08 PM
    “Households invest their savings. Full stop.”
    +++++++++++++++

Quoting simplistic nostrums from Economics 101 will not fix the Barbados economy. If you cannot distinguish between productive investment and a waste of money then whatever points I make will be beyond you… but (pace Bush Tea) I’m going to try again to illustrate.

If there is $500 million in Bajan savings in bank accounts and it is loaned to other Bajans to buy Suzukis and BMWs this is the result: our foreign reserves decline by US$200 million; very few new jobs are created in Barbados.

If there is $500 million in Bajan savings in bank accounts and it buys equity or extends loans to productive Bajan businesses that earn foreign exchange (Warren’s St Nicholas Abbey or Doyle’s Crane Hotel for example) this is the result: our foreign reserves get significantly boosted in a sustainable manner over the life of the investment and beyond; many new jobs are created in Barbados.

There is a big difference to the living standards of ordinary Bajans between these two scenarios. (This relates to Tee White’s question about the Barbados economy “what is its purpose?”)

I am helping build export businesses that are not owned by oligarchs like Warren and Doyle… but that is just my personal agenda; I wish Warren and Doyle well.

Why do foreign reserves matter? Because Bajans like to buy foreign stuff. We either break our foreign stuff habit, or we learn to earn foreign currency to buy foreign stuff with because nobody in the world is going to take Bajan dollars in payment.

49. It was a silly tourism website. I did not copy it, but it registered. I have more important things to do with my life. Unless, of course you are suggesting I am manufacturing it.